(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

Amanda,
You can either transfer the puree to a container (for microwave use)and re-heat in the microwave or juz put the whole jar in a cup of hot water for abt 15mins. I usually will put in a cup of hot water and then mix the puree with the cereal.

bbcutie / Yvonne / Violet: ok.. thanks ya...

violet: got to throw after 48 hrs of opening ya... i tink the first few bottle sure waste one.. cause initially cannot give too much rite, slowly increase the puree hor...

Amanda/ Violet/ ilim/ bbcutie,
Every week have to think abt wat to buy for Nicole's meal. Really dun know wat to buy....Everytime buy the same thing (potato, pumpkin, sweet potato n bottle food), dun know she will feel bored eating. Can anyone recommend wat else to give huh?
Planning to give her the porridge next month..

hi Yvonne
Have you tried giving your gal broccoli or spinach with pork, chicken or beef in porridge? My PD recommend giving porridge for my gal and she is enjoying it. She dislike rice cereals coz I think they are tastelee. So usually my mum will cook pumpkin with pork or sweet potato with chicken, broccoli with pork, etc.

hey mummies..my gal recently got cough and phelgm again and i am thinking whether i should change the milk formula..she is currently drinking mamex gold...thinking of switching to Similac..
Any ideas? or was it i had too much Ben & Jerry and cold drinks during pregnancy...*regretted*

vs,
nonsense la... no amt of ice-cream and cold drinks during preggie can cause phlem in bb la.

Yvonne,
no hurry to let them try new food la. Start slow is safer oso.... in case of allergy.

violet...but everybody in my house is blaming me..especially the words from my hubby always ringing in my ears " u can take all u want but bare in mind...if anything goes wrong for baby, don't grumble"
*cries*

vs..
tell ur hb to go fly kite... how can say such things... esp when during preggy its either cold drinks make us more comfy (for us who hv MS) or we hv craving for cold stuff...

my MIL oso blame me for taking french fries almost everyday during my preggy n now my boi super scared of heat.. i say then wat u wan me to eat? air ah? dats the oni thing i can get it stay in my stomach wat can i do?

now my boi sick.. cos over heated by her cos she keep wrapping him up n off all the aircon n fan.. become my fault oso lor..

vs, dun cry (sayang)... now my boy lk dat, everybody also blame me say cos i throughout preggie take cold stuff.... i just think as they are ignorant.... we same boat... i sm x will also drop down and cry and think really my fault... but when i clear mind again, i will rmbr gynae say it has totally no connection - whether bb will be affected in future like more phlegmy if i take cold stuff during preggy.

Sorry to hear so many bbs sick n on nebuliser. Take care of yourself, ya. I think it is a myth la, how cold stuff and french fries affect the bb? They obtain the nutrients thru the cord via the blood, right? You mean, still cold ah??? Dun see the link, hehhe..

summer,
wow, so fast can feed meat ah? I scared he will choke even if mince finely. But my boy very greedy, always want to eat our food.

Aiyo.. my mum also said I took cold things whilst preggie, tats why Annika is wheezing so badly. Hiazz. even my own mum says that.

Anyway, I always rebutt her. I never eat anything special but Annika has so much hair, how come u dun mention anything?? Then she diam diam.. So it means pregnancy and after birth got no connection right?

all this bout cold stuff and baby being phelgmy has no connection.. it s all old wives tales la.. anyway bb in tummy takes in the nutrients of what we eat not what we eat.. so no connection..

my MIL used to say that elvin have alot of phlegm becos i drink cold drink also. Then after we change formula now he has less phlegm liao. So gals dun blame yourself hor..

elvin 5th teeth coming out liao...Hee..hee..

vs,
i drink cold water everyday, pepsi n ice cream every other day oso nothing wrong w bb.
For yr MIL, i can understand tt she is ignorant. For yr hb, maybe he 'under pressure' to put the blame on u? Talk to him that when bb is not well u need his support n not to find someone to 'blame' liao.
Anyway, we all know it's not due to any cold stuffs la ok?

Jappooh,
Elvin's fast!!

Yvonne
i agree wif violet start the food slowly in case of allergy lor. me usually give the sme food for 3-4 days n for lunch n diner oso. So far me have not started on meat only fish(threadfin) as for veg is broccoli, spinach, potato, pumpkin, carrot n sweet potato.

Hi Jappooh,
U mention that elvin phlegm is cause by formula huh? Cos my boy also had phlegm and i recently change step 2 formula for him. How can i sure that his phlegm is cos by formula??

Hi summer,
how u prepare the "broccoli or spinach with pork, chicken or beef in porridge" and others? I mean u throw broccoli and pork into the rice porridge( those we adult eat), and after cooking, remove the brocolli and pork? if mash, all the meat cant mash leh...

today i started brown rice. use adult brown rice to cook, then mash it for bb....not sure if correct or not.

re: solids
If at aunt's place, she'll cook til nua nua n feed xr. If at my mom's, she'll put it in a blender and give bb

elvin really growing up fast...hehe, xr still bo gay, but I prefer it like this

Jasmine
The meat is to add flavour to the porridge and they are really bits and pieces.

ilim
my PD recommend to start fish later coz fish may have a higher chance of causing allergy as compared with pork, chicken and beef.

hipee
good question. i also dunno... coz my mum prepare them.. keke. from what i can see, the brocolli and the pork are diced into very very small pieces. My mum say she chop them. They are not removed from the porridge. As for pumpkin or sweet potato, my mum will boil the portion that she is going to add in porridge first to make it soft and after that add in slow cooker to cook with the porridge. When ready to serve, will have to mash the sweet potatp/pumpkin together with the porridge. So far, my gal enjoys her porridge alot... i have tried them myself, and i think it's nice too

Jappooh
Wat FM u changed to?
YJ also a lot of phlegm after taking Step2 Mamex. N nowadays, morning n nite, she will have running nose. PD and TCM doc say she has sensitive nose, nothing they can do. But we cham leh, cos she keep on waking up at nite to cry, think is she has problem breathing

Hehe, over weekend, realised tat YJ can crawl liao, n can crawl quite fast. But cannot sit yet?
I thought the old folk say bb sit b4 crawl?

bochap,
YJ crawl on fours? or crawl using tummy? JH using her tummy to crawl...heehee...n been crawling like tat quite some time liao. she is learning to be on her fours now but still not v stable yet.

JH81 & Siewlng,

i duuno does the formula really cos teh phlegm lei. I start Similac when elvin is 3 mths and that 2 wks he has alot of phlegm and those phlegm is like 1 big cot like that. Lucky he knw how to cough it out loh. Sometime vomit the milk can see the phlegm one. The PD say baby will have more phlegm if he has sensitive skin.

Then i go and change the formula to enfalac A+ and he get better.. SO i think mostly similac does not suit him.

But all bb is diff hor. Some bb take similac very well.

Crawl::
Elvin crawl using his tummy also but not forward is backwards lei. If he wan to get something he will turn using his tummy also then crawl backward wehn reach turn back to the front to grab the toys. He is also try to stand up.. But so far unsuccessful yet..

Don't blame yourself for the phelgm and coughs lah. Haha, I blame my MIL. She fed me bird's nest. But she didn't clean properly, so got feathers inside, but didn't dare say. So i blame her for my boy getting asthma since me and my hb got no asthma history.

mashy,
Birdnest oso dun cause phlem la. I take every week fm 5th mth onwards leh.
Jus stop blaming each other lor, concentrate on nursing him back to health.... ok?

Violet

Haha, if need someone to get the blame, better not be me. :p Anyway, there were talk that the birdnest have to clean properly. Hers still have feathers in it. Probably yours was cleaned very well.

wowoow all yr baby v fast lei... mine stil cant crawl (only can b on 4) cant sit steadily (prefer to be on 4) and stil TOOTHLESS haha

bochap, mine also every nite wk up cry lei thk cos blocked nose lor he ke lian i also cham haizzz

Re: Phlegm
My MIL oso blame me say i drank too much cold drinks n ice creams during pregnancy den causes shayna to have phlegm.. den she force me to gave my ger pearl powder to "clear" the phlegm.. luckily i ask the GP and he advised me nt to give coz duno wat side effects will have on the bb.. i told her n she gave me the black face n say y everytime listen to those stupid docs.. u see, this old folks noe nothing n yet they claimed they noe everything..

bb_ger,
U can get Hou Ning from Yu Ren Sheng. Its very good for phlegm. But prepare to pay a bit for the pathetic bot of powder.

I remembered my girl oso like to play with remote control when she is younger. We will substitute it with calculator. Now she will play with our cordless phone. She will "talk" into the phone saying "Hello"....her baby language............. and ends with "ok, bye" Then hang up. FAINT**

bbcutie,
nw my ger hav no more phlegm liao.. tat x is when she was jus a few days old, den there's alot of wheezing noises coming out frm her throat.. we ask the Gp and he say it's normal for bb to have phlegm coz air nt clear n their windpipe nt mature yet n very sensitve.. he say will go away as she grows older.. true enuf.. she doesnt hav tis prob liao.. *touchwood*

hehehe.. ur ger so cute.. but does she noe hw to use the phone?? ever call u b4??

bb_ger,
My girl dunno how to use the phone. She only play with the phone.

mashy,
My girl only had her first teeth after 10mths leh.

Think most of your bb can go on all 4s liao hor. I would say that my boy is the slowest because till now he can only flip over and do push up position on tummy. Can't sit by himself. Can't crawl and let's not talk abt kneeling on all 4s. No teeth yet. I dunno whether weight plays a part or not. He has been an "obese" baby since 3 mths till now. Maybe he is too heavy to do all the "stunts".

bb_ger, i remember the pd telling us that time was when we were just discharged that a few days old baby wheezes becoz they dunno how to breath yet.. the pd said the baby still adjusting.. nothing to do with our pregnancy lor..

Mashy, Bulma & bbcutie,
They are not slow la.
I checked my gal's video at 6mths and she is oni learning to flip then, not even on all fours yet.

According to PD, crawling at this stage is fast. So dun worry that yours not yet 'cos it's a normal phase. Shd crawl around 8-9mths actually.

Teething shd start around 5th & 6th mth and same la, some will be a little slow, FK oso 'bo gay'

Bochap

YJ so fast!!!

Yesterday very funny. My hb put my boy to sit at the edge of his cot, holding onto the railing. He was trying to stand by pulling on the railing for support. Then I asked him, 'Come, show mummy what you can do.' And guess what, he opened his mouth and munch the top of the railing. So funny! Hahaha! Yah, that's what he can do.

so much posting. my Sam and Ray started crawling last thur! now they getting adventurous. headache. so my play yard is quite useful. as for sitting, Ray not very stable, occasionally can topple.
but both crawl diff style. sam's tummy still on the floor, he glide. ray is body off the floor, but he is not crawling as well as Sam.

my girl can do leapord crawl aka crawl on tummy.. no signs of going on 4s.. but she s been drooling like mad.. biting whatever she can get her hands on.. so dunno whether it s due to teething..

bbcutie,
i tink if u teach her hw to use the phone, she will call u n pester u everyday ah.. :p hehehe

Feza,
ya loh, no link with us eating anything 1 loh.. the old folks like to anyway link tinks together..anyway nw she ok liao..

Shayna oso on her 4s liao... she can crawl n pull herself up to standing position liao.. hehehe.. she oso drooling like mad but still no signs of teeth yet leh..

allo...

I'm new to this thread and I'm a SAHM with a 6month old baby. He's born on the 16Feb2006 and was wondering how other SAHM spend time with their baby at home. I can run out of things to do sometimes....

By the way, do you guys meet up as I was thinking it will be nice if I can bring my boy and miggle with baby of his age

bb_ger,
Hehehe... Will not teach her how to use the phone for the time being.....Anyway she is still too young - 2 year old.

Carol,
Welcome to the thread. There are a few SAHMs here who meet up every week. Its good to have playmate.

I envy you leh. Can run out of things to do. I wish I can too. Hehehe... I am a FTWM, if I run out of things to do, my co. will "pok" me....hahahaha

Hey, feb mummies. Would like to know anyone of you engage susi for post natal massage? I would like to find out more abt her

hi carol,

let me welcome you to our crazy world.. anyway there s a group of SAHMs here that do meet up weekly.. i m one of them.. i will pm you my email add we go from there.. i will get the grp admistrator to pm you a form to fill up...

BabyJo,
U come to the right thread. Most of us here engage Susi for post natal massage.

She is good. Her package consists of 10 massage sessions with 2 hot mask. If I don't recall wrongly, she charges $500 or $550. Have to pay all upfront on your 1st session of massage.

As her schedules are packed, she do not come at the same time everyday. You can discuss the time with her if you want her to come at a certain timing.