(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Winnie, bleeding gums is one of the problems that some pregnant women might face. If you have this problem, must consult gynae to stop it. Take care.

Telly, yup the propolis colgate toothpaste do sell in small tube. My friend said it is really useful! Basicially it is the "minty" taste in other toothpast tt cause the vomitting. Hope it helps you too.

Preciousbabe, you have been hunting for clothes? Heeee.. I went again to try some maternity clothes at some of the shop at Plaza Singapura. They still look funny on me leh. Like oversize clothings. So end up I buy a few more pieces from normal shop but one size bigger. My friends have warned me not to buy anymore 'cos I might blow up in 6th mths. heeee...

I do wish to travel one more time before I give birth also esp since my wedding annivesary is Dec. But my hubby has rejected even a trip to the Thailand 'cos he just don't feel safe. Hai~

Cheers~

Jasminetea,
yup! I'm looking ard for clothes. I happen to like wearing halter neck tops alot so looking ard to see if there are nice ones..heehee...i fat but still like to bear my fats!! think the clothes looks funny on u coz u r so thin!

Hi Preciousbabe,

I like halter neck tops also! Do let me know if you find any nice ones

I think the next thing we will be discussing is the gender of our babies
Really look forward to know so that I can start decorating my bb's room

Btw, I'm feeling more tired than I was in the first trimester coz been having restless nights recently. Need to wake up at least 5 times every night to empty my bladder. And the worst thing is I can't get back to sleep immediately after going toilet, will be wide awake. Then by the time I manage to fall asleep, I will have to go pee again. Arrgh!!! It's so torturing...

Another thing is my appetite. Thought when my MS is gone, I will be able to eat better. But that's not true leh, I still don't have cravings and recently I realise I'm starting to dislike eating meat, fish and even vegetables. Even when I'm very hungry, still can't think of what to eat. So ended up just drinking a cup of milk. Oh dear, hopefully my bb is growing well with my diet...

preciousbabe,

my appetite is still very poor. my vomiting comes and goes. certain things will induce my vomiting. for eg, if i happen to smell overly sweet things (men's cologne/women's perfume etc), i'll vomit. food smells also make me vomit. so i just cover my nose when i walk past all these places. i just hope stall owners wont be offended by what i do!

good morning........

Tks for all the advice will let my gynae noe abt my bleeding gums problem dis wed when i go for my check-up. Me today got abit of spotting again so sad!

Preciousbabe, haaaa.. if it is a bb girl then I can decorate tt way. But after hearing you mentioned before about the gynae predicted the gender wrongly, I hesitated to decorate it too early leh. Later wasted all my effort. Haaaa...

morning.. gals...

anna,

Don't think your baby will be too cold for japan since you will be covered up.. but maybe you will feel too cold for comfort. For me, I cannot stand cold, I seldom switch on air-con at home also.

winnie,
does that scanner belongs to your gynae (located in his clinic)? does he use that scanner to scan for you every time you go? really wish to see my bebe more clearly.. hehee.. after all this "suffering"

i don't have bleeding gums but i have serious rash since last thursday. Its on my body and itch like anything. went to see a GP last night and he gave only a cream, said this could be due to pregnancy and will come on/off for the next few months until i pop
my sis said she also have this rash but under the breast area due to sweat... anyone got rash also.

It will be great if KKH will open another aqua fitness class..

HI ladies
hope each of you is doing fine...Winnie, do take bedrest.
Smurfy,
if you'd like to join the aquafitness in KK, I can inform KK to change my name into yours. I have not paid the course yet since I might have possibility of going to Bali in Jan for 10 days. I visited my friend who just had baby and the baby kept on crying in the afternoon till my friend was very tired. After seeing that, I told myself to fill the "remaining" days (bef4 baby due) with lots of fun, beach, good food, and sun...My gynae told me travelling after 3 months is ok, She herself went to UK when she was 23 week preggie

Hi Monchie
Oh yes .... if not now for the last chance to enjoy couplehood freedom on holiday, dunno how long before we can be travelling again.... heehee

BTW, did u wear materity swimming costume?

Monchie,

I need to see what is the new class timing. I cannot attend the upcoming class because it ends on sat 1.45pm and i have class at 2pm. You better don't change your class in case they decided not to start the new class at all.

Hi Mochie
Tks 4 ur concern cos my boss still do not noe of my pregnancy so cannot always take MC will try to rest as much as i can when i can!

Hi Smurfy,
Ya the scanner is in my gynae's clinic & actually my gynae has 2 clinics but only his Mt E clinic has dat scanner! His other clinic(Bishan) has the normal scanner which he'll oso used that to scan for me on each visit. Most of the time i'll visit his bishan clinic cos it's a nite clinic, whereas MT E is from 8am - 5pm.

Hi mummies...
Just came back from my routine checkup at KKH. Heard bb heartbeat today. Husband was so happy and excited when he heard the fast beating sound. heehee...didn't do a scan so must wait till next month to know bb gender

Anyway, my gynae disapprove me of going to KL for a short trip. She suggested that I shld stay at home and rest instead of squeezing with people.

Do you all think it's too early to buy bb's stuff? I'm thinking of getting some compulsory items first as Seiyu is having 20% closing down sale. How? Should I buy?

Gals do u itch ard the vagina area? I dun have much discharge now but somehow off and on itch around the area. I certainly washed clean with warm water and dry it...arghh..

Hi preciousbabe

U mean all Seiyu going to close down soon? When will the sale last?

I haven't start buying bb's stuff yet...last wkend, my hubby n I shopped at Paragon, 5th floor is concept floor for materity and kids....I was telling my hubby I'll be really excited when I gonna buy bb's stuff...will feel more real and closer to bb...

but rite now, I'm still trying to stock up enough of materity wear...heehee :p

terrier,
yah, seiyu is moving out of S'pore, back to Japan. That's y having closing down sale. It's until the end of this month. That's y I'm planning wat items to buy now

Terrier, my swimsuit still suits me...but I will buy the L or XL one soon..I saw in Seiyu there is swimsuit corner where all go at $15.00. Might go there and see suitable one
Smurfy, yupe, the aquafitness class is started at 1:00 - 1:45 pm every Sat
Babe, my friend has the same problem as you. Her gynae gave her vaginal ointment and she often changes her pantyliners to keep the area dry
PReciousbabe, did your gynae in KK ask you for detailed scan next month in second floor? that one will be able to see everything "inside" the baby. My gynae asked me to go for that scan (according to her 5th month scan is very crucial)

hi ladies......
any idea the baby hyperstore at kaki bukit is it open on weekend & wats the operating hours? Tks in advance ladies!

Preciousbabe
Wat kind of scan is dat?

winnie,
I went to the baby hyperstore last sunday ard 4+. If u check yellowpages, the opening hours are indicated there, I think. Actually I feel that the price there is about the same as outside, not much variety either. Mostly are baby cots, car seats and strollers.

It's an ultra-sound screen conducted at KKH antenatal diagnostic clinic. It is an important screen that will detect any structural deformities in bb if any and compulsory at 20 weeks.

babe (babyship),

u can try the following to keep your vagina area clean and dry.

1. whenever u pee, wash the area with water. have a small bottle with asmall opening and use it to spray on your vagina. then, dab the area with toilet paper to keep it dry.

2. try to remove your pubic hair. (shave/wax etc) or keep it VERY short. it'll be easier to clean and wont trap much bacteria/germs.

3. llke monchie suggested, change panty liners often. use the type which is very very thin so that the area can breathe.

4. wear light, cotton panties. i find some types of disposable underwear very good because they are light, breathable and if they ever get wet, they dry very fast.

i hope these will help you reduce the itch down there, babe.

Glad that everyone is doing well ; )

I'm busy with my assignment, but still drop by to read all the MTBs updates
328401.gif

Hi babe,

For most preggie, we will have vaginal infection. I have discharge, but not very itchy, so I told my gynae and he did a cultured test. It was infection, ytd I just got my oral medication and the pills for insert. It will be gone in few days time. Pls note it may come back again during the 9 mths pregnancy, so just inform your gynae and they will do the necessary for you, we dun need to suffer so long we r past 3 mths pregnant, okie
328402.gif

I was telling Jasminetea, we r in neither here nor there stage, if wear maternity clothes, a bit kua zhang, so I'm wearing my M size hipster skirt,this type of skirt is good as we can wear it after birth. My tummy is showing, hope I can hide 2 more weeks, i.e. 16 weeks
328403.gif

How about you gals?

hey mommies-to-be...

just wondering if any of u looking for gently used maternity clothes? i have quite a few in my wardrobe... thanks! sms me @ 96927526..

terrier,
seiyu bugis didn't indicate it's a closing down sale but there is a store wide 20% sale

mandy,
Hey, long time didn't hear from u! so when's your study finishing? Must be tough to work, look after 1 kid, study and being pregnant at the same time

Hi everyone...
not actively posting but actively here to see what you ladies post...
My MS is getting better, however at sometimes still will feel a bit nausea.
Recently feel something moving in my tummy... maybe it's the baby... and can feel my tummy stretching also, especially these few days...
I couldnt find in my old clothings liao... so I bought those normal clothing that are quite long and flare.. so that got more space for my tummy.
and my tummy is showing already...

Hi preciousbabe
Thanks for your info, shall go down to check out... heehee

Hi Irene
Glad tat u r feeling better
Must be really wonderful feeling to feel bb moving...

Good afternoon.......

Hi preciousbabe....
Tks for ur info..... Will chk out the operating hours from the yellowpages!

hi all...

long time nv post and read...cos will feel uncomfortable when i on-line....dont know y so weird...may be something wrong with me....anywhere now i feel better and can on-line abit liao...

jasmine...thank for your efford put in...and pls update my column...i seeing Dr. SW Seng @ KKH...since im a PR here, so i do check up in sing & mal too...

HI All
Terrier, at that time, when I went to Seiyu, the swimsuits on sale was placed near Royal Sporting House (second floor)
Telly, you have the same aversion as I do...cannot stand perfume and foodcourt smell..
My gyane said that the pain which we feel occasionaly in our tummy is due to expanding uterus

Morning everyone,
Wow, the weather is so nice and comfortable tdy
But too bad i woke up early and didn't manage to enjoy sleeping in this cooling weather. Went to NTUC to buy groceries just now and realised that my stamina has dropped! Can't carry the groceries and walk, panted all the way from bus stop back to my flat. hahaha....looks like i have to get myself started on exercise otherwise will pant like mad when giving birth.

Mrs Ho,
ya, long time havnt see u online liao. Y like dat? every time online will feel uncomfortable? Heehee...ur bb not IT savvy leh, dont like computers
so it's everything ok with u? Hmm...u r a PR, so have u decided where to give birth? In S'pore or Malaysia?

Hmm...looks like our thread is getting quiet again...haha...mummies, u all must be talkative abit...otherwise the May and June thread r going to catch up with us liao...heehee...

Agree wif preciousbabe, we muz buck up n post more.
talker.gif

Preciousbabe,
not working today ar? Or u r same like me a SAHMTB (stay-at-hm mother-to-be)?

Hi Preciousbabe,

It's still ok la as I oni work half day
328718.gif

But I feel very bad as I can't spend a lot of time with my boy, he is very sad. Even though he didn't take afternoon nap, whenever I'm at home at night (1,3,4 I attend nite class)he will stay up late till late. But when I'm not ard, he would sleep at 8pm. Usually those 2 nites I'm at home, I need to do either research or project, he keeps asking me to play with me. When I said no, I dun have time, I could see the dissapointment on his face
328719.gif
so poor thing...

I really look forward to tt day I complete my study so tt I can devote all my free time to him
328720.gif

How about you? Everything goes well
328721.gif

bblim,
Yup, I'm a SAHMTB..heehee...actually quit my job before I know I'm pregnant with the intention of changing job. However, nobody wants to employ a pregnant lady so must as well be a SAHM lor...heehee, hubby also bo bian that I'm not working.

mandy,
I feel so sad for your boy! He must be craving for your attention. Did you prepare him for the arrival of the little one? Hope he'll not feel jealous coz u mght have little time for him when the little one arrive and u studying at the same time. Btw, wat course u studying?

As for me, I'm ok lor...heehee, actually surfing the web now to look for names for my bb although I still don't know the gender. But nevermind, I'll look up both boys and girls names for preparation. See the names until my eyes gong gong liao....

HI Mommies

Did you saw the news yesterday nite abt the bird flu? Our health ministry is advising those old age and pregnant women in 2nd trimester onwards to take the flu vacine as a course of prevention leh...

I'm back!

preciousbabe,
ya lor, i oso feel dat no employer will wanna employ someone in our situation who need to go on maternity leave shortly after probation.

But on the other hand, consider ourselves lucky at least we can take our time to be wif our little ones when born until we feel ready to go out to work again.
Whoa, so fast searching for names liao. I still tinking of confirming bb's gender 1st then start search coz i lazy mah.

bblim,
I'm terribly bored at home...so start searching for names lor. Heehee...I even started planning on how to celebrate my bb first month liao

Yup, agree to what u mention abt spending time with bb but too bad for us lor, don't have the maternity benefits. Anyway, I've talked to my hubby and decided that I'll be a SAHM after giving birth coz I want to prepare for the 2nd bb. hahaha....plan so far ahead!!

terrier,
ya lor, I watched the news too...but I can only check with my gynae next mth on whether to take the jab coz my apptment is next mth lor.

Hey mummies out there, if u r going to the gynae these few weeks, can help to ask abt the flu vaccine and let me know if it's compulsory for us to take?

terrier,
saw d news too. My hubby kan cheong asking me to go take the vaccine. But i tink not necessary lor if we take necessary precautions n build up our body resistance. Coz last yr actually wan take but heard dat it will only last for specific period of time then no more liao. Have to retake again. Dunno true anot. Correct me if wrong.

bblim,
My hubby is taking the vaccine tdy as he's going to Australia next week. Heard that he last took the vaccine in 2002. So actually can last for at least 2-3 years, if I'm not wrong. Or most likely, he didn't take the vaccine the last 2 years coz bird flu situation not so terrible then so SAF save $ on the vaccine.

preciousbabe,
Wow, so fast planning for 2nd one when 1st one still in progress. Ur hubby n u muz have loved kids alot. For me, even one oso dunno can handle anot? Anyway, we agreed to have only one child.

Me going to gynea on fri. Will ask him if I dun forget.

bblim,
Heehee...actually my hubby and I have a pact. If the first one is boy, then I will try for 2nd bb coz I want to have a daughter. But if the first one is a daughter, then I will stop at one. But recently, my hubby has hinted to me that he wants to change his stand of just having a daughter. Think he wants a son to 'chuan zhong jie dai'. Aiyo, his thinking so uncle, cannot tahan...so I got no choice lor, if he wants a son, die die also must bear him a son...

My hubby oso very kan cheong me on getting the shot... When I was in 1st trimester, I really just ganna flu infection easily from my colleague....

just did a quick research on the web...Here's wat I found:

Flu Vaccines
Because the strain of influenza virus changes every year, it is necessary to get a flu shot annually. A flu vaccination, although not a permanent vaccine, will help lower a persons chance of catching the flu each season by 80%. Those people who do manage to catch the flu virus despite getting their shot will likely experience fewer and milder symptoms.

The most common flu shot side effects include soreness or swelling at the point of injection, headache and a low-grade fever. However, these symptoms usually dont last for more than a day.

Although it is recommended that everyone get a flu vaccine every year, it may be necessary for you to avoid getting a flu shot if you:

Have had an adverse reaction to a flu shot before
Have a fever
Are severely allergic to eggs or egg products (the ingredients for the flu shot are grown inside eggs)
The Flu Shot and Pregnancy
Pregnant women are considered to be in the high-risk group of those most vulnerable to getting the flu and are strongly urged to get a flu shot, especially if you have an increased risk of pregnancy complications due to a medical condition. While some doctors may avoid administering a vaccine to a woman who is very early in her first trimester, it is generally thought to be safe to receive the vaccine at any point during pregnancy.
Pregnant women have been found to have an increased risk of death or severe complications if they contract the flu during pregnancy. Although the general risk of death from the flu is quite low, one study showed that pregnant women have a nine times greater risk of death from flu compared to other adults. Additionally, since pregnant women have a weakened immune system, there is a greater chance of pneumonia or bronchitis developing. Even if you do not develop complications from your flu, your flu symptoms are much more likely to last longer if you are pregnant.

But what about your baby?
Generally speaking, the average flu wont harm an unborn child. However, if your condition were to become serious, then there could be a chance of a miscarriage or preterm labor occurring. Once your baby is born, your constant close contact with your child will make your baby more susceptible to catching the flu. However, the flu virus is not thought to pass through breast milk.

While the flu shot is believed to be completely safe for both pregnant and breastfeeding women, FluMist, a nasal spray flu vaccine, is not. Unlike the flu shot, which contains killed flu virus, FluMist contains the live flu virus, thereby increasing your chances of catching the flu from the vaccine.

Preventing the Flu
Here are some things you can do to help lower your risk of catching or spreading the flu virus:

Avoid large crowds whenever possible
Wash your hands regularly
When you cough or sneeze, be sure to cover your mouth and nose with a tissue
Dont pick up used tissues
Avoid sharing cups and utensils
If you do have the flu, stay home to avoid infecting others

preciousbabe,
if can last for 2-3yrs still not so bad lor. Dat time I heard was like for 1-2mths only. I was like
328778.gif

bblim,
I also not very sure how powerful is the vaccine. But think to be on the safe side, even if not pregnant, just go and take the jab lor. heehee...i very kiasi one...

Aiyo, where has my previous post gone to huh?
kao_angry.gif

Nvm, type again.

terrier,
thks for ur info on flu vaccine. Hmmm... mayb shld consider taking hor after reading.