(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tabbiesus,
thanks for the link. i feel bad about making u mail the stuff to me and not paying for it at all. so maybe u can give ur account number and i just give you a token sum

ssf,
i just went to goldcoast last dec. think it's a great place to just rest and relax. we went to 2 worlds, dreamworld and seaworld. edgar loved it very much. and see that he really enjoyed himself. most of the time, we just walk around the vicinity, eating, having a sip or just frolicking around the beach.

Diaper Cream - Cephas uses the Avent Bottom Balm. He has been using that since Day 1. I like the smell. Will apply w/o fail at every diaper change. Learnt my lesson once when my MIL didn't use & he developed the rashes when he was abt 4 mths old. It was heart wrenching to see the red spots! After that, will remind HB to remind my MIL to use it w/o fail.

Sunny - Heard Unity Pri is good too. For me, I prefer De La Salle because it is a Catholic School.

Krissie - No phase for that. Think can use that as a last resort if need help from priest or pastor.

celine77 - did u rent a car? if so how abt the car seat? is it easy to drive to gold coast from brisbane? how much did u pay for edgar's fare? hee sorry so many qns. i just told hb to take note of the dates. will plan to go end may where there is a vesak day holiday. hopefully his schedule works out.

no we didn't thou we did bring along an infant car seat. coz the journey from the airport to goldcoast is quite long. we tot it would be safer and more comfortable for bb. i can't comment weather it's easy to drive from brisbane to GC coz we took an airport transfer and it made a few stops to drop off passengers before reaching our apartment. so he went thru some small roads. but i guess it should be quite easy to reach aust. maps coz i used to drive there. bbies below 2 doesn't need to pay, except for taxes, which is about $300+! damn exp.

diaper cream:
we only use it when caleb has rashes. We are using Desitin now cos Drapolene failed to work when Caleb developed rashes while using Nepia L size. Use when necessary will be better cos kinda 'train' their bums to adapt and will not have rashes the minute we stop using them.

Primary Schools:
i must say our mummies in this thread is very onz.Talking about primary school when our BB is jus like 13mths.. heehee
Guess we will enroll Caleb in a neighbour school to facilitate my mum to pick him up fm school.

GAIA
Tabbi
Maybe you can sms me your address. I will see if I can ask hb to eat at Holland and drop by your place

Celine
I probably meet you first to pass you the GAIA stuff on 8 Mar if the RP lunch is on. Or you can join us lah

Mamachan
As usual will entice my hb with the good food around your place to pass you your gaia products then.

Gymboree Trial at Tanglin
Ya the free trial is at Tanglin. So maybe we can choose one weekend and go together. I will call them up later to check the timing available. Then we can put our name together.

Sunny,
Another hot favourite is South View. Got PV system too.

Weekend Playgroup
Ha ha let me packed my stuff. Maybe I can do the GD flashcards for weekend class ha ha. Hmm all the more I should get my hb to get that slide than we can have motorskills within the playyard ha ha

Gymboree trial
I am interested to go for a Gymboree trial at Serangoon Gardens during the weekends. They have 2 available slots during the weekends. The trial costs $34. Any mummy keen to join in
Saturdays: 4:00pm-4:45pm
Sundays: 3:15pm - 4:00pm

Gymboree trial (Serangoon Gardens)
1. Cheng (change to Mar 11?)
2. Zhimin (Mar 10 March 11, ok)
3. SSF (Mar 10)
4. SY (Mar11)

Hi Cheng

I am fine with both dates (10/3 and 11/3). How about SSF?

Any more mummies interested?

Re:nappy cream
I do not use nappy cream on kae as a regular routine as well unless I see that there are red spot coming.
usually When we change the diaper regularly, nappy area will be ok.

last nite was an overlook
should really check her diaper and not let it soak for so long
still feel very guilty to cause unnecessary pain to K.

I dun realy like the idea of applying cream on V area esp.. it's Gal.. cos I always think the cream might get into the pte area and can be pretty unpleasant, scare will cause harm in long term... maybe I think too far.
Only when red spot appear then I apply.

Disappointingly...I find cali bb calendular and Aloe vera cream doesnt work for kae at all ( but smell really good).
Still find desitin subside red spot fast and good but since it's medicated, I use with care.

SSF,

DFO is a factory outlets centre, of cos, it's not as good as the US ones. Some of the pricing is pretty good but it really depends. Btw, Pumpkin Patch's not cheap there. : (

The drive from Brisbane airport to Gold Coast or Sunshine Coast is abt 2hrs. It's really easy to drive there from Brisbane. After you leave the airport, you will get to a roundabout. Follow the directions to either Sunshine coast or Gold coast. Sunshine coast and gold coast are in different directions.

re: car seats
Can rent from the car rental company but it's quite expensive. You can check out the websites of the rental companys like hertz first in Sg to find out the rates. I brought my own cos Charmaine super hates car seats and I thought that if it's a car seat that she recognise she might be more willing to stay in it. Actually in gold coast and sunshine coast area, because it's a more vacation place, I don't really see traffic police. If you let me know which are the apartments that you are considering in gold coast area, I can share my comments. My dad used to stay there so I am quite familiar with gold coast area. : )

Flo
Hmm... Looks like Kae is going for neibourhood school

Cos Mummy here, can't afford to shift house or make huge donations to elite schools!
I rather pray for kae to be a diligent and intelligent kid
so she dun have to struggle with the ever changing and taxing school enviornment

Let me go home and tell HB abt our topic here to stress him a bit.. hahahaha...surely he will say we plan so far ahead liao *faintzzz*

Chillies
I dun mind sharing... but why u need only 3?? Can buy and keep mah.
The expiry is 2008 or 2009 Sorry I kaypo. Cos I also have a few tins extra at home but I KS cos I know the voucher expired March 2007. So I thought wanna stock up.
Use the voucher.. cheaper by 15% wor, I think it's a good buy

You wanna keep the 3 tins?
I'm ok

CL,

If the RP lunch on 8 Mar is on, I can pass Tabby her Gaia for you. Cos I will need to pass by HV to get to my mil's place to pick up charmaine.

cookie,
I think i have the coupon. Let me go dig first. If have, then I let you know.

re: schs
Actually my hubby's the one who's more insistent on sending charmaine to a gd sch.

sysac
thanks. unity? need to check where's the actual location. not sure what's the name of the school at my block there.

CL
southview need to take LRT? mayb too far for my mil to pick her up. but still got many many year to go when she reaches the P school age. haha... not sure i will move to other place or not.

SL - wow thks for the info. DFO is a must go then. hee..coz i lurve outlets!
how long is the journey from airport?

as for accomodation, pls let me know if you have any good apt to share. i have not decided on accomodation yet. still at the very initial planning stage.

re: gymboree class
i will prefer on a sat coz sun i need to go church and may be abit rush if i go for the later service. anyway let me know wats the decision and i ask my hb again. hb is Ok with sat though

ChickenLittle
The slide is OOS! After much procastination, decided to place order last Fri morning but is all grabbed

Cookie
If you are concerned that Destitin cream is medicated maybe u can try A&D cream. It contains Petrolatum and Lanolin, texture is a bit like vaseline. Recommended to Denmy before and she finds it good too.

Flo
Yes I heard abt A&D from you before. if there is chance I will get a tube to try.
Ya abit concern abt the medicated Desitin. Dun feel good abt too much medicated stuff.

re: fireworks

yesterday i had dinner with my in laws and the rest of the family at 1 fulletom and we waited to see the firewworks.. elijah was havign so much fun there and watching the fireworks.. i realise that with the nieces and nephew around he is more willing to walk holding on one hand.. coz he's a little lazy to walk ..

mamapanda,
Congrats on ur new car! Must be exciting

RE: diaper cream
I also don't apply all the time...only when her bottom seems a bit red then i'll apply. Lazy plus i find it messy to apply diaper cream. Also concerned about any 'side-effects' of applying too often!

Mamachan

Can check with you regarding the bumwear cloth diaper?

The insert is disposable or washable? Is the bumwear good as in will it leak? Need how many pieces to change per day roughly?

Dug out the playgroup list...

====================
Play group

Think we split into 2 groups. One for weekend, one weekday, so that we can make separate arrangements for each group. I've put everyone on default weekday unless you indicated that you wanted a weekend.

Weekday
1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Wenyl
6. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
7. SSF
8. Mamachan
9. Denmy
10. sleepingdeer

Weekend

1)SL - weekend
2)Cheng
3)Chicken Little - Sunday as Aden has class on Sat
Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

<font color="aa00aa">So for the first session:

Make it more informal

Topic/Theme: MUSIC
Time: 1.30pm onwards
Date: to be confirmed with mommies

Timetable
1.30pm : gathering and mixing of mommies and babies
2pm : MUSIC time (circle and songs): intro to music instruments
2.30pm : GYM time (slide, ball pool, garden play)
3pm : Snack/ nap time for mommies/babies

I am free to do it on weekends too... so how? I can do the first one if no mommy objects.. weekday or weekend also can...

Was also thinking of a small project for babies.. like making a tamborine out of paper plate and bells or rattle with rice and empty bottle... but this would need materials and supplies.. dunno how babies will respond to it cos they may be too young... what do you mommies think?

Hello mummies.

Tracy,
Oh dear, hope Meg will recover very soon!

Re. diaper cream
I use sparingly after every diaper change. Have been using Drapolene since birth and Isaac has NEVER got diaper rash problems. After hearing so many good comments from mummies here, I did buy 1 Desitin and 1 A+D cream to standby just in case he got rashes. The A+D came into good use when he had severe diarrheoa due to Rotavirus the week before. 1st time his bum and anus was red. The A+D cream cleared up the rashes within 2 days. Not sure whether Drapolene would have been just as effective cos thought since I have Desitin and the A+D, I'll try those instead. But for normal daily use, I find Drapolene good enough. Either that or Isaac does not have sensitive bum skin.
A+D cream (Original) is a bit too waxy/oily. Has as a strong smell too. I have to wash my hands with soap after using the cream. Then again, I find that Desitin Creamy has a powdery feel... Still feel that Drapolene is the easiest to apply. Calendula cream is also nice, but I rarely use it on the bum.

Re. leaking diapers
Have this problem with Isaac's diapers recently. Dunno if he's peeing more now or I need to change a brand. Isaac usually has his last change of diapers at 9pm but recently, urine would leak from the front (sometimes from the sides) and stain his PJs. The next morning, usually the back part of his diaper is still dry. Sometimes, the urine will wet my bedsheets and mattress protector. Last week, I had to change the sheets 3 times! I figured that other than for obvious reasons that baby boys tend to wet the front of the diaper more, Isaac likes to sleep on his sides and on his tummy, that's why urine does not flow to the back of his diaper. Anyway, I used Fitti at night, was working very well until recently. So I changed to Pampers, seems better, but had also encountered leaking twice.

Tabbie..
I thought I saw the word medicated on the tube of creamy Desitin... no?? Did I see wrongly?
hmm.. I'm not a medical person definitely :p let me go home and re-check the tube again.

ky,

the 50% of off the trial class and neednt sign up to get the discount. If you do decide the sign up, get 10% off the package price.

Queen,

I never have leaking diapers with Charmaine last time. Ya I realised after my hb changed Aden, he always wet in front too. I think when you change the diaper for boys, have to pull up more in the front. Boy's very wasted man, half wet only. Last time charmaine's realli utilized the whole diaper man.

Diaper Cream
I dun use diaper cream too. Except if I notice his bum turning slightly red or rashes. Cali Baby works well for Aden. Now I trying GAIA Skin Soothing Lotion. The lady told me it works for her to avoid mosquito bites.

Tabbi
Suggestion for the playground. Babies now responds more to colours and sound. So can use those Fabric hair bands sew some bells on it to put around their wrist. Can sing and let them shake their wrist. Use paper cups and put in rice can be a nice shaker too. Can get those colour stickers to let them paste the stickers to the cups to make it colourful for them.

re:playgrd

i dun think my current hse is big enough to even accomodate the babies to sit in a circle. haha...i think i can only open my hse when i move to my new hse in mid may.

Chicken little

Good idea about the hair band tamborines.. next time the girls can recycle for hair band. But must get big enough not to constrict the wrist...but how to seal the paper cups ah?

SSF
doesn't matter, we can always take turns to rotate.. i just volunteer now cos i am free and also cos i just opened up tabby's ball pool and want to make use of it before i keep it again... quite "chor dang"... mommies who have come to my house before have seen it the last time.. can sit a few babies inside..

Zhimin
The insert is washable. And no, have not encountered any leakages. He naps in his bumwear at times and so far so good. I bought the package A to try out which has 4 pieces of Bumwear Diaper and 7 inserts. The Bumwear Diaper drys very fast when I wash I just briefly rinse so 4 diapers can survive the day. The inserts take a much longer time to dry, sometimes 2 days or one day if the weather is super hot. We were able to insert one piece of old cloth nappy into the insert itself before inserting into the Bumwear Diaper. I would let him wear Bumwear out to the market or the nearby Tiong Bahru Plaza for a walk (I'll put 2 inserts just in case). But I've not try for night use, so no comments.

Tabbi,

Can just cut a paper and use scotch tape to stick around. Quite firm one.

Other motor skills will be like scoping ping pong balls, etc.

re: playground
could i give suggestion though not joining as it's weekday?
for the shaker, mayb can recycle those small mineral water bottle and put beans/sand/rice inside?
if you have wooden sticks (thick and smooth) type, can let bb hold and hit against each other? if got small pail, can turn upside down, then let bb hit on the bottom (make it like drum)?
if you have spare/spoilt/unwanted computer keyboard, can let bb play with it. when pressing, can tell them what alphabet/number they are pressing?

my 2 cents worth to utilise things around us to let bb play.

Cookie,
heehee...me like u, also hv ready stock at home. 4 tins. My hub wld kill me to see another 7. I want to use before the coupon expires. Eh...i duno abt the expiry till I order. Just let me know if u wanna share k?

RE : Diaper Cream
I also dont use. I wash his butt when he poos. Now we give him 30-60mins of "air" time. Going round without diaper. Gotta pee him every 15mins. However, if he has any rash, Desitin works very well for me. Just put once or twice, no more redness.

chilles - we are helping our hb to save money lei. they shld thank us for helping them stock up cheap buys. hee...i recently bought 15 tins of mamil gold. hee..hb said i very li hai at saving money. haha..

SSF,
I just stock up 10 packs of nepia from NTUC bcos of the promo. My hub said our house like warehouse. Now worse, my boy enjoys throwing things.U can find toys practically everywhere, even the toilet! Hence its a messy warehouse. heehee

chilles - hahaa...i also stock up 16 packs of nepia diapers the last time supplier sold @ $14 bucks per pack. i am also eager to stock up more after hearing of ntuc discount but then i am moving hse in May so hb said no more intakes or else we will have problem moving those stuffs. as for toys, i have a big box from toyoga that i got to store all his miscellaneous toys. so in my living rm, only have 1 big box and 2 lego box sets. so everytime Caleb ask to open the box, i make sure he helps to keep it in. in a way, the stuffs are also less dusty. i am also trying to control the amt of toys he has or else it will be too messy and tats somethg i cannot tahan lor.

AK,
Yes you can collect the kits anytime now. Sorry I just saw your sms. Phone is down again. Haizzz, this is the 2nd phone Keenan has broken liao... dunno how many more phones to go.... so meanwhile cannot invest in good phones, only the cheap ones will do liao...

Chillies
Ok I will share with you.
if I have too many, I can let go to my friend's baby too. We awalys share lobang.
My HB different...he always say buy lor buy lor.. can store ma as long as it's cheaper

Chillies
The nepia promo till when? I want to go NTUC but I cannot find time!!!
I wan to stock up on the nepia diaper too!!!

Mamachan, Zhimin,
re: bumwear
I use that on Keenan when he gets rashes too. It's ok for day use but definitely not night. Cos his wee wee and poo poo will leak!! Unless, like what Mamachan does, use 2 inserts, which I haven't done so myself, so wouldn't know.

re: Milk Formula
I also recently ordered 12 tins of Enfapro cos it was much cheaper than the supermarkets. My hb commented that we can open shop already. heehee

re: Diaper Cream
I use A+D on Keenan and I apply a very thick layer on him. Does that mean that he will be very dependent on the cream? Is that how he gets a rash when its applied too thinly?

hi mommies ... I'm forwarding an email from another forum ... anyone, whoever, can help do something pls do. the one at Yew Tee would be dearly missed by my family if this happens ...

Hi parents,

Just wondering how many of you are aware of those small little children's libraries around your estates? They are know as CCLs. Some of you might be regular users. The government had made a decision to close down all of these CCLs by March this year. There are currently only 9 CCLs around and they are all going!!! Reason was the low patronage and operation cost which I think is not really that much actually. Does that meabns that reading for little ones are no longer impt! I just would like to find out if any of you out there are fighting to keep your nearest CCLs open??? We are trying on our estate and still working on it. CCLs are the best place for working moms who are bring their little ones to read and browse books. Just getting books on kids behalf is just not good enough to let kids love books more. The hours and distance is great for working moms if u have 1 near your place. If u have no time, it's safe for your caregiver to bring the child too!

CCLs to most regular users are the bets place for our little ones to learn about books and read. The big regional libraries are just too overwhelming for the very young ones and some are in fact pretty "cold". These CCLs are very cozy and just the right size for the kids. Not crowded with running older kids, lower shleves and appropriate books for the younger group. They are opened only in the late afternoon till abt 9 at night and afternoons on weekends. They are great places for you and your caregiver to spend some time introducing books to your little ones without the hassle of travelling to the bigger regional libraries especially if they are not within walking distance. Eg. if u stay in Yew Tee, it would be a lot easier for you to go to the CCL than to take a bus to Choa Chu Kang RL.

I would appreciate any updates on the other CCLs around the other estates. Thanks!