(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
you wont believe it, but i was a big baby.

wah...our thread is moving so fast!!!

my boy is abt 9.9kg now. I doubt he will gain more weight as he's so active.

RE : Florida
Go....its so fun!!! We had lotsa fun when we went. Then was just the 2 of us. We were residing in the states and had promo. It was lot better than disney land in LA. And of cos...the shopping is fantatic. Must go to the departmental stores as they hv even better sale and newer designs. Ever had 75% plus 25%...can u believe that? I bought polo ralph tee for jus a few bucks.

Esh Mummy
my boy is 14 weeks and 3 days old.

Sy
ya, the mommies here are also making me excited abt bringing my boy yo the zoo. He has not been to the zoo before. Maybe we will take him there next month.

Teeth
Joash is a late teether. He had his 1st tooth after his 1st birthday, Now he has 5 teeth. Do mommies here clean their babies' teeth? Do you brush or just wipe them?

esh mummy
i stay in pasir ris but my IL stay in kallang, also at UBK. which blk u stay?

sharon
i think u meant 14months?

i m going next month. when u going? i m going on the 19th. if u interested to go on the same day, let me know. i got the zoo pass from my company.

sunny
hee u get the zoo pass every month?

Aileen,
I love Night Safari better than day zoo also.. it's much cooler and dun have to walk and sweat like crazy... went many times when we were FOZ and it was always an 'adventure' for Ethan.

May,
Wa 6 teeth at a time must be very very painful. Poor Jamie!

Sooo many postings can't catch up!!

rachel,
Sure let's have a playgroup but i dunno when coz i'm quite busy with work these few weeks! Maybe can try next week?
Do PM or sms me if anything as i may not have time to check this forum

sharon,
I brush Janelle's teeth with a finger brush and first teeth toothpaste. She loves it! Twice a day - once morning, once at night.

RE: weight
I'm one mummy who has no idea how heavy or how tall her girl is! Have not weighed or taken her height ever since 8 months ago or something like that?! Coz never went to the doc or PD so didn't get to measure also. Weighing machine at home is spoilt and inaccurate. Anyway doesn't really bother me, as long as she looks like she's growing well!

Share with u all something funny...
I was in the room with Janelle and needed my hb to get something. SO I shouted out "dear! dear!" and my hb came to the room. I told him what i wanted and he went out to get it for me. Then when he walked out of the room, Janelle started calling him "dear! dear!!"
*faint*
I almost died with laughter! And when my hb came back to the room, she kept calling him "dear! dear!" too. I had a hard time trying to tell her to call him "daddy" (as she normally does) and not "dear!".

ky
watched the video clip of claris with her mummy flashing the cards to her. very impressed!the mummy really devoted herself in preparing all those materials.

now i need to plug enough courage to write the first word on the blank card... like what you said, write as much as i can and flash to dylan. currently i been those commerical flashing cards of fruits, vege and animals to him, but he just cant sit still and will snatch them from me, headache. oh yes, those maths dots, i bought those blank cards too but thinking of sticking the red dots really feak me out. got to buck up!

one of my friend sugguested that since we mummies get together on and off, why not have a rotating session of card flashing during the playgroup? share info as well as ideas.

haha i confirm not rich enough to send dylan to those expensive classes, only can DIY yet clueless of where to and how to start......

Chickenlittle
able to let me take a look at your GD set?

mashy
that horrible virus! do rest alot, thats what me and hb did when we kena from dylan. whole body like jelly and vomitted for the first time after so many years! did not have any vomitting during my pregnancy and that time really turn me off *yucks*
do clean your boy's toy just in case there is little trace of the virus left around. take care.

durianlover
im fine with next week =) as long as dont clash with dylan's nap time. maybe you pick a date and we can open to all mummies who can make it for the playgroup.

Esh Mummy,
Europe...huh...Vuitton????

RE : Polo Ralph
Tried buying from BP of Big Pony. Got it today and i think its prob fake. Checked with my store purchase and realised the following.
(1) the buttons on my kids polo r plain with no ralph lauren engraved, most of my adults dun hv but got 1 hv. (checked web, no wordings)
(2) the buttons are sewed "crossed" rather than straight
(3) the size and washing labels are sewed onto the brand label rather than on the tee itself.

any mummy has polo and help me check?

Wow, thread really move very fast and I have been so bz moving.

Aileen, congrats!

Chicken little, yes! I can meet u gals. Will sms u 2mr re: location. I'll pick up my biscuit then.

MMR Jab - Cephas' jab was administered on his left arm. HB held him and he looked at me intently & glanced/smiled at the nurse. I wanted to take a photo of him getting jabbed but when the needle went in, he jumped in shock & started crying pitifully. There went my photo-taking moment. Anyway, nurse warned us it wld be painful plus will have fever for 5-7 days. We've been monitoring. So far so good.

Wt/Ht - Cephas is 11kg & 84cm tall.

Hi, mummies. Like to share my this evening experience

Fake Measles:
Just brought zachary to see the PD. And he got diagonised with fake measles.

Past weekend having fever up down up down ighest went up to 39.4. then come monday diahhorea for 5 times in 4 hours. PD mentioned on mon if thursday stil have diahhorea need to go back and see her.

This evening was happily looking forward to see zachary, though heard from MIL he got some rashs. BUT when I see him, really shocking even his face got red spots. He was looking very swollen. Almost cried when I saw his body full of red spots.

PD gurantee he will recovered before sunday, fake measles will last for 5 days.Keeping my fingers and toes crossed.

His weight finally went up to 10.3kg the week before last. So happy but now drop to 9.7kg. Signz

Yuki,
What I heard is the height at 2 years old instead of 18 months multiply by 2.

KY
Re : MMR
My PD said a number of mommies are asking for single jab and she has started importing these vaccines as well.

Cheng
Re: Molars Teething & Fever
Mel was also down with fever last week but below 38 most of the time in the day and will go up to 38.5 at one (and high of 39 on one of the nites). She looked totally well and active, has no flu/cough and appetite was good altho her throat and ears were infected. One of her molar is coming out. But I don't think teething is the cause. She only recovered from her fever after I started the antibiotic 3 days later (PD asked to wait for a few days before giving antibiotic since she looked well). Humm, now she starts to have rashes around her cheeks and neck, could it be fake measles?

Mashy, Rena

SL,
Have PM u Dr Khor contact details. Forgot to tell you, need to make appointment before you go down.

Tracy,
I was a lightweight baby whereas hb is a heavyweight baby. Now we are totally reversed. Hopefully Mel wont end up like mehaha

Babylon,
Mel likes to walk in circle round my bros dogs and will pause to talk to them. Also dun know what shes mumbling and of course the dogs are totally oblivious of her...haha

RP Mummies, CL,

I'm not able to join u for lunch, two colleagues not around, 1 UL, another MC, hence gotta cover during lunch. Thks.

hmmm... as for the biscuits, CL, will u be going to bugis Seiyu any of these days?

SY,

Oh is it? so u'll always be there? r they the main caretaker of JH?

I'm at the old old blk, older than myself, gotten a resale one... coz HB wants to stay near his parents, which i feel... luckily i agreed.. if not it'll be a hassle trying to fetch eshley to n fro....

SY
hehe.. ya loh. it's 1st come 1st serve basis. so, i always apply for it early loh.

Flo
re: MMR
what's single jab? meaning take separate jab instead the combined one for MMR? if it's separate jab, need to take how many times?

hi mommies

RE: jabs
yest my mom brought her to pd ... my pd very zhai...decided that tabby should have her 2 jabs simultaneously! So she got 1 nurse to give on 1 thigh and she gave on the other.. so pain only 1 time! Apparently my girl was quite "dei" after that, according to my mom she went home and held on to my t-shirt and cried ma ma and my mom decided to wear my t-shirt and she hugged my mom calling ma ma.. i felt to touched, and sad i couldn't be there.

anyways, we were told to monitor for fever, and for chicken pox, she may have a mild rash that looks like chicken pox.

RE: nite safari
what time do you usually bring your children to nite safari.. aren't they grouchy?

Aileen
hi... i think edgar and tabby can high five already... cos they are the same weight and height!

Sorry i haven't had the time to fax the form to you yet.. can you pm me your fax? i try and get it done by today.

Mashy & Caeden
Get well soon to both of you!!!

mommies

also want to warn you... according to my PD, a lot of flu virus and roseola (fake measles) going around recently.. so please take care...

Tabbie,
that's so sweet of your gal!

Flo,
noooooo...you're not heavyweight lah! So cute of Mel to 'talk' to the dogs.

Oh ya, my gal is not afraid of 'live' dogs like mine, but she's very afraid of a 'fake' dog at my mum's house! There's this toy-breed size brown hush puppy looking dog that my mum displays in the hall. Meg will always avoid the dog when walking and if her ball rolls to the dog, she refuses to go get it!

tracy
maybe your girl finds it strange that the toy dog dunno how to move... maybe she thinks something is wrong with it cos she is used to living dogs...

RE: MY GYM TRIAL
Cost of trial: normal trial costs $35, but if we can get a minimum class of 10 babies, they will charge $29.50 per baby.
Class size: 25
Class ratio: 6 babies to one instructor

What the program is about.
Waddlers ? Crawlers and new walkers, 10 ? 18 months

Discover your infant?s natural movement abilities in this delightful program for parent and child. Share the excitement as your baby crawls, climbs, hangs, swings and tumbles for the first time. With an emphasis on development of social skills, this program is geared towards the exploration of movement. Toddlers are elated as they are introduced to a vast array of fantastic and stimulating new experiences.

I got the lady to recite a eg of how a day's program may be like...
1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
5) Practise skills - activity skill of the week using a certain equipment
6) Exploring the gym to try out the equipment
7) Separation anxiety exercise
8) Puppet show - where babies sit separate form parents
9) good bye song

Venue: Great World City
Costs: $29.50 for trial (usual is $35)
Day: Saturday (we can select a sat in April or early May and I will let the lady know )
Proposed Date: I'm proposing 28th April?
Time : 2:30pm
Duration : 45 min

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
2) chicken little ( at the moment ok but if Charmaine starts her Chinese class then I will need to pull out)
3) sl
4) May Wong
5) Tabbiesus
6) Rena
7) durianlover
8) Sysac
9) Flo
10) wenyl
11) Clare
12) sunny
13) mashybrainz
14) Cookie
15) Krissie
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

thanks ak.

tabby,
hee... next time when our kids meet, we shall get them to hi-5 each other! :p
btw i have pmed u my fax number. Please sms me once u have faxed over so that i can keep alookout for it! Thanks!

i'm also waiting for edgar to call me mummy purposefully. now, he only says it once in a while.

Rachel
You keen in my GD set or you keen to know the words in there to start your DIY. If you are keen in words, I can put in a document with the categories and words in the yahoo group.

AL,God's child ,
See you later for RP lunch today about 12.15. Any other mummies joining ?

Esh_mummy
YOu pm me your contact. I will go to Seiyu-Bugis for lunch sometimes. You just let me know when I can meet you. Except today I going RP and tomorrow I have lunch appointment at CHIJMEs.

Durianlover
That is why after the arrival of Charmaine. I call hb Daddy. So Charmaine will call the same too. So he will call me mummy. Hope Aden picks up too.

MMR & Autism
Charmaine does not talk much before 2 years old. But I also gave her MMR as per the schedule. She is babbling non stop now. So I feel speech is something comes naturally. My fren's niece is born being autism. You will notice the difference as she will not go with the crowd and the way she express herself is totally different.

Sunny
I'm not sure if take the single jab, is it necessary to take all 3. Will check with next time.

Tracy
Meg is so cute, maybe she knows the "slient" dog is more dangerous than those that always bark :p

Krissie
Thanks for the link. Have taken a pic and emailed Mel's PD to check.

Queen
Re. MMR & Autism
Actually I'm very cynical and don't fully trust these reports published by government health dept as I feel they have their own interest to protect. I think the risk is minute but just to play safe. Was chatting with my PD regarding Rotavirus vaccine the other day. She said that this vaccine is not added to the list of compulsory jabs in the States cos of some lawsuit previously.

Tabbiesus
Heehee, that's the fun of having gal...they are more manja

CL, where is lunch? Shall we meet at clifford centre and go to the food court downstairs?

Weaning Ryan
Perhaps a bad timing but I shifted home on monday and weaned Ryan off the breast the same day. I didnt intend to do such a drastic change for him, but partially also becos I was tired from the shift and let my maid take care of him. So for 3 nites, he no longer sleeping with us, no longer nursing....so far so good, but I kinda regret not doing it properly...maybe will have a closing ceremony this weekend....

Flo
According to my PD, fake measles characterized by mild fever, and the child is otherwise active and well, with moments of discomfort during fever spikes. on the 4th or 5th day, when the fever breaks, the body will break out in rashes. For Aidan, mystery solved. No more fever yesterday but started coughing today :p

RP lunch
AK, god's child suggested the pasta shop beside Select Yong Tau Foo at the basement of Caltex House. Food court maybe difficult to get seats. 12.15 ? By the way, if both of you are keen for the JG class, please pass me the forms so you dun have to fax to me.

Flo,
i dunno leh... The link to autism is supposedly shown in only 1 study which is not conclusive but there are many more research done after that 1 study to conclude that there is no evidence linking MMR specifically to autism. Think the concern is that some vaccines (not just MMR) administered in babies contain mercury derivatives that are neuro-toxic and may cause autism. Makes me wonder whether all those compulsory jabs like Hep A/B, Polio and optional jabs like Rotavirus, Pneumococal jabs contain such mercury derivatives. Maybe you can ask your PD? I guess it's never 100% in medicine. I take Isaac to the polyclinic for jabs. Not sure whether the nurses there know about all these... Isaac is due for his MMR end of April. At this point, I don't think I will delay it.

Hi Rachel

If you wish, you can pop by to take a look at my cards, and borrow if wish. It's rather difficult for me to bring them around to a playgroup coz it's pretty bulky ... I've got a softcopy word list somewhere that I've made up on my own. Let me look for that.

Re : zoo
hm, don't mind going again ... I can get zoo pass also.

Re : MMR
this is purely my personal opinion ... One report doesn't mean the jab's ok ... nor it's not ok. As with all science, human being is still learning and controversial reports would surface now and then. I've known one mummy a while back who have felt that it's the MMR jab who have caused certain problems in her girl. Not everyone reacts the same to a vacc jab. But if we stop jabbing our children, the fear is these dormant diseases would re-surface. And this would be governments' fears.

For those who opt for single jabs, they only go for that one that's compulsory, not all 3 ... they'd do the minimum to compile for Singapore govt regulations. Some mothers feel that babies/toddlers are too small to be fighting specimens of cultured cells (that's what vaccination is right?) and when they are older, it'd be better for them. That's what I gather from some mothers who have heated debate on this on-and-off. btw, I'm going for MMR :>

I too feel autism is not solely caused by the jabs; my nephew is autistic and I'm seeing a bigger behaviour difference now that he's older ... I've also seen a pair of twins, one being autistic and one's normal. The father is constantly alert as the autistic son'd run off whenever he wishes. And he does look so normal (and may I say, more handsome) if you first see him ... that's various degrees of autistic and it's not just pertaining to speech.

.ky.

chillies - fake polo? oh no...did the organiser states that its fake.
aiya had a discussion with hb yesterday and most likely dropping the idea of tagging along to florida. he says must be secretive since his boss will be gg too. dun like the idea of being "tou tou mo mo". so rather not go. i guess there be another chance..hopefully when the kids are bigger.

If your babies sleep on floor on the mattress, do they roll out of the mattress? My bedroom is too small to put a cot and mattress on the floor and when Isaac refused to sleep in his playpen in his own room since 8th month, we have no choice but to let him sleep with us on our bed. HB and I wanted to put him back into his own room some time ago and we bought a toddler-to-kids bed from Ikea. To play safe, we put a mattress beside the bed. First few nights, he's ok sleeping on the bed as long as I lie with him when he falls asleep and tend to him when he wakes up in the middle of the night. But who knows he can roll around so much that he rolls off the bed and land on the mattress and he'll cry from the shock. I'm thinking if I put the mattress on the floor, he'll roll off the mattress and end up on the floor right?

Queen

I think previously Flo posted the contact to get those mattress with bumper at the side. I think that is good idea. May posted the pics too. For me Aden is still rolling all over in the playpen. Want to try putting Isaac back in the playpen ?

Fake Polo
Aiyo now so many BP for the polo shirt. Very cute but I also very hesitant dunno authentic or not.

Queen,
For Meg, she's still in her cot. I'm very sure if i let her sleep on mattress, she'll roll onto the floor. How about getting that mattress with the side protections? Forgot which mummy showed a pic of it previously. Think that one is good.

The last time at my mum's place when hb was away, we had to cover all edges of the mattress with cushions. Some nights, I wake to find Meg has disappeared from the mattress and has rolled into the midst of the cushions.

Queen,
If u got playyard, u can try putting a single or super single size mattress in it. Ethan has been sleeping in his playyard cum bed for many months now. It is big enuf for me, daddy & E to all bunk in sometimes. And we dun worry abt him rolling out of the mattress. He sleeps with us in the same master bedroom. My hb bu she de to move him into the other room. But now, with #2 on the way, I m toying with the idea to just let E continue sleep with us & convert the other room for the maid & the bb cot.

Queen/KY
Re: MMR
Ky, I agree with you. The govt's greatest fear is that these dormant diseases would re-surface if all parents decided not to jab their kids. So unless the test result is significant (regarding autism), they are unlikely to cause "alarm" among parents. Anyway my PD view is not solely on risk of autism, she said that bigger size bb (as in heavier) are able to handle the side effects (fever & loss of appetite) of these jabs better. So there's no hurry to do it immediately after they turn one, can wait for another few more months especially if their appetite have not been good and prone to fever.

Re: Autism
PD has given me a "check list" for autism behaviour sometime back. More applicable when they are approaching 3 years old. Is more for parents to observe if their kids are showing signs of autism. Will go back and dig it out and post tonite.

Queen
When my nephew was young, he used to sleep on mattress (cos he was quite big size and outgrew his cot & sarong at very young age). He'll roll all over the place and my mom will find him under the bed in the morning.
I think previously Flo posted the contact to get those mattress with bumper at the side. I think that is good idea. May posted the pics too. For me Aden is still rolling all over in the playpen. Want to try putting Isaac back in the playpen ?