(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mamachan - Nice collage!

Rachel - Well done! More jobs will be coming yr way

SY
He's in AMK. I dunno the exact location coz hb fetches me there. I think he said no need to see so soon, maybe 3 or 4. But, if there are stains, then hv to bring to the dentist before it becomes decay.

re toothpaste
I don't intend to let him use so soon. I recalled someone mentioning re one of the toothpaste (not sure if it's 1st teeth), that there was this dentist who's bb patients has tooth decay and they were coincidentally using this toothpaste. (But, I cant rem which brand it is now).

sysac
Really all thanks to Rachel for her artistic talent! I absolutely know nuts when it comes to using photoshop or whatever software to do collages. The only one I know is Picasa which is not counted. hehehe.

Having Pets
At times, am wondering if we should get a puppy as a playmate for Daren since he's so fond of animals, but we decided not to after seeing how he likes to chase after the pets at friends' house. He would like to touch their tail and even attempt to bite the tail! Gosh, can't imagine having a puppy at home now, the poor dog will be "abused" by Daren.

Pet @ Home
my dear damien is so nice to our pet dog...whenever he dropped food on the floor..he will start looking for my dog "moomoo" to clean the floor for him

Slinky,
i will smacked the dog hard if she anyhow pee. Normally she will do it at her desitinated area. T

Can i ask, mummies...
now that our children are up and running, how do u'al take nice n clear pics of them?
I've tried to capture Eshley's pics, however, most of them turned out blurred due to her constant movements... :-(

Pls advise.

Thks.

Esh Mummy
Hahaha, I know what you mean, my hb and I invested in a camcorder. So we just record down instead of snapping pics. Or you can get those cameras that has those sequence mode, where it'll take a series of pics at one go and you select the clearest. One of my hb's way of capturing the moments though my boy is constantly on the move is using flash.

Re: Brushing Teeth
JW is ok with brushing teeth. But he likes to bite me while i try to brush his teeth!

MamaChan,
Nice Collage. It's good to see them growing up in a collage like dat isn't it?

Esh Mummy
Oh, our digital camera is an Olympus camera, as for handycam, we got the JVC HDD coz on offer to us at Best Denki.

SH
Yes, it really brings back memories of day 1 when we 1st laid our eyes on them and watch them grow through the months. I like the collage so much that I now set it as a wallpaper on my work computer. Hahaha.

i see...
will a digital SLR do a better job with a faster shutter?

Anyone with digital SLR pls advise. Thks a lot. m contemplating in getting one, perhaps a Nikon or Canon. :)

thks a mil.

esh,
to answer ur question, yes, DSLR will do a MUCH better job coz of the fast shutter speed. mine is a Nikon D80. though is bulky, i still lug it everywhere i go with edgar.

esh,
my advise is get an external flash as well if u do alot of indoor shots. the color is nicer compared to the built in flash. just my opinion! :D have fun!

Aileen
Wow. Really admire the heart that you and hb put into capturing pics of Edgar with the DSLR. I saw your camera when we met at Tanglin Mall, I was, "Wow!" Both you and hb must be avid photographers! Edgar is one blessed boy!

re DSLR
now i feel so tempted to get one again.... today my colleague brought his DSLR...sigh, when i saw it, i kept askin why i bought another digi cam and not a DSLR...

Tracy
will they know that it is time to go? i feel so sad thinking abt it. told my sis let's jsut take one step at a time and not think abt it.

but won't they feel very bored if they are blind? it's like they will feel so sian and won't be able to go anywhere.

mamachan
i tried asking my hb to buy camcorder but not successful yet.

mamapanda
u got a puppy? i told hb no pets for JH cos it's too sad when something happens to them...

Hi Aileen

Talking abt the Nikon D80. Do you have any use lenses? An is there just 1 type of externial flash for it? Told my hubby abt and he's studying into it now. When did you start using it? Saw on your blog that some of the older photos are not as clear ... did u switch recently?

I'll have to wait till the next PC exhibition come along to get a good deal ... anyone knows when that would be?

.ky.

mamachan,
no lah, my hb and i are no avid photographers. we are amateurs only. still experimenting.

ky,
the D80 i bot comes with the kit lens. i feel that it's good enuff. allows zooming up to 135mm. there are many few types of external flash in the market. different price range. ours is about $600+. ya we only switched not too long ago after i got SUPER fed up with my compact camera. that explains the blurrer pictures taken earlier. i don't think u have to wait for any PC show to come along to get a good deal. try cathay photos at peninsular plaza or another shop in funan centre. can't remember the name, james something... D80 cost around $1800+ which is about $400 price drop compared to the time i bot mine.

SY,
Patsy's sister (my cousin owns Patsy's parents so explains the whole big family thing) turned blind at a young age of 1yr. She lived her entire life, also about 14yrs, just moving around blindly. But she's happy. So it is still possible for your dog.

re: DSLR
my hb just bought Nikon D200 after contemplating for long long time. should have bought it earlier so that my gal's NB pix won't be all blurred one.

aileen
wow... you know how to use it. i just use the normal digital cam which i think it's light and easy to handle. keke..

re: camcorder
my hb bought one but hardly use actually. used it only when i was delivering caleb and during our holidays and wedding when asked to be the photographer. so frankly depending on your usage, a digital camera may be just sufficient.

sunny,
that's what i told my hb too. edgar's newborn photos and subsequent mths b4 we got the dslr are not really nice either. i'm also just learning lah. just snap and snap loh! :p ur D200 shld be even better than my D80

Esh Mummy,
How much is the consultation? Male or female?

RE : Pictures
Most of the pics i take turned out blur. The clear one r mostly the "ugly" ones...haha.

I just done a test again with my Tiger Food Jar. Today at 11 am I put in half cup of rice , and filled it with half full with freshly boiled water. So excited , it realli become PORRIDGE. Was having fever so pai seh only check it again at 5.45 pm and it is still HOT.

So the lesson learnt is must cook a lot cannot cook little bit. Probably too little water allow it to cool down easily.

Now I going to have some porridge and nurse my fever again. Up to 38.9 again so I think cannot see my kids tonight.

SL
ANy chance you have good road map for Gold Coast/Bisbane area?
I'm thinking on e1 of the free day ... maybe hire a car to go down to DFO.
HB not comfy cos might not get good road map to prepare in advance.

mamapanda
wow you have a new puppy!.. how exciting. I can still remember when my dog was still apuppy 6 yrs ago.
Ok... what we did to house break our puppy.
Must get cage where he will be sleeping in, sine he is so young, he tend to sleep alot (my dog sleep when nothign to do anyway)
Whenever he wake up.. bring/carry him to the newspaper or area u wan him to pee/poo
if he dun pee, dun allow him to walk away. Must wait until he pee nad poo then can let him go.
Once he do his biz.. MUST praise him and let him play his fav toy etc..
After each of his meal, bring him to the "toilet" area again and he is not allow to walk off until he does his biz.
Keep repeating this routine.. when he wake up, go pee, after his meal go pee again.

My Lab took abt 2-3 weeks to "suddenly" started peeing at the desinated area.
I also tried those... oil or solution to spray onto the newspaper and let doggy to sniff to instigate them to pee but I'm not sure that helps.

Just be consistent and the dog will learn very soon.
Have Fun!

CL
Take care!!
I'm having a dry cough too.. throat so dry and becoming painful.

yesh, just bought myself the collaspable playpen. NOw much better.. well, at least he won't be peeing and pooing all over my balcony. He'll have to stay there until he's toilet trained. The free-roaming-under-supervision method doesn't work for my puppy. Think its because the pet shop environment was not clean so he's not used to the idea of peeing and pooing in one spot. That makes it less work to clean up and gives me more time to play and bond with the puppy. YEAH!

oh ya, those stupid-and-never-work so called spary/lotion/drops/.. I got 1` bottle too and I think my dog didn't want to pee there after I dropped it on the paper. Instead, he peed far away from it, eg, the floor.. faint. Maybe my dog's abit timid and gu-niang. None of the macho marking his own territory instinct.

hmm cage.. I did consider but I decided not to get it cuz my dog is a med sized breed and not only is it not economical and hard to find (most shops only sell the small/toy breed suize), I also don't expect to be using it anymore once its housebroken.

I was down with flu last weekend so hardly come in to read the forum. Sadly, I passed my flu bug to Ethan. His nose starting running like tap on mon. Very tiring week for me. But Thank God today he is very much better. No more runny nose. I noticed he started falling sick very often since Feb & coincidently, his molars start to appear during this period.

Thanks for remembering my birthday! It is today. Hb gave me a big bouquet of flowers last nite. When Ethan saw it, he kept signing flower. We all had a good laugh cos he never seen such big bunch b4. So suaku.

Happy belated birthday to Sandra!
Happy Birthday in advance to May!
Din know u gals bday are so close to mine. Envy u gals yet to hit the BIG 30.

Another news to share with u all.... I m 7 weeks preggy. Just confirmed with gynae today. EDD is 8 Nov 07. Pls pray for me tat I will be able to hold on till near full term this time. Thanks in adv!

Wenyl - CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Will pray for you for a smooth first trimester. meanwhile, please take care of yourself

babylon/tabbie/esh_mummy
thanks for your info. im scheduled for an appointment to have a detail scan in april. now just hope my messed up menes dont clash with the appointment.

chickenlittle
great! now i should also give another try to cook porridge with tiger food jar =) do rest and take plenty of water. take care.

RE: maid agency

dear mummies who are planing to get a maid.. Please do not get from this agency call Best helpers..

my aunty had taken a maid from them and very jia liat.. then maid has been transfered 2 times and when my aunty took her the agent told her that if this maid can't work for her then they will sent her back after the third transfer..

after ten days my aunt realise that this maid cannot work so she decied to sent her back on sat morning.. then on wed my aunt call them to check if the maid has been transfered coz she has to pay $10 per day for loding.. however on wed she was told that the maid has admited to hospital.. apperently the maid has fainted on monday at agent's place. but my poor auntie has to pay for her hospital bill and also her ticket home..

but i think that it is very unfair coz the agency ill treat the maid.. long story to write here but just beware.. they have 4 branches..

CL
u r down with fever? do take care of yourself n hope u get well soon!

mamapanda
what made you get a dog when ariene still so young? there's quite a lot of work to take care of a pet. like what tracy say, it's lke a baby...

wenyl
happy birthday!

congrats!!! do take good care of yourself and rest well too. dun tire yourself out!

jsut curious, what is the sign for flowers?

Wenyl - CONGRATS!!! wow, after missing you for so long in the thread,you 'returned' with such a good piece of news!heehee do take care and i will pray for u too... so excited for u and the list of preggie mummies go longer n longer now..haha (",)

CL - u got put ingredients inside or just plain porrige? im also dying to try out tis weekend.. hope its successful so tat i can step back and be lazy hahhahhahahaha

Congrats Wenyl! So happy to hear your good news. Actually I suspected when you mentioned something about not needing your test kits anymore. Hehe... So happy to know that your bday is so close to mine. I'm like looking for blanks to fill during march cos everyone close to me has a bday in march. My sis is 12th (opp of 21), my mom 17th, my sis in law 18th, my mil 19th, and I'm 21st. Haha.... Only 20th not filled up.

yeah, now really busy taking care of babies. When Ariene is nappping, I spend time wif the dog. I wanted Ariene to grow together wif the dog since she likes dogs so much. He'll be our companion, friend n brother to us.

wenyl
Gratz!

Wenyl,
Haha.. I still managed to catch it 2mins before it becomes my birthday! So 3 of us are in order.. Sandra, You, Me !! CONGRATS on your #2! Take care of yourself..

RE:Tiger Jar
Babylon, I am intersested. But I have some Robinson Voucher on hand.. was thinking of popping by this weekend to see the size and price. Will update u if I am getting one ok?

CL,
Take care.. Get Well soon !

Weather is getting strange lately. Do take care of yourself and little darlings. Boil some barley water for them if possible.

Mamachan,
New Collage! Realised that he changed abit hor..

Rachel,
Nice artwork!

Wenyl
Happy Bday to you! And congrats!! Hahaha, I had my suspicions already when you were offering to give out the "extra" preggers kits you have. Do take good care during the 1st trimester and will pray that you will have a full term baby and a smooth delivery!

Chicken Little
Thanks for sharing your porridge making tips using the Tiger Food Jar. At least put a relief on my part. Can't wait to try on Saturday.

May/sysac
Thanks. Credit really goes to Rachel for the collage. Must support a fellow forum mummy who's SAHM yet freelancing too =)

May
Do let me know how much Robinson is selling the tiger flask for. You just reminded me that I still have a $25 robinson's voucher.

Wenyl
Happy Belated birthday and congrats on your #2. Do rest well and take care.

May
Happy birthday!

ChickenLittle/Cookie
Rest well and hope you get well soon

Oh ya.. Cookie
Thread moving too fast.. by the time I finish reading, forgot abt u already.
Take care and Get well soon.. it's difficult for a preggie to be sick.

tiger Food Jar 0.9L @ $42.10
1) babylon
2) denmy

CL,
re: funtosee room decor
Your fren has a shop at Katong Mall? Where is it? I go there every Sat as Ethan has Violin and Judo class there.

O yes, btw, i remember someone mentioned about 'EMU OIL' here b4. There a shop at Katong Mall selling Emu Oil products too.

Mamapanda,
Can try my gynae, she is very friendly and comical. Dr Yvonne Soong (TMC 4th floor) Tel: 6353 9035

Rena,
The maid agency you posted here is not the same as Best Maids is it?

Happy Bday to Sandra, Wenyl and May!!!

Wenyl, congrats congrats. Happy for you!!

May, yes do let us know how much Robinson is selling. I also have some shopping vouchers from them.

latest update on preggers mum in this thread:
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>11/5/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD>5/7/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Leroy </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD>11/7/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Thaddeus Luke </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>8/8/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass</TD><TD>14/8/07</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20/8/07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Jadon </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>12/10/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>8/11/07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Happy birthday MAY!!

Wenyl
Happy belated birthday! and a big CONGRATS on no. 2

Will really pray hard that you have an uneventful pregnancy this time!

Rena
So scary your maid story.. i got to budget maid. So not the same phew..

mamachan

i finally saw daren's collage.. so nice.. i like the big picture of him in your hubby's outfit with the crown on his head! So cute

mamapanda
you so brave to take on new puppy now... my dog passed away when tabby was around 6 months, altho she likes dogs alot esp dalmations but i don't dare get a puppy for her... however.. i'm tempted to either set up a fish tank for her.

any problems with allergies for Ariene with puppy?

update on Calendula Cream
mummies who order Calendula Cream from me , i have decided to order from amazon via vpost that is having sales now..that cost US$6.93 per tub. and total for the shipping and handling fee will be US$0.22. let wait for the VPost billing and will split accordingly per tub. Hopefully that the Vpost shipping fee will not be expensive. This is the first time i have ordered from amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00028ND0O/103-9033513-2163823