(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Gymboree trial

<font color="0000ff">Sorry, mummies, got the timing mixed up, please note the amended timings for the gymboree class below. Also, they have 6 trial slots available on Sat and only 2 trial slots on Sun, so they recommend us coming on Sat if possible. So, shall we go on Sat, Mar 10, if majority is ok? SY, can u make it on Sat?</font>
==================================================
I am interested to go for a Gymboree trial at Serangoon Gardens during the weekends. They have 2 available slots during the weekends. The trial costs $34. Any mummy keen to join in
Saturdays: <strike> 4:00pm-4:45pm</strike> <font color="ff0000">3:15pm - 4:00pm</font>
Sundays: <strike>3:15pm - 4:00pm</strike> <font color="ff0000">4:00pm-4:45pm</font>

Gymboree trial (Serangoon Gardens)
1. Cheng (Mar 10)
2. Zhimin (Mar 10, ok)
3. SSF (Mar 10)
4. SY (Mar11)

Diaper cream
Now, I wonder if I'm over using diaper cream. I've been using diaper creams since Ariene was born. Started out using Smith&Nephew's Secura, followed Bebe. After that, I got myself 1 tube of Desitin Original to try and I really liked it cuz it really forms a barrier layer and I still use it every night now. During the day, I'll use Desitin creamy but I find it too thin leh.. washes off the moment Ariene pees. Ariene pees alot cuz she still drinks alot of breast milk and water. She also poos at least once a day, sometimes, twice. So far, because of this KS mummy, she has not got any rash breakout before. The moment I see abit redness, I'll quickly spread thick layer of Desitin Original already and it'll go off in 1h.

new car
Waiting for my COE bidding result tomorrow. If sucessful, should be here by May, which means I'll still have to take the NTU staff chartered bus to NIE for at least 1 month. I really treasure the little time I'll be having with Ariene once I start working full time again so bought this car so I can get home ASAP to be with her after work.

SY
I've been working part time since August. We've been struggling to make ends meet since I started on part time cuz our car instalment for my hb's car is 1.4k per month and my maid, another 500 per month, not to mention other payments like housing loan, reno loan, car & health insurance, petrol (which was quite a killer cuz my hb's car drinks petrol at 7km/l and he works in the east while we stay in the west), utility bills (which worked out to be almost 200/month), parking (both home car park & hb's office car park), food & marketing, etc, etc. It was really quite a difficult time to go through and my hb was really stressed out. We have entirely no savings at all since aug06. On top of that, we've been slowly depleting all our savings since Aug06. So, your hb is right -- if u want to be a PTWM or SAHM, you really cant afford a maid and car unless he has a 5 figure income. The up side is of course, I got to experience alot of important milestones with Ariene - her first flip, he first words, her first steps, her first crawl, her first etc etc. It was a really rewarding experience and the bond between us is really strong.

cot side
Flo, your girl sleeps in the cot with the drop side down? I don't think that's safe cuz they're sure to topple or flip over. Even if I had to leave Ariene in the cot for 1-2min to get something, I'll also have to close and lock the drop side cuz the moment I turn my head away, she'll leap her leg over the lowered cot side and want to stand on top of it. I also don't keep toys in her cot that she can make use of to stand on top. She already knows how to stack her bolsters on top of each other and stand on top of them to reach higher. Very dangerous.

RE: Free GAIN IQ Samples
I have 3 packets of the samples that are in the bash goodie bags. Since Jamie is doing well with Friso 3, I am not changing. Anyone interested?

I did a big project today. Brought Jamie to Airport to see Aeroplane. All because she kept pointing to the plane pic when I teach her A. When I point to the plane in the sky, she dun seems to get it. So decided to bring her there. Wow.. the journey is SUPER TIRING.. imagine take MRT from Boon Lay to CHANGI AIRPORT !!

RE: Speech
Now Jamie can understand more and sometimes using her pointing skill to communicate with us. She will point to her diaper when soiled. Will shake her head and point to pram to show that she dun want to sit inside. If u give her 3 controller, she will know which one is for fan,TV and DVD. Really glad to be a SAHM to catch all these. But very tiring to catch her ever since she start walking. She not tired, mummy already half dead.

mamapanda
i remembered you mentioned you signed up with Amazing star @ greenridge? have to wait till Jan 2008 right? how you find this place? hb had a colic who send her son there since 3YO. been there for 1 year plus. she find it good. am thinking of going down to take a look since its near my place. planning to let dylan attend half day classes.

SY
what your hb said is true and he hopes that your change of job status will not strain everyone at the end of the day. if money is not a problem, of coz can make any kind of arrangement (eg. maid or SAHM or PTWM)but since money is a concern, do weight everything and make the best decision.

for me, i like doing housework and i feel proud to have my home nice, clean and neat. make the best of my time with dylan too, as in when he nap i will rush through my chores and make sure i complete them before dylan wakes up so i can spend my time with him. there are days when i will arrange to put dylan with my mum too so i could clear up my freelance job and house chores. some ME time too haha.

Dug out the playgroup list...

====================
Play group

Think we split into 2 groups. One for weekend, one weekday, so that we can make separate arrangements for each group. I've put everyone on default weekday unless you indicated that you wanted a weekend.

Weekday
1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Wenyl
6. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
7. SSF
8. Mamachan
9. Denmy
10. sleepingdeer

Weekend

1)SL - weekend
2)Cheng
3)Chicken Little - Sunday as Aden has class on Sat
4) Flo Prefer Sunday too

Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

So for the first session:

Make it more informal

Topic/Theme: MUSIC
Time: 1.30pm onwards
Date: to be confirmed with mommies

Timetable
1.30pm : gathering and mixing of mommies and babies
2pm : MUSIC time (circle and songs): intro to music instruments
2.30pm : GYM time (slide, ball pool, garden play)
3pm : Snack/ nap time for mommies/babies

I am free to do it on weekends too... so how? I can do the first one if no mommy objects.. weekday or weekend also can...

Was also thinking of a small project for babies.. like making a tamborine out of paper plate and bells or rattle with rice and empty bottle... but this would need materials and supplies.. dunno how babies will respond to it cos they may be too young... what do you mommies think?

Re: A+D cream
Cookie, if you want I can pass one to you to try first. You can read more about the product if you want.
http://www.myadbaby.com/

Mel had very bad diaper rash when she first came back home from the hospital cos the nurse in the NICU didnt clean her well. Plus my confinement lady worsened the condition. She kept insisting on using those prickly heat and rash power instead of diaper creamgosh! End up Mels bottom was so red and sore and she kept crying each time she pee. In the end we have to monitor my confinement lady and make sure she applied the cream each time she changed diaper. We were quite sure she didnt use the moment we were not watching. Mel diaper rash only managed to clear fully a few days after she left. Mel hardly gets diaper rash these days. Only gets it when we didnt change her diaper after she poo poo for a long while. My nephew had very sensitive skin when he was a bb. My SIL tried many different brand of diaper rash cream and didnt all work on him until my ex boss recommended A&D cream. Since then, my family has been a loyal supporter of A&D cream

Queen
Ya I agree the it doesnt smell good compared to cali bb calendular cream but is a much cheaper lor. Ive not used calendular cream on the bum before mainly on skin. Also have not tried any other brand. But I think the oily texture does help to create a protective barrier.

Denmy
Humm, for me I normally just apply a thin layer. I dont think need to apply very thick. You mean now Keenan gets a rash when I apply too thinly?

Re: Potty training
Cannot leh, Mel simply refuse to sit on her potty. My mom ever tried, end up she stood up to poo poofaintz

May
i fully understand your last statement! hahaha our babies got to nap to recharge, but we got to work non-stop!
hey, talking about airport.hb will be flying to china on wednesday and be back on sunday evening, at first plan to join him but the air ticket alone cost close to S$900!! with this amount i can go somewhere better wor =p so plan to fetch hb on sunday but thinking of bringing dylan there alone gives me cold feet.

talking about my little master, if he cant find the hidden tv remote controller. he end up pressing the on/off button on the tv set *faint*

Mamapanda
RE: cot side
For Mel's cot, even if I leave the drop side down, it's still quite high, around her shoulder. If it's fully up, is around her head. Knowing how much she likes to climb, I knew one of these days she'll flip over her cot! Therefore, I always make sure it's "join" to my bed. I suspected she could have step on my mattress, and use the momentum to flip herself over around her waist. Thx for the reminder, now I make sure the barrier is fully up after I put her in. My mom doesn't dare to leave Mel unattented in her playpen now cos she seems to be able to "climb" out anytime soon.

RE: New Car
Congrats again. Didn't know the waiting time for Mazda 3 is so long too.

May/Rachel
Haha, even tho I only take care of Mel for the whole day during weekends, I'm fully with you. The moment they can stay still is when they are sleeping!

RE: Airport
Was telling hb maybe we should bring Mel to airport one of these days since there is alot of space for her to walk....haha

Flo
yah man! beside sleeping, they are just moving non-stop!

oh ya, brought dylan to suntech recently and he practicely behaved like wide horse being released! 'running' non-stop and simply refuse to let us even hold his hand. end up me and hb were all the time chasing after him.

RE: Airport
To Airport Journey is disasterous cos Jamie was wide awake. So I told my mum, we need to leave once Jamie falls asleep. So we go to T2 viewing gallery first..small but very clean and cool. Then we took Sky Train to T1.. bigger gallery but a bit dirty and stuffy. So stayed there awhile and Jamie fall asleep when we are walking to Sky Train. So I told my mum, faster have a quick tea break and we must head home. Lucky she slept thru till we reach Commonwealth. So it was 3/4 journey already. Phew! But given another choice, I will wait for hubby to drive us there during weekend!

Rachel,
I can imagine that too!
Jamie keep removing things from shelves. I will have to put back and hubby will chase after her and stop her from "destroying" another shelves. We name her "Little Tazmanian Devil" !!

Flo,
I'm not sure if my helper apply the cream too thinly. If it was me or hb who does the nappy changing we will slap a big dollop on. Been doing that since Ethan's baby days as he had a bout of bad rash and ezcema b4. Maybe she doesn't clean his bum properly... I'm not sure leh. Think I should get a tube of the A+D zinc oxide as a standby too. How do you and your SIL get yours?

May,
Peifu peifu!! Very dedicated mum you are!!

Denmy
I normally ask my SIL to get for me when she travels to US for work. My nephew doesn't use it anymore, he's going to be 8 this year. My ex boss found out about this product by trial and error when she was staying in the States. Her eldest gal using the A&D cream is going 16 this year. So is this is an old and tested product

May - Glad that Jamie enjoyed herself at the airport. If u ask Cephas "Where's the plane?" He will close this entire palm & move it upwards (flying motion) & go "wooooooooooo..."

Rachel - I'm sure you will do fine with the journey to the airport with Dylan
Jia you! There was a day when Cephas was 10 months old, I took him on a train ride from YT to Bishan. No one gave up their seat for us. It was a blessing in disguise. I stood all the way carrying him & talking to him abt the things we saw on the way there
That's when he was also talking non-stop as in all the " ehhhh...ahhhh...ohhhh"

Re: Diaper Rash Cream
Hmmm... I must be the last cavewoman here still putting baby on 30% cloth diaper and 70% disposables.. Also felt the cloth diaper is very airy and helps the butt. Lucas doesn't really encounter diaper rash except once when he was 2 mths old... around his crotch, that's when we realise 'there' also must put cream... we were still laughing when he kept touching the area but got the 'tsk tsk' from PD.

As for brands, I have tried J&J, Desitin 40% and drapolene and Neucream (free sample from PD). J&J and Desitin both use zinc oxide as the barrier and this ingredient is clinically proven to be one of the best for serious diaper rash conditions. Drapolene, Neucream, Bethaphan(?) do not contain zinc oxide but other oils. Texture and spread are definitely better and can also be used as creams for neck area to help prevent moisture rash (so says my PD...). Right now I've settled to using J&J once before his nap time and Desitin once before his bedtime. This routine seems ok and I don't think I am overusing them.

MamaPanda,
Din know you are such a fan of Desitin. My company just bought over pfizer consumer. The next staff sale is in Apr, lemme check if Desitin is included in it already or not, think can save quite a bit...

Re: GAIA
Can't help but wonder if mommies here really find this brand that great... I was really into organic stuff and bought a lot of CB and GAIA at one stage. Somehow feel they are a bit over-rated leh... The GAIA bath wash tends make Lucas more prone to heat rash. But I bought 3 bottles during the motherhood exhibiion and die die also want to finish them lor, so I am now still using it but use Cetaphil for his rash prone areas like neck and back. The Soothing Lotion also seems pretty oily so I ended up using myself. As for CB Calendular Cream and Aloe Vera Cream, maybe cos Lucas not not exactly eczemic, I just use it on him on and off for the nice scent. What I do like from CB is actually the "I love U" bubble bath!! Very fun and it's made from non-synthetic ingredients so I feel safe bathing and playing with it.

Re: Diaper Rash Cream
Oh, in case mommies wondering if overusing will cos harm, the answer is no IF they are washed off properly. As they are most usually oil-based, bath time need to give special attention there and cleanse thoroughly.

Denmy,
Ya, I think your helper not putting enough. Mine tends to put a little bit too and not the whole area. I think especially when our babies now can get quite defiant when it's changing time and keep moving about.

RE: Gymboree Trial
Saturdays: 4:00pm-4:45pm 3:15pm - 4:00pm
Sundays: 3:15pm - 4:00pm 4:00pm-4:45pm

Gymboree trial (Serangoon Gardens)
1. Cheng (Mar 10)
2. Zhimin (Mar 10, ok)
3. SSF (Mar 10)
4. SY (Mar11)
5. Cindy (both dates ok)

Weekend
RE: Playgroup [WEEKENDS]
1)SL - weekend
2)Cheng
4) Flo Prefer Sunday too
5) Cindy

cindy
you are not the cave woman. i let my gal use cloth nappy or bumwear 100% when she's at home, even at my mil's place, except at night when she zzz. must really thank my mil for doing that for us and help us to save $ in a way. we only let her wear diaper when we go out for more than 1 hr.

Cindy
The talk by GAIA at our bday bash made my hb ask me to buy for Aden because his skin is not so good. I am trying the soothing lotion for myself oso.

Playgroup
Tabbi
I will be on leave on 15 Mar because baby sitter bringing her kids out during school holidays. Let me know if you will be holding it on 15 Mar if you are not free on 12 Mar.

Cindy
I've not tried GAIA. I'm letting Gerald use California BB bath wash. So far so good and it smells so nice.

I must be the only mummy here who never put diaper cream. I bot drapolene and tried once when Ryan was a week old but his bum turned red and my mum said maybe he is allergic to it. Since then, i never applied anything and so far so good....his backside is quite tough...hahaha

krissie,
according to the MOE website, Mr. Lee is still the principal at Catholic High.

Flo,
Yes! You should bring Mel to the airport. We've brought Meg there several times (cos nearby and good place for din) and she loves the huge space there where she can walk walk walk.

Mamachan,
Sorry no time to pick up the diapers from you. Pls reserve for me. I'll try try try to collect this wknd. Thanks a mil!

Re: Nappy rash
Rory never kena nappy rash before *touchwood* and like ak, we never use diaper cream on him before too.

Mummies whose babies are prone to nappy rash might want to try this - during my confinment, my massage lady who used to be a midwife taught us to wash rory's bum and privates at the sink with water whenever we change his soiled diaper. I'm still doing it religiously to date unless we go out then I use wet wipes.

i don't use any special cream, just J&J baby lotion on his bum before putting on fresh diaper.

My husband's colleague's wife has a 9 mth old bub and she swears by Sudocrem, which also has a zinc oxide base like A+D.

ak - yes Caleb is on step 2 mamil gold. if u dun need it, i can collect from you. where do u live?

rena - call Jeslin @ 9272 2108. i paid like $20.80 per tin for step 2. step 3 shld be cheaper. max order is 15 tins where u buy 12 they give 3 so which amt to $20.80 per tin. One baby can only buy once for each step. Which explains why I get mamachan and cookie's detail to order subsequent for step 2. so far i only use mamachan's one. most likely moving to step 3 once the stock runs out.

RE: Free GAIN IQ Samples and kidloft vouchers
i also have them from the bd bash. anyone wants it?

flo - i bought a combi potty and Caleb sat on it thinking it was a car but never poo in it! haiz....will try again when he is much older.

re: gymboree trial
i am fine with 10 mar. let me know!!!

casscl - yes Caleb drools like nobody's biz. i am so running out of bibs these days.
he is famously known as 365 days baby with a bib. hahaa

ClassCL
Actually for A+D cream, I use the original one (for prevention) which doesn't contain zinc oxide. The one containing zinc oxide is for treatment. The ingredients for the original one look "harmless". It contains (active ingredient : Petrolatum (53.4% - Skin Protectant), Lanolin (15.5% - Skin Protectant) and inactive ingredients: Cod Liver Oil (contains Vitamin A & Vitamin D), Fragrance, Light Mineral Oil, Microcrystalline Wax, Paraffin). Since it can use to treat dry chapped lips, I suppose it should be safe enough to apply on the bum everyday

Tracy
Shall pester hb to go airport again

Sysac
What time u going to the zoo on Sat?

SSF
haha, I have so many different design of potty, but Mel is attracted to none! She just want to stand instead of sitting on them!

Flo,

I would like to get A&D too but how do we purchase? i am currently using Cali bb , Destin and mustela.. i usually change after a while coz i do not want bb's backside to be immune to the creams.. nowadays i dun use cali bb for back side but more for his mozzie bites and scratch...

CassCL,
my boy does drool alot too that is why i do not really know if he is teething again.. but till now still six teeth..

Bath..

i am not sure about other bath wash so i stick to J&J softskin.. not sure if it is good for bb skin but this is the most familar brand.. but for shampoo i am using gerber's aloe vera's shampoo..

Thanks sfs,

but for expiry date.. no problem?
i dun mind gettign step 3 coz step 3 is from 1 to 3 years old so can use for very long. i am just worried on the expiry..

rena - no prob on the expiry date. the expiry date is like 1 to 2 yrs down the road and sad to say 1 tin can last for 1 week. last time caleb has enzema and i ask dr sim if j&j bath soap is OK and he shakes his head. so i switched to sebamed. recently hb also bot sebadmed shampoo although caleb doesnt have much hair. he blames on using the bath soap for his head as his hair is quite little. haha..wierd theory he has.

chicken_little - yeah i am also running out of bibs since i dun wash his clothes daily. and bibs are so ex these day. 1 bib at least 4 bucks. mothercare bibs arent cheap either. i told hb to buy in indo/phil coz last time he got a mickey mouse design at a mall for only 3 bucks! but there is no plastic sheet beneath it la.

hi sunny, YT's CCL is at blk 787. Diagnoally from the Yew Tee MRT.

ak, thx for the info.

mamapanda, $1.4k for car instalment ... that's a lot leh. Think my hb's paying $600+ only.

Hi Tabb, I'm ok for 12 Mar playdate ... but not sure if I can make it by 2pm. And not even sure if I can come out with #2 coz #1 would be home then and he may want to tag along, and not sure if #2 can finish lunch by 1pm for me to be out ... a lot of logistics to think abt, but I'll try.

On the prog, I'm thinking if can include some simple routine items, eg introduction of babies (we can do this individually with a song and a selected action item), social interaction with a ball (via a song and passing the ball from one baby to another) and story telling. I think craft making at this stage is more of mummy making it and baby the "destroyer". maybe we can make simple shaker with the filmroll container... just put a few beads (which the mummies can get the babies to help put in) and the cover can be closed easily... I've got a few spare ones to spare.

Also, someone mentioned abt pouring activity (can't remember or find who), perhaps we can start with letting the babies play with different types of things (eg beans, marbles, paper (crumpled into balls)) to allow them to feel the texture and practise their pincer grip. I think we can leave out rice for now coz it'll be really taxing to clean up with any spilling. Not sure if any babies here can do scooping (anyone?) ... I tried with #2 but he's not interested yet.

Playgroup Timing : it seems like most mummies here can make it on weekend. Perhaps everyone can add on the range of timing they can make it and if they are willing to open their house. I think it'll be easier to arrange a session that meets most needs with the info.

Cot : the cot level is just below #2's shoulder and once he's flipped over before when he's standing in it. I'm thinking of converting him from co-sleeping on my bed to the cot. Any idea how I can make it safer for him? I've no problem with #1 leh ....

.ky.

SSF,
Last time when Lucas had heat rash she asked me what soap I use I told her J&J TTT, she din say anything about it but just gave me some Cetaphil samples to try, saying the newborn skin doesn't really need soap and Cetaphil is not soap-based.

Re: Gain IQ discount vouchers
Any mommies can spare? Also, can I check if anyone on Neslac now? I can get good discount but am waylaid but the Gain IQ Free VCD promotion so started Lucas on Gain IQ instead. Neslac like very quiet in the market so was not top of mind.

CL/SSF/Rena;

So glad to know rory is not the only one
I was wondering if its normal..

Rena, same here...he drool so much but still only 6 teeth.

Rena
Congrats to Elijah's first steps. He must be excited now since he has been practising so hard.

CassCL, Rena
Aden oso only 4 on top and 4 at the bottom. But his bites hurt man

mamapanda - so are u still working part time now? in ur case, ur expenses is pretty high and one party working will be a toil on the other. i am also afraid of loans esp just kena rejected by HDB loan and having to fork out 20k hard cold cash on the bank loan deposit. and yesterday just sign a renovation deal with a designer for my new hm. a whopping $5250 on just designer cost excluding real work. but then she is a good frd of hb's wife and she will help us see thru all the headache of talking with contractor and getting materials ready. quite like her design too. hopefully work can start soon and we can move in soon. thank GOD we do have some savings but then after all these it be gone and have to start saving from scratch. very ke xi.
now we are thinking twice and thrice for the brisbane trip coz we may be busy moving in May. aiyo thinking of the bank loan, it's really scary not knowing how high interest will flucuate. we will definitely aim to clear off the loan by the next 10 yrs. by then we will be loan free from car and home and enjoy retirement years. hahaa....oh no i am already dreaming. hee..

Play group

Think we split into 2 groups. One for weekend, one weekday, so that we can make separate arrangements for each group. I've put everyone on default weekday unless you indicated that you wanted a weekend.

Weekday
1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Wenyl
6. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
7. SSF
8. Mamachan
9. Denmy
10. sleepingdeer
11. durianlover (any day but depends on work schedule. Can open house at Bt Panjang)

Weekend

1)SL - weekend
2)Cheng
4) Flo Prefer Sunday too

Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

So for the first session:

Make it more informal

Topic/Theme: MUSIC
Time: 1.30pm onwards
Date: to be confirmed with mommies

Timetable
1.30pm : gathering and mixing of mommies and babies
2pm : MUSIC time (circle and songs): intro to music instruments
2.30pm : GYM time (slide, ball pool, garden play)
3pm : Snack/ nap time for mommies/babies

I am free to do it on weekends too... so how? I can do the first one if no mommy objects.. weekday or weekend also can...

Was also thinking of a small project for babies.. like making a tamborine out of paper plate and bells or rattle with rice and empty bottle... but this would need materials and supplies.. dunno how babies will respond to it cos they may be too young... what do you mommies think?

ky
thanks! that's very near my place. din know that there's such a place. but it's confirmed to be closed down soon right?

cindy,
Janelle's on Neslac and she's taking to it fine. I find it good and cheap! No changes to her poo (unlike for Gain IQ makes her poo very green), easily dissolvable and not foamy.

RE: Nappy Rash
We can actually do a poll to see if it's true. I think that baby girls are more prone to nappy rash than boys.