(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Chillies

Did you give your bb avocado on its own or mixed with cereal? My gal loves it with cereal. Anyway, you may want to try giving again a few days later cos bb may take sometime to accept new taste.

May

I guess your MIL has good intention, just that she doesn't know how to prepare bb's food. From the way you have described her in the past, she sounds like Empress Dowager and will naturally feel a "loss of face" when your hb criticise her cooking. If I were you, I'll prepare my own food and bring to ILs pl to feed.

wow, didn't come to the site for a long time and u gals started to list the schs you came from.

Ivory, can u add me?
Mongs, Corporation Pri, Jurong Sec & JC, NTU

Celine77, do I know you? I also born in the year of 77. hee!

Clariss is finally crawling on fours. however, she is still quite lazy and needs something real interesting to motivate her to move. she was crawling backwards on fours for a long time and she could only do combat crawl forward using one arm, now that she can crawl on fours, I think she will be less frustrated.

Thanks Ivory for the chart

FInding schoolmates... sound so like on Yahoo..heehee

Clare
I dun mind trying the Kindermusic Trail too.

Re: Sale at COncourse..
Just now I passby the shopping atrium and saw a fenced up area with toy sales inside..
Last Lunch time I will go check out and see if any good buy. Just a glance I din see any big brand. Definitely not FP...saw something like bumboobee...not sure whats it is.

Anything good will update later.

Re: bring baby to MIL
Our 1st day doing it.. now so bad after all.
Met my nephew and niece... they seems well behave this moring..and will know how to say Oh the baby is sooo cute.
Hmm.. Good sign that they can appreciate baby.
Tonight will go MIL and see how Kaelyn doing..
It's still new environment but with familiar faces, hope she can cope well

Re: Teething - bad eating habit/bad appetite...
Kaelyn now has 4 teeth, 2 on top, 2 bottom. She has been grinding her teeth making lotsa sound.
Last weekend.. the solid feeding was bad... she keep biting on the spoon and refuse to open up her mouth!
When I use a little force to open her mouth she will open and eat if not she will keeping biting.

Is any baby like this?
I suppose this is normal?

Really a scary / nightmare weekend to me and my hubby.
Damien fever was up to 40.3 on sats afternoon,
Fever medicine need to be fed every 3 hourly.
Can only bulleted him every 12 hour if fever went up to 38.5 degree and above and we have already done it for 3 times, still did not manage to bring down the fever.

I

1. Wendy (Slinky), Marymount, NJC, NUS
2. Rena, Marymount, KCPSS, outram sec , SP and UOM.
3. MamaChan, Fairfield Methodist Pri and Sec, NP
4. Queen, River Valley High, NJC, NUS
5. Tracy, CHIJ Ponggol, CHIJ SJC, SP
6. Tabbiesus, CHIJ kellock,CHIJ Sec TP,RJC, NUS
7. Mel, CHIJ Ponggol, CHIJ St. Nicholas, HCJC, NUS
8. Sysac, CHIJ CLGC, CHIJ SJC, NP, UK
9. Sy, Nanyang, RGS, HCJC, NUS
10. Flo, Westlake Pri Sch (Pr 1), Mayflower Pri/Sec, AJC, NTU
11. SSF, Ping Yi Pri/Sec, TP, Curtin Uni
12. celine77, Jurong Pri/Sec, Monash Uni
13. Yuenyuen, CHIJ Katong, Ping Yi Sec, NP
14. SH, Zhangde Pri, Crescent, HCJC, NTU
15. Maywong, Nan Hua Pri, Fairfield Meth Sec Sch, NP
16. Cindy, Dunman High, TJC, NUS
17. chillies, Eunos Pri, Ping Yi Sec, TP
18. celwong, Bedok Sth Pri/Sec, SP, NTU
19. Lingbel, Mei Chin Pri/Clementi Town SS/NgeeAnn P/Ottawa Uni
20. Durianlover, River Valley High, HCJC, NUS
21. AK, Marymount, VJC, NTU
22. valerie, Damai Pri, Ping Yi Sec, TPJC, NTU
23. Clare, Poi Ching Pri, Cedar, NP, SIM(RMIT)
24. Denmy, Haig Girls School, Dunman High, Lasalle-SIA, LCPDT (London), Central Saint Martins (London)
25. Cookie, Blangah Rise Pri, NTSS, NP, Oxford-Brooke UK
26. Babylon, CCK Pri, Dunearn, informatics /PSB Academy

babylon...
what did PD say abt Damien? I'm sure you are very worried...
Hope Damien will recover very very soon...and I'm sure he will too

Stay strong for him

tumble tots class:
sorrie Sophia we were late for the class. We only managed to try 1 obstacle course. As usual, when the 'trainer' demonstrate to us, Caleb was like crying away. But when his dad took over, he had fun. Even during the Hmm.. he's still very much in the stranger anxiety and separation phase.
But nevertheless, we are thinking to sign him up after we go for the makeup trial class this weekend.

Monday blues... sigh...

Ivory,
Can send to [email protected] , Thanks.

May,
Wah... reading about your MIL makes me more appreciative of mine! I have to say she is really one kind one leh... more like our granny's generation of ILs. Actually, the first time my mom made porridge for Isaac, she also put salt. Turns our a saltish. She said she has always been feeding me & my siblings salted porridge when babies. Lucky I brought my own porridge (cooked with pork ribs & red dates) along and let my mom taste. She agrees that it's tasty enough and the next few times when I visit, she never put salt into the porridge liao. So sometimes cannot blame our parents for not knowing lah... but the garlic skin thing is really out of the world!!! I mean, quite no common sense right???
Good thing that my MIL who takes care of Isaac knows that cannot add seasoning into his porridge and she doesn't add funny things like garlic into the porridge!

Tracy,
My MIL also refused to let Isaac crawl on the floor, said very dirty. Would rather carry him, now bought him a walker. So who's to blame that Isaac always want people to carry? When my boy is at home, he'll be on the floor, on the bed, on his playmat. Or sitting in his baby chair. Where got whole day carry like my MIL said? anyway, back to the point, just have to bear with your MIL lah... she doesn't visit often right?

Rena,
Wah... your SIL is also one kind. Selfish is ok, worse is that she lied about having the car seat! What kind of example is she setting to her kids?

babylon,
Poor Damien. Really hope he recovers soon! You must be really heartache.

Re. Isetan sale
So who's confirm going? Need someone to help buy the exersaucer...

babylon,
caleb also had fever from yesterday. It peaked at 38.6 and we freaked out liao. We brought him to the 24hours clinic at Mt A.
We are worried cos no infection or watsoever.. but the fever refuse to go down after so many dosage of paracetomol. Haiz.. hopefully he will be better after today.

thanks goodness, the fever went down on Sat nite. He got very bad throat infection. PD advised not to give biscut or any heaty staff.

Sept 03 Bride,
Did you sponge caleb. I cold showered damien every 3-4 hourly..it really help to bring down the fever. Damien screamed whenever we cold showered him..really heartache. ..but no choice.

Try to give more water to caleb.

Yesterday, my Isaac quite cute.
My HB was playing with him on the bed and then he seems to know that I'm in the shower. With my HB supporting him, he pushed his butt off the bed and slid down and then walked to the bathroom door and pushed it open (I left the door ajar) and peeped in, looking for me. Then my HB brought him back to the bed, but he kept sliding off the bed and walking with my HB supporting him to the bathroom door and pushed it open to peep in. He did this 3 times. Finally my HB closed the door, but Isaac didn't give up. He could not push the door open, so he used his hand and banged the door a few times instead!

yah babylon,
he screamed when we sponged him. He cried too.. my goodness, the tears are like so huge.. see liao really heartache leh. Feel like crying.
I'm worried cos there's like no reason for the fever, the doc just said viral fever.

yes, its the first n last time i'm letting ILs to my place! last night i had to bring megan into study n both of us try to sleep there while the nephews play in MY bedroom. in the end meg could only sleep when they left, ie 11pm. i was very pissed n could only grumble to hb. i told him jus let me grumble, u dun need to say or do anything. jus listen, which he did, but with a rather 'black' face, but well, i felt beta. hmph!

as expected, megan woke up this morning with a cough. i told hb, its expected, since his sister is so inconsiderate, bring sick son around..argh!

May,
yes, sometimes i wish i can tell my MIL, this is MY house, so I run the household. Do not interfere! do u know b4 she comes over, i have to go round my house make sure my pants are not hung higher than my hb and make sure my clothes are hung using MY hangers. I've got pink n blue hangers at home to differentiate cos she says guys clothes cannot mix with girls. my frens always laff n say, like that tell ur hb BD that time dun touch u lor! there's no logic, cos bamboo can share while hanger cannot!

Cookie
glad to hear your day started out fine today...anyway it's only today n wed, should work out fine.

ya ya, Megan n Kaelyn like telling each other sob story n both like soooo poor thing...hahaha. Cookie at my place? i think my hb will faint. heehee. but when the kids older we should have an outing with them n our dogs at botanic gardens or the beach!

babylon,
oh dear, hope baby damien's fever has subsided..

Rena,
ur SIL really hor...didnt even bother to hide her car seat, so obviously she doesnt bother!!

queen,
hahaha Isaac's so funny n cute! Really persistent huh!

babylon,
Glad to hear Damien's fever went down! Fever is always very worrying for parents.

May,
Indeed, hearing abt ur MIL makes me very thankful for mine...my MIL even insists that i don't add salt or seasoning to baby's porridge.

hihi mongs! finally got someone same school as me liao!! which class were u at? i was in 1/3, 2/4, 3/5,4/5. i used to wear braces too. but my real name is not celine hor! :p

tracy,
wah the pink & blue hanger thing really no logic!
So poor thing...the whole episode will surely make me fuming mad too, if i were you!

cold shower:
i read from a book that it's not advisable to use cold shower on babies. they may get thermal shock. and the body will produce even more heat, coz they are feeling cold, thus bringing the temp even higher. juz use warm water to sponge.

rena,
your SIL really too much loh... why are they so inconsiderate and selfish...?

May,
your MIL is super scary leh, how did she manage to bring up your HB?

Tracy, and Cookie,
I hate it when people say that dogs and cats are dirty and should never be allowed to go near babies.... they don't understand that it is actually better for babies to grow up with pets.. improves their immunity and reduces risk of asthma...

Sep03bride and Babylon,
hope your babies feel better?

Fever :

babylon, u are refering to the pink paraceutemol when you said fever medicine? every 3 hrs? I'm told not to overdose with that, max 4 times a day as it goes through the liver system and may be damaging. Alternate with another fever medicine, eg Nerofen. And sponge the baby with room temp water when temp is 39 and above ... keep the room ventilated. get a water cushion to sleep on. Stick on a fever strip. and like celine said, don't give baby cold shower ... that means a drastic drop of temp

.ky.

babylon ,

i never trusted KKH.. the previous time sumo had fever after the camp.. i brought him there .. he did not recover thus it became worse as the fever did not subside .. so i give him the fever med that pd give me ..

Tracy,
Wah your MIL really too much! Sorry I probably shouldn't but I was laughing when I read abt the height of the pants & the different hanger thingy. It's so ridiculous! Such practices at this time & age...*faintz*
I think you already quite good with hb...I will probably get so mad that I take it all out on him (though i know it's not his fault but I probably won't be able to hold myself back from railing at him...)

Re: Cold Shower

I heard the same thing about not using cold shower from my colleague (as his son recently has high fever as well). I mentioned that my mum said the hospital staff threw me into an ice bath (when I was young & having a high fever). My colleague said maybe the hospital staff can do it coz they know how to properly monitor but they don't advise that we do it at home.

Anyway, it sounds like a lot of children are having high fever with no cause identified (like my colleague).

Clare/Cookie,
I am also keen to try the kindermusic class to see which one JW prefers.

Re: Tumbletots class
JW had plenty of fun running around & seeing other babies. Keke...I kept telling him to look at Daren. I kept saying..."see this is how you crawl...not drag your tummy". But he is so intrigued with everything else, he ignore me. Sighz....Then when we get into a circle again...he was busy chattering, screaming away. Alamak...my hb mentioned he is the most noisy baby in the group.

Cookie,
Thanks for passing me sophia's number. Pai sei...was so busy running around whole weekend that I didn't even have time to sms you to thank you till now. Without you, I will be so stranded there. :) & Sophia, thanks for organising. Even hb (though skeptical at first) was pretty happy to see JW running around in joy!

Ky

damien was prescibed with 2 types of fever medicine - 1) pink paraceutemol and 2) orange color - cannot remeber the name (much stronger).
Was advised by doc to give him 3 hourly till the fever go down.

Rena,

Me also dun trust KKH. That why, even damien's fever is so high, i still did not insist to bring him there in the middle of the nite. Have really bad experience in KKH

Cindy - Thks for passing my J&J stuffs to cookie. I want to make payment to you but you didn't pick up ur hp nor reply my email. ya must have been busy lately. Can you sms or PM me your acct no? thks!

Chillies, Etelle, Valeric and SSF

Hi to all
Surprise to find so many Ping Yian here given that the school relatively new.

I should be the Da Jie here as I am from the pioneer batch....keke....

There was a gathering early this year I think but missed that as I gotten the invitation after the gathering. But they quite resourcefully as I shifted home a few times and still they managed to get my latest address.

Valerie - 77, Etelle -77, SSF - ??, Chillies - ??

SSF,
Oh, weekends are super busy for me. Must have missed them. You can transfer to either one of these 2 accounts. Thanks:
DBS Autosave: 017-018821-6
OCBC savings: 520-8-019041

Denmy,
You certainly do not have a tinge of zir 'dunmanian' look on you lor. I'm a 1976 baby, so that makes me a prisoner there from 1989 to 1992. Well, except for the communistic uniform and 'Qiu Sheng', I do have very fond memories of the place and people. We do have regular gatherings but have not formed any alumni.

SH
Aiyo... dun mention! I'n glad I'm able to help!

SSF
Actually Tracy was the one who help to retrieve our items from Cindy

Tracy>> Thanks again for helping...

Tracy,
Wah you MIL REEEEAALLLY dak boleh ta han... If I were you I'd ignore about the hanger and pants rule to "show" her "HELLO this is MY HOUSE"... respect aside but these are really unbelievable traditions or pang tang...

May,
Yes I agree with FLo.. next time bring your own porrigae n feed Jamie instead... oh and probably own bowl and spoon too...

Kindermusic Trial
1. Clare
2. Cookie
3. SH

Rena, how many ppl do we need to start the trial class? Any contact no. or person to call?

Hi mums...

have been MIA for so long... finali ran thru quickly on the past postings and it seemed funat the tumbletots trial last week! As some of you have known,i have been stressed up wf a sick Celeste, problematic maid and test after test...

now tat celeste is gettin better,mummie is also feeling happier... had no mood to chat at all last week.b bringing bb to doc's for review tonite,pray tat she will be given the all-clear!

to avoid the crowd and to give her some time outside, HB n i brought her cycling at east coast park yest.she was in the baby seat in front of us and she loved it! but after an hour,she fell asleep and i had to support her while stil cycling back to the bicycle station. it was reali a nice trip... so,another suggestion for weekend activites - Cycling!

rena,

Yes, I'm also 76, born 6 months earlier than u
btw, u haven't given me your acct no or amount to pay for the preggy kits.

baby kissing?
YOur babies can kiss? MIne is very giam siap with her kisses leh. Everytime I ask her to kiss mummy, she'll turn her head away

Ivory,
I was in Marymount Primary and Marymount Secondary.

vomitting
yday at my IL place, Ariene was very hungry and sleepy cuz my ILs kept playing with her and refused to let her sleep even though she was rubbing eyes, yawning and complaining away. So, i got fedup and shooes them out of the room to feed Ariene. Then, dunno wad happened, she just suddenly vomitted out all the milk she drank. Although she was latched on, judging from the amount she belched out, it should be at least 150ml! After that, she just gave a very loud burp and sighed. However, after that she was not very interested in feeding anymore. Checked her for signs of fever, also don't have. After that, told hb i want to bring her home to bathe, my hb insisted no need, just wipe her can already. So, few hours later, her rashes started appearing all over her chin, neck and body! At night, I was so heartpain seeing her scratch all over while I was applying cream for her. arghh..

teething
Yday, I saw tiny white spots on Ariene's lower gums. Think the lower insicors are cutting through!

KKH,
I also don't trust KKH. Have really TERRIBLE personal experience there before also. That's y my advise to everyone who asked me abt the gynaes there was unless u're a Singapore Citizen and cannot afford to pay a good private Gynae, don't bother yourself with KK. IMHO, KK is only good when u're normal and have no complications. In fact, my Indonesian colleague who just delivered there paid more for a B4 ward than my A1 charges at Gleneagles. Furthermore, their services suck big time.

What is your chinese name? wendy.

i really cannot remember my class but do you remember mrs wee that teaches us english? she stays near my parents and we are still close..my account number is 148-11345-9

Flo,
Yah...will try mixing wif cereal. I very hardcore with avocado. Read that its very good. Hopefully my boy will accept. But if in cereal, the taste wld be covered....can "Con" him to eat

Mummies who are still TBF,
Are you accumulating more and more milk?
Weekdays, Isaac is now taking only 2 x 200ml EBM + 60ml for cereal, the rest of the time is latch on. I could still pump 600ml in total a day, excess 150 to 200ml everyday. Now running out of milk bags and bottles to store them...
So daily it's like this:
11am - pump at work
4pm - pump at work
8pm - latch on before Isaac's bedtime
5am - pump & latch (he wakes up around this time for feed, but will only empty 1 breast, so I'll pump out the other)
7am - latch (sometimes only)

I'm thinking of dropping the 5am pump but the breast which Isaac does not drink from will feel very full cos last latch on is 8pm the night before and I'll only pump again at 11am in the office. I think at this rate, I dunno if i should start throwing milk away or what...
Now I'm actually asking around for more glass BM bottles to store the milk, rather than to spend money to buy milk bags.

Rena,
Which bank does ur acct belong to? I also cannot remem how much I owe u.. U remember? My chinese name is Zhang Wan Yi.

OH my god! Do U mean Mrs Ooi instead? If its her, OF COURSE I remember! She was my Pri 1 form teacher and also my sister's Pri 1 form teacher! I wonder if she remembers us! Do u remember Mrs Teo, the most feared Math teacher? I used to be slapped on the hand alot by her. She always wears a cheong sum to school. Still have the photos that I took with Mrs OOi and Mrs Teo with me

U were only there in primary school? There's a few sec school teachers I would like to meet again but I've lost contact with all of them, especially after Dr Macarthy left.

queen,
I've been throwing away EBM since a long time ago. Usually, I'll just throw away all the EBM that's stored for >1 month old when I run out of bottles to store. My freezer is still full of EBM, so don't worry about throwing away the EBM. Just do it.

rena,
Btw, whats your chinese name? I remember I used to have a partner with the surname Zhou (which is Chew if I'm not wrong). She had the same dimples u had. I wonder.. do u happen to be Zhou Yi Mei?

Hi Ping Yians!

Seems that I am the youngest. hee.. I am 1978

HI Cindy - ok got your acct. thanks. ur POSB is savings right? i will transfer later in the evening. my amount is 152.13, will sms u after i have transfer. thks!

tracy - thanks for your help. heard from cookie the stuffs are pretty heavy. sorry abt that. pai seh!

Hi Chillies
I am still the Da Jie lah, unless you are in the first batch as me i.e. 1971...... very old mummy here....one of the oldest if not the oldests.

Graduated before you even enrol......keke

RE: MIL
Ya.. next time I am going to bring own porridge and utensils already. I know she meant good to cook for Jamie but it is really unhealthy to let Jamie eat garlic at this young age.

RE: Bring up my HB
My MIL dun look after her 3 kids one. Her own mum looks after for her and she only go back to see her kids after work every day. So she knows nothing. Till now, she NEVER change Jamie's diaper nor feed Jamie before. So can say she dun have any experience with babies. But she likes to bother what I do to Jamie. But I dun care already.. told hubby "ur mum did not look after u all, hope she dun come bother how my mum and me look after Jamie" cos my MIL keeps telling me to teach my mum how to take care of Jamie. Eg. Cook what kind of porridge, one day must bathe how many times, diaper cannot wear too tight..if possible change to cloth nappy. Urgh.. enough of this MIL.. luckily never stay with her.

rena,
Not only were we classmates, we were partners for 2 years.. pri 4 and pri 5.. if u remembered.. Hahaha! I even remember u hated our pri 4 form teacher and always say u wanna complain her to your aunty who works in MOE

Small worlld. I always felt that I've seen those dimples before when I met u during the baby massage class. Somehow, your dimples are very unique