(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re. childcare
My ILs keep asking when I want to send Isaac to child care. My MIL told me that my SIL intends to have a baby by end of next year end and I think she's hinting that I should send Isaac to child care soon so that she's free to take care of my SIL's baby (my SIL not even pregnant yet!). I mean, it's a fair request, since she has taken care of Isaac for more than a year already. Anyway, I'm looking at sending Isaac to half day child care for 6 months after he turns 2, and then maybefull day if I managed to find a job. Does anyone know anything about Kinderland at Woodlands Civic Centre? It's the nearest to my ILs' place. I wonder if I should start enquiring or register cos I heard popular places need to queue months in advance.

CL,
Oh no, what a bad start to your trip in Japan! But good thing is you got your handphone back. So not the worst Friday the 13th that you can have! Enjoy you trip!

Queen
Your mil is good at planning ahead..like you say it's a fair request but since your SIL not pregnant yet so at least you still have time to plan.
I think you should start checking out popular places and those u are interested in so can compare and yes I think some might require early registration.
I went to one play group the other day... they only accept children 2.5yr onwards and according to them if I'm interested can sign up for next yr Aug intake, tho they are not fully book now but the vice principal highlight next yr class might be full.. anyway I KS leave down my name 1st she will KIV me.

SY
I went to check out riverlife Play group that other day. So far I'm quite happy with them. The vice principal talk non-stop for like 1 hr or more introducing whats teaching and facilities etc. Children there looks very happy too and they have school bus service which cost $65/mth.
But it's still very early to register k, so principal suggest I leave me name so she can KIV me.
Oh every morning they have devotion time like 10-15 mins (kinda like church worship time and teaching of bible story more for moral education) which I like it.
Then they have outdoor activity, snack time and indoor activity. For a 3hr playgroup.. I guess that cover quite a bit.

CL
Geee not that black after all... since you manage to get the HP back but I suppose it's very kan cheong situation for you...
Your incident remind me some yrs ago.. I was hospitalise and my sister fetch me home and with somemuch thing on hand, my sister forgot her laptop!! left in the taxi.
I felt so bad for making her lose her laptop but Thankfully, the taxi driver next customer told taxi driver something was left behind and we manage to contact the driver to get back her laptop. She even offer him a token which he rejected.

wow envy envy.. you are in Japan now..

Re: noble edu

i just collected the books and couldn't resist buying another 3 books from them. Nancy's very nice and charged me the discounted price of $2.80 per book. The 3 additional books I bought were more suitable for our kids as it's only 1 sentence by page.

It's an educator's haven. Lots of educational toys, flash cards and charts. Next time when i'm more free, I shall go there and take a closer look.

Chickenlittle
Don't worry. I'm not worried abt the mums in this thread not paying. Its those from other threads that I'm worried abt. In my last few sprees, there were 1-2 who defaulted payment and only paid up after I chased them continually for payment.

Mamapanda
Thanks, must tell your first mah. Pm you SL's contact too.

Queen, Cookie
Ha ha you should see how black my hb face was. He was damn hungry but i too kan cheong to settle his dinner for him. So today I look after Charmaine and he spent a day happily roaming shop after shop in Akihabara. Charmaine was happily eating all the different kind of donuts at Mister Donut. Look similar to the Donut factory woh. But not a good weather to visit Japan now. Raining whole day today. Praying hard that 17 - 20 Jul will have good weather so that hb has no problem bringing Charmaine to all the theme park. Lucky the typhoon attacked other location and not Tokyo. It looks realli bad

CL
what a way to start the trip! lucky japanese are quite honest i guess so u got your hp back.

when are u back from your trip? sounds so exciting..so aden is with your baby sitter?

okie, will pray that no rain for u during those few days!

queen
your MIL really planning ahead. yeah popular centres need to q in advance

cookie
u went to take a look at riverlife during term time? they are not playgroup. theirs is kindergarten so it's a bit different. maybe i shd drop by during term time too.

yeah the VP very chatty. the only thing is i find that both the principal and VP's english not that perfect..maybe i m a bit picky??

but i like their activities and surroundings.

CL
u mean you hb angry cos u lost your hp? I think if its my HB.. he will also black face..hahaha...
But thankfully u got your things back.
Have a wonderful trip from now !

SY
ya I went on a Last Tue, cos it's hb birthday so we took leave

Hmmm kindergarden should be applicable for older kids like age 5 and 6 rite? think they segregate by pre-nursery(sound like a play group to me cos they learn thru play), nursery, kindergarden. Basically the VP shown us the activities for all the stages and I saw the kids during their meal time and outdoor activities. seems good to me.
Hmm...personally I find most childcare or playgroup teachers' English not to perfection and maybe I din set too high an expectation. Even if the VP and Principal english IS perfect that wouldn't guarentee the teachers are.

my colleague told me.. the childcare at my work place has Chinese National teacher(who suppose to teach chinese) and their English is real bad so when it's their turn to stay late and attend to children on their own, the communication is bad so she withdrawn.
I asked the same qn to VP if they have chinese national teacher.. she say as far as possible they wun for pre-nursery becos the toddler communication is not good so they always get teacher that can speak both English and Chinese but for kindergarden level kids their Chinese teacher are not English speaking at all becos the kids has to be trained since they are approaching Pri 1 soon. I find that is acceptable.
For the price they charge, the envirnment and settings, I find them quite ok.

SSF
I din customised (tho very tempted) for kaelyn last time.. so I suppose I shouldn't now.. bo kae might find mama pian-xin :p

mamapanda
In case I miss your post... so you will let us know when to transfer money to you rite?
Pls PM me if u need me to transfer fund to you for Drug store spree. I have nothing else to purchase from Drug store. Thanks

Hi MOMS, i collected the noble house books for aileen, chicken little, ky and mamapanda. SL, I tried to collect for u but nancy says they didn't have enough stock for u so yours isn't ready yet. By the way nancy says she's got some more titles coming in and can give us the same bp price if we order a certain amount. She'll email me the names and i'll post here for another bp.

Hi Tabbiesus
Just wanna check.. as I know you co-sleep with little tabby before #2 come along.
So how abt now? the 4 of you share 1 room? if so, was little tabby awaken by taddy's cry in the nite?
I'm planning that when #2 come alone all of us will still be sleeping in the same room but also worry the crying of #2 might wake k..
Hb suggest let K sleep wtih MIL but I dun really wan. Dun wan her to feel she has to get out when didi come.

cookie
they told me they are kindergarten cos they are regulated by MOE. then of cos got nursery for the younger kids.

u planning to visit a few more or u already decided on one?

my colleague's sis's kids also attending some church kindgertan in pasir ris. i m asking her which one it is.

hmm, if K got to move to sleep with MIL when #2 comes, won't she feel that it's cos of didi?

for my fren, when #2 comes, every one slept in the same room including #1. think it was ok.

denmy/cookie -i got a reply from beansprout pillow.

15% discount for minimum of 15 pillows. The price of 1 pillow is $19.90 and additional case at $8. Material is 280 count cotton. Above price and discount quote will be valid til 15 Aug.

Not sure if can meet till 15 orders. Anyway, i place my name here first. Anyone else interested?

1. SSF
-------------------------------------------------
May - saw your email but i am looking at customised ones since Caleb has 2 customised pillow casing. thks for the link anyway

CL- wow..ya in Japan..i guess its for leisure? not bad har their taxi service...i think in sgp, you can say bye bye already even though receipt is issued. the most the driver will say that they didnt see..maybe passengers took it. hee..

queen - tats good at least ur MIL tell u beforehand so you can do some planning ahead. MY SIL is also planning for a baby and her MIL is too old to look after. so i foresee if she gives birth, my mum have to look after Caleb and my second bb the entire week together with the maid that i be employing soon. now at least my mum rotates with MIL, so not so tired. sometimes, i really thank GOD for my mum ...not sure if without her, how am i gg to cope. she is quite against caleb gg to childcare at such young age since she used to work as a childcare teacher for yrs. so she said if can delay sending him, its better.

mashybrainz- you mean we can just pop into noble edu to look see look see? if so, i will pop by one day during lunch time.

SSF

Ya, can just go in. It's open Mon to Sat, 9am to 6pm. When I was there, there's a few malay mommies buying quite a lot of stuff. All the books are going for 70% off and they've games to teach maths creatively.

CL

So nice that you're in Japan.
The place feels so safe. It's one on the few countries that i go to that I'm not paranoid abt carrying so much cash with me. Most of the places there don't accept credit cards and I had to take a lot of cash there to pay for the accommodation. But it feels safe enough to do that.

Maybe u can get some trendy clothes for Charmaine?

cookie,
I think it's difficult for Kae to co-sleep once your boy comes along, unless Kae is a heavy sleeper. Why don't you start training her now? Sooner or later, she'll have to move out of your room. Maybe let her sleep with your MIL one or 2 nights a week, then slowly increase the nights till she can sleep with your MIL every night before your boy comes along.

re. co-sleeping
Now i'm trying to find ways of getting Isaac to sleep by himself. He sleeps on the floor beside our bed. But will wake up in the middle of the night and climb into bed with me and HB, which drives us crazy cos Isaac likes to 'caress' us with his feet to soothe himself back to sleep. We have actually tried putting him on his bed in his own room a few months ago, but he rolled off his bed. Lucky I had a mattres beside his bed to catch his fall. Now I'm thinking of putting him back to his own bed in his own room again.

SSF,
Actually, my initial idea was playgroup when he is 2 years old, half-day child care when he reaches 3 years old. But now my MIL already hinted, looks like I have no choice. In any case, I feel that Isaac will probably learn much more going to child care.

CL
Glad to know that your hp got retrieved. Japanese folks are quite honest. =) Hope your family's remaining days in Japan will be good weather all the way.

Fake Measles
Guess it's Daren's turn to kena the fake measles after his episode of high fever. Rashes started on his body on Friday and full blown rashes all over body and face/scalp by Saturday but none on arms and legs. Daren was really irritable, cranky and clingy, never seen him so mang zhang ever before, doesn't help that his bottom canines are sprouting at the same time, tired tired tired out. Good thing I've read a couple of some of your experiences here about the fake measles after the fever thingy, so didn't sent me into any state of panic. Just brought him back to PD for his appointed reviews with regards to his fever.

queen
JH does the same thing. he will climb to our bed in the middle of the night. either my hb or me will get kicked b him.

mamachan
hope daren gets better soon. what's the reason for fake measles actually? seems to be quite common.

JH recently seems to be learning things very fast. quite amused by him. he has a lot of funny ideas and really keeps us entertained. he likes to go wow and wah at almost anything and he will keep going yeah. and he loves dancing. the minute he hears music, he will start to sway, move his head and body and recently start to move his feet too. he will step from side to side. quite funny.

co-sleeping
I dunno if I'm considered co-sleeping but Ariene has been sleeping in her cot in our room since day1 she came home. She does not sleep on our bed with us though. I tried pushing the cot to her room for her to sleep before but she cant seem to sleep or sleep long (30min even if she does fall asleep) in that room or any other rooms. Maybe because she has difficulty sleeping peacefully in unfamiliar places.

queen
maybe you can start to just look ard to survey the CC near your ILs place? from my experience, erh.. not all CC make the mark. Some are dirty, old, teachers not so good, etc. Maybe you can shortlist then you can decide easily when your SIL is preggie. btw, think not all kinderland has half day playgrp. they one near my place is only 3hr, 8-11am and akes kids from 3 ( i think). then, a few church kindergarden near my place all take in from 3yrs onwards.

CL
wah. envy envy.. your japan trip sounds so fun.. really make me feel like going japan too.. haha.. It's not so bad afterall that you managed to get your stuff back.

cookie
I agree with queen, if you want to let Kae slp in her own room, must start asap, before #2 is born. Hv you read any parenting book on prep us for #2? I was reading the Gina Ford book which i find is qt helpful. It gv examples of how we shld make the necc changes now, so that we dun change the routines for our #1 when #2 is born. E.g. i used to carry Ger to sit on my lap. But, i stop doing that. I let him sit next to me while i read, so that he'll be used to it and next time when #2 is born, he can still sit next to me, while i carry or bf #2. I'm also trying to let Ger learn to slp on his own now, so that he will not feel neglected next time when i hv lesser time to put him to slp.

nordic naturals spree updates

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>QTY</TD><TD> Grand Total (SGD) </TD><TD> Paid </TD><TD> Owe </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $(0.00) </TD></TR><TR><TD>krssie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $31.50 </TD><TD> $0.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>grace</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $34.08 </TD><TD> $(1.99) refunded </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $34.08 </TD><TD> $(1.99) </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $64.18 </TD><TD> $63.00 </TD><TD> $1.18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mamachan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $31.50 </TD><TD> $0.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babylon</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $63.18 </TD><TD> $63.00 </TD><TD> $1.18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>aileen</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $33.11 </TD><TD> $(1.02) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $31.90 </TD><TD> $0.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $31.50 </TD><TD> $0.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09 </TD><TD> $31.50 </TD><TD> $0.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SL</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $32.09</TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $32.09 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Please let me know whether you would like to collect your oils via
1. Bukit Panjang
2. Hougang Ave 7, Evergreen Park
3. Chicken Little (for those who work in town)
4. NTU

Re. Mozzies
I stay on the 3rd floor and has a garden view. This is the season for mozzies... I think we have discussed long long time ago on using citronella essential oil to repel mozzies. Has anyone tried that before? If I get those burners or electric diffusers and add a few drops of essential oil, how many hours can the scent last?

Mashybrainz
Thanks for the link but like you say, it had expired alr.

Mamachan
So Daren's fever has subsided right since the rashes are out? I understand how tired you are cos i was like that when Joash kena fake measles. You take good care of yourself too.

Re: Noble House
Nancy had given me an account number to transfer the money to her. But I had lost it. Any mummies knows? Can PM me? I need to transfer it to her.

Queen
Deep down in my heart.. I really dun wan k to sleep with MIL.. perhaps for selfish reason and also partly since I do not have time with her in the day, so evening and nite time is the only time we can bond and roll on the bed together.
We have bought a bed for k not long ago..she usualy sleep on her bed at nite but still roll in between us in the nite but at least it's not so squeeze now, oh plus MIL dun sleep in aircon and K has been in aircon from young, I can imagine she might be waking up many times a nite cos it can be so hot(even my MIL wake up at nite).
K is relatively sound sleeper, cos she can continue sleeping in the room, when we woke up for our work, wash up in the toilet, sliding the cupboard open, dogs barking and vacuum cleaner sound in hall. Perhaps she is used to them already. Not sure if she will be disturbed by bb crying tho.
I have spoken to some friends who also share room with more than 1 kid, so I'm hoping to try out.
You are right to say.. sooner or later I have to shift them out..hee but not sure when. I'm also not in favour of letting kids sleep together with maid too, maybe not for another 2 year.
Looks like I'm a fussy mum :p

Krissie
Thanks for sharing.. I have not read any books about handling the coming of #2!!...
DO you have more tips to share with me please? TIA..

mamapanda
didnt bring my token. transfer to you tonite, ok? CL will help me to collect.

CL,
can trouble you to help me to collect the fish oil, pls. thanks.

SY
ya loh.. basically, if we prep now, can minimise the change in our attitude and behaviour towards how we wld react when #2 is born. One qt interesting example is playing ball at home. We used to let Ger play with ball at home. Now, we dun. Coz accdg to the book, if next time Ger kicks the ball at home at hit #2, then, we will stop him from playing ball, then it will be due to #2, which is no good loh. So, to avoid such accidents from happening, we shld only allow Ger to play ball outdoors to avoid the ball hitting #2. Qt interesting hor.
I dun know how effective it is. But, sounds logical, so i'm trying it at home now.

cookie
just saw your post. heehee.. i dun hv tips la, not been thru it mah. only reading from books. see my post abv. I think it makes sense that we shld try to minimise the change when #2 is born. So, you must now think of how you and hb wld behave when #2 is born and start doing it now. For me, I stop carrying Ger to sit on my lap when i read to him. so, that he'll be used to it and next time he can sit next to me while i carry #2. Also, another one is e.g. if u carry Kaelyn a lot now, then next time will stop carrying her coz u need to carry #2? something like that lah.. maybe you can try reading some books?so far, I've only managed to read the Gina Ford book on taming toddlers and it makes sense, so i'm following it. Also, (dunno if it works), I'll ask Ger to sayang and kiss mei mei (my tummy). Then, next time when #2 is born, will also saw the same words but point to the baby. Hope he gets the link.

cookie,
we share the same thots. I m still not ready to let E sleep with the maid. Maybe cos our maid is still relatively new. So for now, Hb & I still not in favor to move E out of our room. He doesnt co-sleep on our bed but we share the same room thou. My intention is to use the other spare room to put the bb cot there so tat if I need to BF at nite, I will not disturb hb & E. And then, later on, see how E adjust to didi's presence, then will decide whether to move didi in with us. Guess all of us have different views on co-sleeping when #2 arrives.

As for MIL, I guess I am even more possesive than u. I dun even want her to bb sit E in the day. Haahaa!

Krissie,
I tink u pointed out a good suggestion on letting our #1 sit next to us. Will keep tat in mind. But hor....I carry E alot cos sometimes he just wants me to bao bao. Rejects daddy & the maid's offer. Wat does the book suggest on tat?
Every day, I will ask E to sayang didi. He will lift up my shirt to see the belly button & kiss it. There was 2 incidents where he indicated to ask didi out to play with him. Even my hb finds it a very cute gesture. Hopefully he will learn to share his toys with didi in future.

Re: contact of lactation consultant
HI mummies
Can I have the contact for lactation consultant who will do house visit please?
Thanks a million

Too many posts. Cannot read all...

Mamapanda,
The $32.09 is for the cod liver oil right? How about the A&D cream? How much in total to transfer to you pls?

Tabbiesus,
Thks! Guess I have to collect myself then. Well, I can take the opportunity to shop there... : )

Krissie
Thanks.. I will take note of the pointers. DO share with us when you read on..hee Ya should read more but basically I dun buy a book and read, I pick up from here and there like motherhood mag and stuff like that.
K kiss a lot of her didi but she refer him as baby.. she will kiss, will hug etc..and when she sees other baby she will wan to kiss and hug them too.
I'm prepared that she will be jealous when #2 arrive, I guess thats only normal, we just have to handle it properly.
Good thing is K is also very sticky to my HB, so I guess when I'm busy with #2, HB plays an important part with K

sl
Your amount is $36.91 before shipping for the A+D. Do you want to hold payment until I got the shipping charges for the A+D before paying everything together?

cookie
u r normal! i also wouldn't wan JH to share room with maid or MIL....

just try out the co-sleeping arrangement first and see how it goes. maybe it will work out better than u imagine...

wenyl
thanks for passing the books to me.

hee, i also wouldn't like my MIL to bbsit JH. actually it's also cos we share different views on parenting.

that day my hb (jokingly) said get his mum to move in with us so we can conc on work. i immediately refuse and said we will be quarreling non stop. i know he won't let her come and stay with us also cos he wouldn't wan to be caught in the middle.

MamaChan,
Glad to know that Daren's fever is down. Are the rashes itchy?

ChickenLittle,
Glad u got your handphone back! I just read a newspaper article that says that japanese are very honest pple coz there was this man leaving money in the public toilets in japan (like santa clause) and the japanese are just bringing the money to the police :)

SY,
Haha JH so cute. JW getting funny ideas recently too. Just last Sunday, he suddenly discovered that he can "mop" the floor in the JG class by lying flat on his tumy and pushing himself backwards. He will do that till he hits the door.run back to the front (where the teacher is telling story) and start "mopping" again. Faintz!

The other thing he likes to do now is to walk backwards..so worried that he will fall down.

Wendyl
I have to say my MIL has taken good care of kae and she also help us with housework with no helper. While yes at some point I cannot agree with my MIL thinking/or doing things (just like last nite...haha better dun bring it up again) but stil grateful she has given us great help.
It just that.. deep inside me I have this guilt that I have not spend enough time with kae due to FT working and at times working OT. so I wan to do my best to spend time with her on weekdays even if I will be tired or affect my sleep. Heee.. dun wan to be a Weekend mom only.
Somehow I can foresee, I maybe even more guilty towards kae when #2 arrive but just have to try my best.
Hopefully with domestic helper, at least I can dun worry abt house work and can have more time with the kids.

SH
JW so cute- mopping the floor hee.. kae also started to walk backward and also turning around on the same spot.. and worst she will lead my MIL to turn with her.. until my MIL become faint.. :p

Hi Cookie,
I still have the contact of my lactation consultant who helped me through the torture with BF, really thanks to her, I manage to persevere... sms me if you want it ...

Re: Co sleeping
since S was born, we had let her sleep in her own room, so she is very used to it... in fact, now I have a worry that if we do have a 2nd one, I have no idea where to put the baby, coz we have no rooms left! I can't put the 2nd one in with us too, coz our room is so small, so am in fact thinking about leaving him/her out in the dining room when the time comes, haha! My hb thinks I'm crazy....