1 egg
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup cooking oil
1 pinch salt

a. Preheat a skillet over medium heat.
b. Mix all of the ingredients until smooth.
c. Melt a little bit of butter in the pan.
d. Pour the batter by spoonfuls into the hot pan, forming 5-inch circles.
e. When the edges appear to harden, flip the pancakes. They should be golden brown.
f. Cook the pancakes on the other side until they are also golden brown.
g. Enjoy.

I just half the ingredient amount cos only 3 of us eating. And buttermilk can be substituted by mixing UHT milk and a squeeze of lemon juice. U will see the UHT milk curdling after 10min. I use organic wholemeal flour instead of plain flour to make it more healthy.

Luncheon meat is really yummy, I love it as well. Haven't been eating it for the past few yrs though.

TW
Thks! Hmm..if i want to prepare a healthier version involving the usage of wholemeal flour, is it possible? & paisey for the 'swakoo' in terms of cooking, where can I get Buttermilk? hee..1st time hearing this..

RE: Processed Meat
My hubby is a big fan of processed meat while I dun like it at all, even without knowing that it is unhealthy. My hubby feed KJ and KJ took one or two bite and he will reject it. I guess KJ do not like processed meat as well.

Terrible two:
KJ also throw himself onto the floor whenever he did not get what he wanted. At home like that, outside also like that. Recently, when he asked for his milk and I told him to wait, he will "scold" me leh. I just have to tell him not to do that and sayang me instead.

Re: Playgroup
Tanwawas,
We went to the open house of LW. Xuanting was there too. The teachers at least made the effort to remember her name; knew that she was shy to strangers and didn't "provoke" her unlike some ppl. They are careful with her and not long, Xuanting was down playing with one of them while I was busy looking around and talking with another teacher.

She was so used to the place that I am certainly sure that she would enjoy the place.

Each of the classroom is huge.

It is divided into different sections. Like playarea, library book section, sleep area.. etc.

Each of classroom is for one level. IF I remember correctly, they have only 1 playgroup, 1N1, 2 N2, 2 K1, 2 K2 classrooms.

The only thing I am worried is the school doesn't install mosquito shields unlike the Cherie Hearts.

Two schools have sand area, water area, music room/assembly area, outside area to play and a little garden to play with small animals.

Both stressed academic but i find that LW teachers are more attentive and caring. The chinese teachers are truly chinese teachers. I spoke with two of them and one of them happened to be playgroup's main teacher. LWS hire chinese teachers from china.

However, the school fees not cheap. Even after subsidy, it is close to 780!

Creative O seems like quite a good place. I saw on website that they have playgroup....

If got to wait till 2.5 yr old, then I think I will register Xuanting in Galilee Bible-Church Kindergarten then. They have playgroup from 2.5yrs old too. That is nearer to my mom's place.

Terrier,

Xuanting is with my mom on weekdays. My mom stays in Teban Gardens... so Creative O is very convenient for them.

My gal is 20 mths. I hv just put her in kinderland and after subsidy is 660. Think for their age is better to occupy them with something rather than to sit ard with granny watching hokkien series in the afternoon. The teacher will teach your child to be an independent kid - they will learn to feed themselves , shares things with friend, toilet train them too. She has been joining for 1 week and I can already tell some different in her. She will do some funny action whenever she wants , I think she must have learnt something in the class and wanted us to know. consider... I think it is still a better choice than having a maid.

Shylyn,
See my post: "And buttermilk can be substituted by mixing UHT milk and a squeeze of lemon juice. U will see the UHT milk curdling after 10min. I use organic wholemeal flour instead of plain flour to make it more healthy."

Evon,
LW only has afternoon playgroup for toddlers, so that basically rules it out for my son cos his naptime is exactly the same timing as the playgroup - 2 to 5pm. I called them up to ask why schedule a toddler playgroup in the afternoon when many toddlers shd be napping, and the lady said the facilities are full for the morning, so they have to shift the toddler class to afternoon. Sounds like they don't place much emphasise on the toddler playgroup. Maybe their main focus is on older kids like N1 and above.

Guess I'll just have to wait till Aiden turns 2, and send him to N1. Meanwhile I'll scout around my area for a playgroup that is cheaper, just for him to go out and do something different rather than staying home with me all day.

TWWs,

I am also thinking of sending my girl to a playgroup near my place, kiddyabc http://www.kiddyabc.com.sg/our_programme.htm but they do not have any programmes for 18 mths old at TPY centre, so got to wait till she turns 24 months, which is in another 3 mths time, then I can register her, 3 hours daily, 5 days a week, monthly fees is about $125

emon,

Guess it is different for each family, do agree that going to CC will help them develop their social skills and learn alot of things. but perhaps, maybe those of us SAHM, who had been with our children since birth, are unable to let go at this stage, not all grannies watch hokkien series with their grandchildren, my parents are retirees and they are educated, so they are able to teach my girl many things as well.. the maid will just be there to strictly help out with housework only

shylyn,

I let my girl watch VCDs while I cook, but it doesnt seem to be working well these days leh as she is becoming increasingly sticky to me.. so I just let her whine outside the kitchen, most of the time she will get tired of whining then she will find a toy to entertain herself, but if I know she really needed me and carry her, I will carry her, pacify her, get her distracted with a fav activity then try to cook as fast as possible

draik,

My girl also lie and even roll on the floor when she doesnt get what she wants.. dont know what to say cos my mum reminded me that was what I did when I was her age too haha! Runs in the genes I guess

Haven't post for quite a while, glad that this forum is moving with a lot of cc and other discussion.

Been bringing my dd to see the cartoon characters at various shopping malls and she is quite fascinated to really meet them in "person".

Today managed to serve the other sites too and come across this, for mummies to be aware (regarding maids).
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/908797.html?1191335383

Now me maid is getting better, kekeke...after some good talk and more supervision.

Hunniepot - It's good that you got yourself a helper since your parents are around to help, so it may not be too bad. However, note that maid will create other issues too. I'm registering my Amanda for some playgroup kind of thing next year. Maybe you may want to consider that for your Amanda.

Found this good children website contribution from the forum, mummies can go to the website to get some ideas.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/451521.html?1194689550

tanwawas,

ya lo. You look at the course fees that LWS is charging. Who would want to pay that much for their toddlers? So, from this year, they have only 3 toddlers and a lot of times, the toddlers have to join the N1 class as well.

So no point in opening one next year.

And plus the number of children in other sessions are expanding. So, no place.

Frankly, we really got to think hard, if our toddlers would really learn much at such young age or not... hmmmm... apart from socializing?

Wow the thread is getting really active...

Terrier, same here. Now that heavily preggy, I hardly have enough energy for my girl who is getting more active but also more clingy to me. Want to carry. Still haven't managed to sleep train or toilet train her...was considering sending her to cc before no.2 comes but hesitated so now it's going to be awhile before that happens. Sometimes weekend I stay hm whole day I really dunno wat to do with her..jiat liat..play awhile I run out of ideas..

hi mommies, it's been so long since i posted here. just caught up with the latest postings...

my no. 2 arrived on 21 nov. Life has been crazy ever since. i think i'm spiralling into postnatal depression, i really gotta vent, man.

it's no joke looking after 2 young ones. some more, housework has increased (extra laundry and bottles, etc) my newborn girl is very different from Leo. She is super cranky and wakes up very often at night to feed and to 'exercise her lungs'. She drives me to tears sometimes. On the other hand, my son has 'graduated' from infant care to playgroup. Though the school helped to make the transition gradual for Leo, the change still coincided with him becoming a big brother and the fact that he has entered the 'terrible twos' stage. What a handful.

The thing is, Leo is closer to daddy, so my hubby and i agree that for now, he will handle Leo and i will handle the little girl. But this arrangement is driving me nuts. I MISS bonding with my son. I miss having one on one time with him. Also, my hubby and i have different parenting styles. I find myself shouting at him all the time for doing the 'wrong things' with leo. When Leo is with me, he behaves. But when he's with daddy, he becomes whiny and difficult to handle. I am convinced it's because his daddy is too permissive.

And now my girl, she's soo difficult to handle. Sleeping and feeding patterns very erratic. Cries very often. I'm convinced it's because i was very stressed out during my pregnancy (over work and house-moving, plus increasing disagreements with hubby over parenting style) and some more, my girl seems to prefer to be carried by my mom. i think it's because i stink (not bathing every day due to confinement).

things are already so crazy when my mom is around, when she goes back after my confinement, i think we will all go nuts. So, like hunniepot, even though we were dead set against having a maid, we are seriously reconsidering the option. We really need an extra pair of hands in the house. I am still spooked by all the horror stories i hear, and my hubby keeps saying that no one talks about how good their maids are, thats why we only hear about the bad ones. i dunno. we still want to send the kids to daycare, so we'll see if we can afford a maid in the first place.

i can't wait for my confinement to be over cos it's a torture being cooped up at home. i'm so depressed over my fussy baby and disagreements with hubby that my milk supply is dwindling. i think i'm going nuts. sorry for such a long post, but i really need to vent.

Hey Fussicat,

Congratulations on becoming a 'new' mom again! Hang in there, although my no. 2 is nowhere in sight or in my tummy yet, I can't speak from experience, but I think you will get the hang of becoming a great mommy to 2 kids soon.

Regarding maids, I think it really depends on your luck. I'm not too sure if I am speaking too early, but my maid who has been with us for just 1 month has been great. She has good initiative and will do things without asking us, and look after my son very well. I think kids will know whether or not a caregiver is good.. my soon will now wander into her room to look for her and play hide and seek with her and laugh very happily. Yesterday, she kissed him (on the head) in front of me and she did it so naturally! I was abit taken aback though, and was stunned for a moment, but I think these kind of impromptu affection signals good things.

I must highlight that I was like you and hunniepot and was opposed to having a maid in the home previously, as I viewed that as an invasion of my privacy, but I think after a while, you will treat them like family, plus, my maid know how to make herself obscure.. we will now even have arguments in front of us without being so conscious of her. :p

I think your maid will be good if you are good to her. Be kind, but assertive, and it will work out better than being too fierce and demanding of them. Don't sweat the small stuff with them (e.g. stamps for letters, etc)... I told her these are things I don't mind paying as she has to keep in touch with her family and her 3 year old daughter, but she has to take good care of Shawn.

I can say that we now have more time to play with Shawn since we don't have to worry about meals or housework.

btw, anyone here have any ideas for christmas gift for maid? I think their wants are very basic... but still, what to get?

Hi Fussiecat,

Congratulations.

My girl arrived in sept. It wasnt easy for me for the last 2mths after my CL left. My girl is also very cranky, cries and wana be carried all the time until I have thots of popping pills to stop breastfeeding. She can sleep and cry and wakes up like every half to 1 hour a nite, making me so crazy and feel like escaping from the house and be alone. Just have to endure and keep telling myself, things will get better each day.

Agree that maid can be problematic. It has also to do with our expectation. We will be happier if our expectation is not so high. Dont think I can cope without a maid now, so many bottles to wash and sterilise. so.... just have to close eyes when maid dun reach our expectations, at least, she can help in mopping the floor, washing, watching over the kids when we go toilet etc....

Regarding bonding and bringing up our #1, i really dont have that kind of energy anymore. I have stopped reading and flashcards thingy with L for awhile alrdy. So dead tired from countless waking at night and still have to work. Only hoping for a better day each day and our children can be guai guai

Su,
Really envy you having a good maid who can takes care of Shawn so well.

Christmas gift for maid
Ya, basics like nice apparels will be good.

Anyway, Merry Christmas to all Mommies ...

Agreed with Tiffany that sometimes maids can be problematic and sometimes it's due to our expectations. However, sometimes the maid's attitude also play a part.

For FTWM, a maid is definitely a good option if you have an edlerly to watch over too.

Being a SAHM with a maid, I get to see many things that I would never have known if I'm a FTWM and would then have thought that everything is fine since my maid has been playing happily with my kids. I'm not trying to influence mummies here about having a maid. Just wish to caution you that there are things that many parents are not aware and could be too trusting with maids and that by the time they knew the truth, the child would have been badly traumatised etc or it's too late.

I thank God that I'm at least around to watch over my kids myself (sigh, else I would really have regretted leaving my kids alone with the maid) Once, my maid left my No. 2 alone in the cot. Next to bb was the big square cushion in upright position, can't imagine if the cushion fall onto my No. 2 with no one around in the room. Another occasion, my No. 1 almost choked. Cos' she laid my No. 1 in horizontal position to wash her hair, with my dd's mouth full of food).

For mummies with 2 bb and considering taking a maid, you really have to be prepared for issues with a maid. Like my case, I found that I have more post-natal blues due to the maid than due to my babies. I found that I have to take care of both my darlings myself and also to watch over what the maid do, esp to remind her again and again to wash her hands with soap after toilet, after handling raw meat etc. It's actually more tiring.

I do not deny that having a maid is more relax eg. I don't have to clear potty or to feed my dd, sterilise bottes, do housework etc. But like what I told Terrier last time, I believe I can handle my 2 darlings myself without a maid. Guess I'm giving my maid chances again, see how things go lah.

For Christmas gift, I'm getting my maid a photo frame cos' her family has sent her a photo of her son, so I thought she can place the photo frame at her bedside.

Merry Christmas to all.

Season Greetings and Congratulation to all "new" mums.

Tiffany,
U actually reminds me of my confinement period. I told my hubby that I want to "li2 jia1 chu1 zhou3" when I suffered from my post natal blues.

Fussiecat,
Hang in there. It is going to be over soon. You can always come in here to "talk" to us when you are feeling down. We can support each other here.

I have signed Enya up at the neighbourhood playgroup organised by RC. She will be going to school starting next Jan. Really exciting!!! Now buying her the necessities for school. Really hope that she likes it.

oh wow....really have to prepare myself with no.2 almost here. Guess really not easy. Already notify my boss that I may extend my maternity leave. Heehee..going easy on myself now at work. Just to clear a few reports before I leave.

I am sure if we want we can do it. Just a matter of letting go our expectations of how things should be like. Really life is never so rosy nor so gloomy. Haha..actually I have to reno my new place but till now haven't even go find contractor.

Fussiecat
Really sympathise with you on your situation. Hope the days are improving for the better for you.

Babe
U due mid Jan? Now don't seem to be the time for you sleep train and potty train since u heavily pregnant, really tough. Have you thought of the sleeping arrangements already?

For me, although my boy has been sleeping in another room, but in middle of night, he will still come over our room and climb up our bed. When he's fully awake, he will simply play and kick us around in the morning. I'm starting to worry how he would disturb when bb is born.

Fussiecat,
*hug to you* I cannot imagine myself with 2 kids either. I think I will want a maid the next day immediately if I am going to be pregnant again. I am anti-maid too but I will put keeping myself sane as my priority.

Tracy,
"li2 jia1 chu1 zhou3" with my son during my post natal blues was one of my plan too. I have got other plans which was lucky they did not happen, or else you will not see my posting here. Come to think of it, post natal blues was really scary. I dun think I can take it again if I have no. 2.

Agree with Stephz, no matter how good a maid appears to be, there must definitely be someone to watch over her and the child.

hi mommies, thanks for your encouraging words. i almost reached breaking point already and have been crying alot. worse thing is, hubby is also contributing to my woes. we only talk/argue abt kids and nothing else. it's like he doesn't acknowledge/appreciate all the things i'm gng thru. even my colleagues from work will SMS me to ask me how i am. but not one word from my hubby. i'm really hurt by that.

draik, i agree with you but i think i'm still anti-maid. Cos i have never employed a maid before, and heaven knows whether i would be so heng to get a really good maid the first time. i dun think i can handle 2 young kids AND supervise a maid at the same time. it will just add to my woes, like Stephz said.

i thought abt it... i guess i just have to organize and plan the housework properly. Hopefully, i will have peace of mind after that.

Tiffany, congrats on the birth of your princess. Your gal and my gal can be 'buddy buddy' liao, they have the same sleeping pattern!

Steph,
In order to be happy, we just have to adjust our expectation on maids. Always think that they are just an extra pairs of hands, they are not here to be auto-mode and replace us. I have gone through lots of stress with maids previously too. I got my 1st maid in last year when #1 was 2wks old. It was hell mann.... coping with my 1st newborn and have to train and adapt to a non-english speaking indon maid. Think I got into mild depression then!

My advice: For those who plans to hire a maid, do so about 2months before the birth of your #2. Maids need time to adapt and adjust. My current maid who is now coming 3mths has just get the hand of our daily routines, but still can be forgetful at times.

During a recent holiday programme at JG with L, a maid actually bite her employer's son's finger when he was naughty. Imagine what more she had done at home!

Fussiecat,
Be strong ok.... The cranky days will be over, its just a phase. Talk to your friends and mommies here.. it can relieve your stress abit. I msn with friends who gives me encouragement and I felt much much better now, getting my life back to normal again.
Dont be too stress, your baby can feel it, making her more cranky. Listens to music to sooth your emotions too, hope it helps.

Any mommies here currently sending your little one to short 2-3 hour playgroups in Sengkang? Can't seem to find any decent one around. Would appreciate it if some of you can give feedback and recommendations.

Mel_Lim here. Changed my nick as there is someone out there with very similiar nick.

it has been a LONG time since i last posted. sorry i am one of those that contributes to the quietness of this forum. as i write a lot during work, most of the time just dun feel like writing any more.

2nd Child
i am currently 6 mths preggy with #2 (son again!) and EDD is end March which is very close to #1.

As i read abt the woes of the 2nd-time mummies, i abit scared leh. J sleeps with me at night. So when #2 comes, I dunno how to cope with having to take care of 2 kids at night. Furthermore, HB is out of town most of the time.

I do feel like transiting #1 to sleep with maid, but i can't bear to let go. He is afterall, my 1st born, my "1st love".

Also, recently found out that my maid talks in her sleep. I dunno is it a 1 time thing or it happens all the time but quite scary leh.

I guess the boat will be straight when reach the bridge?

Maid
I am one of those who are fortunate to have a good maid. Those who have met her can testify to that. She takes very good care of J but when it comes to hsework, she is so so only. But they are like human too, can't be good in everything right?

But I wonder can she cope with 2 kids come next year. Furthermore, her contract expires in May which is after my confinement. If I were to send her for home leave aft my confinement, I dunno if I can cope.

No doubt that with a maid, there are more logistics issues to look into but overall, I am still positive abt having maids to help out.

CC
wanted to put J in CC before his Didi arrives but really dun have time to do research of what is good around my place in Wlands.

I guess the worries comes more from us mummies. If our kids could talk, I wonder would they tell us not to be so paranoid.

Fussiecat,
Hang in there! The 1st few months is always the toughest. Part of how you feel is also due to the hormones changes so once the hormones regulate back, I'm sure things will be in better light.

Tiffany, like what I say, sometimes maids issues are not a matter of our expectations.

Many a time, while attending to my No. 2, I have to jagar my No. 1 too, while my maid just stood down there to watch. You may tell me, must tell her. I dunno how often I've told her liao. Ask her to shake the ru yi oil to distract my No. 2 who is wailing. She only shake once and that's it.

You tell me how to be happy when I'm busy handling No. 2 fussiness, yet she has to make my No. 1 cry as well.
Guess mummies with 2 babies will understand how I feel when both the babies wail at the same time.

When things happen, she tends to push the blame to my No. 1, which obviously was not (on other occasions).

I also can't close 1 eye when my dd has fallen down and hurt herself so many times cos' due to her negligence. I wouldn't have blamed her if at least she was watching over.

Many things I've already closed 1 eye. Else I would have already sent her packing long ago if I am not strong enough to manage the stress that she has caused me.

Oops, so bad of me to complain here.

Actually these few days, she seems to be on the ball (maybe she sensed that I really mean business this time after my dd's fall again on Sat due to her negligence).

I have never ill-treat her and she gets to eat half of what I eat everytime. Though she's here only 4 months, I have allowed her to call back and write home numerous times already. There's not much housework to do except simple cleaning and 1 or 2 washing for me and 2 babies (as my hubby still overseas). Even undies I wash myself. Most of the times, I even have to take care of both my children myself. No matter how frustrating I am, I have never even used harsh words like "silly" or "stupid" on her. I've even told her that for her 2 years here, I will help her to improve her English and also help her to learn a skill so that she won't remain a maid forever. I won't say that I'm a good employer, but I don't think I'm that bad too.

For maids issues, I feel it's same as dealing with people around us. It doesn't mean that if you treat a person well, that person will reciprocate. Many a time, it takes 2 sides to work.

Fussiecat - I've been through your situation, so I can understand how tough it is to take care of 2 babies. Sometimes, the man just don't understand what we woman are going through, but we women know. Give you a hug hug, hope you will feel better. Tell yourself by next year, life will be easier for you as your No.2 gets older. Be strong for your kids ok? That's why pple say mummies zui(4) wei(3) da(4).

Ruixiangmom - I thot sending sending my No. 1 to
AppleTree next year, but the lady called me just now that it's only applicable for 3 years old babies, now I also dunno where to send my dd to. I think there's one at Rivervale?

For mummies sending bb to cc or playgroup, read this.
http://www.bay_supplies.biz/forum/topic.asp?topic_id=15485&whichpage=1

Must replace the underscore _ in the above link with the letter "b"(cos' dunno why the forum don't allow the word to be included, maybe cos' it's another forum?):

bay_supplies

Hey Stephz, Draik,

I thought playgroup can start earlier? Anyway, if can only enter playgroup at 3 years old, I might as well send him to nursery 1 half day class then. Am thinking of Church of the Nativity. Draik, I saw you asking about that on another forum, are you thinking of sending KJ there too?

I called them, but registration not opened yet. Will be in Mar or Apr next year. My friend's daughter is there, and she said she is v happy there. I always think a christian school will be better than non-christian ones, due to their value system...may just be a perception :p

Steph,
I understand what you mean. Agree that its not as simple as just our expectation of maid. Most of them are like a piece of wood, not much of initiative. Just like you, I will still keep an eye on her and kids even when she is watching. Its very hard for me to let go totally to maid to take care without any supervision. They do not foresee any danger that can happen, if it happened, it will be too late liao. Who will suffer if accidents happened? Its our child and us, not her! I have told her many times to keep our main door and the safety gates closed at all times, she still can forget to close them when she passed thru the doors. There was once she left the main gate opened when she brought the laundry out and #1 ran to the entrance, luckily i saw it. I am very concern cos there is a flight of few stairs at the main entrance.

I will as much as possible take care myself unless I have to be excused for toilet or express milk.

To Mommies with 2 kids
Its a real challenge huh? Steph, think you know what you and I are going thru. Really pei4 fu2 you handling the kids alone with maid. btw, how old is ur #2 now? How is the sleep arrangement for both your kids?

My hb will accompany #1 to our room to sleep at 10pm while i nurse #2 in another room until she falls asleep, then I will bring #2 into our room. All of us are in 1 room. I have to be very alert, when #2 cries, I will quickly carry her out to prevent #1 from waking. Haiz, can be quite stressful, tat means, I dont have good sleep cos I need to be super sensitive and alert.

Mel, your situation is like Steph (hb not in town), maybe Steph can share some tips how to cope. I still cant see how I can cope without hb lei.

Su,
I thought you have enrolled Shawn to a playgroup alrdy? Pats or a sch in eastcoast area? Sorry, abit lost...

Arrgh..., thot these few days she's a bit on and just forget about whatever that happen in the past. Yet today, so many things got to happen and it's not even 1pm.

When my No. 1 woke up this morning, I got my helper to let her wear the socks as the floor is cold. She helped my No. 1 to wear in front of me. An hour later, realised that my dd has no socks. My helper told me that my dd dun want after peepee in the potty. OMG, that was at least half an hour ago. Even if my dd dun want, she can at least tell me?

That's the problem with her. She tends to think that she's very smart (tho' do agree she is smarter than her peers). But it is this smartness of her that is creating so much issues. Thot these few days, she got enlightened that she's here to work, to learn and not here to do things her own ways.

Got her just to cook the macroroni for my dd (the soup base I will cook myself). She just cook without even give it a rinse (though taught her many times). Didn't even apologise.

Then realise that a special glass container that I wanted to keep, she has dumped it together with the rest of my birdnest glass bottles for recycling. It was quite a nice bottle and totally different from the rest of the bottles. She don't even bother to ask and dumped them into bag, so long as it is made of glass???
*headache*

I told myself it's ok, but realised that she dun even bother to apologise. It's not that I demand one, but at least it's basic courtesy to do so and not pretend that nothing happen. Since the time she came, she has never apologised for her mistakes, even the only time she did is so unwillingly.

Arrghh...can't believe that I'm complaining here. Guess I'm reaching my max. She's actually a good girl, but I find that her attitude is in the wrong place. Every time got to remind her to feed my dd with a smaller mouthful cos' find that she always give her very big mouthful. Sometimes, my dd's mouth full still want to stuff more into her mouth. I really dun know what she is rushing for when in fact she has nothing much to do after that.

Last time, she can cross the road herself with my dd while I was still walking in front and when turned back to realise that she was walking on the other side of the road.

My friend told me that my helper must have thot that I can't do without her since my dh is not around. Well, I find that she wasn't prepared to be a maid in the first place cos' she keeps on thinking that she's very clever.

*Sigh* I've learnt - so what if the maid is good in comparison with her peers? If the attitude is not there and refused to listen to instructions, she is as good as one who cannot work.
Just my thots.

Tiffany - aiya, me still surviving cos' got no choice meh. My youngest is 5 months liao. Really thank God that both my dd are quite loving towards each other and enjoy having each others' company (but of course still will be cranky at times).

My No. 2 will not want to stay with the maid when it's sleeping time at night and will cry to want to be in the room with me and my No. 1. Usually my No. 2 will fall asleep after a while. My No. 1 will sleep after brushing her teeth and story time. Then I do my things. Hee...guess what's my maid doing? zzzzz liao.

Su - found that there's this tumble tots at Punggol Plaza, most likely will place my dd there.

vic ma - sorry, me never tried manual pump so cannot help.

Omg, my FIL came and she let him in without even informing me. What if I walked out of the room "braless" (I'm pumping in the room)?

If she can tell me lunch is ready, is it difficult to tell me someone is here? Thank God my dd came in with the letters, then i know.

*Sigh*, *sigh*, *sigh*

Steph,
Most of your complaint sounds familiar. They tend to do their own way and take easy way out.
Maid feed my #1 at times only. she also will give and give when #1 havent even swallow. That's why I never trust her to handle my kid without any supervision.

I noticed at times she dint bother to burp #2 after feeding. haiz.. wat to do? nag and nag?? i nag until i very sian liao.

Also, told her to pour away the remaining water left in the steam steriliser when she wants to sterilise the next time. I caught her just adding in water without throwing the previous water... I cant be watching everything she does, just have to close eyes. Lucky I am not home to see how she does things, I will surely get high blood.

All maids are different. your problem is she dont apologise and my problem is.. she replied so softly or never bother to reply when I give instruction. I have to wait for her reply. At times.. I have to tell her again and confirms if she heard me!!! very fustrating also. Once, I spoke to her about her not replying or she speaks too soft. I had to tell her... "My house is very "big" so, pls speaks louder, I cant hear you!!! Aiyah..... maid issues are never ending la. Anyway, I have "see open" liao. Dont want to get upset becoz of a maid, not worth it.

Haha...Tiffany, we can shake hands liao, hee...

What I mentioned here is only a small part of whatever happened. Imagine I'm here and so many things already happen, can't imagine if me not here to see. Mine not just dun apologise, also dun want to reply too, only wants to do things her own way.

Let me tell you the safety gate in my house doesn't serve any purpose. Cos' she went to losen the screw (pressure mounted type), so ended the gate will not close. Thank God my dd knows that I did not want her to wander into that room, so I just keep my eyes/mouth shut.

For sterilising bottles and all those, I'm closing both eyes cos' I don't think I'll be prepared for more shocks yet.

Just found that she hangs the towel for cleaning my dd's mouth, overlapping with the rags. Omg. (dunno highlight to her how many times liao)

Now my FIL here, she appears like so happy, playing with my kids, trying to show she takes very good care of them (just find her behaviour a bit different from usual). Guess really must have a "man" in the house.

Dun worry, I'm not upset, else I would have blown my top at her liao. I just wonder why I am still giving her chances lah.

Steph,

haha.. sama sama. In fact, there are many complaints out there, just that they dont say. you were wondering why you are giving her chances rite? I tell you.. Cos we need them!!! We are at wits ends, we are in BO BIAN situation. hahahah.. Anyway, kan4 kai1 and we will be happy. Btw, your maid from Phil or indo?

Talk abt safety gate... Once my maid showed #1 how to unlatch and open the gate!!! really no brains hor, the safety gate is there to deter the kid from entering, there she goes show him how to open.

wow...really speechless about your maid showing your No. 1 how to unlatch and open the safety gate.

For me, I dun think I'm bo bian lei, partly I'm more to the independent type and also a SAHM. After some reflection, I guess me too "soft-hearted" lah cos' if transfer out, she will have to bear the transfer fee etc to the agent. Still can't forget that she says she works as a maid so as to give her son an education. *sigh*

Gee...maybe I don't want to clear the poopoo in the potty lah. Mmmm....but there's always the toilet bowl to help. Haha....

Realise me flooding this forum with maid's complaints, guess maybe I should write a book on this, kekeke... I never know I have so much to say about my maid.

Mine is from Indo, what about yours?

tell me abt maid... my maid that ran away.. demanded that i pay for her airticket cos she dun have $$$... now i got a myanmar maid.. she's ok la but communication prob and she comes from those village kampong so ALOT of teaching to do.. anyway that's not the point.. i just realise that maid(fillipino) that ran away stole my diamond ring and a bag of $$ (my sis's but she was in sydney that time so we realised only recently when she came back!!!)
utterly speecless!! the ring was given to me by my mom so,... heart pain la...

but then again she's the one at fault so she'll have to ans to GOD and i'm sure there will be instant karma cos she too have children... not one but TWO!!!!

strawberry,

That's terrible, didnt know that your maid ran away... so how? What happened to her now?

My new maid will be coming next week, really hope she will turn out to be ok *cross fingers*

Terrier, creative o is opening playgroup 1 now for our children born in 2006.

I just signed my girl today after visting the place. I even brought my gal and my mom back again in the afternoon to see the place too.

Like your comments, it is truly a place that is helping a child to learn to express himself more than towards the academic portion.

See if you still interested to sign your child there.

Draik
I help Evon ans your ques. Creative O is situated within Creative Technology at Jurong East, International Business Park.

Evon
I'm happy for your gal. I too feel it's a good place, b'coz of their area of emphasis on child development. However, fees are real expensive for non-staff, unless I return to my old job.

evon,

wow you decided really fast. so when is the playgroup starting? i might just pop by tomm to check out the centre and see how is it. the location is quite ideal cos it's very near my parents' place. did you register your girl for the half day or full day playgroup? i realised the fees difference between the half and full day playgroup is only $60. makes the half day one really "boh hua".

learning vision kent vale only charges $600+ public fee for full-day child care. creative o charges $639 for half-day playgroup, really ex.

btw, do you know how much is LW playgroup?

terrier,

the difference in the fees paid by creative staff and public is a whopping $250 for the half day playgroup.