(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbie, God's child, Cookie & SL
Thanks for the info on the size of the dress, I think I'll change to M size. Hb kept complaining Mel looks funny in it.

Queen
I don't think shaking will cos the porridge to turn watery. I think porridge will normally turn watery when cold.

Re: Thumb sucking
I read that bb who dun use pacificer has higher tendency to suck their thumb to sleep. I was very uptight to let Mel use pacificer previously but change my mind after reading an article. It says that is easier for bb to "wean off" pacificer than thumb. Some even develop the habit of sucking their thumb in their adulthood.

RE: Organic soy source
Tabbie, I think cos they are made from organic soy bean and salt (sea salt as opp to chemical salt).

Sucking Thumb
Flo u are right. My cousin a guy, I was shocked when he stay over at my place at age 16 he still sucking. Now he is always seen bitting his nails too. Alamak. To think that my aunties and frens thought we were together since young because we were very close.

I managed to get Aden off pacifier. But have not tested how he will react if I show him a pacifier.

Spinach Collection
Flo, are you collecting during lunch ? If yes shall we meet for lunch tomorrow. Ha ha dun think my hb will be willing to go collect 3 bags of spinach and bring back office fridge.

sl / SY,
Really? Your Thermos doesn't turn the porridge watery? How come mine does?
It's quite frustrating sometimes cos when I feed Isaac the porridge, I have to drain off the water at the from the spoon at the side of the Thermos before feeding.

Cookie / Flo,
The Tiger Food Jar you have is the one that can cook food one issit? How about normal ones?
No leh, the porridge is still quite hot when I serve it, but still watery leh. I put in the porridge piping hot into the Thermos and ride in the car for half hour and then open, the porridge already turning runny liao.

Queen,
I have not used my Tiger Food Jar. The one I have is the normal Tiger one. It does not turn watery too. Plus I usually never warm it up with hot water. Just simply fill the container with porridge

Chicken Little,
How do you wean Aden off the pacifier? I'm thinking of doing that as well, cos nowadays Isaac needs it to go to sleep and when he sucks on it, he salivates alot. And his face will smell after a while.

ChickenLittle
I'll pick up the spinach on the way home, tom lunch is gym time

I'm also planning to use Thermos (mine is actually Zujiroshi) for lunch and Tiger for dinner during CNY.

Queen
I normally use Tiger jar for semi-cook porridge.

organic msg
I suppose you're referring to "natural" MSG vs "artificial" MSG? The cheap MSG that hawkers and food manufacturers use is the "artificial" MSG which contains a high amount of monosodium glutamate. Natural MSG is obtained from seaweed, hence, less concentrated ie, less sodium. HOWEVER, more or less sodium, they are still MSG so, should be used sparingly, if used at all. Otherwise, best to avoid.

Seaweed,
Like I've described above, MSG is obtained from seaweed, and also, processed seaweed sold outside is full of sodium and MSG, so, best to avoid for babies la..

Salt (sodium) intake
On the other hand, our body also obtain our source of iodine from seaweed. Iodine deficiency can cause iodine deficiency dieseases (Goitre, cant remem how to spell it). Likewise, our body requires sodium and other salts to maintain the fluids in our body (too much causes water retention, too little causes cramps). However, bear in mind normal foods we eat (without addition od salt) already contains sodium, so, in general, most of us consume too much salt.

Why PDs recommend that we give babies salt-free foods? This is because other foods we feed them (fish, vege, meat, cheese, etc) all contain sodium and these alone can provide them with their daily requirements of salt.

As for seaweed, eat raw, unprocessed seaweeds. You can find the purples ones or thick green ones in the market. They taste good stir fried or as a soup. Personally, I love korean processed seaweeds. Super salty, super yummy, super high MSG but just be aware of how much sodium we're eating and how it can affect our babies.

My long 2cents worth..

Queen,

I just simply dun give him. Last time I give him as an indication from me that it is bedtime. Now we simply dun give. Anway he cannot talk so he does not know how to ask too. Hee Hee

SY
I haven't given seaweed to my gal yet. i gave 'hai3 dai4' to her. so far, she's ok with that.

re: food
yesterday went for wedding dinner. ppl siting the same table kept asking us to give my gal the food. but told them this cannot, that cannot. then, they kept commenting that my gal was so pity; so many good food cannot enjoy. quite upset with them.
But, at the same time, I was thinking if i really wanna be so strict. feel a bit sorry for my gal. sigh...

re: mushroom
anyone give this to your bb already?

queen
like other mummies, i put the cooked porridge into the tiger food jar, and it nvr turns watery leh. the longest i tried to keep it is 4 hours. the porridge was not piping hot after 4 hrs, but still very warm.

SY - i paid $360 for the wallet. $50 discount off the original price. i just called to cancel the delivery as Wed morning he won;t be around. just manage to sound him out. so i ask them to deliver to me tmr instead. phew!

re:adult food
i give Caleb outside food quite regularly...like yesterday we went to katong ampang niang toufu. i gave him rice and toufu and fishball. and sometimes when we go yoshinoya, i will give him rice and brocolli and cauliflowers. quite plain as there is no sauce and he loves it. my mum also feed him kway teow soup when she eats it for breakfast. but we do try to cut down if its too salty or tasty.

re:gender

i did a scan recently and saw my baby's legs open wide and i think i saw somethg in between. I quickly ask doc if its a boy...she says its too early as girl will also have something in between as such early stage. is it true? i am currently 3 mths preggy.

sunny

i gave my boy steamed fish from the wedding dinner table b4. i think it's ok so long not u don't drench it in the sauce.

can give mushrooms already. i'm thinking of letting my boy try jin zhen gu.

SSF
what your dr said is true.

May,
wow, very good! I think it's great you started disciplining Jamie!

SY,
JH is very guai leh, can still put back everything. Shannon just throws everything out and that's it. Everytime I ask her to put it back, she either puts it back and throws it out again, or dun bother at all...

Mamapanda,
thanks fo rthe articles... now the hard part if trying to convince my MIL... yesterday got sooo pissed off with her, when she went ahead and cooked stock for Shannon's porridge.. I always cook stock for her, probably she thought that my stock is too oily, her stock has zero fat and oil... but I have read that babies need a little fat for their brains to develop well.

Flo,
Re: feeding outside food
Haha, actually I dun really care, i do let Shannon sample other food but I make it a point that only I or HB can give it to her. Other people who want to feed her food must ask for our permission first, and I normally dun allow it even if it's ok...we made it very clear so even MIL dun dare to anyhow give her. Anyway, I'm the mum so whatever I do, it's fine... heehee....

queen ... I use a Tiger Sahara. ok, can keep hot for hours. once I've kept it for more than 10 hrs when we brought it along on a long flight. But the flask is pretty heavy.

I think I'm not adventurous with giving new foods. Keith's never even tried chicken. I worried abt the content (whether oily or salty) or if he will choke on it coz molar not out yet. but seeing how his brother turns out to love food and follows what we give him, I hope he will be likewise.

.ky.

ssf

for girl will see 3 white lines.. for the labia
for boy will see the scrotum...

my gynae very zhai one for both my kids.. she picked up the gender at 14-16 weeks and accurate some more..

they say the male genitalia is easier to see cos one lump, but then sometimes if position not right,then can mistake umbilical cord as scrotum... in my case my gynae said can see clearly the umbilicalcord and then got a separate lump...

May,
Jamie so good. Will quietly sit there. My boy would have howl the place down already!

Rena,
JW thumb not just bruise but has a harden part some more. Recently got open wound. So my MIL kept "scolding" me...say last time i don't give pacificer then now become like dat.

SSF,
still got chance for a gal. The last time i waited till 7 months to know Charmaine's gender because she always curl up I cannot see. I told the gynae dun bother because I say shy sure gal. So I told him not to tell me. Then my stupid hb tried to ask again at 7th Month, dr says "got hamburger" ok confirm gal. My hb so happy and start calling my mil and frens to report. Crazy man.

For Aden I know his gender from 3rd month liao. Very obvious and my gynae is good. He confidently type in the scan and printed out I am a boy.

KY,
I never give Aden chicken too. Only give him porridge cooked with chicken stock. Hmm my nurse fren says better not to give boy too much chicken because later become sissy due to the hormones.

SY,
JH realli guai. Hmm great train young next time can help my Charmaine ha ha. Aden is the opposite, anything put in the playyard he will throw it out.

sleepingdeer- hehe...ya as long as its mummy who feed, anythg goes. haha..

re: beef bovril
i think Sgp ban that since the mad cow disease right? i know my relatives alway get it from aust. she said sgp dun have.

tabbiesus - wow ur gynae good lei. mine maybe want to play safe scared give false alarm. anyway will ask him again in the next visit. hee..

tabbiesus
wow. which gynae you seeing and at which hospital? Am thinking if to continue using KKH now that my hb has resigned from the civil service and moving on to private sector. But am quite happy with Dr. John Tee the last time round.

queen
i m using the Tiger food jar. mine is the one that is supposed to cook the porridge. like cookie, i will use hot water to warm the jar first. in fact i find my porridge quite dry after a few hours.

same here..JH's face smell after some time cos he will smear his face with saliva when using pacifier....

CL
how u wean off the pacifier? i really feel like doing it. JH will wake up in the middle of the night looking for the pacifier. the good thing is if he finds it he will go back to sleep himself. if can't he will cry...

sunny
dun care abt those pple. u know, each time pple say JH very poor thing when he cannot eat adult food i will tell them not to say that. there's nothing pitiful abt it. in fact the food he eats is much healthier! i told them cannot give JH the wrong impression or he may not wan his food next time.

i also thinking of giving mushroom..but wondering whether it is ok. thinking of putting a bit in the porridge.

sleepingdeer,
ha it doesn't work everytime with JH. last time he will put in and then take out again. but there were a few times when he emptied everything from the box (took the box and overturn it) so i got very angry with him. think he remembered how i scolded him for it so he put everything back yesterday without me saying. he even put his water bottle inside the box!

SSF
never mind, still got chance..keep your fingers crossed!

chicken_little - ya hopefully it turns out to be a gal this time. like u. then i will close shop happily. haha..

mamachan - any benefits from your hb's co? if not, stay with the same gynae since u are happy with him. he will know your past history best.

SY
ya, i would tell them that next time. thanks for the tips. :D
for mushroom, i gave her dried one, haven't tried fresh one. the porridge smells so nice after putting in.... i can't resist it, too. haha...

Celine

actually i got some preg and ovulation kits left cos I bought last time.. don't think i'll be needing them anymore... i can pass to you. No pointing keeping now cos exp in 2008. i got 7 preggie strips and 9 ovulation strips. The rest i can pass to anyone else who wants.. mine i ordered from tan leng leng last time from US. Then can save esther's hubby the trouble if you don't mind

Durianlover - wat a small small world! fancy seeing you by 'accident' at my neighbour's house! haha... janelle looks so busy playing away! was telling you tat im going for trial class rite,but stil din manage to go... arrrghhhh... step out 1.40pm, waited til 2pm stil no cab... went to take lunch then try for cab again at 2.20 til 2.45 stil no cab... gave up!

tabby,
sure i can buy from u. i can take all of them to save you the trouble as well. thanks!

Esther,
don't need to trouble ur hubby liao. hope i didn't confuse you. sorry... and thanks...

god's child,
we missed you and Sept03 at class yesterday. Flo, Sleepingdeer and I were hoping for Celeste and Caleb to join us. Next lesson is on 25th Feb and its the 2nd last lesson liao..

Flo, Sleepingdeer,
would you be continuing with the Positive Babies or move on to Positive Tots or stop completely?

Re:Toy Stroller
My mum bot Meg a toy stroller from pasar malam only $4.50, the way she pushed the stroller is very cute. She holds both the handles, her back is very straight, then she walks with her butt sticking out and a serious expression on her face. Makes us laugh.

ChickenLittle,
The chicken and sissy thingy is new to me. Thought of introducing to my boy...but def dun want sissy..hahaha

RE : Misbehaving
My boy terrible. He simply throws watever he can lay his hands on. He climbs wherever he can reach. His legs always up on something. His fav is climbing down bed. Mine is pretty high and he shifts his body and slide down. No matter how high. Tried to discipline him but bo eng. He will fake cry. If I beat him wif my hand, he will hold my hand and beat himself...urgh!!!

RE : Bursting of Balloon
Went to a bday and my boy played wif the balloons. Scratched and it burst right infront of him. He looked calm, threw the balance of the balloon on his hand and look for another one. Huh...hardcore fellow...only scared of vacuum cleaner.

RE : Sick FIL
haiz..my FIL has been in and out of the hospital over the week. Now dunno how. Did a scan and now waiting for results. My MIL is really stress but we are all stuck at work. Hopefully she understands. I've been calling her to find the latest new.

Esther,
I would still want the preggy kits.
Hope it's not too much trouble for your HB?

chillies,
My boy loves the vaccuum cleaner! He also loves the Magiclean floor wipes broom. Have to show you all a picture of Isaac trying to help out with the housework using the broom later.

Hope your FIL is ok, your HB and MIL must be really worried.

Just started Daren on Quaker Oats for Breakfast
Today, I got my maid to intro the instant cooking Quaker Oats to Daren for his breakfast this morning as recommended by my PD. He doesn't like and have not been eating those baby cereal for a few months. Initially he was a little resistant to it, but after a few tastes, he accepts it and begins to eat more. Think coz it's also a little sweet tasting.

SSF
In terms of benefits, if I'm not wrong, after he's been 6 months with the company and should I deliver, we would be given a $3k cash gift from the company. But other than that, I don't think got any other special subsidy. Will have to get him to check when he starts work in March.

V-day gift
Hahaha. Most of you mummies really onz! I sort of made a pact with my hb since our dating days that no point in celebrating V-day. Abit defeat the purpose. I rather he surprise me as and when, rather than wait for a special day to do it. OF course this is not applicable to our wedding anniversary lah. hehehe. But it's really sweet to read the things that you all do for your hbs and vice versa =)

Queen,

No problem at all.. ok will ask him to buy it. its just outside his club only. I will ask them to get the later expiry date ones ok

Celine,

No problem at all too

Rena,

Thanks for reminding me..everyday buying and buying stuff ..also dun remember already

SL,

THANKS!..I've been back in Sin since November..The last scan i did they could still see the sac..but really small so should be ok by now..coz still taking the medication..

Gender,

I'm trying not to get stressed up...coz to me, a healthy baby is most impt..but everyone is saying your baby brother...etc etc...haiz

Hi May,.

You are right and dont felt guilty ,,...I know once we beat our child we definetely will heart pain. But in the other way we are teaching them something which is good.

Gracie also very sturbborn..and no matter what I teach and with my angry face she will pretend and sing her own goo gaa song with her smilling face to me.......if she is good and done something is good,..I will give her a sticker on her hand and let her know that she is GUAI BAO BAO today.
Sometimes I will asked myself if I have beat her very hard ..I will kiss her face...
And Gracie also has same habit with Jamie...she like to purposely fall down backward and her head knock on mattress,, toys or her baby cot....

I explained to her and asked her if she felt pain ....and why she repeat again?
now are days she seldom do this and always pat pat her head to le me know that is pain pain.

Hi SSF
I bought beef bovril at NTUC and is the one with a red sticker on the bottle. ....

RE: Outside food
I have started given Gracie outside food. But only those very QIN TAN dish..like steam fish...beancurd soup....just for her to taste..
So far we did not mix any MSG or Salt on her food..Is too young for them,,,and I will prefer her eat Qin Tan food.

She try a bit of spicy food before...and looks ok from her face...
But of course there are some food that in my black list: Potatoe chips, coconut food, candy, soft drink.
We have found out that MIL let her taste potatoe chip recently. I was angry and let her know she has actually feed her a poison ( sorry for use this word ) but I just want her to understand now is not the right time for Gracie to eat that. Father in law bring out his own heathly book and show her the side effect of the jungle food for Toddler...

chillies
my boy loves to climb down from sofa and bed too. he got different styles of climbing depending on height. if too tall, he will turn ard and go legs first. if short, he will go hands first.

sometimes when i scold JH for being naughty, he will beat himself first before i can scold him and hb will say good boy...i will tell hb how can u say good boy?? then u will encourage him to beat himself and get away with things..

oh dear, hope your FIL is alright. CNY is coming soon and it must really be a stressful time for your MIL.

mamachan
i have been giving JH oats for a few months. he takes it without any tempting. i think JH is quite good in the sense that he doesn't really reject any thing. even if it's food that he doesn't like he will still take some but it is just difficult to feed.

any reason why your PD recommend to take oats??

i will add in some blueberries or apricots into the oats for more variety. tried adding in yoghurt before as well.

mamachan

I'm seeing Dr. Yvonne Chan at TMC.. I really like her cos she's really nice and supportive and won't brush me aside and think i'm just paranoid... but what made me really convinced that she was good was during delivery she was so calm and steady.. personally i've seen surgeons operate and i felt really reassured. Also, her waiting time is not too long.. longest i waited was 1 hour and her clinic isn't too crowded.. some clinics like fish market so crowded and noisy and have to wait 3-4 hours.. for 10 min consultation.. no thanks for me..

Anyways, you can still see John Tee at the private suite as private patient.

Chillies
hope your FIL is better

sunny,
I think Hai Dai is unprocessed seaweed.. correct me if I'm wrong..

Sunday we went down to pizza hut for lunch and my FIL again keep saying wanna feed Ariene the chicken soup, wanna feed pizza, wanna feed this wanna feed that, when Ariene is not even interested in it and happily eating her own home cooked lunch. However, this time because my husband is around, so FIL alot more subtle in asking, unlike his usual "I say can means can" tone. Luckily, my hubby back me up and told him no. At least now my hb know I'm not exaggerating when I told him his father keep wanting to feed our darling junk food. I'm really very tired and sick of arguing with my FIL and quarelling wif my hb over his XXX father but I really cant turn a blind eye to the potential "dangers" he'll put Ariene in if I don't pay attention.

AK,
I still have 3 preggy kits and 6 ovu kits with me. You want to take over so no need trouble esther to buy since I have no need for them cuz I'm not even having my menses now and we're not intending to have a #2 in the near future.

fishballs
Oh ya.. someone was feeding fishballs to her boy.. not advisable leh.. fishballs and yong tau hu contain alot of salt and MSG.. Also, fishballs and nuts are "danger" foods as they can cause baby to choke even if they're cut into small pieces as baby tends to swallow it without chewing.

Queen
I'm not sure if mine is the one which can cook porridge. I have never tried cooking porridge using it.
Could it be the rice you use?
I remember when I had my adult porridge outside.. some stall sell porridge after a while turn very watery while some stall or resturant's porridge dun turn runny so easily.
I was told that it's becos the rice they use.

So far I'm using short grain rice to cook porridge for kae and never really turn runny. Even when cold, those left over in the pot which Kae cannot finish din turn watery.

Seems like the issues now is about the food we choose to feed our baby.

Recently i also received a lot of "But's she is one already, can let her try adult food" comments.

Like what someone say, i don't mind feeding outside food provided it is 'qin dan'. Eg carrot from the soup we drink ( I used to be very 'ku chang' exaggerate by rinsing it with hot plain water), steam fish, tofu etc.

Talking about fishball, i used to cut the fishball into very small pcs when Ashely was about 2.5 years old. Till one day my mum told me that it's so small a pc that ashley won;t be able to taste it! ha ha. i still cut into smaller pcs but not as small. Now that she's 3.5 years old, i let her bite but i watch her as she eats.

Thank God Ashley is not choosy in her food and still eat her greens. Infact she loves brocolli, carrots, cai xin etc. Hope that Megan is the same.

Hi May,

Jamie is consider a good girl already.

My megan bullys the Jie Jie all the way and when she has nothing to do in the car, she just turn to slap Ashley or pull her hair. Smack her hands many times but she will slap our hands back. Very stubborn. Once both gals were sitting on my lap and megan actually uses both her legs to kick ashley off! My you, ashley is 20kg and nearly fell off to the floor......

With ashley, i was afraid she gets bullied in school. With megan, i start to worry i will get a lot of complaint from school next time..........

mamapanda
i think so bah. the one i gave was not those long type which needs to be cut into small pc. i gave her those small one which is not salty and soft type. not very good at describing. hope you understand.

cookie
I think some restaurants also put rice flour into their porridge/congee and rice starch does not turn watery when cold vs corn starch which will. Even for home cooking, if u want your foods to thicken and not turn runny when cooled, use a mixture of rice and corn flour. Rice flour is thinner when warm and thicker when cool which is the opposite of corn starch. So, if u use a mixture of both flours, the soup/dish remains thick throughout.

nyny,
Yes I understand
Was just reminding u all seaweeds are a natural source of MSG (even though they may not taste salty to us, it still contains salt naturally) so, I think better not give too much. Besides, they're alittle chewy and may cause choking in babies. Once, I got lazy and didn't cut the spaghetti finely and Ariene choked on a long noodle cuz she tried swallowing it without chewing.

Sysac/Chillies
Heehee, I just finished browsing Cephas pic too. I think he has a mixture of both your features and he definitely has very lovely and expressive pair of eyes

god's child,
Oh wow, so difficult to get a cab at your pl. Hope to see you and Sept03 in the class week after next.

Tracy
What about you? Do you intend to continue with Positive Babies or move on to Positive Tots or stop completely? I find every lesson is sort of similar. Is Positive Tots something similar? Am thinking of letting Mel try out gym class after positive bb since she likes to walk in class so much....haha.