(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

huh, i've yet to think abt wat kinda school i wld want my child to be in. Montessori or not. I always thot that PAP is good for kindergarten as they prepare the kids for proper schooling. However, how PAP is not like before. Understand from a parent that they hv learning centres whereby kids are to go to each area to "play and learn from playing" But to me, play is play for a kid. Unless the teacher plays with the kids. Thats impossible wif such a big class. Look at my pupils now, they certainly hv a lot to catch up.

RE : Organic
Yah..i guess in moderation is the key point. My mum as expected, called to tell me abt the news and asked me to stop this organic thingy. Somehow she's very much against it.

Montessori
I think you have to go to each individual school to ensure if they are realli adopting the method. Some just state they are montessori but it may not be 100%.

Yuki, maybe currently it is different I will go check it out again. During Charmaine's time this is the feedback I got.

KY, ten mile junction has got MMI. You can go take a look. The place is quite nice. I think they started like 1.5 years back.

Julia Gabriel
I am still keeping track. Will update once I get in touch with the person in charge. I missed her a few times as I was busy at work.

Happy CNY to all. Have been v busy at work and home and havent been able to catch up on the posts.

Co-incidentally, I was just discussing Montessori with my hb yest, coz my ex-coll who is Shanghai now, just sent her gal to the Monte school there and highly recommended it. Hb and I were also not sure how to choose schools. So, the discussion on Montessori hv been v useful.

re stains on teeth
my dentist also warned me to bring my boy to him if there are any yellow or brown stains on his teeth and to give him water and clean his teeth after his last feed. hope it helps. Once there are black stains, i think it's decay as pointed by Yuki.

RE: Montessori
So many mummies are talking abt this and JG. Anyone done research on Kumon? Also another method of education. I am looking into either MMI or Kumon.

RE : Stains on Teeth
My friend brought to PD Dentist and was told that its bacteria and nothing much they can do abt it. There are several possible reasons for the bacteria. (1) Inherit from Parents - dentist checked both parent and ruled out. (2) Cld be caregiver (3) Could be she's born with if. (4) Oral Hygience (5) environment

She said can get rid of the stains if my friend seriously wan to but wld be too tramatising for the bb. Hopefully the bacteria will go off eventually as at now, it has "decided" to stay. Hopefully, it wld not affect the rest of the erupting teeth or even the permanent. Has to bring for checks every 6 months as it cld mask decay.

Advise given. (1) Clean teeth after every meal. (2) no sharing of utensils and food as it spread vice verse.

Surprising that dentist commented, most patients she saw used first toothpaste that had the same condition. She suspected that the enzymes in the paste interferes with the enzymes bb has in the mouth. She said use cloth to wipe is good enough. Now I'm wondering, to continue anot...huh???

re: Kumon
oh, never heard of Kumon before leh. got to do some research on this for me. haha, now after reading all these school thingy made me stress liao...

chillies
oh, so its not good to use the first toothpaste?! had used a few time on dylan and he rejected so i end up just use cloth to clean. i am starting to worry about dylan's teeth bcoz recently i discovered his teeth are not as white as before and one tooth even look yellowish to me.he is making my job difficult too bcoz he will bite and move away whenever i want to clean his teeth. how to encourage him to be more cooperative and enjoy the cleaning??

re: Pap smear
can i check, for pap smear we have to be clear from menes then can do it right? my menes is late again and my appointment for my pap smear is 2 Mar... wondering if i better change the appointment or not?

re: irregular menes
its been months i had my menes back, but it dont seem to be settling down on a regular cycle... can be late for as long as 2 weeks. is it normal? my menes had always been on the dot before i got preggie.

SL
Since you've given Charmanie whole egg before, she shouldn't be allergic to it. As to introducing FM, you can mix with BM and slowing increase the proportion of FM. Mel hates mixing the 2, so I make the FM more diluted initially and increase the concentration overtime.

Sandra
Poor Sarah hope she's feeling better now. I think your MIL quite bad leh, will give Sarah the wrong signal that she can have her junk food and dun need to take main meal and you may have a hard time trying to control her when she's older. Maybe get your hb to talk to your MIL?

RE:Montessori
My girlfren was thinking of relocating back to Sing and was back with her kids from the US for 6 months last year to see if they can adapt to Sing's education system. Both her kids were used to Montessori system back in the US. When they were back, she put them in a neighbourhood childcare for a few months. Her gal (who was 5+ then) really hated the local school system. She kept arguing with her mom why she's forced to do things that she dun want to do in class (as under montessori system, she can do whatever she wants). For her boy (who's one year younger), when the teacher asked him to copy some sentences on the whiteboard on the first day of school, he was unable to do it (whereas most other local kids are able to do that by that age). He went forward to the teacher to ask her to either hold his hand to write those words or jot line for him to trace. After attending local school for a few months, my fren noticed that her boy learnt lot more things under local school system whilst her gal still kept complaining about the system. So the conclusion is that cos her gal is more self-motivated and has a mind of her own so Montessori system works better for her whereas her boy is not as focused so he performed better under a more rigid environment. But I do find that Montessori encourages a kid to be more creative. My nephew attended montessori when he was 2 1/2 for about 2 years before my bro swithed him into those mainstream kindergarden. I think it helps him to be creative and at the same time able to cope well with the local school system.

Rachel
I think is common to take a while before menses cycle is back to normal. If you are concern maybe can check with your gynae?

May
RE: Kumon
I thot Kumon is aimed at older kids? Is basically a Japanese approach in teaching math and reading comprehension skills. Some of my frens' kids in primary school are attending it as an enrichment class, not sure if they teach kids as young as 18 mths to 2 years old.

junk food
damien vomited all milk after his morning feed. so i did not insist him to finish his milk. HB smsed me that damien kept vomiting after his porridge. Imediately, brought him to GP..first thing gp said..it must due with junk food. So mummies here, please watch out..No No junk food to your bb no matter how. Told me family, please do not give him any junk food no matter how damaien plead for it...

CL,
sorry supposed to meet you yesterday but i got to rush to bring damien to the doctor. Afriad that cannot make it since most clinic is open for 1/2 day on Sat.

Junk Food
Talking about this, hb's fren's parents insisted on giving Meg bak kwa ystrdy. I couldn't stop them..thankfully Meg didn't attempt to swallow it but just kept sucking it in her mouth. I guess its too hard.

And hb's aunt gave Meg Pringles ystrdy too. She really enjoyed it and had 2 pieces before I put a stop to it.

Re: Montessori
Between my older and younger nephew, the younger one went Montessori playgroup before going to a church kindergarten. He is more creative than his brother when it comes to the arts. There are 2 pieces of art he did and when you see it, you will be impressed. It's really artistic. But then again, he's a left-hander so by default already more creative.

Cos he was only in the playgroup for 2hrs a day, when he switched to kindergarten, he had not much of a problem. Except he kept removing his shoes when he enter the classroom cos he does that in his playgroup. :p

Rachel,
I will call my gynae's clinic and check with the nurses if my appt is due but menses not entirely clear. Sometimes if it's very very light, gynae can still do a pap smear.

It takes some time to get the cycle back. Don't worry. Oh, do you know there are pills to take to bring your cycle forward too? I jus learnt that recently. I swa ku. Only tot got pills to delay.

To clean Meg's teeth, I always sing the 'this is the way we brush our teeth' to her. She allows me to brush.

chillies,
my PD was recommending first toothpaste to me...

For Montessori
yes, I know there's a MMI at ten-mile. In my personal opinion, it's not as good as the one as the one across at Pheonix Walk. I've wanted to put #1 in Pheonix Walk and sat in the classroom for an hr. After observation, some doubts came up on how the teachers are facilitating the class. And MMI is actually owned by locals which have localized it to some extent. They use worksheets too.... oh, I'm not against MMI, but it's not my style.

There's 2 Montessori schools which I wanted to consider (outside CCK area) but the distance and charges made me re-think my options. There are other various playschool that focus on a child's capability and be child-directed. #1 is going to a play-based school instead of Montessori after various considerations. One school I've heard that's really good (but didn't explore further) is CreativeO and that's not Montessori but I hear the teachers are very dedicated and it's child-directed activities.

I've once considered enrolled in Montessori but time doesn't permit. I've told MMI to consider holding more in-depth sessions for parents. They told me politely that they would look into it but I guess to them, bottomline counts and they would rather run full courses. The reason I'm into Montessori is cos of my SIL; she's trained in it and she's homemade a lot of materials at home and introduced me on how I can do this at home. It's not that difficult but it's challenging with a parent-child relationship

Re: Teeth Brushing
First toothpaste doesn't contain fluoride and hence it's ok to swallow. The other types of toothpast does and can only be introduced to the children when they learn how to spit. I'm still using First toothpaste on my #1 (know I shouldn't but we feel he's not diligent in brushing his own teeth yet)

.ky.

Queen,

Your kits are with me already..let me know how to pass them to you ok? thanks

Tabbs,

I will also try to have no. 3 before 35 as the CVS scares the hell out of me..even my friend, when he saw his wife having to go thru that, he felt so worried and scared..he was saying its like a bbq skewer being poked into her

I am finally back.. Japan was fun.. and elijah was very guai during the whole trip.. really thank god for all the good weather..

RE: friend's bb

something happen that make me feel so bless.. my friend just gave birth to her 4th bb at 43 years old and she sms me during my trip telling me that her bb has big toe but no small toes and only stumps.. i went to see her today.. and feld so sad that i cried.. i really thank the lord for elijah's hands and legs...

RE: sQ flight

my encounter is not very good leh.. when i went there the service was terrible.. only coming back the service is good

Hello mummies.
Been MIA the last 2 days cos Isaac was hospitalised. Just discharged today. On Friday afternoon, my MIL called and told me that Isaac started vomitting again after 2 days break from it. And he vomitted 4 times in addition to the diarrheoa. So HB and I rushed back from work and brought him to Mt. A. PD said he was showing signs of dehydration and had to be put on IV drip and no food and milk for at least 8 hours. So we admitted him and was there for 2 nights. I teared when I heard my poor baby screaming away in the treatment room (I was allowed into the room) when the PD put the drip on for him. The hospital tested his stool sample and found it to be Rotavirus culture positive. Now he's better, no more vomitting and diarrheoa, but there is a breakout of rashes all over his body which the PD said is a reaction to virus and should clear in a few days. Suddenly Isaac has formed a resistance to lactose-free / soy milk. The only liquid he wants is orange flavoured glucose water. So I was deperate enough to add a teaspoon into his lactose-free milk so that he will consume some milk. I'm hoping that this resistance will not be translated to the normal cow's fomula milk when he can revert back to it tomorrow or the day after. Can't possibly add glucose powder into his milk all the time!
I think the medical bills for his rotavirus episode add up to more than $2000 before Medisave deductions, including all the bills incurred at KK before we brought him to Mt. A. With Medisave deductions, we probably still need to pay ~$1000.

Sigh... on hindsight, should have let him have the Rotavirus vaccination at $100+ dollars in the first place and save ourselves from all the extra medical costs incurred, and also from all the anxiety and heartache! But I guess, the most important thing is that Isaac is now recovering from it now.
I told my HB, for our next baby, Rotavirus vaccination is a MUST!

Queen,

So sorry to hear that Isaac had to go thru the whole episode
Hope he's feeling much better already.

Did you guys buy insurance for him? Coz my agent told me to buy Pink of Health .. i think it will cover all excess that cannot be deducted by Medisave.

I totally agree that Rotavirus vaccination is a MUST..maybe i ks.. Renee also took the pneumococcal vaccination when she was i think 4 mths old.

queen
hope isaac recover fast.

esther
me also ks, i let my gal take pneumo when she's around 7 mth old.

tracy
my colleague always joked that women tend to have amnesia 'cos they always forgot about the labour pain. haha.... i think i am one of them. :p

re: junk food/adult food
i have been 'fighting' with friends/relatives who always want to give food to my gal ever since they know that my gal can take solid food. so tiring.... all of them comment the same thing, 'wah, this cannot take, that cannot take. so poor bb...' grrr...
this afternoon, my SIL even wanna fed my gal raw vege! my hb shouted at her in front of all the relatives to stop her from doing so. guess she's extrememly unhappy. but don't care, 'cos we told her what my gal can't take already.
i really don't understand why all these ppl likes to attempt to feed my gal all kinds of food though we have already told them that my gal has already had her meal.

Flo
i will check with my gynae when i see her on my appointment, see what she say.

tracy
think i will also call up tomo to check with them on this question, having a feeling my menes will come in 1 to 2 days time, hahaha. if thats so, confirm will clash with my pap smear appointment le.

oh, then i also swa ku. first time heard about this pill that can bring forward menes. but had a bad encounter with these type of pill that adjust our menes cycle. took pill to delay my menes during one of my hoilday, ended up my menes cycle went crazy (had menes for 2 weeks!) and it took me quite awhile to get it back on track. so no more for me ever.

Have been out of action, so much to catch up on! 2 weeks worth of archives...

Queen, poor Isaac. Must have been really hard on you! I also didn't get the rotavirus jab for kirsten cos I heard there are also other types of viruses that can cause the same symptoms that you mentioned, so not much point in giving. Hmmm, but now I think a jab against one virus better than none...

Rena, welcome back! Glad to hear you have a good trip. I feel so sad for your friend.

Queen
Oh no, hope Isaac is recovering well. Can imagine how heartbreaking it is for both you and hb. Both of you take care too. Just wondering have u stopped sterilising Isaac's milk bottle?

Tracy/Sunny
RE: Junk Food
Sometimes I really can't tahan these ppl, wonder will they do the same thing to their own kids. For me, I always use the excuse that Mel is allergic to all these food, then they dun dare to anyhow give her food without my approval =p

Tracy,
Thanks for helping to pack up the yoga mats just now, didn't realised Mel was up to some mischieve at the corner.

Mummies, after a long discussion with hubby, we've decided to get a Philipino maid. I remember a few mummies were recommending a few agencies. Can I trouble you ladies again for the contact? Thanks very much!

queen
oh man, this virus was a very nasty one. wish isaac has a speedy recovery, so mummy won't be sad and heartache.

re: junk food
lucky my friends and relatives are all sensible people. no one tried anything funny on dylan (or maybe they know cannot play play with his mummy =p)

think the reason why others keep pushing junk to babies are they find it FUN to see them eat those food. not thinking of their health at all man!

Queen,
Hope Isaac get well soon. Rem to take care of urself too. It is difficult to stay by their side during these period plus the weather is bad nowadays. JIA YOU !!

RE: Kumon or Montessori
Here's two links that I have found:
KUMON - http://www.kumon.com.sg/faq.html
MONTESSORI - http://www.modern-montessori.com/preschool.htm

I had taught in normal PAP Kindergarten before. Understand that they are going to change the syllabus. Worksheets, Spelling and Test will soon faced out. They are now encouraging students to learn thru play. Every week they will have a theme and teachers will create different groups: Art,Math,Language, etc. Students will be divided into groups and given abt 20-30mins to explore this particular corner. After which, they will switch around. By the end of the week, they will learn and understand the theme. This is what I learn from lesson planning.

Actually now, I am starting to teach Jamie with weekly theme. Cos now SAHM got more time. Taught her fruits last week. So this week will be animals.

RE: DIY dough
I have learnt to DIY cooked dough so that it is safe for toddlers as well during my studies. Had done it for my students before as I am afraid that they might eat it or some might be left in their nails. As our "babies" are now exploring and discovering things, maybe can let them try this rather than getting playdoh which is still too young for them. Let them feel the texture of dough.

RE: Other activities
You may try these activities too:
1) Hand Print on Papers
2) Veggie Print
3) Sand Play
4) Water Play
5) Paper plates with removable eyes,nose,mouth, etc.
These are some common activities that most of the childcare will teach children that at 18mths onwards. (N1 and N2)

I will post the recipe for the DIY dough tmr. Will share more activites other days. Got to tend to Jamie now.

Something nice I read to start the week with:

The Price of Children

This is just too good not to pass on to all. Something absolutely
positive for a change. I have repeatedly seen the breakdown of the cost
of raising a child, but this is the first time I have seen the rewards
listed this way.

It's nice.

The government recently calculated the cost of raising a child from
birth to 18 and came up with $160,140 for a middle income family. Talk
about sticker shock! That doesn't even touch college tuition.

But $160,140 isn't so bad if you break it down. It translates into:

* $8,896.66 a year,

* $741.38 a month, or

* $171.08 a week.

* That's a mere $24.24 a day!

* Just over a dollar an hour.

Still, you might think the best financial advice is don't have children
if you want to be "rich." Actually, it is just the opposite. What do
you get for your $160,140?

* Naming rights. First, middle, and last!

* Glimpses of God every day.

* Giggles under the covers every night.

* More love than your heart can hold.

* Butterfly kisses and Velcro hugs.

* Endless wonder over rocks, ants, clouds, and warm cookies.

* A hand to hold, usually covered with jelly or chocolate.

* A partner for blowing bubbles, flying kites

* Someone to laugh yourself silly with, no matter what the boss said or
how your stocks performed that day.

For $160,140, you never have to grow up. You get to:

* finger-paint,

* carve pumpkins,

* play hide-and-seek,

* catch lightning bugs, and

* never stop believing in Santa Claus.

You have an excuse to:

* keep reading the Adventures of Piglet and Pooh,

* watching Saturday morning cartoons,

* going to Disney movies, and

* wishing on stars.

* You get to frame rainbows, hearts, and flowers under refrigerator
magnets and collect spray painted noodle wreaths for Christmas, hand
prints set in clay or Mother's Day, and cards with backward letters for
Father's Day.

For $160,140, there is no greater bang for your buck. You get to be a
hero just for:

* retrieving a Frisbee off the garage roof,

* taking the training wheels off a bike,

* removing a splinter,

* filling a wading pool,

* coaxing a wad of gum out of bangs, and coaching a baseball team that
never wins but always gets treated to ice cream regardless.

You get a front row seat to history to witness the:

* first step,

* first word,

* first bra,

* first date, and

* first time behind the wheel.

You get to be immortal. You get another branch added to your family
tree, and if you're lucky, a long list of limbs in your obituary called
grandchildren and great grandchildren. You get an education in
psychology, nursing, criminal justice, communications, and human
sexuality that no college can match.

In the eyes of a child, you rank right up there under God. You have all
the power to heal a boo-boo, scare away the monsters under the bed,
patch a broken heart, police a slumber party, ground them forever, and
love them without limits, So, one day they will, like you, love without
counting the cost. That is quite a deal for the price!!!!!!!

Love & enjoy your children & grandchildren!!!!!!!

re: Montessori
Yes, Montessori cannot be adopted 100% in our country's edu system. I don't think there are 'full' Montessori schools in S'pore anyway. So parents shouldn't worry that sending their kids there might not give them a good headstart in Pri sch. Ethan had done 4 years of Montessori education, with the last 2 years in MMI (pasir RIs) and he has absolutely no problem at all fitting into pri school. Infact, as KY has mentioned, MMI is very localised. It's Montessori taught with a local context. Nothing wrong with that, I feel. He had full Montessori teaching in N1, N2 and K1, with more worksheets introduced in K2 in preparation for P1. And his pre-school is actually so kiasu that by the end of K2, he's already been taught the whole P1 syllabus!! He has no problem copying from the whiteboard and he knows his time-table by heart too. I am well-impressed by his standard as I am not a super kiasu mum who puts him thru endless enrichment classes or did lots of homework with him while he was at pre-school. I've always thought that kids should have fun and enjoy their pre-school days. With Montessori teaching in pre-school, there is a good balance of learning thru play, hands-on learning with materials, a very good teaching method of maths concept, not forgetting geography and science, all learning/teaching at the child's pace, and prep worksheets at K2. With these said, I would strongly recommend Montessori to anyone who wants a good headstart in education for their children.

kumon
I visited the kumon school before during one of my learning journeys with my school. If you like drill and practise type of education, Kumon is for you. They're basically drill and practise. Personally, I don't like it very much because I feel their system lacks creativity. Their focus is on speed and content familiarity.

KY, Chicken Little,
I've not visited the one in Ten-Mile Junction but I've visited the one in greenridge (cuz its just downstairs my home) and I've signed up for Ariene to be there. They're already full for the June 07 intake and I'm on the queue for the Jan 08 intake.

vaccinations
My hb and I are KS parents. We gave every single extra vaccination available to Ariene since she was 3 months old. Rotavirus, Pneumococcal, the compulsory jabs. Will give her Hep A and Chicken Pox as well probably next month when she's due for her final pneumoccal jab and her MMR jab. Although they all cost a bomb, we felt its worth it cuz it'll save us alot of sleepless nights, trouble and hospitalisation bills.

the topics these 2 days is on education and vaccinations huh. clariss has no rotavirus injection. will consider that since her tummy wasn't very good for the past few days as well.

can I check with mummies in the forum, are you gals taking multi-vitamins? brought clariss to see her PD because of her tummy and the PD said that I should take some multi vitamins since I am still breastfeeding in preparation of my 2nd child. I don't even take calcium pills but I thought my body should be able to absorp more calcium from my normal intake of milk and cheese. I don't think our parent or grandparents generation take multi vitamins when they are breastfeeding. anyway, I hope to get some recommendation for the pills.

Hi Queen,

Hope Issac is feeling better. Must be tough on you!

Hmmm, i am one of the parents who didn't let her child take the rotavirus medicine. No excuse, plain lazy on my part. Now that i heard about issac, i pray hard for my gal.

Hi KY,

Sorry, i didn't meant to question you. Merely more interested to hear different views.

I do have a bit of reservation about Montessori ( i have heard comments that they are unable to adapt to mainstream pri system) but decided to go for it. So i don;t mind listening to other views and comments anytime.

But i truly believe they really build up on their creativity, self esteem and general knowledge that's why i decided to 'go for it'.

Hi Florence,

I think US education method is very different from Singapore, be it montessori or not. My niece went over to US when she was 5. Here in singapore, she has learn simple addition, ABCs, computer etc but when she went to US, kids her age have not really learn that. They focus alot on free play and outdoor activities. The teachers in US commented with her knowledge, she can skip two grades and attend Primary 1 (Equivalent) in US which she eventually did. I think the US system is more of learn thru play and their spelling is words like "the, they, was" etc cos according to the teachers there, these are the basic in forming a English sentence. In Singapore, it more like words "cat, ball, dog" etc..........

My niece has been there for two years and coming bak at of this year. My cousin is really worried that she will not be able to catch up with the system here in singapore so she ask we send her lots of assignment books bought from Popular, especially the chinese books.

What my niece learn there is that parents cannot beat their children (US law) so my cousin has a hard time discipling her daughter.

Hi Denmy,

Yes, i was very impressed by the geography and science that they have incorporate into their teachings. My friend's gal was in MMI and i was so surprised to hear that they are learning about plants, needing water, sunshine etc to grow etc........ they explained in depth. And like i mentionde before, when i checked out my gal's school, they were teaching about winter, hinernation (i didn;t even know about the word till i am in Pri 3....).

Thanks for sharing the meaningful passage above!

Here's my contribution:
http://www.raisingsmallsouls.com/

Click on the animal school.

Hi May,

Kumon is into lots of worksheets, not suitable for toddlers i think. More for Kindergarten and primary school. The believe is practice makes perfect so if you are at Primary, you can complete Pri one sylabus, they will proceed with pri maths etc.

I am not very for this method but who knows when ashley and megan is in pri school..... i may enrol them..... ha ha.

Hi Sandra,

Was looking at your blog and you have a flare for writing! So impressed.

Anyway, one of the pictures look farmilar and realised it was taken at a Korean restaurant in East Coast right? I love their BBQ meat. Yummy!

mong

rotavirus can only be taken when bb below 6mth old..called up my pd last week and check. Damien is also one of the bb that did not take the vac.

Chicken pox vaccination
any bb here taking the vac?

Last friday, damien saw hb preparing to go out.... he walked to his stroller and sat on it..waiting for hb to bring him out.

So many posts to catch up on! Now the topics getting interesting with the different types of education available. Really learnt much from you all.

Queen
Oh dear, what a night-marish and nasty rotavirus it was for Isaac and yourselves. Take care!

Rena
Welcome back. Glad to know that you had an enjoyable time with Elijah and hb. So are we expecting a made in japan baby? heeee

Re: Starting to dislike CNY more and more
I didn't really enjoy this year's CNY. Instead of feeling well rested, ended up more tired out. The weather is really erratic and the relatives are getting more "auntinized" and the older folks throwing really weird tantrums. Had to go to 2 main houses for visitation where it's most crowded as well as lack of ventilation. And at the end of it all, got a sick toddler/mummy/maid. Daren had fever last night and I stayed up to fervently sponge him and made him as comfortable as possible. My maid was drowsy with medication and burnt out the past few nights of taking care of Daren as he kept waking up from all the coughing and phelgm, so I asked her to rest properly, if not if she's down big time, it'll be worse. Think come next year CNY, I suggested to my hb that after bai nian with my MIL and mom, we should just jet off to somewhere for a holiday break. Sorry for all the mindless ramblings here...my brain now not quite functioning.

Sunny

I have been facing the same thing as you. Very tiring sometimes too... and I always get remarks like "baby, your mummy so cruel, she is enjoying good food and you only take these kind of food"

Last week when we visited relatives' house, they keep on offering sweets and cookies to Clarisse... they are my hb's side relatives, so I really can't say anything... Lucky is my hb reject their offer, and then very obvious they are very unhappy with us.

Babylon

I emailed them liao and they still have the last pair of shoo Shoo I want!

Oh dear Queen,

please do take care of your self too and give issac our kisses and hugs..

May,

i am very lazy leh.. when i see you preparing so many things for jamie to learn i felt so guilty for being lazy..

babylon,
OIC. didn't know about the timeline for rotavirus. thanks for the info.
BTW, heard from Sophia that you worked on Jurong Island. Is that so? me too.

Mamachan,Queen
Hope both baby and parents get well soon.

May
You are realli good. Ha ha want to start small home-based playgroup we send our kids to you

Strollers
Sorry back to the topic. I want to get another stroller to be put at nanny's place. Initially I set my mind on Maclaren Quest Mod 2006. I remember was it Chillies or Mashy Brainz who has recommended another stroller , J something. Can enlighten me again ?

queen - oh dear...Issac has rotavirus. its somethg that cannot be taken lightly but i am glad he is recovering. i just read the mar issue of simply her and there was this father writing abt losing his 7 yr old son to pneumococcal .it was so sad...was tearing up abit upon reading it.

Caleb didnt took the rotavirus jab ..only pneumococcal and he complete his last jab last friday. when he entered the doc's room, he was already wailing when he saw the doc. he is so smart to recognise the doc. haha...dr sim shook his head and get the injection stuffs ready. he was sobbing till he reach hm. poor boy. although i know its good for him....but not sure abt other babies...but everytime he went for his jab, the next day he will refuse his feed. he actually refuse it for 2 continuous feed and then only willing to drink when he is comfortable. both weekends was chaotic for us esp when we are running errands and attending bd party.

mamachan - oh so all 3 of u are sick. poor thing..i know what u meant..i also dislike cny eps when Caleb could not get proper nap and no time to cook porridge for him. anyway, it all over...and maybe next yr can try escaping and travel during the period. hee...

rena - welcome back! so how was Japan? SQ service so so only? for me, i got quite good service to and fro. Tell us more when you are more settle down.

Hi mummies, thanks for all the sharings here. Hope the babies here would recover soon and mummies, you take it easy too.

Mamapanda, the Montessori at greenridge, is that Amazing Star? I visited that and liked what I see.

May, how do you do veggie painting with a 13month old? I gave mine a fat crayon and all he did was throw it around. I gave him blocks to stack and those go into his mouth.

Yuki, talking abt how Montessori can fit into pri school, a friend's girl went to Montessori and excel there. She didn't fit in well into the primary school and the mother faulted it to the school and now looking to transfer which unfortunately isn't any. I trust that with competition and growing expectations of parents, the preschools should and would look into how to keep up with the moving trends in Singapore education.

Here are some websites on Montessori (esp for homeschooling) if keen

http://www.montessoriworld.org/
http://www.ux1.eiu.edu/~cfsjy/mts/_link.htm
http://www.montessorimaterials.org/

Re : Chicken pox vaccination
I'd probably send #2 for this. #1 took this last year and recently 3 of his playgroup kids got them (one after that so highly suspectable it's via the group).... and #2 was there one time.

JanMom, is it sommersault or forward roll? I started forward roll with #1 at almost 2 yrs old. Part of the night routine. If you want, can gently put the baby in a tug-in position, head into the shoulders, and roll him over. He'll like :>

Mamachan, don't need to hide overseas. Plenty of activities to go to during CNY. We went to the Istana openhouse, River HongBao, see fireworks, go see lion dance, Flower show during these 2 weeks. Or just simply find an excuse and chill out at home

.ky.

babylon
So sweet
Ariene is also the outdoor type. Will call gai gai the moment she's awake. If I pretend to ignore her, she'll take her shoes to me and repeat gai gai. If I ignore again, she'll push her walker to the door and repeat gai gai. If I continue to ignore, she'll toddle to me, tap me on my leg and say gai gai with a very determined look which I cant ignore
I bring her down to shop n save or walk in the park everyday so often that all the aunties in shop n save can recognise us.

Queen,
Poor Issac! hope that he gets well soon. It's really very heartpain for us parents when our babies are unwell. Will pray for him okay?

SY,

I was thinking of visiting Delcare next Wed with hubby during lunch time. Wanna come along too?

just to update some of elijah's cny pics.. funny boy is so enjoying the fish tank as his tv..
704090.jpg

Our japan trip..

704091.jpg
in disney land our little boy try to walk

704092.jpg
us wearing the yukata

704093.jpg
walking in the snow of fuji mountain

babylon,
me too! at sakra. the mummies working near RP frequent lunch together, we can have lunch together too. haha but there just 2 of us. I always go to oasis for lunch.

slinky,

the problem is that damien climbed up to the stroller..afraid tht he lost his balance and fall.

i remember my elder used to take out his shoe and insisted us the bring him to the park.