(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi mamachan/mashy, #2 is running a fever and I'll probably give KiddyRoo a miss this week.

For those having #2, get your hubby involved. that works for me.

Amazon, anyone keen on ordering any books? I'm ordering and looking to share shipping costs by weight (using ComGateway). pm me if anyone's keen. Collection at my place at Yew Tee.

.ky.

sleepingdeer,
I also have only 2 rooms in my house cos we joined our master bedroom with the other room. Now Meg sleeps with us. In future, she will move to the current study room and #2 will sleep with us i guess...I think we'll find a way about the 2 rooms thing when the time comes. Maybe win Toto? Hahaha :p

mashybrain - thks..will pop by then since its just beside my co. hee...
ya i also find japan very clean and safe. would lurve to be back again.

mamachan - pray that Daren gets well soon. ya they can be so cranky and clingy when they fall sick and its us that gets so drained out.

cookie - Caleb is now sleeping together with me and hb on the bed. when no 2 pops out, he be sleeping with the CL for the first mth and then will push the cot into the masterbed rm. Caleb is quite a sound sleeper so hopefully when the baby cries in the night, hb or maid can attend to him while i make milk. hopefully caleb doesnt wake up or else i will have to sleep in the nursing rm with him liao. as for maid, i dun think i will trust her to sleep with my kids. i have already discussed with hb that all 4 of us will sleep in our masterbed room as its quite spacious. and once they turned 3 and 4 yrs old, can kick them out to sleep in one room. haha...

SSF
Yeah thats what I planned too, all 4 of us in a room for the time being and when they turn older, probably in 2 yr time.. we wun be keeping the helper, then we will covert the current helper/store room (which is a guest room actually) into children room.
I dun plan to sleep in the same room with my kids forever... ! hee...

sleepingdeer
u so funny. wan to put #2 in the dining room....

cookie
JH likes to turn on the spot too. he will keep turning ard and ard and try to dance at the same time..

SH
JW so funny..mopping the floor...ha, ask him to help u with the house

ky
i totally agree with u. the main thing is that hb must be involved. last time my fren told me for her #1 always look for hb so when #2 comes, she got time for #2 and #2 looks for her. so one each to take care

Tracy, SY,
yah lor, told my hb need a bigger house with maybe 3 rooms and a study room, but unless win 4D, if not, dun think about it liao!

I dun think I can successfully move my kid to sleep on his/her own if he/she had started sleeping with us, I'm very useless when they start crying, always give in, so i rather do it from the start, then they won't know the diff... haha... so S has never slept with us in the same bed except nap times...

Sleepingdeer
I already have 3 bedroom and a study room rite now.. haha but still not enough cos I dun have store room so end up 1 of my guest room become store and helper room in future, MIL take 1 room and study has glass door so not suitable to convert into a room... end up still not enough room now :p
In future.. I need to restore back the store room ( which exowner knock it down) before I can do up the kidz room

cookie - ya 4 sleeps in 1 room. can watch out for each other. i guess good for bonding too. haha.. we are also thinking by then , we do not need the maid already. so can free her after 2 yrs contract hopefully.

ky
yah, I think most likely I will have to give Kindyroo a miss this week as Daren started coughing and sounds phlegmy. Hope it goes away soon! Which reminds me, I better call them up to inform them.

Weaning off co-sleeping
Daren used to co-sleep with me since bringing him back home (was my mum's idea for my ease to BF him at night) all the way till he was around 5.5 months where we decided that he will sleep in his own cot and room and get him to sleep through the night via the much talked about Sleepsense method. Can't bear his crying back then but since he was still at infancy stage without having learnt how to stand up and throw tantrums and be persistent in their wailing, it was really easier for us back then. Now I think it'll be more challenging as they started having a mind of their own and can be very persistent in their crying (not to mention louder too since they've grown bigger with louder lungs). Guess might have to wait till they turn 3 or 4 yrs of age where we can start to reason with them?

long time nvr come in to chat liao, how's everyone?

re: noblehouse
i haven't gotten email/phone call from them yet, should i call them now?

re: co-sleep
since day 1, my gal sleeps alone in her own room. recently we converted her cot into toddler bed, think she's adjusting to it. every night she would want us to accompany her till she sleeps.... hope this will be over soon.

cookie
agree with other mummies, think you should start letting kae to get used to the coming changes. if all the while she has been sleeping with you, she will need more time to adjust to sleep alone in her room.

mummies who attend JG
May I know what we are supposed to do next week, if anything? I left early and realised i didnt take the package back.

cookie

maybe u can put a roller blind over the glass door? Rooms are definitely in shortage when we have kids. Can't believe HDB is building all the small small flats. My parents take up 1 room and my boy sleeps in his tiny little room. I think if i've #2, will have to let him/her sleep in my room until he/she can sleep through the night and not wake kor kor.

C started off sleeping in his own cot in my room until he's one when we shifted him out to his own room. Then he fell sick with fake measles and slept with us at night. It was a nightmare after that when we wanted to put him back in his own room on his own cot. Now he has adjusted and sleeps in his own room. But either my hb or I have to accompany him until he sleeps.

just check with joanna that the books we ordered from her is from noblehouse. hee..its just beside my company. haha...

i gg to collect soon. anyone want me to collect on their behalf? let me know!

Joanna also apologies for her late reply coz she is busy these days...no time to check forum.

Does anyone knows if the date printed on the Earth Best's biscuits packaging is the expiry date or the production date?
My mum bought a packet for biscuits for JW some time this year.I kept it coz he hasn't finished his teddy bears biscuits. When I took it out yesterday, the date on the packaging is Apr 2007. Dunno if it is expired liao..

Cookie,
Haha.ur MIL really follow her in turning ah?

Ak,
Now that you mentioned it, I don't know what they are doing next week at JG. Hmmm.maybe they didn't say anything or I may hv missed it while I am chasing JW round the room.

mashy
The study room is a place that my HB hang around most for his PC gaming and for me surfing the web, might not be able to convert to a helper's room. I bought a resale flat so the room size of my flat are pretty acceptable.
I guess when the children are younger, can still put them in the same room, until when they are much older then got to separate but that should be another 10 years.
hee who knows what happen in 10 years.

If my MIL is not in the same household I guess it's easier to train. Kae was sleeping in her cot after much training(crying) and "knocking" on our bedroom door by MIL as to ask by bb cry so hard. I can imagine K will end up sleeping with MIL cos the other room is right next to MIL room and also might disturb MIL sleep esp she is main caregiver to K.
We would rather it affect us then affect my MIL.

wendyl
heehee.. the book doesnt hv solution for your prob. I guess hv to try to let Ethan be closer to his dad? Ger is now more sticky to daddy. Like yest, he only wanted daddy to read to him. maybe coz my stort telling is more boring. haha...

cookie
the chp on prep for #2 is only one chap of the whole todd book. I borrowed it from NLB.
I've not finished reading the whole book, but finished the chp on prep for a new bb. Oh. another tip which the book gv was to tell #1 that bb likes him / her to tickle / play with the feet. Then, we parents will not be kan chiong and ask #1 not to touch #2. coz sometimes, #1 is more rough and we parents will be protective. So, if they play with their feet, is less harmful that playing with the face / head.

SSF,
Can collect for me from Noblehouse? Where do you stay? Else Are you able to pass to Flo?

Rena,
You mean the Citronella works pretty well? DO you use it? I'm wondering whether to get citronella candles or diffuser & oil... I want the scent to last at least 5 hours.

Hi Mamapanda,

Thks! Can I transfer all to you at the same time? Owe you still for the A&D cream cost Plus shipping cost for the cream plus the cod liver oil okay? Thks much!

feeling so tired cos yesterday worked till 1am.

come in here to take a breather.

re co-sleeping
i think i m the one who needs to wean off JH. i can't bear to move him out leh..

SH
ya lor.. my MIL say if she dun follow her, K will be become very fierce...hahaha but I think MIL only follow her once la.

BTW.. recently kae start to know how to hold my hand and lead me to where she wants. She probably knows with her bb talk we cannot understand her so she will lead me like if she wanna sleep.. she will hold me hand and lead me to my room at nite, if she wants to view the lights, she will lead me to it or if she wan to get out of the room, she will lead me to the door and point to the door knob.
Probably alot of bb here (very advance somemore) already doing so.. but it's certainly new to me and making me happy.

krissie
ahhh.. thanks thats a good point.. sometimes we maybe afraid that #1 will accidentally poke #2 eyes or what...ok I will remember that.
yeah.. I also borrow books from NLB but the problem is usually the books I'm looking for is located at some NLB far away...

Re: Co sleeping
i co-sleep with my 2 boys.
Duncan is coming 5 end of this year..we still co-sleep together...actually i enjoy this moment as i get to spend time and chat with him when damien is asleep..

Re : Co sleeping
My girl used to sleep with me till she was 5 years old and have no problem when I move her to her own room when #2 Bryant came along. Sometimes on special night, she will sleep in my room but that is not very often.

I think someone in this forums gave me some good pointers, but I forgotten who already.

feeling so tired cos yesterday worked till 1am.

come in here to take a breather.

re co-sleeping
i think i m the one who needs to wean off JH. i can't bear to move him out leh..

oops double posting. think forum got something wrong.

cookie
yeah JH does the same thing. he will hold our hands to walk together with us but sometimes outside he will refuse to let us hold him and he wants to walk by himself. he throw tanturm very funny one.

I just realised everything I posted this afternoon disappeared!

SL,
Your total (incl A+D before shipping) is $38.95.

Jshopper : May, Clare
Our jshopper items are here. Let me know how you want to collect it.

Sing me a story, tell me a song
Good news mummies! The books have arrived. I'll be collecting them within this week. Pls let me know how you want to collect it. The confirmed price is $21.40. Please top-up $0.40 to my POSB SAV account. If you do not have my account num, SMS/PM me.

Here's a recap of the spree:

1. chickenlittle - (collected #1, no for book 2) - paid $22
3. aileen - (yes, no)paid $22
4. tabbi - (yes,no) - paid $22
5. mashy - (yes, no) - paid $21
6. sl - (yes,yes) - paid $22
7. SY - (yes,no) - paid $22
8. Maywong - (yes,no) - paid $22
9. Flo - (collected #1, No for book 2) - paid $22
10. cookie - (Not collected #1, No for book2) paid $22

Payment :
- with bookcover $22.40
- without bookcover, $21.40,

mamapanda
I have collected my book #1 already. CL pass me the other day. But the book did not have the CD or VCD that you mentioned.
Is my VCD or CD that comes along with the book still with you?

SSF,
Can help me to get account number from Nancy if u are going over? She gave me the other day and I lost it.

Mamapanda,
Once u have collected the books, let me know okie? I will go over this weekend to collect all my "cargo" before I kena storage rent from u. HEHE.. btw, I had transferred the balance $0.40 to you. Ref: 1267623315. THANKS IN ADVANCE!!

RE: DTP booster jab
Brought jamie to the jab today. She develop slight fever in the evening. Now I am monitoring her. The GP is pretty shocked with her weight and height. She is 11.7kg and 83cm tall now. May I know how to calculate the percentile? Or how would I know the average height and weight of 18mths toddlers?

may
u can refer to the health booklet for the percentile. sounds like she is more than 50th percentile for both!

mamapanda
so the books are here already? hmm, is CL collecting any stuff from u? let me ask whether she can help me with the book.

Me going to work in Japan office from today liao. So wont be logging in so often.

SY and other mummies,
I am ok to collect for anyone who is working in town, at JG class or staying near me. Np. as long as you need me to collect just let Mamapanda know.

Mamapanda I arriving late midnight on 21 Jul sat which is 1 am sunday. So I probably pick up around 1 before I go for my JG class. So let me know if it is good to go around that time otherwise please give me a better time to go.

Cookie,
The books that mamapanda passed me both have CD leh. Can you check again ?

By the way, my trip to Japan this time is so eventful. Experience earth quake in the morning before we are going out. Ha ha lucky it only shake a bit only

CL
luckily, only shake a bit. you're in tokyo now? think the quake is not there right? some place far. my hb was hoping to experience a small shake the last time we went japan. haha.. but didnt lah.

mamapanda
sorry, forgot to transfer the money to you last nite.

Mamapanda,

Just PM-ed you. Could you help to pass my stuff to CL pls? Thks!

CL,
Can I collect from you at either JG or RP lunch? Thks!

Re: JG
Ak, I didn't get any folder from JG. Shall I check with them?
Attended the first JG last sun with Charmaine. It was quite okay except for the playground part. She refused to leave the playground!
My hubby quite liked the programmes too.

CL,
Glad that you are fine.

May,

Think Jamie's quite tall for her age. Actually I can understand the GP's "shock". When I saw Jamie on Sun, think she doesn't look like 18mths too. You have taken good care of her.

Hello Mummies
anyone still has a copy of list of items to buy new baby? My sis is delivering in Dec and I'm now cracking my head to remember the stuff that are needed.

May,
Wow, Jamie is growing fast! Potential model in the making?
There's no good or bad about the percentile, it just statistics, tells you whether the weight and height is average (50th percentile) or below/above average. If Jamie's height is say 80% percentile, it means that she is taller than about 80% of the baby girls of her age. My Isaac is still small, he is only 10kg (25th %ile) and 81cm (50th %ile) and he is almost 19th months old liao.

CL,
My in-laws also in tokyo and Hokkaido for this week... wonder whether they experienced the typhoon and the tremors? Anyway, glad to hear that the quake is minor.

CL,

Did you bring Aden along for this trip? I am considering to bring Charmaine to Japan - wondering if it's convenient or to wait till she's older. I think she would be able to enjoy Disneyland.

SL,
Jamie looks very mature for her age. Sigh..was hoping she can be like me. Still can hide age abit. haha.

Queen,
Isaac is quite tall too. I refer to the health booklet already. she is abt 95-97 percentile. Too tall no good also..difficult to find bf next time. Haha..that's what my mum say.

RE: Speech
Can I ask if mummies here correct the way MIL/mum speaks to ur toddlers? I dun bother abt my mum cos she speaks mandarin and sometimes hokkien to Jamie. But for MIL, she speaks broken mandarin and the pronounciation is wrong. As in Eating" = CHI(1) FAN(4).. but MIL will say it as CHU(1) BAN(4). I am pretty concern on the pronounciation cos I have 3 nephews that had this short tongue problem. Till now, they are unable to pronounce english and mandarin properly (They are in Pri 4, 3 and 2 respectively)

Was wondering if I should correct MIL but afraid that she might get the wrong idea.

cookie

my boy's room was previously our study too. But we felt that he needs his room so we shifted everything out. Now we use a laptop in the dining room instead.