(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

strawberry,

Hmm, actually not sure if can see results yet.. those of the things she can say or do now is taught by me.. dont think can see results so soon, and most importantly home practise is very impt

RE: Childcare

Ok, I am super pissed off now. I went down to the centre to withdraw my girl, met one of her group's teachers at the door, the same person who apologised to me saying that they were short-handed that day.. I told her I will be withdrawing Amanda, part of the reason is I dont want her to get bitten again, and guess what she said: "Are you SURE she got bitten?!?!" Then how does she account for the bruise ard my girl's eyes now? And that same boy bit another boy earlier until he bled, was that supposed to be a hug or a kiss if it is not meant to be a bite?????!!!!!

Luckily I was there to see for myself that my girl got bitten, for all I know, if I were not there, they might jolly well tell me that my girl fell down on her own etc..

Hunniepot,

Haven't been able to log in for the past few days. Just managed to finish reading the above postings. Really shocked that Amanda got bitten so badly on her second day at LV. I can't believe biting is so prevalent in child care. You made the right choice in withdrawing A from CC. If I were you, I will do the same. I thought the teachers did not handle the incident well, nor did they think that it is a big deal. But it is definitely a big deal to a mummy whose child has been bitten, on her 2nd day at that!! I wonder how they will handle minor incidents when a serious thing such as biting can be brushed off by just one remark.

You were saying the teacher-child ratio at Gentle Rd is 4:11. When I went for the orientation at LV Kent Vale, the principal was saying that the ratio there is 1:8, based on MCYS' guideline. Dunno why there is such a huge discrepancy when the two centres are within the same LV group. This really worries me cos even with a 2:11 ratio, the teachers at Gentle Rd did not seem interested in taking the biting incident into their hands, let alone a 1:8 ratio at Kent Vale. In the first place, my hb and I were wondering how the hell 1 teacher is going to be able to handle 8 toddlers at any one time. I'm already pooped everyday just handling one toddler!

Next week will be Aiden's turn. I will see how things turn out. For now, my heart is swaying towards withdrawing him after the first week. As the first day to CC draws near, my heart aches more when I think of leaving my DS with a stranger who has to take care of several other toddlers, and essentially it is just a job to her. Worse still, Aiden has absolutely no idea what is coming up. One week he is happily at home with mummy, next week mummy ditches him in a strange place with many unfamiliar faces. I wonder how will he feel when he sees me walking away.

My office manager tried to call me yesterday to talk about my plans to go back to work and also to discuss with me about my job scope and stuff. But I was not able to talk to her in detail cos we were out yesterday. Still waiting for an opportunity to call her up, and probably suss out her reaction when she hears that I'm going to withdraw A from child care, and not be able to return to work. Not that I'm very important to the office, but I think they might have plans for me to take on some things, so I hope that they'll be able to reorganise the job scopes to my exclusion, and without causing too much upheaval.

On a lighter note, I bought some office wear yesterday on impulse. It felt so good to dress up and look pro, rather than just being in crumply t-shirts and shorts everyday. Well if I do not go back to work in 2008, I'll still be able to use them 1 yr down the road when Aiden is 2.5yrs old, and probably more suited for CC, and by then hopefully I'll find another job.

Draik,

Haha, working as a cashier at Cold Storage sounds quite nice actually. I've always liked looking at cashiers work since I was young. Bad thing is, cashiers just don't bring in enough bacon.

I hv been reading your posts regarding CC. Honestly, if I didn't send Ivec to CC prior to all your posts, I'll definitely hesistate to send him there..however, I feel the need to post some gd things abt CC since so many negative things hv been stated w/o giving some positive light on CC.

My observation on Ivec after sending him to CC for close to a month
Though he still cry when i leave him, he stopped crying once he went to his classrooms & on occasions when I peeped at what the class is doing, true, though the things we are able to do at home with them, but given the environment & discipline system, I still prefer letting the CC do the work.
I don't deny that bitting issues happened in CC (I was a victim & I still hv scars on my hands till now as I was bitten by a Indian toddler when I was very young, left in a CC by my parents) I don't hv any recall of this incident only until my parents mentioned. Of cos, my parents made a fuss & the teachers ensured that similar issue will never happen. Not that I know whether it did..but then again, if u want to leave your child at a CC, u'll hv to take into considerations that the teachers aren't able to give 1 to 1 attention all the while.
I highlighted to my boy's teacher in the com book to look after him as my boy is small size & I'm also worried that he will be bullied. I also asked my in laws & dad to pop by whenever they are free to check on the CC, glad to say, so far the centre has met my expectations in terms of looking after Ivec, ensure his daily needs are met & I can see that Ivec is more disciplined & he will listen more to what we say these days.
Thus, I hope this give CC some positive light.

Hi all SAHMs who have plans to return to work,
I personally think it's a good timing now to get into action if you have a great caregiver whom u can entrust your child with as the market is picking up. Juz some motivations for all, I have been confirmed a job placement and with a much bigger dough, out of my expectations, than my last perm job which was dated 3yrs back in April 2004.:p It really boosted my confidence as I was really worried that I might lose my market value for not being in touch with the workforce for more than 2yrs liao.

But of coz, for those who are staying at home, I wouldn't deny that it definitely provides you with a different form of satisfaction which no job in the world can substitue.

tww,

I really hope that the CC exp will turn out well for you.. no 2 experiences are the same, and like what shylyn highlighted, hers is a positive experience, and even within the LV grp, it actually depends on the team running it.. guess for most kids of our tots' age, they will definately be clingy, teary at the beginning.. but like what I mentioned b4, they will learn to adapt.. but for my case, I just didnt feel comfortable with 1 of the teachers on the first day.. and another teacher proved my intuition right by challenging me whether I was sure if my girl got bitten, when she got bitten when she was in my arms, not once but twice! Actually on my way to the centre to withdraw her, I was wondering if I was too rash in withdrawing her so quickly, as I really like the social aspect of the childcare exp.. but that last remark was the last straw for me.. hope that the teachers at NUS will turn out good.. and one positive note, Aiden's CC will be near your workplace, at least you can pop by to check on him say during lunch etc.. for me, I dont even know where I will be posted to... so just start the CC with an open mind, for all you know, you might be pleasantly surprised!

bblim

Yes, I do agree that now is a good time to return to the workforce, some analysts predicted that the US economy will go into recession cos of the sub prime issue next year.. thus hiring might be slower if that were to happen, citibank is already executing massive job cuts world wide liao.. really happy for you to have found a job that pays so well
but I still love my current job of chasing after Amanda in a crumpled tee shirt and shorts...

shylyn,

thks for providing a write-up on the other side of the coin. actually, i do think CC are positive in a sense that they give the kids a social life, teach them discipline and routine etc. but of course CC have their downsides too, so it's up to the parent to manage their expectation. the main problem lies with me in not wanting to let go. other things like a low teacher:child ratio, i'll see how things are when aiden starts coming monday. like hunniepot mentioned, no 2 experiences are the same. so i'll update everyone here when we return home next monday.

draik,

thanks *muaks*

bblim,

actually u do have a point. the job market is bursting with potential now, why am i still going back to the same job with outdated pay to early 2006? i've thot of quitting and getting a new job elsewhere, cos by going back to my old employer, i'll never catch up in terms of salary. but since like what hunniepot mentioned, the CC is near my workplace, and my workplace is quite near my home, and generally nobody works OT there, so it's very family-friendly, and i've quite a few pals there, hence i decided to go back, that is, if i do eventually return to work.

btw, you got my sms yesterday?

wow, looks like our thread has revived again from all these CC talks. Yupz it's a headache when it comes to leaving the child with another. Now I am thinking hard about SAHM when no.2 arrive in 1 mth's time. Haha...sounded out my bosses but they like quite flexible. Erm..not sure if it's civil service but then pay also not market matched once again.

Su, thanks for all the links. Do share more resources. Think I just gotta be more hard working and read up more. Bought books but it's been sitting for awhile.

Hunni, u meant long time back u bought these giant crayons from ELC. What brand and how much do they cost again? Coz I went to ask but they say no more.

Rez has fallen ill again. Got thoart infection from his teacher in CC. Temperature was 39 degree.

I will be going to SYD on 23Dec, Amybody wants anything?

Hi Petite,

If not too troublesome for u, can u help me get 3 tubes of this Paraderm Plus First Aid Cream from Wyeth? Tink you shall be able to get it from pharmacy. Thanks in advance.

1102484.jpg

Hi TWWs,

Yes, I have got your msg but cannot confirm the date as I may be starting work already.
Thanks for the invitation anyway.

Petite,

Enya had fever again too. Started on Sat afternoon. Doctor says everything is ok. Not too sure why there is fever. Might be virus. But i think might be teething.

hmmmm... today will be my girl 1st day @ the playgroup. but the ctr called me on fri am, that they had 1 case of HFMD. so me stay put to see anymore case...

yaloh..this thread suddenly become alive w e discussion of CC ^_^ Today, I also saw more new kids w their parents at Ivec's CC..(my boy still look so small next to all these kids) and I forsee there will be more cryin tomo..as the parents will leave after a while so as to get the kids used to the CC.

Hunnie
So how is Amanda doing? Is she better now? I haven't had the chance to ask cos been busy, usually I only read the posts to keep myself updated ..no time to post ^_^ What do u normally do w her at home? Are u gg to put her in another CC?

Tanwawas
How's Aiden's exp at the CC today? I hope its a positive one for u. I understand ur difficulty in letting go..esp u hv been looking after him ever since he was born..thus I really admire u & hunniepot & other SAHMs for being able to look after ur kid single handedly...I surrender after looking after Ivec for 1 week at home!

Hi shylyn,

Thanks for asking
Amanda is better now, the swell is gone, just some broken skin ard her eyes thats all.. I normally play with her, read to her, sing, flash cards, play ESP and memory games with her.. those shichida methods recommended for home practise.. or bring her out to the playground or let her rin all over kiddy palace

Aiden and I came back home at noon today. This is roughly what happened in the morning:-

9.30am - reached LV Kent Vale. Aiden was ok, ran everywhere to explore. The toddler class had 3 new kids, including A, and these 3 new kids were all they had for the day. A couple of kids did not turn up, the rest were coming in at a later date. Total of 8 kids under the charge of 1 teacher, who is from Mainland China. At first impression, she seems ok. But it was quite chaotic at the CC, kids running everywhere, so I felt quite disoriented.

10am - I led A outside to playground since I saw many kids were playing there. He had fun exploring the place. Did not cling to me at all. The teacher hung ard the playground for a while, and disappeared into the house to take care of another toddler who had no parent with him. Basically all the kids were left to play by themselves outdoors. Teachers will check once in a while.

11am - We went back indoors to the toddler classroom. The toddler without the parent was fussing, so the teacher gave him some chocolate. She offered it to A too, but A refused, to my relief.

11.10am - lunch of bee hoon + diced chicken + chopped veg/pea/carrots was served. no oil, very healthy looking, and tasted quite nice really. but bee hoon was not cooked long enough, and all 3 toddlers had some trouble swallowing the bee hoon. the teacher brought a pair of scissors to cut the bee hoon into finer pieces. As usual, lunch was a messy affair for Aiden. He had soup all over his uniform and food all over the floor by the time he finished his food. Dessert was watermelon, to my annoyance.

11.50am - lunch cutlery cleared, the relief teacher (actual teacher took half day leave, so the relief teacher took over. she was also a mainland chinese lady, looked a bit unkempt, and talked rather boisterously) led the other 2 toddlers + 1 parent to the bathroom for shower. Aiden started to act up. He started to cling to me, and kept pulling me to the main door, and pointing outside. When we got out of the sliding glass door, he continued to point to the wooden gate. I tried to bring him back to the bathroom to see if he wants to be showered, but he did not want to stay there. After a bit of struggling, I decided to go home.

When my hb came to pick us up, A seemed really happy to see his daddy, and readily allowed his daddy to carry him, when usually he does not like his daddy to carry him when I'm around. When we finally got home, Aiden looked much happier.

A few points which made me a bit dissatisfied with the CC experience:

(1) atmosphere was a bit chaotic in the morning. no proper class fitted into the morning schedule. basically just free play till lunch time.

(2) toddlers and older kids were allowed to play together in the playground. i'm worried that the older kids may bully the younger toddlers. but so far, i've observed the older kids there to be quite well-behaved, and as far as i can see, no biting incidents.

(3) toddler classroom was located near a toilet entrance. it felt rather unhygienic, cos older kids can walk in and out of the toilet whilst the toddlers are having their meals outside their classroom. and maybe it's my imagination, but the air outside the toddler classroom felt rather damp cos it was near the toilet??

(4) watermelon was served. too cooling for kids, in my opinion. chocolate was given to appease crying/tantrum-throwing kids. encouraging sweet tooth.

(5) most importantly, Aiden seemed unhappy being there. he was ok when he had things to explore, but when time comes to quiet down, he does not seem very happy.

We'll go back again tomm, and I'll see how A behaves.

Hi TWWs,

In that aspect, LV at gentle is better, or at least it seemed better when I was there with the other parent, the teachers (all 2 to 4 of them) will all supervise the kids when they were at the play ground, one thing I didnt highlight about the playground there is that it is pretty rusty, so will be a health hazard esp if the kids were to fall down and hurt themselves

The first day I was there, the kids were given watermelon as desserts as well

tanwawas,
KJ love fruits is watermellon and we have been feeding him that once a week. I hope it is not something bad.

What I dun like is that the teachers give chocolate and the teachers left the kids alone at the playground. I still do not dare to leave KJ alone at the playground yet even if there is no kids around. I will follow him around.

Hi all, greetings from Florida! I was very surprised to find that some of the moms have not weaned off their babies, salute to you gals! Wishing all of you a merry christmas! (^-^)

Been a long while since I posted. Not much time to surf net but also cannot pinpoint exactly busy with what. Sounds familiar, eh?

Time really flies. Now our babies are toddlers, approaching the much dreaded terrible twos. I have also shelved my plans of putting my son in child care at this stage. Maybe will wait till he is at least 2 and half when he can communicate his needs and feelings better. Right now, only my husband and I can understand his actions and words. Even so, only about 60% of the time.

I have gone for trials of those parent-acompanied classes and my observation is that kids at this age will benefit from these classes really only if they are given one-to-one attention. So only if my mum can no longer help me with him when I am at work, I will prob just let him stay at home idling till i come back home. saves money too.

But of course, if really no choice, see it as a good way for your child to learn to be independent. You would be surprised how much they might learn from there without mummy always protecting them. My friend's daughter who has been attending infant care since birth grew up to be a really sociable and independent toddler.Very smart and matured for her age too.

bblim (bblim), noted on yr request. Will update you when I am back fom SYD for yr collection ok?

Tracy, My boy again fever yesterday. Mild fever. Suspected teething too. Sigh! Wat to do? Going 2 yrs old. The Biggest molars are coming on the way....

Hunniepot, Sorry to hear yr gal got swelling at at her head. Hope she get better soon.

Mom_yam, tks for the info.. But too bad the PD was closed that nite.

Riz was having high fever due to Thoart infection from his teacher. Then last Sun, my turn high fever 39.8. Yet I still got to go to work.

Now I am better but my thoart still hurts... Now in my office typing. Hee hee

CC

Riz, today at the childcare did not cry and I let him there. Phew!

<font color="ff0000">hunniepot,</font>

I've decided to withdraw Aiden from LV. How much did you pay for the trial period in the end? Have they sent you the refund cheque?
<font color="ff0000">draik,</font>

according to chinese belief, watermelon is too cooling for kids and may induce cough and phlegm. i think as long as you don't give KJ too often, shd be alright. once a while treat shd be fine. but for me, i stick to "neutral" fruits like apples, bananas (not del monte cos my mum said it is also very cooling), papaya, peach, grapes.

<font color="ff0000">petite,</font>

you can consider starting riz on cod liver oil to boost his immunity.

i'm sure you must be very relieved and happy to know that riz is finally getting used to CC. congrats!

do you think you can help me get some children readers from syd? i heard that they can be bought easily at airports. will pm u.

Hi TWW,

What made you come to the decision to withdraw Aiden from LV?

I do not know how much they will charge, still waiting for the cheque to come then I will know...

petite,

It is good news that Riz has gotten used to life in childcare.. maybe you can also give him delrosa to drink?

Hmmm... looks like our toddlers might not be ready for childcare centres huh?

I just went to Cherie Hears Learning Cove two days ago. The impression wasn't very good. I kept comparing this with Lorna Whiston. Ah.

But no choice leh. LW only has afternoon sessions for the playgroup.

I am intending to drop by Creative O schoolers' Bay as well.

Any of you have feedback on this childcare centre? Web site looks like not updated for a long time! But prices still so expenisve.

Petite,

Enya also have not recover from her fever yet. Temperature keep going up and down. Plus now she started to have block nose and cough. She looks pretty uncomfortable, especially during bedtime.

tanwawas,
You are right. I will probably starts Enya with cod liver oil after she recovers. Must make her strong and healthy before going to childcare centre.

Koalarie,

Can let me know why you think LW is good? I'm thinking of this but have yet to gather info on it. I know it's very pricey though. Thinking of send my son to a playgroup there.

Hunniepot,

Well, I kind of decided to withdraw on the very first day. Although the 1st impression of the teacher was ok, upon more interaction & observation, I did not get the feeling that she is committed and loves children. In fact, I could sense some impatience in her when she was feeding another kid on day 2. Aiden is extraordinarily active, and stubborn at times, and I don't think I'm comfortable placing him under her care cos even as a mother, I get frustrated with him very easily, let alone a stranger who has to handle 7 other toddlers at the same time.

And the final straw was on day 2, when the teacher allowed her own adolescent daughter (abt 10+ yr old) to go into the toddler classroom to feed one of the toddler milk prior to naptime. I don't think that is appropriate at all. To allow a non-child-care related person into the premises is untolerable, and then you still allow her to interfere with your duties, that's totally unprofessional.

So that's it. I'm staying home for the time being while my office works out a part-time arrangement for me, if allowed by the HR. My hb said we paid almost $200 for 2 half-days of child-care, and the teacher did not even do anything cos i was running after my son and feeding him lunch. what money "well-spent"!!!

Hi Evon

Creative O only accepts kids 2.5 or 3 years onwards and must be already toilet-trained.

Got alot of good reviews from my ex-colleagues who sent their children there. Comments like children are cultivated to be self-independent and confident in their skills. Emphasis in creativity and exploration, less on academic. My ex-boss 2nd son used to be very shy and quiet before but after attending their childcare, he open up and change for the better.

Prices are very high because majority of the teachers are highly educated.

The waiting list normally very long too, so need to reserve place 1 year beforehand.

U interested? Your workplace near JE? Else it's a long distance from your house right?

Tanwawas
I'm so surprised to know abt your decision now. U know what? I actually enrol DS for the childcare in my estate today... :|

The past 2 weeks had been difficult for me, particularly now I'm heavily pregnant. I simply couldn't have any energy to handle DS, let alone going to handle a newborn and him later. Also, I start to doubt abt my initial plan of having my mum to help out is now since I have constantly been in conflict on her. Anyway, she has work in the day, which still leaves me alone to handle 2 kids by then. I felt very depressed that I've been screaming at DS past few days, and I found that the less attention I give him, the more he mis-behaved and threw angry tantrums.

It's really tough, in the end, hubby agreed that sending him to childcare may do everyone good. But I really really can't imagine and bear the moment DS going into the institution. Can't imagine how he's going to adapt the life without his beloved mummy around, and hug and kiss each other whenever we like....I am tearing writing to this point....

terrier,

i totally understand exactly how you feel. in fact, a week prior to sending A to CC, i often cried when i thought of him alone in CC without mummy around.

however from what i read above, it seems that this CC thing is something that you will have to bite the bullet and let go. unless you consider getting a maid who can take care of KX at home while u care for the younger one. it's not the best alternative, but it's a viable option. i saw someone recommending their maid on the wts section, fyi.

Hey Pitite, Tracy,

Last time Ruixiang also tend to fall sick quite often, but after I started him on Delrosa, as well as give him cow's colostrum tablets which I bought from Fu Hua (Hock Hua) Chinese medical hall (it's made in New Zealand, in a supplement bottle form), he has been pretty fit and healthy. GNC also sell the colostrum tablets, but v ex. The ones from Hock Hua actually has equivalent colostrum content, but cheaper. It has work well so far, so I think it's good enough.

TWW,

Wah.. sounds very bad.. how can that teacher make her daughter come in to feed the toddlers? Same thinking as you, I get frustrated with Amanda very often nowadays, kept shouting after her, I know I shouldnt be doing this, but I get so so drained out esp when feeding her, with her throwing food all over, and messing her toys up (sometimes she will pack them when I ask her to) or she will chew her cards or tear her books, climb on top of the bench then on the table etc, and even when there are people at home, she will only want to stick to me and kick up a big fuss if anyone else carries her.. will wait outside the kitchen and throw tantrums if I am inside cooking or washing up etc... cant even use the computer at all, and she wont even let me eat my meals in peace.. I really cant wait for my helper to come on board.. think it kind of affected Amanda's confidence now, she used to be very confident of playing with one of her vtech toys, the alphabet town, and now she wouldnt want to touch it for fear of making mistakes... there was this once she cried very badly when she pressed the wrong key and the toy make a booing sound

terrier,

This was how I felt too, I will tear whenever I thought of sending Amanda to childcare then.. like what I mentioned above, and what tanwawas said, I already feel so frustrated handling Amanda on my own, how about someone who is just doing it as a job? Ever thought of hiring a maid? At least there is someone to do the household chores while you concentrate fully on taking care of the kids.. I used to be super against getting a maid, but guess now I waill want to be able to spend quality time with my daughter

hunnie, i KNOW EXACTLY what you mean in your above post. I was nodding my head vigorously while reading it. especially the kitchen part where Amanda waits outside and throwing tantrums and screaming, Aiden does that too. the cooking meals/washing up is the hardest part of the day. but now i've resort to timing his video watching to coincide with my cooking/washing time so that i can work in peace. but sometimes he still want to come disturb me altho his fave video is being played. his favourite now is hi-5. i kind of become their fan as well, thru aiden's influence. can sing a few of their songs.... haha

as for the teacher, i can't stand how she allows her daughter to come into the centre to play around. the daughter even made some remarks abt how one toddler is more fun and "better" than another one, right in front of me and another parent. her mother quickly shut her up.

a maid is a viable alternative, but hb and I are still dead against hiring one cos we cherish our family privacy. can't stand having an outsider hanging round the house 24/7. that's just my own pt of view. i'm sure many other mummies have had positive experience with the help of maids.

can't type much now cos Aiden is climbing all over the computer table (deja vu right?). gotta do some constructive activities with him now. i'll come back later.

tanwawas,

Haha! Same! I have to turn on the VCD just to free myself, say at the most 5 mins? Then she will come and disturb me.. maybe I need to buy new vcds to catch her attention liao, she seems to be sick of what she has now... I can type freely now cos Amanda is still sleeping! Once shes awake thats it, 100% of my time is going to her liao

I used to think the same as you when it comes to having a maid, I cant stand the idea of a stranger hanging ard in the house 24/7, but I think I have reached my limit already.. I spend so much time doing housework (cleaning up after Amanda etc), and my hubby and I had alot of arguements about me being stressed up and he will blame me that Amanda is like that (what i mentioned above) is cos I spoil her), so I try to finish everything b4 he comes home, so he wont get to see me so stressed.. and it caused even more stress on me, so I become very unhappy, snapping at everyone.. and since Amanda is not going to CC, we need a maid to help do housework when we are at work, cos my mum cant possibly do housework for us, and look after Amanda at the same time.. and I cant imagine doing housework, work full time and yet look after Amanda when Im home, think I will go crazy

Hey Hunniepot,

I have the same experience with Ruixiang like you have with Amanda. Their terrible 2s are kicking in early, I think (actually it can start as early as 18 month, and Ruixiang starts exactly then). Sigh.

My helper was telling me that she don't understand why Ruixiang will throw tantrums and be so clingy (to me in particular) and fussy when my hubby and I are home, cos he is a very good boy with her and with my FIL who comes over to our place everyday. I was reading somewhere that it is because that they feel most secure with us and that they know they can 'risk' being naughtier with us since we would still love them anyway. Not too sure if we should be happy that they feel secure in this sense, if this means tantrums all the time... sigh.

Hi Su,

This is what I read about too, they tend to be naughtier when with us... I jsut hope she wont give my mum a hard time when I go back to work, but she is already giving her a hard time liao.. when will this terrible 2 stage end? If it styarts early, then it should end early right *cross fingers*

Su
Hmm..how does the colostrum tablets help our kid? Build up their immunity system? I hv been feeding Ivec w Cod Liver Oil & thankfully, he's cooperative in terms of having his daily dosage & occasional medication as well. I also give him Fish oil daily ..not too sure whether there will be benefits..^_^

RE: Terrible 2s
After reading Su's post on our children being naughtier with us around, I agree totally. Ivec always cling to me whenever it's time to go CC and whenever I'm around, he will be naughtier. Even my parents commented that he is well behaved only when I'm not around. Usually, after his CC, if my dad or in law goes to pick him, he will be happily playing w them & when I appear, he will fuss & want me to carry him.

TW
Oh dear..sorry to hear abt ur negative experience w CC. I agree that the teacher should not bring her own child to work. Indeed unprofessional! Like u, the 1st day of my trial, I'm the one doing all the work cos Ivec refused to let other teachers do so. For that day, I basically forgo my meals. Luckily I forsee that & self prepared a big water bottle for my own water consumption..hee..else die of thirst there!

RE: Fruits
According to my mil, even grapes & bananans induce phelgm so we usually stick to apple for my boy. Occasional papaya & kiwis for him when he's having hard stools. Ivec likes fruits...so really need to explore what other fruits he can eat.

Btw, do u all hv suggestions for healthy & nourishing meals beside bread for breakfast?? I'm running out of ideas on what to give Ivec for his bf...

Shylyn,

I brought my own water bottle there on day 1, but there is drinking water and lunch provided for parents for the 1st 3 days. like you, i was too busy to eat on day 1 cos aiden's mood suddenly swung to very bad after his lunch, so i could only carry him ard while waiting for hb to come fetch us home.

Re: Terrible Twos
Aiden is having more tantrums than normal, and sometimes i don't even know what he is angry abt. he has this very bad habit of hitting his head when he is frustrated, and although it stopped for a while after our repeated warnings not to hit his head, recently it came back again.

Like Su/Hunniepot/Shylyn's case, Aiden tends to get very clingy and very needy when he sees me around. if i go out and leave him with my parents for a while, they always report to say he is very obedient and sometimes does not even try to look for me. thks to su's post, now i understand why he exhibits this sort of behaviour. he knows I will always love him, and can afford to be naughtier around me...... kids are so smart.

Re: Fruits
You can try peaches and nectarines while it is in season now. I think most fruits are ok for the kids, and moderation is the key. I let him try most fruits, even durian, but have steered cleared of watermelon and pineapple.

Re: Breakfast
Aiden does not really like bread, so I do other things for him cos am SAHM, can afford the time to cook things from scratch. Besides oatmeal which is a staple every morning, I make him wholemeal flour pancakes, or bake muffins either very early in the morning or the night before.

If you need the pancake recipe, I can give you. I rem posting the recipe here before. As for muffins, there are plenty of recipes out there. You just have to search for one you like.

Hunniepot,
Like your husband, my hb also hates it when he sees me very stressed out when he comes home from work. I always try to cook at home for dinner, so when I get frustrated having to prepare dinner while Aiden is fussing, he will scold me and say "why not we just eat out or something. It's your own choice to cook, so don't thrown your temper at me!"

I saw this link in the same page as the above Colostrum article, and thought that I would share it. It shows the close up of some of the food we might eat, or may be/ eventually be giving to our children.

See if you will still eat them or give them to your family after looking at this!

http://www.newstarget.com/phototour_mystery_meat_1.html (click on the arrow button to see the photos).

Tanwawas/Hunnipot
Right up till now, hubby and I are still dead against having a maid, same reason, we cherish our privacy. Also, we are afraid of getting bad ones. I was thinking I would have trouble managing 2 kids and a maid? I would try out the CC option first and see how from there week after next. At least both of you have tried and know that it's not working.

Cooking: Last time, I used to entertain DS with bottles, containers for him to bang around. But now the novelty wears off. I don't like it when nowadays he just lie on the floor and do nothing. Sometimes, he'll ask for the vegetables to play around, so I just give him a bit of those to occupy him.

So now I know I'm not alone in terms of dealing with our kids tantrums. Nowadays he screams alot and always hit the floor with his hands when he's angry.

Su,
I just viewed the link to the mystery meats. Yucks! Luckily my hubby bans processed meats in the house. My mum used to prepare ham/sausage sandwich for breakfast while i was still in school, but she has since swore off them as well, after being educated abt their adverse effects on health. And definitely no ham/sausage/bacon/luncheon meat for my son.

Terrier,
I agree with you. A new maid may cause even more headache than a wailing newborn. Give the CC option a try. At least you know KX is only a short distance from your home, and you can go to him immediately if he needs u.

TW
Wow..at least they catered food for the parents. Not for me..I got to go hunt for food there..cos that place really pathetic in terms of food availability. I ended up getting something from 7-11 instead..i wonder how the teachers survive there..hee
Thks in advance for the pancake recipe..honestly, I doubt i hv the time to prepare for him..hee..mabbe one day when Mummy is not working & my in laws are no longer staying w me, then I'll prepare..hahaha...

Hunnie/TW
How do u ladies cope? I mean..preparing your kid's meals with them awake..wont they come & disturb u? Even for my mil, my fil has to be around to look after my DS when she's cooking..else my DS will go to the kitchen to explore & disturb her.

Su
Thks for the link. Hmmm...then I must definitely buy it..hee..for my own consumption as well..cos I hv been on off sick for the past 2 mths..very cham indeed. Think a number of pple commented that I hv slimmed down..:p

RE: Processed Meat
I should send the link to my hub..whose family members adore eating luncheon meat...hahah..but w e increase in price per can, i hv not seen my mil buying any lately.