(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re drink water
JH is ok abt room temp water. in fact i realise he likes to drink water now. he will want to drink water in btwn feeds and after he drinks milk.

CL
where did u get the cupcakes? it's really yummy.

God's child
JH doesn't like all the apple juice etc. i tried the heinz one before and i ended up drinking them. he only likes freshly made juices which i dun have time to do for him.

Hi wendyheng,.

Is ok,..I call you tomorrow

RE: ACCA
Just do your best...and I believe in this "WE are working mum and independent mum as well"
Right now in our forum here got quiet number of mummies are currently studies...they can cope the time and family well too....

Water:
Yup Aden oso prefers luke warm water than cool boiled water. I give him water after feeds so milk does not collect on his teeth and cause decay. Aden oso hates juices. Charmaine used to be like that oso but now she simply loves them.

Cupcakes,
The contact is from AK. Remember Ryan's birthday door gift. Thanks to AK, I just order via the email she provided. You want the email and contact ? I was thinking of ordering from her in future for birthday liao. If I am not wrong she is previously from Oriental hotel.

ACCA or any courses.
Being an adult it is how discipline you are to juggle between work, study and family. Note you are married , dun forget your hb too , cannot always think about kids only. I am oso planning to do MBA this year. So juggling with full time work, job which needs to fly, 2 kids, hb and being the only daughter to my parents while my sis is away in perth. Well just do a time table and make sure you go by it. Now with 2 kids , I have at least 1 hour of private time each kid, starting with aden, after he sleeps , it is with Charmaine and after Charmaine sleeps, it is my "la kopi/ teh" time with hb. Ha ha after hb goes to bed, I will do my own free stuff. Be it scrapbooking, housework and probably reading up once I start my course. If you balance your time well, I believe hb/ family will be the first one who supports you in any way.

chilles
Ariene latches on at 8pm before she sleeps. After that, I usually will dreamfeed her (or sometimes, she'll wake up on her own for a night feed) at about 11pm-12am before I sleep. Otherwise, she'll wake up at abt 4-5am for a morning feed.

Sandra,
Can understand how u feed. I gave up weaning Ariene.

Period and weight loss,
Asked my PD about not having period for 2 years. He's says its ok because I'm still breastfeeding. Besides, I'm very underweight for my height and that delays my period even more. Anyway, he did an examination for me today and said everything is normal and healthy so I can expect to have my period in the coming months. Breastfeeding mothers usually will have their periods once their babies are between 1.5-2yrs irregardless. Currently, I may be ovulating already (cuz its not so dry anymore on certain days) but the hormones produced are not substantial enough to trigger a period yet. Also, he say the weight loss is unlikely due to loss in bone mass but more due to loss of body fats from producing breast milk.

Organic Spinach BP
Helping Denmy organise the BP. Mummies interested, please indicate your names and I'll send the list to Denmy.

1. Mamapanda

Organic Spinach BP
Helping Denmy organise the BP. Mummies interested, please indicate your names and I'll send the list to Denmy.

1. Mamapanda
2. queen

sandra_chu - wow! 100K profit. it's a good sale...if i were you, i would have sold too. yeah i agree property is gg crazy these days. agent shld be grinning in their sleep. haha..

re: nepia sales
you will have to call them and bug them. their no is 6323 0438. i sent my seals in dec and I just recv them today after bugging them 3 weeks ago!

mongs - yeah bank interest are soaring high. i went ard to source out for the best loan and all of them have increase to ard 4%. to think that hdb interest is only 2.6%. i was not granted the HDB loan for my first appt last sat. i went and see MP yesterday to appeal. now i am praying for a miracle and will know in 2 wks time. if unsuccessful, i will have to check out for bank loan. i dun forsee there will be further increase as recently they just increase only. but then i am not a banker..just a thought only. maybe some accountant or banker frm here can comment?

ok, trying to load the pictures....5 pics and its still loading *yawn*

SY,

Pm you cupcake contact liao.

Organic Spinach BP

1. Mamapanda
2. queen
3. Chicken little

Is it before CNY ?

SSF
must call them to bug them? ok will try

how come u can't get the HDB loan?

CL
thanks. Hb also likes the cupcakes too!

The Singapore River Hongbao 2007 will be held from 16 Feb to 4 March. Here's the schedule of the firework displays for 7 days:

16 Feb (Fri) - Opening Ceremony
9:15 to 9:30 p.m.
Duration of Fireworks : 3 mins

17 Feb (Sat) Eve of CNY
9:00 p.m.
Duration : 5- 8 mins

18 Feb (Sun) - 1st Day of CNY
Time: 9:00 p.m.
Duration: 5- 8 mins

19 Feb (Mon) - 2nd Day of CNY
9:00 p.m.

24 Feb (Sat)

25 Feb (Sun)

4 Mar (Sun) - 15th day of CNY

Clare - ya i understand they have extended the ntuc pts exchange. you may want to call them to double confirm.

SY - there is a cap at 8K for combine household income to be entitled HDB loan. too bad we exceed that after i started working. so i try to appeal that i just started work and got retrenched recently. and also expecting my second baby. so see how the appeal goes.

re: photo upload
i selected 5 pics and click the button ADD but it takes so long...not sure if it hangs or not. can someone tell me how long it takes to load 5 pics? i think i do it tmr...too sleepy to wait
further. hee...

rena - can u PM me on the procedures to engage a Myammar maid? thanks!

CL
no probs.. hv managed to access it liao.

babylon
mothercare was hving sale at Suntec, coz it's closing down sale. My gf just bot something over the weekend. but, think u better call before popping down.

Re Nepia seals
I sent earlier and received it. $10 voucher for 10 seals. Offer ends 31 mar 07, accrdg to the lady. You can call them to ask for the addy. 62262650.

SY - since JH likes fresh juice and you have a helper at hme,y not get her to make it for him? we make fresh juice for celeste everyday since she was bout 6mths or earlier,occasionally then skip for papaya or banana... i will use half fuji apple each time and then dilute wf a little hot water to make it warm... and also not to let her tastebuds get too used to 'sweet' tastes

CL - hee,ur 'la kopi/teh' wf HB so cute.. time is so well planned btw ur loved ones! for me,time is all spent on the little one,then afterwhich at 10plus when she zzz,we oni spend some time talking while lazing on the bed which we tend to knock out to lala land within 30mins... the responsetime gets longer and longer wf each minute and KO! *faints* but we do sneak out at times for supper ( i know its very sinful ) til 1am..tat explains my panda eyes..whahahahha

RE: nepia Seals

aiyoh i threw so many away.. alamak..

RE: milk Feed

sept03, yah elijah take very little milk since 4 months his milk intake has never increase.. but he does take alot of solids but not much water that is why he always suffer from constipation..

Chillies
I used to feed Mel in instalment cos she got very distracted while drinking. The moment shes not hungry shell be busy wondering round the house and would scream for milk to 1 hr later. But now shes off her growth spurt period and milk consumption has more or less stabilised. So I normally try to feed her 8-9oz at one go around 9pm unless shes hungry and starts screaming for milk around 8pm, then I try to give her only about 4oz first cos she would have just finished her dinner only 1+hr ago.

Rena
Mel milk intake also stayed at 4oz per feed for a long while, only recently she can take 8-9oz at one go.

Celine
Could it be that Edgar likes angmo food rather than Chinese? Have u tried giving him Annabel Karmel recipie?

SH/Sept03/ChickenLittle/SY
Oh I normally give Mel lukewarm water, have never really given her cool boiled water and she can really drink a whole mag mag cup at one go.

Re: juices
So far Ive not given juices even in diluted form to Mel. My ex boss told me better not give juices even if diluted cos they may not want to drink plain water next time.

RE : Water
My boy so far like water. Oddly, he will reject milk but suck water happily from the bottle. haiz...

RE : Nepia Seal
I also got mine today. So far it takes them slightly over a month to process. This time round, they din use my SAE but from POST office

Vmum,
My frens dad also died of lung cancer and hes a non smoker and led a healthy lifestyle too. I guess the real cause for cancer is not really known. It could be due to stress, diet and environmental factors too. Hope your gu gu gets well soon.

Queen
Re Italy, Backpacking must be really fun and can have more time to explore the places. We took tour package so kind rushing all the time to cover as many places as possible. Capri is my hb favourate place...for me I like Vanice...We got lost for 1 hour in Vanice trying to find our meeting point...luckily still enough time to meet up with the rest of the tour members.

SandraChu
Just wondering which place in Katong did you just recently sold that can such a good profit. We just sold a unit at Katong area last June and only manage to breakeven. Partly bcos of the pushy property agent, the moment someone has an offer kept talking us to let go. I was hoping that he couldn't sell within that 3 months period so we could change agent.

Linda
I hope you Gracie is ok. Belicia also fell down from my bed twice...and I can understand how heart pain you felt. She was 7 or 8 months old the 1st time she fell from my bed, I was so panic and worried cos I was alone at that time. My mil quickly rushed down to my place to see her grandchild. It was also partly bcos I answered the phone called from my mil and left her on my bed alone. The 2nd time she fell when both hb and I were busy preparing ourselves to get ready for work and we assumed the other party was looking after her. Luckily, she was ok.

RE: Lung Cancer
My fren's mom also died from it. Non smoker. According to her, the doc said cos of the cooking that the mum did. Dunno how true.

RE : Honey
Anyone giving honey already?

juices, i have yet to give any form of juices to Caleb. We just feed him fruits daily.

God's child, u mix the juice with hot water ah? I think mix with cool water is better. Cos maybe the warm water will kill all the vitamins in the juices.

Babylon, yes still sterlising. My mum insisted on sterilising even though i told her no need already

Babylon,

Me too. still sterilizing. No intention for 3rd kid so dun have to keep the sterilizer. Will continue to do till it is spoilt. I also sterilize Aden's bowls and spoons. But I think my nanny already stop.

What I understand is there is no need to sterilize after 1 year old

CL /sept03bride,

not sure whether i should continue or not..coz borther's new born will be taken care by my mum later..and both of them are using the same type of milk bottles (Avent)..till now i have not yet upgrade damien's bottle..he is still using the 4oz bottles..afraid that i will be mixed up with the new born bb's bottles...trying to avoid all this kind of conflicts with my SIL. coz i foresee lot of things going to happen. so "FANZ".....

Mongs
Is the bank quoting you the same rate for the floating and fixed rate at the moment? For the floating rate, how frequent will they reset the rate and what will it be peg against? Personally I don't think mortgage rates will move back down to the low levels we have seen a few years ago (unless there is a sharp global recession which seems unlikely at this point of time). Also domestically, the economy and consumer confidence are picking up, so bank loans are picking up as well and hence less pressures for the banks to cut rates aggressively. On the other hand, I do not expect mortgage rates to rise sharply from current levels too as the banks are still flush with a lot of liquidity. So at the end of the day, it depends on what the banks are quoting you for the fixed and floating rate and gauge whether which is more attractive

Organic Spinach BP

1. Mamapanda
2. queen
3. Chicken little
4. Flo

Babylon
I'm still sterilizing the bottles. My PD is more kiasu advise me to sterilize until 2 years old. If not like ChickenLittle says, up to one year old is fine.

sorry, beside sterilizing the bottles, do you still do discaling?..Not sure of other brand sterilzer but i know Avent brand need to do descaling.

The thread moves so fast...
Can hardly catch up!

SY,
I am bleeding quite frequently whenever doing the big business, so think better get it checked out. To rule out things like cancer and all that, have to go through the colonoscopy.

RE. Shopping @ Chinatown
Are you all taking half day leave or something?

Babylon,
I have stopped sterilizing when Isaac turned 1. Now using normal detergent for his bottles as well his clothes... So far so good. No diarrheoa or skin rash.

Wenny,
I really missed those backpacking days. My favourite was Venice as well! HB was saying at that time that we will return again... but now, this seemed only a distant possbility... sigh. Sometimes, I'll still look through the photos taken during the backpacking trip. I looked at those photos more often than those taken on my wedding day.

Re. juices
My MIL has been giving Isaac 1 cup of squeezed orange juice every alternate days. Is it too frequent?

Re. Feeding
Isaac is also a handful nowadays... he simply cannot sit in the high chair for lunch and dinner feeds anymore. We always have to turn on his Brainy Baby VCD. Sometimes, I'll try to engage him by letting him scoop up the food and guide the spoon to his mouth, but it doesn't work for long cos soon, he'll want to scoop by himself and try to self feed, which is a disaster! Now I think I have to try giving him his own bowl and spoon and scoop a bit into the bowl to let him play with the food and try to feed him at the same time.

Re. milk intake
Isaac can never finish the recommended 200ml feed of the FM. I always only make 150-180ml (~ 3 to 3.5 scoops of FM) to reduce wastage. Even with this amount, he sometimes cannot finish... But good thing that he has at least 3 to 4 feeds of FM per day. So overall intake is still 450ml and above.

Re. weight
I think I have put on weight liao, not sure if it's due to weaning. Quite paranoid cos jeans feel tight already... I put on my running shoes about a month ago and managed to complete 3.5km for the first time since 3rd Trimester. Was feeling proud of myself and encouraged after the run and made a pledge to run every weekend. But since then I haven't been running. Sigh...

Re. lung cancer
Cooking? What is the connection?

Queen
RE: Cooking and lung cancer
I suspect it is due to breathing in of the smoke from cooking, maybe cos these days ppl use gas instead of wood or charcoal.

Queen
RE. Shopping @ Chinatown
We are going during lunch time on Friday

Re. weight
I think I have put on weight after weaning off too even tho I'm quite diligent in exercising! ChickenLittle, I think I need to try the diet plan you give me liao, but telling myself maybe after CNY so that effort will not go to waste...haha

Queen
RE. Shopping @ Chinatown
We are going during lunch time on Friday

Re. weight
I think I have put on weight after weaning off too even tho I'm quite diligent in exercising! ChickenLittle, I think I need to try the diet plan you give me liao, but telling myself maybe after CNY so that effort will not go to waste...haha

Weight
I only managed to return to pre-preggy weight. But now stagnant liao. Trying hard to slim down till pre-marital weight. Ha ha dream ???!!! Working on my OTO Flabelos and Trimax.

Cheng, Mong
The peekaboo video clip of Clariss and Aidan is so cute.

Lung Cancer
What about any smokers in the family ? Last time there is always this advert on taking in 2nd hand smoke is more fatal right ?

Chinatown Shopping
Queen
We doing it during lunch time leh. I am not taking leave not sure about the rest.

Drinks:

Cephas takes his fruit juices with room temp water, yakult/ribena cold, Gripe water room temp & milk warm (of cse!) Haha...

Sterlising : I still put his bottles in the steriliser for neatness but then I've stopped serlising since he turned one. However, I've not sterilised his spoons/forks/bowls/plates at all.

Flo
If we try that diet plan, the day when we meet for RP mummies we can only gobble fruits or vege ha ha

Sysac,
Better dun give Cephas yakult liao. My pharmacist extracted this from website when I consulted her. She was checking the content from the website and read this

Is Yakult suitable for children?
Yakult is not suitable for infants under 6 months of age and we do not recommend it for children under 3 years of age as it is not specially formulated for young babies. On its own it does not provide all of the beneficial nutrients that a child needs at this stage for healthy growth and development. On occasions it may be appropriate for a healthcare professional to recommend Yakult for consumption by a child. The product should then be taken in conjunction with the child's normal feeds.

Sysac
Just being kaypo. Was in the news report 2 days ago that the vit c contain in Ribena is very low something like 5%. Is one of those high calorie and not much nutrition beverage, is as good as like giving syrup mix drinks.

CL - Thanks. Actually it was recommended by my PD for once a week. We give him 1/2 bottle with 1/2 bottle of water So I guess it is still alright.

weight
i have not back to my pre pregency weight yet. Still got 4kg..must really jia yu. But lucky manage to put on my pre pregency jean..i think mainly is my tummy..me body is so straight now..no shape

Menses
having my menses right now..bad cramp..feeling terrible rite now. after giving birth to damien, i feel very weak before menses and during menses...i simply can't stand cold.

re fruit juice
actually i m not too keen to give unless he has constipation or something like that cos i scared he dun wan to drink water. maybe when he is older then i will give him

god's child
hee i dun have a proper fruit juicer so never ask maid to make for him. thinking of getting one actually.

queen
oic, hope your scope turns out fine

re weight
i wan to gain weight but haven been able to do that though i stop bf abt 3 months liao. in fact i lost abt 3 kg....

re chinatown shopping
where are we meeting?

SSF
oic, hope your appeal will work....the bank loan rates are really unpredictable...

re sterilizing
was also thinking whether to stop steriziling cos JH is one already.....

i borrowed my fren's growing fun card. need to purchase $120 in order to get discount. any mummies got items to purchase? if purchase above $200, it will be 20%. can PM me if u have anything ot purchase?

Thanks for all advice regarding ACCA.
Mostly i'll take up the course in Jan 2008. Actually not sure which school better le. Hehe

hi mummies, i'm so happy today after lamenting the whole day yesterday regarding edgar's eating and drinking habit.

yest edgar finally learnt how to drink from the straw and he drank SOOO much water! maybe around 300ml between 6pm-8pm. i was about to feed him the water using spoon but i tot i take out the bottle w straw to let him try. and boy was i so shocked when he started sucking and drinking the water! i was so happy! happier than strike toto ar... do u know i have like 5-6 kinds of training cup of which all of them he doesn't know how to use. i just kept buying different kinds for him to learn how to use.

then my maid told me she use spoon to feed edgar milk and he oso drink ALOT! 120ml in the morning and 190ml in the afternoon! it's so unheard of! previously he only drinks like 80ml MAX from his milk bottle!

later at night, edgar walked like 10-15 steps towards me!

aiyo, me want to faint liao! too overwhelmed with happiness!!!! my colleague ask me to go buy 4D! haha, maybe i will later! :p

Weight
Aiya mummies who wants to lose weight never and mummies who needs to gain weight are losing. Aiyo can't we just swop ? Then we will all be so happy.

Queen
You should be ok. Otherwise something would have been picked up during the scope. My hb went thru without sedation. He is 1 weird man who keep thinking he has cancer so have been doing lots of test. Our family GP has term my bil and him as super kiasi.

Babylon,
Yes you still need to do descaling every 2 - 4 weeks. For first child I use NUK sterilizer i still do descaling. Now I oso do descaling for both the bottle warmer and sterilizer. Oh ya need to keep my bottle warmer liao no more EBM to warm up.

Chinatown Shopping
Yup where to meet and what time leh

flo,
not sure if edgar prefers angmoh food but i guess no harm trying ya. think he's sick of his porridge. last evening he oso didn't eat his porridge. so i only gave him fish. and i didn't bother to force him to take his porridge. partly becos i was too happy with his earlier performance of drinking water from straw and hearing that he drank so much milk! hahaha!