(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena

I understand all these ah. Being a parent comes with a price. I alr discuss with my hb that i'll train him in my god parent hse. c how it goes loh.

rena
me and hb thought of moszzi bites too. coz they are big. dustmite... im aware dustmite bites too but their bites are more tiny right? im really lost, now everytime when im at my mum place im like detective trying to find any clue. oh yes, daytime he spent his of his time on the playmat, so rule out the mat as we clean it very often too. headache leh, really cross my fingers that i dont discover any new bites when i see him this evening after work...

rachel
Ur mum's place got dogs? If its not rashes, then its insect bites. Could be dust mites, bed bugs, mozzi, ants, fleas, etc. In any case, I agree with Rena. See a doc better.

Eating paper
Ariene just ate paper on Monday. I left a bank brochure on the floor and went to the kitchen to get a glass of water to drink. When I came back, the brochure was torn and chewed into pieces and she was "coughing" and swallowing. Then, I realised she swallowed a big corner of the brochure! Lucky she didn't choke cuz the brochure was quite thick and hard..

wendyheng
the bottom line... it all depends on individual babies. for Dylan i saw result on the very first night. he cry, fuss and howl for 15mins but calm down after that. every night i saw improvements, meaning it took him shorter time to fall alseep. in total it took around 5 days for him to sleep on his own. still, it all depends on your boy. could takes days, weeks or even months. alot depend on how the parent handle the crying too.

panda eye... it dont matters to me. know it looks ugly but what matters as long as my baby sleep well and is healthy. beauty sleep does not really matters to us mummies anymore.

Ariene's new hair cut by me!
521570.jpg

Ariene with her new potty
521571.jpg

Mini montage of her smiles
521572.jpg

mamapanda
dogs, its a big NO NO to my mum. not a single animal in the house expect my brother's fishes. i can say my mum does a good job in keeping the house clean and simply confuse why this happen. yah will monitor and will head straight to Dr Ng if it does not improve.

Hi Mamapanda,
no problem, your maid can sit in the front? Shannon will be in her car seat, and you and Ariene can sit at the back? Maybe we meet 315pm at Clementi MRT station Car park? There's a big car park right at the side of the station?

Rachel,
wow, if it was a mozzie, it was a big and fierce one! I suspect it's mozzie bites, coz Shannon had a few big ones on her feet before too... can't do much coz it's probably not inherent where you live, as they fly around, except maybe you can try getting those electrical devices which chase away mozzies and other insects? Dylan is so cute using his tooth brush!

Rena,
I think Rachel is right, Sumo has not been feeling well these few weeks, so naturally you will feel burned out... give yourself a break...

mashy
oh dear. have you spoken with the supervisor yet? Do you provide them with bib? If so, should request for them to use bib during feeding time.

wendyheng
maybe later i'll forward you this book via email in pdf format. It's called Sleepsense. Do read and get hb to read as well in order to achieve for bb to sleep thru the night. Wendy, I think most of us mummies here have been sleep deprived since when we went into labor and giving birth. It's good to know that you understand that parenting comes with a price. The crying in the beginning might be unbearable as you are subjecting your bb to undergo this training, like us adults, we get uncomfortable should we need to go thru major changes. So give it at least 2 weeks. In the sleepsense book, the longest timing for crying that the expert experience with the parents is 2 hours, shortest is about 15 min. So each bb is different. We mummies here will be giving you our support.

BB being able to learn to sleep on their own is one of the best gifts we can give to them as parents, as it'll enable them to function much better in the day and as when they are growing up. Not just so that we can get a good night rest...that should be secondary and it'll come when we help them to learn to sleep on their own.

Rachel

I noe is worth it even i become panda. As my son can learn how to slp on his own. I intend to start this sunday as i going my god parent hse to train. Need to ask them too ma. hehe mostly they'll said ok for me to train.

hi sleepingdeer
No problem. See u there at 3.15pm tomoro.

cutting hair
No no.. she doesn't stay still. I had to ask my maid to hold her head while she scream and wail. She doesn't like being restrained and held still. That's y u see the haircut is not very neat but its the best I can do. Afterall, its just my 2nd try :p Will have lots more practices in future. Haha.

All mummies

Actually i ever read a website saying is better that we don bother him let him cry till he slp on his own. don let him c us as if he c us, he'll cry even louder. Now i think should i use crying out method or used the controlled crying method?

I need polls!!!!
Crying out method

controlled method

sleepingdeer
if its mozzie and let me caught it, im gonna mashed it till all its juices out and flat!right, i gonna buy the electrical device. thanks for the suggestion =)

thanks mummies, for the advise and concern =)

wendyheng
since you have read the sleepsense, you should have an idea what you should get prepare right?

yes, Dylan can fall asleep on his own. BUT once in a bluemoon, he will still fuss and cry in the night. just throw him his bloster and he will be back to wonderland.

rachel,
Dylan looks so happy in the chair. JH won't sit in it when i m ard..he will cry after some time...

wendyheng,
my boy is also like that and i dunno how to kick his habit. the only thing i make sure is not to give him milk or to latch him on.

Poll on how many table spoon of porridge given to bb at meal time
(1) Kaelyn - 2-3 chinese table spoon
(2) Caleb - half a ikea small bowl
(3) Daren - 7-9 chinese table spoon (make up to 1 bowl)
(4) Megan - 4 chinese table spoon (heaped n thick)
(5) Dylan - 1 whole bowl of chinese rice bowl
(6) Mongs - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl
(7) Celine77 - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl (with side dishes, either extra fish or fruits or eggyolk)
(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thick porridge mixed with meat + vege puree
(9)Damien 1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl
10)Celeste - i whole bowl of chinese rice bowl

ky - i am from TSG IT. you? where are u based? alexandra technopark? if so, i can pass to you. if not, so far i have wendyng, cookie and mongs on the list. any of these mummies staying at punggol?

Yippy! total amt now is $105.45. so another 95 bucks before i close this BP. and i think sleepingdeer will give me hers tmr.

rachel - my boy has the same bites too on his left leg and they took very long time to subside. i ask my PD before and he says it will take a longer time for baby to heal. i didnt ask much..i thot it was mosquito. ur hse has lots of mosquito? ya i agree with heart pain to see those bites.

mamapanda- wow u are a hairdresser lei..such a cute hair style ur gal has. hmm..next time we can pay u to cut for our baby. hee...

Hmm, I don't really know whats the meanining of sleeping through. I only know that since the day she was born, she would sleep 4-5hrs stretch at nights and 3 hours during the day. When she was 6 weeks, she'd sleep 6-7hours. Sometimes, 8-10hrs stretch at night.

However, since last week, she seems to be digressing after her teething episode. She'll only want to sleep at 10pm. Sometimes, when we go into the room at 11-12pm to sleep, she'll wake up (cuz I think we're too noisy). Sometimes, she'll wake up at 3-4am for milk, then goto sleep again till 9-10am. If she didn't wake up at 3-4am, she'll wake up at 6-7am for milk then sleep again till 9-10am.

So, I also don't know whether she's considered sleeping through or not anymore. As long as she sleeps 14 hours a day (she has 3hr nap in the afternoon everyday), I'm happy.

rachel,
is dylan scratching it? if not, then most prob not mozzie bites. i doubt its mozzie, cos too many at once on the leg. i think its some other insect bite. poor thing...

oh, so clever, can 'brush' teeth liao. haha

All mummies

But sleepsense indicate for 8 mths plus baby to slp the latest is 7.30 le. But by e time i fetch him after my work and dinner is 8pm liao.

(7) Celine77 - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl (with side dishes, either extra fish or fruits or eggyolk)
(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thick porridge mixed with meat + vege puree
11 Sumo - 1 chinese rice bowl...

RE: hair
last week i cut the sides of sumo's hair but i am a bad hairdresser.. it is so uneven and both side looks different.. looks like ah toot..haha

Well wendy heng,

I had my fair share of screaming an crying too.. now sumo can sleep on his own almost every time at night.. only nap times it depends on his mood.. sometimes need to carry for a whle then throw him back to the cot and he will sleep.. then others time, i may need to rock a little..

I think i am the luckier ones that bb can sleep on his own.. when he is sick he tends to wake up in the night or when teething.. in tat case we will have to train him back..

wendy
wheneveri wan to let him cry, he will be a good boy that night...

12) JH - about 1 chinese rice bowl

JH can fall asleep without crying. of cos i will be ard to make sure he doesn't try his funny antics during bedtime. he will struggle and then sleep. but somehow he will keep waking up at night still.

yesterday was very bad. refuse the pacifier, refuse to drink milk, refuse to latch...kept trying everything until he finally sleep. he woke up at abt 1.30 and only slept at 2+

Wendyheng,

i did not use the sleep sense as i am to lazy to read .. too many books to read..

i train my boy since 3 months to sleep at 10pm..
some may say that it is too late but bo bian coz daddy comes back at 7 and after dinner only left 1/2 hours to play lor.. but by almost 10 he will start to be sleepy..

SY
yah yah he is happy in it =) think JH wans bao bao from you.

tracy
no scratching from him. eerr.. think he dont even notice the bites exist. =p

SSF
heehee kind of relieve to know some babies got it too. so its nothing serious. just that bcoz he very fair, so the bites are so outstanding...

hmm... my mum place not alot of mozzie. hope it just stop here. but after i counted the number of bites he kena ... i got a shock bcoz there are a total of 21 BITES!! grrrr

rachel,

21 bites is a lot .. i think better check with PD leh
dun play play.. how can mozzi bite so many unless a big swam leh..

Wendyheng,

Have you heard of Attached Parenting? They don't believe in leaving the baby to cry. I've not read Sleepsense but I think it's not Attached Parenting. Just have to know what type of parents you are before you adopt the methodology. I'm more of an Attached Parenting mummy.

SSF, I'm no longer with HP ... left 2 yrs ago. My org is now at HPAM. Don't know what's that org name; they keep changing ... the group handles order processing ... I've to KIV the HT purchase then.

.ky.

yah rena

will monitor and will go to PD once not improve. btw the bites start to subside. so pray hard i will not see new ones. thanks for reminding me.

Rachel,
Wow...those bites look bad to me. I wld be sim tia too. My boy kena bites too. Usually on heads and face...urgh!!! Agree wif Rena, check wif PD to play safe.

RE :
(9)Damien ?1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl
13) Xavier - 1 chinese rice bowl

Re: porridge feeding..
looks like I should change the measurement to Chinese bowl :p

Will go check 3 table spoon is = how much chinese bowl...

Valerie..
Nevermind la.. no need to count

RE : Freezer Cubes
Yup, selling mine. Realised that I wld hardly use it. Bought from Morraine during her BP at $18. I hv opened to see though. Not used at all. Just let me know if u r interested

RE : Feeding
Haiz....my boy went on milk strike again. Din want milk the whole of last night. Usually he will want at ard 5-6 but rejected totally. Even fed at 8.30am still din want. Gotta mix wif cereal and feed. Felt his gums cldnt feel anything leh. sian............

rachel,
i think he is too dependent. thought with the chair will be more independent..i was wrong! when we were having dinner and we put him there, he kept making noise non stop...make those fake crying noises...

yah hope dylan's bites will get better. if not, can get some medicine from PD to put on it.

wendyheng
The key thing is flexibility and working with what's best for you and bb. The book is US timing, but ideally, we put bb to sleep by 8.30pm and usually bb will indicate that. My boy used to sleep at 10 - 11pm, in the past I thought he sleeps later will wake up later, but that's not the case. He sleeps by 9pm and will wake up next day at 5 or 6 am for milk feed and sleep again.

Crying for 2 hours, can you and hb tahan that he cry that long? I know to some of us here, 15 min seems like eternity already. So really, try 1st then get back to us. It might be as bad as you think it is. Good luck

chillies
In this case I buy from you? Then I better go to the BP and tell the mummy I don't want already. Don't worry too much about the milk strike, happens once in a while and for a day right? Just make sure bb is well hydrated.

Re: Hair
I dunno if I should shave off Daren's hair again. Haha, my hb like his hair and she bu de to shave off his hair, says give him some character. I thought shave off his hair he would also look quite cute...sighz...any suggestions from mummies who saw daren recently?

Porridge Quantity
Wow! Seems like alot of babies can eat 1 chinese bowl hor. I thought I might be overfeeding Daren as my MIL think s I give too much.

Mamachan

They said they've their own, so all the while I thought they used their bibs. (I saw them use it for one for the kids when feeding solids). Guess it's only for solids and not milk time. Anyway, gave them 2 bibs to use today.

Ask u gals. How do u keep their bibs clean? All my boy's bibs are super dirty and ugly. Can't seem to wash out all the stains.

RE : MIL
Well, somehow I'm very negative towards my IL. My MIL did express interest in cooking porridge for my boy when he turned 8months. I've started cooking for him last weekend and I only cook on wkends as my aunt looks after him. My MIL now knows that he's on porridge, wants to cook for him. I know she loves him but I only get to do twice a week. And if u see how much he enjoys porridge, its a great joy to me (as he always rejects milk) Its difficult for me to explain to my MIL that I wld prefer to do the cooking. She wld take it personally that I dont trust her cooking or I'm simply against her. Of cos to a certain extend, I wld like to know wat she's cooking as she's really "weird" wif the kinda stuff she wanna give him. My hub suggested that I bring the ingredients over and cook there but com'on its the same right. Ma chiam dont trust her. Haiz....sian...no solution.

Of cos...old complain, my MIL fighting to cook for baby but i get NON during pregnancy.

mashy
no problem so far to remove the stains on the bibs leh. what washing powder you use?

SY
Ohhh... Dyaln is very good at faking cries. me and hb simply ignore him, sometime even tease him but just dont carry him up. but there are times when we ignore him for so long, he will really cry till big tear drops rolling down his cheek... bad mama and papa here.

chillies
thanks for your concern. will monitor =)

(9)Damien ?1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl
13) Xavier - 1 chinese rice bowl
14) Isaac - 3/4 - 1 chines bowl (estimation lah, cos I use Tollyjoy flat base bowl)