(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wenyl

CL/cookie
take care.

esh mummy
the D200 cost $2k+. hb paid by instalment. he bought it from funan centre, a shop named John something. the service there is good. but got to wait for some time before there's someone serving you 'cos quite crowded and the owner is willing to spend time to explain to the customer on how to use the camera patiently.

aileen
hehe... to me, all digital cameras look the same except the speed difference and additional features to capture the precious moments.

congrats Wenly!!

hahahaha..my 2 boys was made during my brithday month..i dun wish to make another bb for my next coming birthday that is in Apr. Told hb that let do something differently to "Avoid another Dec/Jan baby....

denmy - thanks for recalling the preggy table list. frankly, how to set the table border har? so that next time, i can help to track too

Wenyl,
Congrats! Do take care and rest more.

Mamapanda,
I go to the same gynae as Denmy, Dr. Yvonne Soong. Yes, she is very comical. I love talking to her.

wenyl,

Congrats! That's really a wonderful pc of news. Do take care of yourself, esp. with a little one inside you now.

CL,
Take care also.

Wenyl,
Congrats! Really happy for you... do take good care of yourself huh? Don't worry too much!

CL / cookie,
Feeling better today?

Re. Tiger Food Jar
Ok, being the super kan cheong mummy, I went down to Tangs to get the Food Jar after work yesterday. It's retailing at $55, very expensive. But with some previously earned Citibank rebate + yesterday's 12% rebate, managed to get the jar at around $45. I put 2 level soup spoon of rice plus 1.5 chawamushi cup of boiling water into the jar, after 2 hours, the rice turned out soft only, not nua enough to be baby porridge. And there is still quite a lot water left in the jar, the rice has not absorbed all the water. Somewhat like Teochew porridge, except the rice is a bit harder. Sigh... very disappointed leh. But when I opened the jar, the rice was still piping hot. Maybe need more tha n2 hours. My HB suggested boiling the rice (with meat) in a pot for maybe 5 - 10 mins first for the rice to 'open' then pouring it into the jar. Sounds like a good idea?

CL,
Dd you warm up the Jar first before putting the rice and boiling water in? Read in the instructions manual that this will help retain the heat better.

for mommies with the tiger food jar and want to make porridge

have you tried soaking the rice first for a few hours, then putting inside... i use less water, then not so much let teochew porridge and softer. But definitely not as nua as if double boiled.

Queen
Re: Tiger Food Jar
If you want the porridge to be more 'nua' you have to use less water. I normally put chicken/pork rib stock in the jar instead of water. I'll bring the stock to boil in a pot and being kiasu, will add the rice/fish/veg into the pot and let it boil for about 1 min then pour into the food jar. I only use the tiger food jar when I need to go out for at least half a day, so the porridge is "cooked" for at least 3-4 hours. Not sure if it's nua enough if it's just 2 hour.

Cookie,

I don't have a good map for Gold Coast cos we don't use maps. We visit gold coast very often plus it's really easy to get around there so we don't use maps. The map of DFO isn't helpful either. To get to DFO from Chervons, you need to get out to Ferny Ave then onto Gold Coast Highway and follow the directions to airport. Once you reach the roundabout that's nearest to the airport, slow down and look out for DFO. It's a one-storey building so really need to keep an eye out for it. If cannot see it, then stop at the shell station near the roundabout and ask for directions. : )

Btw, I just remembered that you can actually take a train from the airport to Gold Coast too. I think it's actually faster than driving or coach but the drawback is the train station is a distance away from Chervons.

Tracy
How much per visit is slightly more ex? I pay Prof Ng about 80+5%gst=$84 ($50 consultation, $30 ultrasound scan) per visit.

Any other good gynaes around to recommend? HOw abt those in Mount Alvernia?

tabby
i have a fish tank at home cos my hb likes to keep fishes. JH really loves to go and look at them. he always wants to feed the fishes too.

tracy/denmy
my fren goes to yvonne soong too but she considering to change.

queen
i haven tried using the tigerjar to make porridge but i usually warm it up before using.

re no 2
wow so many number 2 coming. actually quite tempted but me and hb's r/s not exactly doing very well now so he doesn't wan no 2.

Hi mommies!
Been busy these 2 weeks with house stuff. Just bought a new place and sold my flat over the weekend. Now got to rush on reno before baby pops!

Congrats to Wenyl!!!

Denmy,
My EDD is 1 Aug 2007, have not decided on name yet.

Mamachan,
Were you the one who used Desitin? My staff sale this round still did not include the new brands, so prob have to wait till the Aug round to buy for you.

BTW, any mommies want to latch on my orders? Let me know and I'll email the list to you.

SSF,
Just got reminded again on your missed Rainbath item. Do you want me to get for you this round or transfer the $ back to you (it's long overdue i know!!! I've been wanting to get my hb to transfer via atm to your POSB account).

SY
hmmmm, maybe it's good to have some couple time alone together? Talk things out? Do the "1st works" when the both of you initially did when dating and freshly married? Maybe will help to spark things up?

Cindy
Hahaha, I'm using Drapolene....think it's MamaPanda who uses Desitin? Anyway, I'm keen to look at the list of the staff sales, can kindly PM me the list? Thanks a million!

Mamapanda
I go to Dr Fong Chuan Wee at Gleneagles, his charges are very reasonable. In fact his basic delivery package in Gleneagles can end up cheaper than KK.

SY
I presume you had JH shortly after u got married? Prob too much changes within a short period. Ya agree with Mamachan that perhaps to "rekindle" your r/s before having #2.

Mamapanda,
oh, then her pricing is bout the same as Prof Ng. Coz the last i saw her in Feb for pap smear and ultrasound, it cost about $120 i think. Can't really recall now.

SY,
oh..can share why your fren planning to change gynae?

cindy_tan - hi hi! long time didnt hear from you. hee...u are in almost the same shoes as me. i am delivering mid aug and you 1st aug. like u, i am also expecting my second boy. and we are also gg to rush thru reno and shift before bb pops out. hahaa....so qiao!

aiyoh! you still remember the rainbath. haha..actually i also pai seh to trouble you as the last time you got good bargains for me from J&J. maybe u can transfer the money back to my acct...need not get la. my posb savings is 065-40317-0. thanks!

ok updating cindy's due date w/o the table format.

Nick EDD Gender BB's Name
denmy 11/5/07 boy Declan
esther 5/7/07 boy Leroy
tabbiesus 11/7/07 boy Thaddeus Luke
cindy boy 01/08/07
cookie 8/8/07 boy
cass 14/8/07 girl
SSF 20/8/07 boy Jadon
krissie 12/10/07
Wenyl 8/11/07

Thanks mummies for your well wishes.
Aiyo I am still burning hot at 38.8 , looks like it is not going down. Yday when Aden comes home I have to put on mask. He realli have a fun time pulling it.

Tiger Food Jar
Nope yday is my second try with plain porridge only. Today I will experience with same amount rice, less water and some ingredients since I am sick it will be suitable for me.

Cookie
Take good care. Me not preggy but already very siong. Even experiencing backache. I think this fever will kill a lot of my brain cells and I will go ku ku.

Wenyl
Such a big present on your birthday. Well I will pray for you a smooth preggie journey. I am sure your little Ethan is such a good boy will be able to help you a lot

Cindy,
I am interested. Please email list to [email protected]

wah...so much talk abt the Tiger Jar. Regretted selling mine for $40. Bought from previous BP and realised its too big to hold my porridge. When I poured my boy's porridge in, it only filled 1/4 of it.

I still double boiled my boy's porridge and cook twice a day. But i realised that if i were to put in thermal container for his porridge, my Tiger flask doesnt keep very warm and within an hour, it already turn lukewarm. Odd. Wondering is it because I double boiled and hence the porridge itself is not boiling hot.

Wenyl,
Congrats...!!!

CL,
Dont worry lar, u wldnt turn kuku. U prob look very cute now with 2 rosy cheeks....
Take care and hv plenty of rest and water.

Cindy,
Can i hv the list too? Thanks

Flo
Dr Fong is good. He used to be at NUH and my mother sees him. My cousin also seeing Dr Fong at GEH. After he goes into private practice my mother just follow me to my gynae Chan Kong Hon at GEH.

SY
Maybe your hb felt neglected as I can see you have full attention on JH. There are so many things you want to do for JH but was rejected by hb so you may feel bitter inside. Well the kid belong to both of you. Dun have to compare with others like what is being done what is not done yet. Both hb and wife should come to an agreement what to do for the kids. Discipline is always under my hb, education and toys is under my field. Then we still have some couple time without the kids. Be it chatting after the kids has gone to sleep. You know we chat still about kids. He will share what Charmaine tell him that I miss. Then once in a while we will leave charmaine with mum and aden with nanny to go out and have a good dinner. Sit down and talk things out. I am sure everything will work out just fine

Cindy
Yes, its me who uses Desitin. Do keep me inforked when Desitin is included
I'm down to my last tube already so I'll probably buy 1 tube first to tong until August. Do PM me the staff sales list too!

Flo: Gynae
Prof Ng is also at gleneagles. Yes, I agree that after the package, my 1 bedded room at gleneagles for normal delivery with epidural is even cheaper than my friend who delivered at KK. Only drawback is gleneagles 1-bed room is really miserably small compared to Mount Alv and TMC. Also, its considerably further for me. That's y I feel like changing to another gynae nearer and I'd prefer a female. Prof Ng was recommended to me by Prof Susan Lim. He's really good but honestly, I'll feel more conmfy with an experienced and good female gynae.

Vet recommendation
Now, asking for another recommendation for a reasonably priced and good vet. So far, I heard this indian vet at Namely is not good. Heard the one at Bukit Timah Sunshine place is good. Anyone brought their pets there before? I used to bring my old dog to the vet and clementi (cant remem road name.. some ulu ulu very private place near NUS) but its way too far for me.

chilles
I thought lukewarm is good ma. Ariene doesnt like her food warm. I always have to blow the food cool for her. If its even abit warm, she'll spit the food out. After reading about so many posts of the tiger food jar, think I'll get both a 0.7L and a 0.9L for keeping Ariene's porridge/pasta when we go out on outings or tour. YEah.. no need bring slowcooker anymore.

Tiger food jar
Mummies who have it, y not try out other recipes and see if it cooks. Like, macaroni soup? Stew? I was thinkiing if its capable of cooking porridge, it should be capable of making stews the same way right? Just pop in small USA potato and carrot and beef/chicken/pork cubes, pour in boiling water and cover. Can someone try and see how it turned out?

CL, do take care ya. u sick still log on to chat ar? :p btw i didn't know we visit the same gynae! :D i find that he's really good. recommended quite a few friends to him already. going to see him tmr.

cindy, can pm me the list too? thanks! :D

babylon, are u still doing the bp for the tiger jar? if so, please include me. thanks!

Aileen,

not sure can get 18 for the speical price. I will be going to Tangs or Istean tonight. If price ok, you want me to help you to get since i think you stay quite near to my place? If so, PM me your number.

re: i nouvi 40%
hi mummies...my bd is next mth and i be having 40% off all i nouvi products. let me know if anyone wants to get anythg. PLease PM me. so far i haven' got the invite but i am expecting it to come anytime soon

Aileen
I lied down whole day yday, my back super aching now. So better sit a bit, stand abit then go back to sleep once the medication take effect.

We not only go to same gynae and even same pd Y Y Yip. Dr Chan is well respected by all other dr and nurses. You can see lots of dr and nurses goes to him. Even Goh Chok Tong's daughter. Hee Hee. When you are at the hospital, I am sure the nurses who attended to you in the ward will tell you Dr Chan this and that. Well he is recommended by my office doctor. Even my Family GP goes to him. Now my sil, my frens mostly goes to him. Only thing is he can only practice in GEH.

Cindy
Can you PM me the staff sales list as well. Thanks.

Mamapanda
Oh, I was upgraded to a much bigger room previously (I think deluxe Single) when I delievered cos they were short of rooms. But the -ve part is that it's not on the same floor as the nursery. But it didn't really matter to me cos Mel was in NICU and can't sleep in the same room as me anyway.

aileen - why u going to see gynae tmr??? good news again? heehee

CL - stil fever ar? better take good care and down loads of H2O...

Tabbi, God's child

I am down with flu bug, maybe got it from Charmaine because before I sent her off to mum's place she was sniffing away. Now hope the 2 boys dun get it from me.

Good Day mummies!

So many postings to catch up as usual!

Cass,

CONRATS on your baby gal!! Hope you are comfortably back in England again

Wenyl,

CONGRATULATIONS to you too! Just relax and take good care of yourself..

Brushing Teeth

I've been brushing for Renee since she started having her 1st 2 teeth. I've alerady switched to toothbrush so no more being bitten by her anymore..mummies keen can look into the farlin bb toothbrush..its really soft.

Queen,

This weekend will be going back Woodlands..sorry coz maidless....have not been going mum's place for a while...do call me if u wanna pick up your kits ya...

Fancl,

SSF, hehe..anyone keen on Fancl, birthday mth..20% off... do let me know ya

Wenyl
Congrats on yr No. 2! So nice to see so many 2nd time preggy moms here. My Hb and I are not planning for another baby so Joash will be our only son. Hopefully, he can get some company from all the babies here!

CL
You poor thing, hope yr fever will recover soon.

Mamachan
I like the collage. It's so beautiful. Daren certainly has grown more handsome each month..... so cute and I like his smile!

Tiger Jar
All the discussions abt Tiger Jar made me feel like getting one!

ChickenLittle
Your fever sounds bad so did u try the egg thingy? Mel fever also came back last nite, but she's still super active and no cough and runny nose so really wondering what's wrong.

babylon,

oh okie. if u are getting, don't mind get for me? i would like the 0.9L one. thanks! :D u stay in the west too? have pmed u my hp number.

CL, ic... most imptly rest well ya. i think ever since i had edgar, i haven't had the luxury of falling sick and resting at home. think i tell my body i can't afford to fall sick coz i gotta take care of edgar. so far haven't really fallen sick for quite a long while. *keeping fingers crossed*! :D oh and i didn't know we go to same PD too. never bump into u! ya i noticed that photo of Goh CT's son and wife. that's y i tot to myself, Dr Chan must be good! =D

wowowow! god's child, u are very sharp! will update u all on monday lah! :D

HI CL and Cookie,.

Take care..me too ,..has got dry cought for almost 2 weeks and flu. Even now still need to use NASAL SPRAY given by doctor. Drink more water...

Hi Wenyl.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY
Whoaaa good news... Another GOLDEN PIG BABY you got no. 2.. take care and do rest more.
I wonder if I can have baby for tne next year is year of RAT.