(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi SSF,
okies, keep us posted....thanks! I will probably order by Wednesday lates coz my cereal is finishing soon...

Krissie,
pick up is either at Bbt Batok or Clementi, but if SSF orders too, it will be in the East.

SH,
Does your baby sleep with you the whole night on the masterbed?

My gal will usually sleep in her own room in her own cot. But recently when she's been waking up in the middle of the night and can't get back to sleep, out of my own tiredness i'll just bring her to sleep in between us on the masterbed. Coz i get sooo tired just sitting by her cot trying to wait for her to get back to sleep. Usually i gotta sit there for about 1 hour or even more to wait for her to fall back asleep! Anyone's baby has that problem of finding it tough to get back to sleep when they wake up in the middle of the night?

durianlover,
I started co-sleeping after maternity leave. My bb stirs quite frequently in the middle of night (can be up to 8 times!) but falls back to sleep almost instantly with either a few pats or the pacifier. I think my problem is with the pacifier. He keeps spitting it out yet still needs it.

Any mummies still using M size Pampers Premium? I overstocked on mine and thinking of selling cos it is cutting into my bb's thighs already. Think he needs and L although his weight should still be able to take M leh... Anyone remember what was the price when Carrefour goes on sale (issit $17.50 for 48pc pack??) I couldn;t really remember how much I bought them for but remember informing on this site.

durianlover,
Yah, my boy sleeps with me on the masterbed whole nite. Last time we used to put him in the cot to sleep. Usually around 3 to 5am he will wake up & scream (when he realise he is in the cot). Then we will pick him up & let him zzz with us. He is fine with that until my hb started his overseas trip. As my bb zzz with me at my mum's place...now he refuses to sleep in his cot at all :-(

tabbie
wow so many type of peas...
so green peas is different from snow pea and sweet pea..
is snow pea = sweet pea?
the pea that you mentioned must cut the top andbottom and the thread.. is it the one also called Holland Pea?
Is snow or sweet pea also in frozen form or can buy fresh from supermarket or wet market? sorry very ignorant with peas... ask lotsa qns.

Durian love
Thank God.. Kaelyn seems ok. I will continue montior. Really a lousy weekend for her..so much discomfort

re: waking from sleep
Kaelyn also has this problem earlier on.. she keep waking up and flip herself and refus to flip to sleep and cry until I pick her up...
Me too out of own tireness.. I bring her to my bed to prevent her from flipping and cry.. and she sleep very well with us.
This happen for a couple of weeks and I decide it's not right to let her sleep between us as a habit.. then when I decide to be heng xin and let her cry...she so far so good Thank God.. she sleep thru now.
I also change my way of putting her to bed. I let her fall alseep on her own cot...
last time I sleep with her on my bed then carry her over to the cot ( bad practice really :p)

Zhimin
Ok Ok.. after reading the list.. I feel worried, not that Kaelyn has any of those signs.. just that the waiting and monitoring can make pple pretty nervous.
thanks for the list. I will inform MIL to help monitor for me.
hmmm... dun feel guilty.. sometimes some how.. bb get to fall off somewhere to "grow" :p
actually after the fall I din scold my HB or blame ... cos I know he feel very bad and very heart pain also.. but I can't help it.. when I see bb bruise.. and say oh my poor baby...
and when pple ask.. no choice it's really daddy fault :p
Din your baby has any bum or bruise following the fall??
my baby has a big bruise and she refuse to let me massage thinkit's getting painful now...

SH
Ya...better be careful.. there was once both my hb and I take afternoon and place kaelyn inbetween us... suddenly I woke up and find kaelyn missing.. found her roll till right at the edge of the bed.
it was close shave she never make 1 more flip and she will end up on the floor.
But last sat... just too bad...haizzz...

Cindy
Hows the cutting of PP compare to Mamy Poko?
Kaelyn is still on M size.. I dun mind trying PP. SO you selling $17.50/pack?
where is the collection point?

cookie,
oh dear oh dear...I guess if you r ok with it, can monitor first. but personally, I would bring to PD to ease my worries.

re:me vs MIL & SIL over porridge
i've had it! my silly baby refuses to let me feed her porridge whenever i'm at MIL's. she'll squirm n fuss then i'll pass over to MIL and MIL will succeed in feeding her and feel so proud about it. last fri, i return late, so SIL fed my baby. she also boasted about being able to feed her well! wah..i was fuming mad.

so i told my hb, from now on, I will NOT feed megan porridge at MIL's. Those who can feed her well are welcome to do so. He said I should buy megan some presents lah, then she'll be nice to me. *(&%^$*(!!!!! hello....I spent a total of almost $700 on the stroller and gifts for her at Taka baby fair!!! MIL & SIL never bot her anything!! Told him i feel so 'lao kui' whenever i fail in feeding her porridge n SIL / MIL can do it.

then today megan really tested my patience to the limits at home. she refused porridge in the evening again. tried my best until i give up. then i made cereal for her and she finished all. then she refused to be changed for bed. had to fight with her. then fight with her again to put her to bed...in case you're wondering where's hb, he's having stomachache and in the toilet. (timing always so right)

re: fisher price is not fisher price??
jus went kiddy palace @ Compass Pt to buy a gift for my fren's baby turning 1-mth.

saw a sign stuck at the fisher price (FP) shelf that says free toy basket for purchase of $50 of FP items. So i picked a FP sesame street thing cost above $50. paid, didnt get the free gift. asked sales gal, she replied, oh only for FP items.

duh..i questioned, is mine not FP? she looked at it n said oh ya, but yours is with sesame st. the offer is for FP baby things only. i pointed to the box which says its for birth+...is this not for baby?? then she said, oh its only for those with the red FP logo. again, i pointed to my item with the red FP logo.

at last, she said free gift only for those in THAT shelf directly below the signage! hb was quite mad. frankly it was really silly cos they shld ve indicated clearly on the signage.

before we left, the sales staff offered to give the free item saying, actually not entitled but never mind lah, give you. of cos i rejected it. its not about the free gift. its about the silly signage. gotta put this up on the blog.

Re: Solids
Can I check...do i need to replace solids meal with bb milk feed? I have been giving bb 2 solids meals per day. He will eat quite quickly at the beginning but he will refuse to continue after a while. Thinking that he is full, i stop feeding him.

But then he started fussing. When i gave him FM, he gulped them down....hmmm...can't get him to have a solid meal without milk leh...

Is this normal

Cookie

Poor Kaelyn but dun feel bad, Mel fell off the bed twice b4 also but luckly was unhurt. I guess is part and parcel of growing up lor, as the saying goes, dun fall dun grow up.

Tracy,

I think is prob a case of megan feels comfortable and secure with you to misbehave. My hb also say my girl somehow seems more difficult and troublesome when I'm around.

i am quite moody today .. hb has gone to china.. with is duno what friend.. very sian.. then my msn cannot sign in .. duno what firewall problem.. no matter what i do also cannot.. sian...

i cried the whole night as i felt that hb did not reapect me at all coz he has already decided to go but only tell me on friday night..no mood at alll..

Flo,

no need to pay me first until i got the goods .. thanks

Hi Rena

Hope you have cheer up sightly. Men sometimes are just insensitive lor and also your hb prob didn't want to tell you earlier cos he's afraid that you'll "stop" him from going. I guess it'll take him a while to settle down into fatherhood and not to be so "cheong". Perhaps you should have a heart to heart talk with him, tell him exactly how u feel and explain that it's not easier to handle elijah alone rather than keeping quiet and feel unhappy. With men u really need to tell them straight on the face rather than hoping they'll be able to read your mind. Anyway cheer up and you can always come in here to "vent" your frustration. I'm sure there are alot of us willing to lend a ear.

Flo,
Thanks..hmm..makes me feel better thinking about it this way. Nowadays it is quite evident that she's very happy to see daddy when he comes home. I'm transparent to her. duh...

Rena,
Hey, we're hear to listen anytime you need to talk. *pat pat*

Durianlover,
my gal has been waking up in the middle of the night too... and yes, it takes about an hour to coax her to sleep.... luckily for me, I bought a small armchair and placed it in her room for BF, so when she can't sleep, and needs to see my face, I will just sit in the chair and doze off while waiting for her to zzzzz...

Tracy,
yah, Florence is right, babies are smart, they tend to misbehave more with parents coz they are very comfortable with us... so take it that she is not really comfortable with your SIL and MIL... hee hee...

Rena,

I agreed with Sleepingdeer. We shall leave to bb alone with HB while all mummies go to cheong. Let them know tat handling bb alone at home is not that easy.

cookie / Tabbie,
Wah, I also dunno there are so many different kinds of peas! And I thought those green peas which I have pureed for Isaac were sweet peas. Jialat leh... where to buy sweet peas?

Tracy,
Haha...quite funny, your description of your struggles to feed Megan porridge.

SH,
DO you give solids to your BB close sleep time? For my Isaac, I can only feed him solids when he's not sleepy. Else he'll fuss after a while. And he'll want to drink milk (either from bottl or latch on) instead and then drift off to sleep. So now what I do is to is to give milk as per normal, and then about 1.5 hours later give solids (not a lot, like maybe 3-4 tablespoons). And then another 1.5 to 2 hours later milk. So something like -

7am: milk
8.30am: oatmeal cereal & fruits
10.30am: milk
12 noon: 1 cube puree
1 pm: milk
4 pm: milk
5.30pm: porridge / brown rice cereal & fruit juice
7.30 - 8pm: milk
8.30pm: Bedtime!

Cookie,
Don't feel bad lah.
My Isaac fell down twice, once from my bed, another time from sofa. Both times hit his head on the floor. Also feel very bad... but my HB says we try our best to protect our babies but everyone falls down while growing. As long as it's not a bad fall, take it as part and parcel of growing up. More falls to come!

Rena,
Maybe when your HB comes back, have a good and calm talk with him... Not very good of him to not tell you why and who he went to China with.

Last evening I had a bad quarrel with my HB too.
We were at Eunos and wanted to tapao the famous Still Road black pepper crabs back to my parents' place for dinner. But have to order through phone in advance first. So my HB called my BIL for the no. and when my MIL heard that he's buying the crabs, she also want to eat! My HB told her that not convenient to bring back to Woodlands for them cos we need to go to my parents' place at Jurong West for dinner. OK, so my MIL called my FIL who's driving taxi to bring back for them! My FIL unhappy (he's also somewhere in Jurong), scolded my HB and say what kind of bad attitude is that, don't want to bring crabs back for my MIL. My HB no choice, so end up have to bring the crabs from Eunos, to Woodlands then to Jurong West. We ended up being more than 1 hours late for dinner at my parents' place. Of course I super unhappy loh... don't understand why my MIL die die want to eat the crabs when she knows that my FIL is working and we had to fo to my parents' place from Eunos to Jurong West. End up I'm frustrated, my HB frustrated and we both started swearing at each other. I even use the 'F' word on him... feel quite bad after that.

durianlover, zhimin,
I was also from JJC.
Durianlover, is your hubby Royston or something like that? think he was in my batch, I was from 94S10. ask him if he remembered Mr Sia and Miss Chua (or is it? the chemistry teacher, she is now the vice-principal of JJC).

zhimin,
my MIL cooks brown rice for Clariss everyday, she will soak it in water for 1-2hrs before using the slow cooker to cook it till real soft.

thanks all ,

i count myself luckly that i still have all of you.. my eye totally look like gold fish this morning..

i did a very bad thing i bomb hb hp with nasty sms and make it very sad... he told me that he is just going for business with a friend and felt bad leaving me and bb at home ( duno true or not)
well i really felt bad too coz i told him that i told bb that daddy doesn't want us so if he doesn't go back to sleep mummy will leave also.. supprsing bb went back to sleep.. but hb told me that when he heard these he cried in the cab .. really or not...i dunno...

maybe i really must understand hb lor .. bo bian that i married a business man plus he need to work really hard as we are single income...

queen,
alamak! your MIL is kinda irritating ah, expecting u guys to send the crabs there. no doubt the crabs are terribly yummy (love it very much too!)...haha, swearing at each other?? its normal..

i'm suspecting my baby may be tired at porridge time too. cos she fusses like crazy but no choice, feeding time is as such..but since my MIL & SIL can feed her, then ok lor...(haha, i'm still sore about it)

aiyah, dun tell BB that daddy dun wan him. I dun like this statement cos i feel that it will leave a negative impact on BB.

Like my mum's neighbour, she like to come over and play with Caleb. When i walk over and BB starts crying looking for me, she will say, Mummy dun 1 u liao, all these nonsence. I'm damm pissed with her.
I told my mum, if she is gona say that 1 more time, i'm gona scold her liao.

Rena,
Whatever it is, it's not always the best strategy to use 'emotional blackmail'? Since you HB has apologised, maybe you can say sorry too? Sometimes in a relationship, if both hurt each other, both have to take a step back and say sorry and tell him not to do that again to you? And you won't do the same back to him?

I know it's difficult lah. We can say sorry strangers readily, maybe for bumping into them accidentally or blocking their way... But when it comes to people we love, 'Sorry' is never easy.

Queen,
your MIL really super lah, how can she do that? At least understand that others also have committments to attend to, not everyone so free to buy crabs for her mah...

yah i know .. sept 03 bride,

i was just so angry and really feel like divorcing him at that moment that was why i said that

Hear ya hear ya,

SAHM gathering on two days

a) Tuesday ( 22/08/06)

Outing to the botanic garden...
1) rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb

b) Zoo / sentosa
Thursday 24/08

1) rena + bb

Rena,
Hope you have calmed down already. I know wat you feel. I was so upset when I first learned that my hb is going indonesia. Gave us less than a few days lead time, then he is flying off liao. To make matter worse, supposed to go for 5 days (coming back Fri)....he suddenly called on Thurs to say cannot come back over weekend...got to stay there more. I really broke down & cry coz my bb was being exremely difficult at my mum's place.

Then on that Fri, even worse news hit me...he said he has to go over there all the weekdays (ie he will only be back during weekends) until end Sept!!! All these changes within span of a few days....I got so upset. Though I knew it's not his fault & that he has to work...but i took it out on him anyway. Sigh....my friend told me ok wat..he is coming back over weekend...but i knew better. His boss sure find ways to keep there (even over weekends if possible)

Sure enough...he can't come back next weekend again liao...so upset.

Tracy,

For me, bb is more spoilt when my hb is around. He knows daddy will definitely carry him when he cries....so he utilise it to the fullest. Sigh...can't convince my hb to let him cry for a while...coz i think bb is becoming very spoilt.

When daddy not around, i can put him on the bed & he will just turn around & go to zzz...but when his daddy is around, he wants to be carried to zzz...& will wail if i put him on the bed and the moment he scream, my hb will come in to pick him up. How to discipline bb like dat....(somehow I think he understands already though my hb seems to think he is still a bb who don't understand anything...)

SSF - Nice meeting you! Ooopsss... dun fit??? u mean u din try the size ar..? any buyer yet?

Cookie - oh my god! help me sayang kaelyn.. must have cried her lungs out! Must go home and tell HB so that next time he also will pay more attention when i tell him to 'jaga' celeste.if not, he is just like ur HB, say OK in their dreams only! heehee
hope kaelyn is better now...

Rena - your b going to the zoo/sentosa? i might be clearing my last week of maternity leave... mabbie can join in wor..heehee

Queen - nice meeting u too! ur MIL is behaving like a small kid!
kao_angry.gif
cant she wait for another day? the crabs wont go extinct for her info...

cookie,

poor kaelyn.. how is she feeling now.. your hb must be banging his head right!

queen,

MIL are just one small bb coz they are jealous that your hb is buying crab for you parents..

God's child ,
good we can all go together..

rena
know how you felt. did not fill you up with information and leave you on your own. hope things are all well and when your hb back have a good talk with him how you felt so he understand his action had hurt you.

let me know when to transfer the $ to you okie? thanks!

Hi Cookie,

Poor Kaelyn.

Megan had an accident two weeks ago too. I was having flu and was sleeping away when hubby took care of both gals. He was trying to run a bath for megan and apparently the water was too hot and the shower head overturned, splash some hot water onto megan. She had a big red patch on her thighs and a bister the size of a ten cents coin.

I didn't scold hubby too cos i think he felt worst of all......... Anyway Megan is all right now except for the bister.... hopefully it doesn;t leave a scar.

It's getting more and more fun with baby. Whenever my mum brings Megan down for a walk, my mum will teach megan to look out for the storey sign eg. 3rd storey etc. So now whenever we walk pass and ask megan where is no. 3, she will automatically turn her head towards the signage.

And whenever she has a hankie on hand and if we said Hello, she will put the hankie onto her ear. So funny right? Ha Ha.

queen
haizzz your MIL is so not sensible. want means want. cant wait for another day meh?? you n your hb cool off already...

SH
wow your hb's boss really something! i will be upset too if i were you, on top of taking care of your bb. on another hand, can tell that his boss cant do withdo your hb haha =p *pat pat*

cookie
hope kaelyn is well good now! ya your hb sure is scolding himself and will be super careful in the future.

Sept bride
My MIL also say such thing with bb.. esp.. when we go out of the house.. sometimes bb cry.. MIL will carry bb and say.. aiyo.. papa dun want u har, oh papa dun bring you har.. so "chai liang" - in cantonese...
though she dun mean it.. but I never correct her so far..

Rena
Glad you feel more postive now... yes you have us.. come in here to pour out your unhappiness.
Ya sometimes I suppose, we jus have to believe that our hb will try to be there for us when he can.
Last time.. when hb work late and miss a date with me.. i will get really pissed and angry..well now probably still kekeke.. but I read somewhere, we just have to believe that our HB feel bad too and trust that he will be with us if it is possible but rice bowl still must take care.

tracy
I will be very sore too.. if MIL and SIL boost like yours!!!
Last friday I'm on leave!! and I SHOW my MIL how to make fruit puree for baby...
and I also feed baby with MIL.. wow Thankfully kaelyn very coorperative... she eat willing

and MIL say if she feed, kaelyn sure fuss alot and refuse..MIL say kaelyn bully her..
Good news.. MIL actually learn to use my hand held blender to make puree for Kaelyn, am so much happier now.

Your descrition abt hb in toilet tummy ache very funny... it happen all the time to my HB too!! now before he go poo.. must inform me cos without inform me and I look for him and he is pooing I will suan him jialat jialat one..hehehe

Queen
me too.. din know so many type of pea. if u know where to buy sweet pea.. let me know too.

hmm.. hope you feel better now. When I quarrel with HB most of time after that I feel bad la cos I very explosive one.. hahaha.. and can get really fierce but my HB is those quite type.. but when he talk.. very sacrastic one and that even irk me more.

Re: quarrel with HB
was telling mummies.. next month will be our 10th yr anniversary...but my HB like nothing in mind.. in fact he thinking of go thru it quitely.
The only sentence he gave me is.. "NO Money"
wow lau.. I very sad and angry and told him.. if thats what he think.. there is nothing I can do.. but dun blame me for bad attitude after that since he dun treasure the decade with me anyway.
very depressing lor.. after a decade.. only tell me No $$$.. but lotsa things not money can buy rite. I'm not even asking for expensive gifts or holidays. Just a little suprise will make me very happy mah...haiZzz

Re: poor kaelyn
Bad things ALL come together for Kaelyn this week.
(1) Runny/blokc nose
(2) 6in1 jab ( consider bad cos painful mah, oh but very brave she din even fuss)
(3) Crawl and fell of the bed, forehead big brusie
(4) Constipation - MIL say worst then giving birth.
really must sayang her tonight.. although she wake up at 3am last nite to play and refuse to sleep.. Faint..and I lost my patience.

Re: Complain abt MIL
Few item to complaint...
MIL come and see the big blue black on Kaleyn forehead.. wow talk so loud, Aiyo I take care of her alone so long also never let her fell ah... why 1 weekend like that... blah blah blah...
"Good" it's my HB fault... so I told her it's my HB and she NEVER make a sound infront of my HB again. Irritating...

Baby constipation:
MIL called me few times this morning.. all to tell me Kaelyn having Constipation.
1st call - Aiyo the small one cannot poopoo.. so "Chai leong" cry so bad... WHAT YOU FEED HER?
NEVER GIVE WATER?...accusation.. I damn fedup.

I call her back - told her can give papaya and also can give her the fruits at home.. like pear and kiwi.
Told her to stop carrot ( someone said cos constipation)

2nd call - Purposely call and let me hear HOW badly Kaelyn cry...when call come thru.. kaelyn cry loudly int he back ground, she actually PASS the call to Kaelyn and say.. na mummy mummy...
let her cry for like 10-20 sec.. take back call and tel me how "Chai Leong" bb is...
IRRITATING!!!...
I ask her.. why she doing this?.. what she wan me to do? by getting me ti listen?
MIL.. yell loudly into the phone.. ha? ha? ha?
Old folk getting deaf??
So I kept quite even though she say hello.. cos I know whatever I say.. she will respond with a super LOUD ha?
finally she hang up.. feel satisfy?..she has successfully make me heart pain??

Whats wrong with my MIL????!!! bang head.
Why cant she save the time calling me and letting kaelyn cry to do something constructive by helping bb to complete her business...

Yuki,
yes yes, it's getting quite fun with the babies at this age aside from their tantrums.

i like to put the hanky on meg's head. she will smile at me like saying,'aiya, play this again??' then she'll pull it off.

she has a habit of looking at those incense burner hanging above the neighbours along the corridor at my MIL's. she will have to look at them every night when we are going home..

SH,
i tried the method of letting meg cry out so i dun ve to pat her to sleep too. but everytime we try it, will end up with her crying till she vomits out her previous meal, dirtying the bedsheet...so more work for us to change sheets n clothes.

juz happened last night too. so...i always resort to patting her to bed.haiz..

Thanks.. God's child, yuki, rena and all mummies.. ya Kaelyn seems ok.. will monitor a few more days to be safe.

Rachel
my Hb has been so patient and attentive after the incident.. think he also very heart pain la..

rena
darn... my HQ internal auditor is here this week, wish I could take leave and bring my kaelyn out...dun think my irritating boss will let me go

but zoo and botanic garden is soo cool place to bring baby.
Must organise again ok.

Re: cry baby
is any baby become like this lately?
Around 4-5 mths...kaelyn is very well behave.. she hardly cry unless really uncomfortable.
Come 6 mths..for past 2-3 weeks.. she is very cry baby, see stranger cry, stranger ( my firend) say Hello cry, leave her in chair watch TV, I go Kitchen also cry.. little bit of things cry.. is this normal? wake up in the middle of the ntie..cry also...
For past few days.. give her speical cos she is unwell and fell off bed..

Re: The similac follow on offer that Tabbie mentioned some time back
Any mummy keen to share? I worry that 14 tins too much for one bb ;p (though he is drinking up the FM pretty quickly! Faintz...stopped breastfeeding then realise FM cost so much...). I am getting my bro to help order. So let me know if anyone keen to share. Probably will deliver to my MIL place at Balestier but I stay in the east. So when hb come back from trip, I will be back at pasir ris.

Tabbie, thanks for the info. I only finally managed to get my bro to call them...:)

Just a refresher...this was posted by Tabbie :
"I just checked with abbott about the price.. apparently the 27.30 is without GST... so the price for 14 tins is about 344, and that works out to abt 24.57 per tin.. sorry didn't realise that the price the lady gave me was without GST... but there's free delivery. Can get within 2 working days. As for the reliability.. u will be getting straight from the distributor for abbot.. "

cookie
cool cool...... wah piang your MIL really.......
know you very heart pain. go take a walk to washroom or to the pantry...... cool yourself off first okie?

later call your MIL and talk to her and also to check on your darling.