(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Melb U,
No la, I'm from boring NUS for my degree and NTU for my post grad. Was in Melb for a month after graduation and stayed in my friend's home in Melb. Drove around alot there cuz my friend's flatmate has a car and he works only at night, so I get to use the car for free during the day. At night if we need to use the car, just send his friend to Crown to work and fetch him home when he off at 2am. My Hb and I went to Dendanong Ranges and Yarra Valley for our honeymoon so, we get to drive there again. If u girls ever go Melb again, must drive through Black Spur. BEAUTIFUL stretch of roads with mountain ash around u and long lazy curves. Very scenaric.

Anyway, here's some photos to share :

PIcture of Ariene sitting on the stairs and my precious orchid
490789.jpg
490790.jpg

picture of her at meal time
490791.jpg
490792.jpg

Applied passport for Lucas today. Hope his photo can pass, had to disable the flash as he kept blinking so photo is not sharp... think he got big boy look already. How time flies!

encounter85,
My boy did not gain any weight for the last month. He just turned 7 mths today too. In fact, he lost some weight a few weeks back but thankfully managed to gain back in the last 2 week or so. But the zero weight gain this month also meant that he has dropped in his percentile.

490802.jpg

Encounter,

My girl (above above) has just turned 7 months and she's 7.1kg (25 percentile), 67cm (50 percentile). Her weight has been hovering around 6.9kg to 7.2kg. Only once, she has constipation and and lots of poo stuck inside her, did her weight shoot up to 8.1kg. However, after she managed to purge her bowels, her weight shrank back to 7.1kg. Just brought her to the PD on sat for rashes. My PD says she has my slim genes and since both my husband and I are not the big size type, it is unlikely Ariene will be big.

Aussie,
Been to aussie many times for holiday - Perth (+Albany, Fremantle), Melbourne (+Victoria, Phillip Island), Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast. Liked Perth and Melbourne best so far. Perth is pretty laid back and slow paced, compared to Melbourne. Didn't really like Sydnet, Brisbane or Cairns. If we can save up enough money, would go to the wineries and mountains in Vic again.

Cindy,
Yes, it was THAT much.. Poor Ariene, she was crying in pain when she pooed it out and I was so flustered when I saw her anus bleeding, I didn't know what to do. Tried helping her "push" the poo out by pulling the poo but the poo was hard like biscuit! Then my hubby took over and helped her "squeeze" the poo out while I comfort and hug my poor darling who was screaming in pain. My heart felt so pain to see her cry like that
I don't ever want to see that episode again, so, now, I'm very careful with what I feed her.

wow just 1 day never read ... so many to catch up.
Looks like the gathering is lotsa fun.. too bad I can't join.

tracy/God child/sunny
thanks for your advice on runny nose.
Kaelyn is better today.. when come back no more runny.
Sunny.. without aircon she already perspire like dunno what.. without fan?? I on #1 power for fan.. her head was wet in her cot and she fuss.. I on #2.. she settle down.. so now I on #2 but let the fan circulate in the room not blow direct.

Wendy
I will be very worried too.. very likely I will be crying with my bb...glad to know Ariene is ok now

Wendy,
Oh my, poor Ariene! How's her poo now, softer?
She looks so happy in the pics.

Actually, what is it that makes the poo so hard? Cos I think our babies are mainly on fruits and veges right?

Sophia, Esther,
Keenan also has that cow print bodysuit from Mothercare...haha

I like the idea of picniking at Botanical Gardens. Maybe we can also coincide it with a classical music concert/performance too?

*Updates*
Mini-Gathering at tabbiesus'@ Holland Village, 23rd September 2.30pm (max. 15 families)
1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) tabby + hb + bb
13) linda + hb + bb
14) sleepingdeer + hb + bb
15) wenyl + hb + bb

Food - do you all want to share the costs of food? if pot luck, must bring portion for 20 pple instead of 30 as if each one brings something, sure have lots of left-overs!
1) Famous Shunfu muffins (Rena ordering)
2) Tiong Bahru bao and lor mai kai (MamaChan getting)
3) The Sandwich Shop sandwich platter (Denmy)
4) Drinks (Any mummies wanna bring drinks? I can bring tea bags (Camomile/mint/apple).

SSF
Have been to Perth total 4 times cos hb (then bf) stayed there for a year. I think the craziest thing we did was to drive from Perth city to albany back to perth city within 1 day!!!

Have also been to Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast and Tasmania. Prob bcos there are too many racist aussie in my co, am quite anti Australia now. Find most of their cities are not vibrant and their tourist attractions are a pale comparison to the US.

*Updates*
Mini-Gathering at tabbiesus'@ Holland Village, 23rd September 2.30pm (max. 15 families)
1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) tabby + hb + bb
13) linda + hb + bb
15) wenyl + hb + bb

Food - do you all want to share the costs of food? if pot luck, must bring portion for 20 pple instead of 30 as if each one brings something, sure have lots of left-overs!
4) Drinks (Any mummies wanna bring drinks? I can bring tea bags (Camomile/mint/apple).
5) Cupcakes ( esther )

Encounter85,

My gal also didn't put on any weight for one month when she turned 6 months old. Brought her to PD and PD prescribed multi-vit and polycose for her. PD said baby's appetite may be affected when they are teething.

cookie
ya, my gal also perspires even with fan on and circulate. but, now, she knows how to flip already, i am not so worry. 'cos if she feels hot, she can always flip to another side or change to other cooling part in the cot. :p

Sophia,
Thanks for coordinating. Usual, I'll bring the drinks. Packet or can drinks? The last gathering i brought 60packets. Were there lots of leftovers? I was thinking for 30pax I'll bring 120packets? Or if you all prefer can drinks, I'll bring 80 cans? Cos I think like Coke, most can't stomach more than 2 cans?

*Updates*
1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) tabby + hb + bb
13) linda + hb + bb
15) wenyl + hb + bb

4) Drinks (Tracy) Mamachan bring tea bags (Camomile/mint/apple).
5) Cupcakes ( esther )

I'll bring packet drinks....

1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) tabby + hb + bb
13) linda + hb + bb
15) wenyl + hb + bb

4) Drinks (Lisa) I can bring tea bags (Camomile/mint/apple).
5) Cupcakes ( esther )

cookie,
glad to hear kaelyn's beta now. I always feel perspiring helps.

Re:poo Poo Everywhere
This morning, left megan in her cot while we prepare for work. i heard her crying, went to peep and omigod!!! her poo spill out from diapers, got onto the bed, her bolster, her clothes and her cheek!! our friend was rolling in poo!

well, clean her up, remove all the covers to wash...hahaha

Re: 'M'
last evening Megan said "M" several times, amusing all of us. it sounds like 'Ah mmmm" (old woman). *chuckle**

re:silly blog
well, still having problems posting pictures aside from using Picasa, so I've resorted to emailing blogger support. waiting for their response. tried creating a new blog to see if its my blog setttings prob, but the new blog also has the same problems. so...guess i'll jus wait.

Hi Wendy,
poor Ariene, so glad she managed to poo, have to say we are all anxious mummies, I get panicky too when Shannon strains and nothing appears... nowadays, I make sure she gets at least 200ml of water and fruit juice on alternative days.... that seems to help.

my mum would go crazy seeing your orchids, Wendy, she also loves growing orchids and snaps photos of her beauties... though my dad and me also tease her coz she doesn't really have a green thumb...

Queen,
I read that rice can be constipating, can you imagine? Some more we feed her rice every day! So now, instead of rice cereal, I give her oatmeal or barley cereal, and she has her daily porridge.

oops, posted same time as sleepingdeer and we both offered to bring drinks...*grinz*

Sleepingdeer,
r u buying the drinks from retail shops? cos i can get from my dad at cost price from the drinks supplier.

I'll bring spring rolls then since Tracy is getting the drinks...

1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) tabby + hb + bb
13) linda + hb + bb
15) wenyl + hb + bb

4) Drinks (Tracy) I can bring tea bags (Camomile/mint/apple).
5) Cupcakes ( esther )
6) Spring rolls

mornie all,
caleb woke up suddenly at 11+pm last nite and cried.Duno what happen..but we managed to pacify him and he slept through till 6am and wait up for his milk

Gathering:
what else should i bring?

Blog pics:
Tracy, i can see ur pics leh.. wats the prob that u have

Mini GAthering - Food

Wow! Thanks ladies for volunteering the food. Denmy, thanks for sponsoring the sandwiches, for a moment I nearly forgot you own The Sandwich Shop! Hahaha. I think that's quite alot of food for high-tea, what do you mummies think? 5 types of food on the list so far.

dear mummies,
would love to join in the gathering but i've got a fren's wedding to coordinate on 23rd Sept!! Sigh, never seem to be able to make it for all the gatherings!

cookie,
Glad to hear Kaelyn is better. What do u give to stop her runny nose? i suspect Janelle might hv slight runny nose too...either that or her saliva blows up to her nose so i can't really tell whether it's her drool or mucus!

tracy,
Haha janelle can also say Mmm and i agree, it sounds really funny! She also cries "baa baa"..as though singing baa baa black sheep and crying at the same time.

wendy,
Oh my! Almost 1 kg of poo??!! so poor thing! There was once Janelle also got constipation and poo-ed till anus was bleeding...PD gave me some ointment to apply on her anus.

encounter85,
Yah i agree with the rest - better to check with PD. We're not experts here! My gal at 7months weighs about 7.5kg (i think! very long never weigh her already).

Sept03,
those i've published is ok. Its when i'm in the process of uploading, after click done, its not shown in preview at all. totally blank.

Hi all Christian mommies,

Just want to share something that happen to me this morning:

I was travelling in the train on my way to work this morning and was listening to my ipod. The song 'In Your Hand' (All things are possible' album) came up and i was enjoying the song and listening carefully to the lyrics...

I'm so secure
You're here with me
You stay the same
Your love remains
Here in my heart

So close, i believe
You're holding me now in your Hands i belong
You'll never let me go

You gave your life
In your endless love
You set me free
And show the way
And now i am found

All along,
You were beside me
Even when i couldn;t tell
Thru the years
You show me more of you
More of you

The song touches me and i suddenly felt God's
prescence and love surrounding me.

I am reminded of God's uncondition love and how no matter what happen, He is always so willing to offer a comforting hands and resting place for us to rest. He is always so faithfully even when we are not.

I feel like a child all over again, resting in God's arms. And i think about my role as a working mother, wife, child and realise that I can't do all these by myself all the time. When we talk about recharging ourselves physically and mentally, taking a coffee break, God reminded me that i need to recharge spiritually too by resting in His prescence and enjoying his peace and be connected to Him. I am a mother to my children, God is a Father to me. I am always so concerned about my children but God is and
can do so much more...cos as human I make mistakes as parents but God never make mistake.

It is such a wonderful feeling to be dwelling in God's prescence knowing that i am safe in His arms, well taken care of, knowing that i can always fall back to God anytime..... We need to know that we are being nurtured, love and guided, even thou technically speaking i am a grown up adult.

God is just so good.

wendy,

that really sounds bad.... must be very heartpain for you.

encounter,

my gal's weight gain slowed tremendously in 6 -7 mths. PD said it's okay since she was in the 90 percentile previously.

Hihi, i think the food on the list now is more than enough! heehee so many to choose from! anyway its for hi-tea so there sure will be lots of left-overs. im fine with sharing the cost of the food.

rena, btw you mentioned after our last swimming gathering there are some balance left right? then can use it to off-set the cost for the mummies who are in this gathering too yah? pls advise. thanks!

sophia, how many mats you think we need?I will bring my bumper playmat =) and yes you need to get only paper/card boards for our babies foot printing session? i see whether i get get some =p

1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) tabby + hb + bb
13) linda + hb + bb
15) wenyl + hb + bb

1) Famous Shunfu muffins (Rena)
2) Tiong Bahru bao and lor mai kai (MamaChan)
5) Cupcakes ( esther )
6) Spring rolls (sleepingdeer)

Bumper Playmat
1) Rachel

Re: Healthytimes BB cereals

I'm mommy in April thread. My gal's 4M+ now n wants to start a bit of brown rice cereals / oatmeal cereals for her.

Wonder if any of u mommies ve tried healthytimes brand?

How to prepare a bit for the bb to taste?

Can pm me n advice me please...

BLurred mommy

RE: constipation

Humm looks like most bb have constipation, my gal is the opp, she still poo poo many times a day (sometimes 5-6 times). Any baby experiencing the same thing? End last week/early this week was so worried thot she had diarrhoea. But she has no fever nor showing signs of unwell, appetite still as good??? Also dun noe what's wrong, itz the formula milk that we added to the breastmilk or cos of the frozen BM (as I was on biz trip last week)? Anyway emailed my PD the stool pic and said could be due to more fibre being introduced to her diet now. Like sleepingdeer I dun give her rice cereal since she take brown rice porridge in the evening, I'll give oatmeal or multi-grain cereal.

Flo,
I had the same problem with my bb last time. No fever just poo many times suddenly for about 2 weeks. When i asked YY Yip, he said it's a mild case of diarrhoea. Probably put some dirty things into his mouth. He said never mind one...it's ok so long as bb still eating, playing & happy. :)

poo & constipation
Thanks for all your concerns. That terrifying episode was 2 weeks ago. Now she is ok already, except whenever she never poo for just 1 day, I'll start panicking. I suspect her constipation is caused by the brown rice porridge I fed her on Saturday. Then, after that, she didn't poo, I fed her apples during the weekdays. In the end, she didn't poo for a straight 6 days. Then the next saturday morning, I noticed got poo like stucked at the end of her anus. She was straining to push but the poo just got stuck there, refusing to come out. Then, by noon, she was crying and crying and that's how the "pulling poo" episode came about. Anyway, my girl cant take apples and brown rice. She poos soft, light green poo if she takes pears, yellow fibrous poo if she eats bananas and smelly, sticky black poo if she eats sweet potato.

something my mum sent me and I want to share with u, esp fellow teachers :

Bill Gates recently gave a speech at a High School about 11 things they
did not and will not learn in school. He talks about how feel-good,
politically correct teachings created a generation of kids with no
concept of reality and how this concept set them up for failure in the
real world.

Rule 1: Life is not fair - get used to it!

Rule 2: The world won't care about your self-esteem. The world will expect you to accomplish something BEFORE you feel good about yourself.

Rule 3: You will NOT make $60,000 a year right out of high school. You won't be a vice-president with a car phone until you earn both.

Rule 4: If you think your teacher is tough, wait till you get a boss.

Rule 5: Flipping burgers is not beneath your dignity. Your Grandparents had a different word for burger flipping: they called it opportunity.

Rule 6: If you mess up, it's not your parents' fault, so don't whine about your mistakes, learn from them.

Rule 7: Before you were born, your parents weren't as boring as they are now. They got that way from paying your bills, cleaning your clothes and listening to you talk about how cool you thought you were. So before you save the rain forest from the parasites of your parent's generation, try delousing the closet in your own room.

Rule 8: Your school may have done away with winners and losers, but life HAS NOT. In some schools, they have abolished failing grades and they'll give you as MANY TIMES as you want to get the right answer. This doesn't bear the slightest resemblance to ANYTHING in real life.

Rule 9: Life is not divided into semesters. You don't get summers off and very few employers are interested in helping you FIND YOURSELF. Do that on your own time.

Rule 10: Television is NOT real life. In real life people actually have
to leave the coffee shop and go to jobs.

Rule 11: Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.

Wendy

How true. Thanks for posting this.

Re: Constipation
My boy used to have solid hard rock-like poo after he started on solids. Now if he didn't poo for 2 days, we feed him papaya. Then the poo will come out.

mashy

I did that too.. and boy.. did the poo smell of papaya and turn orange!!!

now my girl poo almost daily or once a day.. like adult.. every am wake up and sit on potty reading story books.. haha.. training for later... :p

I give her barley water, barley cereal instead of brown rice, or papaya to help if she dun poo daily...

mashy, tabbi
actually, pear (ang mo pear, not chinese pear) and bananas can do the trick too. too much papaya also not very good so I alternate between these 3 to help in her bowels.

rena and other moms who had confinement ladies
My friend's wife now 3 months, want to engage a confinement nanny. I remember some of u here got confinement nannies, u mind PM me the contacts of your nannies or recommend a nanny?

me long time never log in as jus change job so very busy adapting...

can i check how to clean bb ear as i feel he is alway scatching...

also any bb still have those blue-black mark on the buttock and back?

Hi Sophia
I dun know what to bring, perhaps I can bring some otah?

1) MamaChan + hb + bb
2) Tracy + hb + bb
3) Sept03bride + hb+ bb
4) Rachel + hb + bb
5) Celine + bb
6) God's child + hb+ bb
7) Esther + hb + bb
8) ling ling + hb + bb
9) SH + hb + bb
10) rena + hb +bb
11) Denmy + hb + bb
12) tabby + hb + bb
13) linda + hb + bb
15) wenyl + hb + bb

1) Famous Shunfu muffins (Rena)
2) Tiong Bahru bao and lor mai kai (MamaChan)
5) Cupcakes ( esther )
6) Spring rolls (sleepingdeer)
7) Otah (Ling)

Bumper Playmat
1) Rachel

Hi Pochacco
My gal also have Blue black mark (slightly, very mild) at her back too. My niece who is 15months now, also have very light blue black mark..wonder if its common?

sunny
the funny or frustrating thing is now..even kaelyn know how to flip.. after she flip on to her four, she seems like forget how to flip back and start crying.. maybe she just feel insecure and cry for attention. I'm still trying correct this part of her.

Durianlover
I let her sleep without aircon for 1 nite and the next day she was better, on top of that we apply chest rub on her.. Oh my, my MIL applied alot cos I see a big den in the chest rub, I got a shock but bb was ok.. so nevermind.
At nite we continue to apply.. but unfortunaetly the 2nd nite.. kaelyn just immpossible to sleep maybe too hot so I On the air con but make it 26-27 degree...
the next day runny came back abit..haizzz...
but went to PD for jab.. he says its very mild and he procced with the jab

Re: bb progress
today brought kaelyn for her final 6in1 jab..
6 mths 3weeks she is 8.2KG and 71cm tall. PD says she is a tall baby that is why she doesn't look chubby at all.
from 4mth 3weeks till today which is abt 2 mths.. kaelyn only gain abt 450g.. I asked PD abt it.. he just comment an AVE 1yr bb gal weigh 9KG and kaelyn is only 6 mth.. already 8.2kg so not to worry.
hmm.. perhaps I'm too over -worry but alot of time I feel kaelyn is feeding and eating so little but after talking to PD he always it's ok.
Sometimes I really find him a bit chin chye..

Thanks YUKI for sharing

tracy
wow megan.. poopoo very violent!! so massive?
was the diaper not wore properly?
I suppose megan din sleep in aircon?
err.. never wear long pant for sleep too just wear diaper? how come poopoo will leak all over the place..
paisey.. very amaze how poopoo can leak all over :p
Cos I very phobia abt poopoo leakage too..

like to ask a question, Christa is on TBF and I intend to start her on formula, how should I go about doing? Should I mix EBM with formula? how much to mix? 50-50, or should it be per feed? ie replace 1 feed fully with formula?

RE: pregnancy kit

Krissie, Wendy Ng, angeline, durianlover..

your kits are with me.. so when will you be collecting them from me?