(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashybrainz - oh dear, won't he hurt himself? I notice they like to throw themselves on the floor to show their frustrations. Maybe, he's trying to communicate with the teachers but is unable to.

Well, Cephas has a lot of people who talk to him. Maybe that's y he is able to pick up quite fast. When he is at my parents' place, my uncles & aunts will drop by to visit him. There, they will talk & play with him. I think they learn most through play. At my ILs, he is picking up chinese words cos he will say "bu yao" continuously. He forgot that word for a while becaus I thot he sounded quite rude when he says it. However, the words are back in action again!

As for the sounds, it's thanks to his car toys & his crazy mum. Whenever I walk home with him aft picking him up from my ILs, I will say "cow goes moo moo...doggy goes wow wow, cat goes meow meow, birds go chirp chirp, etc". So far, he has only picked up the 1st 3 animal sounds.

RE: mother's age at pregnancy

I don't think its related to age leh... i think its just dependent on how sensitive you are to the hormones... I have very bad MS both pregnancy... but slightly better this time round maybe cos boy...compared to the first one-- girl..I was 31 the first preg and now 32.. funny thing is altho i'm more tired, i think i'm fitter cos working and running after tabby. First pregnancy took a lot of MC for bedrest..

Tracy
Glad your mom is alright..

Re: teething
if my girl suddenly refuses to eat and is playing with her gums more and chewing on her teether.. does that mean she's teething? her teeth seems to be popping out really fast recently cos previously she started teething late almost 9-10 months. Yest... she suddenly freak out during meal time and refused to eat.. but still playful and not sick... drinking milk ok... leaving her with my hubby makes me worried... cos he so bochap! Don't eat then, he just let her be...dunno la.. men are so strange when it comes to kids...

Queen,
The hairclip belongs to my 1 yr old niece but she has sooooo little hair, yet my cousin still put one on her. So I borrowed it for Keenan.

Celine,
I got the Chinese outfits from this shop in Chinatiown, right opposite the Indian temple. There's only one shop along that stretch tat is quite big and sells chinese clothes and a little souveniors. Wont miss it one. They have them in Champagne which is quite nice also, but got no size for Ethan, so I got white instead.

re: age during preggy
My preggy age are: 26, 31 and 33. All with no morning sickness, but a little tired during 1st trimester with the 2nd pregnancy.

Hi Denmy - Yes, now I know what I wanted to say! Yr boys look really great in their outfits! So have u decided on the name for your 3 boy?

Pregnancy - I was 32 when pregnant with Cephas. No morning sickness but super tired when it hits 5pm. So I wld need to go home & sleep or rest until 8 pm then can function again. By 5pm, battery always flat. Fortunately was only for the 1st trimester

denmy
you are so lucky! i still hv phobia about the morning sickness... hopefully when i have 2nd one, i won't have it...

re: words/sounds
seems that quite a lot of bb can make various cute sounds. my gal still can't. so far, when she sees MRT, she will say M-R or ma-ma. to her, everything is ma-ma.... *shake head*

re: latch on
my gal refuses to latch on since 2 wks ago.... so sad. mayb she's telling me to wean her off?

re: teeth
my gal has 5 teeth now. 3 upper and 2 bottom. she started teething at around 10/11 mth.

sysac
me too! during the 1st trimester, whenever i reached home after work, i need to take short nap till 8+pm then can start functioning again.

Sunny,
Ok lah. Later on she will blah non stop you wish there is a control to stop it. My fren's son oso self wean. Maybe it is time lor.

Milk supply
My colleague is experiencing like the left breast is producing very little milk like 1/5 of the right. Any mummy experience this ?How to rectify leh ?

Tabbi,
If baby realli dun want to eat, but take milk well should be ok now. My hb cannot understand why I have to wake up early to prepare the lunch and dinner to bring out during CNY visiting. He feels can just feel with milk lor. I ask him if he has to look after Aden then what will Aden eat. Answer : of course milk lah, easiest and fastest man.

sysac

dunno leh, his head didn't look bruised. silly boy.

haha, maybe i should do that too. go moo moo/ meow meow all the time.

chicken little
haha, man. think only man will think this way. u ask him if he just drink milk the whole day, is it enough for him? my hb thought the same way before too. later then he realised that milk is not sufficient. hahaha

re: words/sounds
whenever i teached damien called me mama..he will said papa..tell my hb..see how much your son luv you..no matter how i teached him..he still call papa..

Flo,

Do we have to the egg white allergic test? I already gave Charmaine whole eggs including the whites, she's fine.

Re: Rotavirus
I seemed to recall that it's oral as well. ...

CL,

It's perfectly normal that one side will produce less milk than the other.

sunny,
My gal's still very keen on latching on. So I don't know when to wean off. On the same topic, can I check with the mummies here how to introduce FM? I am down to my last 3 packs of frozen BM and I don't think I want to freeze anymore.

sysac,
Cephas is so cute! I don't really get any recognisable words from Charmaine yet.

re: Teeth
Charmaine got quite a lot of teeth already. The last time I checked her molars are out. I gave up counting already. Cannot really count the molars.

CL
probably there are some blocked ducts. when your colleague's bb latch or she expresses the BM, can do at left side 1st.

Happy Chinese New Year to u all! =)

So many postings to catch up with after 2 weeks. Sarah had been very sick with flu and cough for a week. The first few days were terrible with her refusing all food and liquid. It was even harder as I had to stop breastfeeding her due to her constant biting. Right now, we're still trying to readjust her back to her normal meals and sleeping schedules. So hard. I'm exhausted. She really lost a lot of weight from this episode.

Congrats to Esther! Must be fantastic having a boy this time round. Your little family is complete! =)

Demny, you have really handsome boys. Keenan really look very ang moh. I think he resembles you alot. Pretty mummy. =)

Gymboree- have been thinking of enrolling Sarah in the Parkway Parade one. If any of you are thinking of going to that one, count me in. =)

Baby given sweets/junk food and adult food. As with my previous complaints, my ILs are still stuffing my little gal with junk. I get so upset with them and even told them off many times, but they still do it. The worst thing was that they'll feed her junk just before meal times and when I told them that she needs to eat her meals, they ignore me. As predicted, she will refuse to eat her proper meals and MIL will come to me and scold sarah, saying, 'You naughty gal, always dont eat!' I'm so tempted to yell at them. It's ridiculous how they expect the baby to eat so much food. I mean, why pretend that you dont know why the kid is refusing food when you have obviously spoilt her appetite. It is days like these that make me look forward to moving out. I just hope it is not too late by then. I dont want a fussy eater.

All your kids look very good in their chinese new year costumes. Sarah just look plain uncomfortable. =\

Sarah understands quite alot of our everyday conversations. The funny thing is that she always say words once and doesnt say them again. Like how we've all heard her call out daddy twice months ago and thereafter nothing. She's still very slow when it comes to walking. I read with envy how most of your kids are running around already. She's extremely cautious... Recently, she's taken to saying YES. very funny. I thought kids start saying No first. When we ask her whether she wants something or not, she'll say Yes. And if she doesn't want it, she'll wave no. So cute... hehe...

Sunny - Like battery flat rite? I wld be so fresh in the morning. Come 5pm, like I ran the marathon. Will be so lethargic. I wld reach home, change & rest or sleep until 8pm, then get up for dinner. HB wld eat aft 8pm during that period.

Mashybrainz - Yes, maybe can try when you are walking him to & from IFC. U'll be amazed how much the kids can pick up from indoctrination (hee hee).

SL - Enjoy now. Once they start, they won't stop :p

Babylon,
Wa... 4th one.. very scary leh. Got quantity, no quality liao. Hb and I decided to stop for now. But if our finances allow in 2 years, we'll try for a 4th one. kekeke

Tracy,
Yah, I also secretly hoping Dr Soong is wrong. ;)

re: bb words
Keenan can call me 'mama' purposefully now. So happy!! Few days back i walked into the room and saw him playing with the maid so I just said 'hello' and walked out the room. Suddenly he went "mama!!" and stretched out his arms. I was so touched I had to turn back and scoop him up right away boy! He can also say some 'b' words like 'ball', 'boo' (as in peekaboo), 'baba' of course and 'baby' with a Hongky twang, so funny.

Hi Sandra - Happy New Year to you & Sarah! Actually Cephas learnt YES before his No too
For him, learning to nod his head to say YES was easier than shaking his head to say NO.

sandra
ya, my gal is also cautious type. till now, she still wanna hold our hand then only she wants to walk. else, she just dares to take few steps. lack of confidence leh.

sysac
whenever i think back the 1st trimester, i felt very unwilling to try #2 leh.... really like hell....

denmy
really? #4? *salute*
do you find that 2 boys have their own pace of development?

re: confidence
ladies, how to build up confidence level of our baby?

Hi Sunny,

Re: Confidence

This question lead me to thinking about my gal too. But it's my elder gal whom i am concern with.

She has been very shy type since young, very much like me when young. I didn't have much confident when i am young and i don't want my gal to be the same like me. I brought up the same subject to my friends. I reckon confidence level has something to do with the character as well? I may be wrong. Or maybe the easier going child is seem to have less confident cos they seldom speak up or fight for their own rights?

I had just sent my elder gal to a Montessori school and i have seen changes in her already. She's more ready to speak up and approach strangers. MAybe the class ratio is smaller and the teachers encourage them to speak up, always asking questions and let them have a chance to speak their mind. I am also quite impress with the things they teach in school. They are learning about mammals and my gal is the one who taught me bat is the only mammal that can fly etc.

Last year, they learn about the four seasons so in dec,the school ordered shaved ice for them toplay snowfight in school.

My gal used to drag and cry when attending playground but nowadays she will ask why she didn't have to go toschool.

Hi Sunny

RE walking

MAybe you can try placing rubber mats on the floor? My elder gal learn to walk in church within that few hours cos the church playroom was filled with rubber mats. She just walk and fall for a few times and realise it doesn;t hurt, so she walk and walk and walk.

Thanks Chicken Little! =)

Rota Virus: Do also take care if the child get infected by it. As this virus will get passed to Adults too. A few of my male colls get it from their kids. As adult body is not immune to kids illness.

Thanks Sysac. =) It's really funny hearing her pronounce the Ssss sound. She really drags it. Sometimes it even sounds like Ass.=)

Sunny, at least your baby dares to take a few steps. Sarah has not even take any steps on her own. She'll only walk when we hold her hand. Ive caught her standing by herself before. Very steady. But the moment she realises that she has no support, she squats down immediately. *sigh*

Sandra,

I think they will take it at their own pace. Aden now will use us as support, stand up then will push our hands away once he is ready to stand without support.

Usually in the playyard, he will hold on and walk like a crab sideway. These few days, i saw him trying to walk with one hand holding on to the panel. Now just waiting for the time when I have to start running after him. Enjoy while you can now.

Sunny,
Encourage her to gain her confidence.

RE: Teething
Think my Jamie is the greediest already.
She had 12 teeth and the 13th is coming out.
6 on top front, 4 on bottom front, 1 top left molar and 1 top right molar.

RE: Egg White Test
Must we do this test? I feed Jamie whole egg already and even half boiled egg and she loves it. No side effect. Got to do this before MMR?

RE: Speech
Jamie only know how to say "Mama", "Papa", "Bird" and "Quack Quack". And when I show her TIGER flash card, she will "Grr..Grr.."

demny,

i still considering #3 or not....and i alredy have 2 boys. Espically now damien is very active. If he would be like me elder boy..easy bb. I will not hesitate for #3.

Going for my pap smear test in early mar. Think will consult my gynae whether to go for IUD or not.

Hi babylon,

talking about pap smear, just realise i got to do mine too! It has been one year since the last test, after megan was born..........

yuki/may
i think encouragement really helps. and i guess i should let her have more chances to explore things and do it together with her without being too protective.
i should tell my mil, too. think she's too baobei about my gal and my gal's little fall will make her heart pain. :p

re: pap smear
i totally forgot that i should do it... is it really necessary? i hate the feeling leh.... painful.

re: egg white test
necessary? my gal has been taking whole egg since 11+ mth. so far so good.

Tracy,
Glad that your mom is fine.

Queen,
Take good care of yourself too. I'm sure Isaac with gain his weight really fast when he's recovered.

RE : Teething
My boy has 8 altogether and bites me when i brushes his teeth. My friend's bb, 11months has black streaks on her teeth. Very odd. It cldnt be decay and PD told her its prob bacteria. Can only take care of oral hygiene now. She's really worried and seeing a dentist tmr.

RE : Nepia
On sale at NTUC. 2 packs at $26.95. I stocked up 8 packs...heehee

RE : Phenoccocal Jab
Checked wif Dr Sim and he said the jab is like buying fire insurance. U buy cos u r afraid there might be a chance. So its very much up to us. For Rotavirus my previous PD din ask me to do as she said he's being looked after by my aunt and has less contacts with the crowd.

Celine,
Ya...my boy must have something that he wants before he will open his mouth to eat.

Chicken Little / Sunny/Mashy,
So good. My boy basically scream till he gets his way. So my MIL usually give in and give him toys. Or else he will clamp up and simply refuse to open his mouth.

Recently, even if I managed to con him to open his mouth and quickly shove the food in, he will just push it out with his tongue. Urgh!

Babylon,
Damien is so guai!

Rachel,
That used to work for JW. But recently, he really can tahan. He will just rather don't eat even when his last milk feed was 5 hours ago?!? Starting on hunger strike at a young age man!

Flo,
Re: Egg White
Oh my...that is so scary. I just gave JW the whole steamed egg directly one day. Din think to monitor it with a few spoonful. Thank goodness he is ok.

Mashy,

My boy and your boy can be good friend liao. My boy likes to smack himself hard on the head for no reason whatsoever!

Any mummy interested in some extra cash? My hb said his contact looking for some pple to participate in some survey or focus group. Age 25 to 40. Has HSBC card.

PM me if interested okie? Best if sms me if you have my mobile coz i don't know when is the survey and I maybe late in checking the forum since it's friday.

I went for one recently. Quite good money so thought I will share with anyone else who is interested ;p

Hi Sunny,

Yes i think encouragement helps.

Maybe you are right. Ashley being the first child and first grandchild for both gramps, we tend to be too protective?

My niece is only two months different in age from ashley but she is the daring, aggressive and tricky one.
Ashley as more straight forward and easiler to pacify when she throw tantrums. In a way more 'gong' whereas my niece has alot of funny ideas. She is a follower whereas my niece is the leader who comes out with many tricks and actions.

Hi Chillies,

I think your friend did right by bring her child to dentist. Ashley has brown spots on her 4 front teeth since 18 months old and the PD we went to say it is probably due to deform teeth etc. However we panic when some teeth starts chipping. Went to Private dentist and they quoted me $2500 to fill the decay. I went to poly clinic to get a referal letter to NDC to enjoy the subsidised rate and have to wait for 3 to 4 months. End up i pay $650. By then ashley has to extract one teeth at 2.5 years old. It is known as milk bottle decay ie. drinking milk to sleep.

Hubby was heart pain cos ashley cramp up with strangers and she really strigggle at the dentist. Hubby was even against me going to poly clinic and NDC cos it means ashley has to go thru another round of checkup, with all the struggling and crying.........He reckon just pay $2500 and get it done with. But look at the savings i still think it's worth it. (Heartless mother).;p

I had a lot of objection from parents, in law etc cos they think it's milk teeth so no need to spend so much money on it but i don't want ashley to have toothache later and end up extracting all 4 teeth and be laugh at by her friends. Thou small but i believe it will affect their self esteem.

Yuki,
Well, my sis juz spent over $3K to fix my nephew teeth. He's 6. He has very badly decayed teeth since maybe 4. She did see a dentist but din action till it gets very vrey bad. Patched a few and had to do root canal and crowning for 2 i think. Mom felt that no need as like u said, milk teeth. However, dentist told her that if do not fix it, the permanent teeth might not grow at the correct position and grow properly.

After seeing his teeth, I make effort to brush my boy's teeth frequently. Hoping to drop the dream feed as afraid of milk bottle decay but he needs it as hungry. Hopefully by drinking water after every feed helps as some think otherwise.

RE : Organic Food
Anyone watch the news? A dietician commented that no good to give organic as bb when grown up and taking "normal" food wldnt be able to take the watever bacteria if they were to be present. Kids she knew on organic diet grew up and more prone to falling ill.

Huh...i dunno. But i wld continue wif some organic as I believe bb shld avoid pesticides and chemical processing as much as possible.

Sandra,
Keenan is in Gymboree at Parkway Centre on Fridays 4.15pm. So is Renee. Went for the class today, it was his 2nd class and he really enjoyed it. I was quite surprised to see that he was very 'on' at the activities already becos at his 1st class he didn't participate much. Guess he was sussing out the ppl and environment and what it was all about.

Then coincidentally after the class I went to Parkway Parade at abt 5.30pm and I thought I saw Sarah Mae with your mum/MIL sitting on a bench at level 1 near the information counter. Was it them?

Sysac,
No I haven't even started thinking abt the names yet!!!! *panic*

Yuki,
re: Montessori
Yes, I totally agree with you that the Montessori method is one of the best around. Ethan benefitted tremendously from it and I wouldn't think twice abt putting Keenan and #3 into a Montessori school when the time comes.

Got from Web

Saturday February 24, 12:17 AM
Feeding infants with organic food may lower their body resistance

SINGAPORE: Following a recent recall of an organic baby food product in the US, a local nutritionist said it is not advisable to start infants on such food.
Organic food is all the rage and even organic baby food is readily available at most supermarkets.

Most are 40 to 60 percent more expensive than inorganic ones, but many parents do not seem to mind.

They like the fact that organic food is produced naturally and free from preservatives and other chemicals.

Yet protecting babies from exposure to such chemicals in food may not be a good thing, said a nutritionist from Alexandra Hospital.

Delayed exposure may lower the babies' body resistance.

The nutritionist also said that children who grow up on organic food may appear to have better complexion.

But they may also fall ill more easily as their body may have lower resistance against germs and bacteria.

She said organic baby foods are no different from inorganic ones in terms of nutritional value so parents should not put their babies on a prolonged organic food diet.

To keep a baby healthy, it is important to provide him or her with a balanced diet and to prepare and cook the food well.

Babylon,
I am also considering going for IUS right after my delivery. As it can be removed and you can conceive pretty much straight away, I thought of having it for the next 2 years 1st and then decide abt having a #4 or not. But my hb said what for, just use condom can already. !!!!!

Denmy,

It is true what your hb said. Just have to be careful unless your hb super dun like to use condom. My sil did it. I think after 5 years , you must renew it. Then when she went for those slimming spa, have to ensure you highlight to them so they do not apply any heat stuff near that area. Anyway, I have an ex-colleague whose IUD was loose and she conceived her no. 3 much to her shock. So her $$$ go down the drain man.

Chillies,
Hee Hee I am one of those mummy who started Aden's diet with purely organic including fish, chicken, vege. Thought it would be better for his first year while his little organs are still developing. When he struck one, I start to give non organic meat. But for leafy vege I will prefer organic except the spinanch bought through denmy.

Montessori
Hmm I always thought Montessori will mould the kid. I was comparing between Montessori and JG during charmaine 's time. I was very impressed with Montessori games and concept , they let the kid choose the stuff they want to do. Then I observe some of charmaine's classmates in JG, her teacher was asking the parents if those kids were attending classes at Montessori because if their teaching from up /down, left / right, these kids not able to join the dotted lines which are curvy. So it made me ponder

mashy
i am bring my gal to sentosa today for that event you mentioned. :D

chillies
for me, i tried to give organic food to my gal as much as possible, if i really couldn't find it, i will just use those non-organic one.

denmy/yuki
i always heard from other friends/colleagues that montessori teathing method cannot be adopted 100% esp. in s'pore education system. 'cos it will affect kids' learning progress and might not be able to catch up with other kids who didn't go thru this method when they go to primary school. I am not sure if it's true. like CL, i m also pondering whether to spend so much of $$$ to send my gal to montessori school.
Do you see any difference between your kids and other kids whom didn't go to montessori?

denmy - I have a frd who also uses IUS and to think that she still got pregnant. we are wondering wat did her hb did. haha..

Sunny,
Pap smear MUST go lah. Not pain, just abit uncomfy. Mummy, you gave birth and that's the most painful thing in the world already. :D

it's really strange how nature makes us forget the pain of childbirth and sleepless nights, then we start thinking of having another one again.

Chillies,
I watched the news abt the organic food for babies. I think everything in moderation will be just fine.

Denmy,
My fren had an IUD done by Dr. Soong. It was ok and when she removed it, she conceived immediately. Wow...

Hi Chillies,

I myself don't have straight nice teeth so that's what i wish for both of my gals.

Yes, if we don;t fixed it, the new teeth will not grow out nice and straight. $3 is very expensive! Does your nephew have to go thru GA? My parents hesitate cos ashley has to go thru GA and they think it's risky.

Hi Chicken Little and Sunny,

CL, ashley brought back a lot of work sheets and now it's alot of joining dotted lines to make out the object. there are straight and curvy ones.

Sunny, yes i have heard that some Montessori students cannot adapt to primary stream. I reckon it's because:

1. In ashley school, the ratio of teacher to students is 1:5. It will be maintained thru out nursery to kindergarten. So they may not be able to adapt to big class environment.

2. Unconventional teaching method. So far they don't teach ABCs etc, computer. more on general knowledge.

Like my gals now, they are learning about mammals. LAst year was on four seasons and they also learn about animals hibernation during winter. I was very impressed by what they teach.

I raised the same concern before i enrol my gal to Montessori. They explained they tried to moderate it by teaching the them composition etc so that they can adapt to primary stream.

I reckon the only thing that the child needs to adapt is a bigger classroom with more classmates environment. However, children tend to get intimidated by such environment be it they are from montessori or other schools.

As for catching up with other students, in fact montessori teaching is based on individual learning so if the child is able to learn faster, they will teach more. There is pro and con in that. Cos when the child goes to primary, they don;t have that kind of attention from teacher anymore.

I spoke to a few of my primary school teachers friends and they can tell if the child is from montessori. They said they are more creative.

On Montessori vs Traditional classroom, I feel that Singapore system is very classroom based whereas Montessori is based on cultivating based on individual interest. I've heard that based on parents concerns on children's adaptability in pri school, many Montessori schools are putting focus more on worksheet/classroom based setting in K2. I like Montessori methodology but can't find one around my vicinity. So try to do as much at home on my own. Some do comment that Montessori kids are "boring" kids as they follow the "right way of doing things" the Montessori way.

After some school hunting, I find there are other schools that do focus on self-confidence and creativity; I feel more importantly is what the school's belief in childhood education and what the teachers believe in.

.ky.

Hi Ky,

The right of of doing things, the Montessori way? I have not heard that comment before. On the contrary, the comments i heard is that because Montessori focus on individual learning hence they are more unconventional when i big group.

Yes, the school that i enrol my gal in have worksheets and composition etc for the kindergarten kids to prepare them for primary school.

Whatever it is, the most important is that the child enjoys going to school and learn something out of it.

Denmy

I personally don't like the idea of an IUD (its like this metal thing in the uterus bouncing around... Eeks!)... and I hate condoms... so i'm thinking of getting depo-provera injection or using the patch contraceptive for a year and then see how. I don't think i can remember to take the pill ... if having no. 3 want to do so just around when i turn 35... if have no. 4... that wil be an 'accident'!!!

RE:montessori
What exactly is this? I thot all the kindergarten's are montessori now.. i always see the sign in front of most of the playschools now...

hi CL,
I totu were organising the julia gabriel class or something? How is that coming along?

I brot Ryan for Gymboree at Tanglin....actyually i thot the things quite dirty leh....the mats, the tent everything....

Hi Yuki

I'm not against Montessori, if that might be how I sound. In fact, I'm for it. What I mean to say is what some people have commented. Have you visited a montessori class and notice how engrossed each kid is in his/her own activities and the class is very quiet. A friend commented that she doesn't like that the kid must turn a page of a book in a particular way or carry the chair in a particular way. She finds it's too rigid. For me, I'm ok as I see that with Montessori, a kid is more disciplined and being taught how to roll up a mat or walk in a straight line does help in other daily activity. Some schools have stated the Montessori phrase in their schoolname but they are not 100% authentic... but some parents feel that having a mixture of methodology within the same setting does help.

yes, yes, I agree, a child must enjoy going to school and have the motivation to learn.

.ky.