(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Babycare Festival - Really nothing much to see unless you have in mind to get from the few stores. Of course if you want babysafe products , it is cheaper.

1) Maternity clothes - SSF : only like moms in mind, momsrus , nothing worth going. Rather just pop by spring and thyme

2) Britax Carseat - Tracy : Only saw cheap booster seat, Then those combi ones from Tai Sing

3) Tandem Strollers - Denmy : Not at all

4) Car seats, Nursing bras, Lightweight Strollers - Mamapanda : Combi strollers from Tai Sing actually same price as their showroom. Only those going at 50% which are made in china and only 3 point harness.

5) Milk powder for pregnant/ nursing mummy esp Friso and price - KY : Nope

I only bought a Combi $5 (fork and spoon set in a box) plus GAIA products.

Vaccinations
I am quite a kiasu person when it comes to vaccinations. I work in a medical assistance company hence will ask company dr, pd, family GP. If all think it is good, I will definitely take the vaccinations man.

====================
Play group

Think we split into 2 groups. One for weekend, one weekday, so that we can make separate arrangements for each group. I've put everyone on default weekday unless you indicated that you wanted a weekend.

Weekday
1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Wenyl
6. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
7. SSF
8. Mamachan
9. Denmy
10. sleepingdeer

Weekend

1)SL - weekend
2)Cheng
3)Chicken Little - Sunday as Aden has class on Sat
Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

re: **Bday Bash Memento**

guess most of the mummies who attended the bday bash missed out the post chickenlittle posted weeks ago.

the committee was nice to come out with the idea of doing up a memento for all the mummies who attended the bash. therefore photo of your little darling is needed.

here's the requirement:
- 1 close-up photo of your baby
- photo to be taken during their 1YO
- the photo file size to be 300kb and above. best is 800kb to 1MB.
- email to [email protected]

the rest will be my duty to do everything together =)

RE: Suntec baby fair
Went down just now but felt there was nothing much. No Britax car seats, only saw Kidzloft selling 2 models of carseats on discount. Then there was combi carseats too. Other than that, nothing much for carseats. Diapers only Pureen, Drypers, n some other brand (can't rem what coz i don't use it for my girl).

krissie,
Thanks for sharing on baby's sleep. Actually, Janelle was a pretty easy baby to put to bed. She has been sleeping in her cot since birth and slept in her own room at 3.5 months. She used to just roll around in her cot and drift off to sleep herself, and also used to sleep thru the nite. Dunno now why so tough. Am hoping it's just a phase!
Perhaps i shd just be thankful that at least she's been pretty easy to put to bed for the first year of her life, rather than groan abt how tough she is now!

durianlover
i see.. then maybe now she's getting more separation anxiety? Gerald also v funny tonite.. woke for 4times since he slept already.

rachel
let me go find the pic and PM you

hello mummies

have been MIA for a while. I am in Singapore for almost 2 weeks now. Came here to see my nephew and to take a break also. Instead I hardly have any time. Vania is super super sticky and clinging to me ALL THE TIME!! She is ok playing with my mum and sis with me around. The moment I stand up she will panic and want me to carry. Having said that, it is still more refreshing than being at home with MIL hehehe =P

I have stopped latching her on to sleep. Instead she likes to sleep on my bare tummy hehe. Guess my tummy is as soft as breast?? =P Actually I want to stop bf while I am here. But she simply refuse to drink FM. She only takes it when mixed with Weetbix. So I still latch her on morning and night only. Afternoon feed is normally replaced with yoghurt. I have been giving her Weetbix for 2 weeks, mixed with FM, banana and a few raisins. So far she likes it a lot. It has been good for her digestion too.

sorry mummies I simply can't catch up with this thread. Can only catch up at nite after Vania sleeps. I can barely open my eyes before I finish reading all the archives. The next night the cycle will start again with extra pages to read hehehe.

congrats to pregnant mummies and gud luck to those who are trying. hb was telling me the other nite MIL told him Vania can sleep with them when I have #2!!! Hearing that made my blood boil. That really made me think twice about having #2 in near future.

sick babies and mummies,
take care of yourself and wish u have a speedy recovery.

Durianlover
Humm thats quite a tough nut to crack. Hopefully is just a passing phase and Janelle will get over it soon.

Sunny
My hb goes to the Chinese physician in JE too; I must say Im really impressed with her

Mamachan/Krissie
I also heard that is ok to let them sleep in cot until 3. Ive no intention to upgrade Mel at the moment too since it prevents her from walking all over the room before bed timeheehee

ChickenLittle
Then the one I got from Clare is the prize for Mummy n bb look alike, didnt get any present from her.

Sysac
I got a Elmo lift and look book for Mel and end up she tore the flaparrgh

Cindy
Congrats on having another boy!

Mamapanda
Congrats on your new job and car too

SH
Your encounter with JW is so funny

Rachel
Oops sorry so busy that forgot about it, will find one and send you

flo
I'm still shopping around for the car. Haven't buy yet but will definitely get one cuz NTU is too far and remote. Hee.

may/flo,
can i get the contact for the mattress? was thinking of bringing it back to jakarta. please pm me coz afraid i will miss the posting. thanks

RE: Primary School
Cookie, I was advised not only need to choose primary school with affiliation to secondary school but must strategise too. Apparently, have to check the cut off point for PSLE result cos some of the top sec schools have very high cut even for affiliated students. My ex boss gal was in RGPS gifted program, although shes so smart, she even miss RGS affiliated girl cut off by 1 point. But luckily she has direct entry cos shes under the gifted program.

Actually Im in a dilemma whether I should shift house, be a PV or give donation so as to get Mel into an elite primary school or just let her attend a neighbourhood school. Anyway I receive all my education (apparent from uni) within AMK neighbourhood and I survived well. My friend told me a kid will only get a lot of attention from an elite school only if he/she is in the top few or bottom few classes (more remedial class for the poor students so that the overall passing marks are not drag down by them!). I often ask myself is it better to be an average student in a top school or a top student in an average school. Anyway, I was told that some of these top schools are really pressure cookers (Ive heard some schools even have entry assessment test for primary onegosh!). On one hand, I think putting Mel in a better school will give her a head start, but on the other hand I would like her to enjoy her childhood and take pleasure in the process of acquiring knowledge. I find some of these kids are so poor thing, even have loads of enrichment classes to attend during school hols, unlike our times, sch hols is rather zuo-bo. 2 of my friends nephews were in this primary school that offer gifted program. Apparently the 2 boys (they dont know each other) dont really do well in school and were in the last few classes. Their teachers are so bad that they keep telling the kids they are the lousiest in the entire school. And one of the boys even got 2nd in class last year. So when my friend told him he has done well, guess what is his reply. aiya what is the use of being 2nd, my teacher already say our class is so lousy. I really feel sad for the boy; I think the teachers should be more encouraging rather than psycho-ing and labelling the kids that they are bad. Some kids may be late developers, so this might prevent them from progressing further (just reminded me of the precious child link that Yuki has posted). This is so bad for their self-confidence and development. Imagine even for us adults, how would we feel if our boss tells us we are stupid everyday. I tell myself no way Im going to send Mel to this school. Sorry for being so long winded, but I really hope our education will have some major overhaul in 5 years time.

Cindy;
Congrats on your baby boy!

Mashybrainz;
i think the other name for Vit A is Roaccutane (isotretinoin).

It's more suitable for people who are suffering from recalcitrant acne. Women who are TTC should not take it because it causes fetal malformation. And doctors recommend sexually active women to take it with contraceptive pills.

I was on a 6 months course of Roaccutane some years ago when my breakout did not respond to oral antibiotics =(

need some help here. is there any tips or ways i can use to change dylan from napping in sarong to bed??

dylan is a daytime sarong baby since birth. recently, dylan been sitting up in his sarong and trying to get out when he woke up. really scared the hell out of me. so now i have to check on him every few minute, just in case i did not hear him and he will fall out of the sarong. am thinking its time to let him nap on bed, but not sure how to go about it so both of us wont suffer during the converting period...

any advise?

durianlover
recently, dylan on and off will also refuse to fall asleep on his own. usually after his milk and kissing good night to papa and me, i will carry him into his room and shut the door. will sing a song while i carry him and walk around in the dark room. after that i will say good night to him and place him into his cot. by then he will start scratching his head and i will leave his room. sometime he will talk and sing for awhile before he knock out.

now on and off he will start to cry when i am placing him into his cot, will stand up and scream for me to carry him. after a few nights of crying, one night i just happen to press him down by his chest and surprisingly he quiet down at once. then start to scratch his head in his usual way.

from then on i use this method. using my palm to stroke his chest, think he feel comfortable and secure bah.

Vmum

Can't PM you cos you don't accept PM. Anyway, here you go

Mun Fong Trading Co
10 Anson Road
#30-07 International Plaza
Singapore 079903
Tel/Fax: 68458186
email: [email protected]

You can contact Francis Liou @ 9389 5898 from MFTC.

Rachel
Have you tried letting dylan sleep in his cot during daytime? My mum still let Mel sleep in sarong for her nap at her pl but on weekends I let her sleep in her cot and she has no problem. But I normally put her in her cot when she's sleepy if not she'll scream her lungs out.

re: Primary School
hmmm, actually i find it all depends on our children whether he or she is enjoying and learning well in school. i survived well in neighbourhood pri and sec school,and one thing for sure, i enjoyed my pri and sec school days.

of coz, we want the best for our children and a good head start for them. but still, all depends on our children.

i had a friend who sent her girl to nanyang girl, turned out her girl struggled everyday on her schoolwork. the poor girl was upset with herself and of coz she was not happy. in the end my friend decided to transfer her to a neighbourhood pri school. her girl is happier now and most of the time will report to her whats the happening things that took place in school =)

Flo
i tried before. rock him till my arm going to break, but the moment i lower him down he will wake up and start screaming. even tried patting him but he will get up and start playing (he thought i was playing with him) *faint*

I going crazy soon. Now I know what u all mean by it is a blessing for baby to walk in later stage. Jamie is now a commando in action in shopping centre! She reject pram and don't want us to carry. She want to walk and keep taking things from other shop's shelves! Urgh!!

RE: Sick Babies
Hope all the babies get well soon.
Jamie is having running nose too and mummy got it from her as well and I have got sore throat as well.

RE: Pneumoccal Jab
Check with PD when I brought Jamie to see her yesterday. She say at this time, our tod will need to take 2 jabs. If they are taking at 2 yrs old, 1 jab will be enough. Cost is $165 per jab. In Singapore, there are abt 30cases each year. So PD advise if I am putting Jamie into Childcare, it is better to jab her. Here's the schedule that she give me:

1) Now - Pneu Jab 1
2) 14mths - Chicken Pox (Prevention of 85% ONLY)
3) 15mths - MMR
4) 16 or 17mths - Pneu Jab 2
5) 18mths - 5-in-1 Booster Jab

No. 3 and 5 are compulsory for our tods now.

Now sure if I want to put Jamie to my Pri Sch. I was in Nan Hua. Or should I put her to Fairfield as I am from that Sec? Hmm... Mamachan, u putting Daren back there?

Re. Primary School
Wow... lots of discussion on this already.
Actually, me and HB quite bochap one leh...
We are thinking of sending Isaac to a neighbourhood primary school that is like 2 blocks down the road from my MIL's place. Purely for convenience sake loh. At most, we'll send him to De Lasalle, which my HB was an old boy. Never thought of doing things like moving house, or volunteering or donating money just to get Isaac into a good school. I do believe that going to a good school should give a good head start, but somehow I still have the notion that as long as the child is hardworking and that proper guidance is provided, he/she can make it anywhere. Not sure if this notion is naive now, especially when kids are so smart and competitive nowadays. I mean, I was from a average neighbourhood primary school and wasn't exactly a good student during my lower primary years. I'm those kind of bad student who hides workbooks under my bed and lie to my teachers about them! And was really mediocre in my exam results. Imagine! Hahah... but somehow I managed to become more sensible from P4 onwards and eventually made it to one of the top secondary schools, on my own efforts actually, there weren't any special guidance from my parents other than the usual nagging, or from my teachers. In fact, I surprised my P6 Form teacher cos I was among the bottom few in terms of results in my class. My younger sis, who also went to the same pri school, she was a high achiever all the way loh. Top in standard all the way through pri school (even now, she's on the verge of getting 1st Class honours in MBBS). Also the same pri school, same teachers mah. She was really hardworking, ok, maybe she also has got higher IQ or something. I also have a Uni classmate who was from a neighbourhood Pri, Sec and JC, but ended up with 1st class honours in Uni. What I'm trying to say is, I feel a lot depends on the child's nature and willingness to study. So I guess I'm hoping that no matter where I send Isaac to, he can still come out tops as long as he puts in the effort?

May
Meg is now 10.45kg. So about there.

Flo, Queen,
Not too long ago over lunch with an editor of TNP, he used to be a teacher. He was relating to us of how a boy was a top student in a neighbourhood primary school. But when he got into an elite sec school, his grades started dropping. So the editor was wondering how come, since he's results were so good in pri. After evaluating, he realised its because the boy's confidence was affected when he entered the elite school. He was facing alot of competition from others who are as good or better than him. So the editor got him to trsf to a neighbourhood sec school. And indeed, the boy exceled in that school. So it sometimes its also good to be in a neighbourhood school where you will be the top and not just one of the few good ones.

In fact, these few years the top students mostly come from neighbourhood schools. I feel ultimately it depends on the child. I have friends in good schools, but their results are so-so anyway. Most of my friends including myself are from catholic neighbourhood schools and all of us are doing ok now. Not that we are big-time lawyers, doctors etc, but we are contented and happy where we are now.

yap , Queen,

i really agree with you.. it all depends on the child..therfore we should not give them too much stress..

Rachel,

as your boy is getting older he starts to need some asurrance .. so it will be good if you put him down and lay your hands on his chest and say a night prayer for him every night.. this is what i do with elijah.. and nowaday if i dun pray with him , he will not sleep and will keep waiting at a corner of his cot and rubbing his eyes... at times he will cry coz too tired waiting.. you try and see how ..

Prim School - De La Salle is near my home. It's a Catholic School. I am not likely to be shifting out of CCK so likely will send Cephas there
I heard this schools is hot & one of the better ones in CCK because I have a friend who volunteers to teach Cathecism classes there. As for Sec schools, it's affliliation are all Catholic schools, so hope he'll move on from there.

Queen/Tracy
Actually I hold the same view as you gals but I was constantly reminded by friends that I have to assume my kid is just likely to be a average performer and have to plan in such a way that they are able to complete their basic education reasonable ok (so is not necessary the top top schools but reasonably ok school). Also with all these new schemes that allow direct entry even all the way to uni, would mean that the "open category" competition among the public school will be even tougher. Also one of them even said that the environment is also impt, cos some of these neighbourhood schools may have kids from very complicated background so is better to try to get them into a single ed school until JC. Well I think us as parents should instil good values in our kids, but at the same time I also agree that we can't be naive to ignore "outside" influence altogether esp when our kids reach such impressionable age. The report in the papers that a 9 year old girl got preggy really freak me out...haiz

Rena,
haha, I think is us that is more stress than our kids. My colleagues spend their leave these days by revising their kids' school work during exam period.

Queen
BTW, PV does not only confine only to the top elite school. I was chatting with my hb's cousin during cny. His gal is in the school you intend to send Isaac to now. Apparently is one of the better neighbourhood schools in Woodlands. Need to go for balloting even if stay within 1km. He advises us to do PV if we plan to send Mel there. OMG!

Tracy,
Partly the reason why you see most top students are from government schools these days are because independent school like RI, RGS and Nanyang Girls are excluded from the ranking.

mashy
can put me on weekend? weekend i can only do sun. can put me on weekend list?

re baby fair
i also heard nothing much to see. so prob won't be going down.

re schools
sigh, hb just now say we cannot move house if i do PT work. so got to think more long time.

my personal view is to give my kid the best and the rest is up to him. i will of cos try my best to let him go to good sch etc but at the end of the day it depends on whether he can cope. my thinking is i do my best and the rest is up to him lor...personally my experience is that even if u dun do well in good sch, at those level wide exams like PSLE, O levels etc, u will stlil do reasonably well. my JC classmates were like failing all the time but A levels most of them got 2- 3 As. so i wd think going to a good sch is impt unless the kid cannot cope.

re weight
think JH is abt 10.5? not very sure but he feels really heavy

Flo,
Really? Woodgrove Pri is so hot meh? I seriously dunno which schools are the good ones in our area. Aiyo... don't think I'll do PV just to enrol Isaac into the school? There is a new Primary school currently in construction beside the sports school. If Woodgrove cannot, then will try that new school.

sysac,
De Lasalle also hot ah? My HB was from De Lasalle and then went to the affiliated SJI, maybe Isaac will follow the same route. Only thing is CCK is some distance from my place.

chicken_little - thks for the info on the M&B fair. ya qite disappointing ..my hb also commented that there is nothing much there. will give it a miss this year. anyway i have already splurge 2 bottoms at spring. not cheap at all. kinda regret not getting any during my first baby coz at that time, i can even wear 3/4 pants to work. but not with this new job! haiz...

rachel - oops forget all abt the pic. sorry will send out to you soon ya and thanks for doing up the memento!

re: playgrp at homes
i can only attend the weekend session. Let me know beforehand if there is any date in mind coz hb will be travelling alot in the mth of Mar/apr. haiz..

Rachel..

I haven't got a close up of tabby yet... can i wait til Jocelyn is done with her photos for tabby to see if got a nice one for the momento.. sorry for the delay.

RE: playschools
I was at the baby fair and i noticed this baby inc.. i saw them in previous fairs but wasn't interested then... they seem quite good lei... have gymboree and kindermusik incorporated in their daily programme and ratio is 1:3 teachers/ students... they have 2 branches one in bukit timah and other at katong i think.. anyone heard anything about them.. they are also montessori based...

i know many mummies went recently to aussie for vacation. Did someone went to Brisbane? If so, can let me know what's nice over there other than the 3 worlds in gold coast? Hb suggested going there during May before the second one pops out in Aug

RE: Primary Education
Huh, to me, its the environment of the school that is impt. The thing wif elite school is at least u wldnt get those very problematic kids but of cos they can be very snobbish. Its more stressful for the kids as they r expected to perform. If a kid is not so bright and I believe there wld certainly be peer pressure when they hit P4 onwards as they understand better.

The teacher u get is more impt that anything else. U can put your kid in a top school but so happen the teacher sucks....or put in a neighbourhood school but a good teacher. Most of the time "elite" school performs bcos the parents themselves put in alot of effort too. Hence, its a both way thingy. In neighbourhood, as some parents r not as educated or bo chap, its a one way with the teacher trying so hard but not reinforce at home.

Its hard to make parents understand that they themselves hv to put in the effort to improve their kids work. One kept asking me abt remedial but can sign the spelling with the corrections undone! Apparently, she expects me to do the "miracle".

Juz a little update. The ratio now is 30kids to 1 teacher for P1 and P2. P3 onwards, 40kids a class. As a PV u hv to hit a certain amount hrs in order to get your child a plc. No CAs (term test) for some schools, only SAs (Semestral Exams). Some only take final exams. I mean for lower primary.

Brought my son to PD as he has been coughing and nose has mucus. Well, paid $100 for a bunch of med. Urgh!!! Hate to feed him. Kena "boxed" the last time, by a 13months...haha

He was fussing in the clinic as I was alone, there's a 20M boy so nice to bring him a toy. Then the two of them bz chatting in their own lang. So farni. Then my boy aggressive pushed his friend aside as he din wanna share a chart. So paiseh. He did the same to another girl when she came along to play the same toy.

Came home and tell my hub its time to teach him abt sharing. So embarrassing!

Hello, so many mummies and bb sick. I brot Ryan to his PD for his chicken pox jab, was told I had to wait for 23 babies before its his turn. The clinic was so pack, my goodness. I left immediately cos didnt wan Ryan exposed to all the germs.

Congrats to all mummies having babies....so exciting to start the cycle all again.

Re: school
Maybe by the time our children have to attend school, the system will have changed. So stressful for the parents nowadays too.

RP Mummies lunch
Ladies, shall we lunch next week?

<font color="ff0000">HELP</font>
JW got diarrhea today. I think i changed him more than 10 times...lost count already. The diarrhea has cause very bad nappy rash. It's very red now and he screams the moment the wet wipe touches his bottoms (I haven't even started wiping yet and he is yelling and crying liao.)

I am currently using Drapolene cream but it doesn't seems to be working. So wanna ask if anyone else has any better cream to recommend??

SH,
Drapolene is hopeless. Try Desitin (normal) for bad nappy rash. When it gets better, use Desitin (creamy) for preventive purpose. Poor JW. Hope he gets better soon!
Also, i recommend u wash him directly in the toilet with warm water instead of using wet wipes. Will be less painful on his sore bottom.

RE: school
Wow you all really think ahead! I guess i am not too uptight abt my girl going to a good primary school. Kind of share the same views as Queen. And coz i had a very enjoyable childhood (ie. primary school days), i'd really want my child to enjoy her childhood and not be too stressed out by exams and tests, etc. Maybe will go Australia for her primary school education..see how.

RE: books
Janelle is 1 kid who really loves books. From 11 months onwards i noticed she really took an interest to books. She can sit on the sofa and entertain herself with 3 or 4 books for up to 1 hr on her own.

May
Yes, most likely I'll be sending Daren to Fairfield Primary. Will quickly apply to join alumni via my mum (she's alumni member and quite active). Only need to pay $150. 3 years ago only $50 nia! Better join now before price increase! I quite enjoyed my primary school days though there are years where I had really horror teachers, but now they have retired liaoz. =) I like Fairfield's school-u color and school song anyway =)

Rachel
Last time when I tried to train Daren sleep in cot in the day, I use the cry-it-out method lor. But day-time they take longer time to sleep. So until he got really tired, he finally slept but for 45min- 1 hour. I think now would be good to start to let them take one nap a day, so maybe can try to delay his morning nap time. Either that, lay down with him and pat him to sleep on the bed then transfer to cot?

SH
As for now, avoid using wipes, use water to rinse his bottom instead. I've not experience bad rashes with Daren before but I use Drapolene on him at times when he has rash.

Talked to hubby.. his first response were.. Gosh..so fast..no need lar, normal school can already. What for stress her. Most prob will be sending her to the pri sch opposite street of my house. Which is abt 5mins only.

RE: Mattress
Mummies that are interested in the mattress. As promised I have taken two pics of the mattress. This is how that salesman told me that I can convert into a mini cot for #2. As newborn dunno how to turn yet. Then next time can convert to bigger bed. Another pic shows how the side bumper can be removed.
Hehe..dun get mistaken ah..I am not earning any commission from him. But think this is the best purchase I have got that never get nagging from hb and my mum.

710541.jpg

710542.jpg

re : primary school
I'm starting to think about it as my #1 is 4 yrs old... believe in PV but not donation. This is an advice from a fren who did PV in 2 schools, one is a neighbourhood school. By doing PV, you'll know the school better and get a chance to talk to the parents more. Getting a good teacher is by luck too, but more imptly is the principal and whether you 'kam-key" with how the school operates... she's glad she did PV in the 2 schools as it helps her make up her mind.

tabb, I've some Babies Inc gift vouchers, it says it's a Montessori Infant school (2 mth - 3 yrs) and fees from $600 onwards. If I'm not wrong, fullday fees is $1000+. I've not visited it but went past it a few times, seems quite good. If u r going to enroll, let me know, can pass u the vouchers (valid till dec 2007)

CL, thanks for the info from the B&M fair.

.ky.

Tabbs,
re: Babies Inc.
I happened to come across this posting by a mum in a Yahoo Parenting group. I'll copy and paste what she wrote here:

"I left my 7mth ds @ babies inc Tj Katong last yr. During the times
when I went to fetch him, he was left crying on his own unattended.
So I pulled him out after a month.

Think that infant care does not cater one to one attention which the
baby needs at that stage."

Chilles,
re: Pri Education
I totally agree with you on "Most of the time "elite" school performs bcos the parents themselves put in alot of effort too." Only kiasu/kan cheong or parents who bother will put their kids into an elite school. And they make sure their kids can keep up in school.

For us, hb and I actually bought a place within 1 km of the school of our choice and we suay suay got balloted out!! So after a bit of leg work, I got Ethan into another quite sought-after school 4 weeks into the school term. Now I am just sending him to enrichment classes to keep his interest going and my only hope now is that by his own merits, he will pull thru' the P3 GEP exams and go to our original school of choice. Just like SY, I would try to give him the best and the rest is up to him liao.

RE: babies inc
Thanks KY, Denmy for your input... they are having open house next weekend so i may and check it out... i'm considering sending tabby there maybe when new baby comes out so that my mom can have some respite. I think the TK branch can take up to 100 babies so not so good.. the one at bukit timah only 40 babies... but i wonder if they really have so many teachers..

Hi Queen - Yes, it's hot in CCK cos it's one of the better ones.

My god-dau's uncle who lives in Bukit Batok did PV for a yr in order to let his son enrol. I was encouraging my god-dau's parents (who live within 2km)to try for the school last yr. However, they live opp a Pri school & so decided to let her study there instead.

If I m not wrong, I live within 2km of the school but then I will need to compete with those who live nearer. However, I can go through the Church to go in. My friend who lives in Bukit Panjang has both her sons studying there. Their granpa is the one who teaches Cathecism there.

Anyway, I've got 5 years to think abt it. Haha, HB told me "I can see you getting involved in that school when Cephas is 5 yrs old" when my god-dau's dad was sharing abt what his bro did for his son.

Weight
Ariene weighs 8.8kg, 79cm. She's 25th percentile but PD says she's still within normal range.

SH
Forgot to mention, don't forget to apply a thick layer of the desitin. Its kinda sticky, and since your boy's bottom is already sore, you'll probably have to apply a thick layer so u don't have to exert too much strength to spread the cream. The cream is so good,, it won't go off even if your boy pees or poos. To clean it off (eg, when your boy poos), wash with luke warm water and abit of soap (I use J&J softwash to wash Ariene's bottom). Last time when my niece had such a bad case of diahhroea & nappy rash, she was admitted to KKH and had to be put on drip. The PD at KKH also recommended this to my sister.

Denmy
Usually the max. ratio of number of teachers to babies in IFC is 1:5, as stated in the MCYS website. Usually, such centre's turnover rate for babies and teachers are quite high. Sad to say, our darlings when in IFC, won't have the 1:1 attention that we would like them to have.

Weight
Aden is 12.7 but height I have not measure. Dun use him as guideline he will probably lost weight when he start walking. Now he only crawls.

Pri School.
sysac, queen, De La Salle is only 1 block away from me. Actually my first wish is to get in there because Charmaine can sleep longer and if it rains, she is sheltered all the way. The reason why I decided to go for Nanyang, because it will probably confirmed a place for Charmaine. De La Salle, there are just too many old boys , siblings in first stage where half of the seats are gone. Have been monitoring. They do not accept PV system now. I am not a Catholic and so far within 1 km oso have to ballot. So I rather go for the easiest method to get Charmaine enrol.

Poor JW,
Hope he will recover soon. Probably you cannot give him FM now or you have to realli dilute it. Or give isomil or frisomil.

Childcare,
Hey, maybe I should take up Child Psychology and all other qualification for childcare. Plus all SAHM then we can start a childcare. Looking after our little ones and also our FTWM's. Then our FTWM can work at peace. No MIL grievances. I see 2 of the teachers are Charmaine's centre doing that and I think it is realli good.