(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena
understand what you meant. during my 1st 3 months maternity leave, i was basically stuck with my gal. basically, i was just like an ah soh.... horrible days.... but i still missed it. haha...

re: window grills
i have a contact who will be doing my gate. he does window grills too.
you can reach him if interested. apparently, they are directly from factory. so cheaper.
i got his advertisement from my letter box.

can call and enquire if interested.
A Grade @ 67 444 555

Cookie / Rachel / Sy / CL / Rena / Flo / Tracy / SSF / Queen,

Thanks for the comforting words. Guess no choice...will have to work hard to win back my boy's favor.

Today when i say bao bao to him at my MIL place before i go work, he wave goodbye to me instead. Then when i say bao bao the 2nd time, he push my hands away towards the door like asking me to go quickly. :-(

Mums-Hi-Tea,
Currently won't be joining coz it's my birthday on that day. Unless my hb forgets or can't take leave on that day.

Chicken_little - managed to dig out the biscuits order.
So I shld pay you $10.44 for the 4 packs that I ordered

Iwatsuka - Vege - 10 packs , each $2.73
1) Wenny
2) Wenny
3) Chicken Little
4) Chicken Little
5) SL
6) Flo
7) Flo
8) rena
9) Sep03bride
10)Mamachan
============================
11) SSF
12) Clare
13) Krissie
14) Krissie
15) Precious Moment
16) Precious Moment
17) SH
18) sysac
19) tabbiesus
20) Cookie

Kameda - Plain - 12 packs $2.57
1) Chicken little
2) SL
3) Flo
4) Flo
5) AK
6) AK
7) rena
8) God's child
9) Mama chan
10) Mama chan
11) Rachel
12) SSF
=======================
13) Precious Moment
14) Precious Moment
15) sysac
16) sysac
17) tabbiesus
18) Chicken little
19) sysac (again!)
20) Chicken little
21) SSF
22) SSF
23) AK
24)AK

SH - happy birthday in advance!

Mums-Hi-Tea,
Won't be joining coz already on leave the entire week b4 that. Have a great time! Mariott's food's great!

Tracy - Yes, the vicks thingy is useful. I do that for Cephas sometimes. I actually scoop a bit in a sauce bowl & put over hot water for it to melt. After that, rub on his chest & back.

hi mommies

wow so exciting hi tea.. i'd love to join but gotta see what i'm doing first..

window grills
Ya i agree.. who else needs we see if we can BP this too kekeke.. roughly how much does it cost ah? do they go by no. of windows or by feet? I'm really blur about this... i need some grills in my apt before i can move back permanently.

CL
how did peter from innovative toys get back to you re: the clocks? i want to pay you for the clocks and the biscuits together.

Mums Hi Tea,
I will be starting work at my new place on 4 June so can't be joining you gals coz I think to build up the leaves.

Mamachan, actually I have 17 days of leave to clear but my company will be compensating my leave coz I will working till my last day which is 23 May. 24 May I can join you gals if you want to scrap that day. It's a thurs. my PIL may want to go Genting on 25 May so won't be able to scrap with clariss around but I think Cheng is going overseas in 2nd half of May. Let me talk to my boss about taking 1 day next week, say fri. I think should be fine.

Queen,
think I saw you the other day at admiralty MRT.
so sorry to hear that you quit your job but I guess it's good for you if the company is not so good. I am also quite particular about the company culture. I am really hoping that this new company that I am joining has that ideal company culture that I am looking at. so far so good. I told them that I am pregnant but they still welcome me with open arms. I actually gave them the option that they can reject me but they didn't and send their congrats and well wishes.
Do you need any contacts for head hunters? I have 2 head hunters that I find them very nice and sincere. You can let me know and I pm to you.

Re : biscuits and risotto order
CL, can pass to my hubby this sat and just tell him how much to pay (if I don't come in this week). tx!

Re : Aquaducks

I've booked for 20 May, 2 timeslots (4-4.30 and 4.30-5), just in case the group goes beyond 6....

RE: Mums hi-tea
I'll love to join the group ... but I have to bring my 4-yr-old, can? He's ok as long as he gets food. no high-chair (already outsource one to maid, cannot handover 2 to her)... do I have to pay for him (I hope no *wink*) ... can also check up on parking? I may drive if not too ex....

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
It's that time of the year where we as moms are being remembered, celebrated. So let's do a moms-only high-tea session without the toddlers in our hair (as suggested by Esh-Mummy).

Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: TBA (We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

End of the event, just remember to send the bill to your hbs =) *winkz*

Moms who are keen for this meet-up kindly put down your name and block book the date!!

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
3) Chicken Little - ok at the moment hope no last min deadline
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
7) Linda tjhin( will let your know in advance if I can't make it )
8) ky (+ 1 boy)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

mamachan

thanks! yah lah, if can get help i no need to be SAHM liao. haha.

I'm less of an ah soh compared to his 1st 7mths when i was SAHM. Now that he's older, i can take some time to comb my hair and put on make up before i go out. haha. Don't want my hb to call me 'jaundiced' again.

SSF
what promo for POSB everyday card? i've the card but didn't receive any promo leh.

Linda
thanks! Gracie's so sweet too.
All the children are so well behaved. my boy was like moody thru out. Dunno why he's so moody at My Gym.

It's that time of the year where we as moms are being remembered, celebrated. So let's do a moms-only high-tea session without the toddlers in our hair (as suggested by Esh-Mummy).

Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Price: TBA (We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Moms who are keen for this meet-up kindly put down your name and block book the date!!

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
8) mashybrainz (will be bringing caeden unless can find help)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Mashy, hehehe, just make sure that day of high-tea wear nice nice with makeup hor. Got surprise install *winks*

ky
Will you be bringing Keith or your older boy?

I put my name first. The date should be ok since after closing and I have 1 day off in lieu to clear.
Wow stress ley.. wear nice nice.. now pregnant very demoralised, wear anything also not nice.

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
10) Cookie (TBC)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
10) queen (should be ok...unless I found a job by then)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

KY
Thanks for making the arrangement.

Re: AquaDucks

Spoke to AquaDucks on availability.
Suntec :
- 2.30pm-3pm : 1 date in May (6 May). next will be 3 Jun
- 4pm - 4.30pm : 6 May / 13 May / 20 May

Buona Vista (on weekdays) - 2.30pm-3pm
--> it seems like only CL and I am keen for Buona Vista (we need 4 to start), so I'm proposing doing in Suntec (since it's a Sunday afternoon). In case if the mummy can't go into the water, the daddy can go. For the date, how abt 20 May (6 May is 3 days later and 13 May is mother's day which I assume you busy ladies would be full of activities). Pls put down the ok date against your name (need 4 to start, max is 6). I should probably get back to Aquaducks to "chop" the date soon ... thanks!

Suntec
1) SY (6/13/20 May)
2) Clare
3) Cheng (20 May)
4) Chicken Little
5) ky (20 May)
6) Ak
7) Mashybrainz (20 May)
8) Esh Mummy - (20may)
9) Flo (20 May)

---
3) Cookie - Still keen
4) Denmy - Still Keen
6) Celine77- Still keen
9) sunny
10) Annie - keen

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
11) Flo (should be ok unless biz trip got extended)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

mongs,
Oh, you saw me at Admiralty? When was that? If I'm there, that means I haven't quit yet.
Yah, company culture must be good and benefits decent. Glad that the new job that you have had a good culture and can accept that you are pregnant. The company that I just quite, I heard that if someone is preggers during probation period, her maternity leave will be unpaid. Can you imagine that!!! So I think better just leave. Thanks for the offer of the headhunters... but hor, I'm just an engineer leh. Not some high calibre manager or what... would they bother with me?

SAHMs,
Got to ask you all... do you still give allowance to your own parents? Now I'm jobless and may be jobless for some time, I'm wondering whether I should cut my allowance to my parents or stop contributing.

mamachan

you're stressing me leh... must wear nice nice ah.... can t-shirt and jeans or not? coz if i'm getting caeden along, jeans are the easiest to handle.

queen
since i became SAHM, i've not given any allowance. I suppose we contribute in other ways lor. Like my parents are staying with us, so we pay for all the household bills etc. As for my ILs, they are rather well off, no need our allowance. Even if we give, it'll end up in the savings account for my boy. They actually started an education fund for him. So I'm planning to use those for his enrichment classes. hee hee. In fact, so paiseh, they're still paying for my part-time maid. We just make it a point to visit them every weekend lor.

Wenyl, Tracy, Mongs, Queen
Thanks for your well wishes. Ya luckily is not HFMD, if not will be nightmare for me.

SL
Humm, your boss must be either a guy or not a parent.

Tracy
RE: Tickling Elmo
Mel loves the toy. Toys R Us has a TV advert running at its store, she would glue her eyes on it! But is so ex $99.

ChickenLittle
I think u need to do french @ Insead. If not u can consider University of Chicago GSB. But is an Exec MBA tho.

SY
Oh u did CFA too

mashy - it comes with the mthly bill. i just got it yesterday only. u check ur letter box today.

queen - if ur parents are doing fine in the sense they are not dependent on your pocket money to pay off hse loan or etc, then maybe u can speak to them to decrease gradually. for me, my parents still need to pay the hse loan. so my pocket money to them cannot be stop lor.

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Mashy
Heeee, T-shirt and jeans, can lah, I promise I will take a nice angled pic of you k?

cookie
no stress no stress. I promise you it's nothing embarrassing k? I think the most I just draw eyebrows and blush on face can liaoz.

Queen
Me not SAHM, just being kaypoh. I guess it depends on how much you parents need your money and whether how comfortable are you financially. For me, one reason why I can't be a SAHM cos I need to support my mom.

SY, Flo
Thanks will check it out. You want to join me for the MBA ? I believe both of you should have exemption but I dun have leh. Chicago very exp leh. Will check out insead. I know AK will be interested too. How go together ? The only thing attracts me to University of Adelaide is the schedule

Queen
Can discuss with your parents. If they are comfortable I dun think it is an issue for not giving. Because once you are back with job, you will definitely give them mah

Cookie, Mashy
Both of you already saw me in working clothes, oso very chin cha one. All mummies in our thread got own very unique and nice look. Personality most important. No problem for all mummies here hee hee

just wanna share something that i read in a book.

Previously, if we stay at home, we're called housewives, now we're called SAHM. Previously, our roles were wives first, but now it's to be a mom first. The author said that it's important that we be wives before being a mom to sustain a happy family and to raise happy children. What do you think?

I think for myself, sometimes i kind of neglect my hb by being a mom first. Felt so guilty.

Queen,
can one lah. they have different assignments from the companies so depending how niche your area is, sometimes, it's also diff to find engineers esp in the current job market. the market is hot.
maybe I just pm you their contacts and you say that you are recommended by Mong Ai and tell them to keep you in mind if there is anything suitable for you. you will need to send in your CV to them. they will put you in their database. I believed you have worked for a couple of years so the experience is good. I am no high filer, just happened to be recommended by my colleagues to these people. one of them even taught me how to write a good CV and went through a role play session for the interview. it was very useful, like having a free course.

Queen,
sometimes, we have to take the first move, you never know what is installed for you. *wink*. I did that and I am moving and looking forward.

RE: Window Grills
Let's have BP for the window grills and We see no. of family that need the window grill.
So that the expert can give us a good quotation.

1. Linda
2. Tabbiesus

RE: Hi-Tea
On 1st may...we brought Gracie to Merchant Court Swissotel for Hi-Tea.. The price quite reasonable and the food nice..Maybe after the Marriot Hi-Tea....we can go for Merchant Court for their Hi-Tea.

Ritz Carlton also good but is S$ 38+++ ..is expensive...

RE: Ah So Look
Now at channel 8 new serial drama at 9:00pm...actress Huang Bi Ren play as Ah So...hmmmmmmmm..after the first episode...I asked hb a funny question. Do I look like her Ah So type character with no proper hairdo and make up
...hb laugh at me and said if you think that you are Ah So than you are..if you think that you are not Ah So that is mean you are not. Please always be self confidence to yourself and if not you will really like Ah so...But no matter how you are...you are our princess mummy right
this is what hb told me...

I think we should always keep ourself look good with our outlook. But doesnt mean we need to always put on make up or with a expensive clothing. Of course if our mummies here prefer with make up
..I think just keep ourself clean and look neat that is more important

Mashy Brainz
I went to facial and hairdo ,,,2 weeks after my confinement
...I like to keep keep myself look good and neat expecially hairdo. Haa,,,aaa and some new clothing and make up too

Hi Mashy

I agree to the author..but I want to add something is We need a man stand behind us to be our pillar too. As a happy family and happy children must come with happy mum and happy dad
that are really wonderful and lovely picture.

Mashy....dont fell guilty
think sometimes is really no choice as we cannot treat our children and hb like the way we handle multi tasking job in our work place.
But as long as we do remember cheer up our hb with home cook food and tea or juice..they will be happy

Linda
I like that show man. I will always laugh it out with hubby. Ha ha we always hmm sounds familiar woh. Aiyo i better start to do something though working but I look very much like Huang Bi Ren

Tabbiesus
I need to wait for a week before the Peter can revert to me how many clocks available and no guarantee somemore

RE: Jurong West Playgroup

I have finalised the date for the event.

Here's the details. Please confirm your attendance.

Date: 19 May
Time: 12noon to 2pm / 3pm to 5pm

*Please indicate ur time preference as I am not sure what time is your baby's nap time. We will decide on the majority okie?

Name/No. of pax
=============
1) Aden / 1 adult at this point
2) Caleb + SSF n HB
3) God's child + bb + hb
4) Sept03 + bb + hb
5) mamachan + bb + helper
6) rachel + bb + hb
7) ky + bb (TBC)
8) sunny n hb + bb

Waiting List
=============
9) Tabbissus
10) Queen (I put down yours cos I know u are interested)

Please indicate according to this format
Name/no of pax/time

** Very sorry, I am FTWM so I do not cook at home. If needed, I will go buy and cook for the babies. Or if you are able to bring your own? Please let me know.

mongs,
ok, please let me have their contacts then. Thanks!

Mashy / Flo / SSF / CL,
My dad is paying about $50K a year for my sister's Medicine education in Melbourne. Imagine that he has been doing that for almost 6 years. The amount he spent can buy a 5-room HDB liao. But thank goodness that my sis is finally graduating this year... So I think the monthly contribution to my parent's is quite helpful. The amount is enough for them to pay for their utilities and general household expenses. My dad is still working... I dunno. Guess I have to ask them.

linda,
you don't look at all ah soh!

RE: ah so

ha ha.. i used to dress up a lot and have lots of new clothes.. now i've really learnt to dress casually and comfortably... i hope i don't look ah so.. just slightly different mentally lor.. i cut back a lot on make up already... maybe its just age, but less is sometimes more... i still like all the skincare products... just no time to go and browse... so scared those sales girls will make funny comments like "aiyor you look like ah so" to push sales...

RE: aquaducks...
i'd like to join but was wondering is there a shower facility nearby? Actually i'd like to go for the buena vista one.. but prob. my mom dunno how to swim and weekday i may not be free unless i take leave.

Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Sl
your boss not very understanding. does he have kids?

re high tea
i have a coupon where 1 person is free for 3 paying adults. can contribute for the high tea. i like marriott food too

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel (?)
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13) SY
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Queen,,,

Your dad really great and can tell that he loves his children very much... $50K a year is really quite a huge amount and it is not easy to maintain that for 6 yrs.
I remember 12 yrs back when my dad sent me here and the following year is my sister here too. At that time the studies fee + expenses were very expensive too.

Thanks...and you havent see my real person without make up and with pony tail
on weekend at wet market. Really like Ah So
but I still love going to wet market.

Flo
i only did CFA level 1

CL
i dun think i have the time to do MBA now. N there's the cost factor. i wd rather save the money so i can move house.

queen
i dun give my parents allowance currently. my dad is still working and they are still comfortable. in fact they buy a lot of stuff for us still. i guess it depends on how comfortable your parents are without the allowance. what abt asking yoru hb to give? i ever did try to sound hb out. if one day i dun work and my dad stops working, he msut give them allowance.

Linda
Swissotel Merchant Court Hi-tea buffet, I've been there before but was abit dissapointed with the range of food as it differs somewhat from their actual buffet lunch and dinner, especially the famous durian puree pudding. I rather pay abit more to eat their buffet dinner.

Also, Esh_Mummy had suggested a weekday which we can take leave and just gather together without our babies, so CL and myself did our homework and source where are the places that has got good hi-tea on weekdays, apparently, only GoodWood Park Hotel and Marriott hotel have weekday hi-tea. Since Goodwood Park is mainly asian food and Marriott is International fare, I thought why not choose Marriott since I hear reviews the food there really good, not to mention their mouthwatering desserts and cakes! Our last Hotel Phoenix Gathering was also Asian Food.

Let's just pamper ourselves for this onetime mums only occasion bah.

queen - wow...ur father is really great! its not a small amt and its the sacrifice he is willing to do. ur sis must really study hard and reward him when she graduates. for me, i am giving my parents 1k every mth. coz my mum isnt working and my dad is driving taxi and they still have the house to pay which is abt 1k plus every mth. so i cannot afford to stay home and not work coz my 2 sisters are teachers and dun pay very well. so i guess the burden is still on me la to contribute more if the pocket money. i am not complaining as frankly i prefer to work and since i dun really spend much. i am willing to part tat sum to them. as long as they dun feel stress out with the Vit M thingy. most impt is happiness lor.

Queen
Just sit down to have a chat with your parents. See if within your means how much you can give as allowance without a job. I believe they will understand. Maybe dun just take away all at a go, reduce first leh ? Because it may be tough for them to suddenly lose that support totally. For me my parents not working liao, so ha ha their electric, tel , hp bills all on me plus their monthly allowances oso from me. Just a tiny weeny bit from my sis who is currently overseas. Ha ha hmm so I think me like Flo for a moment cannot be SAHM. I believe later on when your sis is back she will repay them.

MamaChan,..

I do agree with you for the merchant court food.
I went back again on the May day and think this time they change their food ...but no more durian pureee pudding lerrr so sad.....
Marina Mandarin also not bad ..their lunch buffet nice too.

Tabbiesus

Think I can hi5 with you..I like to dress up myself too. I still do that after Gracie comes to my life.... with routine monthly hair treatment..weekly home facial by myself and haa,,,haa,,,daily make up to office.

Yeah like what you said..I also hate those sales promoter too. I like Biotherm skin care product but not dare to near their counter.....luckly MIL was using biotherm product so sometime just get some from her.....

sometimes when i see my dad having hard time to pay the hse loan. it really make me wanna clear off my hse & car loan asap and not get into his shoes when i am in my fifties. so i told hb...die die also must clear all loans within the next 10 yrs. moreover we are on bank loan. not sure how the interest gg to be in the next yrs to come also. so u will see me working my butts off for at least the next 10 yrs for sure. hee..

SSF,..

Housing loan and car loan that really eat up all our salary...
You are great too...1k to your parent...
I only give my parent pocket money when I back to indonesia or they come here. As currently I do not need to support them but think is our Ik Fan Xin Yi to them. But I paid for my mum medical fee when she was here for medical check up or treatment.

Currently I will use my salary for Gracie things and hb is the one that paid for car loan. ..As we need to stay with parent in law and hb is their only son. But we did plan for apply new flat too.

SSF

I agree.. aiyor i just receive the bank notice that the interest rate is going up again for my housing loan.. so sian...

Cookie
Thanks so much for the Cold storage coupons.. i just received them.. going to dash out later to redeem the item!

RE: hubby going away
my hubby is going away for conference tomorrow and i feel a bit lost liao... so funny hor, we had a long distance relationship before, but now i don't like to be separated from him.. even tho sometimes.. i'm ready to 'kill" him .. hahaha...

Mummies - So far, none of u look like an ah soh so no worries

SH - Welcome back. Give JW time to get accustomed to you again. No worries. Like my aunts & mum always say "Yr kid will be yr kid...they can be close to anyone but they'll eventually come back to you..."

Queen - I'm sure your parents will understand yr temp situation. My dad still works & gives my mum her mthly allowances. They do not need money from me either. However, I give my mum allowances for taking care of Cephas. I wld give extra when I get bonuses. She wld always spend on Cephas though. That's y we always tease my mum. She's one of a rich SAHGM (Stay at Home Grandma).

Today super busy.. catch up on thread later

Rachel
I think i can only rec photos next week. so wait for me hor.. paisey to keep u waiting.

Cheng
I manage to upload 1 pic of Aidan very smiley one.
no time to so re-sizing and upload photos. will do so soon.

Tabbie
u are welcome.. I think the item to redeem at CS is pretty cool.. much nicer than NTUC ones :p

mamachan
Can you send me the full version of our family photos? TIA. It's been a long time since 3 of us took photos together, hahaha, good thing u took for us.

Cheng
those photos you upload, can you send me full version of photos, you carry kae, your hb carry kae, your hb carry both bb and those kae alone.
u have my email? TIA.

Tabbs,

Its the reverse for me now!! I've been back in sin since november and hb only comes back to sin every 1 and a half month.. and as much as i miss him...it seems like everytime he comes back, my life is turned upside down with so many things to do!!! sounds so abnormal hor