(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tracy
Actually I agree with you on Babiesncream's policy. Some of the classes are so pack and in one of the classes we attended, the babies can range from 5-6 mths to over 13-14 months.

Flo,
I'll call babiesncream later and check who will conduct the class throughout the whole program. Dun wan it to be like first class by Ms. Has and subsequently Ms. Lina. We still have not work out the timing. I'll check with the gal on available slots. See if we can form one trial class ourselves.

Florence,
The Mini electric plus is a dual pump. I have used it before - the tubes and everything is the same as the PIS one. : )

Tracy,
The positive tots sounds more interesting and relevant. But it's for 18mths - can we join that? Hmmm... maybe I will ring up babies and cream later to see if they can arrange for a trial class. Any other mummies keen?

Florence
Are you using the IQ sterilizer ? When you say died , does it mean it still remains "O" ? For mine the sterilizer still heats up, if I press it for another round , it will show that 3 bars again.

SL
I feel the PIS not very heavy leh. I just gave away my medela mini electic plus. PIS much more efficient.

Flo, Mini Electic is single without tubing and the Mini Electic Plus is double pump.

May
Ha ha organise many different outings and be out so your pil cannot come. Tell your hb because he is away so you never tell him about the plan. But maybe you should at least spend 1 meal with pil , then it is you who actually try to squeeze time out to at least meet them.

Re. Confinement
my MIL did it for me. She said don't waste money hiring a confinement lady cos it's basically just cooking special foods which she can cooked for me. So me and HB stayed with my IL's for the confinement month. She cooked and washed for me and helped to bathe the baby everey morning. She'll cook the usual dishes like pig trotters, red date tea, and normal dinner dishes with extra ginger and wine and soups with dang gui. But not every meal is like that cos my MIL says that too much ginger is not good for baby since I was breastfeeding. Was actually thankful that she knew all these and I didn't have to argue with her on this point. She didn't buy special confinement herbs to boil soup for me cos I think she didn't really know about such soups. But I'm ok with it cos I find her usual lunch and dinner dishes good enough. My mom was the one who would cook herbal soup and bring special confinement dishes for me when she comes and visit during the weekends. Right from the start, I do not expect my MIL to be like a confinement lady and didn't expect her to help take care of Isaac even at night, not that she volunteer edto do that anyway. Since I was 100% BF, I took care of Isaac myself round the clock, waking up 3 times a night to BF. Gosh, now thinking back, it was tough. Was literally a cow, really BF round the clock every 3-hourly. But I don't regret not having a CL to help at night cos I find that by making the commitment to wake up to BF even at night, my milk supply was established quite quickly and was able to BF successfully. Sure, it was tough, especially the first 10 days or so and I cried buckets from the sheer exhaustion, but in the end it was worth it loh. And I think it helped me lose weight a lot faster!

Re. tantrums
So far, Isaac hasn't thrown big tantrums like screaming or rolling on the floor yet, thankfully. He'll usually just say a loud 'ah' and throw his arms down when he's unhappy. Else will just cry. He also one 'sum seng' boy. Always bring his shoes to me and HB and ask us to put them on for him to gai gai. If we ignore him, he'll sit down and try to put them on himself. So funny and cute.

Does any of your babies like those what do you call that... those cute machines where you put 20 cents in and it will play music and move up and down? Those you can find in shopping centres and somtimes in neighbourhood centres? Isaac would always whine to us to put him in those machines whenever he sees them. Usually I'll just ignore him and carry him away but my MIL would indulge him and put in money to ride in those machines.

RE: Long Weekend
Thanks mummies for the suggestion. THink will talk to hubby tonight and ask him call his parents.
I am worried that he might call today and he can be pretty straightforward and say " Dun come cos I am not at home and May say she is going out."

Then I will die.

sl,
I'm actually in contact with a girl named Linda at babiesncream. She's very nice and accommodating. If you plan to call up, can look for her. i will also call her on my part to see if we can arrange a class on our own.

Queen,
Megan lurves those rides! She will insist by holding onto the ride and try to climb up. But don't have to insert coins. She's happy just sitting inside. But she can sit inside for extremely long. If there are many rides, she will wanna ride-hop..Last Sat, she was stuck to this ride downstairs and i couldn't tear her away from it, until a boy came and ask can he take this ride. She looked rather shock so i took the chance to carry her off. Otherwise I think i'll have to stand there till cobwebs grow on me!

Florence
Yes I got the IQ sterilizer. Initially when I press the second time, it will show that 3 bars again. Then it would remain @ 0 after it heat up. After that I will only heat up after I keep pressing the button. Now it totally died. Just can't heat up. I think the lower end one is better cos it doesn't have those electroinc touch button. So now got to take back the Nuk one from my mom's pl.

Hi Babylon,

Thanks. Do you know which countries is that?

Me xiao one, last time 7-11 was having the hello kitty magnets and i collected all.

Actually i don;t intend to start it. It is usually my sister who wanted to collect them and pass me the extras and that makes me want a complete set. Ha Ha.

I was one of those xiao one who quene for hello kitty at MAcdonald then. I still remember my mum queue almost overnight for me on the last set. She gather her kakis and camp overnight. It was more fun for her than anything. She voluntee cos her friends was there so she join them. Ha Ha. All these hello kitty soft toys now lying in the store room................

Coin Rides
Hmm Aden dun have the idea they are for riding on. When put him there he will try to stand on the seat. Even the rocking horse at home he is standing on it. The only thing he knows for sitting is the little tikes car.

Flo
Oh hmm maybe mine also on the way to die liao. Ha ha nevermind anyway dun have to sterilize after 1 year so if it die i will just let it die then. Actually the other alternative is pigeon, I think it is cheap and good man.

Confinement
I actually like the confinement food my MIL prepared. I think she did very well, every 2 days changed my bedsheet, ask me to quickly rest whenever possible. Her food got so much variety even western. Now I think I missed her cooking though she passed away for 2 years liao.

So much to catch up on. I totally lost my voice over the weekend and can only whisper to talk but it is really straining on my voice to talk plus a nasty cough. So I ended up having to sign to my hb (end up he did a series of gawd-knows-what signs like in those jungle training for combat type)to communicate. My maid made her home remedies for me - ginger water for sore throat.

Queen
Those are called kiddy-rides I think. Daren recently likes to sit in them too when we pass by such rides. He's just content to just sitting inside and "driving" by holding on to the steering wheel. Just yesterday it was his 1st time sitting in it moving, a kind father whose little girl wanted to sit in the ride (can sit 2 toddlers) slot in the dollar coin, we wanted to carry Daren away so tat she can enjoy it by herself, but the man said no need. Daren just sat there stunned and shocked, wondering why is the thing moving to and fro.

ChickenLittle
My PD more kiasu ask me to sterilize until 2. Since I didn't give Mel rotavirus vaccine better be more diligent.

Kiddy Ride
I've not let Mel take any of these rides but I thnk my mom has been indulging her.

Re:photos
I've totally forgotten about the pics taken at Joycelyn's. Has any mummies gotten the pics from Joycelyn? I know mine is in the first batch she sent for developing.

Photos
Me also have not received leh.

Flo
Ha ha your PD realli kiasu. For me, Aden's bottles with nanny are done by the conventional way and my hb will sometimes rinsed with hot water so I think this boy's body is quite ready liao

May,
That's the kinda response my hub will give! Well, I guess he shld be the one to go clarify things but u better warn him wat NOT to say in case the matter gets messy.

Kiddy Ride
My boy used to be very afraid of it. Now he wld sit but not keen.

Refusing Naps
My boy isnt very keen in it too. Nowadays prob just take a total of 2hrs nap in the afternoon. Sometimes only 30 mins. He can go on and on...Last friday brought him to night, by 11.30pm by nephew of 6 already knocked out and my boy is still active...haiz...

TTC for 3rd child
we will just ttc for 1 month (April)..after april, if i never strike, we will not bring up the topic anymore. Think my hb really want a bb gal.

may,

do you want to come over to my place and stay for the long week end? i have another room.. btw you can just tell your pil that since hb not around and your friend invited you over for a stay lor.. easy lar.. if they complain say your friend want to play with your gal..

sl,

do you wnat ot borrow mine? i use only 2 weeks after giving birth.. since i am not using i can lend you.. jsut call me ok

babylon, good luck in TTCg.

Mummies, how to deal with lumpy breast/engorged look of breast after stopping TBF? I massage but the areas I massage looks dented in...so ugly...

How long after stopping BF did your menses come back?

shall we try to form a class for trial for positive tots? I think their minimum class size is 6 and I think we have enough to start?

queen,

now still 20 cents?? i tot the rides mininum is $1?? at one time elijah refuse to get down and insist me to put coin..

Rides
The $1 are those barney and fancier rides. Not like those in HDB, its those "obiang" music and typical car or bike

RE : Gymboree Free Trial
My friend asked them and was told that u can still hv the trial that comes with the membership even though u had gone for the free one. BUt not too sure if u must use the free trial before the joining the membership.

huh really huh? i duno leh mu hdb here dun have leh the cheapest also 50 cents.. that is the one elijah took with a pic..

SY,
JW slaps himself very hard on the head too (usually after i scold him or if I tell him that he cannot do something). I realised that the more I tried to stop him, the harder he will beat himself. And he does it repeatedly. Nowadays, I realise that he is trying to get attention when he does that coz he knows mummy will heart pain and try to stop him.

Once when I was really angry with him and beat him on his palm, he just look me in the eye and then beat himself defiantly on the head. I took his hand and told him cannot. But he pulled away and beat himself harder. This time round instead of stopping him, I just look at him. Then he beat himself again & again. Each time harder. I told him in anger "ya lor...u so naughty, beat some more, beat harder" and I glare at him. Surprisingly, he stopped and started crying and then he throw himself at me and want me to hug him.

That was when I realised he does it for attention. He thinks that when mummy is punishing him, by beating himself, mummy will stop and sayang him. I taught my MIL to ignore this behaviour of his (keke...actually my MIL saw it happen coz I was discipling him at my MIL place...so in fact she follow and tell him to beat some more). And instead of beating some more, he will actually stops instead ;p

He still does it from time to time now...but not as hard nor does he do it repeatedly. Nowadays I just ignore him when he beat himself or just softly says "ya...naughty boy. so you beat himself for being naughty".

So I guess the way to break certain behaviour is to ignore it so that the baby doesn't think that he can get attention by doing it.

May,
For me, I will just tell my hb to re-inform his parents tat I will go over to my parents plc while he is away. So that they wun come bother us. Whether we stay overnite or not, I can decide later.

Re: MAID SELECTION
Over the weekend, we were looking thru the biodatas & comtemplating betw 2 maids. Both hb & I cldnt decide so we thot just for the fun, we will rope Ethan in to help in choosing. We showed him 2 photos & asked him which aunty he likes to stay with us? At first, he shoke his head & smiled & walked away. Then, the mummy very persistent, keep forcing him to choose. In the end, he pointed at 1 photo. The next day, I asked him again & he pointed at the same photo. So tat is how we chose our maid. Haahaa!Thanks to our little boy!

Rena,
I think so? I never put in coins before. But the other day, my MIL told me she put in 40 cents for 2 rides at Causeway Point. Actually come to think of it, it was 20 cents 20 years ago when we were kids. Now still 20 cents... gosh it's the only thing in Singapore that hasn't moved with the inflation. Haha!

ak,
did you stopped BF suddenly? For me, I did it gradually, did not experience engorgement or clogged ducts at all. Do you feel uncomfortable now? If you don't, I think just leave it. The breast will eventually stopped milk production and return to pre-preggy look. Worse still, I think my left breast has shrunk a bit (even my HB commented so,
sniff sniff)! My period came even before I stopped 100% BF. So cannot comment on that.

May,
Why don't u get hb to tell PIL that you are staying over your mum's place the whole weekend. Not going home either so even if they come Jamie won't be there.

Tracy,
Can I join for the positive tots class too?

SL,
I tot I saw that newsletter on positive family too. But tot I saw $80....seems pretty expensive unless I saw wrongly.

HI Mommies,

Tracy,
yah, let me know about the Positive Tots Trial class, may wanna let Shannon try it...

RE: Kiddy/Coin rides
I never let Shannon try those out, cos my cousin's 2 year old is addicted to it, everyday, she die die MUST sit $2 worth of rides, if not she will scream until she has her way, better she doesn't know what it is for until she gets bigger.... in this case, being suaku is better, haha...

Wenyl,
heehee, hopefully, Ethan will like the maid he has chosen!

Mamachan,
oh dear, hope your voice comes back soon, I had one experience of totally losing my voice, it was a little scary, coz it seemed like I was never gonna get it back. I was grunting away, and still nobody could understand what I was talking about! Just couldn't control my vocal cords to function the way I want them to!

May,
understand what you mean about HB saying things too straight forward! Yup, your hb needs to explain that you won't be in alot of times, so HE doesn't feel that there is point in coming over.

Rena,
Thanks for offering.I intend to go shopping with my mum and go back home as Jamie will wake up at night looking around to recognise her own room sometimes.

RE: Rides
Jamie will point to the ride and ask me to put her there. Then point to the slot to ask me to insert money. If I give her the coin, she will try to put in but can never get it. Sometimes she will sit halfway and want to stand up. So the ride will continue without anyone sitting inside.

Positive Tots
Linda only reports at work at 12.30pm. Will call then post the time, date etc.

Tentatively:
1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY
5) SL
6) Flo
7) SH
8) Tracy

Please fill in if I missed anyone out. Update details soon.

Re: Rides
Same here, I dun have the habit of putting coins for E to sit. So far, he only sat once which my FIL sponsored the $1 ride. Then he complained so ex$ & E din look like he enjoyed tat ride. Cos my Fil chose, without my consent, one ride tat is meant for older kids & it was very rocky type. So now, E will look & point at those rides. I will just let him sit & play with the steering wheels. He enjoys tat so I leave it as it is.

Rena,

Thks for offering! Can I pick up from you sometime next week? Thks again!

CL,
It's only for a few days and I don't want to checkin any luggage so don't want to bring the PIS there. Somemore I am bringing a laptop plus some other stuff. My objective is to chop chop go there, chop chop get out of airport and to the office, get as much done as possible, then chop chop come back. : )

re: kiddyride
Charmaine loves those too! She would want to get into it. Luckily, it doesn't matter to her if the ride moves or not. But she will always try to put her finger into the slot then realise that the ride still doesn't move. Then she will pretend drive a while, then try and put her finger into the slot again.

Ak,
I am still tbfing but I got my menses back already. The amt that I pump out is still more or less the same though.

Nowadays, I don't really feel any engorgement already.

Wenyl
Haha! E is so cute! Hopefully the maid he's chosen will serve your family well =)

May
I think you should talk to your hb into telling your ILs that there's no need or point for them to go over to your home as you won't be home most of the time as you'll be away at your mom's. The most offer to try to drop by their place for a short visit then after that head off somewhere else. So that they cannot complain that you didn't bother to bring Jaime to their place to visit.

babylon
wah! You and hb also very "the can"! Really applaud you both for being brave to TTC for a bb gal. Hope your dreams will come true.

Sleepingdeer
Wow, your lost of voice sounded scary man. I tot I'll be losing my voice for a long while. I can't even hum a simple tune to Daren at night for bedtime. quite a sian-sation.

HI mummies
Need some help here..
Does anyone has good gynae to recommend in the area of hougang or sengkang or nearby?
My colleague just got pregnant and wanted to reference. She is seeing one at sengkang.. but dun really feel good abt the gynae.

OK,here's the details for Positive Tots. They are saying maximum 12 pax, but i really don't recommend that. Too cramp.

Please let me know which date your prefer than we'll go with majority. Thanks!

Positive Tots Trial
Day: Sunday
Time: 4pm
Venue: Babies & Cream

1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY
5) SL
6) Flo
7) SH
8) Tracy - Any Sunday

Positive Tots
Linda only reports at work at 12.30pm. Will call then post the time, date etc.

Tentatively:
1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY
5) SL
6) Flo
7) SH
8) Tracy
9) Sleepingdeer

Please fill in if I missed anyone out. Update details soon.

Hi Tracy,
Me keen too...

Positive Tots Trial

1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY
5) SL
6) Flo
7) SH
8) Tracy - Any Sunday
9) sleepingdeer - any sunday except 15th Apr

Positive Tots Trial

1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY
5) SL
6) Flo - Any Sunday
7) SH
8) Tracy - Any Sunday

Positive Tots Trial

1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY
5) SL
6) Flo - Any Sunday
7) SH
8) Tracy - Any Sunday
10) Sysac - Any Sunday

Photos - I collected Cephas' photos from Jocycelyn on Sat. I knew I was going to a friend's house nearby so I sms-ed her 3-4 days b4hand if I could go down to collect. Other than Chillies & me, no one else has collected

rena
JH also like to bang his head on the window. not very hard lah but just touch and go. and the funny thing is he will ask me to bang mine after that!!

denmy
of cos i hope it is a passing phase and not becos someone slap him. but so heart pain each time he does that. and i will tell him not to do it.

may
sounds like a tricky problem. how come your hb agree to let them come stay without asking u? i will kill my hb if he does that! a lot of times i scolded him for making decisions without informing him.

is it possible to ask your hb to go and tell them cannot come over and stay cos u have frens coming over or something like that?

tracy
thanks for keeping me in the loop for the trial. i m fine with sunday

Positive Tots Trial

1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY - ok
5) SL
6) Flo - Any Sunday
7) SH
8) Tracy - Any Sunday

re photos
i forgot to choose my photos!! been so busy until i forgot...

babylon
wow, go for number 3! good luck!

cookie
if u wan me to help u get the huggies samples let me know. just pass me kae's BC and one sample diaper can already.

SY
wow thanks.. ok will pass you

Positive Tots Trial

1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SY
5) SL
6) Flo - Any Sunday
7) SH
8) Tracy - Any Sunday
10) Sysac - Any Sunday
11) Cookie - any sunday except 15th April

May,
Woah i sure wouldn't look forward to having PILs staying with me over long weekend!! Why don't u just tell them you've got plans for the weekend already and have no time for them? Hee. Ask ur hubby to say it nicely lah

CL,
I don't think Aden is gong-gong like what you say leh! HE's so cute and cheeky! It's good that he's so guai...tantrums aren't a good thing to look fwd to!

Queen, Tracy,
Yes Janelle loves those riding machines as well! But she doesn't need money to be put in. She just wants to sit in them. She has a very good eye for such machines...can spot them from afar and will inform us about it! And she can sit in them for a very looonnnnggg time too.

babylon,
Wow all the best in ur efforts for no.3-to-be!

ak,
i didn't get much problem with lumpy breasts after stopping BFing leh. Got engorgement at first, then after some weeks it got better.
My menses came back more than 1 month after i totally stopped BFing.

mamachan,
Do take care of your voice. I lost my voice before and it's super sian like what you say. Can't communicate thru words and esp for we women who like to talk, not being able to do so is very boring indeed!

Positive Tots Trial

1) Sept03 -8 April
2) Mamachan - Sunday mornings only.
3) God's Child - 8 April
4) SY -OK
5) SL
6) Flo - Any Sunday
7) SH
8) Tracy - Any Sunday
10) Sysac - Any Sunday
11) Cookie - any sunday except 15th April

Sysac,

Ha ha you mean it is ready for collection. I still waiting for her to update us for collection ha ha.

Will like to join in the fun though Aden is not walking yet ha ha. Need to check out how he fare apart from the positive babies

Positive Tots Trial

1) Sept03 -8 April
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child - 8 April
4) SY -OK