(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi mommies

aiyor... all your cute cute babies in CNY clothes...really nice!!

CL
Wah.. your charmaine really know how to pose!! So sweet...

RE: SAHM
mashy, don't feel bad.. all of us have to chose a path that is more suitable for us.. there is no wrong or right to whether a woman should work or stay at home. We are just doing our best. You are doing what is best for your son and you. Ignore anyone who should judge you.

RE: lumencreation
I just went to have my photo shoot with tabby over the weekend... so i was surfing to see all the updated sets of photos... really nice! Can't wait to get mine!!

thanks gals

haha, u reminded me that my MIL was a SAHM herself. She threw away her education certs after she got married. (at least i still keep my certs) And i heard that she was even better educated than my FIL then.

all the babies have nice CNY clothes. so cute! i still haven't bought for my gal...

CL
i almost wanna buy the set that charmaine was wearing! but my gal still hasn't really master the walking yet, so, didn't buy... mayb next yr i will buy for her liao. hehe....

mashybrain - oh that's very unkind of my mil to say so. choosing to be a SAHM is a personal choice and I don't think it is a stupid act. at the end of the day, as a mum we are accountable for our kids' upbringing. being a SAHM is simply no joke and definitely a big big sacrifice. for me, just 3 mths of being a SAHM and i cannot take it already. so its really not easy to be one. i think u shld ignore ur mil and take pride in ur decision of being a sahm. at the end of the day, most impt is for you to be happily bonded with ur kids and be involve in their growing up.

Sorry to intrude. I m also Jan06 mummy.
Let's think from another angle. Mayb MIL dare not put it too straight forward. They heart pain to c their sons bringing back the bacon. if both working, will b less taxing on their sons rite?

Hi Mashy
Agree with the rest of the mommies that you should not take your MIL's remarks too hard. I guess you must have "struggled" yourself internally for a long while before reaching this decision cos is a big sacrifice. I guess at the end of the day you have Caeden's best interest at heart. It's even more heartbreaking to see him falling sick months after months at the IFC. Moreover, as long as you and your hb are comfortable with the arrangement financially, just take your MIL's remarks with a pitch of salt. I'm sure all the mommies here are support you right behind

Wander_Mum,
Before mil give a comment like that, they should also think what is the reason that the mummies has become a SAHM. Being FTWM actually has much more freedom and maybe spending power, why did they choose to give up 1) breastfeeding 2) does not have help to look after the baby and etc etc. Some may not be the choice of the SAHM. So it depends on the situation.

Like my fil, when he sees me sending 1 to nanny, other one to childcare. He ask me if it would be better for me to stay at home.

if mil can think, we wont have so much problem wi them already.
I m also 1 who is struggling to b a SAHM, only get to bring my gal back on weekends. Miss her so much that i go to hug and kiss her every nite.

Tracy,
Re: Positive bb
Mel also like the singing, egg shaker (haha) and the bubbles section. She doesn't like the parachute too! Hb feels that she'll very happy and excited whenever she goes out cos there's a big space for her to walk around...just like the way she likes to walk round the class studio...heehee. So he feels probably she'll enjoy gymboree more.

Any mommies keen to go for gymboree Trial? I shall put down mine name and tabbiesus

1. Flo
2. Tabbiesus

Tabbiesus
RE: lumencreation
Joycelyn was just telling me about Tabby's photo shot. Say she's so cute...got so tickled by 'Ah chu', 'blessed you' and oh no my memory is really failing me, can't rem the last one that kept her laughing for 15mins.

ChickenLittle
Wow your Charmaine can be a child model leh

RE: weaning off pacificer
Was telling my hb if we should start weaning Mel off pacificer. He said why worry, she'll eventually wean off be it 2 or 3 years old. I guess will just let Mel has the pacificer in the meantime cos make our life easier when putting her to bed

mashy
if you ask me, staying at home to be SAHM is tougher than going out to work. being educated means that u will be able to teach and coach your kids. does your MIL prefer to have someone who is uneducated to teach her grandson?

i think it is a good decision. if your hb supports then i dun think your MIL shd say anything

i really hope to do part time or half time after my bond ends. really pray that i can do it.

ethan, elijah,
get well soon before CNY!!

tabby
i got the same email too.

cheng
that's a really nice photo of aidan...seems like i m one of the few mummies who din buy anything 'traditional' for JH to wear...lazy mummy...

Rena, Cheng & Wenyl
Hope Elijah, Aiden and Ethan get well soon. Mel's PD actually gave her 'Singuliar Granules' sachets to mix inside her food, is suppose to help to reduce phlegm.

SY
Re: Gymboree
I'm easy but has to be on Sat unless is after 5 march. If weekday, then I need to check if I can take leave.

Gymboree trial
Flo,
I am also more keen on the parkway or serangoon gardens branch :>

SY
So feb 25 is off for the parkway trial already?

re gymboree

i prefer the tanglin mall branch. they are quite pack during weekday.. week ends they have some vacancies, i just checked 2 weeks ago...

Gymboree at Parkway

I think if you have few mummies together, they can just have the class just for you guys..

coz the other time , she told me one mum requested for wed morning..i told her i'm ok..and they were willing to start a class

Have been reading all the threads but did not contribute. But i feel that I need to get something off my chest about SAHM with paper qualifications....

Its a very wise yet difficult decision. If we did not study to get our papers, do you think we will all be here? I think we might be some kind of factory girls or shampoo girls. And we will not be fated to meet our HB. So our MILs will not be in the picture anymore :p

Re: Gymboree

I'm keen on a gymboree trial at serangoon gardens. Parkway also ok if majority going there. Same as flo, need it to be after 5 Mar. I'll be SAHM after that.

Thanks gals for your assurance. Not sure whether I'll b able to cope, coz I spent caeden's 1st 7mths at home with him too but couldn't take it then. Hopefully this time will be better now that he's more mobile and can play more.

I'm keen to start a playgroup so that we can gather the children on a regular basis to play together. We can rotate our hses. What do you think? We can even play some music and get the children to try out musical instruments/dance together etc.

Re : Nanny reommendation in Pasir Ris??

mummies, anyone has contacts for good nanny in Pasir Ris, preferably somewhere near Blk 637??? my cousin in law is delivering this April and has yet to find a nanny... if you could help,tat will be great!!!

Mashy - Being SAHM has got the greatest benefits of all! You get to see and be there first hand at your child's new found antics...the bonding can never replace anythin! i used to love the rain cos tat will mean my mum will be downstairs wf the brolly waiting for me. and my mum is also the reason i go home early after school even up til when i was in poly! my frens always find it weird tat i like to go home... but i just find it so heart warming tat there is someone who loves me very much waiting for me... *awww,kinda tearing abit now tat i touched on my mum... sob sob*

Mashy,

Good idea. Will be keen. Actually I am equiped with phonics CDs, GD flash cards etc etc. Except house not big lah.

Babylon,
Actualy in other countries babies dun take FM after 1 year old liao. So fresh milk is ok. as long as it is not those low fat

Chicken Little, Tabb,
I juz took mine last Sat. when's your foto shoot? My boy was bz playing the balloons and stuff and busy crawling walking till he slipped and fall with a bite. Lower lip was red and bled slightly. He juz cldnt stay still.

Queen,
I'm gonna try to add the beans. Nv thot of it. I add corn sometimes. I'll pluck out the bits and add to the stock. Cute pix of your little helper.. inspire me to teach mine...heehee

RE: Straw
I tried to train my boy and he kept biting. Any tips?

Chillies - I bought a drinking cup & the straw is plastic so harder to just bite. May want to consider that

For Cephas, he hit himself when he flipped the red coloured pail at the shoot. U can actually see the red patch on his forehead. Boys will be boys.

Chillies, I have the same problem with Aden.

Sysac, i used the mag mag one. Which one did u buy ?

Photoshoot taken on 4 Feb, 1 week after sysac. Ha ha Aden oso cannot sit still

sysac,
Ya...i did see the red patch. I was wondering how come red?
Wait till u see my red lip!

CL,
I also use mag mag. I tried the spout for a few times. Was ok but he's more keen in playing with it!

Chillies/CL - Happened to be at Mothercare on Sat & so bought Thomas the Train drinking bottle (200ml) that comes with the straw.

I was reading abt most of the babies being able to drink from the straw. Cephas only tried it 1-2 times some months back. On Fri, we were having dinner & the waitress brought a short straw & put in a cup for him. HB just passed it to him & we were quite surprised that he was drinking. So I bought the bottle when I saw it on Sat.

god's child

so envious. my mom hardly did that in her lifetime. I remembered I was so happy whenever she came to fetch me from school. I was a latch key kid almost the whole of my childhood. Had a nanny and an aunt who 'babysit' me and my brother. Was a nightmare for us, so end up when we were in Pri sch, we were already staying at home by ourselves. I was always envious of my cousins whose mother was a dedicated housewife. I always looked forward to staying with them during my sch hols and had wished secretly that I had her as my mom.

So I suppose I'm trying to let my boy have a wonderful childhood that I didn't have. Hope he appreciates that. You know lah, boys will be boys. I hope he won't find me too stifling.

cheng
very few pple can make it on Feb 25 and i just got a wedding invite..so i m checking with them any other dates.

flo
i m ok with after mar 5 but sun preferred

mashy
i m keen on playgroup as well. JH very scared of babies. that day my fren's gal kissed him and he cried...

gymboree trial at serangoon got free trial until end of feb i think.

my mum also SAHM and i think it really makes a difference. nowadays we still talk on the phone everyday.

chillies

My photoshoot was on sunday.. my girl is a lazy bum initially didn't want to get up, was quite happy playing with the cups... and pretending to drink from the cup... after she warmed up she wanderer around a bit.. she kept pulling the back drop and falling becos of that.. in the end we put her in the tub of colorful balls and she was so happy, esp. since Jocelyn managed to entertain her with "achoo, bless you!" my girl was laughing non stop.

RE: drinking from a straw.
dunno how my girl learnt but i think its instinctive.. cos i just passed her the straw cup one day for fun and was surprised to see her sucking away... never underestimate our babies now!! they grow and learn so fast!

SY

haha, JH so cute. :p I thought all boys would loved to be kissed.

Great, looks like there's a few of us here interested in forming a playgroup.

I can only start attending from 5 March onwards though. So perhaps we can arrange for one after that?

Who wants to open her house for the 1st week? We'll rotate among all the hses. I'll check with my MIL to see if I can borrow some materials. She's attending a montesorri course now.

Mashy,

i was just toying the idea with wenyl, as SAHM we would like to go out once a week so i was thinking that at least we can gather at 1 house per week ...

I can only start after cny...

Rena

yaya. maybe we start off by listing down the pp who are interested to join the playgroup.

Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do 1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E), 3) snack time 4) cleaning up (all to help).

Caeden's IFC did painting classes. :p so think we should be able to do some simple art and craft prog bah.

The group cannot be too big though. So will have to keep to below 6.

wow the playgroup idea sounds good!
i am keen too....but will have to check the schedule of my hb who is constantly flying. i don;t even dare book for those gymboree classes for fear he will have to travel last min. he already gave me heads up that he be travelling for 2 weeks after CNY and gg to Florida in Apr for sales conference. boo hoo....

Denmy,
Have just transfered $9.92 to your acct for the spinach. Sorry for the late payment! Thanks for ordering.
<table border=1><tr><td>Funds Transfer To Other DBS/POSB A/C POSB Savings 039-47513-8 DBS Savings Plus 026-5-012408 S$9.92 1051167549 </td></tr></table>

Confinement Lady/Confinement Meal

I'm in a dilemna..Can I find out how many of you actually engaged the services of a confinement nanny? I had one for Renee but had a very bad experience so I'm rather hesitant to get one for this delivery..

I'm considering catering the confinement meals instead. Anyone has tried before? Any comments?

Coz I believe if I want a nanny, I need to start looking for one soon.

mashy - im sure caeden will still be very much appreciative of his mum's great sacrifice to be SAHM,evn if hes a boy... the little adventures and incidents will be inked forever and beautiful memories etched... great are all mothers,esp the SAHM!!!

Esther - i had confinement nanny,she wasnt fantastic too considering the $$$ tat we paid to her... was tinking for my #2,will just teach the maid prior delivery on the cooking and soup boiling to prep to act as confinement helper...heehee...

Cheng - Aidan looks so cute wf tat little hat and suit! it has a pigtail at the back? hee,his back view must be super cute too...

Queen - forgot to mention Isaac looks so funni in the pic.. as though he had known how to mop! hahaha

SAHM
I too am a SAHM and my MIL probably is gossiping abt me behind my back. But I don't care. My mum is definitely not supporting that though she was one herself.

I agree with SY ... the education is not wasted. It brings us to where we are today and will definitely help our kids.

And I don't think I'll ever want to go back to work anymore actually.

Playgroup
I'm keen. actually wanted to start asking sometime ago but wanted to wait till after cny.

mashy, I do have montessori materials but more suitable for 2 yrs and above ...

I'm more for music, playground fun, gross motor skill development (eg throwing balls). art and craft requires better finger control so I'm not sure if it's suitable.... but finger painting sounds fun.

hm, would the playgroup be on a weekend or weekday? I'm only available on weekday mornings. Weekends are getting full with other plans and family day.

.ky.

Esther,
My friend just gave birth last dec. She seems pretty happy with her confinement lady. She told me the lady helped her a lot with her elder daughter (3 year old). She even helped out with the housework.

If you want I can get the contact from her.

Queen,
I also managed to take a pic of Ethan playing with the magic clean mop recently. Can put Issac & my boy together for a sweeping good time! Haahaa!

693568.jpg
693569.jpg

Re: CNY suit
Here's my contribution.

693570.jpg
693571.jpg

Wenyl/Queen
Hahaha! It's quite cute to see them in action to help clean house. I just got a shot of Daren helping with the vacuum =) though it's heavy for him, he managed to drag the vacuum attachment out to the living room!

Wenyl
Ethan looks good! Looks like a "Shao Ye". hehehe.

Wenyl/Queen
Ethan and Isaac look so cute with the magic mop. Kristen is so lucky, Ethan will help to do all the housework next time. Who's going to be other lucky gal =p

Wenyl/Cheng
Both Ethan and Aiden look so smart in their CNY outfit, will get alot of angbao...heehee

Mashy,
Maybe u can ask ur mil if she felt stupid being a SAHM last time, to make such a comment on u. Hee.

Personally, I know deep inside my inlaws' heart, they are hoping I will go back to work, so I will leave my son with them & they can see their grandson more often. And also like wat wandermum said, I know my inlaws feel heartached tat their dear son got to feed the whole family with a single income, plus he is still studying part time.

But luckily my hb is supportive of me being a SAHM cos he is convinced tat his parents will not be able to teach and educate E as well as the mummy. I admit sometimes I do feel bored with E at home & also feel maybe I shld do someting more constructive with my time. But I will remind myself tat it is only for the initial years tat I will be a SAHM & I got my whole life to work later, when my kids are older.

I know of some SAHMs who utilise their time. My cousin is one of them. She quited her job as an accountant to look after 2 kids. During this time, she completed her MBA. Now her kids are going to preschool & pri sch, she also went back to work. Recently I got to know this lady, who happened to be my JC sch mate. She, a graduate like us, also stopped working when she had her 1st kid. Now she is still a SAHM taking care of her 2nd child who is 6mths old. During this time, she started an online biz, selling ladies clothes, with 2 other frens & she also give pte tuition. So, it really depends on how u perceive it. Dun bother abt ur MIL's comment. 1 ear in, 1 ear out. Tat's wat I m trying to learn too.