(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbie

But mycoplasma is transmitted throught mucus or from saliva right ? So it is not realli air borne so cannot be the aircon system ? Because after that 2 cases within the same week, no other new case liao. The school will give weekly update so I knew no more cases.

SY
I would think it is old wives' tales. Share with you another joke. My nanny's father used to own a medical hall so she is quite knowledgeable on what herbs to take etc. So my mum ask me to ask her for advice if Charmaine is having "mao dan" since she keep having fever.

I almost lol in front of her. She says to determine you take a hardboiled egg and rub against the chest. Then check against the light to see any fur as in "mao". I realli could not control myself when I reach home. Laugh till I cannot stop and Aden also follow suit thinking I was playing with him

Cass,
Congrats on having a girl and have a safe trip back.

CL,
Why dont you try the furry egg theory and see if its really magic.

btw, where are you guys meeting tmr at 12.45?

Cass
Congrats on having a girl!

CL
I remembered my mom doing the egg rubbing thingy when i was young and having fever..... but I never understood the theory! When my boy has a fever, I give paracetamol immediately and let him have loads of rest. Anyway what's the theory behind it?

sy
Cod liver oil is good but my son don't like the taste. He is on neobiotics and poly visol vitamins. Since JH is drooling, he could really be teething cos my son can't sleep well for abt a week when he is teething.

tabbisus
ya, just got to have the right maid. I used to have a maid that took very good care of me when I was young. She was a U-grad and can speak very good eng.

Re. Cali Baby Spree
Sorry, forgot to mention that the website I'm ordering from does not carry Calendula Cream. But the prices for other Cali Baby products are quite cheap... Anyway, since I only have orders from Denmy so far, I'll open the spree in the Marketplace. If still interested, just refer to this thread... http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/732221.html?1174402987

Cass,
Congrats on having a girl!

Re. City Hall lunch (Wed, 12.45pm)
Shall we meet outside the URS shoe shop at City Link?

RE: joke

since it is late.. let me tell you a story.

today me and my parents brought a china cousin out .. so we brought her for shopping.. and my parents want to buy her some clothes so that when she go matchmake she will look pretty.. but guess what she say.. " singapore clothings old fashion .. * eyes rolled*
my hubby say why dun we bring her to LV and Prada see if they are old fashion.. ha ha

so funny leh..

Tiger Food Jar
Went to Isetan tonight and bought the much-raved about Tiger Food jar at $49. I was so happy when I got it, thought maybe can stand by the jar so that when travel with Daren, can just throw in the ingredients together and let it cook. However, when I got home to open up and "admire" my new buy, realized that it didn't come with the spoon as seen on the box. Thanks to CL for confirming with me that hers had a spoon, now gotta go all the way back to Isetan tmr to exchange or claim back the spoon. Sianz. They left only a few pieces when I bought the jar.

Feeding Porridge when child having fever
I'll still feed Daren porridge when he had fever or sick, just that maybe don't add in as much ingredients compared to his usual porridge fare.

durianlover
Really congrats to you for getting the visa to migrate to Australia! Hope that your family will find a comfortable place to settle. My uncle and family have migrated to Perth for about 7 years now, last year then get the citizenship. Their purpose was to reach out to the surbub community via a local church. My mum and uncle had been bugging me and my hb before we had Daren to try our "luck" there to get employed, but there's no place like home where our friends are here.

Cass
COngrats on having a gal!!

Sept03Bride
Oh you were at Vivo City last Friday evening? I was there but different restaurant. Hahaha, had a celebratory and thanksgiving dinner for my family on Friday evening, at this charcoal grilled Jap restaurant.

CL
so funny..rolling the egg and see whether got fur. sometimes i wonder how all these old wives tales start one....

pity i can't join in the lunch tmr. my workshop is at orchird country club.

sigh i think i m getting busy at work again....

cookie
u going to visit carpe diem also? let me know how it goes.

sharon
JH actually quite like the cod liver oil..haha he is not very fussy with food in general. the first time i gave him, i can see his face change to a yucky expression but after giving him a few more times he ok already. plus i think he is at the stage where whatever i ask him whether he wants, he will say he want..haha...

what kind of neobiotics do u give? what is the purpose of that?

rena
huh? china cousin complain our fashion old fashion? first time hear of that...but then maybe if it's shanghai and beijing, their fashion really not bad. last time when my sis's bf working in china and when she goes visit, she says the clothes there actually not bad.

mamachan
i think i bought my tiger food jar at 49 at isetan last time also. quite a good deal.

durianlover
today saw a colleauge who got a posting in australia. he was saying property prices are really high now and the cost of living is really high. maybe my company gives very little pay but he was saying the pay that he gets is really not enough to survive there....

mamachan
i know which jap restaurant u talking abt. that is the only restaurant i have been to at vivocity. i think the food is really nice.

Rena
Wow. Your niece sounds really terror man! But it seems like she's really doing it for the attention...maybe she's wondering why her parents and more so her mom doesn't discipline her when she does wrong (I believe she's aware of what's right and wrong). But really, discipline should be carried out by your hb's side of the family. When pple knows of her character well, and she lies, surely no one will believe her then which will be really sad. One thing is consistency in her stories lor...if you make her repeat her story to 4 different pple, chances are will have four different variations.

Advancement in speech
Daren is also not really speaking much words, just his usual tribal language, babbling away to his stuffed toys. He's proficient in going "Ok!" "Mamama" "Che-che" (sounds like jie jie) "There" (finger pointing in the direction) and "Cat". He now can refuse things by shaking head or nodding his head when he gets excited over something he wants. But other than that, he pretty much understands us when we give him simple instructions and can sign if he wants more of something be it play or food, milk, where? and "Oh!" (with his hand covering over his opened mouth).

He enjoys throwing or hiding his pacifier and asking you "Where?", indicating for you to look for it. Hahaha. It's one of his games and it's really cute.

valerie
I just kay-pohed Lumen Creation's photos and saw Kirsten's pics. She's so animated in her facial expressions! Very cute! I like the sepia pic of her and your hb where you hb tilt her back and looked lovingly at her! Really brought out the essence in the pic! She's really pretty in the angel wings with the dress!

May
Can send me invitaion too?

sy
neobiotics is a probiotics for infants up to 2 years old. It's good for intestinal health and immunity, contains good strains of bacteria. Esp good when baby is sick. Got to give 1 sachet every day....quite ex, abt $9.90 for a box of 6. My son is a fussy eater but he likes the taste of neobiotics.

mamachan
Hi, yr aunty is back. She showed me the pics of Daren on her camera and commented he looks like Lionel. We will bringing her for durians at Geylang on thursday. Yes, they also ask us to consider Australia. My son also not speaking alot but can understand what we say and will point here and there for things he wants. So far, he can only say "bye bye", "hi" and "papa" clearly.

Sharon
Haha, my hb nearly drooled when he heard durian. Have a fun time catching up with my aunt! Well, I would love to go to Australia and stay, I fell in love with Perth when I went there for a holiday with my hb and pro-created Daren there. *Big Grin* Maybe can rethink after 2 years more or so, just want to clear the silly reno loan for the time being. But currently, am not willing to give up church life and the close friendships that's been forged over the years!

Hi all, been sooooo long since I logged in. Wow so many postings. Congrats to Krissie on your happy news and good luck to Durian lover on your new life in Australia. Clare hang in there. I got teary when I read about your account. I really hope that little Ashley gets through this fine - my bro also had fits when he was little. I think the last time he had it was in Primary school. He's 26 this year and seems fine now. You take care.

I have been struggling like mad these couple of weeks with my ILs away in Oxford. Sarah has become extremely whiney and clingy to me eversince her granparents (especially grandmother) left. I could empatise with esther when she said something about her maid leaving. It is very hard to get things done around the house with a baby attached to your legs at all times even when I go to the loo. The first week was tough as I had not expected myself to miss my ILs so badly. I guess I miss my MIL especially because she was good company during the day.

CL, my husband is like yours- come home from work first thing glue himself to his laptop. I think he is addicted to his FX. He hardly spends any quality time with Sarah and I feel his lack of participation more now since I have no help at all. No joke running a household with hardly any help. I can see he is trying to make some effort in playing with Sarah but his reluctance is obvious. We've been maid-hunting over the weekend but I think it will be a no go ultimately cos we're afraid that our privacy will be compromise. So we'll probably get a part time maid. Actually all these stress is adding up especially when I mentioned previously that I was offered a job. I am kinda taking these as signs that maybe I shouldn't go back to work right now. Sarah seems to need me more than ever. We'll be moving in April and Im really wondering how I'll cope running around 3 houses. I have to maintain my IL's plants and collect my BIL's letters on top of cooking, cleaning and looking after Sarah (and maybe my husband's dog if HB is too lazy too). Ai yoh, very huge headache. The only great thing that came out of this is that I finally manage to shed some stubborn post-natal weight- something that slimming sessions failed to deliver... hehe...

Well, hope to see the usual SAHMs soon.

Incidentally, I was so busy lately that I forgotten all about my birthday tomorrow. My galfriend had called me last week to meet up for lunch and I absentmindedly said okay thinking that it's because we havent met up in a while. Just realised why when another friend beeped me just now to wish me. So funny. I never thought I'll forget my own birthday. Maybe I'll bump into the RP mummies tomorrow. Will be having lunch there. =) So fast, 28 years old already.... big 30 looming ahead... =\

Sarah has not managed to speak coherently yet. I think the only few words she can say are, 'Airs' for stairs and "ass' for yes. Her mamas and papas are spoken at random and she babbles non stop. She can nod her head for some time already and recently learnt to shake her head for 'no'. So funny. Today I was washing dishes and all and she crawled to me whining away. I asked her if she was tired and she nodded so I told her to go to my bedroom doorway to wait for me. When I got there, I found her up on my bed making herself comfortable on my pillow. Later, when I was singing to her to try to get her to sleep, she started to play. So I got fed up and pretended that I was asleep. I peeped and saw her staring at me. After a while (think that I was asleep), she started to hum to herself (not exactly melodically) and patting her own chest. After a while, she fell asleep. I really thought she was so cute then. Could not resist calling up HB to tell him what she did. I guess these are the moments that I cannot bear to let go off should I go back to work or send her to a child care centre. I have the chance to witness these only cos I am her main care giver. =)

hi mommies

Can i join you for the cityhall lunch? I'll sms CL/ Queen if i can't make it.

Sandra
<font color="aa00aa">HaPpY BiRtHdAy!!!!</font>

You're still so young!!!

Hang in there... its tough not have help and esp. if hubby is too busy doing something else... take care... do join some of the SAHM outings to take your mind off things... don't forget some important "me" time for yourself to recharge...

i really had to grumble to my husband and bug him to help take care of tabby for me so that i can study now.. luckily he's more gan cheong about me passing my exams so he actually helped me watch her for 2 afternoons... which i call an achievement, considering he was playing with her rather giaping her between his legs whilst he played some computer game which is his normal way of watching her...

the good thing was that after the quality time, she's more responsive to him and she actually goes up to my hb now and calls daddy really clearly and sometimes, she knows how to "dey" him by putting her head on his arm.. (making me a little jealous..:p) but becos of this he's more proactive with playing with her which is good...

tiger food jar

told my hb abt the food jar...very tempted to get one.

Mamachan,

which istean did you go? What is the size did you get?

So many postings to catch up. Mel was down with fever again on Mon, decided to bring her to the PD although she looked well as she just recovered from her flu last week. Her ears and throat were infected but luckily her appetite is still ok. Shes now 9.97kg, finally going to hit the 10kg mark soon

Clare
Is Ashley eating her porridge well? If yes, I guess no harm giving her. Mel finished about 2/3 of the porridge yesterday evening and decided that she wanted to eat bread instead, kept asking me to take out the bread from the bag. Did you ask Dr K if its ok to give porridge?

ChickenLittle
Charmaine still having fever?
RE: Mao Dan
Dont laugh, I heard about this from my auntie when I was young and Ive a friend tried it on her boyfren and apparently is true.

ChickenLittle/Tabbie
What is mycoplasma infection? Is Tabby getting better?

Aileen
Oh so is the combi shoes that made Edgar cry until so poor thing. Thot he was sleepy

Re. Tiger Food Jar
Queen
Yes it can keep the water at boiling temp for a while. If you pour boiling hot cooked porridge into the food jar have to be careful if you pour out within 1 2 hour cos can get burn.

Sunny
So far have only try white rice only, have not tried brown rice

Sleepingdeer
Re: My Gym
Am interested in the trial, keep me posted.

ChickenLittle
I wanna go gym hoping tooI

Cookie/SH/SY
I also dont agree with slapping on the face, seems very degrading, I think smacking the hand is ok

SSF
Was at the airport quite late, around 8+ and was at T2. Good idea to go there for gathering...heehee

SSF, SY, ChickenLittle, Tracy
Im totally the opp, my surname starts with Y, so is always the last one!

Tracy
Aiyo, your neighbour blur ah, Meg looks so girly. Has she fully recovered?

Krissie
Glad to hear that Ger likes the bumble bee VCD

Rena
I think your SIL and MIL are responsible for what your niece is, cos I guess they just condone her behaviour.

CassCL
Congrats on having a girl

Tabbiesus
Tabby is really clever, impressed! She's so cute, like telling mommy I know all oredi don't have to test me...haha

Flo

Tabby's better.. i think she got roseola which is a viral infection with rash and then maybe flu like symptoms... I gave her some rhinothiol promethazine cos she got runny nose but think i over did it cos now her phlegm is stuck in her throat so i gave her rhinothiol alone.. so far so good.. actually no fever since the weekend just runny nose and phlegmy cough...

Ya.. in the video she was so sian of us asking her... now she seldoms "perform" her ABCs stunt, instead she will pull up the letters that she knows from her mini ABC mats and tell me what it is...

mycoplasma is a unusual lung infection.
http://drgreene.com/body.cfm?id=21&action=detail&ref=512

Aileen

Do you think you can make it on the 31 march 9.20 session for gymboree? I'm worried that this weekend tabby may not be well yet. If you can make it.. i'll book a session.. anyone else interested in joining? This is the tanglin mall gymboree.

Sandra
Happy Birthday! Hang in there, don't stress yourself too much. Sarah is so cute, they are so responsive now rite

Flo,

Hope Mel get better...

..brought damien to PD for vac 2 weeks ago and he weight 10.4kg..was pretty suprise with his weight that he hit 10kg...wonder where did he get the weight from...he really look like a kampong chicken without his clothes on.

Recently damien refused to drink his milk .after taking 2oz...milk intake was very low...not sure whether should i change his milk powder..currently he is taking Gain.

New Maid
My family is very suprised that damien is very attached to the maid....

Flo,
Hope Mel recovers soon. At least her appetite is still ok. Meg has fully recovered. Thanks!

Re:Mao Dan
Flo is right. My fren tried on her bro last time and indeed got fur leh. No idea why though...

Sandra,
Happy Birthday! Aiya...only 28YO, still young. I'm already at the big three-o..:S

Hi, mummies. I had checked out Carpe Diem in Punggol abt one mth ago, was accompanied by the admin staff.

Environment was really good with big running space and a swimming pool (but the pool only to scoop out water for water games, strange hor).

Very well ventilated, only the zzz room is air condtioned. I check with the staff about the mosquito issue. Apparently, they will fog about once a week.

Good playing areas with role playing, musical sections. More like those multi intellgience type with different sections each time.

I was there in the late afternoon, saw the group for 18mths only 2 kids were there. The rest are bigger kids. Majority of 18mths opt for half day session.

Guess I be visiting more centres over at the punggol side because of the environment. The only thing is the distance as zachary is at MIL place which is in hougang though we are staying in punggol. Be checking out the pat school house behing serangoon jc, spoke to the principal, sounds very knowledgeable.

Will be only letting him go childcare after i come back from germany when he is coming to 24mths. Meanwhile will let him continue with GUG.

Val
Kirsten looks so sweet. She is full of expressions so cute. I think she must be the kind that when you are able to scold / discipline her, the moment she just put on some expression you will laugh it off and forgot about what she has done.

Flo
Ok since Sleeping Deer is looking at My Gym. I will go check out My Little Gym at Forum.

Weight/ Height
Aden is 12.8 kg and 81 cm. He is realli not far from his turning 5 year old sister Charmaine at 16 kg and 112 cm.

Mao Dan
Ok will go try ha ha. In the first place, I dunno what is Mao Dan. Does it mean over heaty ?

Mycoplasma is like a kind of infection. Just refer to http://www.tts.edu.sg/pdf/Services/MedicalMatters/MycoplasmaFactSheet.pdf
http://www.health.state.ny.us/diseases/communicable/mycoplasma/fact_sheet.htm

Sandra
Happy Birthday. You make me feel realli old. Declare holiday today, dun overwork yourself.

MMI-Far East Finance Building
Esh_mummy I may take half day leave on Friday to check out with my hb. Ha ha he getting his bonus on thursday so I am thinking of going shopping and catching all the sales at Taka, Isetan before it ends.

Re. City Hall lunch (Wed, 12.45pm at URS - City Link)
Queen ok
Chicken Little ok
Denmy
SL
Tabbiesus

Hope all babies who are not feeling well get well soon !

Esh_mummy

They just revised their rates. Not sure if it is for Robinson's branch only because the Principal says not many people knows about them

Celwong,
Did you check out the charges of Carpe Diem at Punggol? I think its a good idea the pool is locked up and only used to scoop water out for the water games. I guess for safety reasons.

My parents stay in Hougang and my mum says she can take care of Megan after her playgroup at Carpe Diem or anywhere near there. But need to arrange for school bus transport which I'm not keen.

My MIL stays in Sin Ming so my plan was to have Meg at Y Kidz opp her place for 10am-12noon. But with my SIL giving birth in Sept, big changes gonna take place. My worry is how is my MIL gonna cope when my SIL goes back to work.

My 2 nephews will come over after school at 12plus. The maid can fetch them cos it does not involve crossing of main roads. If Meg finishes her playgroup at 12noon, my MIL needs to go pick her up. Eh...so no one will be at home, which means MIL has to bring the newborn along to fetch Meg and that is not very ideal. I figure my SIL will return to work earliest in Dec and baby's only 3mths old...

Maybe I'm just thinking too far ahead.:p

Sandra - Happy BD! Sarah is so cute now
Cephas has mastered how to pretend cry. He learnt it aft I did it one day. He'll cringe his face & go "heh heh heh..." & rubbing his eyes at the same time. Aft that, he will just grin & con't playing. Super wayang king!

Val - Nice photos of Kristen!

Flo - Yep, our surnames makes us last ones in class!

Tabbs - I like the way u describe yr HB "giaping" Tabby while at the PC. I can just imagine

Esh_mummy
To see how the teachers handle the kids better to go around lunch then. Because after work most kids go back liao. Friday you ok ? If half day I knock off at 12.30 so maybe can meet 1 pm over there ?

Tracy,
It is not too far. All needs to plan out. Now I aso looking out for play group for Aden. I think he do nothing with Nanny. So better send him somewhere.

Sure Esh Mummy

Then we arrange another day to meet for the Japanese biscuits ? Or since I meeting the mummies at 12.45 for lunch at cityhall, you want to pick it up from me at the control station when you go back to office.

morning mummies

babylon
I went to Isetan Scotts to buy the Tiger Food Jar. It says "Food Jar", so quite straight forward. MUst make sure they have the spoon that comes with it. I didn't check mine as I assumed since it's new should have.