(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

all,

after thinking i still feel upset over vivian.. i tot of making her feel better by adding my name in so at least she dun feel that we dun support her.. but who know she wrote such posting..

Yuenyuen
hahaha, then should get the sign "Children & Mummy only, Daddy only upon approval" for your girl =p

it suprised me when you mentioned your girl can reply you on the premission thingy, guess im plainly a blur and dumb kid when im 5YO! heehee

ky
no la, no shoe for dylan yet. will get for him only when he start to walk. oic, thanks for explaining the old folks belief =)

rachel,
maybe u r right. they won't hurt themselves from sticking their arms and legs thru the railings. jsut that he likes to turn when he sleeps.

denmy
thanks for starting the ball rolling!

for the tomy one, when they push, will it move easily?

clare,
that was a good reminder to do backup! i must start to do this weekend.

re shoes
Jh doesn't really wear shoes unless we go out shopping or nice occasion. but we do try to make sure the shoes are not too small. but thanks for all the advice!

ky
when u say controlled crying, how do u do it? do u keep going in to check on him?

my boy is now sleeping on a mattress in my room. i wan him to sleep in cot but hb doesn't wan to move the cot in.

Shoes - Only my personal opinion. I prefer Cephas to wear shoes. If u all rem, I accidentally posted a pic of his shoes previously. I like him to be complete when we go out. Clothes & shoes

rena

dont be upset, she is a person who got over reacted when things dont turn out to be what she want. too bad of her not to appreciate your kind intention.

anyway she kind of disappear when we opt to go with flo's friend on the photo shooting session. but she "appear" again after you show your interest with her "lobang". she even wrote such posting accusing and negative judgement on our decision. think she plainly want to do biz and not truely want to join us in this forum.

Hey mummies - Let's ignore Vivien & put the issue behind us.

Looking forward to the photoshoot that we have all decided to participate in
Yeah!

SY
think our babies knows how to move to a comfortable position when they are sleeping. dylan also moves alot when he sleep, keep turning left and right. can even move 180 degree, which i believe lots of babies here are capable of! heehee

dylan had a tomy push walker. i tired pushing it along the floor at my mum's place. actually kind of worry dylan might fall forward and hit the floor as the walker is easy to be wheel around...

sysac
Ya... remember about your shoes collection and get so embarrassed as at that time my boy boy don't own any.

Denmy
thanks for the advise, will try that.

rachel
sometimes, I am surprised at the answers I get too. I remember once she asked how long will I love her. so I thought just give her a number, so I said 100 years thinking by then, I will be dead already. Guess what, she bursted out crying asking me "you don't love me anymore after 100 years?".....don't know to cry or laugh at her reaction. So learned my lesson and told her I love her forever till infinitely. (Must be reading too many fairy tales that end - and they lived happily ever after)

Hi SY

like what denmy said ... 5 - 10 - 15 - 20 - 25 - 30 mins ... thereafter, if the baby still cries, u go back every 30 mins. each time u go in, just reassure that mummy is here and mummy loves you, but don't carry... The night we did with my son at 14 months, we started at 9pm, then at 11pm, he was still crying, so the other thot could be that it's too dark (ie 2 big changes - alone and dark). so I went in and slept on the bed; he was in the cot. Then he kept quiet and went from stand to sitting down to lying down and then asleep in 20 mins. The 2nd night which is daddy's duty time, he just lie there to sleep himself. Maybe you should do this with the cot in another room.

Denmy
this boy I'm talking abt now sleeps in his own bed in his room. HOWEVER, dear daddy is sleeping on the mattress beside him. Bcos of the migration to his own room, someone had to sleep with him till he falls asleep and then recently daddy has to sleep with him cos the baby would wake him up with cries at night ... and he has learnt how to argue back and walk out of room if noone's there with him. any good suggestion on how to save daddy?

Shoes - talking abt being complete, my MIL also commented that before, why so ugly when barefoot, so I only put it on for her to see and then when reach her house, I'll take it out. don't wanna argue with her ...

.ky.

YuenYuen - Pls dun. Cephas just has a crazy mum, an over-indulgent grandma & mum's vain friends! That's y the number of shoes!

Yr dau is very cute!

Sysac
My boy boy also loves to still awake after the 4.30 feed. He normally sleep around 10p.m. so it is not due to him sleeping too early.

The strange thing is that he don't do that on weekdays night when my mum is taking care of him. He only does that on Sat/Sun morning.

sleepingdeer,
OH you're going for this sat's class? Pls do help me collect it from May. I'll pass u the $10 when I get it from u. Thanks.

sysac,

i think sumo also has a crazy mummy that but him lots of shoes too.. i better stop buying coz i almost reach 20 pairs already..

RE: Vomit

this evening as i was feeding porridge to sumo at the last bit he vomit the porridge thru his mouth and nose.. i got a shock so did my IL . i was glad that my mil was there to help me ..

stress stress.. oh darling sumo please get well...

Rena,

dun be too stressed out ok..sumo is a strong boy..he'll recover soon. i be praying for his speedy recovery!

Flo,

WELL WRITTEN! saved me from racking my brains as to what to tell her.

Flo is really right...I also only but joined recently but all of the mothers here make me feel sooo at home! That i really wish i could be back in singapore instead of here!

Petty Baby

renee is a very petty baby
just now, she was standing on her own for few seconds and started jumping then she fell and my maid who was behind her didnt have enuf time to hold on to her. She cried and screamed so loudly! Then my maid offered her water, she just made a super angry face at her..my maid then said sorry to her and she closed her eyes tight and turn her face away!!

Rena,

dun be too stressed out ok..sumo is a strong boy..he'll recover soon. i be praying for his speedy recovery!

Flo,

WELL WRITTEN! saved me from racking my brains as to what to tell her.

Flo is really right...I also only but joined recently but all of the mothers here make me feel sooo at home! That i really wish i could be back in singapore instead of here!

Petty Baby

renee is a very petty baby
just now, she was standing on her own for few seconds and started jumping then she fell and my maid who was behind her didnt have enuf time to hold on to her. She cried and screamed so loudly! Then my maid offered her water, she just made a super angry face at her..my maid then said sorry to her and she closed her eyes tight and turn her face away!!

Flo,
*clap clap clap* Vivien came into our thread (Apr MTB 06) and promptly asked us if we had received emails on photography too. I too was suspicious of her and also did a serach on the forum, found her to introduce herself as a Jan mommy on this thread....and her concerns were, what else? Baby Photography, not least. Can't sense any sincerity from her at all. Hurray! You've shot her!

RE: Chinese Orchestra
Now....who's from DHSCO? kekeke.....it's also my ECA leh! Denmy, did you go on the China Beijing-Shanghai performance trip? Me same batch asCindy and SY's hubby.

wendy
you don't need me to collect your bag from may already?
i m totally lost here. can't seem to find May's reply for my order leh... don't know the deal still on or not.

Esther

RE: Mel complexion
Thanks for the compliment. Guess must be the investment I've made in the bird nest when I was pregnant...haha

RE: Petty Baby
wow renee really got "xin ge". Maybe she knows she's a pretty gal and can get away with things...keke

Flo,
GOOD WORK!

RE: Bag
SleepingDeer,
Can I pass Sunny,Wendy and Rena's bags to u - Total 6 bags? Will it be too many for u to carry it back? I will be going down to Specialist Center pass to Cookie the bag and similac..and also if can see some of the mummies as well.. hehe.

Sunny & Wendy,
Sorry for the late reply. I cannot login during office hrs as my office shut us out from any website that has any communication. But I have set the alert, can see post but cannot reply.. =( Your bags have been reserved for both of u.

<u>PAYMENT</u>
Deduct $1 from the selling price as no postage required.

1)Sunny
back pack - $11

2)Wendy
small handbag - $9

3)Cookie
Medium sling bag - $11

4) Rena
2xBackpack, 1xbolster-like, 1xslingbag (light purple) - $22 + $13 + $13 = $48

Pay me when u all receive the items via bank transfer can? Not in a hurry to get the money. Will pay my colleague first on your behalf.

ky,
re: trying to stand
Why does GD feel that crawling is more important than trying to stand leh?

re: boy sleeping on his own
since the boy knows how to argue back, then we as adults must think of a damn good reason to tell him why he has to sleep back on his own again. meanwhile, i cannot think of a clever answer leh... any mummy?

Sy,
re: Tomy push walker
The wheels are quite heavy, with rubber grips. So when it moves, the wheels actually turn instead of slide, like some cheap plastic wheels. It moves quite easily and has a lock, so that you can lock the wheels when bb just sits there to play with the activity buttons, or when he's just practising standing.

chenoa,
re: DHSCO
me! me! what did you play and which year you from? maybe i know you leh....

I got this from
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/FruitRecipes.htm

Blueberries** 8-10 months+

Vitamins: A, C, K, Folate
Minerals: Potassium, Sodium, Phosphorus, Iron, Magnesium, Calcium

1. 1/2 pint of blueberries (fresh or frozen)
2. 4 c. water
3. Bring water to a boil. Add blueberries and simmer for 15 minutes until soft.
4. Reserve liquid and use a slotted spoon to transfer blueberries to
blender/processor/mixer and puree.
5. If needed, add some of the liquid to blueberries.
6. Add cereal (if desired) to thicken up
*You can save the liquid to serve as juice or to blend in with cereals etc..

**Many believe that blueberries fall under the "no berries until after age 12 months old" rule. Blueberries are not really a common allergen - they are not in the "berry" family. Blueberries are related to cranberries - cranberries appear on many lists of "least allergenic foods" Blueberries are not related to
strawberries, raspberries and the like. Those "true" berries may be mild to highly allergenic. In the book, Managing Allergy and Intolerance in the Allergic Infant (published for Health Care Professionals and The General Public), blueberries are recommended between 6-9 months old. There are also several
other pediatric allergy books that say that blueberries are ok from 6-9 months old as well.

SY
RE: wearing shoe
Actually my mom made the same comment when she saw the shoe my colleague bot for Mel. She said "old people" say bb cannot wear shoe b4 1 year old (think the belief is that it connotes "lao lu min" (labourious life). I ask her if Mel starts walking b4 1 year how? walk bare footed? Then she said ya hor, then it's ok lah...heehee

Denmy,
I'm same age as Cindy. kekeke...Maybe I know / can recognise Cindy and SY's hubby too.

I play the zhong ruan. Did you go on the China Beijing-Shanghai trip?

chenoa,
No, i was probably gone when you guys went on the China trip. Hmmm, think I'm one of the oldest mummies around here...

1) i am not able to post due to the account being suspended by chin leng.

2) i am not a photographer and i do not know the photographer too.

3) Why do i keep emphasis on parenthoodsg is that, their shoot only able to proceed if the number of babies reach to a certain amount.

4) If i am doing biz, i will be all over other thread advertising here n there? And i dun think joyce from parenthoodsg make any $$$ out of it too.

Sorry for causing so much thing just because of this photography issue.

Denmy,
then I wouldn't know you. but quite a no. of seniors (graduated) went with us though. Like Meizhen (zhong ruan), Shenglong (d.bass), Zhiyan (liuqin), Junxiong (yangqin) etc. and of course the student leaders/instructor like Lingqiang, Fuxiang. You go to SCO concerts?

SY
RE: Cereal

Mel likes earthbest. I tried HT brown rice and Heinz plain rice before but she did't like

Rena

Where exactly is this shufu cake shop? Their stuff yummy? I have soft spot for cakes and dessert...keke

Flo,
what's the diff btn EB and HT brown rice? My gal doesn't seem to like her cereal. She's taking HT now...wonder if I should try other brands.

Chenoa

I have not bot EB brown rice before. I only tried EB Multigrain and oatmeal cereal. Somehow the texture looks different from HT (not sure if it's due to the brand or cos is multigrain and oatmeal). Is very light and flaky. Some gal love them, can take around 5 to 6 scoop (those milk scoop) every morning.

SY, Rachel, Denmy

RE: Push Walker
Mel has a hand me down fisher price push walker. Like what Rachel said, it wheeled very easily on the floor. What I did is to put it inside the playyard on the bumpermat, then it doesn't wheel that easily. Hopefully that won't spoil the bumpermat.

Here's a video I managed to capture a few days back not sure if this works.

<object><param></param><embed></embed></object>

Denmy
RE: Boy sleeping on its own
Not sure if Ethan is too young to understand. How about telling him that next time he's married he and his wife can't sleep with daddy and mommy rite, just like daddy and mommy now don't sleep with granny and grandpa

Flo,

shufu cake shop's owner went to les amis to learn how to bake.. then she came out and open a shop lor.. every day the q is vey long one.. q nice .. coz my brother such a fussy person also buy every day

Vivien,
Thanks for your clarification. Cannot blame us for being suspicious of your intentions when you popped in our thread (and apparently other threads as well) and seemed only to talk about the photography package. And when we are not keen, your last posting was hostile and frankly, quite offensive to mummies here who have absolutely no intention of ostracizing you. In any case, if you really are not doing this for promotional or business reasons, you are definitely welcomed in our thread. Do tell us more about yourself and your baby. We will not ignore you.

cheona/Denmy,
I still remember how the school makes everyone buy the CO tickets and cassette tapes!!! But Denmy i must say, you do not look like you are from CO at all. The CO friends I had were Arlene, Elaine, Shangwei...

SY,
Think your blog has pics of your hb. He doesn't look that familiar. Maybe all our faces have changed. I think I looked the most awkward and dreadful during my DH years, big glasses and geeky hair haha...

Re: co-sleeping
Like SY, my bb sleeps next to me on a super single mattress. I bought the safety first rail and use it to guard the other side of the bed. I know all the right reasons to start sleep-training him, but I really like the feeling of him near me the whole night. I mean, I hardly spend time with him on weekdays and sometimes he's already asleep when I'm back so being able to snuggle up to my bb really helps with the bonding. He's quite a restless noisy sleeper, so I get interrupted sleep every night. Oddly, I am still able to pull through and get on each day. Hb is the one who doesn't like it though.

Hi May,
no problem, can pass to me... my 'lau ku ming' HB will be there to help me carry *evil grin*

Wenyl,
thanks for the info on blueberries, I will start her on it soon too, I think... see whether got any reaction or not..

Chenoa,
Shannon has tried both HT and EB... hmm, she seems to like both, though after a while, I think she gets sian of it, so have to get creative in preparing cereal for her now... if not, she will just push the whole spoon away. I dun seem to find a diff between the two though.

Rena,
dun worry, Sumo will be okay soon. Shannon too, she puke twice this week liao, coz she started coughing after abit of fruit puree went the wrong way... sigh.

Flo
me too, I have a terrible sweet tooth when it comes to deserts...

Demnym
maybe tell Ethan that next time he goes school camp, he willl surly not want his parents to tag along with him and spend the night in his tent right? He'll be having too much fun with his buddies telling ghost stories and catching insects... Will be malu in front of his frens having parents along.. hee hee

rena,
20 pairs of shoes?? wow...

ky
so for controlled crying, does tat mean i let him cry 30 min or 5 min for a start?

denmy
so the push walker doesn't slide easily? that's my main concern.

chenoa,
which class u r in? i ask my hb.

flo,
JH likes the plain rice cereal from Heinz but not the multigrain. i got HT but haven try yet.

so the FP walker slides easily? then maybe i will not get that one.

cindy,
so he doens't look familar? think everyone change a lot from their school days!

so u r in the same boat as me! sigh, i dun get to sleep much throughout the whole week. but i will miss him if he is not in my room. now i shift him to a further spot away from me and i miss him being beside me already

SY/Cheona

Re:cereal
My gal tried Heinz plain rice cereal and according to my MIL she reject all.

Currently I'm feeding Earth Best and HT and my gals seems to enjoy them.
So far I have tried, Brown rice, oatmeal and Barley.
I feel my gal dun enjoy barley much, I din enjoy the look of it either :p

Re: Cooking porridge
Ytd I tried to cook more yummy porridge after reading sleeping deer recommendation.
Use Pork rib to cook the porridge, added butternut squash and sweet potatoes ( very expensive! bought from Jason but not veyr much nicer than the normal ones) and lastly add mince pork.
Kaelyn manage to eat 4 chinese table spoon, thats quiet an achievement. But I think I cook it too watery... perhaps today I will add less water.

Re: falling of the bed.
I brought Kaelyn to PD for checkup ytd although her fall was on MOnday. PD was laughing but commented I helped him to monitor her for past 72 hrs and make his job easier.
Every thing is fine and asked me not to worry.

PD has explained a few points and I wun like to share:
(1) The height of fall - if the fall was from 1.2m of higher, the impact is much greater. Usually falling off the bed we do not need to worry too much.

(2) The state of baby at that moment of time. if the baby was crying and angry, thats good reaction!
If the baby is motionless or unconcious even for a little while. we have to be concern.

(3) The size of the Swelling/Baluku - In his practice for 8 yrs.. he has only seen 4 cases of skull factured and all cases heal on their own.
So when he saw the baluku on Kaelyn head, it was no necessary for x-ray/
Usually Big baluku are really big... some large he saw was 5 by 7cm.
Usually BIG baluku may hint so crack on that area.

other than that, monitor the baby for 72hr for drowsiness, vomitting, difficult to wake from sleep or just not the baby usual self. ANy of the above happen bring to PD.

At the end of hod explanation... PD seems like hinting my visit is not necessary...heehee...
But I have peace of mind and the consultation not that expensive

cookie,
thanks for sharing the useful info. yes, try thicker porridge. easier to feed as well.

rena,
oh dear, hope sumo is better today. megan also vomitted merlion-style after medicine this morning. sooo scary, i was stunned for awhile. she was having 38.4deg fever as well..haiz..

i really hope this viral fever thing goes away soon and all our babies will be well.

re:crying to sleep
due to bo pian circumstances, we let meg cry herself to sleep the past 2 nights. cos she didnt want us to carry, pat, pacifier, milk etc..

first night she took about half hr then fall asleep when i jus lift her up. last night, daddy brought her to the study room, put her on mattress and she cry and roll then within 20mins she zonked out flat.

hmm..but i'll be very happy if she can fall asleep without us carrying.

in the mid of night i heard her stirring n playing with her cot toys. but i was tooo tired to wake up n hb was fast asleep. so i ignored her. after awhile, she went back to sleep..

Training Cup
any mums started your bb on training cups? Any comments which training cup is better? I have the Avent 1 but Caleb hates it. I tried it myself, i find the spout pretty hard.
Any1 using the Pigeon mag mug? Issit better?

Re: waking up
it has been many months since kaelyn wake up in the middle of the nite crying.
Last nite she woke up twice n when i ignore her, she proceed stand up holding on to the rail n cry..
aiyo how not to wake up.
she has 4 teeth n no others in sight. i'm not sure if its teething but she manage to sleep aft milk at 3am then 5am cry again.
Sleep with us she is ok.

Hi gals!

Babylon
24hrs for 3 days? Wow! I dun think i can tahan that. Yesterday, he cried for 2 hrs before falling asleep on me. I already couldn't tahan.

sept bride
i using magmag but still using the teats not the spout.i also wan to know when is the time to upgrade to spout.

cookie,

my church mate whose son is one and half month younger than sum can alreay suck from straw .. good hor .. sumo is a slow but steady coz now still bo gey.. ha ha

Hear ya! hear ya!

I know that 23rd sept gathering has not pass but i am just too excited to wait..

We ( the mummies on MSN ) are organising a Crab party at celine77@ edgar mummy house..

Each one will bring a crab item..for the best stalls that you know or like.

Date : 7th oct
Time : Dinner time of course

1) rena + hb + bb