(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY
huh... aiyo cant get to see JH. njoy your aquaducks! so its you or your hb going into the water with JW?

well i think its more of a good morning workout for me the mummy here =p imagine all the walking with a ~10kg load sling to you! *sweat*

cookie
thank u thank u =)
btw like what you said, Kaelyn might not like the texture more than the taste. try blending will be good and yes, notice that if compare cereal with porridge, cereal is much smoother in texture.

mamachan
im lucky that the rain was light when i took the long walk to my mum place. after i stepped into the house, less than 5 mins it started pouring! lucky me!

my mum commented that lucky i know how to use the sling heehee. if not i will be admitted with dislocated shoulders =p

cookie
oh yes, thanks to mamachan's highlighting. Dylan's perfer his porridge to be just right. cannot be too watery, cannot be too thick. once i cook till thick thick, gao gao type and scared me big time becoz he eat till like want to vomit. maybe kaelyn oso wants the just right texture.

Cookie - i use the Yu Ren Sheng brown rice. what you do is 4 scoops to 180ml milk. i cook the b/rice and milk in the pot and stir ( must keep stirring to prevent sticking to pot ).b/rice gets thicker n thicker after cooking..when the b/rice almost expanded fully and the texture is pasty, can scoop out to cool before serving... we add in tiny tsp of ikan bilis sometimes. Celeste loves her b/rice alot! Even HB can feed herwf no prob ,but not the same luck wf porridge!

rachel - wow, wat an adventure! must have been very cute to see dylan on tat toilet bowl seat!

mamachan - so funni when we prepare home cooked meals for baby , and yet ask our HB to eat 'ta bao' food rite.. HB always come kitchen and see wat im doing ( as if preparing somethin for him),end up always empty handed... all for baby only! he gets no food from me and had to get food for me instead..heehee :p

rachel,
wah..very good. if its me, i'll be perspiring like mad taking public transport. but i'm also very keen to take her on the LRT to look see.

heheh, so coincidental Dylan and Megan both cut hair. crew cut?? haha can't wait to see him at e tupperware party!

cookie,
beef sounds delicious. cos my MIL dun eat beef, megan wun get beef but next week she'll be at my mum's so i can ask her to make beef! it is quite tricky finding the right foods for our babies. somehow the new generations tend to be more picky with food, unlike us when young, eat watever mum makes us eat! but i tink its ok to give cereal instead of porridge if she really rejected porridge.

my fren's gal rejected porridge and only liked jar food. so my poor fren gotta spend money buying jars till her gal turned 1yr or so, then she accepted porridge.

cookie,
i tried to give elijah the chor bi but he doesn't like so i did not give anymore..

RE: angry

my little boy is so noti today.. aiyoh he cry for nothing.. but i think he is a little hungry but i still need to make sure that the porridge is not hot.. guess what he did .. he use his legs to kick the center panel of the high chair so hard that one side fly out.. i beat him real hard on the legs and scold him .. after a while he calm down.. i try not to carry him if not he think i can be bullied.. *sweat*

Dear all ,

how about changing it to 21 oct..?
Please let me know..

CRAB FEAST
Date : OCT 21 SAT
Place : at Toh Tuck plc( place at Celine77 edgar mummy)
Time : 6pm Dinner time of course

1) rena + hb + bb (confirm) (Either crab shack or the mapherson one)
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) celine + hb + bb
4) sept03bride+hb+bb
5) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

Food preferences
Oh yes.. beef is yummy. Ariene likes beef anything - beef porridge, beef spinach, mashed potatoes with beef, beef broccoli, etc. I always try a teaspoon of everything I cook for her before I feed it to her. So far, I must admit beef combos best. She likes pork, chicken, broccoli, spinach too. She's ok with buttersquash, pumpkin n sweet potato only. I've not fed her chor bi since the scary constipation episode. Don't have the heart to see her anus bleed again.

Tracy

Re: D & V

Hmmm...if I were you, I would suspect the maid put stuff in their food and cause the food poisoning. After all, she's the only one who's ok.

mama chan
Kaelyn has been on porridge for abt 2.5 mths already.
SO far we are already using either ikan bilis or veggie or pork ribs to brew the base for porridge.
We added mince meat or fish or egg yolk for protein.
We added spniach or pumkin or butternut squash or carrot or potatoe or green pea... what else... one at a time of course to the porridge as veggie...

As I mentioned before.. my MIL is prone to single ingredient or she dun mizx a lot to cook at one time..for me during weekends, I try to add ltosa of ingredient to make porridge.

Therefore Kaelyn has tasted both bland or rich taste porridge, unfortunately her acceptance is still bad lor.

As adult taste bud...I find the porridge very yummy!!... she cannot finish end up I eat. Even my Hb a fussy eater think the porridge is alright.

yes.. I will continue to find ways and means to know why Kaelyn dun like porridge.
and Also take mommies advice here...
Hope Kaelyn will improve soon

At first she dun like cereal too... now she can finish all that we prepared. Hope she will accept porridge soon too!

Forgot to add... the watery and thick thick porridge.. but tried before.. still same reaction.
I suspect could be the ingredient too lumpy.. I'm going to blend the porridge this weekend mimic cereal texture see if she like better.
Thank!

Got this thru email....just to share

A Butterfly Story
>
> A man found a cocoon of a butterfly.
> One day a small opening appeared. He sat and watched the butterfly for

> several hours as it struggled to force its body through that little
> hole. Then it seemed to stop making any progress. It appeared as if it

> had gotten as far as it could and it could go no farther.
> So the man decided to help the butterfly. He took a pair of scissors
> and snipped off the remaining bit of the cocoon. The butterfly then
> emerged easily. However, t had a swollen body and small, shrivelled
wings.
> The man continued to watch the butterfly because he expected the
> butterfly to fly. He thought that at any moment, the wings would
> enlarge and expand and the body would contract, so that the butterfly
> could take off.
>
> Neither happened! In fact, the butterfly spent the rest of its life
> crawling around with a swollen body and shrivelled wings. It never was

> able to fly.
> What the man in his kindness and haste did not understand was that the

> restricting cocoon was the struggle required for the butterfly - in
> order for the butterfly to get through the tiny opening, this was
> nature's way of forcing fluid from the body of the butterfly into its
> wings, so that it would be ready for flight once it achieved its
> freedom from the cocoon.
>
> Sometimes struggles are exactly what we need in our life. If nature
> allowed us to go through our life without any obstacles, it would
> cripple us. We would not be as strong as what we could have been.and
> we will never fly...

mashy,
my younger BIL did mention this possibility but couldnt establish any link that can point to the maid. nothing major happened that will cause the maid to do such things too. of cos there is still that possibility...

but my FIL insists the house has been jinxed cos he claims when he brought food over for them on sat, he felt nauseous when he entered the house. i said maybe its just the smell of vomit lah.

my MIL says maybe its the 'fa shi' (erm..wizard?) that my SIL's MIL invited over to their place. duh....

cookie,
yah maybe gota experiment with the texture.
Initially when we 1st started with porridge, we prepared those thick thick types. Caleb will fuss and not want to eat after about 3 mouths. Then we changed to more watery.. then he started eating the porridge.

MamaPanda
I think you posted a beef recipe for porridge quite sometime back right? Beef sounds good to me to intro to Daren. Maybe can try out this weekend if time permits me to.

cookie
You might want to try using pearl rice to make porridge? It's smoother. It's what I use to make my porridge for Daren and during the last tupperware party where the babies ate the porridge. I can pass you some to try making for kaelyn, it'll be smoother as compared to the normal rice grains.

Tracy,
Haha...i was also laughing wif the new hair. Must show us. My friend brought his daughte rto my plc and the fringe is naturally in straight line. so cute!!!

Flo,
dunno leh...the cough simply worsen and these few days threw up after feed. Cough cough...and puke!!! Sian. Last night alone, he puked, pooed, puked. Wah...all in half an hour. Cleaned like mad. Damn tired and that boy played all the way till 12midnight. Urgh!!!

RE : Sick
My family all done wif flu, fever and cough. Not bringing my boy there tonight in case he catches more virus. To make matter worse, I'm down wif sore eyes. Force hub to take leave as I wldnt be able to take care of him. Hopefully he din catch from me.

RE : Gerber Puff
sounds yummy to me. will buy and try.

RE : Butternut Squash
Where to get beside Cold Storage? I only saw it there and so big. Do they sell the cut type?

RE : Recipe
My boy has been on the same porridge for so long. Someone complied a recipe before. Can anyone send me?

Tracy

Did u read the newspapers abt the maid who swang the boy by the ankles? The family also didn't ill treat her. Some maids can be just siao.

chillies
i also trying to find butternut squash. which cold storage u saw?

cookie
JH only likes his porridge in a certain texture. he hates it watery. took some time before we got it right...

SY,
The one at Parkway. Can we buy from wet market? Read that its a very nutritional veg. Baked the best. I dunno leh. Never handle it before. Gave my boy the baby jar food type and he loves it.

chillies
keke, will upload on blog and let u all know soon.

mashy,
eh ya, i read abt that. mentally ill maid...gosh i hope my SIL's maid didnt jus decide to freak out overnight! her previous maid added soap into the dog's water bottle. think she got sick of taking care of the dog. thankfully my BIL noticed soap bubbles in her water. anyway dogs not so dumb, they will reject if it tastes weird.

Hi Cookie,

Indeed, both my gals don;t like porridge. Even till now my elder gal don;t take porridge. She just take rice with lots of soup when she was 14 months old........

Evem megan now likes to eat our rice instead of porridge. She loves the Eu Yan Sang Sishen brown rice thou. I give jar food occassionally, mixed them with cereal for flavouring.

My elder gal took more jar food as compared to megan. Last time there was this beef pasta jar food. She loves it. I have not tried on megan.

I am hesitating because hubby's friend shared that his brother grew up eating all the jar baby food and now his health, kidney not that good. His brother is only in his teens but having health problems already.... so i got scared and try to curp jar food.

How do you prepare ikan billis soup base? Isn;t it very saltish?

I am keen to try mee sua but was wondering what soup base to use.

Thot of trying macoroni with cheese too.....
How to smash it to make it smaller for megan?

Hi Tracy and MAshy,

My MIL's previous maid whom i said is crazy cried buckets when MIL asked her to wash car. She said we don;t respect her as a human by asking her to wash car......... Siad that her previous owner wash their own cars. She mad!

rena
21oct i cant make it, have appointment liao.

Clare
think for me oso have to be in nov for the scrapbooking gathering. Oct weekends all full.

Yuki
For me, I just add in the vege puree and mashed fish to the mee sua. Coz mee sua in itself already quite tasty. Need to 1st boil it in seperate pot of hot water and rinse under cold water before further cooking it till quite nua. I would add in a teaspoon of the grinded dried silver fish to the soup base and then serve the mee sua.

Wenyl, welcome back! By the way, how do you feed Ethan during the trip? Jar food or other food that you prepared? Thinking of going bintan but kirsten only likes either cereal or porridge. She doesn't really like jar food or the ang mo style food. So may need to bring food there to cook for her... Worse, hubby may be going Italy for work for a month and we're thinking of going together but dunno how to deal with her food leh... can't be eating jar food the whole month right?

SY, chillies, I usually buy the butternut squash from either NTUC or cold storage and they do sell in cut up pieces leh...

Yuki, I've prepared mee swah for kirsten before and I cooked it with either chicken or pork stock. Quite nice. Haven't tried macaroni with cheese though... I cooked some organic ABC macaroni with organic tomato sauce yesterday but turned out to be a diaster... will experiment with it some more.

rachel, wah, your adventure sounds quite siong man!

Mummies, sorry ah, i a bit blur blur... when exactly is the Mooncake festival? I don't have chinese calender...

val,

another way is to bring rice and slow cooker.. what my sis do was to bring the frozen pruree then defrost for each meal.. but then again you must see where you are staying.. hotel no freezer..

Rena, seems like babies at this age they really start to show their tempers. Either they start to become like best friends with you or they start screaming the house down if they don't get what they want.

By the way, I just brought kirsten to see PD today for her 9mth old checkup, every thing is well except for the fact that she didn't put on any weight since the last month. Her milk intake is only ~350ml a day and PD says if her intake still this bad, her weight will not increase much. Got me a bit scared. Then she suggested that I use NAN HA to supplement because its flavour is the closest to breastmilk compared to other brands. She suspects that kirsten doesn't like Promil Gold. Another option is to hide the milk in cereal or even porridge to feed.

Hi All,...

Has been busy for long long time and only able to read your post at certain time.

Hi Rachel,.

The Zhen Zhu me you mentioned is quite good and taste nice....cos MIL bought that for my baby so far my baby like it so much. But recently we try the natural farm brown rice,... not bad too.

Hi Rena,.

How is Sumo? Read from post that he is not feeling well,...
Regarding "Chor Bi" you may try to mix that with normal rice,.. the taste is better than Chor Bi alone. Bcos if "Chor Bi" alone, the taste is slightly dry and most baby will not like it.

val,
wow italy for a month!! sounds so romantic..

i m planning to bring my slow cooker to aus and hb is rolling his eyes..

NTUC got butternut squash? i dun ever see it. can PM me a pic of it?

i wanted to try to give macaroni. u got any recipe?

so for mee swa can cook it like normal porridge?

valerie
wow wow one month Italy! think feeding cereal should be ok, its the cooking of porridge and getting all the ingredents thats a headache.

siong, yah you can say that! haha somemore i have not take my breakfast wor. but its a good workout and an enjoyable little trip =)

Mooncake festival is this Friday, chinese calender the fifteen.

Hi All,...

Has been busy for long long time and only able to read your post at certain time.

Hi Rachel,.

The Zhen Zhu me you mentioned is quite good and taste nice....cos MIL bought that for my baby so far my baby like it so much. But recently we try the natural farm brown rice,... not bad too.

Hi Rena,.

How is Sumo? Read from post that he is not feeling well,...
Regarding "Chor Bi" you may try to mix that with normal rice,.. the taste is better than Chor Bi alone. Bcos if "Chor Bi" alone, the taste is slightly dry and most baby will not like it.

Hi,..

Sorry for post 2 times,....

Any mummies here has given baby Brown Rice ( Chor Bi ) but not normal rice for more than 2 mths?

I have given my baby brown rice for last 5 mths and I notice that she is not bigger at all althought her weight is increasing normally. But compare to your BB, she's looks slightly smaller.
And recently I got to know from my fren that most of the baby that take brown rice,.. is not bigger,..compare to baby that take normal rice.

let me know if your have let baby take brown rice alone,....

SY,

There is no need but u can use the health booklet as guideline to chart the development

How does the butternut squash looks like ? Is it call nai bai in mandarin ? Me only go supermarket like isetan cook Japanese so not very sure of Chinese cooking one

Valerie,

Wyeth sent me samples for the milk too but Aden drinks mostly EBM and is fine occasionally with similac so not changing. My daughter who is on grow and pediasure dun like the promil gold for age 3-6. So u should try to change to increase your gal's milk intake

I think Tiger has got this porridge maker thermal pot so just put rice and hot water can make into porridge liao. Maybe u want to try that. I bought from Isetan at $49 but have not try it yet.

Rena,

I am ok with 21 Oct for the crab feast.

SY, rachel, I also hope it'll be romantic but we'll be going to the industrial town of Turin only lah...

Rachel, haha... Mooncake festival is so near, but we finished up all our mooncakes 2 weeks ago liao. Ok, maybe can go somewhere on Fri to 'shang yue'...

SY, I remember Denmy posted a picture of the cut-up version of butternut squash before but I can't find it on any website. By the way, it's also called butternut pumpkin by the Aussies, so if you check the NTUC or cold storage sticker label, you should find it easily.

As for the macaroni, I don't have any good recipe yet... Will share if I get it right one day! For the mee swah, I cook the fish/meat/carrots in the soup stock first, then like Mamachan mentioned, put the pre-cooked mee swah into the soup directly, then throw in veg.

SY,
I also don't bring clariss to PD every month. it's alright not to go PD if your baby is well. there is one visit think around 10-11 month for the PD to assess the development of the baby but if you want to skip that and wait till 12 month also fine according to my PD.
Think I will bring her only when she is 12 months old. I am monitoring her weight myself.

chicken litte,
think for the thermal pot, you still need to cook over fire till the porridge or soup is boiling then transfer into the thermal pot and the porridge or soup will use it's latent heat to cook the contents further. the porridge can become quite soft when u leave it long enough. save gas.

Hi chicken little,.

How many months is your bb? And she is taking Similac in stage...???How is your baby weight?

Mine one is 9 mth and taking similac stage 2,..
so far no problem on her phai pien....
But just wanna to find out whether is the brown rice or similac that she took,..make her look smaller.

linda, I started giving only jasmine brown rice not long ago so can't tell if it's different.

chicken little, still need fire to set the soup to boil first before transfer right?

Oh yah, mummies, I forgot to mention, PD confirmed that Kirsten's 1st molar is out already. On the lower left gum. No wonder so cranky recently and her appetite is somewhat affected... Hope she can start chewing food better then can eat lumpier food soon!

Hi Sept03bride,.

I given bb brown rice mix with vege,pumpkin, carrot,pea,apple,Xue yu,etc since last 5 mths...not plan brown rice....So far is really good on her body and feet which is right now she can walked 3 step without support.

But I have noticed that her size is slightly smaller....I would like to find out whether is due to brown rice or the milk powder similac.
Previously 0-6 mths she took S26 and really good and bigger.

Is your BB size is bigger?

hi val,
kirsten's molar is out? Seems fast hor.

hi linda,
caleb was on S26 as well previously. I think he is of good weight lar.
Do u give the stage 2 fm, Promil Gold?

Mong,

I refer to the Tiger Food Jar not those Magic Pot. Magic pot u need to cook in the inner pot then transfer from stove to the cooker , and the food will be cook like 3-4 hours later. Tiger food jar is one that looks like those thermal pot which u bring your baby porridge out. As per the sales person at isetan, this is really just put in washed rice and hot water and it will be cooked after 30 mins leh.

Linda,

My baby is big , birth weight is 3.87 now after the admission he is at 10.9, before admission he was 11.3. PD says baby on BM and prefers milk tends to be bigger. He is 77 cm consider having a build of a 1 year old though he is turning 9 months in a weeks time.

Due to his admission his semi solid food schedule went hay wire so just started again with one small soup bowl of porridge for 1 meal.