(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel,
Yeah, I thought so too. Hee. Earliest should be end of this month or Nov cuz I'm alittle occupied these few weekends due to a few solemnisations and weddings to attend.

Mamapanda,

good idea.. leh .. actually we are almost meeting once a month already

Last month tab's place this month celine's place...

RE: Sil Pregnant..

Ho Ho.. another sil is pregnant .. 1st child after married for one year.. she is my mil favourite DIL so you all can imagine how happy my mil is lor..

##UPDATES##
Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, 29th Oct, Sunday. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)

Features:
Cooking Demo of simple steam sponge cake or peanut cake.

LIST FULL
1) Rachel + hb + bb
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb
3) Chicken Little + hb + bb
4) Rena + hb + bb (TBC)
5) Tracy + hb + bb
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7)God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + hb + bb (TBC)
9) Tabbiesus +bb+Hb (TBC)
10) SH + bb+ HB

Waiting List:
1)

mamapanda
ok ok =) you organise and we take part! haha keep us posted. thanks

rena
ohhhh, you got so many sil ah. is she nice? or is she like the other one who is so selfish and horrible...

Caleb's feeding schedule quite fixed. But my mum commented that there is a chance that we may need to increase the amt of milk cos each time after finishing his milk, he will cry.

8.30am Chor Bi+Milk 220ml~240ml
12.30pm Porridge .
2.30pm Fruits
3.30pm Milk 180ml
6.30pm Milk 180ml
8.30pm chor bi+milk 220ml~240ml

Sometimes we will feed Caleb some bread or biscuits in between his feeds.
We also dropped the mid night feed recently. Hopefully he is still eating enough.

Re : CCK/Bt Panjang gathering
WOW.. great idea..like wat rach said,can rotate houses.. so tat babies can get used to different environments! just tat my hse hor living rm no air con,and also no mat leh..
HB banned me fr buying it the last time.. sigh..stingy HB i got! but of cos if ur dun mind the 4 fans' wind,i surely will gladly open up my house

Rena - MIL's pet is preggie? golly, i guess u will start to see more 'unfair' things, but close one eye or 2 if necessary lor... norm the pets get so pampered as if they are the majesty or dowager..

Hi mummies! Went to dig out the most recent list as posted by mongs.

Re Scrapbooking gathering (mummies only, sorry mummies, have to lah, if not cannot get anything done with baby distracting us, agree?)

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena
4. wenyl
5. Denmy
6. Cookie
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel
10. Flo
11. SH
12. Chicken Little

Waitlist
1. Tabby's mom
2. sunny
3. ky

should we buy a kit ourselves or is this going to be a demo session?
I think we might wanna get the starter kit per person. Clare, any recommendations?

Any mummies willing to open up your place? Got big enough table??

rena,
ur HB has alot of siblings? heehee...
I'm also not a pet of my MIL.. hence no special treatment from her when i was preggie..
I was quite sore abt it and complained to my HB hahahaaa

Sept03 - Wah,my SIL drinking n eating alot hor..*envious* Celeste is taking less than 600ml a day..recent weight taken is 8.1kg,too light? overall Dr Ng say she growing quite well leh, at 75-90%..but she is one super active baby la..

her schedule as follows :

8am - 180ml
11.45am - porrige
2-3pm - fruit juice/barley
4pm - 150ml
7pm - porrige
10pm - 210ml

CCK/BP gathering
Sure, no prob. Everyone is invited to join in. Also, if u all don't mind, I can also organise one in Hougang area cuz my dad's condo got swimming pool, BBQ pit and a reasonably sized function room. Held my wedding lunch reception there and few parties with 40+ guests there before. No problem.

flo
the pic of mel drinking is so funny. she looks really tall!

i m dun have any competition from any SIL and already not fav..haha..my MIL wlil complain to my mum abt me when she herself got things wrong..can u imagine?

mamapanda,
the gathering too far so hard to join in....maybe once in a while have more central location one??

sept 03 bride
recently i decided to drop the night feed and realise it doesn't make much difference whether i feed or not. your caleb drinks a lot!

rena,
i dun mind opening my house for gathering but i stay pasir ris...cos hb so lazy to bring JH out so the next best option is to open my house..

SY,
why doesnt matter? I was reluctant to drop the night feed actually. But it happened because Caleb din wake up for the milk..so i bo pian heehee

Re Scrapbooking gathering (mummies only, sorry mummies, have to lah, if not cannot get anything done with baby distracting us, agree?)

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena
4. wenyl
5. Denmy
6. Cookie
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel
10. Flo
11. SH
12. Chicken Little

Waitlist
1. Tabby's mom
2. sunny
3. ky

I don't mind opening my hse. I have a dining table that can open up to 2 times the size. also have air con in the living room so can on it since the haze is so bad. should be able to get enough chairs can borrow from my SIL, she stays opp block. but I stay in admiralty, woodsvale. hope it's not too far for most mummies.

CCK/BP gathering,
I would like to join as well since I stay admiralty, not too far. heehee. can also open up my place or the function hall.

Mamapanda,

Love to join and no problem to open up my house after the renovation is completed. Will be setting up my playyard and mat in one of the room with aircon can leave the kids there.

SH,

I got it from Isetan for $49. I think the supplier is hup seng at Liang seah street, if you want I will go check it out to see how much they sell.

Scrapbook Gathering

Hmm, with kids or without the kids huh ? Mummy do scrap book, daddy look after kids is it ?

sept 03 bride
hee, for me it doesn't matter cos whether he got the dream feed or not, he wakes up at the same time at 1+ and i find that he doesn't really drink much at night. i wlil make 60ml and he can't even finish. will push it away. feed water also can.

re: scrapbook gathering
chicken little,
hmm, think it will be better for mummies to attend the session only coz even with daddies looking after the babies, the mummies will be distracted as well.
if the gathering is going to be my place, think my place not big enough to accommodate 12 couples with babies.

Cephas was down with fever yesterdy. My MIL brot him to the doc & his fever was 39.5 Deg. When I picked him up, I started sponging him & dipped him in his tub for abt 15 mins with lukewarm water. His temp then dropped to 38.5 Deg. HB came back & said go c doc if temp does not drop further. We went at abt 10.30pm. His weight is 9.5kg nw. Doc said as long as he is active, he shd be fine.

This morning, I gave him cold Gerber White Grape juice, 15 mins dip in the tub & lots of fluid. Glad to say his fever has subsided nw!

We can go to Bintan with peace of mind

cookie, Flo
Gerald was like that too.. He hated porr in the beginning. He finally took to taking porr cooked with stock, plus, i MUST blend it for him. When I feed him unblended porr, he takes, but lesser and much slower. Nanny says that when she feed him unblended porr, he'll make the vomit face and try to puke it out. So, she has no choice but to blend for him. So naughty... Haiz... me also headache, thinking how to make him eat his unblended porr well.

cookie
for ger, i realised that he likes smooth stuff, so he likes blended porr, and MUST be tasty.. so, lots of ingredients for his porr.

Yuki
You're scaring me. I gv Ger jar food everyday.. for his breakfast, I'll give cereal and add a bit of jar puree for him. and after lunch and dinner, he eats either yogurt or jarred druit puree. Hmm.. maybe i shall start makign my own puree or gving him fresh fruits.

Valarie
Me too, going with hb for a few business trips in Nov and Dec.. now cracking my head on how to feed Gerald. How do you intend to do it?

Chicken Little, thanks for the food jar tip! I'll try it out, though mine is not from Tiger, it's from some Dolphin brand but half the price of the Tiger one. Hope it works the same! Do you think fish and veggies will get cooked as well?

Thanks, wenyl! Oh, so you put the fish and meat in a cooler box. Good idea.

Krissie, the food jar cooking method sounds terrific and I hope it works. Then I can bring it along for the trips! Just need to make sure hotel got electric kettle. If doesn't work, prob have to bring along slow cooker liao.

Flo, wow, takes so much time to feed Mel milk! But Kirsten doesn't want to drink milk that often, she seems to prefer solids now, so I'll add FM powder into porridge and try feeding her. Will do that later.

Here's kirsten's feeding schedule:
8.30am 160ml EBM
11.00am Cereal with fruits and FM
1.30pm Porridge
4.00pm 120ml EBM and FM mixed
6.00pm Porridge
8.30pm 100ml EBM and FM mixed

Very little milk right?

ya Val.
Kirsten is not taking alot of milk. Ur PD mentioned maybe she do not like the FM? Maybe u can try different brand
Did ur PD said how much should our BBs be drinking now?

Yuki,
My boy now also crawling all over the bed and enjoy the "barriers" of pillows. Headache, cannot sit still. Everynight play and play. Last night till 11.30pm. Aiyo. Two nights of nearly midnight can kill me!!!

RE : Butternut squash
Bought half to try. So juz steam, mash and serve? Can mix in little bit of milk? It wld be like mash potato texture right?

CHillies
I just remembered... I still have 2 pack cereal with u hor...

SSF
The BP HT products here already or not?
I think I have not make payment yet... Must inform me hor.

Hi Mummy,..

I have seen one of the blog from forum here is the baby name's Even and is a sad story.

At first, I did not know that he has live his parent.....I thought his mummy was sad because of he is sick.
As I'm Indonesian don't know how to read chinese and only recornigse few words.
Today in a office, I asked my colleaguea to help me for the translation. Finally I view all the picture and realised that he has live his parent.
I cried in a office at my desk.....and suddenly I fell like wanna to go back to see and kiss my bb.

I have married in 2004 january and 6 mths after wedding,...Hubby and me planned to have baby but due to my poor health so there is no good news. And imagine every time whencome to menses time,..I hope no menses on that month but everymonth is "0" and "0" and I called hubby each time on menses " I fell again " ;(
Until last year on early morning at 05:30am on 1st of May 2005,..I found out I was pregnant.. I really fell my life is so wonderful from the day..

First, I call my mum in Indonesia and daddy...and 2nd is tell this news to MIL bcos 1st May is her birthday.

Hope our bb here will be happy and with good health.

Krissie
I was telling Cookie over msn yesterday that my gal is ok with solid (can finish quite fast actually). Is the milk that is giving the big headache.

Val,
Kirsten's milk intake is really very little, maybe u should try to increase it. Is always a challenge for me, my mom & hb when it comes to feeding milk. Mel can take like 30min to 1hr to finish 100ml of milk **roll eyes**. I notice that is not that she's too full cos she can drink very fast for the first 30-50ml. Once she's not hungry, she'll want to sit up or crawl off. Sometime I try to make her "concentrate" by giving her a toy to hold when she's drinking (but that of course can't last the whole feed...haha)

Is Kristen as distracted as Mel or she didn't like the taste? Maybe u try not to mix EBM with forumla (give them separately instead)? I realised that when I mix them Mel didn't like it. Also maybe you can make the FM more diluted for a start, I actually use less than the recommended at the moment (for eg I use 2 instead of 3 scoops with 3oz of water). Hope this helps

Sept03bride, PD mentioned should be about 240ml and 3 feeds a day. Just finished one tin of Promil Gold. Will try with Nan HA. If kirsten doesn't like, does any mummy want to take it up? It's a 400g tin.

Flo, Kirsten not that bad, she can finish more than 100ml at one go if she wants. She is not as distracted as before but I guess she has a small appetite for milk. I tried the add FM into porridge method. She doesn't like. Ok, maybe I'll not mix the EBM and see what happens... Headache when comes to weaning off EBM...

Bought the Combi 4-in-1 baby playgym-walker-ride-rocker that I've been talking about.
534687.jpg

This photo was taken at Tabbie's home during the gathering.
534689.jpg

Re Brown Rice and growth stunt in babies
Someone was asking if Brown Rice will affect baby's physical growth anot right?? It seems like that is some truth to it according to oday's MIND YOUR BODY... do read it. I was just telling HB over lunch this after that one of the mummy asked if Brown Rice would affect baby's growth and he was "NONSENSE Lah..." and then just now he came to show me the papers... humph! Never admit he was wrong somemore... >=Z

clare
effect physical growth in good or bad ways??

Can share more on the article? never get to read the papers today

Cindy, forgot to reply you... I bought the 400g tin of Nan HA after the PD visit already, but thanks for your offer! Does it taste that bad? Oh dear, I hope my picky kirsten takes to it!

god's child, haha... I know who to ask for weekend itineries! My hb is familiar with Italy but you know men! Dunno how to look for romantic spots one.

Clare, really? So what should we give? Only plain white rice or can mix with brown rice?

valarie
think most hotels will hv hot water. for me, i hv another headache. i.e. have to bring blender to blend the porr.
then, no stock to cook for his porr. wa thinking of buying a small rice cooker. hmm.. i hv the tiger food jar, but am afraid that it won't be nua enough for him.

Flo
I see... then gv her more solids lah, can gv yogurt and cheese to make up for milk.

Clare
I dun hv the papers with me. What does it say abt the brown rice?

My goodness... never read through my last post before hitting enter sooo many grammer mistakes! tsk! tsk! tsk!

Okie... due to overwelming response on the article i shall practice my typing skills hee hee... be patient ah me "copying" the article shortly... =)

MIND YOUR BODY . 4 Oct 2006 (pg 19)

Q: Will Brown Rice stunt my children's growth?

A: Brown Rice (BR) is the whole grain of rice with only the inedible outer husk removed. Compared with white rice (WR), BR has approx 1.5g of fibre per half cup, which is abt 3 x the fibre of WR. BR also provides us with higher contents of B vits n minerals.

BR is not harmful for growing children. H/w, over-consumption can lead to feelings of bloatedness, due to its high fibre content. This is becoz fibre adds bulk to our diet n hence promotes a sense of satiety.

As such, young children may have no room in their stomachs for other nutritious foods, thus leading to poor weight gain if they are unable to consume sufficient energy n nutrients to meet their growing needs.

Excessive fibre intake may also lower the absoprtion of certain minerals, such as sinc, iron, magnesium n calcium, all of which are impt nutrients for general growth n body functioning. Phytate, which is present in whole grain foods, such as BR, reduces zinc n iron absorption too.

Therefore you may want to ensure that your child consumes a balances diet, including meat, fish and chicken, as these are rich sources of zinc n iron, as well as diary producrs, for adequate calcium intake.

-- reply from a Dietitian, KK hosp

thanks clare!!!!
this is a good article to share...

I suppose many of us wun think that brown rice is very good for bb and growing children.. even for adults.

I caused Jamie to fall from bed just now. I turn around to take her FP piano and she crawl so fast as she is excited. The sec I turned, I saw her falling down with head landed on floor first. No bump at this moment but am worried that if there is any skull injuries. I blamed myself for not putting her in the centre of the bed. Still feel very guilty now. What should I look out for?? Vomit?

Clare,

Thks for the article. Oh dear! Better tell my mum not to give Charmaine so much brown rice porridge. Hope she reads the article on brown rice as well since she reads Mind Your Body.

wenyl,

I am still tbfing. But I neber really bother abt how much milk she's drinking now. My gal takes to solid quite well so I really have no complaints in this respect.

re: bladder control
I have no bladder control problems. Err... maybe I didn't push hard enough during my labour. Yea, I am always prone to giving up.

krissie,

I think the tiger jar cannot cook chicken/fish/vegetable. Can only cook plain porridge. Actually I have booked my tix to go Xiamen in end of Oct so have to think of ways to cook porridge for Charmaine as well. I thought of cooking plain porridge in travel cookpot then just add the Heinz jar stuff into the porridge. Do you think it will work? I don't really trust buying vegetables/fish in China.

RE : Baby Pics
Looking at the pictures that all the mummies post, wah...our babies have really grown!!!

Cookie,
Yah...your cereal still wif me. Juz text me when u wanna collect

may,

Charmaine has already fallen twice from the bed. According to the doc in Aus, when we brought her to one, one of the first questions that he asked us was that if we noticed any seizures. He did mentioned that this should be one of the first signs to look out for. Subsequently, must monitor to see if there are any vomitting, loss of appetite or any signs that your baby is not her usual self.

Finally I have completed typing the recipes from Annabel Karmel's Top 100 Purees for Babies. Any mummies keen to get a copy of the recipes, just pm me okay?