(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

celine77
u sound super happy!!

yup when our kids are well and happy, it's better than striking toto....

sometimes i will give JH Angmoh food also. i dun give porridge for certain meals.

CL,
yah man, we shd just take ave of weight so everyone will be happy.

Hi Celine - Happy for you & Edgar. Maybe you can try to boil just potatoes, carrots, pumpkin & hardboil egg. Mash the eggs up & cut the rest up to bite size & feed him.

I do that once a week for Cephas. I will mix all up with cheese & a scoop of his FM. He will chew & smile, chew & smile. Guess he likes to chew his food.

Queen - Yes, I'm sure yr scope will turn out fine. Do take care in the meantime.

CL
You're amazing. How do you cope? and what time do you sleep everyday? I only hv Gerald and I so tired most of the days. Rarely hv time for myself.
And the cupcakes are so yummy. How much is each piece?

Re Organic spinach BP
Erh.. how's the collection, pls?

Chicken Little,
Even though the bleeding was frequent, I didn't think I had cancer or what... thought maybe had big piles or something. So went to see the specialist, but he said I only had a few small piles and better to go though the colonoscopy to rule out other possible causes. Really, your HB went through the scope without sedation? My doc never ask me whether I want sedation or not leh... the nurse just gave it to me. I was knocked out immediately. Had no idea what went on during the scope. Anyway, the worst part was the preparation for the scope... had to drink the laxative to purge my bowels the night before. My goodness, I went to the toilet easily more than 15 times throughout the night. Towards the end, nothing left to purge, end up passing out water only. I really wouldn't want to go through it again.

celine,
It's really great to see our babies walking right? Feels so pround isn't it?

wow, the thread is moving sooo fast!

RE:Water
Meg used to hate water but now drinks it rather well. Only when at my MIL's she will try to drink from her cousins' bottles instead of hers.

Celine77,
what a good day for you yesterday with Edgar eating and walking etc. ! Yippee!!

Queen,
I'm sure you'll be fine. So brave of you to go for the colonoscopy. My fren is having very often bloatedness, feeling hungry but can only stomach abit of food etc. She's been reading up about symptoms of stomach cancer and thinks she has it. *faintz* Told her to go for the scope but she's afraid. Well, so would I actually, so thumbs up to you for going for it!

Babylon,
i'm also still sterilizing the bottles cos its convenient using the Avent sterilizer and such stuff if leave aside too long without use will spoil...so why not.
I do descale too, using those bottled citric acid i bot from Unity pharmacy. Only $2.50 per bottle.

Last evening, Megan tried to shift the huge rosewood coffee table. She thinks she can do it. She went from one side to the other to try to move it, cos she wanted to get 'inside' to reach the massage chair remote. We used the table to block her from reaching the remote. :p

And this morning, as usual we passed her to my MIL and said bye bye to her. As we walked towards the door, Meg turned and waved bye to MIL then followed us. haha. When we closed the gate on her, she sat down and cry, then lie down on her stomach to kick and cry. Alot like those japanese cartoons we watch. Rather cute.

Honey
Read that its a no-no until the child is about 3years old cuz it contains bacteria which is harmless to adults but can be fatal to kids if they're allergic to it.

krissie
Collection is either Robinson road (Denmy's shop) or her home at pasir ris.

Organic Spinach BP
Helping Denmy organise the BP. Mummies interested, please indicate your names and collection points and I'll send the list to Denmy. BP closing time: Thurs 10am (so that hopefully, Denmy can order on Monday and our spinaches can arrive by friday or latest next week before CNY).

1. Mamapanda
2. queen
3. Chicken little
4. Flo

chicken little,
Can I pls trouble u to help collect mine again? I'll get the creams and spinach together at the same time.

Queen
Do u have piles? Internal piles can cause alot bleeding too during excretion irregardless of constipation. If the blood is fresh blood, its usually due to piles. If the blood is thick and brownish, its something serious. Also, is there mucus together with the blood? If there's mucus, it could be from the intestines.

Queen,

Yup he oso has bleeding in stool so went for the scope. He was surprised too that SGH dr can be so skillful that he did not feel a thing woh. I accompany him thinking he will be sedated so can take care after the scope.

Walking
Patiently waiting for Aden to stand up without support first. I will annouce the day when he starts walking probably others are running liao.

Krissie,
I sleep very late because my own free time is in the night. If you see my MSN, probably 1 am it is still on.

Spinach collection usually at Robinson Outlet. The cupcakes $1 each.

Fast moving thread
Ya man my fren from other threads oso pop by to read, so amazed that we so onz.

I using the old method (Boiling method) for sterilizing loh. hehe. Now i still doing the same. Hai my son milk intake had changed. This week, when he come back from nanny's hse I feed him milk at 8pm plus he don wan, think he's full as he eat solid food at 5 plus ma. But hor now I wan to dream feed him at 11 plus to 12 midnight. he don wan le. wan to slp. end up morning 6 plus wake up i'll make milk for him but don wan, 7 am plus nanny tried feed him he drink le. He started to reject milk liao. His intake for a day is less than 400ml if this continues le. hai. I think he prefer solid food liao.

Sterilising
I have been spreading out sterilising JW bottles for a while already. Started sterilising after using the bottles twice, then increase the time length a bit and now I only do it once a week. Hee hee...lazy mummy.

Actually I remember Flo mentioned that for milk bottles it may be better to sterilise...coz of the milk or something like dat is it?

Thanks mummies! ya i'm super duper happy but i hope he will fare as well today...

Sysac, i'll try out the recipe u mentioned. thanks!

queen, ya i was really happy. previously he will only walk 2-3 steps but yesterday he walked much more. so wonderful! best of all was that everyone was in the room to witness it. we all clapped and cheered for him when he did it. even he was so happy he clapped for himself! haha...at that moment, i nearly shed tears of joy!! silly me hor :p

I'm keen to get the spinach only if someone can pass to me at RP leh. Can tong bang anybody here?

re sterilising:
i'm still sterilising edgar's bottles, partly oso becos i'm afraid the maid might not wash them clean so hopefully sterilising helps to kill the germs. but i guess since edgar is not using the bottles the drink anymore, i can keep my steriliser already! haha!

Sh

I boil it every morning le. hehe. One a week like a bit too unsafe le. hehe but anyway if your bb ok with it. Will be ok ba.

Wow wow this thread really moves too fast!!

RE: Sterilising
I stopped sterilising when Janelle turned one. Just have to make sure you wash milk bottles properly so it doesn't leave residue / bacteria. So far no problems

RE: Weight
SY, i'm also trying to put on weight. Stopped breastfeeding but still not able to put on weight. Am now taking full-fat stuff like yoghurt, butter, etc, and eating more meals (teabreak + supper on top of 3 meals). Sounds super unhealthy but we'll see how it goes...

RE: Menses
My menses FINALLY came back a few days ago! I've never been sooo happy to get my menses back! Hahaha
Coz it means i'm normal! So i cancelled my appt with gynae...supposed to see gynae coz menses didn't come back but now can save the money

RE: water
True, Janelle also prefers warm water to normal-temp water.

celine,
Hahaha you sure sound very excited by Edgar's new 'developments'!

esther
Thanks for your concern. He's ok now. He back to normal liao. hehe. on last friday he no longer wake up crying liao. actually i don noe wat happen to him that few days. hehe. But now ok liao. Hope can last ah. hahaha. This few days he slp thru e nite but his milk intake lesser liao loh.

Organic Spinach BP
Helping Denmy organise the BP. Mummies interested, please indicate your names and collection points and I'll send the list to Denmy. BP closing time: Thurs 10am (so that hopefully, Denmy can order on Monday and our spinaches can arrive by friday or latest next week before CNY).

1. Mamapanda
2. queen
3. Chicken little
4. Flo
5. durianlover

CL / Mamapanda,
Can tompang you to help me collect too? Will either collect from Mamapanda or collect it myself. See how nearer the date. Thanks!

sterilising
I'm still sterilising my girl's bottles. As for her utensils, I sterilise once a week using my dish dryer and the UV function.

Hi Celine,

I understand the feelings. It's witnessing their developments & milestaones that touches us. I have also teared a few times myself

Now will be your most bz time with him walking more. Cephas plays hide & seek in the dark with his dad now that he can walk confidently.

Re Scrapbooking at MWL tomorrow

MamaChan/Rachel/Cheng
Am afriad I may not be able to make it tomorrow liao... we are shifting office next Tues afternoon then today last min was told I have to conduct 1.5days training next Mon(full day) & Tues(am)... which means i have to hand in my projects by this Fri instead of next week... Urgh!!! Just hate all these LAST MIN work... I never seem to be able to clear what i planned to clear for the day due to all these last min issues to settle...

mama panda,

i am still sterlizing for elijah's bottle but not his utensils .. only his toys i will do it every 2 days using the dish dryer UV light too.. Guess we have the same item..

RE: show off

Elijah is a little show off lately with is new found skills.. yesterday at my in law's place he flaunt his skill of standing without help.. then he will stand for a bout a min or so then start to clap and sit on his buttok.. then my mil is impress .. first time she say elijah so clever...haha duno is it from her heart..

Wow! Indeed this thread is moving super fast.

Re:Sterilising
So far, am still sterilising the milk bottles and teats. But bowls/spoons/mag-mag and pacifier I didn't sterilize. In fact, since 7 months onwards, utensils used for fedding solids, I didn't sterilize.

Re: Drinking Water
Daren absolutely loves his water. And he drinks much more since he learnt to drink from straw about 2 months back. He drinks at least 3 x 180ml of water a day on top of his milk intake. But when he was an infant, he didn't like water till when he's about 4 months old. Initially I was resilient in giving him water back then as I was TBF him, but my mom was insistent and gives him water via spoonfeeding each time she sees him. So I guess that helped. I don't normally give him juices but I do give him unsweetened barley water at least once a week.

celine77
Good to know that Edgar's appetite for milk is improving. =) And that he's more confident to take more steps too! Soon, he'll be running all over the place!

RE: Sterilising
I have stop but think my mum still do it for Jamie.

Queen,
Hope u get well soon! Don't worry. Sounds like piles only. I had one also but not to the extend of blood yet.

RE: Walking
CL, dun worry.. Aden still have Jamie to accompany her. She is not making any attempt to walk yet. Only can stand and balance herself once in a while,then she will clap her hands to wait for pple to praise her. She is still happily cruising around with support.

Celine,
Sorry. Until now still haven't take the toy from u. Will try to drop by once my driver is free.

Kaypo abit.. July MTB also organising bday bash like us. Think we are getting more and more famous liao. The FASTEST MOVING and ONz THREAD !!

durianlover,ya i'm indeed very happy. coz it means i don't have to worry about him being dehydrated. i don't mind if he doesn't eat, i'm more worried if he doesn't have enuff fluids.

i guess i'm just so "lucky" to be blessed with a healthy but somewhat difficult baby. he was difficult since young. hard to sleep, eat and drink. so every development to ease the process is a huge thing to me! hehe...

most imptly, i'm glad that this thread has lotsa of helpful mummies to share and give advise. really appreciate that alot! :D

May,
No worries... Let me know when u are free

Wow... think Jul MTB abit KS ya! now only Feb leh! still got 5more mths! heehee...

babylon,
so cute hor.. heehee.. hopefully tonite i can get a video clip of his walking. then i'll post it on his blog :D

May

oh i didn realise we're the fastest moving thread le. really ma? hehe. I think is coz most mummies here is very ons in everything ba. hehe.
btw how's your work now? I think i can across tat thread you said wan to tender right?
Hai me nowaday not happy with my col. She's doing account too. but my work load is more than her de. Yet she always do mistake in most area loh. End up i'm e one told her this and that is wrong. Hai very sian with it. Last few weeks i said her when i'm in anger. as when she face problems she'll just pass to other and let ppl solve for her. So i told her off said this's not e way to do it loh. hai but yesterday when she's on mc. I need to check her records realised tat got more than half mistake in the records. hai. She joined this co b4 me loh. She should noe more well ma. Don noe is she's muddle-headed or lazy to check. hai really don noe wat to say her liao la.
Give up hope. hai

wah- thread really move very fast.

Celine congrats! Edgar can walk already. I also like you- bought so many training cups, non of which sarah bothered to even use. She started to drink from straw 2 months ago and I was so happy. I thought that finally I can have a break from frequent breastfeeding. haha... She still can't walk without support though. Me anxiously waiting for the day. =)

Wenny Koh, we didn't have the intention to sell our unit cos we've been dreaming of living there for the past 3 years. We kinda placed an ad to sell it for 780K just to test market. Our unit is a 2 bedder. So, imagine our surprise when someone was willing to buy it at that price! No choice, let go lor. We bought it at a low of 580K when the property market was rock bottom. The project is still not completed yet- hence the buyer didnt even have a look at it before purchasing. It's at Sea Avenue. Which project was yours?

Sorry for so long winded. really fed up ma. hehe. somemore my supervisor noe her style but she just ask me to check her records and ask her to correct it. hai. My boss don noe about tat as he alway not in singapore office de. so end up error records always i'm e one inform her. hai. GEtting very angry liao le. I think i should speak to her one to one ba. Actually this's wat my supervisor told me to speak to her while yesterday this col on mc. hai. This's e first time i came across this type of col loh. hahaha.

Place of Our Own:
Finally, after 2 years of marriage and a baby, we're renting a place of our own to stay. Ha! So excited. We'll be moving to Malvern Springs this april- can't wait. =)

Maid:
My Grandparents-In-Laws have a maid for the past 3 years or so. The maid is very miserable because they can be very difficult. She asked me if I can take her in when we move. Should I? I'm a bit worried about her emotional health and don't know if she will bring along any emotional baggages, from her experience with them. SIGH... tricky situation. But I can see she really care for Sarah whenever she come over to our house. Is there a probation period for maids? Really dont know cos I havent had a maid before.

CL,
Got the yahoo invitation. Thanks!
Can't help smiling when looking at the BD bash pics. So fun.

Flo,

If cooking can really cause lung cancer, that will be a scary thought !

re: weight
My frens told me that they start losing weight after weaning. So I am being optimistic. Now you mummies are telling me that weaning will result in weight gain ???!!??? hahaha me v scared now :p
Still got 6-7 kg to lose but looks like a lot more. Put on 23 kg when pgnant. My breasts have grown much much bigger esp now that I am still bf/g. Was already big-chested before. Don't know if they will go back to normal. Sian le.

celine,
that sure is a lot to take in 1 day! can feel your excitement

Last time when Vania rejected porridge, I also gave her Annabel's salmon and chicken recipe. She loved it! and so did I hehehe. Very tasty!
Now that she likes her porridge, I only alternate with meesua.

I have stopped blending her food for a while now. She's got 4 upper teeth and 2 1/2 lower teeth.

re: teeth
I find that Vania's teeth are very funny. The top 4 are big and there are gaps. But the lower teeth are small and no gaps. Is it normal?

Wendyheng
For ACCA course I feel thatit's not the school that counts, You have see who are the lecturers.
If you have friend recommendation, then go those lecturer that are good, school wise they are all pretty centralise.
In case u are taking 2.5 and 2.4 (some financial analysis paper, try Mr James kwan, I find him pretty and really make you work hard.
Jia You!

May,

seems like the mummies here also can be quite kaypoh hor.. hee hee coz still got time to read other threads.. i can hardly find time to just read this fast moving thread leh..

RE: cough..

just to check .. does any mummy knows that usually when we have cough, the chest feels tight then lots of green phelgm comes out.. does it mean going to recover soon? i really hope that i can recover by next week.. i hate to be sick in japan leh.. I also pray that elijah will be better soon...

Vmum
weight gain after weaning
After I weaned Daren off BF, i started to put on weight, more so after I started work. I'm also on the big chested side, but after I stopped BF, about after a month or so, my boobs shrunk back to pre-preggers, so am quite happy about that, can wear back my old bras! haha. But I think as you are weaning off, do cut down on your food intake as well. When you do that, then I guess don't have to worry too much about weight gain.
I had been exercising for the past 2 months, so have seen some results in weight loss =). Jia You!

CL,

Have to say peifu peifu - I have only 1 charmaine and I am super tired on most days already. I realised that I simply don't have time of mine own!

re: Cupcakes
Can I have the contact for the cupcakes pls? I find it yummy too!

re: eating
I cooked mee sua in another pot of water, then cooked it again in stock and leave it in thermos to "soak" up the stock. Charmaine loves it - I think it shd be quite tasty? I tried making salmon fish from anabel's recipe but she doesn't really like it. She loves fruits - all kinds.

re: Chinatown shopping. Shall we meet at chinatown mrt station? at say 1215? Then can grab a quick lunch and shop! Anyone remembers the stall recommended by Mamachan?

mamachan
wearing my old bras.. well that's something to look forward to! haha
don't dare to think about my old jeans :p

mamachan
wearing my old bras.. well that's something to look forward to! haha
don't dare to think about my old jeans :p

rena,
no, when chest feel tight and with lotsa green phlegm, i dun tink it means u are recovering. In fact, u may need to be put on antibiotics. See a doc bah.

mamachan, vmum
Haha.. I'm the opposite. Used to be a B cup so I'm quite happy with my current C-D cup. I sure hope it doesn't shrink back to B after I wean off Ariene but I guess that's not possible, so I'm enjoying it while it lasts. Well, at least my husband enjoys its 'new' look as much as me.

vmum,
I definitely gained weight after weaning off the bb! Haha...but like mamachan says, just control your food intake then should be fine. I think our food intake is higher when breastfeeding coz i heard breastfeeding burns calories! So when u stop, just control your intake a bit. :)

Something to share:
No mood to work today. Early morning got a call from a friend. She was involved in a car accident in M'sia. Though she is fine, her sis is in the hospital in JB now, her nephew hand was severed off. Busy in the morning helping her to arrange logistic to transfer her nephew from Malaysia to Singapore hospital for surgery to reconnect his hand. 8 hours surgery...now still in the operating theatre. Somehow very affected...especially hard when I heard my friend crying over the phone. Don't know what else I can do to help her. Think she must be feeling really bad coz I just found out that she is the driver....

vmum, mamachan, mamapanda,
Haha yes my boobs also shrunk back to pre-preggie and i'm sooo happy about it! So sick and tired of wearing my boring nursing bras for sooo long! And so happy that i can wear back my pre-preggie tops too...it's like having a new wardrobe altogether even though i didn't buy any new clothes! Coz haven't worn them for like almost 2 years!

sl,
You very cute...greeted us good morning when it's already past noontime! haha

rena,
Oh when phlegm is green means quite serious already. Colourless / white phlegm is the least serious. WHen it turns yellow, then green, usually means it got worse. Do see a doc if u really wanna recover fast!

sandra,
Congrats!! It's really very different to be staying on your own. Enjoy the privacy!

may,
I also didn't realise we're the fastest-moving thread...but it's true...this thread moves too fast for me to catch up sometimes!

Mamachan, vmum, mamapanda,
I definitely belong to the weird group. Ha ha never increase throughout preggy and bf. Ha ha so sad never have a chance to change bra. Envy everytime my other preggy colleagues says they have to change, buy new ones. Both pregnancy i no change sob sob

re: sterilising
i stopped doing that when my gal turned 6 mth old. seems that i stopped it the earliest.

queen
take care!

RE: sick

thanks for all the advise.. i have see a doc on monday and was already on antibiotics .. for the first 2 days seem ok but today the condition seems worsen.. do you think i should see doc again?

Thanks for your concern.

MamaPanda,
Thanks for the info on the piles. You seemed to know a lot on the symptoms? I also think it is most likely due to piles lah, but doing the colonoscopy was just a precaution I guess. I just hope that the piles are small and does not have to be surgically removed. I was a B cup pre-preggy, during BF is a C-D cup. But I was quite conscious of the increase in size and always avoided wearing tight fitting tops during 1st 6 months when MS was still very good. I'm actually glad that my breasts are shrinking back to B-cup liao, now that I have stopped BF.

May,
Hmm... didn't know our thread is so popular! July MTB also having birthday bash? Er... like 6 months in advance? But it's good to know that there is another group of mummies who have bonded well like us.

Rena,
I think best to consult a doctor... don't want it to develop into bronchitis or pneumonia.

rena
If the chest pains are really uncomfortable, best to see the doctor. In the meantime, do take your antibiotics regularly and finish the entire course given. take care!