(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Rena,

Esther was telling me yours is a sumo , I think mine beat you leh he is 11 kg. Will know his exact weight when he goes for his jab on 9 sep. I feel he is so heavy, he only turn on his tummy and can't turn back liao. Yesterday just realised he is pushing his backside very high up so soon he should be able to progress forward not on reverse gear all the time.

Cool it on mil lah. Me , my 2 sis in law ( hubby's brother's wife and sis) very close leh, sometimes a bit not happy because feel being taken advantage of. But overall I always think whatever I do is for their kids, just want to see the kids happy. Me now have to juggle work, also have to help sis in law (sis) because she just gave birth, have to help buy things lah , give her advice on bf then my personal trip this fri becomes family affair ( fil plus sis in law (hubby's brother's wife) all joining. Though she SAHM but I have to do everything from book tickets, hotel, buy insurance, prepare first aid box, even money exchange for her spending (ha ha doing on the account dunno can get reimbursement or not). She only need to shake to airport on that day. fil is a very difficult to please person in terms of food so I have to do my research on where to go and plan itinerary. These 2 days of working means running errand all over during lunch.

This is jia jia you be nan nian de jin

Breastmilk (Total)
1. Wendy, Ariene (Toothless)
2. Durianlover, Janelle (toothless)
3. Florence, Melody (toothless)
4. Valerie, Kirsten (5 teeth, since 4mth plus)
5. Queen, Isaac (Toothless)
6. Celine,Edgar (Toothless)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
8. Chicken Little, Aden (Toothless, but 1 bottom incisors popping a tiny weeny bit at 7 months now)
8. xjysg, Keith (2 bottom incisors, since 6 months)
9. Tabbiesus, tabby (toothless)
10. Mel, Gabriel (2 bottom incisors, since 6.5 months)
11. Sleepingdeer, Shannon (toothless)
12. Lingbel, Christabel (toothless)
13. Wenyl, Ethan (2 bottom incisors, since 7mths)
14. Mongs, Clariss (toothless, but think her bottom incisors cutting cut, can see a bit whitish)

Breastmilk (Partial)
1. Rachel, Dylan (2 bottom incisors, since 6mths)
2. Tracy, Megan (toothless. total FM since 7M)
3. SSF, Caleb (2 bottom incisors since 5Mths(breastfeed till 4 mths)
4. YuenYuen, Bryant (Toothless. Breastfeed till 6 mths)
5. MamaChan, Daren (toothless, TBF till 6.5 months, now on total FM)
6. Zhimin, Clarisse (2 bottom incisors, since 6-month. Partial breastfeed until 7-month, now only latch on at night for fun)
7. Denmy, Keenan (2 bottom incisors since 6 mths, bf until 6 mths)
8. krissie, gerald (toothless, can't see teeth but can feel it).

Formula Milk
1. Babylon, Damien (2 bottom incisors)
2. Cookie, kaelyn (2 bottom teeth, looks like almost full grown. Since 5mths)
3. SH, JW (2 bottom teeth. Just came out)
4. Sept03bride, Caleb (1 bottom incisor, 6mth)
5. Sysac,Cephas (Toothless)
6. Esther, Renee ( 2 bottom incisors..since early August )
7. Mashybrainz, Caeden (2 bottom teeth)
8. rena076, elijah (toothless)
9. Maywong, Jamie (2 bottom incisors,since 25Jul)
10. Cindy, Lucas (toothless)

RE: Car Seat
Saw some postings on car seats last week. Any recommendations? Was it Evenflo that was highly recommended? Where can I find best collection of car seats? Nowadays Lucas wants to get out of this infant seat and look-see. So terrible, we've given in to his demands the last couple of times... hope that a new car seat will be better as the one he is one now is rear facing.

Sitting
Any of the babies can go from crawling position to a sitting position? How do we encourage them to do it?

Toy fair
Can those who went let me know if it's worth a visit? Looking for boy's toys mainly ...

.ky.

hi cindy,
we have also just 'upgraded' Caleb's car seat to a front facing 1 cos he outgrew the infant 1.
We bought a Maxi-cosi~Topline series from BB Hypermart. Its pretty comfortable and Caleb is able to sleep in that car seat.
Initially we wanted to buy Britax Royale but then when Caleb sits in that seat, some how it seems abit small. So maybe u can bring lucas for a fitting test when u are buying the car seat.

chicken little,

elijah was a sumo back then.. and he was the biggest size then that was why the mummies call him sumo.. now he is not the champion but we still call him sumo coz use to it..

I am a SHAM too but i simply have no time so when we plan for trip hb willhave to do all the things..

cookie,
wah..ur SIL is mean!how can she say u take advantage of ur MIL??! i'm sure ur MIL is more than happy to take care of kaelyn too. u mean she never visited kaelyn? wat kind of SIL! i guess the best arrangement now is ur HB take leave, as u can't take leave cos of closing right?

hang in there!

rena,
my MIL also kinda 'favor' my younger SIL. when she was preggie b4 me, my MIL made alot of tonic for her to drink. unfortunately, her preg didnt work out then i became preg. eh..i didnt get lots of tonic leh..:p

my younger SIL stays with her. my MIL makes tonic for her to drink regularly. but recently, found out my younger SIL had an affair...

babylon,
that's so inconsiderate of your BIL! i can't stand parents who bring their kids out when they are sick. (eg my SIL)...they always think aiya, little bit only, wat harm can it do..not udnerstanding that other kids' immune system may not be dat strong. grr...

SIL/BIL/PIL
Whatever in-laws are always different from own parents or siblings. Own parents are always more caring not only to their own grandkids but also to their own daughters.

Like my MIL, previously agreed to help me bring my elder girl to K2(kindergarten) next year. we already paid deposit for next year and recently said she wants to go to work so can not bring her anymore.

So I have to search for a private school that have provide scool bus services and forfeit the deposit with the current school. What to do, but I am quite happy and told my husband don't need to rely on her.

FLo,
wow! Mel can stand. megan's only crawling about with no indication of standing yet. but she's been busy going after my dog...so i'm also busy crawling alongside her and keeping my dog at a distance.

ky,
edgar can move from crawling to sitting easily. but i have no idea how to teach! edgar juz got the hang of it himself. infact he started doing that b4 he really started to crawl. that means, he gets on all fours then move back to sitting position. Butt too heavy, i say! :p

Juz went to the PD last sat and he said that edgar's motor skills are very advanced. coz he can crawl on his knees and not tummy (well, i tot most bbies do dat? no?) and can pull himself to stand and attempt to walk. i think some bbies here are oso doing the same already ya...

ky,
my gal started with sitting up herself first. then she proceeded to crawl. when she needs to change direction, she will sit-up facing then change direction and crawl...keke

Thanks all mummies once again for your valuable advice and cheers
I'm still feel down today..but I am going to take a step back and consider it a lesson learnt.
I just have to minimise my involvement with mil and sil as far as possible, eventho mil stay with us during weekdays. I dunno hoe to.

I will think abt what is best for kaelyn. I still wan to maintain OK relationship with mil and sil or my hb will be in between.

tracy
your desciption your bb chasing your dog make me smile
must be so cute

I cannot imagine my bb chase after my dog...heehee

cindy & sept03bride,
i bought the Britax Royale carseat at Taka baby fair over the weekend! Big hole in pocket! But it's really luxurious and comfy

ky,
my gal can't move from crawling to sitting position. i think her technique is not there yet. She's a really strong baby but technique always not very right...haha!

Flo,
Mel is really fast! Can stand so well! amazing

Your kids are realli amazing leh, me kinda of worried for my fat boy. Then again, I am ok if he is slower than I dun have to run after him

hi chicken little,
for sumo bb like yours, the motor skills development will be slightly slower because of the weight. Well not to worry, they will on par with the rest eventually..
Initially i was very concerned as well cos my BB could not flip where else all the other bb are flipping. I keep encouraging him to flip but he also bo chap me. Heehee 1 fine day, he decide to flip..
So when its time, they will do it.. Dun worrie!!

haven posted for so long cos very busy with work. colleague went for one month reservist and me covering him...

re crawling/sitting
my boy is trying to sit up hwen he crawls. he will put his butt very high and it's really funny.

these few days he has been real talkative!! quite a sight to look at.

flo,
mel look so cute!!

some survey going on? added mine

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
8. Chicken Little, Aden (Toothless, but 1 bottom incisors popping a tiny weeny bit at 7 months now)
14. Mongs, Clariss (toothless, but think her bottom incisors cutting cut, can see a bit whitish)

Breastmilk (Partial)
6. Zhimin, Clarisse (2 bottom incisors, since 6-month. Partial breastfeed until 7-month, now only latch on at night for fun)
9. sy , Jing Heng (got 2 white spots at the bottom before he turned 7 months, still partial bf)

Formula Milk

SSF,

Singapore doesn't have burberry blue label. Think it's only availabe in Japan and London. Some of the patterns quite nice. Can check it out. My mum just returned from Tokyo - burberry blue label is really cheap there. She got a handbag for $300.

queen/cookie,

Charmaine also got running nose and blocked nose. Where to get the sterimar? Must go PD? But, other than the running nose, she's really fine and active as usual, should bring her to PD?

queen,

Charmaine got her two bottom incisors for abt 1 mth liao. It feels the same when she latches on - not really more painful. BUT when she doesn't want to drink and I try to make her drink, she bites! Gosh - it's really painful.

welcome mel!

I have already replaced 1 milk feed with semi-solids. Will start replacing another feed with semi-solids soon.

tabbie,

Saw the recipe you posted for ivory. Can our babies take eggs now? I thot must at least wait till they are 9 mths?

tabbie,

the pooh bouncer that you are eyeing - is it combi one? Charmaine likes it too. Am persuading daddy to buy it for her. Tangs got sale is it? Will go check it out.

queen,

Ya- my ON stuff still with you - so sorry. Really super busy this week plus hubby change job, now sick. hiaz. Will try to see if we can come by your place tonight. Sms you? thks!

cindy
I upgraded my infant carseat to britax(safe n sound) car seat. which can also be in rear facing.
I read that the neck support is not so strong yet incase of E-brake during car ride so it might be safer to be rear facing until late age like 12-14mths.. thats what I read lor.
So far Kae is ok in her rear facing car seat.
Fo me I noticed when she get angry in it is when she is tired and want to fall a sleep.
sometimes she drift to wonderland on her own ( very fast).. sometimes fuss abit but I persist to let her stay in and cry lor.

so sorry.. din manage to meet up for the PP. maybe this weekend, we will do it before kaelyn outgrown.
Or alternative.. u can post in market place to see if you have a buyer.. if someone is more readily to buy over.. then u go ahead, otherwise I will try to meet u on sat or so.

ky
my baby is try to crawl abit and from crawling to sitting positon.. but her strength and technique not too good so she endedup half sit only.. she only sit on 1 side of her bum..kekeke...
Hmm she learnt it on her own, think bb they by instinct know hoe to do it ba.

Re: baby standing in cot
Flo your mel is really good!!

Oh last weekend.. Kaelyn also tried to hold herself onto the cot railing and stand.. her legs are still weak so she fell onto the railing knocking her forehead and face. But she very brave.. never cry and I keep cheer for her.
Now she manage to kneel and hold onto the railings.
Happy to see her progress

sy
Kaelyn also.. she will rise her buttock very high.. very funny hor..

SL
I dun see other place selling. I happen to see it at my PD so I bought. maybe u try guardian see can or not.
But my pd say this is good for mucus which is very thick and stuck in the nose.. can let them flow out.

Re: Meal and Water
I'm hesitant abt replacing a milk feed with semi solid cos I feel Gabriel is not taking enough water/milk. I think babies their age are still supposed to take a minimum of 18 ounces of milk a day. Gabriel doesn't like to drink water from cup/bottle. Will only take water if I feed him from a spoon.

Re: Car Seat
I also have the Britax Royale. It's supposed to last till 4 years old. So even though it's more ex, still worth it in the long run.

Re: Thermal Container
I subscribed to Young Parents and got a free yellow pooh thermal container and food container. Came with a matching bag. Quite nice.

Re: Runny nose
Gabriel is also having runny nose. Sometimes can hear him "wheeze" when he sleeps. Poor thing. He hates it when I try to wipe his nose.

Hi all, wow lots to catch up but I'll add Boh-Gey Ashley into the list too... haha... her concerned daddy should be relieved to see that there are quite a no. of toothless babies around too... =P

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)
9. sy , Jing Heng (got 2 white spots at the bottom before he turned 7 months, still partial bf)
10. Clare, Ashley (Toothless)

Formula Milk

cookie,

is your sil going somewhere? Why she wants to dump her kids there for 1 whole wk and some more overnight?!! Won't she miss them?

Hallo mummies,

Cephas has learnt from crawling to standing. Now he will climb on anything to get to his feet. He does not sit often but is quite steady on his little chair. Going to post some new pics in his blog when I go home this evening.

We fed him durian yesterday. Know what he did? He grabbed my hand and licked the entire seed off refusing to let go of my hand until he finished. Will post that pic in the blog too. What a messy sight!

Sandrachu - We wne to Baby Hyperstaore on Sat to pick up the Quinny stroller padding. Cephas has stopped fussing since then cos he sits more comfortably now. Maybe can consider for Sarah Mae

Added my Charmaine to the survey liao...

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
15. sl, Charmaine (2 bottom incisors, since 5mths)

Breastmilk (Partial)
10. Clare, Ashley (Toothless)

Formula Milk

rena,

I think I won't sign Charmaine up for the Kindermusik - she didn't seem to like it very much when we tried out yesterday. She actually liked the positive babies more. Thks for the arrangement though.

sl
was the positive babies class good?

mel,
i also had the same question before. how to make my bb drink 600ml of milk a day when he is taking one full solid meal. but i heard from a nutritionist that as long as they get their nutrients, it is ok. just make sure the solid food is nutritious

cookie,
kaelyn is very brave!!

my JH will cry in the day each time he wakes up from nap. dunno what is the reason. even if i m beside him he will still cry. seems like he's very needy..how to make him more independent?

Need your advise...

Re: Pumping at Work
I only pump once at work and my supply has been dropping n dropping and nowadays i only aim to reach 100ml (n thats after much persistent squeezing)... just now I only managed to get 60-80ml & gave up cos too lazy... I am contemplating of skipping the office session all together... meaning latch on + pump in the morning ard 7.30am then all the way until i latch Ashley on again ard 8pm+.... 12hours interval... I am sure I won't get engorged but dun know if its a good idea leh since I will try to breast feed Ashley till 1 (due to PD's advice on her sensitive skin though)... What do u mummies think?? Would my supply go off completely? I latch her on 100% during weekends.

Clare

how much does Ashley drink at night. Just sharing my experience. I latch on my older son too and stopped pumping when he lost interest in ebm. I was working alt days and on days that I worked, I feed him in the car at 8am and then at 6pm when I picked him up... but we co-sleep at night and he just drank and drank thru out the night. I bf him past 2 yrs old. When I wean him, the engorgement would ease after a day or 2 (during the time of the day that feeding was halted)... so I guess u can try this arrangement. Some babies I know go for reverse cycle feeding ... these are the feed-at-night babies

.ky.

sl
My sil say it's just a grandma visit for that week.
She said to me.. I may not see it now, but I will need pte time with HB blah blah blah..say when my gal bigger I will hunger for personal time etc etc.. the truth is right now I just wan to spend more time with baby.
So I suppose she is saying for herself.. she need personal time adn thats why she is sending her kids to grandma.
She even has the cheek to tell me, my mil need time with fil and mil cannot look after my baby all the time I shouldn't depend on her..
then it make me wonder.. then why is she sending her kids to mil place if she really wan mil and fil to have time together??...

Anyway.. i think this issue.. involve some selfish for both my sil and mil...and no matter wat we suggest or do will make them happy unless we follow their request.

I will just take a step back and let my hb handle his family members.

ky
what is reverse cycle feeding?

my boy wakes up at night for feeding often but i dun think he drinks a lot at night.

won't the ss drop if u dun feed or pump the whole day?

clare
i m also pumping once at week. planning to bf until i cannot tahan..haha...i find that my ss is not really good now and i still supplement with FM. i m getting very lazy as well

Cookie
Yes, your SIL might need pte time with hb, but does she need the entire week? so selfish. My mother brought my elder girl back last weekend so that I only need to take care of the baby. I missed her so much during Saturday. When I mentioned that to my hb, guess what, he said he also missed her and we end up visiting my girl but have to disguise by buying dinner for my mother. So happy she was back last night. hug hug.

yuenyuen
ya I agree.. just becos she wan personal time herself, she expect me to also to conincide with her timing.
I dunno what and how I will feel in future, maybe there might be a day when I feel I want personal time but thats up to me to decide.
I dun need her to tell me what to do. As of now.. I just wan to be with baby every day

I just feel disguised how she can turn her own's desire to sound like my problem.

Cookie
me too, now only want to be with baby. sometime go back home too late and he is asleep, feel so sad, as morning too rush, don't get to see him much.

you also in the finance team? read about your month-end closing. me too in finance, hates month-end, quarter-end, year-end. keke......

Is kaelyn drinking similac follow-on ? I have one tin (900gm) expiry 10 Feb 2008 to let go as I switch bryant to enfalac.

yuenyuen
ya lor.. last week internal auditor were here, I work late the whole week.. so sad everynite when back bb already alseep, so i can only treasure the morning 30mins with her.
tell me abt it.. I hate all the mthly, qtrly, half yrly, yrly closing.
on top of that, there were internal audit, SOX ( your co has this?) audit.. not forgetting the irritating external audit too..faint..
Think I choose the wrong profession to be in..kekeke..

cookie,

Actually I agree with your sil on one pt - the need for personal time but don't need 1 whole week including night times right? I just take 1 afternoon off with hubby once every few mths I happy already.