(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SH
poor JW. any reason for the diarrhea? think like what most mummies suggest, use water to wash his bottom.

durianlover
wow, australian pri sch education? that sounds nice. u have plans to move there?

denmy
sounds like a lot of effort spent to get into the sch and must be really disappointing when u got balloted out! hope ethan can switch to the sch u wan when he is older.

CL
hee, do u have plans to move house if Charmaine goes to nanyang?

hb yesterday told me i cannot have maid and car and move house if i decide not to work! in 2 minds now cos i really wan to move house..and he's not supportive of part time cos he feel that with a income cut we shouldn't have a maid and so i might as well not work so i can do the housework...

SH
Poor JW! The last time my son had diarrhea, he also had very bad rash. PD recommended to use Desitin Original and when the rash gets better, then switch to Desitin Creamy. You got to apply A thick layer on the rash areas. He was screaming and crying really bad when I change him too! Yes, I use water to clean him during that period of time. Also try to air the buttocks when the diarrhea gets better. Hope this info helps. You take care too!

SY,
Yeah we do have plans to move to Australia or at least stay there a couple of years. But in God's hands...see if He opens the door for us to go over!

Why do you want to move house? Nicer place i suppose?

I guess giving up a job always comes in with trade-offs in terms of other luxuries. Actually from a financial point of view, I guess what your hb says kind of makes sense. Might as well do away with maid and you quit so can do housework! This is what i've been thinking thru as well because i'm definitely going to quit by May or June, and was considering part-time options. But more or less have decided it's not feasible nor worth it coz i won't earn much doing part-time plus gotta send Janelle to childcare which will prob take up my whole part-time salary!

There is 50% off trial class at babies and cream the month of march. I signed up for sat one at 11.15.

In case u gals are keen.

By the way, I went to the babies inc website and noted they also use "Gymboree", Kindermusik etc...are these just names of teaching methods/activities and then it is taught everywhere? Sorry for being so sua ku but I always tot must go gymboree to learn gymboree.

CL,
re: Child Psychology
U serious or what?!? I actually toyed with the idea when Ethan was a baby, back in UK. But I didn't have anyone to help me look after him while I attend classes, so the idea didn't crystalise. Now you've sent me thinking again....

SY,
Ya lor. Anyway, according to his kindergarten principal, she reckons that with his kind of character, it's better for him to start his Pri education in a more local school and then an elite one (if he can). In this way he'll learn to be humble. Otherwise he will end up very big-headed.

Queen
Ya lor, was shock to hear that Woodgrove Pri is so hot. Actually I've not done any research either. Oh the one under contstruction now is a Primary school?

SH
Oh poor JW. I use AD cream and find it very good. Is only available in the US, if you want I can spare you one tube first.

ChickenLittle
Wow Aden is 12.7kg now! Just browse thru his pic, he's such a cheerful boy. I thot Charmaine took her portfolio too?

SY
Humm, looks like your hb is not very supportive of you working PT. Maybe u should have a good talk with him. Personally I'll choose to work PT even if the bulk of the pay goes to pay for the maid. At least it gives me some personal breathing space and I'm still "connected" with the society. Also it will be easier for me to intergrate back into the society should I decide to go back to work when the kids are older. And most importantly, I hate to do housework...heehee. But of course, at the end of the day you'll have to decide for yourself what do you really one.

AK
I should be ok RP mommies lunch next week.

Tracy
Miss you and Megan in class today. Is Megan feeling better?

Seafood
Really love seafood but was allergy to it. Took some cayfish last weekend and kana with bad rashes....whole nite can't sleep.

so sad come to know that my cousin in law was having eptopic pregency...she is neither a local or PR and her bill come up to almost 10k for 4 days stay in NUH.

Good Morning Mommies

Something on Magnosteen to share:

A Look at Xanthones and Mangosteen
By Leslie Martin

We've all heard the news for years about how important it is to get the right amount of antioxidants in order to keep our bodies healthy and ward of disease. Now there's a new classification of antioxidants called xanthones, first discovered in the mangosteen fruit, which are poised to be one of the biggest discoveries of modern science in terms of health benefits.

While the concept of antioxidants may seem even more confusing when adding in another aspect, xanthones are fairly easy to understand, given their clear-cut, scientifically-proven benefits.

What are Xanthones?
Technically put, xanthones are a set of chemical compounds that can be synthetically produced, but are more often found and more potent in their natural settings. Xanthones are powerful antioxidants in a family of phytonutrients.

To date, researchers have discovered and classified approximately 200 xanthones, 40 of which are found in the mangosteen fruit. As a matter of fact, xanthones were first discovered when scientists began studying the health benefits of mangosteen based on its traditional indigenous medical uses.

Research into the medicinal properties of xanthones found in the mangosteen began in the 1970s, and gradually picked up pace as scientists began finding more exciting nutritional properties. Between 1996 and 2005, an exponential amount of research has been done in regards to mangosteen and its xanthones, and even more studies are in the works.

Xanthones in Mangosteen
To recap, xanthones are powerful antioxidants, and out of the 200 xanthones known to science, 40 of them are found in mangosteen.

But what do the antioxidant properties of the xanthones in mangosteen do for you? Antioxidants function as a balance for free radicals in the body. Free radicals are potentially harmful, yet oftentimes natural substances in your body that, when left free reign, build up and cause diseases like cancer, heart disease, and more.

The xanthones function to travel through your body, literally mopping up the free radicals on their way, leaving your body cleaner and healthier than before.

Some of the most important xanthones found in mangosteen include:

Alpha-mangostin
Beta-mangostin
Gamma-mangostin
Garcinone
Garcinone A
Garcinone C
Garcinone D
Mangostanol
Gartanin

These, among other xanthones, have been touted by independent researchers to have properties to include antiinflammatory, anticonvulsant, antiallergic, antitumor, and antiplatelet, to name just a few.

Known Benefits of Xanthones
Scientific research has made it abundantly clear that no other fruit compares in its health benefits to mangosteen, due to its xanthones and other nutritional properties.

Helping to fight cancer is just one of the many properties that different xanthones perform. For instance, one study performed in Japan showed that the xanthone alpha-mangostin had apparent properties that suppressed the development of tumors. Another, performed in China, found the xanthone garcinone E to show significant anticancer effects in terms of liver, lung, and gastric cancer cells.

In addition, some xanthones have shown significant antimicrobial effects in terms of fighting MRSA (methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus), which is a bacterial strain known for its tenacious resistance to pharmacologic antibiotics. One scientific study also showed that alpha-mangostin, beta-mangostin, and garcinone B to have pronounced inhibition effects on a strain of tuberculosis.

As if that isn't enough, xanthones have also been scientifically proven to help lower LDL, the bad cholesterol, by protecting the LDL from coming into contact with free radicals, thus leaving it unable to oxidize and attach to arterial walls and cause atherosclerosis.

Taking into account the anticancer, antiinflammatory, antimicrobial, and cholesterol-lowering effects of the xanthones found in mangosteen, here is just a sampling of the other many benefits that science has either researched or is in the process of discovering:

Antiviral
Helps lower blood pressure
Helps fight fatigue
Antidepressant
Prevents stomach ulcers
Aids with weight loss
Antiaging
Combats diarrhea
Pain reducer
Heart protective
Analgesic
Anti-parkinsonian and anti-Alzheimer
Lowers fevers
Builds immunity to disease
Antiallergen
Antifungal
Antiparasitic

Indeed, even now some health practitioners are suggesting drinking mangosteen juice for relief to people who suffer from the following diseases:

Infections
Skin ailments like psoriasis, seborrhea, or eczema
Joint problems and arthritis
Dementia
Anxiety and depression
Cancer
Chronic pain
Chronic fatigue syndrome
Ulcers
Diabetes

Flo,
Had to give class a miss cos Meg's fever returned on Sat. These 2 days her temp never reached 36.9deg. Hovers around 37.3 ~ 39.6. We brot her to Eu Yan Seng on Sunday morning but sometimes she rejects the chinese med in the milk. Satuday she had no appetite, rejected porridge, even mash potato with cheese. But thankfully she still likes bread.

We've already inserted 3 suppostories into her since Sat, cos once the med subsides in 6hrs, the fever comes back. Now she has phobia of us removing her diaper. She thinks it's insert time. Heartache to see her like that...

The strange thing about Meg is whenever she gets the high fever, she HAS to see Dr. Keoy. Just look at him, then she'll be ok. Happened twice already. When he's not around, I bring her to other PD, she can't get well. Must see him. Sigh...

So yesterday's class was the last lesson? Then i'll have 2 make-up classes to attend.

ak,
you signed up for positive babies or positive tods?

Tabbs,
my fren sends her infant to Babies Inc. at Bt Timah. So far so good. The teacher student ratio is good and I've only heard him getting the fever once so far. He's been there since he turn 3M and now he's 8M. But of course you pay a higher price for this infant care lah. They even film him on video to show her when they saw him getting ready to crawl.

SH,
Drapolene doesn't work for Meg too. Desitin works well, but I feel its like a strong cream. i've switched to Calendula cream when she had rash after using pigeon wipes. it healed really fast. Can give this cream a try.

May,
Meg's weight is 10.45kg when weighed last Tues. But after this bout of sickness, think it might drop.

flo
my ideal arrangement wd be to still have a maid to help out with the chores. i also feel that i need some personal time plus JH doesn't sleep in the day. i won't even have a chance to eat or go toilet.

plus hb is quite particular abt cleanliness and neatness. i told him i dun wan the stress of having him nagging at me to do this and that if i dun have a maid!

durianlover
think it wd be nice to stay in australia for a couple of years. i have an ex colleague staying in melbourne.

SH
is JW better?

RP lunch
i shd be ok this week. finally can take a breather

re mangosteen
wow so much goodness! i really love mangosteen. even more reason to eat this now!

tracy
hope meg gets better soon. is she on antibiotics? my PD say if got fever will have to start on antibiotics

Hi mommmies,

Seems like megan is one of the small babies here. Brought her to PD for the Pneumoccocal jab last week, she weighed 9.1kg and is 77cm tall.

RE: Pri Schools

Ha ha. My colleague was surprised to see me reading about the recommended Playground etc in those motherhood magazines. They gave me a strange look as ashley was only 18 months then. Ha Ha.

RE: 2nd child

To all mommies who are preggy with your second child, CONGRATULATIONS!

RP lunch on Thursday (8 March)
1) AK
2) Flo
3) SY
<pls>

Tracy,
I signed up for Positive babies cos that's the age group for 13 months??

Hi, mummies. I need to buy some essential bb stuff to put at my mum place when I am in training at germany. If you all to sell/loan for 6 mths, let me know, ok?

1) Small Sterilizer: Preferbably Pigeon Travel Sterilizer
2) BN Tollyjoy Big Milk Bottles with BN L Teats
3) Mag Mag Cup with sprout/straw
4) Clip on Fan electric operated
5) Ikea High Chair w or w/o table

SY,
she was on antibiotics when she first had fever last Tues. But this PD gave a different antibiotics. It's Isoprine (something like that). Not the usual antibiotics given. This new one doesn't seem to suit her well...

ak,
We attended the positive babies one, and now that our babies can walk, i think positive tods would be more suitable. Anyway, you give it a try. Do try to reach there early to allow ur baby some time to adjust to the surroundings.

Morning mummies! gee..monday blues again.

SY - hmm ur hb seems to prefer you to either work fulltime or stay home fulltime. staying fulltime, looking after ur boi and doing housework is a whole lot much tougher than working fulltime. i had that experience for just 2 mths plus and i cannot tahan already. so u have to really look at it overall. u may want to take a sat and test it out and see if you can endure. coz if even me the choice, i would still prefer to work lor coz i simply hate the housework part.

re: pri sch
hee..was telling hb my forum already start discussing abt pri sch and he said wah! so kiasu. haha..actually we did talk briefly abt this and most likely for my mum;s convenience, we will be putting him to a neighbourhood sch but i heard quite good and also have to ballot. not sure how it will go coz my sis actually works in that sch...so at least Caleb got an Yi Yi to look out for. haha..moreover its within walking dist to my new hm. so i guess that will be the ultimate choice after all.

Re: Pacifier
Meg started using the word 'tu-tu' when she wants her pacifier. And she puckers her lips up when saying the word. Rather cute...

Re: Dirty Diaper
Last evening Meg suddenly squat down, tug at her diaper bottom on the front and cry. I got scared, tot her bottom is pain, so quickly pull her pants down and was about to pull her diapers down when i smelled poo! Oh, then we realised she's trying to tell us its time to change diapers. :p

Flo
I agree with you. I find that when I let him slp on the mattress at my mum's place, he'll tend to wanna walk ard the room and not want to slp, even though he's so slpy. :p

sysac
can go through the church to get into the school meh? Which phase? we're currently thinking of Maris Stella or SJI (Junior).

Re schools
I'm also in 2 minds. Coz i really feel that the school enviroment is impt to nuture a child and like what they say, the friends they mix with will influence them. But, then don't think will put him in those top elite school. Maybe one of the better schools will do, then he would have a mix of both, good influence, as well as enjoying his childhood. But 1st we must go do research on which are the better Catholic schools for boys. Anyone knows? heehee.. hb and I lost touch with the ratings of the schools already.

Krissie,
hmm..not many catholic boys schools. the usual few are SJI (Jnr), Maris Stella, Montfort, St. Gabriel's, Catholic High Jnr...geez I can't recall the rest. But i think Maris Stella is quite good. Most my pals from Montfort, but Montfort boys quite gangster type lah nowadays. Catholic High Jnr has a rather good principal. Met him a couple of times when he was Principal in Xinmin Sec. The school excelled under his care.

Sunday's New Paper Feature
13 pairs of twins were featured in yesterday's New Paper. Apparently, the group of mums met virtually on SingaporeMotherhood forum. The reporter just stated the website of the forum i.e. www.singaporemotherhood.com but didn't state their thread. Apparently, the mums gathered for the babies to meet and have their own lo-hei. Quite a cute sight. The focal picture captured mainly the twins =) And they briefly mentioned that they could discuss anything under the sun from how to handle twins, to the type of strollers to food preparation, etc and that one of the moms mentioned she was so addicted to the forum as it's a place where she feels that pple could understand how's life like with twins =) Only 2 or 3 moms were quoted and np pics of them =)

Tracy
Oh dear, I hope Megan will get better soon. It's scary to hear that her fever can shoot up to close 40 degrees! Megan is getting well developed in her speech and vocab. Haha, Daren can babble whole day in his baby language as though he's having a real conversation with mock seriousness on his face but the clear words he can say are "There!" "Aiyah" "ok" "Where" and "mamama"

Re: Maid
Sorry i've got so many posts this morning :p So much things to talk about and boss not around this morning so can pop in more often. My SIl's maid left on Saturday. Was planning to send her off but Meg had the fever. I'm sure the maid would love to see Meg before she goes home. This maid loves Meg alot. My SIL told me before she went into the dept gate, she hugged the two boys and told him, 'must take care of meimei (megan) ok? cannot bully her ah.' aiyo...hear already i got choked with tears. Even now as u type...think if i was at the airport, i would have burst into tears!

Hi AK

50% is for ONE trial lesson? Must one sign-up to enjoy the 50% discount? Any discount for package?

Tracy, for suppostory, there's a max to put within 24 hrs. I think it's by weight and for my baby, it's 1 and a half piece.

Weight ... have not been weighing mine, but seems like hovering around 10kg.

Maid with SAHM : I've only engaged a maid when I'm 5-months preggie with #2. When with #1, I don't see that need. I love to do housework though so perhaps it's a "job" I suited for. We had chosen to have a maid cos I had a miscarriage before. We don't see it as a luxury item and though our budget allows it, our plan is for the maid to be here for 2 years before I'm on my own again. I find that hubby and I are getting lazier with the maid around... we used to play and be more responsible with #1, now, we would sit back more coz got maid to handle them... I guess it's all a matter of getting used to a lifestyle.

CL, I'm also not considering De la Salle. The admin's pretty snobbish I hear.

.ky.

Re: Abbott- Buy 6 tin get 1 free voucher-Gain IQ
Hi mummies...
Anyone has this voucher to spare and not using it?? Can give me if you are not using??
I can collect from you.

Have been very busy with work... will catch up the thread later...

1) AK
2) Flo
3) SY
4) Chicken Little (Great then I can pass GAIA and pending bday bash stuff)
<pls>

Child Psychology
No joke. Really need to learn more because kids nowadays not easy to deal with.

SY
It is realli not easy to look after kids , handle housework at the same time because as the kids grow older you need to add in little study/ reading time with them. Ask the SAHM, it is not a easy job.

If I move, it will probably be moving to Clementi likely to take over my fil's flat. I have 2 choice, either to send to after school care at Del Care where she is now or send her to my mum at Commonwealth.

GAIA Product
They gave us a free trial with Gymboree at Tanglin for the product we purchase. Ha ha we can go together liao.

SH
Re: Sore bottom
Last evening we went out for Dinner and seems like kae has let out a silent and not smelly poo poo. After abt 2 hrs we reached home.. she is fussing unusually and, change her diaper then realise she poo poo... it's very watery type...
Her V area is sooo red and sore and also keep crying when I try to wipe her.

Even when brought her to wash with water.. she will cry and compliant
so poor thing.

HB shower her right after the wash.. then happen to wash that area again, she cry again must be very painful.

I applied cali bb - aloe vera cream.. dun seems to help AT ALL. This morning started using Desitin.. hope will be better when I go home.

SH...very heartpain to see bb with sore bottom...I know.

KY,
based on the weight of my baby, PD said can put one whole suppository 6hourly. But i avoid putting too often. Only use it when it reaches 39.5deg and above. Otherwise we give paracetamol.

SSF, CL
yeah i think it is not easy being SAHM with no maid. i told hb directly that my only concern wd be his expectations. that's why i prefer to work PT so that i can have more time with JH but still have maid. hb says i wan best of both worlds which is quite true but i told him if i have to do housework, then i will have less time with JH. so it's still square one...

re gymboree trial
wow free trial if u buy the products? that's a good deal.

ky
i also think that hb got lazier with maid so dunn owhether he can adjust back.

Gymboree trial
I am interested to go for a Gymboree trial at Serangoon Gardens during the weekends. They have 2 available slots during the weekends. The trial costs $34. Any mummy keen to join in
Saturdays: 4:00pm-4:45pm
Sundays: 3:15pm - 4:00pm

Gymboree trial (Serangoon Gardens)
1. Cheng (change to Mar 11?)
2. Zhimin (Mar 10, ok)

Zhimin,
Wonder if you can make it on Mar 11 too? Just realized I have a dinner engagement on Mar 10, and may be a bit rushed. If not, its ok, I can stick with Mar 10. Any other mummies keen to join in?

Gymboree trial
I am interested to go for a Gymboree trial at Serangoon Gardens during the weekends. They have 2 available slots during the weekends. The trial costs $34. Any mummy keen to join in

2. Zhimin (Mar 10, ok)
3. SSF (Mar 10)

Hee just abt to ask mummies on the updates. I am interested although Parkway outlet is nearer for me. if all go serangoon, its ok but can someone pass me the link on how to find my way there? this one is to be accompanied by one parent only right? if so, i may ask hb to go in as i am preggy.

nappy rash
After reading several posts about nappy rash, I get the impression that many mummies here don't seem to be using diaper creams at all? Personally, I'm a big fan of diaper cream because on CNY day 1, we forgot to bring the diaper cream out and after a whole day outside without diaper cream, except for the thin layer of Desitin creamy I applied for her in morning before going out, Ariene only had a few rash at the front of her groin. Thanks goodness I applied some cream in the morning and it managed to seal the urine and poo out for the whole day. In between, we changed her diaper twice, once washing with water, once with pigeon wipe. I cant imagine how bad the rash will be if I didn't apply in the morning. In fact, the Desitin original (which I use for the 10h night sleep) is so good, she actually managed to sleep through the night in her poo (stupid daddy and mummy didn't even noticed she pooed) without getting any rash.

I tried out calendular cream b4 and I feel its unsuitable as a nappy cream cuz it washes off too easily. Its great as a body smoothing cream though and Ariene loves the smell.

car
Hee hee.. I finally bought myself a mazda 3 on Saturday. Personally, I liked the mazda 2 better cuz its really POWERFUL but my hb feels mazda2 is not so safe cuz it has too much power for me so we took the mazda3 which has a more solid chasis, less power but more comfy ride and safer. Cant wait for my car to come then I can wash and wax our cars together. Funny couple times.. haha.

mamapanda - yeah i stopped using diaper creams since Caleb is abt 3 mths. reason being that he doesn;t have nappy rash. could be due to the diaper we are using and also the frequency we chg his diapers. find it rather messy to apply creams too or maybe shld we blame on our laziness. hee..

mamapanda,

using diaper cream too often is not too good.. coz bb skin will be immnue to it.. so when rashes come easily if you forgot to apply..

May,
I can hi-5 with you. Charmaine doesn't sit in prams and loves to cheong abt in the shopping centres. Can faint.

re: weight
I think jamie's of good weight. Charmaine's only 9.2kg last week when we bring her for her jab.

re: Pnemoccal
Is this the same as prevenar?

Re: Primary School

SY,
I share the same view. I would try my best to let her go to a good school. For me, I think it's more than academic. Perhaps it's different now, I am not sure. During my schooldays, my school would organise all kinds of activities to let us experience something more than just studying while I didn't hear of similar experience from my cousins who were in neighbour schools. Of cos, if the child can't cope, then it's best to let her enjoy learning.

SSF,
Basically, Brisbane is sort of the entry point and it's just a city like all other cities. From Brisbane, you can either drive to Sunshine coast (about 1-2 hrs drive) or to Gold Coast. Sunshine has aquarimm and beaches. Gold coast has the 3 worlds plus beaches. These are vacation laid down places. I think the enjoyable part is to laze around till noon then have leisurely brunch, cook for baby then spent the day at the beach! Weather's usually good there in the region of 20+ to at most 35 all year round. Of cos, if you miss shopping, there's a new DFO near Brisbane airport. : )

CL,
I think Nanyang Pri not easy to get in too.

1) AK
2) Flo
3) SY
4) Chicken Little (Great then I can pass GAIA and pending bday bash stuff)
5) SL

Where to get Non-toxic Paints?
Does anyone know where I can get non-toxic paints from? I went to Great World City, 3rd floor, but apparently the Crayola Craft Shop is no longer there (I think for a long while already, always go to GWC but don't frequent that floor). I've bought some mahjong paper to standby and we seraching for non-toxic paints, thinking of letting Daren have some fun with paints with supervision. My hb is more exited with the idea than I am. haha

CL
How much do i owe you for the GAIA products? Let me know when to collect.

Tracy
Hope meg gets better soon!

SH/ cookie
Use desitin original ... it really works!

RE: playgroup
I'd like to volunteer for the first session as i'm taking 3 weeks leave to study for a very impt exam.. but would like to spend some time with babies too..

I am free on 12 March Monday.. i prefer afternoon.. Maybe can start meeting at 1.30pm and then get started about 2pm?

Can i suggest a Music theme for our first gathering as i have some musical toys.. like maracas, a toy drum, toy tambourines and bells and squeaky hammers, toy organ, i think enough to go around for 8 babies... we can sing some songs and each baby can use one instrument to tap to the beat.

Roughly.. timing...
1.30 start meeting, babies to get aquainted
2-2.30pm Music session: Circle time and some songs
2.30-3pm Gym session: can play with toy slide and ball pool and for more adventurous mommies can play in garden if weather is good e.g. walk on grass, tricycle time
3pm -4pm snack/ sleep time.

I don't think the babies can tolerate more than 1 hour of stimulation. What do you think? As this is the first session.. maybe just make it more free and easy so babies can get used to what's going on?

Date... still negotiable.. maybe we can see when most mommies can make it and i can check if I'm free.

Mamapanda,

Congrats on getting a second car! : ) Seems like you and hubby really love cars. : )
For us, cars is just a way of getting around. We are very lazy to drive. In fact, if it's easier to get cabs in Singapore, we would probably rely on cabs.

re: rashes cream
since birth, i don't use it everyday. I only use it when i see redness on her skin and during the period that she got diarrhea. that's y till now, i haven't finished 1 tube of desitin cream.

re: primary school
wow, you all so fast looking for good Primary school liao.
ky, sysac, any good primary school at yew tee area other than De Lasalle?

re: diaper cream
Actually I use it sparingly too. Only after bathing charmaine. But if I notice some redness, I will apply more diligently. I don't really like the desitin original cos it's real thick. I prefer the creamy version. As for calendula cream, it works real for my gal as well.

Gymboree trial

2. Zhimin (Mar 10, ok)
3. SSF (Mar 10)
4. SY (Mar11)

mamapanda
wow gettinga 2nd car! nice...when will your new car come?

re diaper cream
JH still uses but actually i feel he doesn't need. sometimes when it's lazy mummy who changes him, i dun even put. so far he's ok.

SSF
i wd also prefer the parkway branch cos it's nearer but their timing and mine doesn't match cos i can only do sun.

sl,
yeah i think some of the sch have relaly nice enrichment activities. also i look at the envt of the sch.

re weekend playgroup
mummies when do we want to start?

MamaPanda
I too hardly use diaper rash cream frequently on Daren since 2 - 3 months and Drapolene works fine for him so I have no issues of having the need to change to a different brand. Only used the diaper cream when he developed rashes using Nepia's L size diapers. But now no issue as we stopped using that and switched to using Bumwear cloth diapers at home.

tabbiesus - thanks for the info on brisbane. DFO? whats tat? is it like those premium outlets in US? if so, can let me know how to go there?
ya i think we will plan to drive to sunshine coast and maybe pop into one of the worlds since both hb and myself have been to the 3 worlds. just planning for a relaxing one week getaway. will be bringing my mum along this time so as to reward her. hee...shhh..MIL not included :p anyone know if plan to self drive, car seat can be rent? i heard driving rules are strict over in aussie. did anyone bring their own car seat when gg to aussie?

wow the playgrp seems fun. but if its weekday, i will have to give it a miss. maybe the SAHM can kick start first.

mamapanda - congrats on getting a new car! seems like everyone is rushing to buy a car due to the drop in COE. as for us, we cannot afford to sell the current one as its less than 2 yrs old and we took a 10 yr loan on that. so die die must drive till 5 yrs than can break even. moreover i am driving these days to work since hb works in the city. and he is toying with the idea of buying his dream harley bike. i am still trying to stop him. haiz..

Tracy
Oh poor Megan. Did she catch the virus again? Hope she get well soon. I think maybe is psychological. Even for us adults, sometime we feel better after seeing the doc even before taking the med. Maybe just feel better after spending the $$$...heehee. Yesterdays class is the last lesson, Shannon and Mel has 1 make-up class to attend as well.

Re: Dirty Diaper
Mel normally looks for daddy when her diaper is soiled. Maybe she feels that daddy need to do some work too :p

AK/Tracy
RE: Positive Baby
Humm somehow the warm up session doesnt work for Mel cos shell be so distracted with the balls and keeps going to the corner of the room (where the balls are kept) when the class starts. Yesterday was there early and she got to play with the balls. She kept standing at the corner looking at the yoga pose pic and the balls for the first half of the class and only came back for the bubble sessionKhaiz.

Anyway, she was super noti yesterday. When she woke up in the morning, as usual, she was playing and talking to her soft toys in her cot. I pretended to be sleeping if not shell ask me to carry her out of her cot. After 20 min or so she decided that she wanted to get out of the cot by herself. She managed to climb and flip herself out of the cot. Luckily I placed her cot just beside my bed, so she end up landed face down on my bed. When I scolded her and told her she cant do that, she got angry and just back faced me and fake cry. Need to lift the cot barrier all the way up now so that she cant climb and flip herself out.

Then we went to the living room and I was fixing her breakfast in the kitchen. Daddy was watching her lying on the sofa with his eyes closed. Then next moment, she was crying out loudly cos she was playing with the standing fan and it almost toppled her. She just held the fan tightly and cried for help. Then daddy helped her to put the fan right up and scolded her. She just ignored daddy and walked towards me, hoping to get some comfort from mommy instead. Of course she got a scolding from mommy as well!

SY
Humm, maybe u tell hb hell need to help out with housework if you have to give up the maid

Mamapanda
I still use diaper cream although not after every diaper change but will definitely apply after each poo poo and bath time/last diaper change before she sleeps. I use A&D cream, fine it very good.

Re: weekend playgroup
Im interested if its Sun. Keep me posted

ChickenLittle
RE: Gymboree trial
So u going to Tanglin one for the free trial? When r u going?

Mamachan,
Can try Art Friend at Bras Basah or Ngee Ann City L4 for non-toxic paint.

Re: Gymboree at Gardens
Sigh, wish I can go but worry that Meg will not be well by then. See how...

Flo,
I think Meg's fever came about from the runny nose, followed by phlegm...plus she's teething. *Groan* She was stuck to my hb like a big piece of 'ko yoke' yesterday. Kept wanting him to carry.

hehe, i know wat u meant by Mel spending half her time with the balls in the room. She really loves the balls and not to mention the egg shakers if she sees them!

Oh boy...thankfully her cot was beside your bed! I 've seen Meg trying to climb out too but didn't manage to, cos we always lift the barrier all the way up. Well, at least she knew to hold onto the fan and call for help. :p At this stage, it is very tiring to monitor them. They climb everywhere, hands everywhere...Can't keep our eyes off even for awhile.