(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Mommies!

Long time did not come into the site... so bad that I met Queen the other day at the zoo and I desperately tried to remember her name but couldn't (tsk tsk considering we met so many times!)

SY,
I would like to bring Lucas to the playgroup. What time is it? What should each of us bring? Keke... I just bought a foldable ballpit, can bring along if you want.

Re: brushing teeth
Lucas is not terribly interested too. But ever since by chance he brushed out some spinanch remants from his teeth, he got more excited abt brushing (with the aim of getting the 'yucky' stuff out)... every now and then I 'plant' a little something on his toothbrush so he gets a sense of accomplishment when he sees the gunk. When he is really not in the mood for brushing, I will use Spiffies toothwipes.

cindy
which day u referring to? we are having 2 playgroups. one is at my place on 21st and the other is at CL's place.

i m planning to go osaka instead cos got offer. is it interesting?

sunny
u mean your MIL actually said that to u? even if she think that way, also cannot say mah

May,
yah man....i think ours can be good friends. Teaching all the dangerous stunt and if anything were to happen...."orh....must be mummy's fault!"

RE : MIL
The thing wif my MIL is that it is pointless to talk sense with her. I tried explaining and she wld ignore me TOTALLY. I gave up on her liao. Now I wld talk to my son wat's meant for her to listen. She can call my mom to complain if she wants. Oh yes...the recent High Fever outbreak I was oso kana blamed. She kept harping on why the sudden fever, i told her virus lor and she kept asking till I told her FROM ME! and she went "no wonder.....!" Urgh!!!

SY
ya loh, she said that to me when she's telling me those traditional stuff the family has to do for different dates. sad hor?
other than that, she's treating me quite alright lah, as in, both of us treat each other quite 'ke4 qi4' so far....

Cindy,
Heehee, I remember you and your name lah. It's ok, there are mummies here whom I cannot put a face to the name or put the actual name to the nickname too. So many of us here!
You have regained your slim figure liao.

Unlike me, after being SAHM for 4 months, I have become more fleshy. Now trying to lose weight!

Re. ILs
Ermmm... I regard them as family, but more because of the fact that they are my HB's parents. I know I definitely do not treat them the same as my parents lah. So I expect that most ILs will feel the same about their DILs vice versa, unless the DIL is very close to the ILs.

RE: ILs
I dunno why.. always have this same feeling that I am outsider lor. My MIL likes to talk to my hb secretly in the kitchen. When I ask hb, he will say nothing much lar. If I insist him to tell me, it will be summary of the whole conversation. When I am pissed off, I always tell him, ULTIMATELY I am an OUTSIDER mah. Only a birth machine aka mother pig to make sure I will give them a GRANDSON to pass down the name of the family. Will need to try and try until I get a GRANDSON for them (this last sentence comes from my MIL's mouth).

RE : ILs
Huh, my MIL is very nice when we r with others. She wld nv hold or touch me when we r alone but when others were ard, e.g. my mother, she wld hold me dearly and talk so sweetly to me. Irks me! She doesnt talk secretly behind my back as all she needs is to speak in cantonese and I know she's telling him things she doesnt want me to know. I'm understand only 10% of wat they say. Very bad at the language. I usually refer my MIL when chatting wif hub "your mother". My Dad finds it odd and will always ask me why dont i juz say "mother".

CL
hee, your description of osaka makes it sound boring leh... my fren says she likes it a lot

May
maybe your MIL is the kind who wlil be nicer to u if u give birth to son. very realistic one

Chillies
does your HB know your MIL is like that?

chillies,
Same here, i have also never cultivated the habit to call my ILs just 'Ma' or 'Pa' whenever I'm talking about them with my HB. I always say 'your mom' or 'your dad'. I dunno why leh.. somehow just feel unnatural. Come to think of it, I think my HB also say 'your mom/dad' whenever we are talking about my parents. My HB also cantonese and although I don't speak the dialect, I can understand every single word of it. So my MIL cannot openly talk bad about me in cantonese. Hahah!

chillies
haha.. same as you, i always said 'your mother' when i chat with my hb.

may
my mil also likes to talk 'secretly' in the kitchen with my hb, too. and my hb would give a summary to me if i asked him. but, luckily, my mil nvr ask me to get her a grandson directly though i know that she wants one lah. so, i decided not to tell her the bb gender till mayb at the very last stage. 'cos i also don't want to see her different attitude to me during this pregnancy compared to my last pregnancy no matter it's a bb boy or gal. :p

queen
agree with you. so far i haven't seen any DIL who gets along with their MIL like their own mum.

hi SY,
What time is the playgroup at ur place on 21st? Is it still open for others to join? I might actually be able to make it if it's in the morning!

SY

Osaka itself is ok, it's a foodie paradise too. Saw from news yesterday that there's a faulty roller coaster ride, but dunno which one in osaka. Yah, go there must try the okonomiyaki and takoyaki.

But there's a lot of places nearby that u can visit such as Kyoto, Nara, Kobe, Himeiji, Arima Onsens (famous ancient onsen) etc. They're all very nearby. Kyoto alone already can stay at least 3 days. I like it much more than Tokyo coz there's a lot of interesting places nearby compared to Tokyo.

How much is the offer?

CL/Sunny/SY
Going tomorrow to check again.

SY,
Yup, but he never bother much. There was so much unhappiness during my pregnancy that I've become short temper with her. She wasnt happy that i rejected her offer to do my confinement and to look after my boy. Told her that her health wasnt good and looking after kid is no joke. She kicked a big fuss and called my mom so often to complain and trying to get mom to exert pressure on me. When I told her finally that I confirm getting a CL. She was ok but the next time, called mom and fuss. Urgh!!!

RE : Upbriging of Kids
Well, my sister commented again yesterday that she felt I'm too fussy over Xav's diet. Basically, I'm very particular of wat he eats. I do not like giving him too salty or sweet stuff. Wld give outside food juz for taste not as a meal. She said that I wld make him into a difficult child and making my life miserable. I told her flatly I'm fine with the trouble as I dont mind cooking and adjusting my schedule accordindly. She's very against my partial organic diet as there's no point to her. Frankly, I'm damn pissed and seriously wanted to yell at her. She has been harping on it for as long as i can remember. and the tone....urgh Of cos, I controlled as I din wanna kick a big fuss. I dont expect anyone to help me in this issue and has NV asked for help. I do as much as I can myself. I think she should respect my decision and method. I respected hers and nv comment on it. She complains alot on my mom. E.g, my nephew has very bad teeth cavities and had to spend a sum to fix them. She blamed my mom for not taking care and also blamed mom after the fxing for not taking care of the new teeth. Basically to me, she's the MOTHER, if she thinks my mom is not doing a good job, then do it yourself. She convenient dump his son there so she can go out and hv fun, then dont complain. My nephew is also rude but she thinks otherwise. U juz listen and watch when she disciplines the child, total failure. Once nephew did something really notti, i told her, she replied, "later, I'm watching TV now." She had so much help from me when she had her son, but nv think of me now when I hv mine. I nv expect anyone to help me, afterall, I'm the MUM. There's certain sarcrific a mother has to make. We dun juz say we love a child, we show it!

SY

Got hole is probably the ear drum and that's in middle ear. Mine is prob with inner ear. Can't see it, can't reach it. sigh. Hoping it's not tumor and it's not permanent.

Apparently it's still a mystery to the drs abt inner ear infections. Many pp just hear a pop and there goes their hearing. Some of their hearing return after a few weeks, for some it's permanent. I guess I'll prob need to do MRI tom to rule out tumor first.

SY,
Ha ha if you ask me within Osaka, realli nothing leh. But there is a den den town which is similar to Akihabara on electronic stuff. Cheaper than in Tokyo lah.

Mashy knows japan quite well ha ha. When in Osaka, I travel to places like Kyoto, Nara, Kobe, Himeiji. Kyoto can see shrines, Himeiji I went castle but hor all castle looks almost similar to me though they claim they are different.

PIL
Hmm i will call my fil papa and mil mama. My own will be pa and my mum mummy. But my hb will be the one who goes my mummy, your daddy. Aiyo, every time I say papa, he will say yours or mine ha ha. If my mil is still around, I think she wont be like that. She treat dil better and always tell hb , her parents brought her up not easy so must take good care etc. But I always feel she cook and do housework so well so very difficult to meet her standard so hb very spoilt

chillies
i think, sometimes we just have to cover our ear to these kind of comments. lots of ppl commented that i am strict over my gal's diet. even my mil wasn't agreed with me at 1st place. but, i just insisted my way to do it and kept telling her my reason of doing so that's provided she listened. she finally took my way of preparing the food i.e. no salt, no oil before 1 yo willingly only when her close friend told her the same thing i told her before.... well... what can i say?

sunny, queen,
me and hb also refer to each other's parents as ' your ' mum and dad. somehow feel a bit funny to call mother and father

durianlover
it is 9.30 at my place at pasir ris. let me know if u coming.

mummies who are coming to my place this fri
let me know whether you/bb need lunch

mashy
the ticket offer is 748 including tax. cheap right?

my parents visited kyoto bfore. did u do free and easy? they are thinking F&E very hard to do but i think shd be ok bah. i can't speak jap though.
is kobe and the onsen very near? if got any good recommendation for hotel/onsen, can PM me?

hopefully it is not a tumor. think the problem is that ear is inside and cannot hear.

chillies
u give partial organic diet? i also thinking of giving partial organic diet. where do u usually shop for the stuff?

i know what u mean, my parents like to comment abt how i control JH's diet. i have relaxed a bit but still, i dun wan him to take food that is too salty or sweet before 2 years old. at this stage, he is already choosing his food and if i expose him to food that is too delicious, i think i will have more nightmares.

CL
so which place do u recommend going? i bringing JH so need to think abt transport.

Pin,
Welcome!

Re: Brushing
Actually it's really a good practice to brush the toddlers' teeth. It's strongly recommended by my PD. But sad to say, we haven't been really brushing Charmaine's teeth cos she hates the cloth brush!

SSF
Seriously I'm also very tired everyday.. hee probably less tired than you cos my helper is here and helping well.
Your helper is coming soon rite? I'm hope you will be relieve soon. Hang in there.
Last nite.. whole family went to source for new fridge.. wow so much tings to bring and my back nearly break.
I can sling kae very well last time even when she was much heavier than Kyler. But last nite I felt so tired sling Kyler.. maybe I'm really old liao.

Re:brushing
Thanks to all mommies..
This morning Kae is more receptive to brushing at least I manage to brush when she "eeee"
I was using all your advise haha... and it works. I just need to persist and make it a routine.

Flo
I also not the arty type.. I will partner you on the art and craft ok? we can discuss more over msn tomorrow.

Queen
My kae also prefer my FIL over my MIL.
For my MIL.. she very kiang want, if she wan things done, she will call and talk to me, cos she knows my HB will dily dely.
If she needs money or wanna go for holiday (meaning cant help us take care of kids) or whatever, she will "secretly" go to my HB and talk to him.

Chillies
Reading abt your MIL make my boil...
Hang in there... dunno what to day, hope your MIL improve soon.

I also refer "Your mother" when talking to HB. Cos when I say Mother, he will ask yours or mine.
But usually I call my MIL - Mother and my mum - Mummy.

May
When my MIl talk "secretly" to HB, my HB also dun tell me voluntarily. Usually I dun really ask the content... cos I cant be bothered la. Last time I used to ask and my HB will say nothing ( which could be true), but even if really do bad mouth me, my HB will die die also wun tell me. He doesnt wanna be sanwich ma.
So it's not our HB treat you as outsider la, sometimes men are lke that one lor, it's either there is REALLY nothing or.. he just felt when he tell you, will have a worst outcome so to safe trouble.

So I would think if you really wanna HB to tell you in future.. use the soft approach, dun scold him after he tell ou things.. else next time the more he dun wanna tell

This is my experience.

SY

That time I planned a F&E trip from Osaka to Tokyo with my ILs for 13 days.

It's quite easy actually. There's many Chinese nationals there. So eating also no prob coz a lot of them are working in the restaurants part time.

Yah, it's very near to the Arima Onsen. In fact, the whole region is filled with lots of onsens. I didn't stay in an onsen ryokan at Osaka region though coz I went to the one over at Kawaguchiko (near Mt Fuji instead). Be prepared to strip and walk ard naked hor.

As for hotels, it depends on your budget. If you're a budget traveller like me, then I'll recommend either superhotel or toyoko Inn. It's abt 8k-9k yen per room, per night. Kyoto also has a few cheap business hotels.

I stayed at the superhotel chain during my trip then. So I stayed in the Osaka Tennoji, Nara and Kyoto branches. Comfortable and clean. Nara's branch is very near to the JR station, very convenient. Tennoji is a little out of the way though.

But bear in mind if you're bring your boy along. Coz I just kenna rejected coz my boy was also counted as 1 head count and only twin rooms were available.

Hi Esther
thanks for the lobang..hee
err.. I'm not sure Slinky this round is ordering from Drug store or LV...
I merely tompang Demny's request as well.

Slinky
U are ordering from LV or DS?

mashy
wow u so familar with japan... my hb likes to stay in the nice hotels so budget hotels out for me...

do u recommend any onsens? what's the price range?

SY,
I buy from the organic store opp my plc. Near the 85 market (famous bar chor mee plc). Tampines interchange has one that brings in fresh organic veg daily. I usually give organic potato and carrot. At times broccoli if not too expensive and big portion. Now introducing organic eggs and brown rice. But my boy doesnt eat organic with Auntie who looks after him. At times i pass her my remaining veg in case they go bad.

How's JH's rash? I was too sick last few week to read the thread.

cookie, denmy
Yes, LV is cheaper. I'm doing both LV and DS but so far, no one order anything yet except two of you and CL who want first teeth. I tell u wad, I'll put both of u in the LV. I'll be posting it on marketplace probably, friday. Was hoping to keep it private in this thread but not enuff orders so, no choice. I got a few other ladies from my previous sprees also waiting for me to open my next LV spree, so I'll open the LV spree first.

whoever wants more things from Drugstore and LV, please let me know ok?

chillies
can give me the address of the store? i m interested to get organic stuff too.

JH's rashes much better. but today seems like got a bit. think maybe cos i stopped the medicine so his rash came back a bit.

mamapanda
Drugstore having sale for first teeth. How much is LV selling it for?

sunny,
Can. That's when we apply it most. But make sure all exposed parts of the body are covered. Once I applied it on one side of Declans face only as he was lying on the other side. Then in the middle of the night he turned his face over and that cheek got stunk!! The mozzies are very clever. One bit him between his thumb and index finger cos I did not apply on his fingers fearing that he might suck his fingers at night...

Cookie, u funny leh!!!! Btw, Slinky is ordering from both DS & LV.
So Slinky, can you help us get the Burt's bee from LV then please? Thank you very much!!!

SY,
So qiao, q few days back, I was also thinking to go Osaka in Dec.

Spinach
Hi mummies, it's time for a spinach BP again.
Collection date: 28th Sep Friday (BP close 24th Sep Mon)
Collection points:
1. Hitachi Tower
2. Marine Terrace

1. Denmy (Marine Terrace)
2. Mamapanda x 1.5 portion ( >700g but <1kg can? 600g too little)
3. Aileen x 2 portions (Hitachi Tower)
4. durianlover via mamapanda (i don't mind half a portion actually, like 300g or something. Don't need so much spinach. So can share with Mamapanda.)
5. queen (whatever amoutn taht is convenient for you to split.

SY
LV don't sell first teeth. Let me check out the sale and see. If necessary, I'll start and close the DS spree first.

SY,
I've checked already. Its only 20cents cheaper than usual. Not really that significant, so no hurry. Unless u're in a hurry to get certain items, then I'll run both the LV and DS together. Was thinking of closing LV first, then open DS, so my target for DS is 1Oct.

I searched amazon, they're selling Medela stuff too. Check it out. The accessories are really cheap compared to here. If u don't mind no warranty, the breastpump is very cheap too.

Mamapanda

It is ok. I am getting first teeth from someone else since I run out of it liao. You go ahead with the burt's bee via LV spree

Chilli
I feel more important to get leafy vege on organic. Because brocoli not so easy to get pesticide so can buy non organic. Ha ha now i just follow my office pharmacist. She tell me what to get organic what not to get organic. I am on organic diet too. Most of the days I will be eating at organic stall. Need to stay healthy to care for my family

Ha ha Mamapanda

No lah, that one is contributed by my grandma, she passed down good complexion to my mum. You see my mummy you know where I got it from. But actually i find my complexion not good leh. I never use much skin product on my face only normal facial foam. Ha ha maybe you have not met other mummies, I am sure some of them has got better one

RP lunch - 19 Sep
Lets postpone this as I will be picking up some spree stuff from Mamapanda so I can do some distribution lah.

Playgroup
27th CL's Place 10am
1. SY
2. CL
3. Tabb
4. Flo
5. Cookie
6. Rachel
7. Sysac

Anymore mummies ? Mummies who are attending playgroup can choose the items you want to host.

Music & Movement
Art & Craft
Story Telling

I can do 2 chinese song : - Brushing teeth and body parts song. Can also do the apple song in English.

Mamapanda,
I am interested in the Medela Breastshield and Membranes from DS. Will PM u my orders soon. Need to check if my pump still working or not. TIA!

Anyone tried this before? Any comments? Seems cheaper than First Teeth ($3.79 1.4oz). Also flouride free. Contains no artificial colors or preservatives.
Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser $3.49 2.2oz
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=87317&catid=26108&trx=PLST-0-CAT&trxp1=26108&trxp2=87317&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-CAT