(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ya celine,
understand man.. we will do anything to make our darlings take the meal. Haha
If need to entertain, bo pian man gota do it.Now, i will prepare an extra set of bowl+spoon during feeding time for Caleb.

He like to play masak-masak, and then he will dig dig his bowl with his spoon and feed us with the spoon. We hv to pretend to eat from his spoon as well.. heehee
He likes to like his porridge in this manner, so we just go along lor.

SY, SH,
I also mailed Nepia stamps sometime back and didn't get any voucher from them though i enclosed a self-addressed envelope. So i gave up too.

Celine,
comparing the Brown rice+si sen powder from EYS and from medical halls, the medical hall taste better..I tasted both myself heehee
Its more frangrant. maybe u can pop into a chinese medical hall and ask them. Maybe u can try that.

ky,
i totally agree with you, cos my nephews also go thru this phase. But when #1 turned 6YO and in kindergarten, he gave up his milk bottle and also chose to feed himself at the dining table with us.

Sept03,celine77
Same here, i also give Meg toys to play and watch tv (more like ads only) during mealtime. Although she can eat rather fast like finish in 10-15mins, we still let her be entertained so she won't put her fingers into the mouth.

The only time she rejects food or gets fidgetive when feeding is during her inital teething period.

Now seems fine, she will even demand (by whining) for porridge if we are late in feeding her.

I guess it's a phase the babies go through. Cephas is a relatively easy eater who will finish his food in less than 10 mins. So I've been having an easy time when it comes to meal times for him. When he fell sick last month, everything went haywire for that 5 days. He was suddenly rejecting milk & porridge. In order to make him have adequate intake of food & fluid, we enticed him with all sorts of stuff.

If he cld eat fruits, that became a meal. If he wanted the entire slice of cheese, we gave him too. He wld only drink ribena & yakult then. I guess we were just desperate for him to eat. After that episode, he was back to eating & drinking normal again. Whew!

I used to make him sit in one spot in the kitchen to have his meals. Recently, we wld put him back on the high chair & have his meals with us. When he's finished, we'll let him down to go play while we finish up our meals.

Wenyl,
Haha, its ok. Me also come back and so blur trying to recall each mummies to their nicks. I hv very poor memory now.

RE : Last Feed
Thanks mummies. I dunno wat's happening. My turn to get cracky baby. He refused to sleep though tired and dragged till 12am last night. Cried a few times and made lotsa "angry" noise throughout the night.

Flo,
I remember u mentioning before abt Mel's 350ml intake. Installment before bed right???

Tracy,
Call nepia and they will check for u. It took ages for mine to come also.

RE : Diff. in feeding
My boy also like that. Must keep giving toys or whatever i can lay my hands on. But he will prob play wif it for abt 5 mins and no more interest. U give him again, he wld throw. My floor is always in a mess during feeding. Toys, tissue, remotes......haiz...

RE : Mothercare
I have a mothercare coupon for $10 off $50 purchase on regular priced Spring and Summer 2007 fashion. It was on papers on Sat too. Any mummy wants pls PM me and I'll email u mail.

Celine77
i can recognise your frustration, kaelyn was super fussy and picky when she started solid even 3-4 mths after.
Now she seems better but still she get bored really fast... and i dunno if she has small appetite or what after half a bowl of porridge.. she will become less keen to eat, will start to turn here and there, cover her mouth etc.
I think she is probably 1 of the smallest eater in this thread.
Although she was born pretty big - 3755g, my friend says she is shrinking!.. my heart ache! as if I din feed my baby enough but on brighter side.. she is growing so I suppose it's normal it's just that each baby grow differently and react differently to food I guess.

I know how desparate it is when our baby just dun eat... desparate until as long as they eat, anything is ok...

What I noticed.. after I start her on Yu Ren Sheng- Brown rice powder with shi sen it does seems to imporve her appetite.
She was really keen on the brown rice powder to the extend I think my MIL wan to feed her everyday cos it so much easier!
she also react better to porridge.

On days whereby she refuse the porridge ( wasting the porridge I prepared for hours!), I will just give her what she likes - Cereal!!
Well according to my PD Dr Sim... he says baby will have their perference, perhaps on that particular day she just dun feel like eating porridge. it ok!

Ironically, last weekend, I tried feeding her the brown rice powder (used to be her favorite!)... she actually refuse after a few mouth.

re feeding
i guess i m quite lucky cos JH is not a fussy eater. he is ok with most foods but sometimes i still give him things that he dun like and it will take longer for me to feed him.

chillies
i think babies change all the time. probably it's a phase that aiden is going thru? JH changes all the time. i hope this phase where he can sleep quite well will last longer....

Celine,

Ya, Jan thread is really very active and popular. Actually i sort of "know" you. Happened to chance upon your blog, its really very interesting. So coincidental, one of the sat when ur hb, edgar and urself were crossing the road towards IP, we are the couple that my hb said Hello to ur hb... not sure if u still remembers... my hb actually knows ur hb... Spore is small small only.. kekeke

wenyl,
How did you start the bottle-feed? Forcing it into bb mouth? My bb has been latching on only for the past 7 months. I want to start weaning her off but clueless abt how to start. I delay opening a new tin of FM because very sim tia if have to throw again.

Nightime is becoming a nightmare now. Vania will wake up several times and will only sleep if being latched on. It's getting difficult now that bb knows what she wants and will tell you so. Normally when she wants to sleep, I will pat her pillow and ask her to lie down. Then I ask her if she wants milk and she will nod nod nod. So nowadays when she is howling at night, after a while, she will sit up, pat her pillow and nod nod nod. If it's only me in the room, I will let her cry. Will usually give in when hb starts to make a noise. I really don't know what to do because at this age bbs should be able to sleep thru the night rite?

She has no problem with eating though. I start to wonder if she gets enuf milk. I have returned the pump to my sis who is giving birth today !! So don't really know how much milk Vania consumes.

re: sick gu-gu
My gu-gu was diagnosed with lung cancer yesterday. Stage 3. She is non-smoker so don't know she gets it. Will start her chemo today. Very heartbreaking bcos she has been taking care of us since we were babies. Doc is still optimistic though, and so am I. Please remember her in your prayers, mummies

tabbs,
how do one get lung cancer? My fren's mum passed away due to lung cancer recently. She is also non smoker and live a healthy lifestyle.

Esther - Yes, I've started gigin him yakult since last month. I wld dilute half of it though & he actually drinks it cool.

celine - my celeste used to have the vomitting tendency previously... wat i did was go in smaller portions and also after each milk feed,i make sure she is being held upwards for at least 20mins to prevent reflux... as for porrige,celeste also still needs her porrige to be blended,if alittle chunkier..she will do the vomit pattern.but i guess its cos she is stil not used to it yet... just take time,anyway they will be able to swallow and chew them when more pearlie whites appear
the funni thing is she can eat the ABC pasta without blending wor.. but then again it shld be cos i blended the steamed veg/meat then mix in to cook wf the pasta.. im rather kiasu on the chunky veg cos she choked so bad once on a piece of brocoli stalk tat wasn't cut fine enuf... i just blend it less fine each time... but stil blending la..heehee

Hee... looks like most of our babies are giving us hell when it comes to eating at some point or another. I don't feel so miserable already. =) Sarah is very greedy when it comes to everyone else's food. She clamps up only when it is her food. I have to usually put some of our adult food onto her spoon to get her to eat. There was even once when I gave her watermelon with porridge! How gross is that? There are times when she actually eats her own food without much fussing and those times I really feel like I strike top prize in toto. haha... Those are rare times tho... Sarah doesnt like to drink milk from milk bottle or any other bottles. Seems like she hates formula milk. So Ive resorted to giving her packet cow's milk. I think she drinks the least milk in this thread. She can totally don't take any milk. Only can finish one 200ml packet in one day if I coax her like crazy. Otherwise, it's only 100ml of milk in her cereal during breakfast time. I'm really trying to wean her off breastfeeding and it's so HARD. I've kinda stopped but she still wants to suckle to sleep. Don't know how to break her habit. If I dont give her, she'll cry and cry and cry... ai yo... I'm really going crazy that I seem to be the only one able to make her sleep.

SY, no no no... didn't sell any unit in the sail. Sold unit in katong. What I meant was that we had the option to buy one unit in The Sail back in 2003/2004 but we didn't cos we preferred east coast area. That's why hubby now kicking himself for not doing so. hee... But the profit that we made from the katong unit is better than nothing mah... So thank God. =)

sandra,vmum
to break the habit of latching, u must be firm. get your hb to help at night when they wake up. they will learn after 3 days. best is if they dun see when they wake up at night. i broke the habit cos i was sick and sleeping in a separate room at that time. after 2 nights, the 3rd night when JH see me, he kicked up only a small fuss and was pacified after a while

vmum
why dun u give expressed BM to get her to take bottle? but u return the pump liao...

dun worry too much abt sleeping thru the night. JH only started doing that recently and that was only becos i gave up breastfeeding. before that he woke up at least 3 times a night....

sandra
oh, your hb must really regret not buying the sail....i wd regret too!

celine

my flat faces the mrt track. so nowadays when feeding him, i'll place his high chair to face our full length window (can see cars/trains).

When he spits out his food, I'll stop feeding him 3rd time he does that. So no food for him after that. I think so long as he eat something still ok lor.

As for TV, he has no interest in it other than ads with pretty ladies. Tried to make him watch bb einstein, winnie the pooh, but he couldn't be bothered. Rather pick up his book to 'read'.

Hi All Mummies

Thanks to COMMITTEE BIRTHDAY BASH ..
We have a great time....

Look like all of babies are grow up fast

And nice to meet Mongs,.WennyKoh,...other mummies...can't really remember mummies name
sorry for that.

RE: Re : chinatown shopping
9 Feb Lunch.

CNY Clothings Shopping at Chinatown
1) SL (any day except 7 Feb)
2) Chicken Little (ok with 9 Feb)
3) Linda (ok with 9 Feb)
4) Flo (ok with 9 Feb)
5) Tabbi
6) SH (ok with 9 Feb)
7) SY (ok with 9 Feb provide no last min meeting)

RE: Accident
Gracie was fall down from our bed on saturday evening before we went for dinner at Bottle Tree.
Oh my God....really heart pain to me as her head directly bang on the floor. She was jump jump on my bed. I fell guilty cos during the time she was just beside me. I really guilty and end up got nightmare. As MIL was blame me " What you do when she fall from your bed " oh this sentence really make me heart pain and guilty
Gracie got a big BA LU KU
Luckyly till now she has no sign of vomit..

RE: Bottle Tree
I went to Bottle Tree for dinner at Sembawang side. The food not fantastic but the night view is quite nice. I got saw 2 Big Tree with the body like Bottle. I think that is call Bottle Tree.

RE: BD Bash
I got some pict that I took on the BD Bash..will post them at Yahoo Group

Thanks SY. Will try that out. Hoping that it works. =)Saw the pics u posted. JH looked really good with Kaelyn and Renee. Very jin tong yu nu type of look. =)

Sandra,
Watermelon with porridge? eeks :)

Eating:
My MIL mentioned that the last time she cooked mee sua and egg for JW chinese birthday. She only give him a bit coz she worried it's salty. After that bit, she gave him his usual porridge but apparently he liked the mee sua so much that he keeps pointing to the bowl of mee sua on the table and turn away from his porridge. My MIL has to give a bit of mee sua in between to con him to finish up his own porridge.

I guess bb are just "sick" of the usual stuff? So nowadays when JW gets difficult to feed, I just put a bit of adult food (like tofu, fishball...just a little of everything that he can eat) in another bowl. Then I sort of show him that I got stuff from the other bowl into each spoonful of his porridge to con him to finish up ;p

do you forsee the bank rates to increase in the future? I am trying to do refinancing and trying to decide on fixed rate or floating rate package. The banker recommends fixed because she says the bank rates are likely to go up.
I also think so. the property market and economy is so good. the banks will want to capitalise on the strong market.

thanks mummies for sharing your experience/advise on feeding ur little ones. like sandra, i'm happy to hear that i'm not the only with bb who hates eating and drinking milk. hee... edgar oso drinks very little and can go without milk as well. his main milk intake is also from his breakfast cereal which is about 150ml. other than that it's when i latch him on to sleep at nite. of which, i oso gotta force him to latch! so strange right? so unheard of!! anyway, i guess in all, he only takes 200ml of milk each day max! what's worst, he doesn't drink much wather either. i think max 50-80ml a day. so i really know how come he's not dehydrated!! PD jokingly said Edgar's a camel!!

tiffany,
hey this is really scary! is s'pore really so small??!! haha! i vaguely remember someone saying hi to my hb. but really can't remember the faces liao. next time u see me on the street you must walk up to me and say hello ya! so i know who you are :D

SH, haha if u think sandra's watermelon with porridge is gross. edgar's food is no much better. there was a period of time he loves papaya. so we will mix papaya into in porridge. dat's very gross to me as well. but since he likes it, so we let him eat loh! haha!

and sometimes i do con edgar into eating as well. showing him that i actually took his food from our adult plates. but he very smart lah. he will see what's in the spoon first before he open his golden mouth. if he sees that it's his porridge, he will shut his mouth tight. there was a period whereby 2 of us will feed him. 1 will tempt him to open his mouth using adult food and the other will stuff his porridge into his mouth when he is being conned. but we couldn't use this trick for long coz he soon learned how to spit out his food!! sigh...

celine77,

Elijah is also like that a camel.. since young he hates water.. even when we were in china , the weather is so cold but he still refuse to drink water and his poo poo became hard as stone... his milk intake is also little.. he only drink 4oz per feed and only 3 feed .. haiz...but his size is not justify hor...

SH, my sentiments exactly. And that is just one type of eeeky combo, imagine the rest! =)

Mongs, personally I think bank rates will go up too. At least until the IR is up. Not professional view though.

Celine, think edgar and sarah can really clap hands. She also hardly drinks anything. Always worry about her being dehydrated. At least u're still latching him on. I don't have much milk anymore even if I latch her on. So, really don't know whether she's taking enuf liquid or not.

seems that a lot of bb hate water.

C also hates it. Will spit it out and pretends to be choked on it. sometimes he will gather al into his mouth (n we thot he finally drank), then spit out all in 1 go.

mongs
i took a fixed/floating package. part of the loan on fixed and part on floating..

SH
when u give mee sua, make sure u boil the mee sua and throw away the first round of water. mee sua has salt added to it so they will prefer that. My colleague taught me this.

sandra
ha i tot the one of JH and Renee was quite cute, they look alike..i was telling my hb they look quite similar when they both look down at something.

re feeding
sometimes we will pretend to eat JH's food. some competition will make him more keen to eat his food.

rena,
your elijah drink at least 3 times. edgar drink 0 times leh! how to compare! anyways, like u said, elijah's size doesn't justify leh.. my edgar is so tiny compared to most babies here.

sandra,
ya the both of them are so alike in their eating habits! althou i still have supply but what's the point! edgar doesn't even like to latch. gotta force him everytime. sigh...really pity us mummies! constantly worrying about their growth, development etc... at least sarah still looks chubby whereas edgar is so tiny!
u know i got so paranoid till the point whereby if his diaper gets full within say 3-4hrs, i will be SOOOOO happy! there's was even once i was so elited that his diaper leak while we were shopping even thou my T-shirt got drenched! coz it meant i have given him alot of water! so crazy isn't it! wahahaha!

Re: Feeding nitemares
Initially, we had to coax Ethan to drink milk & it takes loads of patience to do tat, which I dun hv. My mum & my family maid would slowly coax him using spoon, cup, using toys to distract him....etc. We tried all kinds of tricks u can tink of. Then if lucky, he will slowly drink. It could take up to 1 hr just to finish 4oz milk. Tat was the initial stage when i started to replace the afternoon milk feed with FM. Then slowly we got the hang of it, using toys to distract him while we stuff the milk bottle into his mouth. I used NUK latex teats cos he totally rejected the silicone teats. Nowadays, he is ok with me feeding him from the bottle for all 3 feeds & I m slowly replacing the latex teats to silicone ones, cos they are more lasting. I do occasionally latch him on when he asked for it, usually b4 his naps at home. Tat is like once in 2-3 days. Dun tink I have anymore BM so its more of comfort suckle.

Feeding him his lunch & dinner is also a challenge (now even worse cos his appetite is down due to cough & flu). Sometimes we will use a piece of bread to trick him to open his golden mouth & quickly stuff the porridge into his mouth, followed by a small pc of bread. Toys dun really work for him now. He will just play for awhile & throw on the floor. Most of the time, we resort to letting him watch TV (mostly his vcds/dvds) while we feed him his porridge. I hardly let him watch our adult channels.

vmum,
I have thrown away many tins of FM. Would say it is not easy to wean him off cos he was on 100% latch on too. After I managed to totally wean him off shortly after his 1st bday, he is now finally sleeping thru. Imagine 12 mths of constantly waking up to latch him on. Those are really my nitemares!

RE: Re : chinatown shopping
9 Feb Lunch.

CNY Clothings Shopping at Chinatown
1) SL (any day except 7 Feb)
2) Chicken Little (ok with 9 Feb)
3) Linda (ok with 9 Feb)
4) Flo (ok with 9 Feb)
5) Tabbi
6) SH (ok with 9 Feb)
7) SY (ok with 9 Feb provide no last min meeting)

Looks like 9 Feb is confirmed. What time and where shall we meet ?

Hahaha so interesting to find out all the 'complaints' we have on our child's feeding! Just to share that Janelle was a nightmare for almost 2 months when it came to feeding time...when she was about 11months she started to spit food, reject food, etc etc. But recently her appetite grew better and she's taking to her meals very well once again. So do hope and pray that it's just a passing phase for your child!!

Need advice from ACCOUNTING background mummies. I considering taking up ACCA course when my boy is about two. E problem is i cant spend more time on him. This's e reason holding me loh. hai. I really confused now.

Hi wendyheng,

I am also going to do a 3-yr cse in Jul. I was in that same situation as you when I was offered. HB was very supportive & asked me to pls go ahead with it. I hope to able to spend time with Cephas too when the cse starts. I guess if we do mange time well, it wld be alright.

playgroup:
does any mummies know of good playgroups at toh tuck area? i'm thinking of sending edgar to one when he learns how to walk. maybe around 18mths. so that my maid has more time to do housework. and also for edgar to learn somethings rather than stay at home and do nothing.

Dont worry and just go ahead ..time can be arrange by ourself. Like what Sysac said if hb very supportive to you and should not be a problem on that.
I took ACCA before but due to my personal reason..I stop during the first year...
Right now I also consider to take up again.....

Rena ,

Well received your $$$.

Total funds collected for bash is $1050 excluding the $20 transferred by Rena. Breakdown of expenses :
1) $852.50 for buffet
2) $24 for decor ( carrier for goodie bags and balloons )
3) $33 for cupcakes

Got a quote of $151 for the "surprise momemto" which will be announced once it is available.

So we still have $9.50 sitting in my account for future gathering

Esther,
Refund to you has been done as you paid for your maid

Celine,
Payment oso transferred for the balloons you bought.

Any more claims from any mummies ? Sysac or May, need to claim for any stationery you have bought ?

sysac
u in accounting line too? If not maybe u have no idea acca is a tough course which most of my past bosses (who's CPA) said so, hehe. So i noe for sure i have to give up the idea of spending more time with my bb liao. hai. somemore i'm those kind of mummies who will rush home straight to c my little precious. hahaha. M

wendyheng, then prob u gota decide for urself lor.
Some mums are also studying but they do not 'neglect' their darlings.Its all abt time mgmt.

Linda
I think i saw a miss call just now. think it was your office no. now my hp low batt so i off it liao ma. Wan to call u back but hp low batt no choice. anything pm me or sms me ba.

Rena / Celine77,
JW used to hate water too. But my MIL says mixed a bit of water in so that it is slightly warm, then he will drink. I tried and realised that it's true. He simply refused to drink cold water (ie at room temp kind of water). He will spit it out even if he is very thirsty. So even when we are outside always have to have a thermal flask of hot water to mix, else he will spit it out once he taste it's cold. Maybe you can try that?

Wendy - I m not in accounting & I do know that the course in tough in its own way. My friends & family members have done it as well. They can still balance work, family & social life.

Re : Water intake of baby
Celeste also dun like plain water.. so the oni water she takes apart fr those little spoonfuls after milk feed/porrige are the 2 x 100ml each before her naps... morning 100ml is apple juice diluted,afternoon will be Woods gripe 100ml... im trying to give Delrosa now but she doesnt like it much,oni can drink bout 30-50ml..but well, sometin beta than nth...

Wendyheng - if u ask me, im too scared of ACCA... tried for 1yr and oni clear 2 papers oni!!! so now im taking part time course at SIM... much better to manage and also more disciplined wf the classes unlike ACCA where we choose to do self study for some courses and end up not studying... heehee... as for less time spent wf bb, its ok.. just make sure other time than your classes, its QUALITY time... in fact,when i cme hme late,celeste waits up for me and welcomes me wf the brightest smile which i fly home to every 3 days a week!

SH,
its true on the warm water thing. My mum also gives Caleb warm or rather pretty hot water, he downs it happily. If the water is like room temp, he will not want to drink it.