(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena
i m planning to go to the united square one. when are u going? are u able to get better price? i m planning to go tmr....the trial is really ex.

sunny
why do u need 2 strollers?

esther
let me know how the gymboree trial turns out

i m interested in another class. it's at mandeville. they specialise in music classes. my boss went before and he recommended it to me.

sunny

I have a 2nd stroller. It's Bebes Comfort like Maclaren, but very much cheaper. It was about $149 before discount i think and better made than lucky baby. if u can afford, can look at zooper there too. U can go to Taime on sat to see. can bargain and get discount. i got 20% discount and a free strap protector.

Sunny,

I got a Mac- Techno classic which i leave in the car. I have another light weight Aprica for me to use when I am out alone and also around the neighbourhood. Aiyo I just sold off Charmaine's combi and mothercare stroller end of last year.

Sleepingdeer,
Can you take a pics of the strap ? Me canno visualise because my car seat dun have leh. Autobac is my hb's favourite place. Always will go look see what is good there

Bday Bash Decor
I have got the pooh table cover. Now with durianlover, after her party, I can bring for you.

sysac, no problem!

I have signed Kirsten up for Kindermusik at Tanglin Mall for the next 7 Thursdays. Cos hubby can claim from flexibenefits, quickly signed her up so didn't scout around much for other programs yet.

By the way, there are free trials for this week (not sure if includes weekends) at the new My Gym outlet at Great World City. Can call them to book a slot.

re: Bday bash decor
Nickname/Item(s)
1. Cookie / 4 mylar Pooh and Friends 18 inch ballon (I will pump them on 25Jan, not sure if by 3 Feb will it still be in great condition)
2. Cookie / Pooh and friends cake figurines
3. Sleepingdeer / Balloons

Sleepingdeer, are the metallic balloons mylar or latex ah? Just to confirm. How many are there?

Cookie, from the mylar balloons I pumped for the party, they started to deflate before 1 week is up. But will take from you anyway. Maybe just need to pump a bit more again.

Thank you both! Anyone can contribute Pooh banners or cutouts or other decorative items?

Val - Tks! Checking up on that too
Don't want anything too intense for Cephas or me. Just want him to go interact & enjoy himself. My cousin says I m like a bimbo mum :p Just want to sign him up to enjoy himself.

BD Bash Decor:

I have BD banner in a string of yellow flags (Happy BD words). Let me know if u want.

rena
wah.. 3!!! why do you need so many?

SY
'cos the current one i have is heavy. so, wanted to get a light weight one so that i could bring my gal out alone taking bus, instead of MRT. don't know how to justify this to my hb. :p

CL
is mothercare stroller good? i don't understand y they wanna sell the canopy and the stroller separately leh.

sysac
volo is $219. think bb hypermart sells it cheaper. but hor, the seat cannot adjust to lie down position leh.... it will be tough for my gal if she wanna zzz in the stroller.

mashy
bebes comfort is how heavy? can the seat adjustable? wheels fixed?

sunny
but even with a lightweight one, it will still weigh close to 4kg. with our babies reaching 10kg, it will be quite hard to carry them and bring a stroller along... just my tot. like that will be hard to convince hb.

valerie,
wow your hb's co can claim this as flexibeniefit? thats really family friendly.

sunny,

I got 4 strollers at home..
1) maclaren Techo - Currently using
2) Combi - Did not use it coz dun have 5 harnessp point. Damien keep leaning forward..afraid he may fall off from the stroller oneday so switch to Graco.
3) Graco (My elder boy stroller)..going to throw away..abit worn out...switch to Malcaren Techno..
4) Toy 'R' US Umbralla stroller (Light weight- from my elder boy)advisable to use when he is 2 yrs old.

SIL going to give birth this month..soon then my mum house will add on another stroller...think she is going to scream...hahahahaha

Sunny,
The mothercare one is not bad. I bought the princess series one for Charmaine. Hb says very sturdy. But only think then she grew taller like Charmaine at age 3, the backing is not long enuff to suppport her head liao partly because she is tall lah. For me i dun need the canopy because I usually use it when we go shopping in door. The canopy is a umbrella I think. Still heavy for you to carry it out and no sling to carry like combi etc. The mothercare one also cannot adjust to recline flat right ?

sunny,

if you want a light weight stroller.. bought one for marketing and shopping usage.. 5 point harness.. coz 79 from Combi.. it is about 3kg.. light coz i can catty elijah , my heavy bag and the stroller.. but only for light usage coz cannot lie down but spacious ..

sunny,

1 which i am currently using the the techno XT, the Graco one is too heavy and cannot lie flat so we put at my mom's place when elijah go there he can use.. as for the stroller.. i use for marketing or short distance..

SY, actually anything can be claimed as long as the receipt shows his name.

sysac, Kirsten likes the new My Gym outlet. Its very spacious and bright and she can walk around and climb stairs. Give it a try.

CL, yes yes, bring your Pooh table cloth. Thanks!

Nickname/Item(s)
1. Cookie / 4 mylar Pooh and Friends 18 inch ballon (I will pump them on 25Jan, not sure if by 3 Feb will it still be in great condition)
2. Cookie / Pooh and friends cake figurines
3. Sleepingdeer / Balloons
4. CL / table cloth

Rena
Let me know if you all org classes for GUG, I don't mind letting Gerald try them.

SY
My hb has classes next Sunday, so cant join for the class.

sunny

not sure how heavy it is. but it's like the maclaren's wt, so it's a little on the heavier side. but coz of the way it's folded, it's rather easy to carry. We tried combi too but realised that it;s not so safe now with our bb. it's not sturday and flimsy.

It can be lowered all the way so my boy can sleep on it. dun understand what u mean by wheels being fixed though. It can be moved any direction easily. it has a brake bar below. So all i need is to step on it and the stroller wheels will be locked.

U can view of of its photos here. It looks like jeans material.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/alwinwoo/354472889/

Rena,

I got no problem to lent you the combi..but i just want to highlight to you that there is only 3 hardness points. I did not use it coz damien is very playful and keep leaning forward to the stroller...afrid that he may fall off. If you still want it, i got no problem to lent to you..othewise it will become an white elephant at home..like the bumbo seat...

sunny

think u should look at umbrella strollers if it's just a short distance. but must say that such strollers aren't safe nor stable.

but it'll be light lor. usually, i just look a little helpless and i'll have other pp come and help me lift the stroller up. :p

Rene,
Dun think i will sell it..going to pass down to my SIL..she is giving birth soon..this one or 2 days..

so you going to collect the stroller from me?

SY
ya loh.... quite hard to convince him leh... must think hard hard. hehe...

babylon/rena
techno XT is heavy? easy to fold?

CL
mothercare one can recline to about 130degree bah. so, she can zzz while we stroll or shop. mayb i should ask hb to come to suntec and take a look.

rena
wow... $79 and with such a light weight! the seat position is more than 90 degree hor?

mashy
the pram looks spacious. taime got sell combi, too? could i get the address?

sunny,

at first i m not very use to techno xt..but now i found it good and easy to fold...but one thing is techno XT is heavy and big...find it take up alot of space..espcially when you need to put in the car boot...

Even for cleaning / washing the seat..it is easy to take out and wash and put back...unlike the graco and combi.

in the past, i also find it hard to convince my hb to buy another item that we alredy have..but nowaday, i simpy dun care..just go ahead and but it..since i m not using his money...

Sunny,
I got mothercare card got further discount for you ? If yes, can lend u.

Val,
I forgot I got a foil round pooh Happy Birthday balloon too. If we are getting someone to pump them up, I think can pump up this one too.

babylon
that's the advantage of being a working mum right? :D

mashy
thanks for the link. later will go mothercare with hb to c c if wanna buy the stroller.

CL
don't think discounted item still can get discount leh. nvm, thanks!

the mothercare stroller can easily fold and unfold alone?

Sunny,

If you want OMO should go for combi or aprica, mothercare I feel not so easy. That one I always carry the kids out then leave to hubby to fold up to be leave in car

rena
i m going for the trial tmr. the thing is even if i like the class, i probably can't sign up till next term cos their classes are full for weekends...

krissie
the trial is on 28th Jan. not next sun.

Rena,
yap..hubby likes to play pool that's why we have one at home. But usually become Jamie's mini play table.

RE: Enrichment courses
What are the enrichment courses that u all are talking abt? How much per term?

babylon,

sure!
but hb hopes its a boy and besides, i'm sure u must see the baby first also..hee hee

Bicycle

Hi mummies, I've 2 adult bicycles to sell off, rather good condition, anyone keen???

SY,

will let you know about the trial after attending on Fri

RE: Maclaren
I bought my Quest from Mothercare at 30% off. 299 and I paid ard 209. Pretty good stroller as compared to my old brandless one. The last time i see MC selling volo at a pretty good price (further reduction) and the pink Quest Mod at 30% off too. Selected design and colour. Or can wait till Robinson or JL 20% off promo.

Tracy
I guess every bb is unique in their own ways. Megan is sweet-natured and cute
Saw her photos, quite alot of nice shots...she really hates the wings hor.

thanks for the advices on the strollers. yesterday we went to MC to see their in-house brand again, find that it's still considered quite heavy to use it alone. so, in the end, didnt buy. will wait till there's other more attractive offer on other brands.

Happy belated birthday to Jamie(May) , Ariene (Mamapanda) and Zachary (Celwong). Good job mummies.

Happy birthday to our Sou Xing today, Lucas (Cindy), Caleb (Sep03bride) and Sarah Mae (Sandra).

Birthday bash attendees Update
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Name of Baby</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>No. of Pax </TD></TR><TR><TD>AK</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD>Jaden</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>babylon</TD><TD>Damien</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>celwong</TD><TD>Zachary</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> 2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheng</TD><TD>Aidan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> 2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chicken Little</TD><TD>Aden</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 kid + 1bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>chillies</TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>Kaelyn</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>Keenan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3 + 1 kid + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD>Janelle</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eshmummy</TD><TD>Eshley</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>estherlee</TD><TD>Renee</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>God's child</TD><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>Gerald</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Linda</TD><TD>Gracie</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>MamaChan</TD><TD>Daren</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maywong</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>mongs</TD><TD>Clariss</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD>Isaac</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Elijah</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sandra Chu</TD><TD>Sarah Mae</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>sept03bride</TD><TD>Caleb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>SH</TD><TD>JW</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>SL</TD><TD>Charmaine</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD>Shannon</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>Caleb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunny</TD><TD>YX</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sy</TD><TD>JH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sysac</TD><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tabbiesus</TD><TD>Tabitha</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>Kirsten</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wendyheng</TD><TD>Daviern</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>wennykoh</TD><TD>Belicia</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Ethan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2 + 1 bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yuki</TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD>Clarisse</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Ky, Krissie,Mong and Mashybrainz, sorry please advise your attendance as I may have missed your reply.

All other mummies, please double check on your babies' names in case I made a mistake hor.

Kidzloft,

I maybe going this sat or next sat. Mummies, anyone want to tompang order at 50% off regular price item ? Please pm me your order by this friday ok.

sunny
I'm using ped perego P3, very big and heavy but also very sturdy. Take up lotsa space but pushing it around is so easy and stable.
We have lucky baby-hand me down for downstair and I hate using it...

Sysac
Thanks.. I tried to save using right click.. but the picture that was save was name "spcae ball"? and I couldb't see anything after save.
I will try again.

Valerie
I tink I will get a Pooh and friends banner from COncourse. I can contribute to the bash Decor. But I think the banner just cartoon of Pooh and friends... dun think has any happy birthday words on it... if I'm not wrong.

Sept03 - Big wet kiss from Celeste to Caleb on his FIRST birthday!!!

May - wow...must have scared you out of your wits!but thank god that Jamie is alrite now. like wat the others said, it was an accident. *pat pat*

Zhimin - your party looks great! the cakes are so pretty looking too... how time flies, i just recalled we were in the same antenatal class just 1yr plus ago!! heehee

Re: CNY
Mummies, i went Chinatown ytd during lunch and got Celeste her CNY dress liao! so super sweet! red silk cheongsam like dress... was lookin for those red top wf white pleated skirt but oni 1 shop sells them and looks super old and dirty too... the auntie at the other shop said those are old fashioned liao and asked me to get sometin new... grrrr.... anyway,i did see wat i liked and tried it on celeste ytd..hee so adorable... but it fits just nice for this yr la... doubt she can wear it again,so one time depreciation!!! anyone has any idea where to get white leggings for babies tat comes wf friction on the soles???

Re. BF / pumping
Need advice here... I have a friend who gave birth about 2+ weeks ago. She's struggling with BF. Latching every 3 hourly but her baby doesn't seem to suckle hard enough, keep falling asleep. Her boy drinks better using the bottle. So end up she will latch for a while and then give her boy FM, now it's 10% BM and 90% FM. After every latch, she tries to pump using the Medela PIS, but can only pump out 10ml to 20 ml from both breasts... I ask her whether she can get letdown (cos I told her if she can achieve letdown, confirm can get more than 10ml) but it seems like she doesn't. Now sh'es feeling discouraged and sian already. I'm not sure how I can advise her cos well, I'm lucky that I didn't have much problem with BF &amp; pumping 1 year ago. Anyone used the PIS? How to increase her milk output using the pump? I think she's very discouraged by her milk supply. She thinks she has no milk that's why her boy does not want to drink and cannot achieve letdown.

Queen,

I tried using electric pump initially but I also cannot achieve much. So I used a avent manual pump and I could pump more than the electric one. I feel the manual pump can stimulate better. One of the reason she is kang cheong and stressed , so her milk supply may not kick in.

My first 2 months Aden is most of the time stuck to my breast. I also feel he is not drinking much at all especially for his size but I dun care, as long as he cry, I will just put him to the breast. I will pump 3 hourly too. From 3rd month, I only give him EBM via milk bottle. Must encourage her, many times mummies give up thinking they dun have milk.

God's child,

So cute. I will go look for a china boy set for aden hee hee. Is your gal booked like renee and Kaelyn ? Haha I should help aden source.

Tracy,
Megan's photos very naturual and nice leh. Now must everyday flash in front of my "boss" and ask him to get Aden and Charmaine have the photoshoot

queen
i am using PIS, it really helps a lot. i had some engorgement at the 1st wk after deliver, i kept using the pump to express the milk. you could ask your friend try to massage the breasts using warm towel, too. Then, pump for about 5 minutes, then massage again, and pump. and do it for 2 to 3 cycles. if she wants to increase the supply, can do it every 2 hours. and whenever bb fell asleep during feed, detach bb from the breast and wake the bb up.

I guess your friend's bb had some nipple confusion already. if it's possible, avoid using bottle. she can seek help from the lactation consultant. Mrs wong from TMC is good.

Flo,
Mel's pics not up yet? I couldn't find them on lumen's web. Jus browsed thru Meg's pics. My mgr saw and asked 'whose baby boy is that?' *faintz*

Chicken Little,
Meg kept very still in the beginning of the shoot and took us soooo long to warm her up.

Yes, should take some studio shots of your kids for keepsakes. Anyway Joycelyn's charges are very reasonable.

CL - i saw many boy suits there too! and those kung-fu robes... so kawaii!!! im sure Aden will look so super adorable in them! i think good to go there and buy now before the crowd swarms in for CNY... the dress i got was $25 and i bargained for it to lower to $20
HB said i never even leave abit of commission for the lady whahahaha... the dress comes wf a shorts too, mabbie i try to take a pic and show your. im reali happy wf my buy heehee

booked? haha... Celeste was booked by Sept03's Caleb when they first went on their blind date at the swimming gathering 6mths back... Aden stil have a few pretty babes to choose from,tink there are stil afew unattached gals... Mabbie Aden can take his pick at the B'dae bash...

cookie
ya, i am using the peg perego P3, too. but bought it 2nd hand from auction. :p very sturdy but heavy. it's really a great shopping cart when we go for shopping for lots of groceries including bb stuff like diapers.

Happy Birthday Sarah and Lucas!

Tracy,
Mel pic not up yet, hopefully by today. Your mgr must be a man, I thot Megan looks so sweet and girly. Anyway, my hb's colleague saw the botanical garden pic and commented that Mel looks like a boy...hair so short

Queen
I also can pump more using avent manual pump but my electric pump is the medela single pump. Heard that PIS is actually quite good. I also had problem in the first 2-3 weeks cos I didn't get to BF Mel the first few days cos she was in ICU. It took me a while to establish my supply. So I only latched her on after 2 weeks when the flow was faster. Ask your fren dun give up just pump every 2-3 hours. I do use warm towel/gerber breast pad to "warm up" before expressing. Also my malay masseuse help to msg and clear my block duct (I can sms u her contact if your fren is keen). Diet does play a part too, try fish bone with green papaya soup and fish too. Hope this help

queen
agree with flo that diet plays a part, too. your friend might want to try drinking fluid (warm) before and after feed/pump.

CNY China Cloth
there are more choice - cny china clothes for gals..and for boy..there are limited choice...espically if you want to get nice one.....super KS mummy like me..already got a set from him 3 weeks ago.

Sunny,
browse the website..but very expensive..the set that i got is only $13..made in vietman..silk material.