(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie
If you happen to have another thermal food container, you can try to cook the porridge for lunch in the morning, after the number of designated hours in the food jar in the morning, transfer to the thermal food container then cook kae's dinner in the food jar. But it's really dependent on your schedule plan. Which means you'll have to wake up early just to "cook" the lunch in the food jar if you planned an early day. Just my thots. But ultimately, having a standby slow cooker might be of help. Or, expose Kae to the aussie's baby food.

Cookie,
Yes, the matress can be folded up for storage. It comes with a black transparent cover (with zip)

RE: Porridge
Think I read it somewhere that for 1yr old toddler, the consistency of the porridge need not be as nua as before. Still soft but not too hard. As they have more teeth now, we need to teach them how to chew and swallow.

May
Heehe, Jamie is well trained by you cos both she and Celeste are probably the 2 best dressed bb gal on this thread

SY
I think maybe JH is used to the routine; you are the one to put him to bed at nite whereas he associates nap time with your maid so is natural. Like Rena says, they will adapt fast so dont think you need to extend your maids contract cos of nap time.

Cookie
Mel will fuss and want to grab my spoon when I feed her at times. Ill just give her a spoon and bowl and scoop some porridge in for her to play with and feed her at the same time. Maybe u can try that.

Sunny
When u use the food jar to cook 2 meals, wont the porridge be not as hot by dinner time? Do you open the jar just once and take out what you want to feed for one meal? Cos I tend to scoop out the porridge in batches and the porridge wont be piping hot when I pour out the last bit.

May
Yes, porridge doesn't need not be "nua" but I do read that is still better to mince the meat cos bb doesn't like the texture. For Mel she's ok with veg (such as broccoli and cauliflower) that is cut into bite size but she'll spit out the fish if I don't mash it. I give her apple/pear in slices to encourage her to chew.

May...
Nope, not april again... coz it may hit the next CNY n i can't go out juz like 2006 when i delivered Eshley...
Will prob try after mid may...

Btw, does any mummies know when will next yr CNY fall on?

Can I know if any mummy here makes her own yoghurt? Can share on how easy is it to make? Or you just simple buy plain adult yoghurt and add fruits to it? I've just re-read this "super baby food" and someone just told me how impt yoghurt is, but the making stated within looks very chim

.ky.

RE: Tiger Food Jar
cookie,
Actually for me, i always cook 2 meals in the tiger food jar. It's still hot when i take out the porridge for dinner leh! Maybe coz i only open the foodjar once during lunch to scoop out Janelle's portion of lunch. THen will quickly close it. It still remains hot enough for dinner. In fact, most of the time still gotta blow the porridge to cool it down before feeding her dinner!

ky,
I have a friend who makes her own yoghurt for her kids. Erm, not sure how it works though. But since yoghurt is so widely available, why don't just buy it?

For me, i feed Janelle Yoplait yoghurt nowadays. When she was below 1 yr old, i'd feed plain unsugared yoghurt and add in some pureed fruit (it still tastes yucky to me). Nowadays i just give normal adult yoghurt. Tastes good and is nutritious too!

Yogurt & Fruits
My master Aden reject yogurt and fruits. Dunno how to get him to eat them so that he does not have constipation. Now can only add vege to his diet.

Tiger Food Jar
Ya I think mine also last for 2 meals because I used it when I was sick. So my 2 meals were from the Tiger Jar too

Piggy Year
Jia you mummies who are going for little piglets. Hope to hear more good news soon.

Esh Mummy,
haha, sama sama. I also wanna avoid the CNY period cos the last time doing confinement during CNY was a nightmare! Couldn't get confinement lady and had to do at MIL's. Never again! So must plan carefully this time. Jia you to you too!

SY,
Got...it's in one small corner. The advertisement just says open house.

Tiger Jar
I tried the Tiger Jar to cook last sat too. It turned out that the porridge taste better than the ones cooked in the slow cooker. Maybe coz i cooked the soup base first before putting it together with the rice in the Tiger Jar. For the first time when I feed JW outside, he gulp down everything. No fuss. Just kept banging the table more coz mummy was too slow!

SY,
Yesterday JW showed us the milk sign at Giant too. Ke ke...so funny. I have been teaching him since you told me the sign and he always ignore me. Yesterday he surprised me suddenly by signing for milk when i gave him water to drink. So I asked him...u want milk milk. Then he kept signing it non-stop. :)

Esh/Tracy,
I did my last confinement during CNY period. Not only the confinement lady expensive....the food also super ex! Burnt a big hole in the pocket!

RE: Confinement
Oh ya.. got to buy food a few days in advance as CNY. My mum is doing confinement for me so still ok. But there are alot of goodies that we can't eat. And pple celebrating, I am suffering in pain (cos c-sect).

So now must avoid also.

Confinement during CNY
I think I'm the odd one out. I actually enjoyed having my confinement close to the CNY period when I gave birth. Coz I got to stay home and don't have to go anywhere to entertain pple. But when it's reunion dinner, my mom sort of comply with what I can eat for the steamboat dinner, mainly fish and chicken and pork. So not too bad for me. Just that I was annoyed when my MIL kept asking my hb back then to bring bb out on 2nd day of CNY to visit her side of the relatives, I was going "Hello??? What about me? I'm still in my confinement and I'm not for exposing bb to the crowded places" (that was a -ve attitude with all the changes in hormones then.)

Durainlover/CL
I have no doubt Tiger food jar will remain hot, Just wanna check...does the porridge turn a bit watery by dinner time?

I have not decide what to do yet...collecting info now

Confinement during CNY,
I had a hard time looking for CL. Found 1 and paid 2.3k for it. Wasnt good but i was desperate. She wanted to go back from reunion dnr and return on 2nd day of CNY. It was a nightmare when she left as my bb was a monster and cried endlessly at night. Was so glad that she came back. She's too chatty for our liking.

Food was expensive. My mom complained alot and I remember my hub went for reunion dnr n i was alone wif bb. Cried and cried....so glad its over. No more CNY bb for me...

re confinement during CNY
yeah this is one reason why i want to avoid having a bb during CNY. too ex!! and the food is so ex also...

re yoghurt
is it ok to give adult yoghurt? cos not easy to find bb yoghurt in all supermarkets. JH likes yoghurt but hb always stops me from buying cos he doesn't like the idea of yoghurt..duh...

SH
JW so cute...hee, they learn really fast right? now JH use the sign for stars too.

yesterday he was really sticky. he will reject even my hb at times....and he wants us to take the moon down for him.

tracy
my colleague told me abt the AMD before. i din even know abt it. quite surprise abt this.

share something funny abt JH. yesterday night after we put him on his mattress, both hb and me went out of the room. abt an hour later, hb went into the room and when he came out he asked me whether i went into the room. i told him no and he told me to go and look at JH. he had climbed up onto our bed to sleep! it was quite funny cos he actually slept in the middle. so we put him down on the mattress again. then half an hour later, me and hb went to bed and we were just talking. then suddenly, hb said 'look at your son, he is like sadako (from the ring) looking at us and climbing up)' he actually got a fright cos JH suddenly grab his leg. so funny. even i got a fright cos when i turned to look at him, he was just at the foot of the bed and his hair standing up so a bit scary..haha....the whole night he was pushing me off my bed.

SY,
Haha.. JH is so funny.

RE: Confinement Food
Anyone tried catering or not?Cos I have received brochures from Neo Gardens 2 days before.

RE: Patrolling
Does your child patrol the house before sleep or super active before sleep?
Jamie loves doing these. She will walk to the living room, hug her Doraemon, wave bye and ask me to off the light. Then go to the kitchen and mumbles her own langauge. Go to the PC room to kiss daddy goodnight and back to bedroom. Will do at least once, else 3-4times!!

SY,
hahaha, that's so funny! Sadako..haha i like that. And you 'took the moon down for him'...probably the only time we can take the 'moon' down for our kids. Just makes me think how they may ask for the impossibles next time that we cannot fulfill.

Confinement food
May, I catered. My mum looked after Charmaine, I look after Aden all by myself including bathing him since Day 1 I am home. But I am a super bochup, bath everyday, bath aden myself, sterilized and wash everything myself except laundry done by mum. Dunno if I will suffer after that

Patrolling
Ha ha cannot comment because Aden not walking. Anyway now he needs my singing to sleep. His daddy's twinkle twinkle stars dun work anymore. My lyrics are all made up by myself. All songs include his name. Just sing whatever comes to my mind. But he starts to wake up at 3 am for milk liao. Think he is a big eater. Drinking 9 - 10 oz of milk plus 3 oz water still cannot sleep through

SY - Wow wee! JH is so cute!

May - We have a future policewoman in Jamie! Foot patrol! Cephas will circle the bed cos we'll confine him in the room abt 15 mins b4 bedtime. After that, I'll just carry him up and place him on his bed. He'll just toss, turn, sing, talk until he falls asleep.

SY - Wow wee! JH is so cute!

May - We have a future policewoman in Jamie! Foot patrol! Cephas will circle the bed cos we'll confine him in the room abt 15 mins b4 bedtime. After that, I'll just carry him up and place him on his bed. He'll just toss, turn, sing, talk until he falls asleep.

RE: elijah

many a times i do feel sad and stress up coz how much in my heart i wish to work.. but today when i look at elijah and i realise that i gain more than i have to lose..

as elijah grows he seldom will let you hug him long or even to lie down quitely.. this morning as i was trying to make him nap.. he was as usual doing his toss and turn and talikng and singing.. then i ask him elijah come here and let mummy hug you ..then he crawl to me rest on my chest and for almost twenty mintues .. he was resting then turn his head up to look at me then he use his hands to sayang me then he rest again.. so sweet.. but still he did not sleep.. haha kana con.. he only manage to nap after is lunch...

May,
Maybe its a routine that Jamie has to follow in order to go to sleep. You know, like when they were babies, we made up the routine of wipe down before sleep and they had to have that in order to sleep.

But Meg doesn't have any routine. Its just rolling in bed to sleep. Some exceptions at times when she needs me to sing, or pat her or simply pat the bed so she can hear the rhythm.

ak,
I remember reading ur feedback on Positive Babies that Ms. Has is much better than Ms. Lina. I have to agree on that.i did further check and found that Ms. Has is actually the founder of Positive Focus Pte Ltd, the program owner. Thats why she is the best of them.

Then i realise that Positive program is also available at 2 other venues - Growing Up Gifted and Beehive Monte Kids at Tampines. So we have other options if Babiesncream keeps giving us Ms. Lina.

I'm trying out the Positive Tots trial at Babiesncream.

tracy

I read in one of the forums that the positive tots was boring.

i;m looking for classes for my boy to attend. Besides Tumble tots, gymboree and kindermusik, what other options are there? The serangoon gardens one is what ah?

SY,
Haha JH is so cute! To think he could even give you and ur hb a fright! Hee

RE: Yoghurt
Why doesn't ur hb like to give JH yoghurt? It's full of good stuff! I have been giving Janelle adult yoghurt since she turned one. SHe takes it almost daily and so far no problems leh. I usually buy Yoplait brand coz i like the taste. I'll buy the huge 1kg tub, full-fat yoghurt, so she and i can both eat it. It's much cheaper than buying the baby yoghurt. Plus tastes nicer
Very creamy!

May,
Haha Jamie is so cute
She can be a pretty policewoman next time since she loves to dress up and loves to patrol around! ha.

Rena,
Yeah treasure these sweet moments!

cookie,
Yeah come to think of it, i think the porridge does turn out to be a little more watery during dinner time. But then again, it depends. If i put less water, it'll still be the sticky thick nua porridge. But if more water, then it'll be watery.

mashy,
oh dear..boring?? The one in gardens is gymboree. I think tumble tots and gymboree about the same. Then Kindermusik and Positive series are similar. I've only tried Kinder, Positive and Tumble Tots. Think there's this other one 'My Gym'.

My fren jus attended Growing Up Gifted and is all praises for it cos there's story-telling in both english and mandarin. But her son fell asleep halfway through, he's only 8mths so probably can't appreciate totally yet.

ky,
I just give plain adult yoghurt with fresah fruits. Otherwise you can also try making fruit smoothie by blending it with fuits for variety.

Tracy

i've not attended positive, but saw the posting while searching for types of playgyms.

so far which one do u like the most?

Odd that the gymboree free trial cut-out coupon didn't include the serangoon gardens branch.

all mummies,

please take note..
one of my friend who to JB last sat..when returned to his car was being threatened with an AID jabs..and of coz being robbed..so becareful when get into the car..alway lock.

re: sleeping

Ya my girl is super active just before sleeping too... have to grab her switch off the lights and lie in bed, and hug her tight until she stops struggling,usu. me and hubby will chat until she knocks off.. sometimes i will sing...
One nice thing is that Tabby has taken to giving me big wet kisses at night, and also she likes to pull up my tshirt and give me belly farts... like she's talking to her brother... kekeke..

RE: the shine mat mattress
I saw it at kiddy palace in toa payoh, its selling for >100.

re : yoghurt
thanks for the feedback so far. I'm not a yoghurt crazy person. Have not been giving much too, coz we have the idea not to give cold food to our #1.... perhaps need to persuade hubby a bit. well, thinking of making coz at least I know what goes into at and not exact sugars and etc which we are not aware of ...

If any of you is looking for a home-based job, there's an advert on Sat from Republic Poly on that ...

.ky.

ky

i just found out (while having stomach flu) that yoghurt is actually very good for diarrhoea. So i think if u continually give your child that, it will help to protect the stomach from such viruses. Too bad my boy is allergic to milk, else I'll give that to him.

Mashy,
Last time we attended tumble tots trial Meg was to young to appreciate. but personally i prefer the kindermusik / positive tots type better than gym equipment, cos Meg appreciates music better. But the positive babies one turn out to be rather routine stuff. We're doing almost the same time every week and towards the end of the semester, Meg was not paying attention anymore.

Babylon,
That's so scary!!

ky,
same here, not a yogurt person and also same thinking that too much cold stuff not good. so Meg has not tasted yoghurt yet but i think hearing all the good stuff about, shall give it a try too!

Mashybrainz
You and hb recovered already ? How is life being SAHM again ? Is it better this time since little Caeden has grown up liao ?

Mummies who has yet to collect the biscuits and crayola from me, please arrange with me before the biscuits expire hor.

Babylon
Very scary leh. That is why my hb dun like to drive in to JB. The last time my bil drove in with his family to Genting. On the way back, someone drove and lightly knocked on his car. I think they are trying to rob if he stop to check. My bil din stop and continue to drive, the driver tried to overtake him to stop his car. But my bil quickly reverse and drove off as fast as he could.I think I am those who will stop and get robbed. His reaction is realli amazing.

babylon

so scary. now i don't dare go malaysia anymore. their crime rate is so super high and the police just bo hew.

tracy
i wanna enrol him in a gym class coz his motor skills are still not very good. still can't walk at 15mths. sigh. my boy loves music too.

i heard about this jwt gym at UE square. they say quite good. maybe i'll go and check it out too. Going for the free trial at gymboree harbour front this thurs. hope he likes it.

chicken little

yah. recovered liao.
today official first day coz no more infant care to help me in the day liao. we shall see at the end of the week.

my hb will arrange with u to collect the biscuits. or maybe if you're going cityhall, u sms my hb and ask him whether he's free? thanks!!!

hi mashy ... someone told me abt the Republic ad. I found it on R17.... but the title looks different. the title is admin staff and seems full-time. the one that's home-based is admin associate ... u can find this online

... as for walking. if your boy's not walking, get him to crawl.... crawl and crawl and crawl. crawl to get his toys, crawl to mummy, crawl to play hide and seek. When he's walking, you'll wish that he's not walking ...

.ky.

Re: Oyster
Any places to recommend for yummy fresh oysters? Buffet style will be good! Just suddenly tot of having oysters with frens...