(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

queen
hang in there! remind yourself after this episode, you can pump issac up with all the good food and milk again. till now i still no idea how dylan caught the virus too. only know my mum and brother brought him out to a nearby shopping mall the day before he was down with GE. you and hb might want to take some supplements too, just in case *touch wood*. i was down on the 2nd day, hb down on the 3rd day. at first i though i was just burnt out and lao sai too. end up i vomited out my dinner then i know i kena the virus from dylan.

Queen,
Jamie had that before. Exactly the same as Isaac but she was disgnose with gastic infection. She was admitted to KKH for one night. They took blood test and worse..want to take urine test. As she is a gal, a small plastic bag was pasted over her vagina to catch the urine. But after 3 failed attempt, the nurse wanted to insert a tube in to her bladder which I strongly disagree! In the end, poor mummy, cover her legs with blanket and hold the plastic bag there to wait for her pee. Managed to catch it in the end after 4hrs.

Special Diet:
She is on Friso Soy. Seems to like it.
We give her barley water as well as it will help for diarrheoa.

Agree with Rachel, MUST take note of your hygiene as well. My hubby got it after Jamie. So take care.

Queen - Poor Isaac. Wishing him a speedy recovery. U & HB hang in there

Rachel - Sent U the photo already

Queen,

Hang in there...

Rotavirus immunisation
I thot i read in the recent copy of Mind your body that they found something negative abt the immunisation jab?? Can't remember what the article said but i know i was thinking thank goodness never let Ryan take....

tracy

you got my no? how's your mom? I'm at ttsh doing eye... your mom must have seen my medical officer...

Cl
Clayre was the one who brought the yummy eclairs... can ask her?

Queen
i had the same experience with tabby at KKH... hope isaac is better.. as long as he is feeding and retaining feeds, he should be ok... give him some lacteofort.. half sachet... i was given that last time... make sure he gets enough fluids... i also made unsweetendd barley water for my girl for rehydration.. pure water is not good enough.. diarrhoea can last longer after he's well cos the intestine can't handle it.. may need some soy based milk for awile cos they become temporary lactose intolerant.

sl: good website will check it out more of the activities to beat my home sickness (hope not serious)

SY: Did your sis came back with any good buys from germany? Me 1st time in Europe =)

Rachel: Will really really miss zachary, especially now that he is so responsive.

Really hope that he can learn to walk before I fly off in late march. Bedtime stories and song are so precious to me now. Think I be recording songs and stories for him to view.

Queen: Very tough to see own child sick. Wish him good recovery and strength.

EB Food: Was so disappointed that this brand can get recalled. Supposingly to be a top brand. Some confidence lost. Zachary is on their cereals and bisuits. Don;t know should looked for other alternatives.

Rota Virus: Will be checking with my PD on next visit.

Pneumococcal: Zachary been coughing abt 1 month already. spent quite a bit on PD fees. Recoverng soon as MIL is sick too. like virus ping pong game between the two of them.
Quite relieved that he can taken full course of jabs so more reassured that it is not pnemonia that caused his cough.

Queen:
pray that Issac will recover soon..This period must be very tiring for your and ur HB. Must take care of yourself too.

Age during pregnancy:
i was 28 when i was preggie. No morning sickness but always sleepy.

Queen,
Isaac is better today? I also had very bad experience with KKH. Damien totaly refused to sleep in the KKH cot when he is admmited due to virus infection. Me and HB carried him for 3days x 24 hrs...Touch wood..if anything happended..we will never stepped in to KKH...

Age during pregnancy
My first pregency 27...pretty bad morning sickness during the 1st tri..
Second Pregency 30..bad morning sickness during the first tri..and also having insomia at the last stage.

Thanks Flo for the website.

Celine,
My fren married a German and they are residing in Singapore now. Will help you find out more info. Besides your 2 home leave, hee hee can ask your hb to bring your son visit you too.

Rota Virus
Has to be taken before 1 year old. I think now too late to take liao because I wanted to give Charmaine oso but dr says not for her. Aden finished 2 doses since baby.

Pneumococcal
I still have 1 final jab to do. Better quickly go complete it man.

Age during Preggy
Dun think morning sickness is with age. I conceive Charmaine at age 27, Aden at age 31, both I dun have morning sickness. It is more psychological effect or your own body. For my first preggy, my colleague keep asking me you dun have morning sickness meh, ask till I suddenly feel got. In the end I just tell myself it is just own illusion so dun have at all lah. The only difference is for second one I feel more tired and sleepy because I have to deal with a energetic Charmaine.

Tracy,
Hope your mummy will be fine.

Denmy
All pics so cute. Aiyo u must be thinking of having a gal so badly. But Keenan is realli quite "pretty"

denmy,
thanks for the compliments! u look great with ur 2 handsome princes too! i love the white cheena outfit u got for them. may i aske where did u get them? they look like the ones i got for edgar but i have not seen white. the white u got is very nice!

age during preggy,
i was 27 when preggy, had morning sickness, fainting spells all the time and very sleepy. hated my pregnancy!!

i enjoyed food and sleep from 2nd tri onwards. But what i really hate is confinment....

Denmy,
Will you be trying for #4 for a gal...since i think you wana a gal badly.

Queen,
Hang in there! Feel so sad to hear babies falling sick. I can understand how u feel abt the weight dropping. Very sim tia right?
U may want to try Pediasure. It is lactose free. Isomil taste very yucky. So I gave E pediasure during his bout of LS.

Re: BB sick
My E hasnt recover from his cough & flu. Went to Dr Sim 3 times but the medicine didnt work. So last fri, hb decided to bring him back to our original PD at TMC. E's cough did improve by the 3rd day but due to CNY visitation, he didnt get much rest & his cough & flu is back again. Hiaz.
Anyone tried tui na or others? I dun wish to let him continue with western medicine for too long. Its been 2-3 weeks already. My hb wants to bring him back to TMC tmr.

Re: MIL
Here's my story....
I got pissed with my inlaws over CNY. On the 1st day, E was napping at inlaws plc & will probably wake up in half an hour's time. But my dear MIL wanted to go visit a relative & shouted loudly to ask E to wake up. The my FIL came over & tried to tickle E to wake up. I was so angry & told them tat they can proceed 1st & we will bring him over to the relative's hse when E wakes up. But they insist to go together so I had no choice but to slowly wake E up from his nap. As expected, he was cranky & grouchy at the relative's hse. Then my mil use him as excuse to leave early, saying she needs to go back to cook his porridge cos it was already 12.30pm. I was tinkg at least she remembers E needs to eat. But to my surprise, my inlaws asked hb to go to another relative's hse. I reminded my mil nicely tat its already noon & E needs to eat latest by 1pm. So we shld head back to cook his lunch. But my dear MIL insist again, saying tat it will take only a while. We left the relative's hse at 1pm to head back to cook. My poor E was cranky & hungry thru out the 20mins journey. When we reached back at their hse, I had to cook the porridge myself cos my mil wants to prepare lunch for my fil & her sons. I learnt my lesson. The next day, I prepared E's porridge & brot along some bread for him. Will not trust my MIL again.

celine,

No probs. : )

SY,
Ya I was thinking of visiting them. Shall we fix a date? I am going with hubby as well cos he got discount. : )

age during preggy
was 25 when preggy,no morning sickness,but super ultra tired at last tri.. so i keep sneaking to the ladies for short naps
ssshhh....

denmy - reali handsome bois u got there... hahahhahaha,the las tpic of keenan is reali adorable! like so 'dainty' smile...

Queen - sorry to hear that Isaac is sick.do take care... like wat rach mentioned,once they recover,can feed them more to replenish and i also realise the other time when celeste recovered from her diarrohea/high fever, it was wf a vengeance when her appetite came back... once they start o be active,things should be getting better liao... its reli heartache to see them lethargic and resting on the shoulders when we carry them... *shrugs*

Tracy - hope your mum is alright!

RE. lacteol fort
The instructions were to dissolve 1 satchet in water and give mixture twice a day. Does that mean 2 satchets a day or 1 satchet but split into 2 servings?

CNY
My cny visiting is total depend on damien's schedule. His nap time, his mumm mumm time. We make sure that he had enuf sleep before we leave the house. Otherwise..he will get super super cranky. I alos make a point to bring his porridge out incase we cannot make it back on time.

queen,
Its half sachet per feed.

rotavirus vaccine
It was highly recommended by my PD cuz he said almost 80% of babies and children admitted in KKH are caused by rotavirus and gastroenterities so I gave both to Ariene months ago.

Tracy,

hope your mum gets well soon

Ak,
Ya...i read abt the rotavirus vaccination in Mind Your Body too. Can't remember what it is either.

Babylon,

We prepared JW porridge before leaving for house visiting too. But it was nearly impossible to feed him coz he refuse to eat. After a few mouthful, he will clamp up, fuss and refuse to eat. I don't know if it's coz he was distracted or he wants to go play. Did any other mummy experience this?

Re: Rotavirus vacc

I remembered my PD advised me against taking it coz there were instances where the babies died from the vaccine and the vacc was still in the early implementation stage. Asked me to wait instead.

rotavirus vaccine,
edgar's pd is Dr YY Yip at gleneagles. during one those visits, he juz told us that he will be administering this jab to edgar for the next appt. he said it in a as a matter of factly tone. so we just let edgar take loh. at that time we didn't even know it wasn't compulsory. but i guess it' good that we let edgar take. since he's the PD, i suppose i shld trust him.

SH,
for me, i know it's really tough to feed edgar outside. as it is, feeding him at home is already very difficult. unless necessary, i usually make sure he has enuff sleep and have his meal before heading out. but if really no choice, gotta feed outside, then i gotta make sure someone is there to entertain him while i feed. and that person better be good. else he may not be entertained at all!! usually the entertainer is my mum or the maid.

SH,

I oso cooked the porridge and brought it out with me during visiting. When it is time to makan, Aden will sit in a place and finish up. But of course I will place him in a corner. For Aden, makan time is makan time, milk time is milk time not negotiable and no compromise.

Rotavirus
Different PD will have different recommendation. Mine strongly encourage. He even tell me to go for cervical cancer vaccine but of course , it has been been approved for women above 30 yet lah

Chillies
sorry about the loss. take care.

Queen
hope isaac get well soon. you can feed him rice water or barley water to keep him hydrated. mayb you need to reduce the milk intake or change to soya FM.

my gal got it during new year. she also started off by vomitting, then diarrhea. really tiring. it will take a while for bb to regain the weight and energy. take care of yourself, too.

my colleague who has a PD friend was telling her that the pneumonia cases are rising and ask us to take extra care.

SH
same as CL. i will make sure that my gal understand when it's feeding time, no playing of toys. luckily, my mil also does so. so, when we go out, my gal will sit properly and eat her food.
would it help if you lecture you bb? i think at this age, our kids can understand instructions more liao.

SH

For my boy also meal time is strictly meal time, no toys, no clowning ard, no entertainment. My boy will usually guai guai sit down and eat his food. But once he doesn't wanna eat, he'll start to play with his food by spitting out, blowing bubbles and throwing his food onto the floor. sigh. I read a book that I've to act nonchalent to it else he will think that he can elicit a reaction from me by doing that. Had scolded my hb too for laughing when my boy blow bubbles. So now i just try to close one eye, hopefully he'll outgrow this.

I think sometimes it's becoz we introduce additional stimulant that's why some of our kids will want entertainment, toys etc during meal time or in their car seat etc. I'm a no nonsense mommy, hehe, so my boy will be under my iron fist.

Rotavirus Vin
I jsut called YY Yip..it should be taken below 6mth old. duno how come i miss it.

SH,
Damien got no problem when come to solid feeding time. When he saw us taking bowl of porridge, he will automaticly go to his chair and wait for us to be ready.

Thanks mummies for the concern. My mum was kept in the ward for 3hrs to monitor cos of her high blood and discharged last night when the pressure stabilized. Think she was kan cheong.

Tabbie,
The doc said my mum has cataract in both eyes and the left eye is bloodshot cos some blood vessel has a clot and the tiny vessels burst too. They gave her another appt to see them in March. Thank you! I'm sure she'll be fine.

Re: Rotavirus
My fren's bb who took the first dose of the vaccine could have suffered the side effects. The doctors suspected but can't confirm. Her bb had something like heartburn and they also think his intestines stuck together which is an effect of the vaccine. Thank goodness he's ok. She didn't let him take the 2nd dose.

Meg took both doses and thankfully she's alright with it.

Chicken Little,
How I wish they have the cervical cancer vaccine for older women! So I highly recommend all mummies 26YO and below to go for the vaccine. It's really wonderful to have a vaccine for this cancer.

Denmy,
Aiyo, Keenan is really pretty! I remember when my hb saw Keenan for first time at the swim gathering, he tot Keenan is a gal. So another old wives' tale is wrong about your next one being a gal if the current one looks like a gal. Or MAYBE Dr. Soong got tricked and this one is a gal??

Re: New Words
Now every animal Meg sees she calls it 'Cat'. Even dogs are cats to her. At my fren's place, she kept standing in front of the huge husky and calling it cat. Thankfully the husky was not offended.:p

She has also started saying 'gimme!' thanks to my younger nephew who always snatches her toys and says "give me" at the same time.

We just taught Meg something new as well. We ask her 'where;s your head?', she will tap her head. Am trying to teach her nose, eyes and ears too.

Tracy,

They are just pending approval for older women. Still got chance. My hb was saying how silly they were to get woman who are in 40s to be on the bronchure since it is only for women below 30.

Megan so smart. Aden still like a tu tu. But we know he will be a very cheeky boy next time. Can see the mischief in him

Tracy,
Megan is so cute and clever

Celine, ChickenLittle, Babylon
Mel used to see Dr Yip but when I asked him previously he didn't seems to give me the impression that rotavirus jab being a must must. Hes like can take can dun take kinda attitude. Her current PD is a non-believer of jabs unless really necessary. I think she did mentioned unless we are travelling to those remote areas if not is unnecessary.

SH
Normally I would bring along Mel's portable high chair when we go to my in-laws pl for her meal (or in her stroller if we are out shopping) . With the high chair/stroller she will guai guai sit there and finishes her meal if not she'll be very distracted and move all over the place.

Egg white
Do you gals remember when we shd test baby for allergy to egg white? I thot it was before the chicken pox vaccine but I just called the PD and they say it shd be before MMR vaccine

AK
Yes I think the egg white test should be before MMR vaccine. I tested on Mel when she just turn one but developed allergic reaction. Think will wait for a while since her PD is not in a hurry to jab her yet.

rotavirus
Rotavirus vaccine is not a jab but is oral vaccine instead. I remembered having to hold Ariene when she was 3 months old so that Dr Ng can feed her the vaccine. I also remembered asking Dr Ng what are the side effects and he said generally no major side effects but baby might suffer from mild fever or diahhroea. Are we talking about the same vaccine cuz I seem to get the impression that the vaccine u're talking about is a jab?

flo
How do u do the egg white allergy test? I gave Ariene some of her birthday cake to eat and she was ok with it so I thought that was enough to test if she's allergic to eggs since it contains eggs?

MamaPanda
I fed her scramble eggs (use the whole egg instead of just the yolk). She was ok when she took the first few spoons but after that kept shaking her head and refused to eat. Within like 10 minutes, rashes started to develop around her cheeks/neck and she vomited out all eggs. I quickly gave her antihistamine. I think to play safe maybe just give 1 2 spoons first, then wait and see if theres any reaction.

sysac
got the photo =)

mamapanda
for me, i will add in a bit of the egg white when i cook dylan's porridge/mee sua. when he was below 1YO, i added in only the egg yolk. now i am slowly increasing the amount of egg white and hopefully he can take a whole egg without problem.

Wishing everyone a Happy and Prosperous New Year! MAy God bless all in your family with good health and wealth too.

RE: Words/Tricks

So far Megan can say cat, dog, duck (favourite), bag, and knows how to use her hand to cover her head whenever we say hot weather. She also knows gong Xi gong Xi. Her flying kiss is to bring her finger to her mouth but never come out. The most funny trick is to ask her to do funny face - she will use her two hands to cover her face and pull her face down. Ha Ha.

Btw, she only has 4 pearlies......... how many teeths does you babies have? Wonder if she is slow in teething.

She has been eating the 'kweh bu lu' during this CNY, tasted bah kwa, mash mellows.........

Hi Denmy,

Your boys are so handsome! The clothes are from Cheautu or something right? I love their clothes. i was looking for similar clothes for both of my gals. i think it is cute to have them wear the same at this age. Think they will reject when they grow older. Ha Ha.

Rota-virus
Yup it is a oral vaccine which has to be taken in 2 dose (separate visit) Hmm, Aden was like eating something delicious when he was being administer. Ya no reaction to it too.

Egg Allergy Test
Does it mean that Aden has tasted scrambled egg during the GUG trial and he is fine. Then I dun have to do any test ?

SH
initially dylan needs to be entertain with toys when comes to meal time, if not he will fuss, cry and scream. the thing is he will throw them away onto the floor when he got bore playing with them. then i will have to crack my head to look for a new item he had not play before. one fine day, i just had enough of his notti act and gave him a good scolding, of coz he cried and looked so ke lian. i told him no more toys and any other things to let him abuse during meal time, its either he eat finish his food and i will carry him out of his chair OR he can cry all he want and no food for him.

he surprised me when he quietly sat there and finish up his porridge. praised him for his good behaviour and let him watch his favourite program. from then on, i no longer have much problem during his meal time. one more thing i did is to talk and chit chat with him while i feed him. it helps and keep him occupied too =)

Rachel - Roger that

Tracy - Haha, I like Megan calling the Husky a cat! Hope your mum is alright

Egg white test: NUH conducted that allergy test on Cephas when he turned one. It was a skin prick test. Others included soy & oops forgotten what else but it's all in his medical booklet.

Words/Sounds: Say cow & Cephas will go "moooo". Say dog & he'll go "wow wow", say cat and he'll go "meow meow meow meow..." He will also say throw & kick along with the actions.

Yuki - Cephas has 5 pearlies on upper gum & 3 pearlies on the lower gum. But I think 2 more are coming up cos he's been drooling puddles :p
His pearlies only came out at 11 months so I guess it differs in individuals.

cephas is also so smart. sigh, my little boy still can't say a word other than mama, dada and mum mum.

now he's into self torture to show his temper. Heard from his sch that he has been banging his head on the floor. at first bang very hard, then when he realised it's painful, he started to hit a bit softer.

wow the thread is really on a move.

tracy - my mum recently also have blood eye shot. it is due to her allergy for her high blood pressure medicine. i was also very worried for her as she has diabetes. doc said it was because of the allergy that causes her to cough frequently and it broke her eye blood vessels. so they gave her an eye drop, change her medication and a few days later, it went away. ur mum shld be fine. just check if she is on any new medication recently.

denmy - ur kids all have an ang mo look. very handsome lei!

chicken_little - i do not know the gender of my bb yet. gg for my next checkup mid mar. hopefully by then will know it. shall update all again. i am also very anxious for the gender

re: rotavirus jab

thanks for the reminder...as caleb is due for the last jab and seems like we are busy almost every weekend. sigh. hb will start his madness biz travel come Mar again. haiz!!!

queen - how is issac? getting better?