(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Car Seat
Ya the part about CNY, we have to bring my own parents around. This year with my sis , I have to remove the car seat. So I resort to using the baby carrier for aden so be strap to me then I put on the safety belt. But I was 100% alert on the traffic. Cannot relax till we reach. So I must strike toto today and buy myself another car ha ha

Mamachan
Learning Vision is supposed to be not bad. But you have to go see the environment and maybe check out with pple who has their kid there. Because the one at CCK is not good. The one at Tanjong Pagar I dun lik the environment.

Ladychua
Welcome I think they can do somersault now. Because at Aden's class at BJG, they will let him lie on those big gym ball and try to push the ball so he roll like the ball but slowly. But is it very important to check when she is doing somersault, the one does not affect the back is when they can really roll foward with the leg landing in same place and not those when the leg will move to the side. This will affect the back. I learnt that when Charmaine was younger this was caution during her gym class.

Korean restaurant
I went to one at Pasir Panjang last night. Not bad leh. Still got a playroom for the kids. So Charmaine and Aden had a lot of fun while we take turns to look after them.

Sleepingdeer
Shannon so pretty and smart. Only my aden still a gong.

SH
Take care. My hb was done last week with high fever too. 2 days both between 38.7 - 39, he is basically in bed and no appetite. The weather is bad , so have to drink more water.

Maybe you should try some other stuff like pasta, mee sua for him. they eat porridge oso very xian one. Especially they start to look at your food and will sure want to try. So have to give them more variety

sleepingdeer
ya, when i feed her, it's usually at the back. at the front, are mostly short distance loh. i think, i better stop doing that liao.

sunny

what kind of silly reasoning is that? your FIL really needs to be whacked on the head.

Sandra
That's so dangerous!!!! I'm surprised that your MIL can still say that you're overworrying. If something happens to your bb *touch wood*, what is she going to do, kneel down, beg for forgiveness and hope all is forgotten? Sometimes I find that these ILs are all no-brainer leh.

I know about the airbags. Always ensure that I switch the front airbag off whenever I have to carry sarah when she's crying hysterically (to nearby places only). Otherwise, I always make sure she sits at the back seat in her car seat.

Actually MIL used to be quite kan cheong about the safety of baby in the car last time. But she always kena scolded by FIL until quite badly that she just keeps quiet now. I don't understand why she asked me to relax this morning when I told her my worries when FIL took sarah out again.

Actually our relationship with our ILs is really quite funny. They're wonderful people yet sometimes you just don't know what's going thru their minds... The same can be said about parents I suppose.My mum is a classic example. I can explain to her the reasons why I dont want her to give sarah chocolates and sweets, yet the next moment she'ld bring sarah to a corner and feed her those. She really rile me up. When it comes to junk food, my ILs commit the lesser of the evil. At least they give sarah savoury things like Paos and Kuehs. I tend to get angry with them whenever they do that but when I think about my own mother, it just make their actions more forgivable. Of course either way I'm the one who'ld have to suffer sarah's tantrums when she refuses to eat her meals due to her stuffed tummy. Really exasperating!

Flo,
haha, yes Mel was happily pulling down the yoga mats. I was afraid the cushions will fall on her. Megan and Mel were both 'discussing' about the pictures on the wall and the balls. And they seem to understand each other. *faintz*

CL
I think the "j" brand of stroller is Joop? I remember someone mentioning can go to taime? or somewhere like that to look at it..

Sandra
EEks.. so dangerous your FIL... how to relax... want to wait for something to happen then gan cheong issit? I've seen too many injuries from airbags and windscreens... car safety shouldn't be compromised.

Mamachan
I've only heard that the learning vision at KKH isn't so good.. but i think its becos the kids always for sick.. (not surprising hor?)

Tabby also can do the look in between her leg thing... we always go peekaboo with her when she does that.. so far she hasn't performed any somersaults yet.

Rena
Elijah really looks like he's having a lot of fun!! DId he enjoy disney land?

Sleepingdeer
Shannon looks so cute in the cheongsam dress... we should really get all the girls with the same dress to take one photo together... it would be so cute!!

Denmy
Depoprovera is a long acting progesterone injection.. will delay your period for 3 months... but have to take the jab regularly every 3 months..but after stopping.. it may take awhile for menses to come back.

Tabby & CL

Joop? I know got Zooper. Taime sells Zooper. Not Joop though.

Tabby
Thot lately there was a report that artificial progesterone causes cancer?

mashy

hehe.. i think u r right.. must be Zooper.. was thinking of the fashion shop joop!! :D

RE: progesterone and cancer
More reports have been done. It has the same risk of breast Ca as anyone using OC pills.. which is a slight increase risk compared to one not using OC pills. It has no other increase risk of gynecological cancers.

Hi Sandra

How do you switch off the air bag in your car? what car is that? We have a Toyota Altis. Any way to switch off? We know of the airbag problem but when my hubby or I had to bring #1, he gets to sit in the front seat. So we move the seat as far back as we possibly can.

Learning Vision
I've heard the one at Nanyang poly is very good, with a long waiting list. Staff gets priority and special rates so not surprising if some others that are situation in tertiary are full too.

.ky.

Slinky, Mashy, Sandra, Mamachan,Sleepingdeer,
I know exactly how frustrating it is with the car seat issue. When Ethan was younger and we had to out with my BIL and his family in one car, my hb will remove Ethan's carseat to accomodate them. I would be very mad at him for doing so as it means we are compromising on his safety. After a few black faces, he left the carseat alone. Then what made me even angrier was that when we had the carseat in the car, and we were all getting in, one of my nephews will cheong for the carseat and hog it!!! Wa biangzzz... and their mum just kept quiet!

Tabbs,
Does deproprovera make you fat like one of the side effects of the Pill? And how much does it cost?

JanMom,
You might wanna sign her up for Gymboree or MyGym to let her vent off her 'steam'.

Sandra,
re: Gymboree
I should be going down this Fri at 4.15pm. You might wanna call them and let them know you're going for a trial. 6440 6306. Tried to PM you my hp but you dun accept PMs.

re: Korean Rest at Katong
Is it called Togi? Few shops away from Katong Laksa?

Babylon,
re: abacus
Good for your boy. You'll soon see the difference in him when it comes to Maths.

tabbiesus
Hahaha. I think it's inevitable for them to fall sick in such environments. Especially if they are in air-con the whole day. I recently heard from the IFC which I placed Daren in last year, that after I withdrew him from the place, there were bad cases of GE going around, lots of bbs vomitting, even the teachers got it! Now, recently, there's ther flu virus going around after CNY. Hear already also scared.

Flo/Tracy
I was smiling to myself as I try to picture the 2 girls having a "discussion" and understanding each other at this stage. Must be fun to observe them.

Chicken Little
I guess I'll have to ask the colleagues from other department (I don't know any though) whom I heard from my HR person mentioned that they send their kids there. Am just finding out more in terms of their teaching style, etc etc. Think NUS staff has got some subsidy. Will enrol Daren for nursery 1 when he turns 3 years either at a church-based kindergarten or maybe Learning Vision @ NUS. See how things goes 1st.

SH - other than porridge, you can try boiling potatoes and place a kraft cheese on the piping hot mash potatoes. Caleb loves it...idea came from mamachan who suggested the alphabet past or was it macacroni. anyway, i tried the pasta but i think its too plain, he doesn;t really like it...so i normally stick to potaoes. he is mad abt potatoes. hee..just like mummy's taste too.

placing car seat in front of airbag is a big NO NO. my nissan doesn;t have an airbag at the passenger seat so its fine.

ladychua -welcome to our family. wow ur kid can do somersault. Caleb still haven;t learn yet. now busy walking ard the hse like security guard chasing his beloved ball. maybe u can take a video and show us

SSF - Caleb & Cephas can be friends. He loves mashed potatoes with cheese. Somerimes, cheese with hardboil egg too!

mashy
i will observe and see if my FIL bite her again. if he did, i will tell him not to do it. else, will ask my hb to tell him tmr. 'cos i will sure sound like scolding him if i tell him not to do it. :p

mongs,
I'm taking multi-vits, folic acid and primrose oil now in preparation for #2. No harm taking multi-vits anyway. Primrose oil more for my skin.

Ladychua,
Welcome here!

argh! the office aircon is down and i'm super super super hot! Tomor must bring my own portable fan liao. i'm suffocating here! choke choke!

SSF
Wow, cheese with mash potatoes sounds delicious! Maybe will try it out for Daren this weekend. As of now, he likes his porridge more than anything else. Especially pumpkin. He's more sianz of the macoroni at times, haha.

Tracy
Cool down cool down! Xin1 Jing4 Zi4 Ran2 Liang3. hehehe. I guess better to wear sleeveless tmr?

tracy - hee ya planning for no 2 already. all the best!
any other mummies also trying? hahaha..kaypohing here.

sysac - i havent tried giving him eggs coz he has enzema when he is much younger so i have been trying to avoid eggs. tou fu i did try and so far ok. hmm..but to think of tat...caleb have been trying alot of food from outside. just yesterday, we went airport for dinner and ate sakae sushi. And he is enjoying the udon and fish cake. must be the miso soup base that makes it so tasty.

Hi KY, I'm not too sure about Toyota. Our current car is a VW- Passat. There's a keyhole in the glove compartment that can turn off the airbag for the front passenger seat.

Thanks Demny. Will call the number.

Yup, the korean restaurant is called Togi. I like it quite a bit, but my husband dislike it also. But it is definitely better than the bbq one at east coast park.

mamachan - ya was telling caroline that i used US washed potatoes and i did remove the skin. boil till soft so that its easier to mash. then top it with kraft cheese will do. oh no...its making me hungry already. hee..

mamachan,mashy,
I'm already in sleeveless today! Tied up my hair too. Told my GM we need to buy a fan to standby for such situations. We open our windows but no wind...

SSF,
haha, yes I plan to open factory in June.

Visit to gynae this afternoon
Took some time off this afternoon to KKH for my scheduled gynae check and pap smear. Dr Tee asked how? Having family planning now? Asked when I would be TTC. I told him not too soon, maybe next year bah. I casually asked him that I can TTC now? I thought for C-sect wounds should give it awhile longer like 1.5 years - 2 years, he says no need. Hahaha, pushing the birth rate higher. BUT, as usual, it's all up to my supplier if he wants the factory opened or not.

mamachan - my gynae told me 6 mths to rest when i went for my first checkup after my c sect. he says after 6 mths...can start the family planning again. 1.5 to 2 yrs is too long....i have a frd who have 3 kids in 4 yrs and all c sect. it all went well. haha...so u may want to check with ur supplier again

ask u all a stupid question. how to add cheese into our babies diet? meaning how to cook it and what kind of cheese to buy? i have only been feeding my boy boring porridge. maybe that's y hates his meal times!

SSF - Yummy! Making me hungry too! There are times I wld just boil the potatos, carrots & egg. Mash all tog with the melted cheese. So far, brought that out to my company's family day & the BD Bash. Other times, will just cut all into bite size & feed him like that for the wkends. Yesterday, I cooked alphabet marcaroni with cocktail sausage & egg with dried scallops for both his meals! I thot it was quite bland but Cephas was happily chomping away

wow some of u mummies here are so creative with the food prepared for ur little ones! very impressed. i better buck up! no wonder edgar doesn't like his porridge!

Celine77 - For me, I use the laughing cow brand or normal Kraft sliced cheese. These are some of Cephas' cheese meals:

1. Steamed egg with cheese for breakfast(beat the egg, add a bit of FM, throw in the cheese & steam together, Quite fragrant)

2. Boil potatoes, carrots, pumpkin & egg. (Mash all tog, mix in cheese which will melt due to the heat)

3. Melt the cheese in his porridge along with his usual ingredients.

Basically, it's trial & error for me. Cephas is quite easy with food. As long as it's edible, he will eat. I've not seen him reject anything yet.

celine

even tasty ones?

I tried to make the stock suggested by one of our very good cook-mommy to boil the soy beans and ikan bilis.

My boy is now slurping his porridge like a greedy monkey. Haha.

sysac
ooohh, coctail sausages? hmmmm, think I won't be able to intro that to Daren till he grows his molars! Guess I'll have to pass on that one for the time being. But will stick to making beef stew for him =)

SSF
Hahaha, yes yes, will check with my supplier again. Think he would want to settle down in his new portfolio 1st. I can still wait and enjoy Daren 1st. Planning in my head what to do with when I convert to PT.

Celine77
You can use the Laughing Cow or Kraft cheese (those triangular shaped ones) to add into his food i.e. mash potatoes. Can grate into the food and let it melt. Should taste yummy and also rich in calcium.

my mil will throw in red dates and wolfberries and cook together with the porridge and he will love it so much. now i know why he finds my porridge so so only. haha..tats why must try other alternatives.

sysac - thks for the idea of the alphabet pasta. maybe i tried this weekend to boil with the ikan bilis powder and dried scallops. and maybe add a hardboil egg and try and see if he likes it. wow...any other ideas from other mummies? please share

Mamachan,
How do u make beef stew? Sounds delicious. I hardly make any stock for porridge. Tink less than 5 times so far. Lazy mummy here. :p Recently, I started adding a little Marmite into his boring porridge. So little tat it doesnt really make any difference to me. Haahaa. I will probably change to Bovril soon.

Celine77,
Me too! Ethan's meals are mostly porridge, porridge & porridge. Only tried giving him meesua 3 times for lunch & once mashed potato with cheese for bfast.

cheese
Actually, I find it unnecessary to use the triangular shape ones for cooking. I just buy perfect italiano shredded parmesan cheese (which has less sodium than the triangular cheeses) and add it into my cooking. Convenient and tasty. I only use the triangular ones as a snack for her. Sometimes, I'll just give her 1 wedge for teabreak or I spread it on a piece of wholemeal bread for breakfast/teabreak.

U can also try toasting some washed ikan bilis in the microwave for about 1-1.5min, pound it into a powder and add it to alphabet soup or porridge for some taste. Be sure to wash the ikan bilis clean as it can be quite salty and dirty but its a rich source of calcium and vit D.

Yummy food.

Maybe we should just create a folder in our yahoo group. Then everyone can update your recipe there. Easier to refer to.

Second baby

Ya ya mummies who going for number 2 jia you. Maybe more piglets. Actually rat year oso not bad. I feel my frens who born in the year of rat career all quite smooth

Hi Ky,

I think the chool makes a difference. According to my teachers friends, the school cirriculum i s plan by the school themselves so it depends very much on the principal and teachers. She was commenting that some neighbourhood schools has younder teachers who adopt more of the montessori menthods........ MAybe the teachers mummies in this forum can comment?

So your friend's gal may adapt better in another school?

Hi Sysac,

Is corktail saugage too ssaltish for our toddlers?

Hi Mamachan,

Do shar your beef stew recipe here.!

Re: food

Thank God Megan is not a fussy eater. At least at my mum's place, she gets tastier porriage and cod fish almost everyday. For weekends, sometimes i feed her cereal or steam eggs. Tried spagetti with cheese but she don't really like. She don't llike potato either.

Joanne should be able to tell you more since she's a primary school teacher
What I can tell you is MOE is encouraging a "teach less learn more" approach. However, the secondary school syllabus keeps adding topics, I personally find it an uphill task to teach less, especially when you've gotta discipline the class 1/2 the time. I visited an Australian school before and interviewed the principal and teachers for one of my projects. Personally, I prefer the australian and american education system. They focus more on creativity and the learning, not so much the curriculum. One of the reasons why our local students are considered more "advanced" in overseas schools is because our system focus alot on curriculum but very little on holistic thinking. That's also one of the reasons why Americans and Australian kids seem to be more creative asthetically. Although MOE is trying to change that around, I still think it'll be at least another 5-10 more years before the system can truly turn around. The curriculum still requires alot of fine tuning and downsizing for that to occur. Furthermore, the ratio of students to teachers in those schools is 1:15-20 compared to the ratio of 1: 40-45 here. In order to achieve success, they should think of how they can reduce the ratio first so that each child in the class can get the attention each deserves.

Yuki
Cod fish almost everyday? Hmmmm, I wouldn't recommend that coz as much as fishes like salmon and cod fish have Omega-3 and all, but their mercury content is rather high. So I would advise maybe to reduce the intake of cod fish once a week or so. This is advised to me by a fellow colleague who rears fish as a research project in my research institute.

MamaChan's version of Beef Stew:
Eh, just my humble share of how I cook my beef stew, not just for babies, but whole family can eat. My granny's recipe

500g - 1kg (depends on how much beef you would like and the size of your slow cooker) of beef, cubed (if you prefer the rendang type, can let the butcher know, my mum prefers Daren to eat the softer parts)
3 - 4 medium sized potatoes, cubed
2 - 3 carrots, cubed
1 large yellow onion, diced
1 thumb-sized ginger
3 - 4 star anis
3 - 4 cloves
1 long stick of cinnamon
2 - 3 cups of water
optional:
bay leaves
Red cooking Wine
Salt (to taste)
Black Pepper (to Taste)

In a slow cooker (set to Auto Mode), place the cubed carrots, followed by cubed potatoes, diced onion and lastly the cubed beef in as well as the spices (cloves, star anis, cinnamon, ginger), pour in the water (make sure DO NOT COVER all the ingredients but the carrots and potatoes will be enough). And you can cook in the morning and by dinner time, it'll be ready to serve. Just stir the contents to even out the ingredients *optional : add in 1 - 2 Bay leaves for that added fragrance 1/2 - 1 hour before serving.

If you're comfortable to add in a little salt for taste even for toddlers, do so, if not, just take out the portion for your toddlers. For me, I'll add in a little salt (about 1 flat teaspoon which is very minimal for the entire pot), stir evenly then serve.

Once babies' portion have been seperated, for the rest of the family, can add in some red cooking wine and further add salt to your taste and liking as well as some black pepper. I hope you and your family will enjoy this dish.

One more note on beef stew
If you use the soft parts of beef for your toddler, please note that after slow cooking, it should be soft and as you stir to mix the ingredients more evenly, the beef would sort of break apart. You can add the stew into the alphabet macaroni or even porridge. But do make sure they don't swallow big chunks. make sure the beef is "fine" or that your toddlers chew food relatively well. If not, can let them have the broth with the soft carrots and potatoes.

And as for the ginger, you need to use "flatten" or beat the ginger flatly before adding into the stew to cook. The ginger is to get rid of the strong beefy smell.

Sandra,

I will be bringing Renee down for class this Fri as well.

Denmy,

Will you be keen for any other earlier timings? Coz Wenny wants her gal to join the class as well but her mil can only bring her earlier as she needs to prepare dinner..

Coz i understand that they are willing to start a class as long as there are more than 2 kids.

SH,

Hope are feeling better already. Do take care and drink lots more water.

Food

Hmmm...I think its also time i start finding more stuff to cook for renee already. I wonder wat else she can eat now.

Sandra, yup, we met your hubby during my friend's wedding dinner at fullerton. So qiao. Did he tell you about their video clip depicting their 11 year long love story? It's so funny.

We decided on Philipino maid cos of language. And somehow I feel they do things with more common sense than Indonesian ones. I see my SIL very cham with her indonesian maids.

Eh, mummies, any agency that can recommend? Sorry ah, no time to search through the archives for the contacts. So I'll greatly appreciate any recommendations.

re: Food
I usually rotate a few dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner too.

Kirsten's favourites for lunch are ABC pasta mixed with Heinz's cheesy pasta bolognese and mixed potatoes with lentils, peas and butter.

For dinner, she loves mee sua with anything. Recently, I've started putting dried scallops into the porridge for flavour. When it's a fish porridge, I usually put a small piece of young ginger. Quite tasty and kills off the fishy smell.

RE: Activities
Haven't try on Jamie yet but I taught playgroup and nursery before. So those activities that I have stated yesterday are some of it.

RE: Veggie Printing
KY,
Can use non-toxic,washable poster colour from Popular Bookshop. Use veggie like cucumber,potato, carrot as they are not messy compared to lady's finger that we used in Primary Sch. Try to cut some design and we can teach them by holding their hand first to print on drawing paper. If got space, buy mahjong paper and let them mess it up! Of cos, u must use old clothing for them and be very attentive as they are only 13mths. As these activities are more for 18mths toddlers.