(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Clare,
Wah... I got ripped off at Paragon Market Place for the Jap biscuits. Get from NTUC the next time... I checked the label, got sugar and salt... but I think the occasional treat should be ok hor?

Joanna,
Glad to know that James has good appetite, that should put your mind at ease

Wenyl,
Hooray! Got the leappad books. Let us know when to collect and pay. Thanks!!

cookie,
Be patient and maybe try a few more types of food. I think Kaelyn could be too impatient and especially when she knows she can have milk.

I have tried many varieties of commercial jar puree. So far the brand 'Organic Baby' Spinanch and Rice is the yummiest - both baby and I love it! Much tastier than HT. I got it from the shop selling Earth's Best Organic Cereals at Forum. The Heinz ones are very watery and textured while the ones from Gerber are more finely pureed (but quite tasteless).

Maybe you can get a few jars to try... I am super lazy so been giving commercially prepared food. Hope its not too unhealthy. Only egg yolk, beef, apple and papaya are made 'in home'... even juices I get the Heinz one... very terrible hor.

Here's a list which I got from PD wrt food allergies:

Least likely (to be introduced from 4th mth)
Rice, pear, prunes, carrot, apple, pork

Occasionally cause (to be introduced from 6th mth)
Barley, apricot, beef, wheat, plum, spinanch, cabbage, ost, banana, chicken, peach, broccoli, lamb, turnip, potato, cherry, corn, fish

most likely (to be introduced from 9th mth)
berries, cow's milk, legumes

highly allergenic (to be introduced from 12th mth)
seafood, peanuts, egg white

Flo
Ok thanks.. today I feed her organic jar food for a change.. sweet potatoes, tho she give funny face but at least eat more then usual.
yes I have to find out what she likes...

As a FTWM.. dun have the luxury of time to be with bb for every feed.. only on weekends.. so hmm can be difficult to find out her liking but will try even if taking more time..

Queen
Ok noted.. think I will do that too.
will feed her milk first then serve semi-solid.
oh btw.. the spoon I'm using now is super small one...take a few half spoonful is just very very little in quantity.

Sleeping deer
Ya this morning I also return to basic.. just cereal and milk, she eat a few more mouth but start fussing soon.

Rena
kaelyn only started semi-solid 2 weeks ago mah.. so lotsa things never intro so dun wan to into fish and meat yet. I check with PD already, he also suggest start meat and fish later like 7-8 mths and I also read from wholesomefood.com... better to start fish and meat 8-10months.. so I just follow lor.

But seems like Kaelyn is choosy over taste I suspsect.. cos even feed her sweet stuff she still dun like...
Perhaps like Flo say.. she need time to accept... think I ust got to try harder.

Cindy
Thanks.. will go check it out.

Re: GAIA
Mummies who uses GAIA... just wodnering do you find the bath and body wash pretty slippery and lotsa form?...
It's suppose to be SLS or SFS free.. so I'm suprise to see got lotsa form. I only put 2 drops in the bath tub.

RE: 3-in-1 TOMY toy
Was telling some of u in MSN...Bought this at Taka Baby Fair last year

480952.jpg

Step 1 (6mth) - Activity Board
Step 2 (10mth) - Learn to Walk support
Step 3 (up to 3 yrs) - Tricycle with a bucket to contain toys (move using legs)

Hope got better bargain this yr.. me eyeing for this one

480953.jpg

queen,
haha.. think we only met for like 10secs.
I can recognise you coz I "see" you before thru your forum pics posting.

ccokie
yup, diff bb likes diff stuff. Ger likes HT brown rice with FM the most, next is with EBM. Now, I'm trying to wean him off milk in his cereal and giving porr with veg / fish, etc. For veg, he likes pumpkin, brocoli, sweetcorn. U can try the Heinz bottled organic veg (golden mash). he likes that to be added to his porr. He doesnt take porr cooked with veg.. must add more puree on top. v fussy bb. My MIL says my hb was v fussy, refusing to eat porr, only drank milk till abt 1+/ 2yrs old?? so, I must put in more effort loh.

joanna
glad that james is ok!

may
jamie is so cute!

re: semi solid
ladies, what's lentils?
i m trying to give my gal as many variety as possible. but shall we still stick to 3 days 1 food rule to test if bb has food allergies?

long time never log in!

may,
Jamie's really sooo cute & sweet! Hee

And how much did u buy that toy at the Taka fair last year? It looks cool and i'm interested! ha.

Good morning mummies.
Sian... Monday.

My Isaac is back to waking up 2 times a night for milk... Dunno why is that? When I was giving cereals for 5-6pm feeds, he could last from 9pm to 5am. This is sustainable for more than 2 weeks. But for the past week, he wakes up at 1am and again at 5am. Not sure if this has to do with switching the evening feeds from cereals to porridge? Cos he's not as receptive to porridge compared to cereals. Never finishes his porridge.

sunny,

lentils is call bian dou .. looks like indian dahl..

Cookie ,

oh you only started two weeks then you really have to go slow.. coz the first few weeks of intro she will only take few mouth and milk will be necessary..
never give feed when she is super hungry.. .. jia you..

sunny,

lentils is call bian dou .. looks like indian dahl..

Cookie ,

oh you only started two weeks then you really have to go slow.. coz the first few weeks of intro she will only take few mouth and milk will be necessary..
never give feed when she is super hungry.. .. jia you..

megan loved my mum's porridge - carrot and fish. haiz..looks like hb n i gotta improve our porridge taste. but she loved the apple i pureed.

Joanna,
glad to hear all is well!

Wenyl,
re:leappad book
i can collect from your place on weekday nights if convenient. Thanks!

cookie,
my fren's gal who is now 1yr plus, used to hate porridge too when she was 6mths. my fren had to stock up on jar food (expensive wor!)... but eventually she took to porridge when she was almost 1yr old. so i guess it takes time, don't give up.

re:dream feeding milk
my aunt said her colleague dream fed her baby milk and now he is 4yrs old, got 6 tooth decaying! she said is due to dream feeding..is that true??

queen,
could Isaac be teething? i can see abit of white appearing in megan's gums and last night, i had to wake up at 1am, 2.45am, 3.45am, 4.30am...yawn!!! she was fussing when her pacifier dropped. normally she'll jus sleep thru when it drops..guess teething need something to chew.

my darling hb could sleep thru leh..was even talking to himself! i heard someone talking so i woke up and saw him waving in the air and saying 'hello!' in the voice that he uses when talking to megan. then he went back to sleep.. play too much in the day!

Tracy,
I thought yah... maybe he could be teething. But the thing is I can't feel any teeth coming out with my fingers, though I though when latch on, his gums feel a bit rough. But when he wakes up, it's not like he needs something to bite on or what cos when I latch him on, he just drink. Sometimes I get so tired, I'll de-latch him before he comes off himself and out him back to bed. And he can just sleep right away...
Heehee... your description of HB is so funny!
My Hb also sleep like a pig. Nowadays when Isaac waks up in the middle of the night, he'll 'call' us very loudly from his room and I'm amazed that my HB cannot hear him at all!

queen and Tracy,
hmm, Shannon woke up yesterday night as well, 12 midnight, and started wailing like nobody's business... didn't want to latch on, didn't want pacicifer, had a hard tme calming her down... took about nearly a hour before I managed to pat her and carry and she fell asleep, but the moment I put her down, woke up again.... I thought it was teething and applied some teething gel, it seems to work for 5min then she started again.... sian..... I hope it won't be like that every night from now onwards!

Cookie,
yah lah, 2 weeks still very early, give her time... initally Shannon just spits out all the food we give her... took her awhile to take it...

Rena,
like that lar, it's okie, I will wait and see when Toy R Us have sale for Leapfrog... that time was $79, should have gotten it!

damien refused to drink milk.
his last feeding was last nite around 8pm..
and till more than 12hrs, he still not drinking.
abit worries..he still act like normal except from drinking milk.

any mummies here encouter before.

Sunny,
heehee... no lah. No #2 this year. Just thinking of buying cos cheap mah.
Next year definitely want to wear... hahah

Hi Tracy,

Yes it's possible. Like i share before, to brush babies teeth once their teeth is out.

My elder gal ashley has four tooth decay (top four front teeth) and we had just been to NDC to fill out 3 cavities and extract one tooth. The decay is called bottle tooth decay. Drinking milk to sleep seems to be the cause.

HAd to put my gal under GA to carry out the procedure and it cost $675..... Pte Clinic quoted us $2500.

Hi tracy,

May help i guess. Best is still to brush?

My niece also drink to sleep but she don;t have the problem. Think it's also the 'condition' of the baby's teeth?

Upcoming Mini-Gathering
Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill (Limited to 10 families as house not big enough)

When and time: 13th August (Sun) 3pm.

1)MamaChan + hb + bb (has bumper playmat at home)
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat) (13th Aug)
3)Tracy + hb + bb (anyday)
4)Cookie + hb + bb
5)Sychua + hb + bb
6) REna + hb + bb
7)god's child + hb + bb
8)nora(ling) + hb + bb

Mummies attending, I'll sms/pm you my address. Looking forward to see all your babies this Sunday. I'll provide some light refreshments, namely the famous Tiong Bahru Bao and Lor Mai Kai.

Thanks for the encouragement. Baby had so much fun when we went back home on sat. Like i mentioned, he slept at 8.30pm & knock out flat. Put him in the cot at 12plus. Ke ke...he wait up & scream coz he wanted to sleep with me on the big bed. Brought him over & he knock out all the way till nearly 8am! So good! Long time nv get such a good zzz.

However, brought him back to my mum's place yesterday nite...he kept waking up to cry again. Sighz...now me down with cough & headache. Hope it doesn't pass on to baby....

babylon
Was told that if baby suddenly has poor appitite COULD mean the teeth is cutting soon but to be sure, especially if there's fever 38deg and above, better go see PD. It can be quite a sudden loss of appetite but once the teeth has cut through, appetite should go back to normal. Another thing could be damien is constipated or tummy too much wind.

Thanks all mummies..advice and encouragement on the solid feeding again.
Ok I will be very patient.. realy hope to see kaelyn enjoy her cereal and porridge very soon.

Last ntie feed her orgainc sweet potatoes jar.. she give funny faces and shake her head but manage to eat more spoons before she fuss.
But she like to drink water in bwtee 2-3 spoon of solid.. maybe she wan to flush the taste away.. hmmm...

Think I will back to basic and give her more time.

Queen..
I like the 14.50 one..the 2 for $20 also nice..
But dunno should buy now or not... hmm...

From TanLengLeng Spree :

Extracted from http://www.youngagain.info/cgi-bin/product.cgi?id=2124

Papaw Ointment: Made from the fruit of the most wonderful tree in the world! Papaw or Papaya we all know as a delicious fruit, but the beneficial qualities of Papaw greatly aid the skin. Lucas Papaw Ointment may be used as a local topical application on the following:

Acne, both teen and adult
Abscesses and boils,
Bruises and burns,
Carbuncles and chafings,
Cuts and cysts,
Dry and Cracked skin on hands and feet,
Gravel rash and heat rash,
Insect stings and mosquito bites,
Open wounds and pimples, Scalds and sunburn,
Swelling associated with injury,
Splinters and thorns,
Tinea and whitlow,
Diaper or Nappy rash and cracked nipples,
Temporary relief of the symptoms of dermatitis and eczema,
Temporary relief of the discomfort of haemorrhoids by local application

Lucas Papaw Ointment is made in Australia from pure papaws

The Papaya fruit or papaw is the finest of nature's antiseptics. It accelerates the cleaning of wounds and is imported from Australia where they have experience in dealing with poisonous plants and some nasty critters.

wendy,

just call back home..he finished the whole bowl of porridge.

his next feeding will be milk...hope that he start taking milk.

cookie,

damien is dfferent from your bb...
he prefer solid than milk..

there's toy fair outside carrefour again. different from last week.
FP jumperoo selling at $179!

wenyl,
can collect the leappad books this week? i'm collecting on behalf of rena as well.

any mummies going for tupperware part want me to collect too?

sunny - jumperoo is so ex. 179 bucks is the usual price. i think u can check at toy r us..maybe cheaper. i cannot remember the exact price.

however, i did buy a walking and dancing ernie yesterday at $19.90. UP is 29.90. my boy so fascinated by ernie. keep staring and staring. haha..

wenyl - just checking whether ur BP includes leappad magnetic phonics? i saw one at toy r us selling at $39.90. quite interested to get one as i saw one at my cousin's place. place an alphabet in the slot and when press..it will teach you how to pronounce that alphabet and what starts with the letter. best is can stick on the fridge. let me know if your BP include that too. thanks

Tracy,
U got mail!

Rena,
I didnt get ur books this round. Wat i meant is see if anyone can let u have their If I were & A-Z adventure 1st. Tabbiesus, cookie, Cindy or Krissie?

Leappad Sets
Ok ladies! The supplier says will let us know in 2-3 weeks time if stock is arriving. If not, do u all still want to wait? Or u prefer to buy outside? Let me know cos I dun want u mummies to continue to wait & miss out any sales offer outside again. The supplier also can't give any confirmation.

need some advise... which airline do you feel has better infant services, Quantas or SIA? May be planning a tip to OZ, but am very unsure how baby friendly these two airlines are? Anyone with experience can share?