(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi... latest list...

Since durian lover mentioned she cannot make it, i put KY's name on the list.. i was thinking having 16 babies... nicer..so can pair the babies up for activities.. eg. can face 2 together and play patty cake...

Mini-Gathering at tabbiesus'@ Holland Village, 23rd September 2.30pm (max. 15 families)
1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) linda + hb + bb
13) sleepingdeer + hb + bb
14) wenyl + hb + bb
15) KY +hb + bb

Waiting list
1)

Food -
do you all want to share the costs of food? if pot luck, must bring portion for 20 pple instead of 30 as if each one brings something, sure have lots of left-overs!
1) Famous Shunfu muffins/ brownies (Rena ordering)
2) Tiong Bahru bao and lor mai kai (MamaChan getting)
3) The Sandwich Shop sandwich platter (Denmy)
4) Drinks (Tracy) I can bring tea bags (Camomile/mint/apple).
5) Cupcakes ( esther )
6) Spring rolls (sleepingdeer)
7) Ice Cream (Sept03Bride)
8) Plates/Utensils/Paper Napkins -Tabbs

Activities planned
1. Jan Mommies "Happy baby" class with songs/dance led by mamachan, baby massage by tracy/rachel
2. baby foot printing session: blue stamppad for boys, pink stamppad for girls.. Can someone provide nice cardboard/ paper supplies/ markers for decoration
3. baby group photo/ photo session with parents
4. potluck buffet for parents

May

dun be too angry.. u must think of a way to be firm cos if u keep it inside like this ... the only 2 ppl who suffer r u and jamie (cos alway overstimulated)... think of it as not being selfish for urself but for baby's sake cos she dunno how to defend herself now... so just lock the door so they can't come in... must find a way to show them.. enough is enough...

dun get too stressed... okie?

Sophia,

Kids do fall sick and mummies need to have good rest to take care of them too. Though I bf aden but he already have 3 episodes of flu/ cough virus which he takes 2 weeks to recover. So it is not just that you stop bf , it is our environment with virus going on.

May,

IL's issue is quite tough. I suppose to go Taiwan for a leisure trip with husband but because fil is alone now we decided to bring him plus sil tag along with kid. So it became a family affair. Whole trip i have to plan where to go where to eat. ask for permission. So it is like a tour guide trip then a leisure one. But think they are not our maternal parents so it will be difficult. Even my mil the best woman who do lots of things for me , we have different views on certains things. But since she passed away last year, i actually miss her so much and every now and then everything i do will remind me of her. Take it easy and think how many years they still have with us. Just closed 2 eyes and stop thinking for a while. Because we oso have to think for husband's position as their son , dun want him to be a sandwich. Of course, i believe husband will make a stand for us when it is really overboard.

May,
ya, dun make your blood boil over ILs..the sound of u getting breathless is no good! how about bringing Jamie over during dinner time only? then Jamie can ve her nap at home first. I do that every wknd before going to my mum's place.

Cookie,
Past few days megan also merlion after taking her medicine. we fed her the med 2hrs after milk yet still merlion. i think cos she cry so hard while taking the med, so cough n choke n out it comes.

So i've also resorted to bringing her to Eu Yan Seng (Hougang) to see chinese physician ystrday. She was given 14sachets of powder med to be added to her milk feed 3x a day. This is sooo much easier to feed. Although the smell is rather strong, surprisingly she still finished her milk. This med is to help dissolve her phlegm and 'balance' her body.

I know its real scary to see baby merlion. I was also very stunned n froze for a moment..didnt know wat to do till hb call me to start moving.

Sophia,
thanx for sharing abt going Eu Yan Seng. was asking my mum n didnt know all along she also consulted at Hougang.

physician assure us that chinese med is milder than western ones so not to worry.

my hb was so funny. when we were leaving, the physician said megan not scared of people (ren) hor? my hb answered, no she scared of heat (re). i was laughing at him n telling him doc asking abt ren lah, not leng(cold)! alamak!

hi mommies

more photos of the botanics gathering on friday

510912.jpg

5 little babies sitting on a mat...all wondering:
"Duh... why are u mommies jumping around like monkeys? So strange.. "

510913.jpg

Edgar: hi Kirsten.. u want to be my friend?
Ethan: Oi! That's my girl! Kirsten.. I'm coming!
Kirsten: aiyor... let's all be friends la! :D

Re : Baby merlion

Tracy/Rena/Cookie - its reali heart breaking to see our baby merlion...during the 10days that Celeste was sick wf the same symptons - runny nose/cough/phelgm/congested airway, she merlioned many times... though i hate,i reali hate to see that happen...but its good for the nasty phlegm to come out in a way... imagine us adults always coughing out the phelgm but poor babies dun know how to... so i think when they can throw it up,the phelgm reduces by day... And trust me,i think Celeste is one of the worst merlions in this thread! Hang on there, your babies are on the way to recovery...

Tracy-u stopped western med? cos my PD say canot mix western n chinese med...

Re : Botanic gathering
Wow, the pics look like your had lotsa fun! so envious... next time shld hav a BIG picnic outdoors!

Re :Mini-Gathering at tabbiesus'@ Holland Village, 23rd September 2.30pm (max. 15 families )

errr... wat can i bring? the list of food seems alot aldy! can we finish them?

RE: Be Firm
I think I must be firm next time already. Either go back during dinner time or lock the door when Jamie sleep. But most likely they will knock the door loudly when they hear jamie cry.

When they come my place also like that. Early morning, never knock door, come into my room, peep at Jamie and say wow so late still dun wake up..Come on it is only 9am. Complain to my mum abt it as they just come into my room with hubby and me still sleeping on bed ! My mum also ask me to locked the door and they will get the hint.

I will definitely learn to be FIRM to them so that Jamie and me won't suffer.. Thanks for listening.. I am feeling much better now.

May - i guess wf inlaws.we have to be more tactful... since they reali are driving u nuts,its best tat u shorten time at their hse. Dun put your own health at risk... Can ur HB not talk to them? do close one eye or BOTH if necessary...not worth ur health to b so mad at them... take care!

Sleepingdeer

RE: Kindermusik Trial

Clare mentioned previously that she wanted to organise but she prob have not been keeping up with the thread cos her PC crashed

Anyway I've added those mommies who are keen

1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo

I think Wendy and Queen not interested if the trial is not free, am I right Queen/Wendy?

Mini-Gathering at Tabbiesus place on 23rd Sept.
Food:
Tracy - maybe packet drinks? Easier to clear and store in the fridge?
god's-child - I think we have lots of food already, maybe see if you wanna chip in with any of the mummies for the cost of the food?

Rest of the mummies who are coming and dunno what to bring, maybe you can ask the rest of the mummies who are bringing something if you could share in with them the cost of the food as well?

Western Medicine and Chinese Medicine
Flo and I were chatting over MSN last night about these two. Personally, I guess it really is up to each individual parents bah. Like what Flo mentioned over MSN, Western Medicine is to help and arrest the symptoms and control that while Chinese Medicine at the end of it, tackles the root of the problem. LIke how Tracy puts it, "balances" the child's body and make the body's constitution stronger, though Chinese Medicine might seem to take longer in the beginning.

I still give paracetomol to Daren for his fever, after checking with the Chinese Physician, but must wait at least 2 hours after the chinese medicine is administered.

Tracy
YOur hb really very funny. Hahaha, but I guess he must be thinking in correlation to Megan's health bah like hot or cold. Hehehe. Wah, mix the medicine with milk ah? I was told to mix with something sweet, so I use apple or pear puree with it lor (intially the cashier, not the physician suggested honey and I gave her that shock look that says how can???!!!). Daren really happy to have fruit puree 3x a day! Though the 1st few tastes, gave me that weird look.

Last Night
It's the ultimum for me, Daren was so cranky and neither sarong nor patting him to sleep in the cot helps, end up I have to carry him to sleep with Daren adjusting himself to the most comfy position to sleep which is upright against my chest (I'm thankful that he knows what is best for himself). I was so afraid that I'll drop him in my sleepy and tired state, so quickly sling him up with the sling and sat on the lounging chair we got recently. I called my mum in the wee hours of the morning for help and she came by at 5am to relieve me of Daren and helped to sponge him down. My hb was totally tired out by his Fri and Sat shooting competition and is of no help to me though he tried by waking up to carry Daren. But Daren's crankiness got on his tired nerves and hb showed frustration on the mattress, so i told him forget it and go back to sleep.

Is a small small world

Sleepingdeer it's really so qiao our hb are first year uni classmate. I find your hb quite familiar, did he stay in Hall 5 when he was studying in NTU? Actually I'm very bad in remembering ppl's face and name unlike my hb. Sometimes when walking on the street he can tell me, oh that's my primary schoolmate which he has not met in over 20 years!!!

Mashy
You also studied in NTU around that time?

Guess what, I just found out yesterday that Queen and BIL are colleagues.

And Wendy and Rena are primary school buddy. Is really a small small world, no wonder they say u need to know only 7 people to know the entire world

MamaChan

Hope Daren is getting better now. Must be really tough on you last nite. Men are like cranky little bbs when they dun get enough rest and are hungry, so be upset with hb.

Hope that the rest of the bbs will get well soon too. Mommies, hang on there

Denmy

Ask you a silly question. When you give Keenan yoghurt, do you serve it cold? Can bb take cold food now?

Flo

Yah, sleepingdeer's hb was my senior. We stayed in the same hall.

May
sigh. Your ILs are so terrible! U gave them your house keys ah? Yah, like what your mum said, lock your door!

Hi Flo,

I have just checked with pd , Dr Y Y Yip at Singapore baby n child yday. Can serve baby yogurt from 9 months.

Double confirm about the salt in baby food. He says it is ok because the salt used in baby food is minimal and if we taste and it is ok then no problem.

god's child,
thx for the reassurance. meg looks to be on the road to recovery..keeping my fingers crossed! yup, i stopped western med the day i planned to bring her to see chinese physician.

Sophia,
hey..hang in there. this carrying upright thing seems to be the case when they are teething. same case for meg. for me, meg's waking up lasted 3nights (thankfully). now that one tooth has sprouted out and the other cut through, she's sleeping much beta now. i also changed her pacifier to latex one, which i believe daren is already using. she seems more comfy with the latex one during this period.

rachel also suffered about 3days during dylan's teething so...just something for you to look forward to..maybe all will be back to normal after 3 days. it is indeed extremely difficult esp for working mums having to entertain to baby at night. do take care!

God's child,

so you wnat to share with me the brownies and muffins?

RE: sick

sumo is till having cough with phelgm.. but fever has subside.. however every night i still worry that he will merlion..

RE: Kindersmusik
Anyway I've added those mommies who are keen

1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo
6) rena

RE: old navy..

ok all want to buy? lets organise

hi Flo,
my HB was in Hall 7, that's how he got to know Cindy's HB
Which year did you graduate? Oh, HB was a Rugby player during his school days (though you can't tell from his size now
), maybe that's why you find him familiar?

RE: Old Navy spree
gosh, this is soo tempting! I realise that Shannon has tons of 'baby clothes', like rompers and dresses, but little kiddy clothes, like two pieces e.g. blouses and pants or skirts... perhaps that's why people always say she is 6months old

RE: kindermusik trial
Okies, anyone else interested?
1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo

May,
so terrible, how can your ILs just enter your room like that? Yes, please lock your door, and hopefully they will get the idea that normal people need privacy too!

Sophia,
oh dear, must have been a very hard night for you and Daren! I hope he is better today? you must be soo zonked out. I hope your hubby took over today so that you can take a nap?

sleepingdeer - can u tell me more abt the kindermusik trial and the date? thks.

Wow the gathering at botanic garden seems so fun! the babies look so cute sitting at the mat..sharing their toys

mamachan - poor thing..u must be completely drained out. will pray for Daren a quick recovery and see him in his jovial mood soon. Caleb also got back his flu and cough..sigh..but not as bad as the last time. seems that lots of babies are sick..not only babies from this thread. too bad Daren couldn't make it to the church shoot today. Pearlyn's gals were down with flu too. so we have no worries abt the babies spreading to one another. haha..

i almost break down just now! sumo keeps crying and refuse to sleep .. i know that he is uncomfortable.. but i can't do anything to help him. his fever has subside..but his running nose became worse and his phelgm too..
have been nuberlising him for 5 days already..

i am really tired... that was why i broke down and cry.. then hb comforted me and took over .. we decided to let him nuberlise 1 hour early so that he will feel beter.. true enough he fell asleep..
really hope that he recover

Sophia,
Oh no... Hope Darren is getting better? Can you take leave and rest?

Rena,
Hmmm... do you think Sumo may have a sinus problem? Cos he's been having running now and phlegm for a long time right?

511513.jpg

hi mummies..

renee is 8 mths old!hooray! renee says hi to all the mummies and look forward to seeing all of you on 23rd!

Clap Hands

Renee can clap her hands when u ask her to..so we were so excited and kept asking her to do it..till she let out a heavy sigh!!

Rena,

Dun stress yourself out ok? Sumo will surely recover very soon! You need to rest enuf so tat you can take care of him too! Catch all the time you have to rest ya! Take care!

mashy and sleepingdeer,
nope.. they stay at my house overnight sometimes. So at first I tot it is very bad for me to shut my room door. So I left it open. But didn't know they dun even have the courtesy to knock the door before coming in. First time, MIL walk in without knocking, second time she bring along FIL. Walau.. me so paiseh..faster grab a pillow to cover as I didn't wear bra to sleep one.. I will definitely lock it next time.

Hi Chicken Little

Thanks for the info on the bb bites. You are seeing Dr YY Yip too? My gal used to go to him but I decided to change PD subsquently as the waiting time is just too long.

Hi flo,

Ya i am seeing Dr Yip. I always ask for the 8 or 8.30 slot on sat, to beat the parking lot and q so dun have to wait too long. Quite fast in fact

Sleepingdeer
I graduated in 1993. Maybe I've seen your hb around the Sport Recreation Centre cos I used to hang around there. Actually my hb was telling me yesterday that your hb has gained weight....said he used to be very macho and fit cos he was a rugby player...shih better don't tell him

Rena

Dun stress yourself too much. Can understand how you feel, is very tiring to take care of sumo when yourself is not feeling well. Perhaps you would like to try consulting another PD or a chinese physician since sumo still haven't recover after so many days?

Chicken Little
Oic. Partly why we decided to change PD is also we find his consultation is always in a rush (maybe cos he's conscious of the queue outside). Anyway am happy with this new PD we are seeing currently.

Ya u are right Flo,

Some will feel he is like that. My gal oso seeing him so we used to him. Will list down all my questions before going in

Anyway he is someone who is well known in medical for neo-paed for newborn. So once he has seen the newborn, ok then no need to continue with him liao lah. When my gal was in ICU, I witness how he visited during ph and sunday 5 times at the ICU to check all babies so I am quite pleased with him.

Which pd u seeing now ?

Hi Chicken Little

Yes Dr YY Yip indeed is a very dedicated doc and is the head of the NICU @ Gleneagles. He'll be @ the NICU by around 5+/6 every morning. He took very good care of my gal when she was in NICU. As you said, his specialisation is in premature newborn bb & emergency case, so both me and hb prefer to have a PD that cater to our needs as first time parents. Am seeing Dr Elizabeth Khor now. Am quite happy with her. She provides advice on bb's growth to diet and I can always email her when I have any query/doubt.

rena
hope sumo is ok.
my friend's bb was having cough and running nose for about 3 mths. and throughout those 3 mths, he visited lots of doc, and finally the PD advised her to bring bb for allergic test. then, the bb was found to have allecgic to milk. mayb you wanna consult your PD again?

esther
renee is so pretty. the eyes are so big!

Rena,
do take care of yourself, as sumo needs u to look after him..have you checked if his gums are swollen? any tooth coming? realised that now meg's teeth finally popped out, she is back to normal and runny nose and cough gradually subsiding.

its teething period for our babies already. suspect its this evil teething business that's causing havoc with our babies..grrr

Chicken Little

Her clinic is at Paragon. Tel 6736 6331 and her consultation is strictly by appointment only (unless emergency)

sleepingdeer,
same here! got lots of dresses, rompers for megan but realised she got very little t-shirts to wear at home! jus started dressing her in t-shirts only (bottom only diapers) and then i realised ths shortage of t-shirts.

Re:pull-up pants
any mummies using pull-up pants already? sigh..so tempted to use them cos this MP saleslady showed me a sample. wow...so easy to put on esp when my baby is a struggler, and the waist is so high, can stop the outflow of poo. (this morning poo came out again!)

of cos its very much more ex. It's $7.90 for 17pcs, but each piece can last 8hrs..so lets say i use EQ, can last most 5hrs, will it work out to the same? haha, jus trying hard to convince myself to buy. anyway, maybe i can buy some to use for going out? (*chuckles* another reason..)

Thanks Flo,

Good location, good excuse for me to go shopping after consultation.

Tracy,

Pull up will be convenient for outdoor sometimes difficult to find a changing table. But economical not really lor. I feel usually you will change 4 hours later you will change after 8 hours unless it is overnight sleep.

re: Organic Baby Jar Food
Saw at NTUC ystrday a new brand from USA. Its Simply Wellness, $1.70 per jar. checked the ingredients behind, got 0g fats, 0g sodium so sounds better?

re : mini-gathering on 23 Sept
I'll share if whoever who needs cost to be shared. Was thinking of getting apples for the little ones and big ones ... if food is not too much.

Just me n bb coming.

Re: bathing
how do u bath and wash your baby's hair? still the newborn way? I'm thinking of sitting him in the bathtub and soaping him and splashing it down like for an older baby already.

.ky.

sleepingdeer,

please let me know abt the details..meantime, i place my name first. thks!

1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo
6. SSF

sleepingdeer,

would like to let aden try out too and have a chance to meet other babies.

1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo
6. SSF
7. Chicken little

Re. Old Navy spree
When you send me your orders, pls also give me a backup colour / size for the items just in case they OOS.

Anyone going Isetan baby fair today?

Ky,

Bathing

I've been letting renee sit on her bath tub filled with water..then after shampooing, will use the shower head to just splash rinse off the shampoo. Will also rinse off her baby soap too.

Flo,

Thanks! But better don't be model la...

ky,
i've been bathing my baby with her sitting upright. she will NOT allow us to bathe her the newborn way anymore. so we jus pour water on her head and quickly use hand to swipe away the water from the face. then shampoo and soap body then pour water to rinse.

1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo
6. SSF
7. Chicken little
8. wenyl (TBC)