(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SH,

Is your fren travelling in Malaysia ? did she buy travel insurance ? She called assistance line for help or they did the transportation themselves ? If it is travel insurance, it is likely to be my company. Any information that I see what I can help her ?

Rena,
Better to see dr.Take care because you need to be healthy because you are looking after Elijah yourself again

<font color="aa00aa">Rena</font>
Normal mucus is usually colourless or white. If there is bacteria infection or an allergic reaction, the colour of the phlegm would then change. The colour of the phlegm is dependent on the cause. Do consult the Doctor and meanwhile drinkmore water.

<font color="0000ff">Sterilising</font>
I am still sterlising all the bottles and teats.
As for utensils wise, I will scald it with hot water before use.

<font color="0000ff">Breastfeeding</font>
For those mommies who still breastfeed after 1 year. Do you still fill the "fullness" in your breast nowadays? Cos I dun have the "fullness" nor dripping anymore. I dun even have to wear nursing pad cos my breast wont leaks nowadays.

sandra, since sarah knows how to use a straw,doesn't she drink more water? coz i remember u mentioned earlier that she doesn't drink much water and milk.

vmum, yes u are so right! it sure is alot to take in not within a day but a mere 3 hours in the evening! haha!

rena, did u have enuff rest? sometimes even thou u take medication but didn't have enuff rest, it doesn't help.

re breastfeeding,
i don't feel the fullness that much already. maybe 1 whole never latch or pump then will i feel full. my breasts have also shrunk back to pre-preggy size. but since now i'm gradually weaning off, i try not to pump. only when i feel really uncomfortable which is maybe once in every 3-4days.

Re: Sterilising

Stopped doing this since he became 1 year old. No prob so far. But at his infant care, still let them sterilise coz over there are more bugs mah.

celine,

you may be right.. maybe i do not have enough rest.. coz elijah is not feeling well and i have to do house work and to look after him so i totally have no time to nap..

re: sterilising
I am still sterilising her bottles and my pump parts although not the bowls and the rest.

durianlover,
Ya! Gosh the day passes by so quickly! I really think that I don't have enough time to do all the things that I want to.

SH,
oh dear! hope that the little boy is okay. I think we are much more affected by news like that now.

SH

Sorry to hear about your friend's accident. Gosh, how old is her nephew? It must be so scary for them. Anyone with her now? Think she needs lots of assurance and comfort now...

Wendy,

Nope I am in medical assistance company. The company which despatch flying doctors and nurses on chartered plane or the one which maintain the SOS hotline when you call for help when you are overseas with a travel insurance.

Florence,
thanks for your advice.
My packages are as follows; Floating (BR-1.35% for 1st yr), (BR-1% for 2nd yr).
Fixed/Floating (3.5% for 1st year and BR-1% for 2nd yr). BR is 4.5% currently. at first glance, fixed/floating is better but think the BR will increase quite quickly with the strong market so think we will take fixed/floating package. another flaw about the fixed/floating is that there is penalty for partial repayment. so we have decided to try to minimise the loan amt and then forget about partial repayment for the next 2 years.

re:water thru straw
after reading about the positive comments from mummies with babies drinking thru straw, I am going to try tonight on clariss with her mag mag cup.

re: sick baby
Clariss is down with flu, so heartache to see feeling so terrible. her little nose is stuck so when she drinks when the breast lying down, she will suck then let go and breath thru the mouth and complain at the same time. I have to place her head on pillow to let her breath better yesterday night. luckily she was less cranky last time compared to the night before else I will be a zombie.

Re: drinking with straw

I find that those bb who are being bf have higher chance of drinking from straw.

For my boy who has been on bottle, when he gets the straw, he'll just chew it to bits.

Precious moments,
I don't feel the fullness nowadays, don't drip also but I still wear breastpads sometimes when I go out cos when I latch my gal on and there's letdown then the other side will leak so to play safe, I will wear breastpads outside.

mashy,
that's an interesting observation. My gal is a tbf baby and she takes very easily to straw. She has been drinking from teh straw for quite a while already.

Precious Moments,
Yes my breasts also stopped leaking or getting engorged quite early...think when my girl was like 8 or 9 months. When breast feels less full, it could be likely that MS has dipped because baby not drinking as much, or that your breasts have adjusted so much to BF that it no longer feels full! Guess it varies from person to person

RE: straw
Yeah my gal also was TBF and took to straw very early...when she was 8 months old. She totally skipped the spout stage. Interesting observation!

Celine, when she first started drinking from a straw, she drank more. Guess the novelty kinda wore out already. She's only drinking maybe 180ml of liquid a day. Very cham. Trying to increase her intake.

Mashy Brainz,

Tomorrow can ? I will be taking half day for scrapping session with some mummies tomorrow. So meet you at MRT during lunch tomorrow ? Pm me your contact leh

Re: drinking from straw

well, i think it's due to the mtd they use when drinking. with breastfeeding, they've to suck, similar to drinking from straw. but for the bottle, it's a totally diff mtd. so maybe that's why those bb who were not being bf at the time of weaning didn't know how to use the straw.

PT Job
Any SAHM interested in doing part-time job as assistant to trainer in science labs in schools? There's one coming up for 8 wednesdays from 1pm to 3pm at tampines... PM me if you're keen...

wow this must really be the fastest moving thread. only din check for one afternoon and got a lot of postings!!!

SH
sounds like a bad situation. i guess your fren will take some time to get over it. hope her nephew's hand can be reconnected back.

re straw drinking
hmm, JH on bottle most of the time and he doesn't take to using straw. he likes to drink direct from cup instead.

mongs
hope clariss recovers soon. stuck nose is esp tough...

sleepingdeer
if my bond is over, i dun mind doing PT work..but not yet...will ask u again in a few months time.

sandra
wow u got a really good deal. the maid u r referring to is employed by your grandparents IL? why she wan to follow u? she not happy there cos of what reason?

rena
think it's better to see the doc. i have been coughing for more than 1 wk already. also feeling chest pain, near rib cage. still thinking wanna c doc.

re: straw drinking
my gal is TBF, she used the straw around 10 mths onwards. she mastered the skill earlier than using spout. now trying to let her use from cup. :D

re: walking
my gal managed to walk few steps since last week. so happy. but she prefers to either hold hands or crawl. think she feels more secured.

sandra,
oh no... that means the same will apply to edgar too. oh well, at least he has learnt a new skill. and it's still much easier offering him the water bottle than to try and spoon feed him, which is so much more messier.

rena, try to get more rest then... maybe get someone to take care of elijah during the day so that you can rest a little?

wow wow! took me so long to speed read all the postings! this thread sure is the #1 fastest moving and most popular =D

sunny
to play safe, do see a doctor on your cough. take care.

rena
you might be due to not enough rest, hence resulting in heatiness. do try to rest more, elijah nap you nap too. housework can wait, get back your health first.

Re: drinking from straw
dylan loves to drink from straw too. he can happily down 180ml in the morning, but i control his intake. not wanting to have his tummy be bloated with water on top of his milk, cereal and porridge.

re; traveling to china(shanghai)
most prob will be leaving dylan behind with my mum. my parent strongly against the idea of bringing him along. so think its some couple time for me and hb =)

rach - i tried to send you the pics for the baby poster wor,but it says email invalid... its the email.com add that i used.is it not right??? wana do the poster before CNY leh...
possible?

this thread is flying!!

Re:Drinking from straw
my gal also skipped the spout stage, but she was on fully EBM, means also bottle.

Rachel,
Good for you. can spend time with hb.

Rena, Sunny,
Do consult a doc. Hope you get well fast! I'm having a sore throat now. Too much early ba kwa. :p

Hmm.. maybe that's explain why Jamie is still drinking on sprout. She is biting the straw. Unable to suck water up yet. I only BF her for 2weeks =(

Chicken Little,
no, they do not have travel insurance. they are malaysian...travelling home

mashy brainz,
her nephew is 7 years old

SH,

Oh dear. Hmm, hope the little boy will be fine.

Rena, Sunny,
Me too going to see dr after work.

Rachel,
Great. I can tell you where to go shopping and makan hou liao. My fren used to work there and I have China Colleagues in Shanghai office. Can pass you my ECCO card , the sale there better than Singapore one

The thread really move super fast... my goodness

SH
I'm sorry to hear abt your friend. She must be feeling really bad now.. but sometimes accident could be beyond her tho she is driving. Give her lotsa comfort.. really hope she will feel better soon.
can understand how u feel... cos when my friend told me her sister lost her 2nd baby.. I cried also.

CL
so if wanna buy travel insurance.... can buy direct from you? will it be cheaper..? hee just wondering :p or must buy from agent anyway?

Re:drinking from straw
last weekend.. I try let Kaelyn suck my Milo straw and she manage to suck out the milo... I'm surprise actually.
I will try her with straw soon too

SY
What are you getting from growing fun?

Celine
Congrats on Edgars first 10-15 steps =p. You can collect the spinach from Denmys shop, is next to LauPaSat.

Queen
You want me to collect the spinach for you but can only pass you on Sat cos going to my MIL pl for reunion dinner on Fri nite.

ChickenLittle
Can u PM me the cupcakes contact details too, since theres so much rave about it. Whats the min order?

Tracy,
Mel did the same thing yesterday. Was about bedtime and I carried her into the room. The moment I put her down, she dashed towards the door. My hb quickly ran and closed the bedroom door. She got angry and lie tummy down, kick and cry. Was telling hb so young already starting to throw tantrum!

SH
Milk cos bacteria to bred fast, thats why is better to sterilise in case didnt clean properly.
Oh no, your fren must be devastated and her nephew is still so young. Hope he has a speedy recovery. I guess in the meantime u need to give your fren a lot of emotional support. Is her sister ok?

Clare
U moving to starhub? So last min notice?

Sandra
Congrats on getting a place of our own, at least some privacy =) Will taking your grandparent ILs maid result in family politics?

Rena
Humm, green phlegm sounds serious. Mel PD was saying theres a very strong strain of bronchitis virus around, if her cough doesnt recover within 3 days need to see her again in case is bronchitis. I think should apply to adult as well, so I think u better see a doc again.

SL:
Re: mee sua
Was running out of idea what to give Mel for her lunch. Ask my mom to cook mee sua for her 2 days back, she totally refused to eat. She doesnt like alphabet pasta too!

Vania can drink from straw for few months liao but now she doesn't want to drink from her mag mag. just pretend to drink but never suck :p so i m going back to spout hehe. use the direct one so can just put the spout in her mouth and tilt the cup.

She FINALLY knows how to self-feed the gerber stars!! seems a bit late hor hehe. She knew how to pinch it but didnt know how to let go in her mouth.

Btw, she loves sunmaid raisins. can finish 1 small box by herself while practising her self-feed skill hehe

drinking
Ariene likes drinking water/juice from the straw but she still prefers EBM from milk bottle. Tried giving it to her in a cup but she doesn't like her milk from a cup.

vmum
Its not so advisable to feed babies raisins cuz they're small and hard and can be a choking hazard. Besides, the raisins are really high in sugar which is bad for them.

Drinking From Cup
Nowadays, especially when Ariene sees me drinking anything from a cup, she'll want to drink from my cup too. I bought her a small cup from ikea and she likes drinking water from the cup just like us adults. Can see the smug look of satisfaction after she finished drinking her water. However, sometimes, she tilt the cup too much and alot of water end up on her chest so I only allow her to drink plain water from a cup.

BTW, anyone here knows Prof Looi (Head of Learning Sciences) from NIE or anyone working in Ngee Ann polytechnic?