(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

co-sleep, wake up at night?
1. sunny, no, no
2. chicken little , no, no (wake up at 5 or 6 am for milk)
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, yes, yes & no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
5. queen, no, no (wake up at 5 or 6 am for milk)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
7. xjysg (ky), yes, yes :<

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, yes, yes &amp; no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes

Oh dear...i notice a pattern here...maybe co-sleeping is causing bb to be restless and hence wake up more? My bb still wakes up 2-3 times evry nite....i dunno if it is for milk but since i am still TBF, it is just convenient to feed him when he wakes....this is lazy parenting but since i am a FTWM, i am too lazy to wake up and pat him etc....

Pneumococal jab
Today Ryan went for his 2nd dose...for both the first and 2nd, no fever...according to the nurses, it is not suppose to cause fever

Milk
Has any pd told any mummies that milk is bad for bb? So funny cos I see Dr Ngiam at SBCC Gleneagles and today i was just asking him abt diaryp products and he said no need to give bb. In fact, he said now Ryan shd be taking 3 solid meals and no need milk anymore...he said milk is like coffee....and that most people grow up to be lactose intolerant and hence why bother introducing something that will cause discomfort...

Re; Botanic gardens
If change venue, pls let me know

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, yes, yes &amp; no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. valerie, no, no

Ak
errr.. this Dr Ngiam indeed has different opinion.
I have never heard or read that baby below age 1 dun need milk already... hmmm...

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
9. valerie, no, no

post at the same time...

Kirsten just recovered from a viral fever and her appetite for milk was so bad, it reached a record low of 210ml in total for one of the days! But the solids were still well-received, thank God.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. valerie, no, no
9. chillies, yes, no (5am or 6am for milk - but will toss and turn ard 3am)

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
9. valerie, no, no
10. chillies, yes, no (5am or 6am for milk - but will toss and turn ard 3am)

huh...seems like not alot co-sleep. Wanted to let him sleep in cot but so used to it now. I can just turn over and pat him as he will toss and turn ard 3am. But he's a terror, will turn all ard the bed and no space for the 2 of us.

RE : Sleeping through
Just wondering, those babies that sleep through, wat time is the last feed? Do you add in cereal? Wat time will baby wake up for feed the next day? My last feed is usually 9.30pm ard 140ml wif some cereal. I'm so afraid he's hungry. HE takes porridge between 5-6pm.

WendyNg,

seems like elijah also have swollen gums above.. hopefully his 4 teeth will come out together so once and for all ..

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
9. Rena , No , No ( only when he is sick)

Chillies,

I give elijah last semi solid at 6.pm then milk at 9 plus but usually he only drink about 90 ml then zzz .. his next feed will be 6plus am or 7 plus depending on his last feed..

SH,
Thanks for helping me to remove the name from the toothpaste BP. Yes, I wanted to remove mine.

Tracy,
Bought it at $60+ if I am not wrong. HB bought it during last yr TAKA toy fair. So kiasu, that time Jamie still not born yet.

Flo,
YES!! U are right.. Jamie got more hair already. But still can see her scalp though.. hoping I can doll her up when she is 1yr old. Hehe..

RE: Walker
Some mummies MSN me for more pics of the walker.
Bought at $59.95. Usual is $139.95. At Taka Toy Fair last yr. Not sure if they still got sell or not. Got Pros and Cons lar. Pros is worth buying cos can use in 3 stages. Cons is for walker, is roll quite easily so baby must be quite firm in standing already then can use lor. Or else must have adult's supervision.

Dismantle to loose pieces
520042.jpg

Stage 3 - Tricycle with pull-along bucket
520043.jpg

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
12. chillies, yes, no (5am or 6am for milk - but will toss and turn ard 3am)
13. SH, yes, no

RE: Separation Anxiety
After reading that, let me think of Jamie. She has been quite cranky this few days. Suddenly will cry when sleeping. Once I say "Yes baby, mummy is here." she will stop. But her eyes is still closed when she cry. Not sure if it is separation anxiety or bcos of the fall, she has got shocked till now. As she tends to sleep thru out the night without crying. But after sat incident, she is different.

sysac
Oh! That's really wonderful news! Praise God! Now you can breathe easy yah?

chillies
my last semi solid feed to Daren is 1 bowl of porridge at about 7pm and last milk feed of 180ml at 9.30 - 10pm. And he's off to dreamland.

AK
When you mention that this Dr Ngiam says no need milk, referring to FM milk or the normal diary milk?? BBs when reach one year of age, yes, should be eating 3 semi-solid meals a day but milk would be as a supplement at least 3 times a day. Perhaps he is referring to the diary milk that we adults drink?

BB associates sling = going out
I've been noticing this for awhile, each time when we want to go out and I would sling my MIM sling across me, Daren upon seeing me holding the sling, crawls from one end of the room, right to the main door with excitement and very kan cheong spider mode! I tot it was just me so experimented with hb and MIL and my mum holding the sling, he just crawls towards whoever has the sling! Amazing.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
14. MamaChan, no, no (5/6am for milk but sleeps right after that again)

May,
I got the same walker but paid $79.95 from last month's Taka Baby Fair... so unfair...

Sunny,
Keenan shares the same room as hb &amp; I but sleeps in his own cot. He normally will fall asleep on his own without anyone in the room, if he's not teething/ ill.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
15. denmy, no, no (unless he's ill/teething; sometimes will stir at 4am but fall back asleep again.)

re: Mini-Gathering at tabbiesus'@ Holland Village, 23rd September 2.30pm
May I know who is doing the photos? Or do we bring our own cameras?

cookie,
re: fussy teething bb
think Keenan's teething pain stopped liao. He can drink his milk, eat his meals and fall asleep on his own tonight!! Amazing... hope I don't jinx myself for having said these... *touch wood*

Mamachan,
re: sling
Keenan associate that as his comfort object when we are out. He cannot fall asleep in his pram but must sling him 1st, then transfer. Once he was very tired and my fren carried and pat him sitting down in a restaurant. We did a test and put the sling over his face and he knocked out in 5 secs.

Wendy
RE: Walker
I thot most walker are almost the same? I've not tried tommy or combi one before. The one I have is a hand me down Fisher Price. I find if bb still not very stable, will roll off. What I did was let Mel use it in the playyard on the bumpermat first. Only let her push on the floor when she's much more stable.

cookie
wow.... your gal has so many teeth liao!!! does she bite you? my gal is trying to bite my shoulder 2 days ago with her boh geh gum. so funny. keke....

chillies
my gal's last feed is about 9pm, no cereal added. directly latch on.

Re:co-sleep, wake up at night?
seems like it's a mixture..
one of the reasons that i don't wanna share the bed with my gal 'cos don't want her to 'smell' the milk and wake up. then i sure have no energy to work on the next day. :p

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
15. denmy, no, no (unless he's ill/teething; sometimes will stir at 4am but fall back asleep again.)
16. Babylon, yes, yes (wake up 1 2 am for milk)

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
17. Clare, no, no (once in a while may wake up crying for abt 10-15mins; nightmare i think?)

MamaChan,
Re Sling
Ashley too! when she was younger, she would be very happy waving her arms n legs violently whenever I hold the sling... nowadays if I sling n delay carrying her she would start protesting... haha

sunny
my gal dun bite me on shoulder... keke
but when she stand in her cot.. she bite the railing... faintzzz..

Demny
Keenan good boy!!
kaelyn has no problem in the day too.. even falling asleep on her own...
I dun udnerstand why she wake up in the nite.
Last nite improvement.. wake up once.. hope none from now onwards..
Me too.. not to speak too soon...
Let pray that all babies guaiguai sleep thru the nite once again!!

Oh I change my info.. I dun share bed with baby... so thats not co-sleep rite? paisey..

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, no, no &amp; yes (sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
17. Clare, no, no (once in a while may wake up crying for abt 10-15mins; nightmare i think?)

Re:Last feed
My last feed around 9pm or 12 midnite.
If I only feed 9pm then Kaelyn only has 3 milk feed before 600ml... so I will try to dream feed her at 12midnite still.
Am thinking of dropping the dream feed... cos milk at bed time might cuase tooth decay rite?

Re: cleaning baby teeth...
Has all mummies started brushing baby's teeth already?? for babies who has teeth...
Kaelyn has 5 teeth and I haven't really started yet... want to start but dunno how to go abt..
She will usually doze off during her last feed at 9pm..if I wake her up brushing her teeth, she might be cranky, or dun wan to sleep after that...
ANy mummy has good advice..

oh, so dun share bed means not co-sleep?

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, no,no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
18. Tracy, no, no (sleeps in her own cot but in my room about 1m away from us)

Chillies,
my last feed for meg is around 10.30pm-11pm. she's asleep from 8.30pm but will stir around this time so i'll wake her up for milk. then she goes back to sleep till 7am when its time to leave the house. will feed her milk in car.

re:cleaning baby teeth
currently my MIL uses face towel to clean her tongue and massage her gums that has her 2 tiny bottom teeth. she luvs it. i've bot a soft finger brush for her to try.

re:Tomy Walker
heehee, couldnt resist, went Kiddy Palace and bought one. $79.95. hubby liked it too. fixed it up last night. so cute. meg seems to have 'heard' it and got up at 10pm (argh!!) and daddy started playing with her, teaching her how to use it.

I went to bed at 10.30pm n 12mn i woke up to find both of them not asleep yet! hb was dead tired but couldnt make her sleep. she wanted to play with him. so i took over to rock her and within 15mins she went to zzzz...aiyo..hb really cannot make her sleep.

Re: Last feed &amp; Brush teeth
I recently dropped my dream feed at 11pm.. so far so good (fingers crossed!)... so Ashley's last feed would be around 8.30pm+/-, after which we will change her top n brush her gums (she still boh gey). By then ususally she will be cranky n wants to sleep but the min daddy show her the finger "toothbrush" she will be VERY happy, think she likes the first teeth toothpaste. So while daddy "brush" her I will quickly change her nappy n bottom. She will then "ask" for her choot-choot, toss n turn on our bed n slowly drift off to dreamland.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, no,no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
18. Tracy, no, no (sleeps in her own cot but in my room about 1m away from us
19. God's child - no,no ( in our room,but in her baby cot )

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
20. Celine77 - yes, yes (many times, sometimes for pacifier, sometimes to latch)

goodness, seems like edgar is the worst sleeper here! *faintz*!

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
20. SY - no, yes

Today's Mind your body has a query on baby sleeping. I faced the same problem. JH is now waking up at 2 hourly intervals. I dun give him milk anymore but he still wakes up. what shd i do? will shifting him back to his own room and cot help?

cookie
regarding brushing of teeth, my fren who is doing dental for kids says that brushing is only required when their molars appear. meanwhile, it is sufficient just to use handkerchief to clean. and she say feed them water after milk before they sleep.

sysac,
glad to hear that your mum's report is good.
hope for more good news to come...

Can u confirm if you are coming this Sat? Thanks

RE: camera

I have a digital camera, and i'm getting my hb use his video cam... if u want extra pics u can bring yours

RE: stampad
We pink ones.. but no blues ones yet... can anyone get a blue one?

Mini-Gathering at tabbiesus'@ Holland Village, 23rd September 2.30pm (max. 15 families)
1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Clare + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) Esther + hb + bb
7) ling ling + hb + bb
8) SH + hb + bb
9) rena + hb +bb
10) Denmy + hb + bb
11) sandraye + hb + bb
12) sleepingdeer + hb + bb
13) wenyl + hb + bb
14) KY +hb + bb
15) Tabbiesus + bb + hb (hosts)
16) Wendy Ng (slinky)+ hb + bb

Bringing Bumper Playmat:
1) Tabbiesus - 2 playmats
2) Rachel - 1 playmat
3) MamaChan - 1 playmat
4) SH - 1 playmat

Food -
**Bring portion for 20 pple instead of 30 as if each one brings something, sure have lots of left-overs!
1) Famous Shunfu muffins/ brownies (Rena ordering, sharing with ling ling)
2) Tiong Bahru bao and lor mai kai (MamaChan getting, sharing with Rachel)
3) The Sandwich Shop sandwich platter (Denmy getting, sharing with Ky)
4) Drinks (Tabbs)
5) Cupcakes (esther)
6) Spring rolls (sleepingdeer, sharing with wenyl)
7) Ice Cream (Sept03Bride)
8) Plates/Utensils/Paper Napkins (Tabbs)
9) Eclairs (Clare)

Stationary-
1) Cardboard - Ky (bringing color papers)
2) Baby Safe Stamppad - Clare (Pink)
3) Markers - Wendy(slinky)
4) Acid Free Pattern paper/art supplies - Clare

Activities planned
1. Jan Mommies "Happy baby" class with songs/dance led by mamachan, baby massage by rachel
2. baby foot printing session: blue stamppad for boys, pink stamppad for girls..
3. baby group photo/ photo session with parents
4. potluck buffet for parents

RE: food for baby
I will be cooking something for baby... maybe something simple cos maid will be busy preparing stuff for party, if u want me to make extra.. let me know? Cos i dunno if any babies have special diet preference...

Otherwise.. if u can all bring one fruit/ vege... and i get my maid to cook for babies? I have brown rice/ barley and oatmeal cereal at my place... so can just add in puree if you want.

THose on FM: i got similac and friso at my place if you need.

rena

RE: baby allergy
Today in mind your body, there's a page advertising abbott conference.. got a talk on children allergies by someone from US.. u were saying that sumo may have allergy right? u might be interested?

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
19. Flo, no, no (wake up around 5/6am for feed after that will go back to sleep)

Mel usually is able to sleep thru the nite. A few weeks ago (for a few days), she would wake up around 1-3am and cry in her sleep. Just want to be carried upright. It was ok after that cos her lower incisor seems to be cutting thru her gum. Last nite, she wake up at 3am+, seems to be a hungry cry and I latched her on. After drinking for a while she started turning and tossing on my bed (was too tired, so latched her on by lying beside her on my bed). When I tried to put her back into her cot, she screamed and cried loudly. Daddy tried to carry her but she refused. Just want mommy to cuddle her. Finally hb gave her some milk in a bottle then she fell asleep after drinking for a short while. This morning, tried latching her on around 6.30am (which I normally do in her sleep even if she doesn't wake up). Cried and refused to latch on. Later give her milk in a bottle she drank. I think she's not really hungry cos she kept biting the teat. Not sure if she doesn't want to latch on cos she started to bite me again since 2 days ago when I latched her on and I was quite stern and scolded her (she actually cried when I scolded her). Any mommy experiencing bb rejecting latching on now? I think some more teeth could be coming out cos she's drooling big time again

RE : Last Feed
Thanks mummies. I'm so worried that my boy will be hungry wif such long interval. I guess he sleeps the latest. nowadays, worse. ard 10pm. cos difficult to dream feed him sometimes. If he's in deep sleep, he wldnt want to suck or if too tired, he'll simply turn to side in such that its impossible to feed him.

But dunno why he tends to stir ard 3am. It has been so for a long time. Initially thot hungry but when feed, either din drink or only a little. Sometimes the diaper wet. Now wif porridge, diaper wets even faster.

RE : Brushing
i feed my bb water after every meal to rinse the mouth.

flo,
i actually 'beat' my boy yesterday morning when he bit me and he stopped biting me already. he was quite shocked when i did that but he din stop latching. in fact, every morning when he sees me, he will auto wan to latch....he has this habit of pulling my clothes when he wants to latch.

sometimes JH will also refuse to latch for no reason. will cry when i latch him but recently it's the opp way cos i think he wants more comfort cos of teething.

Repost cos I think a no of us post at the same time

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
20. Celine77 - yes, yes (many times, sometimes for pacifier, sometimes to latch)
21. SY - no, yes
22. Flo, no, no (cot in our room, wake up around 5/6am for feed after that will go back to sleep)

when is your last diaper change usually? do u change diaper at night when bb wakes up? JH never had any problems with wet diaper but just wondering whether he needs a diaper change at night when he wakes up.

when he wakes up at night, he will go back to sleep within 5 min. the problem is that it is very disruptive for me and hb cos we still need to wake up.....
at my wit's end. think i may just bring him to see PD on sleep problems....that's what Mind Your Body said...

flo,
i was just going to tidy up the list too cos many of us post at the same time.

Celine,
think edgar and JH can fight to be the worse sleeper....he wakes up sooo many times but doesn't really need anything. usually give pacifier or water or i pretend to sleep in front of him and he will go back to sleep.

i think i will have problem putting him in cot. he rolls ard a lot on the mattress and the cot wd be too small...

Mummies, I can't go for the crab dinner already. LAst night got a "Red bomb" waiting in my letterbox...my mum's younger cousin is getting married on that day. Sigh...enjoy the crabs.

Crab Dinner
Date : OCT 7 ( place at Celine77 edgar mummy)
Time : Dinner time of course

1) rena + hb + bb (confirm)
2) angie + hb + bbs (confirm)
3) rachel + hb + bb (confirm)
4) celine + hb + bb
5) sept03bride+hb+bb
6) god's child + hb + bb (50% confirm)
7) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)
8) SY + hb +bb (can only confirm when nearer)
9) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

Cookie,
at least kaelyn only bite the railing. When in the stroller, JW will lean forward bite the front railing of the stroller. When on his walker, lean to the side &amp; bite the walker again. There is hardly anything he won't bite when we place him in it. &amp; he bites so hard some more...does any mummy knows if it will affect his teeth? Don't want all his teeth to end up crooked or damaged

Clare,
After you drop Ashley's dream feed, does she wakes up earlier for milk? I am worried if i drop the feed, he will start screaming for milk in the middle of the nite...then i sure zombified

Hi Sunny/Mamachan/SY - Tks! It's a huge burden off the shoulders
One thing at a time but the news are all good

Mamachan - Hw's yr mum now?

Last feed - Cephas has his last feed (8oz) at abt 10pm. He used to fall alseep after that. Nowadays, he will play for another hr b4 falling alseep. He will wake up at abt 6.45am-7am.

Hello/Goodbye - He started waving his hand on Sun &amp; what he said sounded like "Hi". Everytime we say "Hi", he will raise his hand to wave us over. He will hit our shoulders or hands when we say "Bye".

He has also started saying "mama" &amp; "neh neh" more frequently the past 2 weeks. Previously, was occasionally.

SY,
WAHAHA! ya i think they can challenge each other. i wake up so many times that i can't be bothered to keep track. on nites where he wakes up only 2-3 times, it's considered very good liao! dat's how bad it is... i asked the PD before but he said some bbies are juz more SENSITIVE.. very diplomatic answer!!! :p edgar oso rolls around. he's ok to sleep in his cot but when he stirs in the middle of the nite i will pick him up and put him on my bed. too lazy to wake up and carry him back to his cot :p

SY,
Last time JW also kept waking up at nite. After hb went overseas and only me with him, he stopped. I suspect it's becoz unlike his daddy, mummy will ignore him when he wakes up. Initially when he cries, I will pick him up (only coz it's a new environment for him at my mum's place plus he was sick). But very quickly i will put him back on the bed. He will continue to fuss.

I start off by letting him lie on my tummy to sleep...(he likes dat...though i don't know why coz he always end up in such a awkward position). Slowly, i change to just lying down beside him. Nowadays, when he cries, I will just talk him him, pat a bit, but i refuses to pick him up. ...then close my eyes (either pretend to zzz or i am so tired i really fall asleep liao) ;p. He will usually then just turn to his side &amp; suck his thumb to try &amp; zzz again.

SH
JH is like that also. he bites all the high chair tables, even those outside ones...and in the stroller he will bite stroller too.

yesterday he not contented with me feeding him apple. he wanted to bite the apple himself...

Tabbie,
I will be there this sat. Can you PM me your address?

Btw, I haven't got any mummies to share the food. Do you want me to do the drinks instead coz I think now my hb won't be travelling so logistics should be fine with me. Let me know okie?

celine,
JH also like that. 2-3 times a night is good night too! i also dun bother to keep track when it reaches a certain number of times...but i dun bring him to our bed cos hb moves a lot when sleeping.

so PD's ans is just that? sigh...no help at all.

SH
when daddy is ard, daddy is quite fierce so sometimes he cries more. with me, he will just roll about a bit and hwen he see that i m sleeping he will go back to sleeping. but at times this won't work and i got to try other tricks..

Sysac,
really good news about your mum! Really happy for you, there's nothing like good health and happiness!

Re: Stickiness to parents
Well, I read all the sticky babies to mommies with alot of envy.. Shannon seems to be a fly-alone baby. Last evening HB and me went for first aid class (very informative!) and left Shannon alone with MIL for the first time since she was born. My Hb was predicting that Shannon would miss us and cry for us and not go to sleep... well, turns out she was a model baby and just switched off like a light after her cereal and milk at 8pm... so much for missing parents... I told Hb that we can send her off to boarding school liao, since she doesn't really bother about who is with her.. haha.