(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

THANK YOU mummies... I love you!!!
I was reading all the post since this morning( yes.. workinghr time..opppss)
and really Thank you for all your valuable advice and opinion and experience.

Many of you have addressed other thoughts in my mind. Oh and Please you ladies are not lor soh la. In fact lotsa things stated are what in my mind too. and I'm also very concern abt the #2 getting sick before his Jab esp the threat from HFMD.
Most of all, I'm also worry kae will feel emotionally stress as mentioned by Yuki.

Getting a maid and send kae to half day school is also one option and there is a half day school in church which I'm thinking of sending kae there. Of course cost is a consideration, need to work out the maths of getting maid, half day school etc etc.

I'm also very worried abt getting a "bad" maid but then again.. MIL is around jaga hope it's better except must listen to her complain.. as it is now she is complaint to me abt the PT cleaner already who come once a week.

tracy!!!
I'm gng to show my HB the DOG!!.. such a cute dog.. I wonder hoe it see things.. really look like a mop..hahaha... make my day

rachel
my hb doesn't like to go out on sun. he likes to spend the time at home so sometimes when i wan to go out on sun, he quite reluctant. he wants to do his own stuff and he says spend time with JH. but i complain to him that he always does his own things.

then he feels that he works very hard and feels very tired on weekdays so he wants a good rest on weekends.

sometimes he will still go out to please me but usually i jsut bring JH out alone if i really want.

may
ha, my hb will either watch tv or work when we are at my parents place or in laws place.

flo
that's what my hb says when i say i scared JH will have little time from us if we have number 2. he say he will ahve no choice but to spend more time with him. but that is say only leh...

tabby
yeah my hb is like that. but at least your hb will go with u sometimes. mine i just give up and tell him i go myself.

but i agree with u. he misses JH when i go out wiht him..haha.

yesterday i was on leave and spent a lot of time with JH so hb can see that JH is very happy. when he came back he kept saying he missed JH. i took a lot of videos and photos for him and I can see that he enjoyed them.

wenyl
good that your hb's trip is cancelled. think it's realy tough on u if you have to take care of ethan and your little one inside u at the same time, esp now that they are your active!

SSF
yeah they made JH wash hands before he can go play. maybe cos HMFD on the rise?

yeah my hb works late on weekdays. he usually works after JH falls asleep. recently he has been busier as well.

durianlover, may
the place is really good and think shd go on weekdays when htere's less pple. cos the older kids can get quite rough. if there's a lot of pple, it can be quite hazardous for our kids.

Tracy,
Ur DOG really makes me HUH! in office. Thanks for your jokes and pics, at least makes me WAKE UP in office. hehe.

CL,
Thanks! I am also using the Young Parents Free Crayons. Cos my crayola is at my mum's place. Can help me take the clothing from Rachel if u are meeting her to scrap? Dun think she is coming to my place for the playgroup.

Rachel,
Can pass the Batam clothing to CL? I will do bank transfer to pay you. PM me your bank account okie?

re TV
actually TV is my way of timeout with JH. but i try not to let him watch adult TV. i also heard that they shouldn't watch TV before 2 but he seems to learn quite a far bit from TV. he can do the actions for some of the songs and it is quite funny to watch him do it

yesterday he was very funny. i asked him to seat on the floor and he went to the sofa, took a pillow, put it on the floor and then sat on the pillow. imitating me cos i always put a pillow on the floor before i sit.

he also makes fun of me a lot. he likes me to look at something and htne he will stand behind me, waiting for me to turn. but yesterday he did that a few times and then once, he touched me and then started to walk out of the room quietly. when i ran after him, he started to run also. quite a funny sight.

SY - wow envy the time u had with JH for these couple of days. I am quite tired now at work actually. not that i am busy or wat but I am down with sore throat and i think my flu is coming. must be the bad weather ...everyone remembers to drink more water. my cousin who is preggy is hospitalised yesterday due to dehydration. luckily her bb is OK.

tracy

your dog is so cute! Hahah, if he lies still, pp might think he's a mop. hahah.

it's so hot these few days and i thought my new ceiling fans are lousy. Then again, i could still use the normal standing fan for my boy. The 1st night we tried with the ceiling fan, he woke up crying in sweat. Now had to switch on the air con for his naps. It's soooooo..... HOT!

cookie
getting a good maid is a blessing. so do the best u can in terms of management if u really want to get a maid. like what the rest say, set up some rules in the first place. i got a fren having a hard time now cos no rules set and her MIL spoil market.

SSF
yeah i had a lot of fun with JH. stlil on leave today and going to bring him out later. the only downside is he becomes very sticky to me. he will call me non stop and wan me to be ard him all the time. and he is naughty when i m ard.

yesterday rejected his food and kept pushing me to eat his food. even those that he spit out he also pick up and ask me to eat

aiyo, better take care, the weather really bad and hot these 2 days. and esp when u r not feeling well. can't take mc to rest?

Re: Recommendation for maid Agency
HI Mummies
I remember soem mum has recommend their Maid Agency before...
Can I have the contact again??
I think I better equip with all the info before I talk in details with HB.. else he will say.. let wait and see again.. faint... barely 3 mths before I'm due.

Cookie,Mashy,May,
Glad you enjoyed the "mop-dog". hahaha.

SSF,
oohhh....better take care of yourself. The weather is extremely hot these days.

mashybrain - yeah global warming...the weather for every country all go hay wired. gg to stay indoors this weekend mann!

Sy - i just took family care leave last fri and early jun need to take another half day for hdb appt. quite pai seh to go absent further. still OK la...although my mind keep asking me to take MC tmr. see how it goes. have a good break and enjoy ur time with JH. but remember to give him drink more water when ya out.

SY
I just called up Riverlife Pre-nursery class.
They accept child 2.5yr old only... she suggest I can sign up for Jun 2008 intake wan to.
They having a open house on 25May Friday. 9-12noon. You can go down take a look if have time.
it's a 3hr class only. there is a school bus service(not sure if extra cost). Cost is $210/mth inclusive material and snack.

just when we're ranting about the hot weather, now there's a heavy downpour. the weather is getting crazy! But also good, at least can cool the temp a bit.

Cookie, difficult for me to choose option 1 or 2. I'll rather source for a nanny (rather than choosing a childcare) for #1. I have the same opinion as Tabbie with regards to childcare because I've gone thru' it. And seeing how old folks are so against maid, and she'll be the main person in contact with the maid, perhaps it's good to keep peace at home by avoiding that option? A nanny to me is a preferred choice ...

AK, do you allow your maid to have a handphone in the first place? Is someone home to watch over her? My groundrules when I first get mine is no handphones and no long hair. She has obediently followed these to-date, although now her hair's getting long, she's dutifully tie it back. I'm quite strict on calls with her; calling home too much makes her more homesick and cause her mind to think too much. She will tell me she she wants to call home the day before ... I used to allow her to call whenever she needs and she can forget abt the time, so now she has to plan, and sometimes she does so on her off-day. My maid btw can do without friends but even she's somehow make frens ... that shows how friendly Fils are

I do know of some which have stated down the rules that the maid can only make calls when she has finished her work.... you may ask her to put her phone in an open space when all can see, and she's only allowed to use it at certain times of the day that you've agreed on.

.ky.

793776.jpg

May 8, 2007

A Jack Russell terrier who died from injuries sustained when he saved a group of children from being mauled by two pit bulls in New Zealand is being given two posthumous medals.

New Zealand's main animal welfare agency, the Society for the Protection of Animals, today awarded George a bravery medal, while an American Vietnam veteran who read news articles about the attack said he would send a Purple Heart to the dog's owner.

Feisty, 30cm tall George fought with the pit bulls to keep them from attacking the youngest of five children as they returned home from buying sweets at a neighbourhood shop in the small North Island town of Manaia on April 29.

George, aged 9, was so badly mauled in the melee that owner Alan Gay instructed a veterinarian to put him down.

"It was an extraordinary act of heroism," said the animal protection society's chief executive, Robyn Kippenberger. "It says a huge amount for the animal-human bond that he actually went in to save them."

Authorities have euthanised the two pit bulls, and their owner faces prosecution for owning dangerous and uncontrolled dogs.

Kippenberger said her group's award, normally given to humans for bravery in aiding animals, "has not been awarded to a dog since 1990." The two previous canine recipients were trained police dogs.

"That he weighed into a couple of dogs considerably larger than himself, clearly to protect a child, is just a most amazing act and needs to be recognised," she told The Associated Press.

The bravery medal will be presented to George's owner at the children's school.

Meanwhile, former US Marine Jerrell Hudman told the local Taranaki Herald newspaper that he would honour the terrier's bravery by mailing to New Zealand one of the three Purple Heart medals he was awarded for service in Vietnam in 1967.

Purple Hearts are given to US troops wounded or killed in combat

Hudman, 58, of Austin, Texas, described George as a "little warrior" who deserved the honour

http://www.smh.com.au/news/world/purple-heart-for-brave-george/2007/05/08/1178390293699.html

SSF
yeah, JH loves to drink water now so no problem with that.

cookie
thanks for the info. maybe i shall take half day to go and visit their open house. are u going? we can go together.

when must we sign up?

ky
my maid has a hp which i din know abt until one day i chance upon her using it. she uses it only after she finishes her work but i was pretty pissed that she din tell me abt it in the first place. she knows i wasn't too happy abt it so she has been quite obedient in using only when i m ard and after she has finish her work.

cookie
u need to also consider how to manage both MIL and maid. sometimes it can be quite challenging if MIL likes to interfere. last time my MIL alwyas got things to say abt the maid but now she tells my hb to extend the maid by one more year cos she's convinced that the maid takes good care of JH.

SY,

Yes. I am interested to get books from edventure. Are you collating orders? Do I PM you?
And, I think my hb is a lot better when I got pregnant again. He helps out a lot more now although Lucas still doesn't quite fancy him as much as me :p

Cookie's maid or no maid poll
1) Option 1- i believe you can get Kae ready for school before her didi is born. dont let her have the concept of going to school is to study, but is to learn through play. to me, maid = no privacy and other many issue. sooner or later Kae will need to go childcare or pre school.~~Rach
2) Option 1 - Since Kae will be going to school sooner or later, you can consider Option 1 for the time being. If want to avoid Kae from feeling "kicked out", then best to send her to school now before you give birth. To settle her now than when #2 coming out soon, by then will be too much "stress" for her to handle.
3) option 1 - if your MIL can handle, how about going for playgroup for mayb half day instead of full time childcare? it won't be too stressful for kaelyn, too. and if you want kae to go childcare, it's good to send her now rather than later when didi is born. it will be an added stress to everyone who's adjusting for the new member, then.
4)option2: i think u can consider sending Kaelyn to classes over the weekend if you really want her to start young and mixing ard with other kids. A maid can help to keep your hse clean, can cook and save on food expenses and can even do simple duties for ur in law hse. Although having a maid is an extra cost, having opt 1 of sending Kaelyn to class is also abt the same cost. privacy wise, you will have to factor that with cleanliness of your hse everyday and easing ur ILs of their duties. if you ask me, option 2 is what I am heading for when my no 2 pops out lor.
5) Option 1 : You can try to sign Kaelyn up for some classes before you give birth then she will get used to the idea of school. Now give her a doll to prepare her for the baby. Like when you go out, leave the doll at home tell her doll will wait for her at home. Next time is when she goes to school, didi will be waiting for her at home. Let her run errand on picking up powder, diaper, for you to take charge of things. Though my Charmaine is older but I think this is still applicable. Actually Charmaine only goes to daily playgroup 3 months before I deliver and I managed to bring her to her first 3 days class at nursery. I have to tell her when my mother will take over then I cannot go etc. With Kaelyn in school it will give you more ease too during confinement to handle the baby - CL
6) option 1 - if your MIL can handle, how about going for playgroup for mayb half day instead of full time childcare? it won't be too stressful for kaelyn, too. and if you want kae to go childcare, it's good to send her now rather than later when didi is born. it will be an added stress to everyone who's adjusting for the new member, then. ~~sunny
7) Option #2 - No need full-day childcare. Jus half day will do? By the time you are back at work, baby boy will be 3mths old and easier for MIL to handle. She can easily bring along #3 when sending Kae and picking Kae at school. I think with a maid, your MIL will have more grumbles.
8) Option #1 (I think will have to be full-day childcare unless your FIL can help?) ~~~ queen
9) OPtion #2 - Yuki
10) option #2- tabbiesus
11) option #2- AK
12) Option #1 - Flo. Heard too many horrid stories about maid. Plus hate to handle/manage maid.
13) Option #2 - wenyl.
14) Option #1 and #2. Aileen
15) Option #2 - Cindy. But try to get someone to supervise... I'm into my 2nd maid now and also 7mths preggers. My plan is also very 'fluid' as of current. Dunno if my mom will continue helping me after my confinement. If not, I will then employ a day-time sitter that comes to my house to supervise both babies and maid. That is my last backup as it is so expensive ($1200/mth), hours are rigid (8am to 6pm cos most of them wants to go home to cook dinner etc.) and imptly, hard to find good reliable baby-sitters too.

tracy
1st the mopdog make me smile.. now George make me sad.. how extreme your news :p
Poor George is really brave and sometimes little animal do things that surprise us and make human ponder if we were in his position , will we do the same.
I have a friend in US, he has 2 labradors and he always told him wife not to call them Dogs.. cos he dun regard them as dog, they are human in dog skin

SY
ya got to manage both maid and MIL not easy. MIL has bad expereince with SIL ex-maid. I'm sure if get maid, MIL will have lotsa grumble, anyway until hb and I talk abt it, then will sound mil out.

KY
I tink my MIL will not like kae to nanny, not sure if that will give wrong signal that we think she cannot cope. if it's to child care, kae can learn more but to nanny, she may think why not she take care too.
I can foresee how handful if MIL to handle both. esp she like to go wet market to buy fresh food.
While I'm thinking alot abt MIL from my perspective. in the end still need to sound her out.

cookie,
oops...didn't realise both my dog news are extreme opposites. Your fren is so right, dogs are human in fur! Well, they are better than many humans actually.

Cookie
Then send baby to nanny then mil continue with Kaelyn. Because I doubt Kaelyn is able to settle down with nanny because my Charmaine at 4 will not accept nanny too. When baby is older and Kaelyn is more settled down in school, bring baby back like 1 or 1.5 years lah. Like for Charmaine and Aden's case. Aden goes to the nanny. In fact my nanny is more reliable than my mum and no complaints. At night still bring back mah. Plus my nanny more supportive on bf than my mum.

Hi cookie

Of course no grandmother would be happy that her granddd that she's been taking care of this while so well should be outsourced to a nanny. It's all down to how you can convince her. Perhaps one of the good reason to give is she'll have more time to better nurture the younger one perhaps, and let the older one be away so as to get ready for childcare. I've heard of grandmothers having a tough time taking care of 2, esp with bring one (even on a stroller) to fetch the older one from school (if u r thinking of halfday childcare). Don't forget noontime sun is superhot, so do checkout the schoolbus option...

hm, in fact, CL's idea also feasible and might be more acceptable to your MIL since the bonding is not so strong yet.

Tracy, I've send u a pm

.ky.

MamaChan,
Yup, JW is better now....he is turning back to his old sticky self.

Durianlover,

Babylon,
That is really so cute. Wonder how long he will hold on to the jelly

Joanne,
Welcome! My boy is born on the 11th Jan

Re: TV
JW gets a lot of TV at my MIL place, coz my MIL wants to watch her TV program. So no choice.

CL/Ky
yes yes I agree.. anyway knowing my MIL very stubborn and strong headed, will ask hb to sound her out on what options she is more comfortable with.

Flo,
Yup, Charmaine has recovered.

CL,
I still owe you money for the biscuits. Any chances of meeting for lunch sometime next week?

Cookie,
For me, I choose to send Charmaine to infantcare now to let her get used to the idea of attending "school" but only for half day. My mum will send her there at 1130am in time for lunch and bring her back at 6pm the latest. Once she turns 18mths, we will put her there for the whole day and pick her up at 6pm. I hope that by going to the childcare, she can learn some social skills like sharing and some communication skills. Right now, her verbal skills are really not good in comparision to her motor skills. If I were to have a no. 2, I will consider put my no. 1 in childcare and get maid to help with housework and no. 2. I do realise that our parents are not getting any younger and as each year passes, it's really more tiring for them. So if I were to have a no. 2, I am not sure if my mum can handle without help from maid until of cos I quit my job.
Just my two cents' worth.

SL
I agree with you too... thats what I have been thinking, I now my ILs are getting old, tho I know if we dish the option to them, they probably say they dun need help. but having to work latein my job, I will very tired to do housework when we are home. I know they probably cannot tahan the floor to be dusty and end up doing housework for us too which I feel very guilty abt. Thats why I get the PT cleaner in eventho MIL complaint. I jsut wan to make up what I couldn't do at home even if it just a little bit.

I have spoken to hb about mummies comment here.. and after all he is less resistant to getting a maid and also he is ok to send kae to pre-nursery class in future. SO hope we can come to consensus soon and hopefully ILs will be alright with to our decision-either maid or child care.

SL,
I do agree with u too... dat's y have decided to get a helper even without no. 2 on the way yet.
It's mainly to help out with our house chores and to ease Pil's burden when it comes to taking care of the ever active Eshley...

Cookie
If you realli want a maid then involve mil in choosing the maid since she will be facing her most of the time. Then she will keep mum about complaining the maid because she choosen her man.

At first my mum says she can take care of both. But after confinement, I think she cannot make it. So I start to source for a nanny.

CL, I have received the zoophonics holiday program brochure. have emailed it to you. let me know if you are interested. i'm quite keen.

KY,
Replied your mail.

Esh Mummy,
Any reason you looking for facial care products and you mean cleanser stuff? For me, i don't use toner, moisturizer, make-up remover etc. In fact I hardly use make-up, only when attending weddings.

I rely only on a face wash from a doctor and i just discovered its actually Hospigel, a PH balance body, face, hair wash.

If you have not used any facial pdts and your face is well so far, maybe its good to continue without them?

CL,

At least my mum's very honest with me, she said that she can't cope with Charmaine so active now so we are sending her to childcare for half a day. At least my mum can rest in the afternoon.
Housework-wise, I always have a part-time help even before charmaine cos both of us felt that we have worked so hard and long hours Mon to fri - don't want to come home and work some more. Lazy lah. What to do.

Cookie/Esh,
That's why I always peifu those mummies with 2 or more kids and can still keep the house clean, cook. To me, they are wonderwomen. Then sometimes, I read in magazines about career woman who has high-flying career, plus 3 kids, plus can get MBA at the same time. And I really wonder, am I so incompetent?!!

hehe, SL, i know exactly wat u mean... they are really super-wonderwomen whom i really salute... but for me to be like them, i really can't... :-( coz i know my own limitations...

Tracy,
there's no particular reason for me wanting to get some facial products, but only that i've never use anything like cleanser, toner, etc etc, n my friends keep telling me ... we're getting older liao, need to protect our face... *faintz*..... hence i'm wondering if i should get some products n if yes, wat? coz i'm totally zero on these....

Talking about biscuits

Mummies , the shipment for the Kameda Strawberry Biscuits is arriving on Friday. As usual my fren kept 2 cartons for me. I will use the last distribution list which was collated. If you dun want then just delete your name.

Kameda - Strawberry - 12 Packs , $ 2.40
2)Wenny
3)Chicken Little
4)Chicken little
5)SL
6)Flo
7)Flo
8)AK
9)AK
10) rena
11) Sep03bride
12) Rachel
=========================
13) Clare
14) Krissie
15) Krissie
16) Precious Moment
17) Precious Moment
18) Mashy Brainz
19) Mashy Brainz
20) sysac
21) sysac
22) tabbiesus
23) Cookie
24) Chicken little

Esh Mummy,
hmmm...we are similar then. I very fearful of trying all these toner, moisturizer thing cos it may cause outbreak etc..I don't really believe as we grow older we will need these leh. My doctor who is very popular for skin problems, don't recommend such stuff too. He always said, just use his face wash and drink more water. :p

Esh Mummy,
I'm sure you have great skin so you don't need make-up! Nothing to do with ladylike at all.

P.S. Not saying I got great skin...:D

oh is it, ur doc really said that? I juz use plain water to wash my face dat's all leh... kakaka, it saves a lot though...heehee

SL

I am 1 mummy with 2 kids just back to full time work but my house ha ha cannot make it and I am getting lazy on the housework.

Eshmummy
I oso seldom put make up and just use normal facial foam. My mum is oso someone like that and for age 60 she dun look like that. I decided I should just be like her. Your complexion very good wat.

Thanks Aileen
Will let you know. I realise I need to take so many leaves for my gal's activity in Childcare. Aiyo

Biscuits,
mummies who has not collected the biscuits from me, want to collect together ?

CL,
thks for confirming that there's nothing wrong for not using any facial products... i really needed that... coz i really think there's something very wrong with me that i didn't know of, as my friends really convinced me that i needed to really buy some brands n use them...sigh.......

esh mummy - wow u must have good skin to go work without makeup. for me, although i am not prone to pimples, i have dark circles that i have to conceal before i can head to work. on weekends, if its nearby...normally i will just go naked on my skin with just moisturizer and that also sometimes i feel like an ah soh. hee...then also my next problem of blackheads ..so thats why i need facial scrub as well.

frankly its true that we are ageing and have to care for our skin esp nowsaday, the weather is so hot and those UV rays. since u dun use makeup, u can get a gentle cleanser wash and a moisturizer you can slap on during the day and night for hydrating. on top of them if you are concern abt UV rays, slap on abit of sun screen before moisturizer. just a protection lor. i guess the 3 are the basic thing you can start off with. u can get those inexpensive ones from watson or pharmacy.

Gastro Infection:

Oh dear! Cephas caught that on Mon. Came down with high fever 40deg & bad bout of diarrhoea. Mum brought him to Doc & he was given paracetamol, abdominal pain med, diarrhoea meds & lactoguard. Picked him back from my mum's place & have been taking care of him. So darn stressed out the whole of yesterday because he refused to eat & drink & was just purging away. Because he had 13 episodes of diarrhoea, brought him to a PD last nite. PD gave us 4 packets of gulcose water plus paracetamol on top of a small tin of Isomil Step 2. Had to force feed him every 1/2 with the syringe in fear that he will be hydrated & in the end may have to be given the drip in hsp.

Thank goodness, his fever is gone & he is drinking more than yesterday & appetite is picking up. But he has lost so much weight! Think abt 1kg! Lost his chubbiness!

PD & Doc says this is the season for Gastro Infection so mummies, pls take care of your little ones!

Oh Sysac,
sorry to hear that... :-(
Hope that Cephas is much better now.. u've to stay healthy too... Will keep ur family in prayers...

Sysac,
oh dear! That muz have been terrible and tiring for everyone at home! Glad to hear Cephas is recovering well. Whew!

Esh Mummy,
Eh, i also dunno how to make-up, so if needed, i slap on compact pressed powder, then put abit of blusher powder, lipstick and mascara. That's good enuf i feel.

BTW, I highly recommend a mascara from Sasa. Brand is Deja Vu. It won't smudge and can wash off with water, no need remover.

sysac
Hope Cephas is well soon. You take care too

Eshmummy
sama sama Hi 5 I oso dunno how to put on make up. Maybe we should go for a grooming class for basic.

Ha ha Tracy
I cannot make it for mascara even. Dun have nice lashes to do it nicely man.

Esh-mummy
arrange arrange. You can organise one sure got mummy join or maybe they very season someone can teach us ha ha