(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Clare,
My PD confirmed that can give porridge when having fever. He only said to avoid cereal cos certain grains may cause fever in some kids, avoid citrus foods which will cause cough and of course, dilute the milk. If its BM then no need to dilute.

Sept03, Durianlover,
Meg can nod her head quite some time back. But don't worry, my MIL said both my nephews couldn't nod their heads at all. Had to push their head to get them to nod.

Sept03,
My fren's boy also started walking and talking very late, like 2yrs plus. Her PD said he probably takes after his dad who was late in walking and talking too. And sure enough, he started all these just about 2yrs.

Clare, what a terrifying experience you had! I did hear that cannot give porridge but I don't really give a damn. Just make porridge more watery and cook it longer to make it nua. FM is quite heaty so try giving more water throughout the day.

durianlover, congrats! Like what Krissie said, Aussies can be very racists, maybe more so in the city area. Hb and I were also contemplating to apply for NZ. We have friends there and they have mentioned it's really easy to get it if you have a profession in technological industries since NZ is an agricultural place.

Sept03, durianlover, Kirsten started by shaking her head before nodding. So maybe they will start nodding soon.

tabby is so smart! Her pronunciation is really clear. I'm so impressed! Kirsten only says a few words like "toothbrush (toooo-brah), shoes/socks (shi-tah?!), eat (ma-ma?!), baby, Pooh bear, hao2 chi1, lai2 la4 (nai2-na4)". But I know she understands what I'm talking about because she will look for the things I ask her or do something.

Re: My Gym at GWC
I went there for free trial when they first opened. Quite good since equipment is new. But most are designed for older kids, so have to keep a watchful eye all the time. Kirsten didn't like the group activities, only like the free play. The bubble gun is quite cool cos it's high up and it's automated.

nodding hear..
caleb has been shaking his head for a long time liao. Never seen him nod though.
When we ask him someting, if its a yes, he will not do anything. If he answers no, he will shake his head violently.

Rena,
Re:Bintan
Think you posted about Bintan some time back? Can consider Club Med Bintan.

3D2N inclusive of Ferry & food (Superior Room):
10Mar - 05Apr 07 : S$576 / adult
06Apr - 12Apr 07 : S$708 / adult
13Apr - 30Apr 07 : S$576 / adult

* Child below 4YO to enquire separately with travel agent.
* Price includes ferry, transfers and sumptous buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner with free flow of red and white wine, beer and beverages during launch n dinner
* Price includes all sports activities with expert tuition
* Nightly entertainment
* Above rate is for weekend stays on Fri and Sat nights. Discount applies on weekday stays. To enquire with travel consultant.

Rena,
Re:Bintan
Think you posted about Bintan some time back? Can consider Club Med Bintan.

3D2N inclusive of Ferry & food (Superior Room):
10Mar - 05Apr 07 : S$576 / adult
06Apr - 12Apr 07 : S$708 / adult
13Apr - 30Apr 07 : S$576 / adult

* Child below 4YO to enquire separately with travel agent.
* Price includes ferry, transfers and sumptous buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner with free flow of red and white wine, beer and beverages during launch n dinner
* Price includes all sports activities with expert tuition
* Nightly entertainment
* Above rate is for weekend stays on Fri and Sat nights. Discount applies on weekday stays. To enquire with travel consultant.

Clare
You must and be very tired from all the crying and whining plus boiling inside with the "no porridge" rule for fever. Personally, like what some of the mommies said, I will give anything to my boy when he is sick as long as they are healthy food. If your MIL insist that you cannot give porridge, you can try other food like macaroni soup, Mee sua, steamed potato with broccoli so that Ashley can get some carbos for energy. Hang in there!

SSF
Even tho' I used to teach in preschool and child care centres, I also not in favour in putting a young child there too early. I am most worried abt their health cos their immune system is low and they fall sick very easily. I have seen many kids sick for a long time in the centre cos they pass the virus to each other...... esp from runny nose and coughs!

wah everyone seems to be in holiday mood. hee..i cannot plan for anywhere until i get firm dates for shifting to my new place. so now, looking at gg to malacca at least for a night stay. Just for a quick getaway for some good food and relaxation together with caleb and hb.

SH

Ha ha it serve him right. I was telling him it is high time he spend more time with Aden then just log his eyes on the PC each time he is home. Never play, never read books or talk much to Aden how he expect Aden to learn leh. Except his Twinkle Twinkle little Stars which is the only kids song he knows. Still dare to say it is Aden's Fav song

chicken_little - i can understand wat u mean. my hb too has been so busy with his new pda phone and broadband service over the weekend. his eyes are basically fixed and hardly help me with feeding or even playing with caleb. the only time is when caleb touches his stuffs..he gets annoyed. terrible right...and i was like...who is preggy mann?!?

Sept03, maybe silence means consent!

clare,

you can give ashley watery porridge .. no problem at all.. if you can make zhu zhe ma ti for her.. it is better coz not too cooling and it is good for bb.. it must have been a great shock for you coz when i read your story yesterday .. i cried...

RE: angry

i was so angy with my sil yesterday.. yesterday elijah had his allergey again .. so i brought him to the pd and then when to my mil place.. in the evening my niece became crazy again. she was at the door of the room screaming for her maid but the maid was feeding her sister .. so she got angry and cried until as if someone is trying to kill her..
suddenly her dad called and she was crying so her dad ask her why .. she mention tat elijah touch her toy .. i was so angry coz i was sitting with elijah and has kept all her toys away knowing tat she will go crazy if elijah were to even go near them. i am angry when she told the same lie to her mom that just reach home..
i told mil but she sad never mind.. i was very angry so i left the place and sms my sil telling her that her girl owe elijah an apology..
but she replied me saying tat her gal already apolopise to the father and it is not necessary to apolpgise to elijah.. and anyway her gal always get blamed for being unreasonable and not sharing... (but it is true that her gal is tat bad!!!)

my point is that whe a lie is told 3 party will be hurt. 1) the parents 2) the person who was being blame and 3) the person who was being lied to..
of couse this is just a small issue but if one day big thing happen it will be too late ..

sorry for be loh soh..

Re:nodding head
Think kae learn to nod before shake her head.
When we tell her.. no-no..she will shake her head with us but cry/frown at the same time cos she cannot get what she wants.
When she wan her snack or drinks, she will bring the container to me and keep nodding her head.

Still waiting for her to call mama or papa purposefully

clare

my dad also said cannot feed porridge when have fever. but who cares. When my boy had fever, i also fed him porridge. When we get sick, we also eat porridge, so what's wrong with them having porridge? Like u said, what are they going to eat? Or let them starve? Anyway, my boy didn't have any probs when I fed him porridge. But it's up to you whether you wanna 'defy' your MIL or not lor. For me, I'm bochap about these things unless it really makes sense.

Rena

Your niece very naughty. This type realli need to discipline. I caught my niece did a few times to my Charmaine then I never say anything. She will go tell my sil that Charmaine bully her. Imagine my gal was the victim. So I just bring Charmaine to face her and sil. Ask Charmaine what she did to my niece. Charmaine will tell her the whole story then I will ask my niece so how did Charmaine bully her. She could not explain so she will ganna scolding from sil. Then she will ignore Charmaine for a while. Imagine how Charmaine idolise her. My hb will also discipline her. I seldom will discipline her unless I find it serious. I feel it is ok for my hb the Chuas to discipline the small Chuas then my sil will not say anything.

aussie and occupation
There's one occupation that's globally in demand and durianlover's husband is on - education. So, don't think he'll have trouble finding a job there.

Rena
If I were u, I'll reply ur SIL and tell her no no, her daughter is not being blamed, it IS THE FACT, so get your facts right. She's triple S - Selfish, Spoilt & Super Liar.

re porridge during fever
i also heard this thing abt not feeding porridge but then i still feed. adults also eat porridge when not feeling well so i guess it shd be ok.

queen
hee, maybe i shall send flowers to hb to his office for his bday..haha..jsut want to see his reaction.

re carpe diem
read abt them somewhere before...think not too bad.

sharon
i know that it is not too good for their health to send them early to childcare. but hb has ruled out me working PT or even be SAHM so if i were to just put him with my maid, his learning will be stagnant. plus my parents may go to china next year for work so i dun have any help at all during weekdays....

rena
your niece is so naughty!!! still blame elijah...these kind of things are really irritating.

i think JH having growth spurt again. he keeps waking up for milk. we fed him at abt 9.30 150ml and at 1.30am he woke up crying and couldn't sleep until we fed him. at abt 5 or 6am he woke up again but me and hb so tired until we ignore him and he went back to sleep...i told hb if he wakes up again tonight, just give him milk and make him go back to sleep but i m scared he will get into the habit of drinking milk at night again.

Haha mamapanda,

i like your super S..i really duno what to say to them.. even the sunday school teacher was shock when outside the church my mil try to unzip the jacket thinking that it may be too hot for her.. she scream and snap at my mil .. the teacher saw and got a shock so she tell my neiece that it is wrong..

then the teacher(she is also a childcare teacher for many years) told me that there are children who are angel in school and devil at home and some even have double character so it is very diffcult to detect but these are dangerous good to detact early

SY,

I also have the same problem for the past weeks. PD advise me to increase from 9 - 10 oz from 8 oz for his last feed if he can take it. Did for 2 nights and he slept till morning for the morning feed. Maybe you want to try.

SY
In your case then it's really no choice. It's alright to send them to childcare centre esp if you need the help. I feel safer if my kid is at the centre than having him alone at home with maid. Just make sure you wash his hands clean and bathe him when he's home from the centre. Ya, mutivitamins helps in building immunity too!

It sounds like JH having a growth spurt. Maybe he is also teething and needed comfort.

Clare;
So sorry to hear about Ashley, hope she's well on her way to recovery. You're Ashley's mummy and know what's best for her....just go with your gut feelings. I also feed my boy porridge when he's sick. PD didn't say 'no' to it, so i guess it's ok.

May Wong;
I dunno why i didn't get the invite. I checked my profile and my email address is correct. I've sent u another PM. Sorry about all the trouble..

Durianlover;
I went to buy the Tiger Food Jar after reading your post. Tiger should start paying u commission :p

Re: BB's gender
Went for my 19th week checkup yesterday, I'm expecting a girl

CassCL

Congrats... you have one boy and one girl now!! Rory is so cute in the playgroup pictures!

Queen
the lucky vitamin site doesn't sell calendula cream is it? I wanted to get that... if don't have then i don't think i will be getting any california baby stuff.. sorry..

casscl - congrats!!! finally a gal. haha...ur first one was a boy right? so u shld be jumping with joy! i am happy for you too...

Cass,
Congrats. You will be busy getting nice nice clothings. Gals got lots of things to buy. Thot you din want to know the gender. Ok you are the first to break the trend. You going back today right ? Have a good trip back.

Invitation for Yahoo Group
I think you cannot use hotmail accounts. Try yahoo or other email accounts.

CL
i only give 5 oz for his last feed. maybe i shall increase to 7 tonight and see how it goes. JH very funny one. he likes to drink in 5 -6 oz only.

Sharon
yeah, that's what my neighbour advised as well. better that he learn something at childcare then nothing with the maid. though i must say so far my maid is not too bad in teaching him. the only concern i have is pronounciation.

i m giving him cod liver oil now. PD says it's a natural multivit so hopefully his immunity will be better before he goes to childcare.

i duno whether is he teething but he sure has been drooling.

Cass
congrats on your gal! jsut nice, one boy one gal....

have u heard of this theory? hb says when he was young, each time he gets fever then he will grow taller. so JH is like him, everytime he fall sick means he is going to grow taller...

Grow taller during Fever
SY, that is exactly what my nanny tells me. If there is no cause like sore throat, she will says it is okay because they are growing. I was laughing about it so that is someone else saying the same thing. Dr will say body fighting virus so could have fever.

Hi Sept 03 Bride,..

I intend to call you but I got bad cough and flu...I scared I might be spread to you so better for me to keep quiet

HOw is your dinner
The food not bad right ....

SY,CL,
wat a funny theory about growing taller when they have fever. But Meg did grow taller after her recent fever.

Sy

i heard that saying before... dunno how it came about...

SY, Sharon
to be frank with you my indon maid really loves tabby and she is smart.. she will follow the way we teach my girl and she will play with her in the same stimulating way... she will show her things and ask her what it is... my other maid.. got no love for children.. only do what she is told... dunno how to respond to tabby... just stare at her whilst she play... so it really depends if your maid has an affinity for children... of course at childcare there's more structured learning and play..

SL
wanted to ask you.. how did charmaine find delcare? Did you leave her half day or full day in the end?

Tabbi/SSF/SY/CL/Tracy;

Thanks, I was quite sure this time it's a boy....but i guess God has other plans.

CL;
Didn't want to know gender initially but friends and family keep guessing until we also cannot tahan the suspense. Yes, after 3 mths here, finally flying back to london tonight.

Tabbie

I think Del-care has a 3 days free trial system. Can go try see see look look. I think SL din leave Charmaine there because I told her there was 2 cases of mycoplasma infection so her gal just recovered so immunity is low better dun. My charmaine has high fever and today is the fourth day, I keeping her away from childcare for this week. I want to ask SL if she wants to try out MMI at Robinson road too

Cass
congrats!! have a safe trip and do post here when you settle down back in London. do keep us update on yourself and rory! bye!

clare
really thank god Ashley girl is better now. do feed her some porridge, if not i imagine how poor thing she is going hungry. no logic on this fever no porridge thingy! we take porridge when we are down with fever or not well what! you take care too.

Old folks theory is porridge will 'suppress' the fever (meaning the fever wont go away). Thats y cant take porridge.
They saying have to take bread to 'lift' the fever.

CL
aiyor.. mycoplasma? something wrong with their aircon system issit? oh dear.. not a common infection to get...hope charmaine gets well soon...

Tabby kena runny nose and i gave her something to dry up the secretion now she got so much dried up phlegm stuck in her throat and she dunno how to cough out.. so poor thing... her voice kena all husky..

Clare, do what is best for bb and ignore all those old wives tale....if really no choice, then try to boil the chicken/fish bones into stock and feed Ashley.

Hi CL,

Ashley is 3.5 years old. She's not with MMI. Just a school based on Montessori teachings. The school is in the east.

CL
hmm, so it's an old folks saying that kids grow taller after fever? JH gets sick almost every month! maybe that's why will grow..haha... but poor thing.

tabby
your indon maid is very good. think that's what my maid tries to do also. but i think sometimes she is just too tired out from taking care of him that she can't be teaching him also. even after a hard day at work, sometimes i find it too tiring to try and teach JH.

oh dear, hope tabby get well soon.

CassCL
have a good trip back!