(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cookie - Tks for the JCPenny link. Loved to shop there when in US. Now can shop online even better

re Playgroup

27th CL's Place 10am
1. SY
2. CL
3. Tabb
4. Flo
5. Cookie
6. Rachel
7. Sysac - Finally I can join one of these sessions! Yeah!

Great Sysac.
I think first time we having Flo too.

Shall we think of what to do during the playgroup

Free play
Music & movement
Art & Craft
Story telling

2 mummies buddy up for 1 item ?

CL,
Thank your sis for checking out. I think shipping within Australia is actually about the same as shipping to Sg. I have shipped something from an aussie online store to my dad's place in surfers before and the shipping cost came up to be a bomb. Besides, AUD16.50 is more ex than the S$11.10 which already includes shipping... Can your sis help to find out if they can give bulk discount for more than 40 pairs? Hmm... wonder if the person understand me correctly and the AUD39.90 shipping which she quoted me is shipping within Australia? Let me drop her another email to confirm.

Sysac
if you do make purchases, share with me on the shipping.. I check up their shipping pages and seems pretty expensive to me.
Even though it's SG site but somehow the shipping seems from overseas or what..

Re:brush teeth
Ok I will continue to try...hope my gal open up her mouth soon.

Sysac,
Oh u reminded me of spitting.. how u teach Cephas to spit?

RE: Spitting
I dunno where on earth Jamie learn spitting. Just last night she tried to spit saliva on floor. But not those fast fast kind. Just pushing her tongue very hard to push out the saliva. I told her that it is not right to spit on floor. But I dunno how to put it to her that spit only when brushing teeth as the rinsed water is dirty.

Mashybrainz,
Do take care...I'm sure everything will be ok.

CL,
Yes, when's the next RP lunch? I'm ok to join.

Brushing teeth
Ryan loves to brush teeth. I think the secret is the toothpaste. He really loves the flavour (grape from darlie) and everytime i bathe him, he will pass me his toothbrush and say "brush teeth".

Trial class
what trial class are you gals talking abt? The one with the 2 actors....where and when?

May - Haha...Cephas' spitting was taught by my HB. Think u show her and she will start imitating. After a few times, he started learning to do it BUT only for brushing his teeth cos I think he's quite fascinated with the action. He will laugh out loud when he does it.

ON Sat, I was brushing my teeth w/o realising he was standing next to me by the sink. I placed my head really low to spit out before rinsing my mouth. I heard this little cheeky laughter at my side.

CL - I am very good with free play! Hahaha...

Cookie - Okie. Will remember you shd I want to order anything from JCPenny.

SL,

Ok will ask my sis to call to check but she says limited design ok with all ?

RP/Cityhall Lunch - 19 Sep ?
1) Chicken little

AK
Trial class is at Cherie Hearts Tan Quee Lan St - Kids in Motion

Sysac
Free play will be me because i provide toys ha ha. You have to pick another item ha ha

sysac - sama sama, Celeste also loves to spit! she will keep her water inside her mouth for so long then suddenly spit at times *faints* everytime aft the brushing , she will now excitedly ask for gurgle! gurgle! and point to her cup... btw, wat time slot did u register cephas for the playgrp? is it same as us? Saw from the brochure that there are 2 time slots now...

Pin - Welcome!!

God's_child - What time is your slot? Remains at 9.30am or are you changing to new slot? What time is the new slot? I've yet to go down and register Cephas. Thot of doing it after I hand in my assignment this Wed. Can only think straight after Wed.

CL - Ah yah...who wants to partner me then??!!

Postings come in very fast!

Re. Toothbrushing & Dentist
Isaac likes it. He's using the oral B Kids Stage 2 toothbrush now and First Teeth toothpaste. I'll start by helping him brush (more like trying to feel my way around his mouth), then he'll want to hold the toothbrush himself and will twist and turn the brush in his mouth. I also have an Oral B toothpaste for kids (recommended pea-size postion for babies under 5) but has yet to let him try cos I'm not sure if need to spit out and rinse his mouth. Dunno whether it's safe if he swallows it instead of spitting it out. Also is there a need for our tods to visit the dentist?

Pin,
Welcome! Did you try using mosquito repellants? I think for child, the easiest is using a patch. Else you can use those electrical Plug-in mosquito vapour repellant.

Sysac, God's child
Which playgroup are you signing up ?

sysac,
Which item you want to do ? quickly chop a easy one. Since mine so easy so I prepare temaki for mummies ha ha.

Well, been down with a bad flu fr a week plus. Past the virus to my boy and hub. Boy had high fever and hub down on 3 days MC. Powerful huh????

Tabb,
Your kid really look alike. I always wonder if i hv another one, how wld he/she look like.

Mashy,
Dont worry, u wld get well soon.

RE : Brushing
I brush my boy usually after BF and after last feed. Wld try to brush after every meal if I dun get too lazy. He's quite cooperative. When he sees me wif the finger brush, he wld open to let me clean. Brought him to a dentist too as I saw a black spot on one of the molar. Turned out to be flesh caught as the tooth grow. He wasnt willing to open the mouth. We had to force open.

RE : MIL
Haiz....every week must get into conflict. I tried to stop her from getting my boy to stand on table to look out. I told her very dangerous and I do not want to cultivate the habit. (my balcony has no grills) She wld also give him watever he wants and then if i were to discipline him, she wld intervene or go..."Mama beat papa, k?" Last week my boy did something against me and she went "Good boy!" I was furious and stormed off!!!

RE : Thank you
So proud of my boy, we were at a restaurant and he dropped his paper. The waitress picked up for him and he said "Thank You!" Of cos, he's in one of his good mood. Been trying to teach sorry but not much success.

Sysac - we are staying put wf the 9.30am session cos the other one is 11am tat is beyond lunch time liao lei...

CL - Sept03 Bride and i are currently on the playgroup at Kinderland CCK. Sysac is signing Cephas up next term so we can all meet for brekkie when we get our ah laus to go in wf the kids.. haha
u interested too? ur JG also Sunday rite?

God's_child - Oh okie. I prefer 9.30am slot too. Will prob drop by this Sun to pay & visit! Do class inspection so behave hor...hee hee hee...

SY,
ic... tot of bringing edgar to have his teeth checked too. i heard there's one dentist who attends to kids in paragon. does anyone have any idea who?

RP/Cityhall Lunch - 19 Sep ?
1) Chicken little
2) Aileen

Sysac,
wow cephas is so clever!!

Mashy,
Oh dear! Hope that everything will turn out right.

Tabbs, No problem - luckily she washed for you.

SY,
Shall we organise another trial for the cherie hearts to try out?

CL,
Gerber toothpaste. I checked the ingredients, same ingredients but my first teeth still have 1/4 tube left, so gotta finish the current tube before I can open my Gerber to use.

thank all of you for your recommendation

Queen,
yeah i did use mosquito patch, but mosquito still bite her. Poor gal.

Cl,
Still think which school to go, as i stay in tanjong rhu so within 2 km got no primary school. My mum place is within 2km for both mgs and pei hwa. But these 2 are so popular so did to ballot. Now my elder girl is in gracefield kindergarten.

ML vs MC
Hmm.. I sent an enquiry to MOM to verify. See what they reply.

ON spree collection
ON spree#2 items have arrived. Pls indicate how u wish to collect your items. I've filled in the collection points for u based on previous collections but if u want to collect differently, pls indicate here.

Krissie (with Hadoe's LV stuff) : BP
Clare: BP via CL
Bblon: BP
Flo: BP via CL

Slinky,
I wanna order 1 Burt's Bees Doctor Burt's Res-Q Ointment 0.6 oz (17 g), since it's highly recommended by the mummies here. Thank you!!
URL: http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=45524&catid=10400
Price: USD$5.09

Pin,
Welcome! Didn't know Tanjong Rhu got so many mozzies. I'm at Marine Terrace. My family of 5 polished up an entire tin of Badger organic mozzie repellant during our 9 days in Bali. It was very very effective keeping the mozzies away. And I love the smell. It's lemongrass and citrusy, smells yummy too. Moreover it's so gentle, you can put it all over the body, including the face, and it doesn't feel sticky or too oily. I used it on my 4.5 mths baby with no problem. It says on the tin: Good for the skin but bad for the mozzies... can get it at Guardian Pharmacy at Parkway, right at the cashier.

re: Kids in Motion
Actually, I'm still not very clear about the curriculum. I know they have songs and dance and later will add on art & craft right? So the 2 actors.. are they merely performers like in Hi-5, and they only come in to do part of a regular lesson and then it will be taken over by another teacher? Or they are actually going to lead and teach the entire lesson? Cos as far as I 've observed, they dun seem like they are trained in childhood studies or something similar as when they talk to our toddlers, they speak quite quickly and seem to expect our toddlers to response back to them like some 3 or 4 year olds. I would expect someone who teaches a toddler class to be speaking slower but animated and in a loud and clear manner. Maybe they were trying to pack more into the 30 min trial, that's why rushing a bit?? Just my 2 cents worth...

Btw, how's the status of our waitlist at JG? I kind of miss the lessons. In fact I quite enjoy going to JG... hb and I felt a little lost adn 'empty' on Sunday between 2-4pm..kekeke

Pin
Warm welcome to the big family. I guess every kid develop at his/her own pace but generally girls' development are faster.

Mamapanda
If I recall correctly my gynae nurse ever told me that if MC taken within 4 weeks (or is it one week) before EDD, it's consider as ML cos technically we can start ML 4 weeks before EDD. Anyway do keep us posted on MOM's reply.

Re: Playgroup on 27th @ CL's Place 10am
Yes finally can join the playgroup, keeping fingers crossed nothing crop up @ office last min. I can help to get the materials for art & craft but not sure what to get....not very arty type. What shall we do?

Chillies
Oh poor thing, hope everyone @ home is well now. Your MIL is too much, teaching the wrong values!

CassCL
Nuk teats can't fit Avent bottles.

CassCL - fyi, nuk teats does not fit avent bottles. how i wish they do so that when i express using my medela pump, i need not transfer my BM from NUK to avent bottles before feeding. haiz!

tabbiesus - cute pics of thad and tabby. i agree that they do look alike esp the eyes.

re: brushing teeth
caleb likes to brush his teeth. i bought pigeon brand and use it with the first teeth toothpaste. he likes the taste of the toothpaste esp. hee..

mashy- hope all is fine with u..take care!

tabbiesus/cookie- wah i envy you guys...2 young toddlers and still can go out? i am struggling with both lei even when my mum is here to help out. i am dead beat almost everyday

god's child,
I paid $780 per pax 4D3N via Cathy too including disney and stay at Disney Hollywood Hotel. We will be there from 11 to 15 Nov.

Flo,
Mel knows how to switch on the bedside lamp herself?

Re: Brush Teeth
JW chew on his toothbrush instead of brushing. Can't seems to get him to brush instead.

SH
Ya, I think cos she "observe" how I switch on the light. Now when I off the light during bedtime, she will climb out of her cot to on it...haiz.

You got quite a good deal for you HK trip

denmy,

Not in tanjong rhu, she was biten when in my mum house in bukit timah.

florence,
as my relative is so worried that she want to send her son to see speech therapist.

Pin,

ask your relative not to be worried as my friend's son only speak at 4 years old. and when he started speaking it is really non stop. she was worried too last time and brought him to speech therapist too.. but he only open his mouth to talk at 4 years old. And now he is in ACSI under Scholarship..

SL,

Do sms me if you are going to organise another trial coz i would like to let elijah try too .. the cherie hearts trial. Thanks coz i may not be online as often.

Rena
Hardly see you online these days, are you still working PT?

Pin
My nephew also haven't started talking at 2+ year. Initially PD was asking my bro/SIL if they are worried and wanted to refer him to speech therapist but they didn't. Just like Rena's fren's kid, within a few months he started talking and will talk non-stop. But of course if your relative want to have a peace of mind, then no harm seeing a speech therapist for opinion lor.

RE: MIL
Chillies, Your MIL can shake hands with mine already. Every week she NEVER fail to tell Jamie "Dun let mummy scold or beat u okie?" (seems as if I would torture her granddaughter at home) Really worried that Jamie will talk back to me next time if these were to go on. I was super angry last week and reply back "Mummy only scold and beat Jamie when Jamie is naughty. So Jamie got to be a good gal." Think my MIL never filter her words thru her brain when she talk.

Mashy
Hope all is fine for your check up.

Pin
Welcome :>

Denmy: JG
haha, same here..we missed the company of the mummies and kids on Sun. Although we did spend the day out on Sun at the explorer and kids kampong, have to plan and think what to do in advance:p compared to just going for JG class. But the flexible timing was nice too, not having to worry that Aidan was not settling down for his nap before 2pm!

re: australia visa
any idea if we need to print it out? i read from the site that the immigration will have access to the database for checking. just want to be sure. thanks!

Re RP Lunch
can't join this week cos got farewell lunches

aileen
the dentist is at tanglin shopping centre. i go and check the number for u.

sl
i m ok to go for the trial but depends on the timing

chillies, May
i think your MILs are weird. the things they teach....

sysac
i can partner u for wat u wan to do...

i hinted to my mil that she can take a break for one month when i m on break. instead of telling me she wants to come still, she told my hb. i asked hb why cannot tell me directly...like i m some outsider...

chillies,
I think it's the DIL-MIL competition going on lah. My MIL used to do that sometimes, especially when Isaac was younger, but not to the extent of deliberately opposing me. Now much better, especially after the 4 months of being SAHM, Isaac sticks to me like glue now. She knows that Isaac's favourite is still mummy, then it's daddy, then it's my FIL, she's the last in the pack!!! Hahah, nowadays, Isaac prefers my FIL than my MIL.

SY,
it's like that one loh, sometimes my MIL also like that. She will call us at our home phone and when I pick up, she'll say want to talk to my HB. Then she'll jus tell my HB mundane things like today she's cooking lunch, come over. Or ask what time we are going over for dinner. Sometimes, I also feel why can't she just ask me instead since I'm the one picking up the phone right? It's not all the time lah, but there are occasions when I feel the same way. Like outsiders. Maybe they find it easier to talk to our HBs directly.

Re: Cherie Hearts

I'm keen on going for a trial too. Do keep me in the loop if there's any happening.

Re: Hearing
sigh, I thought my hearing recovered last night when the tinnitus suddenly disappeared and the blocked ear seemed cleared. It was so short lived. This morning, it's back with a revenge. Very loud tinnitus now. Like hearing the mic static.

SY
It's like that lah. We're not their daughters after all. Just like we still can't tell them off directly the way we'll tell our own parents.

Mashy Brainz
When are you having the ears checked, do not delay it. Better to get it check and done and please check with doctor if fit to fly in Nov

queen, mashy
actually quite sad hor, i always feel that since we are family, must try to treat each other like family. like i told my hb, i was the one who asked my MIL if she still coming, just let me know so i won't bring him out. instead of telling me she wants to come, she tells my hb she wants to come still one hour later. i asked my hb what's so difficult abt telling me, like i m some outsider like that...

mashy
cd it be a hole in the membrane or something like that? last time my ex boss got some infection cos got a hole and when he went swimming, water got in and his ear was bleeding inside. he got a scare.

better check asap.

mashy
ya, agree with CL, don't delay the check. sounds serious.

pin
i used the insect repellent by piyo piyo on my gal when we went back to m'sia. it's good. keep away the mosquito, but during sleep time, she still gets bitten 'cos we didn't apply it.

denmy
can the insect repellent you mentioned be applied all day long, including sleep time?

SY
i have the same thinking like that that since the parent in law is my hb's parents, i should treat them like my parents, too. but, my mil once told me that DIL and own daughter is different, what she meant was her expectation on DIL and daughter would be different. so, i told myself that i won't be treating them same as what my parents treated me. :p