(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sleepingdeer,
LAST 2 tins??? Now i'm getting kan cheong. Tonight i'm going to NTUC Pasir Ris and Tampines Mall, where my friend said is still available. Thanks for your offer to help me buy. I'm sure can get if i spend this entire weekend searching all stores. Can't be that bad right?? :p Thanks!!

Cookie

Is kae very troubled by the redness, if the whole eye is red, then you worry about infection, but if only corner, sometimes is just mild irritation like from dirt or lashes. Worry only if you cover the good eye and she act like she cannot see or if she keep poking her own eye like she's very irritated, then maybe infection.

If not better than should bring her to get her eye checked

Denmy - I am a Gemini Ox too! True blue Gemini in all ways for me except double personality. HB says can't catch up with mt thots & opinions! Haha...Out of the dates that you have, I like the date 20042007 (Taurus).

Rachel - Dylan's really cute!

denmy
my hb's bday is 19 and i m 28. there's some traits in him that i see that's quite good. my only complaint abt him wd be temper....and a bit introvert..haha.

cookie
did u see dr sim abt the infection?

do u buy materials to get your MIL to do with kae? what i did was to paste some chinese wall charts on the wall and when my MIL come i tell her i pasted that specially for her to teach JH.

sharon
yah i was at science centre and the rain was so heavy...what a spoiler...

tabbie
yeah, i felt that i had missed out lots of cutie moments that my gal had since i come back to work as compared to my friend who's a SAHM.

re: infection
we noticed that my gal got a lump at the back of the neck since about 3 wks ago. brought her to see 2 sinsei, both said that the mucus from the previous flu was not fully cleared and stuck in the nose and caused nose and ear infection.... indirectly the throat also affected a bit.
after taking the medicine, the lump seemed smaller.

re: trip
next week i will be going to HK!! :D guess there will be lots of messages to read here after i come back.
hopefully this trip will be an enjoyable one instead of tiring one. seems that i need to pack many stuff for my gal!

re: Scrapping session @ MWL

Date: 02 April (monday)
time:12noon
venue: PS, MWL

me and mamachan will be meeting up for another round of SBing session. do join us if you can make it!!

Rachel
Aiya I cannot join liao. Hee Hee boss just come back that day so cannot lah.

Sunny
Enjoy your trip to HKG. Envy Envy

Cookie
Well we have an expert here to guide you. Dun play play with the eyes

SY
YOu seems to have a good time at Science Centre

cheng
sure! just drop me a sms. hope to see you on monday! then we can roll sugar cane together =p

chickenlittle
heehee, mamachan and me had set aside one day in april for you! cant remember which date liao... is it 27 april?

sunny
enjoy your trip in HK! u still bf? if yes then can pack less stuff..

CL,
yeah sometimes me and hb end up looking at the exhibits and playing with the stuff and we will leave JH at one side..haha..quite funny cos he will be sitting in his stroller wondering what we r doing. there is one corner with some small animals. he was quite excited at the chicks.

Hi mummies.

Thanks to all mummies regards for Gracie.
She is fine now and no more fever on tuesday. But she got rashes on her body ..and we know what cause the rashes...is Nurofen. The medicine for fever... this will have the side effect of have rashes and also not good for stomach as well.
According to father in law..doctor will seldom give this medicine and as they know the side effect.
I was advise by father in law give her vitamin C and orange...that will cure her body from rashes..

RE: Baby sleep in cot or mattress.
I have remove Gracie cot from my room last week.
And she has sleep on the floor with mattress for almost 6 days..
So far so good and think is better...as she got a lot space to roll herself. And sometime hb and me slept together with her on the floor since got so a lot space...

Hi May..
I saw the mattress that you bought for Jamie at Plaza sing Carrefour. But we did not buy that cos I prefer the mattress that can fold and keep after she wake up. But you really have a good idea

Denmy,..
whoaaaa so fast ..3 weeks times...hmmmm ARIES is good...
this is only my own opinion..and you have to decided...let us know the date and we pray for you

May,

elijah do not bring out the toys from the yard but he likes to throw them from the top.. i realise no matter how i teach him not to throw , he still do.. how?? my sil was commenting but i heard her as i was walking pass to the toilet.. she was saying that why my son keeps throwing thing then she said to my son.. Elijah cannot throw .. but my son still threw..

how??? any one got can help..

my office laptop crashed after Thurs lunch! arghh....all my emails that are archived are gone. doubt i will have my laptop back come Mon...and there are so many action items for me to do. sigh. accessing from hm just seems diff as i always get logged out. sorry just want to vent my fustrations. felt so handicapped..just as if i lost my hp.

re: fake measles
just read the warning from one of the mummies and found out that caleb has rashes on his body right after he recovered from his fever. anyway...its gone after 2 days. is it called fake measle? so scary.

re: burnt on his fingers
poor caleb...got his fingers burnt after touching the hot plate on my steak in jack's place. felt so guilty for not watching him closely. he was wailing and cranky. just applied toothpaste on his fingers. saw some bump on his 3 fingers. any recommendation wat to apply? need to see doc for tat?

sfs,

wenyl 's son ethan had fake measle before.. quite scary i think

burnt fingers.. i thinks the old folks use soya sauce..

Rena
Mel likes to go into the playyard on her own and will even close the door and can play inside for quite a while. But if I'm the one who 'lock' her inside she'll scream. I think our bbs are starting to have a mind of their own

Don't have to worry about Elijah throwing things. Is a passing phase, he's experimenting cause and effect I think.

SSF
Oh poor Caleb. Maybe u can try applying toothpaste or aloe vera gel?

Tracy
RE: Shinemate Mattress
Maybe u can call the sales guy to check where he's having his roadshow now?

Wah...the forum really flies. I have been trying to catch up for days coz very busy at work. we have one headcount down and it's the quarter closing so super siong. Even doing speed reading also really hard to catch up. :)

May,
Thanks a lot for the picture on the bed. Showed my hb. he thinks it's really a good idea. Think we will go check out the ikea bed.

Originally, we tot of buying a single spring mattress to put beside our bed (so that the height level will be quite near to our bed) but it's a lot more expensive plus we probably have to put it on the floor...so didn't know how to clean the floor since the mattress is going to be heavy.

Hi Mommies

Here's the checklist for Autism in Toddlers

<u>Questions for Parents</u>
Does your child enjoy being swung, bounced on your knee etc?
Does your child like climbing on things, such as up/on chairs
Does your child enjoy playing peek-a-boo / hide & seek?
Does your child ever pretend, for eg, to make a cup of tea using a toy cup and teapot, or pretend other things (pouring juice)? (Pretend Play (PP)
Does your child ever use his or her index finger to point, to ask for something?
Does your child ever us his or her index fingers to point, to indicate interest in something (Protodeclarative Pointing (PDP)
Can you child play properly with small toys (eg cars or blocks (without just mouthing, fiddling or dropping them?
Does your child ever bring objects over to you (parent), to show you something?

<u>Padiatrician's Questions / Observations</u>
Gaze monitoring (GM): Get the child's attention, then point across the room at an interesting object and say, "Oh Look! There's a (name of a toy)!" Watch the child's face. Does the child look across to see what you are pointing at? (To record a YES, make sure the child does not just look at your hand, but at the object you are pointing at).
Pretend Play (PP): Get the child's attention, then give the child a miniature toy cup and teapot and say, "Can you make a cup of tea?" Does the child pretend to pur out tea and drink it?
Protodeclarative Pointing (PDP): Say to the child, "Where's the light?" or "Show me the light." Does the child <u>point</u> with their index finger at the light?

Block Tower: Can the child build a tower of blocks? (If so how many?)

Bold indicates critical questions most indicative of autistic characteristics
failing all questions with shaded boxes - 80-85% risk of autism
Passing all questions with shaded boxes - 0% risk of autism.

Tracy,
glad that u got wat u wanted ....I had a hard time "digging"...

Cookie,
I go to Dr Ho at Tampines. She has Sat clinic in the morning only.

So sad - have to come back to office today to clear some stuff.

SSF,
I can understand. If mine crashes with all my info inside, I will cry! We have a network drive to backup all our stuff but it's just not enough!

Florence,
Thanks for the checklist! Charmaine's yes to the first 3! Oppss...
The rest, I think, too sophiscated for her....

SL
Don't worry, I forgot to add the observation is to be done between 18 and 36 months. So is too early to test Charmaine

Cookie,
You looking for an alternative PD in Pasir Ris/nearby area only? If can travel a bit further, you can try Junior Baby and Child Clinic at Marine Terrace. Highly recommended by my ob/gynae. She sends her 2 sons to him too.

Florence,

Ha ha ha! that's indeed good news.... : )
But I do realise that charmaine doesn't respond sometimes when we call her, she just continue and ignore us!

Sunny,

enjoy your trip to HK! Let us know how it goes? Cos I am also considering a trip there... : )

Flo,
I dun really understand the test, you mean to say if our kids enjoy being bounced, climbing, playing peekaboo etc, then risk of autism is higher? I dun really believe that. so for sl, if charmaine is yes to all that, it should be interpreted as passing the questions and hence 0% risk of autism?

AK
If answers to all the questions is yes, then 0% risk of autism. If No to all questions, then there's a 80-85% of autism. Hope this is not confusing.

Sigh... I'm working on Sat.. so sain..and probably need to work overnite on Monday

Fed up!

SY
yes I broguht kae to see Dr sim for her eyes.

tabbie
thanks a million on the advise...
Basically, the redness is only on the inner side ( the white area) of right eyes. It was there for a few days before we went to PD.
PD comment since the redness did not spread from 1 side to whole eyes or the other eyes, he feel it's a mild infection thats why he seems not very concern and give a milder eye drop.
Last nite her redness seems lighter a bit..
I have not tried to cover her eyes... but she is not rubbing all the time, just from time to time not from frequent. She can walk and watch TV and lecture my dogs like normal.

Demny
Can you text me the address of the PD clinic?
Sometimes Dr SIm really bo chap ( maybe really nothing to worry) but I have no experience with other PD. Might be good to try out others.

Rena,
Dun worry, I also think it is a passing phase. They are now curious to see thing fall and have sound. Jamie keeps throwing things also. Luckily did not throw things out of the window. Phew!

Tracy,
My hubby went around to find Friso. Once he got it, he bought 4x900g. Hopefully can tahan till 18Apr. Oh ya, I called the hotline too. She told me that once the stock arrive, they are most likely to have a promotion of MUST BUY 2 tins per cust or something like that. And also tell me that they are expecting that it will go out of stock very fast. So we must grab more to stock up this time. Hubby was saying to get 6tins or more. Rem to grab more.

RE: APRIL
Mummies, April is coming soon!! So are we going to hear some good news for preggie mummies? Who will be having the FIRST 2008 CHILD ??!! I am looking at mid 2008. So not so fast yet. At least have to wait till I am confirmed in the new job. Hope to hear some good news soon..

Flo,

OIC....now that makes sense!

Anyway, today I went for the positive babies by Lina. I must say that the other lady (i think her name is Has) is better. Lina did appear a bit bored and less enthusiastic than during the trial class. Anyway, Ryan still did enjoy himself so its all good.

linda
my baby also got rashes after fever. i brought him to PD. he says it is common. if the rashes come after a few days when the fever is ok, then no need to worry.

rena
i think it is a phase that they go thru on throwing things. i read before in mag that at 12-18 months, they will want to explore things and throwing is one of them. we just need to be consistent and reinforce the msg. i think they are just throwing to see cause and effect of throwing. JH is also like that

SSF
oh dear, poor caleb. dun feel too bad abt it. our babies will learn after this. and it's impossible to watch them every moment. think aloe vera gel is a good idea.

laptop crash? that's so sickening. my hp got problem these few days and i m really frustrated...

denmy
i went to junior baby clinic before. it is really ex. the consultation plus med cos 65 bucks!!!

cookie
i think no harm getting a second opinion. but like what u say, Dr Sim always doesn't seem to be worried. I think the junior dr's medicine quite strong though. JH recovered really fast from his sore throat.

SL
Don't have to worry that Charmaine doesn't respond sometimes when you call her. Mel too esp when she's busy playing with her toys or when her eyes are glued to the TV. Anyway, not to mentioned our little darlings, even my hb will not respond everytime I call him....haha

Cookie
Oh gosh, you sound very busy at work, need to work overnite on Mon. Take care and don't push yourself too hard now that you're preggy. Ya, I think is good to get a 2nd opinion on Kaelyn's eyes.

SY
I thot $65 sounds ok for a PD? Dr Sim must be really cheap than.

RE: No respond
Ya.. Jamie always like that too. My mum always ask "Oii.. where's ur ears? Can you hear me?" Then she will point to her own ears and grin.

RE: Shopping
Share a funny act with u all. I brought Jamie to IMM FOX BABY today. Was trying all the caps available there to see if it suits her. So I kept wear for her and bringing her to the mirror. She kept posing in the mirror with me carrying her.

Then I changed to the clothing section. She kept asking me to let her "move" the hangers. So I carried her and allow her to do it. She then took one of the Pink top and demanded me to put her down. And she walked to the mirror herself and placed the top on her chest and smile. Sigh.. cannot stand this vain girl.

Then my mum teased her by giving her another dress. She bring both to the mirror and start placing one by one and see if it suits her.

Sigh.. even nowadays we go out, she want us to carry her to the shoe rack and point to us which shoes she wants to wear!

may

your daughter so cute!!! At least she can appreciate when you dress her up... next time you can go shoppiing with her!!

RE: slr digital cameras
Sorry I know this was discussed recently, but can i ask which is the good models again... any good canon models? I've suddenly
realised that it may be a good investment after all! My hubby already has a canon slr camera so was wondering if anyone knows whether the lens and flash can be interchangeable. Anyone can recommend any good camera shops for a cheap buy?

Any mommy thinking of getting, we can get together to get extra discount!

Cookie
usually don't advise any eyedrops for babies cos first they don't like it and if it is mild, even if infection usu. viral so will go away by itself... only if very bad, like the white of the eye is swollen, and red or if the black of the eye/ cornea has white patches or if child very bothered with lots of tearing and discharge then more worrying... but if it is persistenly their for more than 1-2 weeks instead of getting better, should get a second opinion from an eye specialist cos a lot of the PD may not have the equipemnt to check..

Gymboree Free Trial
Apparently Gymboree is giving free trial with a coupon cut out from Wed (28 Mar) Mind Your Body. For mummies who are interested, do go dig out a copy of your papers now.

The coupon was so small that I din see it there. Only found out when i called Gymboree to arrange a trial

flo
yeah Dr Sim is quite cheap for PD...so we are used to the rates!

tabby
tempting me to buy SLR leh...

may
jamie is so cute...she really knows how to dress herself!

JH also will choose his own shoes to wear

SH
got coupon? certainly din see it....

tabbiesus
Thanks for advise...since Friday I saw a little improvement in kae eyes. On Sat, HB skip the eyedrop cos he thought we said it's ineffective then today the redness has almost gone ! Phew...

Flo
sign... my HQ has set an very tight deadline and that really piss me! in any case.. will have to see how to work it out.

Oh ya Dr Sim charges are really reasonable. My HB is happy with him saying he is straight to the point. Perhaps I'm more worrying and paranoid hahaha... so though Dr sim say condition is fine, I'm still worrying.

Re: toddler want to self feed
Has any tod start to want to self feed already?
Kae start these a few days back, when I tried to feed lunch just now.. she can be so incorporative and wan to be self fed instead of I feed her!
Though it's a good thing but very messy and eat alot slower and lesser.

Re: Tiger Cooking Jar
Want to ask for opionion...
Has been thinking...now that I know tiger food jar can cook porridge. Naturally will be useful to bring to Gold Coast..
But I probably dun have time to cook twice a day for lunch and dinner since I could be out for the whole day most fo the time

Do you think I can cook More porridge in the ood jar and feed for both Lunch and Dinner?... IS IT ok or not?

May,
Thanks for the info on Friso! I jus got 2x900g tin from NTUC Whitesands. They still ve quite a number of tins. Will go grab the 1.8kg ones when they arrive!

Tabbiesus
My Hb was eyeing Canon D30 or 400D... but with the lens he wanted to change I think might cost up to 3K+ so plan is shelfed for now..I wonder he will be tempted!
There is a shop in AMK suppose to offer good price.
Let me check with HB and let u know.

Cookie,
I think someone mentioned that you can keep it for both lunch and dinner. It might not be very hot during dinner. Hmm.. not sure u can add in some hot water to warm it up a little.

May
I showed HB your pic.. ..heehee.. he think the mattress is pretty good. so very likely we will buy one.
1 question... can the mattress be folded up easily for storage?

cookie
i find that if u keep the porridge too long in the jar, it gets quite dry. so u may want to try whether adding in a bit of hot water in between will help.

JH will wan to self feed at times but it gets messy as well so hb doesnt like. what i do is to give him one more spoon to play with.

ask u something. JH doesn't wan to let me put him to nap. instead only my maid is capable of putting him to nap. it makes me feel a bit jealous. no matter how i try, he refuse to nap with me ard. is this normal? i wonder when my maid go back, how m i going to make JH take a nap?

just packing my table and realise i have a enfagrow voucher $ 2 off. but valid until 4th April. any mummy wants? or if scared cannot collect in time, i help to buy the enfagrow using the voucher? the voucher only valid at cold storage, marketplace, guardian, giant, shop n save

SY
Hi, If you dun mind, would like to "chup" the Enfagrow voucher. Thanks a million! I'll be at Plaza Singapura from 1pm onwards tmr, maybe can meet you at the COmcentre and pick it up from you?

cookie
I dun think it's a really good idea to cook lunch and dinner in the food jar, maybe can consider the slow cooker to cook in the service apartment for Kae's dinner? Reason being, when you stir the porridge to scoop out her lunch, it'll introduce air and cause it to be more watery. My MIL and mum both agree that stirring the porridge too often and baby consume it will cause the tummy to be bloated with "too much air", not too sure how true that will be. Just sharing my 2 cents worth.

SY,
Keenan nowadays also leh!! Can only sleep when my helper puts him to bed... with me or hb, it will take us 30 mins at least!!! I also worry how when maid leaves.. but then it will be 2 years later lah, and Keenan will be 3, so should be much easier. *fingers crossed*

sl
sure. will update my trip after come back.

cookie
i tried using the jar to cook 2 meals yesterday. prepared at around 10am. had lunch around 1pm, dinner around 6pm. still hot. :D i should be doing the same thing when i go to HK. regretted buying the 0.7L instead of 0.9L now. 'cos it can't take more than 2 portions that my gal's taking now.

SY,

dun need to worry, coz previously my maid alos can put elijah to sleep easy and even on this cot. after she left it is still ok jsut tat he take some time to adjust.. bb usually do not want to sleep and want to play with their parents.

RE. Tiger Food Jar
today is the 3rd time I'm using it and the porridge turned out PERFECT! Texture was as nice as double boiled! So happy. The first 2 times, the porridge turned out like softer verson of teochew porridge, today it was just nice. I realised the proportion of water and rice is quite important. Today, as suggested by Flo, I reduced the water used and after 3.5 hours, the rice has absorbed most of the water. At first the grains looked big but when scooped out and stir a little, it's nice and soft, yet not watery. I was outside, so didn't managed to take a picture. I used 2 soup spoon of rice to around 230 to 250ml of water, pre-warmed the flask and boiled the rice for about 3 to 5 mins before throwing into the jar. Not sure if that helps.

cookie,
I wouldn't recommend lunch and dinner in the same jar as well. In fact, I think it is not practical cos although the jar is very good, I doubt the heat can last more than 6 to 8 hours. And Sophia is right about introducing air and stirring the porridge when taking out for lunch. By dinner time, the porridge might turn watery, not to mention much cooler. You might want to consider getting another Tiger Food Jar if you want to feed porridge for dinner as well.
When you are in Gold Coast and will be out the whole day, I suggest you use the jar to make porridge for lunch. Dinner, feed either jar food, bread (can get those yummy tasting ones from bakery) or cereal. Cereal will be a good idea cos you can always get warm water to make FM to mix into the cereal easily.

mamachan
ok will put into my bag so that i dun forget. just msg me when u reach.

denmy
i also dunno how this problem started. i just realised one day that no matter how hard i try, he won't let me put him to bed for naps. at night he is ok though. only in the day he will refuse...

so i may end up extending my maid's contract by one more year.

rena
thanks for the reassurance..i also feel that my boy keeps wanting me to either read or play with him so he doesn't wan to sleep. so end up if i m at home, he doesn't get enough sleep and is very grouchy ard dinner time. every sun, he doesn't finish what i cook for him cos he no mood to eat.

queen
wow, everyone gave good reviews for the jar. i think i m the only one who has the jar for a long time but never tried cooking porridge. maybe shall try next weekend.

mamachan, Queen,
thanks for your input. I was also thinking abt "too much air" thingy.
I have no doubt that the jar will keep food hot for even up to 8hrs cos I tried it before. I just wonder if "air" might get into the porridge.

My Hb also ask me to just feed jar food for 1 of the meal and 1 porridge, I was thinking since can cook then might as well cook porridge as well.
Cereal is also on my list.. but normally beside cereal, I would wan to add some protein to make it a complete meal. Perhaps can feed meat and fish dishes from our meal to supplement it.

Sunny
I was thinking if really wan to cook 2 meals.. I will try it our one of the weekend. Ya now I realise 0.7l can be too small.

I'm know I'm very late.. but I just visited the yahoo group :p

The play group looks very successful.. well done

Rachel
I saw your artwork done for Daren.. very very nice