(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

the thread moves so fast!

re childcare
carpe diem in punggol sounds quite nice but a bit far....

cookie, i din see that they have pasir ris branch . the nearest seems to be tampines.

sandra
so u r same age as me and queen. happy birthday!!

sarah so cute to pat herself to sleep.

nowadays i notice hb play more with JH. guess it's cos he suddenly realise JH is so big already...time really flies! JH started this new game with hb at bedtime. he will turn one side and then 'beat' hubby when he turn over the other side. it is realyl a funny sight cos he will keep turning back and forth.

share with you something that made me very sad today. my sis told me our dog is going blind in 6 months time. i know that such things cannot be avoided cos he's old but still feel so helpless and sad abt it. the worst part is that i haven been spending a lot of time with him since JH came...sigh....

celwong,
your boy goes to GUG? how long has he been going there? wanted to send JH but a bit undecided.

may
i also thought u going to be SAHM too.. hee

linda
u must be really happy to be bring gracie back soon. wow she sounds like she adapted really well. lots of sleep and food.

queen
my experience at KK wasn't that bad leh......the only complaint i had abt them is the long waiting time to pay money.

i noticed JH's teeth a bit yellow though he brush twice a day. think cos it's the habit of drinking milk before he sleeps. how?

Happy birthday to mummies born in march!!

may all sick babies get well soon!

May
congrats on your new job, all the best and hope you like this job better than the last one =)

re: Tiger Food Jar
hee, so now this is one of the hot favourite item in our thread now. i bought mine during one of the BP months ago. paid $40 for the 0.9L jar. very good buy indeed. tried cooking porridge with it also, but it does not turn out to be those nua type porridge we give our babies even after like 2 hours. but it sure is handy to bring food out! imagine on days when we need to be out the whole day, i cooked dylan's two meals as early as 10am, piping hot porridge is being served at 12noon and 6pm =)

SY
try letting JH drink some water after his milk, it will helps to rinse his mouth. i did that with dylan, made him drink some water before he goes to bed. sigh, this little fellow of mine hates brushing his teeth.

my experience at KKH wasn't bad too, but agree with you the long waiting time to pay. delivered there and went back for my pap smear test too.

rachel
i do give him water each time he drinks milk. but somehow his teeth still a bit yellow esp the two front teeth.

hee, JH is crazy abt brushing teeth. once he sees the toothbrush and toothpaste, he will do the action to brush teeth....

hee, there were a few times me and hb wanted to walk away cos we waited so long to pay! we were so fed up cos see doc only like 5 min but i waited like an hour to pay money... plus i was at TPS so shouldn't be so bad.

re: Radiological Investigation
went for my pap smear appointment 2weeks ago, told my gynae about my irregular menes. she suggested to have a detail scan of my womb, just to check if it is ok. had a few days of brownish discharge and it stopped today. do any mummies went for this scan too??

SY
so good that JH loves brushing teeth. dylan's also abit yellowish. in that case, brush his teeth after his milk then, since he loves brushing teeth =p

me and hb tried all ways and methods to make dylan like brushing teeth, but he simply hates us touching his teeth with cloth or toothbrush......

Rachel,

I also just done my pad smear test 2 weeks ago. Told my gynea that sometime i even missed for 4 month. Meses is very irreglar. She told me if i missed again for 4 mth, go back to her and she will do some detail scan for me..but not sure what is the test.

Aileen,

Is edgar seeing Dr YY Yip..i saw it in his blog.

Me..instead of bottle feeding his..i added milk poweder to his cerel.....

will place my order on 23 Mar...
Any more order?

Calendula Cream 2 oz @ $15.50
1)bblon (15 tubs)
2)Aileen (3tubs)
3)Esh_mummy (6 tubs) - (first time too- :p)
4)Clare (1 tub) -- first time trying.
5) durianlover (1 tub) - also 1st time trying!
----------------------
Total : 26 tubs

queen
my experience at KK was as bad as you.
1st time
24hr KKH Woman Clinic
Went in 3am in the morning and no other patient but still need to wait for almost 1 hr for the doctor..i was bleeding badly...wasn't any much advise give by the gynea.

Damien was admitted due to high fever
I would said that bad bad bad experience. Will never want to step in to KKH anymore. "Touch wood". Bill received almost 1 month later.

rachel

if i'm not mistaken.. usually the test is just ultrasound scan to see if the uterus wall lining is abnormally think or if there's anything else. Usually not xray..

RE:brushing teeth
my girl only just got her 7th & 8th tooth.. i have only been "wiping" her teeth with a plastic pigeon toothbrush and those cleaning cloth.. i bought a korean brand at the baby fair that has is meant for oral hygiene. I haven't started using the toothpaste (baby one) yet cos she doesn't know how to spit it out.. should i be starting to use it?

queen
I'm so tempted to try the bubble bath from california baby.. but i just got so many gaia baby wash I dunno if i should spend more on the cali baby ones. hmmm..

CL
how much is your friend selling the wall stickers? I'm might be interested... i might be moving back to my old place soon and want to decorate the nursery..

Hi Rachel,
i went to TMC for the scan, by Doc WK Tan. due to very irregular menses, it's like once in two months/3mths and in oct i got it like 3 times.
Hence, there's a need for the scan too n blood tests.

Result: Polycystic ovaries.
But not to worry unduly, not everyone will have this, and for myself, many and even mummies in this thread told me that it's very common. Hence, i'm not unduly worried too... :)

Cheers.

Rachel, SY & Tabbiesus
Re: Brushing teeth
Mel used to enjoy brushing her teeth (with either pigeion toothbrush or finger brush) but lately she just simply refused to let me brush her teeth. Will fight like mad and even "snatch" my finger brush and brush herself. End up just biting it...faintz. Not sure if it's due to the molar coming out, don't even allow me to look into her mouth.

Tabbiesus
I also bot some Gaia baby wash recently but heard so much good comments on CB bubble bath so couldn't resist

SY
Details of Carpe Diem at pasir ris :
Carpe Diem First years Pte Ltd
serv type : Child care centre
Add: Blk 126 Pasir ris Street 11 #01-325 S510129
Tel : 65821233
email : [email protected]

I couldnt find this in their website too. Maybe it's a new branch.

Tabbiesus
Ya I suspect so cos her fever only comes at nite. PD said her throat and ears are infected altho it doesn't seems to bother her.

SY
Think better monitor JH and bring him to dentist if the yellow stains worsen. My dentist says that we must bring them to dentists once there are stains on their teeth. He says it'll be from yellow, then be brown, then be black stains which are tooth decay. So, best to treat early. If you want, I can recommend my dentist. He's v gentle.

Tabb,
my dentist says not to gv the toothpaste till they can spilt it out, i think ard 2 yrs old. But, he suggested that we shld clean their teeth 2x a day to prevent decay. Cloth or toothbrush also can.

AK
Just realised that Ryan's big #1 balloon is still with me. So sorry, totally forgot about it. Are we going to meet for RP mommies lunch soon?

SY,
how old is ur doggie? My previous dog lived till 14YO and i had to put her down when her kidneys failed her. We were ignorant then and only fed her those off-the-shelf Pedigree dog food which apparently is not so good.

She was well until one day her urine had blood. So brought to vet and confirmed kidney failure. Tried medication for a couple of weeks but her health deterioriated very fast. Still remember, one Sunday morning, my mum woke me to say Patsy (my dog) can't move. I saw her lying in the hall panting. I just got ready, carried her with a towel and head straight for the vet.

Vet confirmed its time to let her go. We could have tried to sustain her but she was in pain and not letting her go would be selfish of us. She was hospitalized for 2 days on drip and on the second day, i decided it was time to say goodbye. When i reached the hospital, she knew it was time. She tried her best to get up but couldn't. So i jus carried and held her for 2 hours plus while waiting for my dad to come bid farewell. When my dad came, we put her to sleep peacefully. I kept a bunch of her fur and all her old toys, collar. Still in my cupboard.

Sigh...so i felt very bad when i had to leave my current dog with my mum. But when i visited him last week, he was well and very happy so I think its better for him too.

Patsy's bro also turned blind and had liver problem. But he lived to a ripe old age of 18YO. Rather long for a small dog - silky terrier. So if your dog is going blind due to old age, dun worry too much. He still has a long way to go.

733581.jpg

CL,

i tried to cook elijah's porridge but no luck.. maybe the water is not hot enough.. coz by three hours . the rice is still hard..haiz so yesterday elijah did not have milk instead..

re: brushing teeth
we started cleaning caleb's teeth when he was abt 8 mths old. we either use a cloth to wipe his teeth or in fact, we recently bought a pigeon soft brush. he likes to brush his teeth...i guess its the shiok feeling of rubbing his gum esp when he is teething.

re: pets
since you are on this topic...my frd's cat recently fell from his 7 flr hse and passed away last weekend. heard that her cat has internal bleeding in her lungs. few yrs ago, i reared rabbits and could not take it too well whenever they passed away. so i told hb...no pets for me liao. i couldn;t bring up the courage to see the rabbit put to sleep. till now, i am quite upset that i didnt say my goodbyes. haiz..so its sad to hear so many stories of pets feeling sick or saying bye bye.

CL

The room decoration is very very pretty leh, but your friend doesn't have Winnie the Pooh?

Babylon/ Mummies

There is a spree in the marketplace for Bobux shoes, not sure whether you all interested?

Shoo Shoo

I got a pair of shoo shoo when it has promo for clarisse, but it is still too big for her. Do you all pre wash the shoo shoo before you let your darling wear for the first time?

Clare

Hope Ashley is feeling better... I think if make the porridge more watery should be ok, isn't it true when we adult fever it is better to eat porridge? How come it is the other way round for babies... But last week clarisse having slightly high fever my mil also din cook porridge for her
but she cooked soup with meats and vege.

Hope all the sick babies recover soon!

krissie
where is your dentist? I used the first teeth toothpaste. is it ok? cos that one can be swallowed.

at what age can they go to dentist?

Tracy
my dog is turning 15 this year. your story sound so sad. my mum thinks tat we shd put him down when he turns blind but me and my sis find it very hard to make the decision. i cannot imagine my dog looking at me one moment and then being put down the next moment.
how did you explain to patsy about the need to put her down? just thinking abt this will make me cry. these kind of decision no turning back.

my dog used to take pedigree also but we switched him to eukabana cos it is better for his teeth etc. my dog has heart problems as well.

Tabbie

Use the first teeth toothpaste. That doesn't contain Fluoride. My #1 is still using that as he can't brush his teeth very properly at this stage still, thought he has a toothbrush and is encouraged to brush. Yes, the kid has to know how to spit water first before any other type of toothpaste can be introduced. I'll try to teach Keith how to spit when we go swimming.

.ky.

SY/Tracy,

Previously i give me dog pedigree as well and he got alot of skin problem. Recently i changed his diet to a japanese brand and all his skin problem is gone.

Tiger Jar - Looks like I may go get one now too. My mum bought the 8L pot last yr & was asking me to get the jar to cook Cephas' food. She has been making her chicken/beef/oxtail soup/stews with the pot & raves about it all the time.

Happy BD Wenyl & May!

I am organising bulk purchase for Tiger food jar..let me know if you are interested. The best price that they quote me is $40 + 5% GST and I need mim 18 pcs.

tiger Food Jar 0.9L @ $42.10
1) babylon

SY,
My decision was if she can't walk anymore and can't enjoy a good quality of life, its time to let her go. But if your dog is only blind, still can walk around, lead a normal life...let him hold on. Patsy somehow knew it was time to go. My dad and i jus told her its better for her to go, time to rest. Don't worry, the dogs can sense and they know.

My all-time fave vet is Dr. KC Tan from Mt pleasant Springside. He's very gentle with the pets and added advantage - he's young n not bad looking. wahahahaha..

Babylon,
My dog is currently on Abady. He's prone to skin problems too, think due to our hot weather here. So Abady helped alot.

Esh_mummy
http://www.funtosee.com/. My fren is selling , she has the Funky Flowers, the Under Sea ones and Outer Space. Still waiting for her to update me her price. Her shop at Katong Mall. Ha ha if good response, maybe we do a mini BP. I oso hand itchy want to buy.

Zhimin
I will check with her if she bringing in other design. I also like the pooh though my gal will like the princess but kids sharing the room so cannot be unfair to Aden.

Food Jar
I tried yday, only soft not nua. Maybe half spoon rice and only a bit of hot water. Must ask Durianlover exactly how she use it man.

sysac
I think the one your mum use is a thermal pot. That one only need to cook something like 20 mins then you just leave it in there for 2 hours , it will self cook. Very useful.

First Teeth
Ya that one dun have to spit out. This is to encourage them to enjoy brushing from young. Aiyo my Charmaie turning 5 years old still using this , refuse to use others with Flouride so her mummy's pocket very xiong. Anyone doing BP ? I better stock up.

SSF,
Well, i told myself no more dogs after Patsy left too. But a yr later, I found myself flipping the classifieds pet section daily :p And I bought Winki. Had to do the 'xian zhan hou zhou' thing to my mum. Bluffed her i'm just petsitting until she got attached to winki then i revealed the truth. :p

flo,
i'm not sure how long my maid steam the spinach, think depends on the quantity. maybe around 10-15min?

babylon,
ya edgar is seeing dr yy yip. and i'm also adding formula milk into his cereal. no more drinking milk.

sandra,
my hb's not into fx. he's just glued into reading financial news from his laptop.

Tabbiesus,
Buy 1 Cali BB bubble bath and try try?

Tracy,
Your Patsy story is so sad, can feel tears welling up in my eyes. Even though I have never had a dog, but I would imagine it's the same as losing a loved one. Sigh, nowadays always tear easily when I hear sad story.

Babylon,
When is the earlist that we can get the jars if we have 18 orders?
I cannot wait leh... heehee. If it's really so good, I want to use it this Sat so no need to cook porridge beforehand when going out.
I actually thinking of popping by Isetan or Tangs to get the Jar after work today.

queen,

Once we hit 18 order, they can delivered within 2-3 days. Me too being thinking should i get from Istean or Tangs since i got some vouchers.

Actually want to go Istean yesterday to get the jar but DA YI MA come so suddenly..sianz..

babylon,
i only feed cereal in the morning for breakfast. lunch and dinner is porridge. but sometimes my maid add milk into his porridge as well. just stir the powder into the porridge.

Aileen,
plain porridge?..coz i usually add fish, carrot, potatoes..etc inside his porridge but if add milk powder, will it taste funny?

babylon,
no it's not plain porridge, it's with ingredients like u mentioned. as for the taste, i tried it myself, it's ok. but i stick to flavored formula milk like pedisure (vanilla) or enfagrow (vanilla). so it's still alright.

Florence
I will blanche the spinach leaves till it doesn't look as raw, with hot boiling water. This is to get rid of any excess oxalic acid in them. Then I will remove from the water and cut them up. I no longer blend the spinach. I'll put the cut up spinach into the ice-cube tray and freeze. Then when preparing porridge, just throw 1 to 2 cubes in and cook. The spinach will be soft and nua in the porridge.

1st Year Collage of Daren
just to share that I engaged Rachel's freelance designing work for the 1st year collage of Daren and it is done. I've loaded up onto our Jan06mummies yahoogroup to share with you ladies. It's really nice, her layout!

will place my order on 23 Mar...
Any more order?

Calendula Cream 2 oz @ $15.50
1)bblon (15 tubs)
2)Aileen (3tubs)
3)Esh_mummy (6 tubs) - (first time too- :p)
4)Clare (1 tub) -- first time trying.
5) durianlover (1 tub) - also 1st time trying!
6) Mamapanda (2 tubs)
----------------------
Total : 28 tubs

Queen,
U mummies really tempt me. I'll get a California Baby bubble bath.

RE : Gynea
ANy good recommendation for gynea in the East? Mine sucks....My preiod is totally crazy. With ultra messy timing and only very slight flow.

Hi mummies the room make over kit is not cheap man. Reply from my fren:

===========================

The Room makeover kits are retailed in Singapore at $350, but the promo price now is $294. The only ones that are in stock now are these:

* Undersea Adventure:
http://www.funtosee.com/product/asp/ProdID/1027/CtgID/1031/af/page.htm
* Funky Flowers:
http://www.funtosee.com/product/asp/ProdID/1216/CtgID/1031/af/page.htm
* Outer Space:
http://www.funtosee.com/product/asp/ProdID/1013/CtgID/1031/af/page.htm

Let me know k? Oh and there are colour codes that you can paint the room in, and these I will give you if your friend decides to get any.
===========================

Chillies,

U wanna try Dr Lee I Wuen at Raffles Hospital in Bugis??

She's friendly and quite detailed.

Can call 6311 1222 to fix an appt. if u want to.

gynae recommendation
Mummies, any good gynaes in Mt A or TMC to recommend? Although my gynae is good, but, I find gleneagles too far and ex. Would prefer a good gynae in TMC or Mt A instead.

Housebreaking a puppy
Any words of advice? I'm having problems housebreaking my puppy.. He doesn't seem to have any idea that he's supposed to pee on the newspapers and he's not holding his pee. Still peeing free for all for a 4month old puppy. I wish I can let him wear puppy diapers! I thought of buying a dog cage to housebreak him and teach him how to hold his pee. Anyone got a good condition 2nd hand one for medium dogs to let go?

CL - Yep yep...The pot is useful! Makeing me crave for the soups/stews now

BTW, what time will be home this evening?

MamaPanda,
oohhh...you got yourself a puppy? wat breed izzit? I feel that looking after a puppy is very much like looking after a baby. They keep you awake at night with their whining and barking if they are confined to a certain area.

Toilet training can be quie tricky. Do you have a playpen for your dog? its a metal fence up thing that's movable. After his dinner, you can confine him in that playpen laid with newspapers until he poos. They normally pee and poo after meals. Then they will get the idea that they need to pee on papers.

Those type of 'spray here to pee here' or 'spray here not to pee here' don't work at all. Another alternative is scolding them when they pee at wrong area. Bring them to the wrong area, hold the neck and use a roll of newspaper, make a bang noise with the newspaper and say,'bad boy!' then bring him to the correct area and say,'pee here!'

Somehow, they will understand but it takes alot of patience and time.