(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

LEAPPAD BOOKS

Pls kindly see attached file for the book titles u be getting this round. <font color="0000ff">(Highlighted in blue)</font>
mime_msexcel.gif

Leappad_Final Orders-08072006.xls (25.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Joanna,
Hope ur boy will recover fast from fever &amp; UTI. It can be very heart wrenching for us parents especially cos our child is still an infant. They will whine &amp; cry &amp; we dunno wat is causing their pain &amp; discomfort.
My boy was also down with fever on tues. We also thought it could be due to teething. His temp hit 38.7deg. We brot him to the PD &amp; doc says teething won't cause fever. Doc then suspect that it could be UTI. Took urine test &amp; luckily it was cleared of UTI. Doc says fever was probably due to flu virus although Ethan has no flu symptoms. Only sore throat. The fever lasted for 3 days with bouts of vomiting last nite. Finally, his fever subsided today but I m still constantly monitoring his temperature. Has been very siong for me &amp; my hb, esp at nites as we need to constantly sponge him.

Joanna,
Dun worry. I understand exactly how you feel. My boy had in at 3months!!! No fever, suspected from poor feeding. He was on antibiotic for 6weeks and did the MCU.Everything turn out fine. Juz keep the area clean and change diaper regularly. Dun worry.......
need any info, let me know.

Hi Joanna - Wishing James a speedy recovery. Poor boy. U take care too, okie? Keep us updated on his condition

Hi Wenyl - U take care too
Very siong when baby falls sick.

Brought Ashley to the PD today as she was having Flu n runny nose since yesterday... poor gal cried n couldn;t sleep well due to the blocked nose. I had to constantly rub the vapour rub on her chest and when it got quite bad as to waking up very frequently I carried her over n slept at our bed instead so that when i can latch her on and applied the vapour rub on my breast she can breathe better. This morning I dropped few drops of the Eculyptus Oil into her bath water n rubbed some onto the pillows surrounding her and thank goodnes she was able to have a good nap before bringing her to the PD. Just applied Karvol (given by PD) to the bumper surrounding her bed cot and she slept soundly till now. Really hope she'll sleep through tonight!!

Flo,
Thanks alot for recommending Dr Khor to me. I find her very good so will likely to go her again next time. =) Btw she showed me pictures of her patient babies while explaining to me the different signs n symtoms of various issues and the last photo was Mel standing on her cot! Haha...I pointed to Ashley "Hey Thats Melody"! Dr Khor said Mel's a very advance baby. =)

Rena,
Happy Birthday Again! Hope you enjoyed your first birthday with Sumo!! =)

Denmy,
Ashley LOVES the Lovely Lentils!! She was so tired n slept in the cab on the way home on Wed and she was so happy eating the Lentils when we fed her later. Even daddy could tell she really like it and said ok we shall cook that again next time. Btw HB asked earlier what did we cooked and I told him Lovely Lentils, half expecting him to ask what is that and that for once i know more about cooking than him... but he just went "ooh that small red bean like looking ones right" Apparently his favourite chef Jamie Oliver uses it quite often...
I froze the remainder portion into the small avent bottle filling almost to the brim and fed Ashley today. She actually finished everything!! So yes, we will cook it again and freeze too. Thanks for showing it to us.

Cindy,
Ashley loves that "wang wang looking" milk biscuit too!! We first saw it at Liang Court's Japanese supermarket, on sale selling for about $2+ per packet. Subsequently saw it again at Paragon's Market Place @ $4 &amp; NTUC Bishan @ $3+... Valerie/Flo/Sleepingdeer/Rena, this is the biscut i was telling you about on Wednes. Softens very easily once it goes into BB's mouth so dun really have to worry about chocking and Ashley is also able to hold n finish 1 by herself. We usually bring it out n give it to her when we're having our meal so she dun keep staring and drooling at our food... hee hee

re: yoghurt
I've tried giving plain yoghurt, mix with dragon fruit, banana, HT barley cereal and FM. Keenan loves it. I also gave mango once, mix with bb rice cereal and FM.

re: pregnancy test kits
mummies, the kits are with Rena now.

Joanna,
Hope James will recover soon. It is very stressful as you'll have to keep both kids happy. But I'm sure your elder boy will understand if he sees his baby brother in hospital... I will also be very stressful if I was in your shoes... won't want my elder boy to feel left out also.

Clare,
Good to hear that Ashley loves her Lovely Lentils.
Jamie O is my hb's favourite chef also..hahaha

re: Rena's Birthday Present
mummies.......
Rena got a LAPTOP for her birthday from her hb leh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WA! WA! WA!

sleepingdeer,
re: Play yard
I got my play yard liao and its set up already... can't wait to put Keenan in there tmr. What's your acc no.? I will transfer $$ to you. Thank you sooooooo much. *kiss-kiss*

Just fed Isaac and can't get back to sleep liao...

Rena,
Yesterday was your Birthday?
Happy Birthday! Laptop from HB, WOW! Was it a surprise to you? Any special celebratiosn with HB and Sumo?

Clare,
I'm going to try cooking 'Lovely Lentils' today too. I'm impressed that your HB knows what is lentils and and actually has a favourite chef, Jamie Oliver. If ask my HB, he will sure ask what is lentils and who is Jamie Oliver! Have your HB tried cooking any of Oliver's recipes? I used to watch him every morning on the bus when going to work... Got a soft copy of his recipes but yet to try any.

Queen,

he know that i wanted a laptop so he just bought it and when we were in the car he told me you laptop is in the boot.. so boring...

we went for dinner yesterday at kuriya together with sumo only nothing much we couldn't bear to leave sumo with my in laws coz this poor boy seems to know that we are going out ..that when my FIL carry him, he keeps crying and complaining.. but when hb carry him he stops

Was so busy yesterday. Caeden is better already. So off the nebulizer and going to take ventolin syrup instead.

Joanna
Oh gosh, take care! I understand how worrying it is when your bb gets sick. So u have to take good care of yourself too, else u fall sick too, ok?

Re: Fever
PD said teething will not cause fever, so if your bb is having fever, better get it checked out.

Re: Blocked nose
The infant care that my ds is attending recommended Sterimar. It's a nasal spray using sea water to clear the block nose. My ds screams and struggles when I use that. But it's rather effective. Just spray and the mucus will flow down. You can get this from Guardian. I saw my PD also has 1 in his clinic.

http://www.justnaturalstuff.co.uk/sterimar-water-nasal-spray-o-2.html

Clare,
Glad you are happy with Dr Khor. You brought the appointment forward? Oh she hasn't shown me pictures of her patient babies before. Didn't know she kept Mel's pic. I emailed her earlier cos KS daddy and mummy just wanna to make sure standing too young will not result in bow leg.

I'll collect the leappad books and pass you the week after next. Will be off for biz trip next week

damien is on porridge now...he seen to be more intested on his porridge and other food that we are eating than milk and cereal

babylon, dun worry everybaby has their own pace

RE: leapfrog

i would like to order from the next as it cost about 29.90 usd but the shipping is around 19.00 usd leh.. they only have pink color.. any mummies wnats to share? they are having sales now

RE: leap frog

sorry mummies the one i saw is for older kids.. the one that we wanted is 35 usd
haiz

RE: laptop

flo, thanks .. the laptop really makes my day

Cephas Porridge today:

Scallop
Wolferry
Broccoli
Ngoh He
Carrot

Gonna feed him Kiwi for dessert.

I am eating his porridge as he is sleeping. So terrible this mummy!

I am finally home. gosh how i miss home. me now home alone with baby. insist on bringing bb home. ke ke...this coming from a mummy who used to be scared of staying home alone at nite. I very useless one lah...Hope everything would be fine....took the chance to shower first while my mum was around just now coz worried difficult to shower later in case bb cry.

Sigh. I want to give my bb some different solids too but difficult to prepare since all alone plus didn't managed to get any ingredients. So far all he has tried is ceral, apple &amp; carrot. So boring hor...

SH
Hey! It's a first step and I applaud you for your bravery in going home alone with your bb. I believe you'll be able to handle it, since your bb now should be over 6 months laready right? AT least compared to their 1st 4 months of life, won't be as terrifying. Do enjoy the bonding time.

From tummy down to sitting position
Mummies! I witnessed for myself, seeing Daren, after flipping unto his tummy, proceeded to move forward a little to be on his knees and then slowly moved into a sitting up position. I'm like amazed! He will be turning 7 months old on 11th August. He has now been practicing trying to get up unto his feet with the cot's rails for support. The way his hands move reminds me of wall climbing. Haha.

Porridge
For the 1st time, I'm using Rena's method of the double boiling, but using the Zisa pot. Turns out very nice and smooth, I added in my MIL's prepared and grinded dried silver fish and scallop to boil together with the porridge, and then after when it's done, added sweet pea puree to it. Daren finished nearly one whole Ikea bowl (the children's plastic one). Gave him water to drink, wiped him down, changed into his PJs and now he's off to dreamland for the night. Didn't give him any milk feed.

MamaChan,
thanks for the encouragement. yah though very tiring, i did hv fun with just me and bb today. Think he was very happy to be home too. Long time nv hear him squealing in delight.

bb fell asleep at 8.45pm. Now zzz beside me....was trying to keep him awake for a while more coz worried that if he zzz too early, he's going to wake up and fuss later in the middle of the nite as he usually sleep near 9.30pm to 10pm. But he was getting more &amp; more cranky, so i just let him zzz...Let's hope all goes smoothly for the rest of the nite.

Wah! So cool! Daren so fast. JW is exactly same age as Daren but he can't do that yet. ke ke...today when i spent time with him, i realised that each time i sing, he will shake his head from side to side. So funny!

Wendy
thanks.. but how come I dun see any highligted in Blue? but never mind.. any book is good.

So the leapfrog selling no more stock coming already?
My Friend-sandy's order not coming anymore?
I got to keep her inform.. think her friend asking her also..

Re: Semi-solid
Today I serve potatoes and broccoli as lunch for Kaelyn.. but she din like it
so end up feed her milk instead.
Then Dinner.. I use Rena's method.. double boil the porridge for 2-3 hrs.. cos find the rice grain not mushy enough. Porridge with broccoli and butternut squash.. but Kaelyn also dun like... faint..
SO Sad.. lor.. perhaps my timing feeding her is not right. Will try again tomorroe.
Haizz.. will stick back to Cereal hope she like it.
My MIl was saying Kaelyn like semi solid better then milk..
for me.. seems reverse ley...

Joanne..
Oh dear.. hope the test result is normal for your boy.
I know it's difficult not to feel worry... perhaps explain to your elder boy.. di di not feeling well so U will give di di not attention.

Demny
keenan is really good boy... Really...
Oh good ley.. keenan tried so many type of food and fruits

I still dunno what is Lentils.. any picture to show?

Re: baby drool looking at food..
WHile I read that lotsa bb here .. will drool when see adult eating..
Kaelyn doesn't ley.. she dun even seems interested. She will look but she will not drool or look as if she wan to eat.
Wonder why?
She dun even feed herself biscuit if I give her one...
Normal or not har.

Dear mummies

Will be away from Singapore for about one week for holiday.

Queen/ God's Child
In the mean while I can't pay you back the $ for ON spree and Birkie spree. Please email me when the payment is due and I will pay back when I am back ok? Thanks a lot.

hello mummies
long time since i last log on. very busy coz my dad is hospitalised and my hb and boy were both sick.
can only try to catch up on the postings once in a few days, so sometimes wanna post but info is outdated.

queen
thanks again for organising and passing me the ON.
Think the fleece pants is too big for him. but, the other 2 are ok.. hv washed them and will bring them on my trip to KL tom. So excited.. I was telling hb that you brought bb to Paris that time..

rena
rem to let me know how much I owe u for the kits hor.

re KKH's recommended diet.
thanks queen for sharing.
wow, didnt know that they hv to eat so much. I'm going to try giving breakfast today. Bot banana oatmeal for him earlier.. but he has cough now, so no banana for him.. shall gv him brown rice with peaches.

re tumbletots
I'm pretty keen, but my hb is like cookie's hb. he finds that they're a bit too young for classes.. maybe next time when Ger can walk. but let me know how's the class and i can bug hb.

re egg yolk and avocado,
how to give bb huh?
egg yolk, is it cook it till like hard boil egg, then, remove the whole egg yolk and mash and gv him?
for avocado, do i hv to make sure that it's ripe before giving?

Tabs,
have transferred HT amount to your bank account, hope you got it... I picked up stuff yesterday too, your dog is so cute.... nice friendly face
Shannon absolutely loved her barley cereal! Thanks! She finishe dthe whole bowl without complain, and I tasted it too, find it more creamy and smooth than Heinz... do they sell them at supermarkets? Where can I go to order somemore in the future?

Denmy,
wow, super fast... we planning to set up the play yard only today... have PM you my bank account no...

Joanna,
how was the test result for your boy? hope everything is ok?

RE: Lovely lentils
Thanks Denmy for sharing the great recipe with us... though my silly gal seems to be more chou lor and prefered her lumpy rice cereal to the tasty lovely lentils! In the end, I ate it, yummy! Will cook it again next week and see how she finds it.. weird gal!

Krissie,
you can mash egg yolk (hard boiled) and add a little milk or water to make it creamy b4 feeding...

SH,
dun worry, you'll do fine...
What I do when I am alone at home is wait for her nap time, then rush to bathe.... even if she cries in her cot, coz I know she is safe in there..

Joanna,
hope everything's alright for your boy? dun worry, like wat queen said, with your TLC, he'll surely be well soon.

Rena,
wah...very good leh, laptop. dream on my hb will give even a toy PC to me :p

Re: porridge
Friday MIL made pumpkin, scallop, ginger (!!) porridge n megan ate alot. but was too watery so i guess not filling enough, she was screaming for milk before sleep.

haiya..saturday hb made porridge with pumpkin n silverfish using boiling method (he refuse to use rena's method)...i had to stand at the stove for 2hrs stirring! then megan didnt like the taste..so all throw away.

megan will eat, but each mouthful she will give the 'yucks' expression.. so i see her so poor thing, i decided to give her gerber sweet potatoe jar food lah.

today my mum will make porridge n bring over..my mum also bought a mini slow cooker for me. buy slow cooker receipt no. strike 4D some more..so its free liao...my gal ah, always give my mum strike 4D but never give me..haiz..

with porridge, her feeding schedule changed again:

7am - 180ml FM
11am - 2tbsp cereal with 60ml FM
3pm - 180ml FM
7pm - porridge
11pm - 180ml FM (dream feed)

Dear mummies....

THANK YOU ALL so muchhhhhh.....James went thru the MCU test and everything was negative...so which means...he is normal and healthy....was really so stressed out for the last few weeks. Really thank God for his protection over our family...

It is really stressful being a working mother....really more sacrifices then perks...but....to see my boys growing up healthy is really nothing compared to all other joys...sigh...so ironical...right?

Thanks so much once again!

Seeya all soon!

Krissie
heehee.. looks like IT hb all has same thinking?..

yalor I also going to bug hb.

Re: bb dun like semi-solid!
Hi mummies... is it possible bb dun like semi-solid? but to me seems like more bb here like solid very well.
Although MIL say kaelyn like to eat solid ( during weekdays)..
But the following is what I prepare and ALL she only took 3-4 tiny spoon then start to fuss.
Sat :
Lunch : potatoes with broccoli..I blend them and it got a bit sticky but was very very pureen, I forgot cannot blend potatoes.

Dinner : use Rena methos double boil porridge with Butterquash and broccoli.
Also took 3-4 tiny spoon start to fuss.

Sun:
Lunch : puree Banana with cereal ( should be nice mah...)
After 3-4 spoon also dun like and cry
Ok maybe too hungry, feed her 80ml milk
re-make just plain cereal with abt 30ml milk...more receptive.. but after like 5 spoon..cry again.
Feed her another 60-70ml milk.

Tonight.. I'm going to try probably HT food jar.. see if she is more receptive.

How ah.. mummies any advice? seems like Kaelyn dun enjoy food ley.. or dun like I feed her?..sad..

Joanna
Glad to know James is fine
Thank God!

Sleeping deer
usually what u add to cereal to feed Shannon?
Or just serve plain cereal mix with milk.

Re: feeding solid.
Now I find feeding semi-solid even more chanllenging...
next week Wed-Sun.. I will be SAHM.. hope Kaelyn improve with her semi-solid eating

Sleepdeer,
that method doesn't work for me coz i have been unable to make my bb sleep in his cot! I think after a week at my mum's place of sleeping beside me on the big bed, he is rejecting his cot. So he sleep on the bed with pillow all round. But heard bb falling off bed...so not too safe to leave him there if he is screaming his lungs off.

Joanna
Glad to hear the James is fine. You do take care of yourself too, dun stress yourself out.

Cookie
Just be patient. Some bb will take time to accept solid. Mel didn't want to take solid at one stage, sometimes to the extend of spitting out. Now she enjoys her solid much more. Are you giving Kaelyn very thick texture at the moment? Maybe u can try to make it a bit watery first. Also you can try different variety to see what she likes. For Mel she prefers veg to fruits...funny rite?

Denmy
RE: Lovely lentils
My mom fed Mel the next day (as mentioned previously she was too tired for solid by the time she's back home). She gave this very weird look, didn't gulp down but finished the whole bowl, so still can't figure out if she likes it or not.

joanna
can understand how you feel..we mummies hate to see our little ones suffer. hope little james will recover soon..

rena
happy belated bday.. wow.. such an exp birthday present.. heehee can connect wirless and surf in sumo playyard.

denmy
can you share with us the receipe for the vege stock, pls. think I'll hv to make for Ger. He's a very fussy eater.. will only take v tasty food.

cookie
i can understand. Ger is also a fussy eater and rejects my porr sometimes. I noticed he likes flavoured food. So, what i do is to add some carrot / pumpkin puree into his porr and he'll take it.
maybe u can try that?

Hi Rena,
so how much will be the price of the leapfrog in S$ if we wanna get? Are you getting? Yesterday went to Toy R Us to stock up on toys, the Leapfrog baby is selling for $99.90! So exp...

Cookie,
I started Shannon off with rice cereal and milk, nothing else... so I guess she is used to it bah... rejected the lovely lentils in favour for her boring lumpy cereal and BM... funny right....

For kaelyn, maybe add a little more taste to porridge? I may have spoiled Shannon a little but when I cook porridge, I try to add in something tasty, e.g. always have either carrot or pumpkin or sweet potato or corn or onion to make the porridge more yummmy...

Hi SH,
yes, sometimes Shannon naps in the afternoon on our bed too, and have to admit it's dangerous, so have to watch her constantly...

SH,
Jia you on moving back home and taking care of your bb yourself! Don't worry too much. Go by natural mother's instinct. Can't go wrong with that!

Re. Lovely Lentils
Cooked it just now for my boy, he took maybe 10 spoons, but not exactly enthusiastic about it. I thought it tasted very good leh! Kept some of it in the fridge and will throw it into his evening porridge later.

Recipe:
small onion, finely chopped
50 g/2 oz split red lentils
100 g/4 oz. carrot, chopped
100 g/4 oz potato, peeled and chopped
25 g/1 oz celery, chopped
350 ml/12fl oz vegetable or chicken stock / water
1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Saute the onion, carrot and celery in the vegetable oil for about 10 minutes or until softened. Add the lentils and potato and pour over the stock or water. Bring to the boil, turn down the heat and simmer covered for 2530 minutes. Puree in a blender.

Zhimin,
No hurry on ON payment. Your items will only be here probably end of the week or so.

Krissie,
It was nice meeting you, even though only for 1 min.
First time we met.

Cookie,
I think not to worry. At least Kaelyn took a few spoonful. With time, I'm sure that she will grow to be more receptive. Perhaps for a start, keep to normal milk timings and satrt with milk feed first, except that maybe give only half or 3/4 of the usual milk amount. Then give her semi-solids.

Joanne,
great to hear that it's all clear for James.

RE : Nestle Rice
Got the sample pack from PD but i find if to make accordingly, very watery. The whole pack probably can only mix with 150ml of milk instead of 200ml to get the consistency I wan. Am i making too thick???

Hihi....thanks once again...

I've started giving James porridge after he had returned home from the hospital...he can really eat leh...scary....

normally, I will double boil his porridge....porkribs with spinach/ porkribs with carrot/ fish with spinach/ fish with carrot / potato with carrot.

I have just bought some pumpkin and told my helper that she could cut a small portion out and cook with porridge...hehe....wonder if he will like it...

Baby James can also finish one whole slice of white bread all by himself....(with the sides removed)...he will also lick his tongue and call out when he see us eating....just the other night...I gave him a bit of durian to try and he loved it...heehe....

I believe in letting the baby try a bit of everything that is within their "eating capacity" so that they won't turn out to be fussy eaters next time. Hmmm...maybe I will try the other recipes shared by the mummies here....

Eversince he was hospitalised and I fed him direct...my storage of EBM dropped and as a result...I am finally supplementing him with FM when he has finished with EBM....Just glad that I was able to give him full EBM for a total of 6 mths...these days, I just give him whatever I am able to manage to express and then latch him on directly at night....

cookie,

you porridge seems boring.. you never add meat or fish ? somehow butternut doesn't go with porridge leh coz sumo doesn't like.. he is a typcial chinese bb..

Sleepingdeer,

if you want i can order for you.. i have bought the leapfrog today.. at metro.. thinking that there is 20% discount but realise that only the blue and yellow tags. thus the leadfrog is white.. luckliy hb has the uob smart points so have about 30 dollars to deduct.. and i bought the pooh set which cost 119.. beng san...