(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sandra,
Ya now the property market is going crazy. My fren oso sold her ICON and made $300K.
Pm me your email address I will invite you to the yahoo group.

Tabbi,

I emailed them liao. Will let you know once they replied.

SY,

Where do you usually get your GAIA products from ?

RE : Birthday Bash
I had lotsa fun. It was really nice meeting everyone. The committee has done a superb job. Wow, where did u ladies manage to get abbott to give us the vcd too? so happy to see it. I was very late and din see the GAIA thingy. Tried the sample and like it. Bought one as OCBC this month has a $5 off coupon with no min. purchase.

RE : GAIA
I'm also wondering can we just buy "ala carte"???

Hi Chicken Little, sent you my addy already. Thanks!

Yah, most of the spike is in the town area. The unit that we sold is located in katong though. It was really by luck ,more than anything... =)If this craze carry on, maybe we'll sell away the other unit too. I reckon the second one might fetch more cos it is nearer to town.

cheng,
its okie lah, my gal is always quite chor lor.

RE: Last Feed
Can i check what time u give your last milk feed and the amount? Also can u check wat time will be the first feed.

Cos my boy usually drink 210ml plus some cereal (ard 9.30pm-10pm) by 6am, he wld toss and turn alot till we feed. In fact he toss and turn alot in the middle of the night. Only if he can sleep soundly....

GAIA says , pick up can be during the fair, or another alternative location for
pickup would be Orchard, Liat Towers (anytime during office hours). If you all can consolidate orders & choose 1 location for pickup, we can arrange for delivery to the respective person-in-charge collecting on behalf of all others.

Kindly note the promo items were on a really special offer, exclusively for the Birthday Bash Gathering as it was a closed-door private event. We sincerely appreciate everyone's interest & enquiry with regards to purchasing individual items at good price. For those who may prefer to buy individual items, feel free to drop by our booth at Babycare Festival 2007. There will be attractive offers too.

mamachan/SSF
oh it's ok la.. abt the cleaning up. I din manage to help much for the bash..heehee.. just doing alittle part.
Thats not Kaelyn actual BD too. her's on 2nd Feb.

Re: Gain IQ sample
heehee I'm also on their list... I wonder if they will give again if I register again ... paisey paisey too.

re pediasure
i have colleagues who gave pediasure cos their babies dun eat well. not cheap also....it is meant for bb who are skinny too.

celine77
sounds like a headache that edgar doesn't eat well. did u discuss with PD possible reasons for that?

CL,
u really lobang queen.

re gaia
so far i think it is quite good. smells really nice too. i saw a lot of places selling GAIA actually. Guardian, JL etc all selling. but i actually get direct cos my bro knows April (one of the gals from GAIA).

re gain IQ sample
i also got the sample already. will i still be able to register again?

sandra
wow 200K above your cost? that's really a good price. where are u moving to?

i really feel like moving but with the property market so crazy, dun dare to buy any place now.

chillies
i give my last milk feed btwn 9-10pm depending on how tired he is.

JH has been sleeping well the past few nights. keep my finger cross that this will last...

but i notice he really doesn't need much sleep in the day. just now he woke up at 1+ and din sleep until 9!

re chinatown shopping
9th feb shd be ok unless got last min meetings...

Celine77,
Have you tried letting him self-feed? Keenan's appetite came back today after 2 weeks of rejecting food. I made a roasted Butternut Squash soup and let him feed himself by dipping it with toasted baguette strips, while feeding him at the same time.

CL,
re: GAIA
I'm also interested in getting their body bath and shampoo only... do they have them in bigger size?

re: CALI BB
Anyone doing another BP for this again? I need the body bath.

Re BD Bash Photos
I have uploaded some pics unto the Group... took me so long... also have 2 video clips of the Diaper Changing Contest + Walking Contest... what is the best way to share them privately? Cos Diaper changing contest abit "R" rated leh... hahah...

Tracy
Haha... my mum always tell me last time its ok to "zou guang" and reveal panty... most important is panty must be pretty... Megan has got very pretty stripe panties... Ashley is worse... wanted her to be lady-like in dress end up every photo she sit down reveal her boring White panty... time to go "lingerie" shopping for her... hee hee

Re GAIA
Any discount for other items in their website? I am quite interested in the Skin Lotion or Moisturizer...

Re Baby's Complexion
As i dun really have fantastic skin.. in fact my skin is far from good... can I ask if anyone has already started giving any particular food, or apply any lotion on your baby so as to maintain their youthful baby complexion? Ashley's skin recently i realised has become bit coarse and small rashes also developed on her face... me getting paranoid liao... Mum is using rice water to bath her...any other good / family tradition to share? =(

Chiclem little
I've registered. Pls sign me in. Thanks.

Cheng,
I cant wait to see the pics, but hv to wait till CL bestow the rights to me.

Places in Chinatown My MIL bought the CNY clothes
The gold suit which I shared the pics on, was bought at near the temporary Chinatown Market beside Outram MRT. As for the blue Ma Gua, my MIL got it off at those pushcarts along Mei3 Shi3 Jie1 (the outdoor hawker). Hope this will help you ladies in the shopping trip.

ChickenLittle
By when must I post Mel pic onto the yahoo group for the postcard?

Re:Molar
Mel also keeps putting her hands into her mouth and drooling again. She has 8 teeth on the front (4 on top and 4 bottom). So how many teeth have to be out before the molars?

Wenyl/May
Oh poor Ethan and Jamie, hope they feeling ok.

Mamachan, ChickenLittle, Sept03bride and Rena
RE: The goodie bag
No worries, its fine with me if you cant recover the goodie bag

Denmy
Poor Keenan, he has lost 2 kg? Did the PD say anything? Must be hard on you. Do take care of yourself and the little one inside your tummy too. Not sure if its teething phase. Mel will cry in her sleep around 10+ - 11+ as well lately. It could be becos my nephew has been playing and screaming with her in the evening, so maybe shes having nightmare.

Re: Enfagrow & Enfapro
Hmmm, hope that does reflect anything on the quality of the milk. Am giving Mel Enfagrow now and shes taking it quite well.

Celine77/Sept03bride
My niece is also taking Pediasure, vanilla flavour. Shes on the small size and quite a fussy eater and has put on quite a bit of weight ever since she started taking it. Could the poor appetite be due to teething? At one stage, Mels appetite was very bad also and did not put on any weight for months. PD actually gave her polycose and multi-vitamins for a short period of time until her appetite is back to normal.

ChickenLittle,
My SILs colic that is very underweight was advice by the doc to take Pediasure too.

RE: GAIA
I bot the bath wash and shampoo, not too sure itz the bath wash that causes rashes on Mel neck. Have stopped using it since. What did they say at the talk? Maybe I should try using it again and see if the rashes dev.

SL
Ya lor, I miss the bash..haiz. Will collect the hair conditioner from you during our lunch gathering.

Chillies
RE: Last Feed
I normally last feed Mel around 9, av around 200ml. Shell wake up around 6+ to 7+ for her next feed. Could X be going thru a growth spurt? Cos at one stage Mel can drink as much as 350ml before shell willing to sleep.

Re : chinatown shopping
9 Feb Lunch.

CNY Clothings Shopping at Chinatown
1) SL (any day except 7 Feb)
2) Chicken Little (ok with 9 Feb)
3) Linda
4) Flo (ok with 9 Feb)
5) Tabbi
6) SH
7) SY (ok with 9 Feb provide no last min meeting)

SY, I kaypo update for u

SY
Re: afternoon nap
Mel also dun nap much these 2 weeks, sometimes will wake up @ 3+ but by 8+ she'll be very sleepy n cranky

Flo,
Happy to hear tat Mel is almost recovered. Ethan is still having bad cough today, nose ran like tap!

Re: Sick bb
Brot him to see Dr Sim at Elias mall for the 1st time today. He is quite a nice friendly doc. When I told him tat E had a tendency to throw up during meal times, he said not to worry, probably tummy reflux. Told him I using Gain & I am worried that the FM is causing tummy wind. He said it has nothing to do with milk powder being foamy. Hiaz....tonite, he threw up again due to his coughs & its not even halfway thru feeding.

Chillies,
So paiseh....din recognise u on sat, although we met once b4 at ur void deck. Me got lousy memory. Lao liao lah!

Chicken little

okie! I don't mind sharing a pack of Gaia with you cos I just want to try the bath gel... cos it sounds so good.

Tabbi,

Noted. Will share 1 pack with you.

Any other mummies interested in GAIA ?

Krissie
Sorry din realise your ID needs to be approved. Because I set for all to be automatically log in. Well enjoy.

Clare,
I think you can save it to youtube then post as a message

SY,
ya it's tough having a bb who doesnt like to eat. Yest hubby brought edgar to see a PD. PD said probably try feeding him lesser eat meal. Gave him something to expel the wind in his stomach. But we found out something yesterday, he prefers his food blended. Coz when we were feeding him porridge last evening, he vomited again. So later we blended the same porridge and fed him. Then he's ok with it. Think we gotta take out the blender and start using all over again!

Also when I fed him milk using the milk bottle, he refuse to drink and pushed the bottle away furiously. Then when I use spoon to feed him the milk, he's ok. Little Edgar really know how to bully mummy ar!

Flo,
I will go and get the pedisure once he has finished his enfagrow! thanks for the advice

Clare,
haha, my hb also said its okie to show her stripey underpants as long as its not diaper. :p

Flo,
Meg is also stuffing both her hands into her mouth and drooling lots, and biting her toys. Sometimes during her sleep she will be whining alittle.

Chillies,
My last feed for Meg is 11pm. Sometimes she's asleep by then, but we dreamfeed her. Next feed will be 7am.

Re:Bash Photos
My hb took several pics of the bash as well, about 40 pics. Will upload into Yahoo group later.

wenyl
i also go to Dr Sim. he's quite funny. he always htinks i m a kan cheong parent.

JH also throw up his milk when he was coughing. he will cough each time the medicine touch his mouth so now what we do is to quickly stuff the water bottle into his mouth so he got no chance to cough.

hope ethan gets better soon

flo
thanks for updating!

yah JH doesn't nap and it is quite tiring. he can go without naps for 8-9 hours....

i also realised that if he plays too much before sleeping esp those with screaming or laughing, he will not sleep well

celine77
Hmmm, if Edgar knows how to drink from sippy cup or straw, maybe can allow him to drink milk from that? I've read that it's possible for them, once weaned off the breast, to use the cup instead of bottle. Coz we'll have to wean them off the bottle sooner or later too.

Chicken Little
Am interested in the GAIA. WIll ask my hb which one to get for Daren. Haha, maybe end up this mummy here use it for herself!

Celine77,
U may wanna get someone like ur hb or helper to bottle feed Edgar. Cos he is used to u latching him on. It was the case for Ethan. It took me 1-2 weeks for me to get to bottle feed him successfully.

SY,
Thanks! I will consider going back to Dr Sim cos his clinic is near my parents' hse & also his charges is much much cheaper than my PD.

Re : chinatown shopping
9 Feb Lunch.

CNY Clothings Shopping at Chinatown
1) SL (any day except 7 Feb)
2) Chicken Little (ok with 9 Feb)
3) Linda
4) Flo (ok with 9 Feb)
5) Tabbi
6) SH (ok with 9 Feb)
7) SY (ok with 9 Feb provide no last min meeting)

ChickenLittle
Thanks alot for the link. I'm interested to get GAIA, do I update on the spreadsheet on the yahoo group directly?

Celine77
Actually Mel doesn't like food that are too coarse as well, she'll spit it out. So maybe u may wanna blend Edgar's food in the meantime to encourage him to eat more.

SY, we're probably moving to another place at Katong. We were looking at 2 places to rent, one's at Savannah and the other's at Malvern Springs. My hubby is crazy about malvern springs whilst im leaning towards savannah. Will probably confirm with agent today. Now, is not the time to buy property lah. Wait for the next down cycle. We were lucky, the one we sold was bought at rock bottom price 3 years ago. That's y such a huge profit. Of course on hindsight my hubby kicking himself for not buying another unit at the Sail. If he had, we wont have to worry about sarah's college fund anymore. haha...

Celine, Sarah also very fussy when it comes to eating. Everytime got funny pattern when eating. I have to resort to buying different bowls and spoon to feed her/ mixing fruit with porridge etc. I always regarded feeding time as torture time for me. It can last up to 2 hours. Really cham.

celine77
maybe try different ways of feeding? like for JH, sometimes when he eat halfway and dun wan to eat, i will pass him some books to hold or some toys to hold and then quickly stuff into his mouth. recently i try let him hold the spoon and he finds it fun. if not, let him try to self feed using hands.

wenyl
yah dr sim's charges are reasonable and for followup, he charges like only a nominal fee. i remember i only pay like $10 bucks when i went back for followup and total $18 including medicine.

sandra
so u sold a unit at The Sail? wow, that must be really good profit.....so where is your new place? u haven gotten it yet?

savannah is quite near me...how come u prefre savannah?

mamachan,
he hasn't learnt how to use a sippy cup nor straw yet. i have bot like 5-6 types for him to learn but not successful. maybe partly oso becos we didn't consistently give it to him. he always end up chewing the tip and playing with the cup. so end up very messy. dat's why we gave up!

wenyl,
edgar is rejecting the bottle regardless who is feeding. and it's not the problem for being used to me latching him on. coz althou he's tbf, i hardly latch him. it has always been ebm.

so i guess for the time being, it's WELL blended food for edgar and spoon feeding! as what flo suggested.

sarah, ya i totally agree, feeding time is very stressful for mummy. it's especially embarrassing when we are out. coz we gotta act like clowns to entertain him. all sorts of pattern lah. then will his open his golden mouth to eat! *faint*! but fortuntately with enough entertainment, he will finish his meal in 15mins. the worst part is that lately he has been vomiting, so each time he throws up, i feel so frustrated that all my effort to make him eat went in vain!!! sigh....

SY,
that's what we are doing now. he MUST have things in his hands to play with else he would not eat at all. and when he gets bored with it, he will throw it on the floor and we gotta give him new things to play. so we always gotta standby things for him to play while eating. sometimes it's like, where to find so many things for him to play! we even resorted to giving him vege, fruits to play with. as if making his own salad! haha!

Hi Celine,

Sorry to intrude. I am a Apr06 mommy. Perhaps you can try giving brown rice with si shen. You can check with chinese medical hall. They will add in few kinds of herbs and grind it into powder. The herbs usually include some stuff meant to "kai wei", to increase baby's appetite. Hope the info helps. Cheers

Nepia points
I remember one of the mummy posted the Nepia address to mail the nepia cut out for redeeming the NTUC vouchers before. Can I have it again?

Btw, is it 10 coupons for $10 voucher?

Celine.

Edgar eating pattern is like my elder boy. He refused to suck on bottles. Meal time is like a nightmare to me. We have to keep bring new stuff to distract him.

but lucky after he went to school (2yrs old), thing get better.

SH
i posted the nepia seals to them but i din get the NTUC voucher leh..u try and let me know

celine77
i know what u mean. JH can be good and sometimes bad. when he was sick, his appetite totally close to zero. so he end up just drinking milk. and he likes to keep asking me to get his toys for him when he's eating. but i take it as a good chance to read to him a bit also cos he likes to play with his books.

sometimes i will sing or play games with him at the same time cos i hardly can keep him still except when he is in his high chair during feeding

just to share something funny. recently JH got new pattern during feeding. he will bite his spoon and go mamamama and then give me a very cheeky look. really quite funny. i took a video of it. see whether i can post it on youtube and share.

tiffany,
wow, didn't know our jan thread so popular ya! keke...thanks for ur advise. i have actually bot the si sen powder from eu yen san. have stopped giving it to him coz doesn't seem to work leh. maybe i should try again.

babylon,
do i have to wait till edgar is 2yo as well? faint!!!!:p

sy,
ya i also try to think positive now. take it that he's learning thru playing with his toys during meal time. anyways, as long as he eats, i will do watever he wants! be it playing while eating or watching tv. and yes i am also willing to be the entertainer doing the singing or acting clown! ahahaha!

celine77,
do u record down what u feed him everday? any particular likes/dislikes?

I realise certain combinations of food go down well with JH. he likes anything with tomatoes and he doesn't like pasta and potato.

SH
i need to dig for the address. may not have it anymore cos i sent it out a long time ago.

celine

i read a book that it's actually no good to entertain your kiddo when you feed him leh. Coz they'll think that eating is entertainment and will go on food strike if there isn't any.

SY,
erm i don't leh. coz we think it's not the food. coz we tried tracking initially and we don't see a pattern. more like it's up to his mood. u can give him the most horrible tasting jarfood and he will still eat if he's in a good mood. similarly u can give him yummy tasty chicken porridge and he will still refuse the food. so we suspect it's the texture. coz jarfood are puree-d. i mean at least those that i bot for him lah. those meant for 6mths kind.

mashybrainz,
ya we know all the no-nos about entertaining and watching tv while eating. but when one's desperate, one will do anything to make him eat! haha! juz like at first i refuse to give him pacifier, sarong etc.. but end up we still gave him coz we had no other choice. fortunately he rejected the sarong after a while. but pacifier is now his BAO BEI! :p

celine,
JH is also particular abt texture but try not to let him be too used to very pureed food.

did u try letting him eat together at dinner table with u? we noticed JH likes to eat with us.

mashy
i agree with u that we shd not entertain or watch tv but sometimes i use the time to do some reading or playing cos really not much time to spend with him. the one thing i m quite strict is no tv during meal times.

Re : difficulties with feeding

Seems like babies all go thru' the same phase. My #1 was like that too and we even like him stand at the window, the gate, played with ice cubes, watch TV, just to get him to eat.... we were doing stuff that we were told not to do as it'll be a bad habit, but we wanted him to eat.

Now #2 is going thru' the same phase... bored with eating. I guess and we just have to be persistent. 1 way is to review the feeding pattern, is he hungry at feeding times (wat time was last milk feed), over-energized, have a regular feeding hour/routine. My BIL feeds his baby milk after meal coz he doesn't like to eat, and my nephew learnt that there's food after and all the more he refuses to eat and now feeding him is really a nightmare .... it's a routine that the babies learn fast.

My #1 also eventually got better at 2yrs+ when he's encouraged to feed himself and he knows that he has to finish his food before he can leave the table. It got much better when you can talk logic to a child and he understands better what to expect ... along the way, we did use reward scheme to get him to eat but we droped that eventually and he's eating ok, not fantastic, but ok. I feel getting a good eating habits will progress to be so in the growing years. I'm seeing a lot of kids not wanting to eat what's presented to them or eating very little. Mine snacks quite a bit but he eats up his meals completely (almost all even when he's sick) and his is an adult portion.

For Pedisure, I don't give ... this is what I hear, it's sweet (hence babies love) and there's a higher fat contents (hence chubbier babies). Try giving "qi xin cha" to "kai wei".

.ky.