(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sunny - haha now with all the BP gg on..definitely need to watch our dollars and cents :p

sleepingdeer - i booked with SQ for my trip to tokyo come Oct. I read that SQ is quite good and sensitive to parents travelling with kids. they do provide infant jar food for consumption too!

sleepingdeer,
for my trip to perth next year, i wouldnt mind qantas if its cheaper. basically both will ve bassinet, welcome gift pack n jar food.

i've seen one handsome air steward on qantas helping a lady to babysit her baby while she bring her toddler go toilet. he's very tall n handsome then carry this little baby on his shoulder walking up n down the aisle patting her back...sigh...swoon..

Re: travelling
Making a trip to Taiwan in october with bb. Had to take China Airlines cos that's the only airline that flys to Kaoshiung *hiaz...

cindy
actually china airline is still okay to me when me n hb went to taiwan last year may 2005. our first stop is kaoshiung n last is taipei. free n easy.

dont need worry too much about their service.air steward all quite funny.

badly need a get-away...
after seeing so many of you planning/going for hoilday makes me even more desperate!!!

sigh............................................

wenyl,
thanks! will sms u when i'm going. will be within this week.

sleepingdeer.
aww...shannon very cute leh..aiya, u not coming for tupperware party. would luv to see her again. she's soooo cute even when she's pouting.

Hi Wenyl,
would like a set as well
1. wenyl x 1 set (Hougang)
2. SSF?
3. tracy x 1 set (Hougang)
4. sept03bride x 1set (woodlands)

Hi Wenyl,
would like a set as well
2. SSF?
5. Cookie X 1 set (hougang or Pasir ris)

Y
Can I get 1 tube of the papaw cream? if it's convenient for your HB.

Mashy,

can i check with you what's the reason we cant give fish to a baby that has eczema/asthma?

And wat reaction will it cause?

Coz i took so much pains to bring threadfin back from Singapore to Hanoi and after reading your posting, is a little apprehensive about making it for renee now...

Any other mummies have any problems with fish?

need some advice here, my company actually plan to send me to china on ad-hoc basis (on and off) for our business all over china. however, they heard that I am breastfeeding and decided that they will ask my boss to go. my boss is not very willing to travel as he has a lot of hats to wear and he needs to be in singapore to address these at times. he ask me to consider going.
I checked with Yen Ping how to cont breastfeeding and she asked me to pump, freeze the milk in milk bags and bring back singapore using dry ice to keep them cold. Not sure if it's possible but I am willing to try if really necessary. my baby still needs my breast to go to sleep so she suggest for her to wean off my breast but I think it will be quite troublesome when I go out in the future with the baby because I will need to pump milk and need to bring along a lot of stuff. I think it's a good opportunity but at the same time, I felt a bit sorry for my baby coz it's not that I don't have enough milk for her. my hubby doesn't seems to like the idea although he didn't say it.

mongs,
Just my 2 cents worth...
How often do you need to travel?
How long do you intend to BF? Eventually, our babies will have to stop drinking from our breasts.
Will taking up this China travelling help to advance your career?
It's true that it's convenient to latch instead of bringing out bottles when going out with BB...
But remember that our babies are at the age where they are supposed to 2 or 3 feeds of semi-solids in the day. Most of the time, will probably need to bring only 1 bottle of milk out. not too much of a hassle. And as they grow, milk feeds will gradually decrease. When the demand for milk or frequency decrease, we probably will not need to pump so often as well...
The flight from China is probably 6 hours or so?
Not too long. It's possible to bring back your frozen milk in dry ice. The other time when I went to Sydney, I actually bought frozen scallops, pack it with dry ice in styrofoam box and flew the scallops back to 8 hours back to Singapore.
But ultimately, I think you have to consider whether this is something that you want for yourself...

Hi Wenyl,
would like a set as well
2. SSF?
6. Cindy x 1 set (hougang)

Also, would like to thank u mummies for organizing the sprees and BPs. Me very sotong on what's available for bb, good to learn from here

rachel,
glad to hear u enjoyed your flight. Hope mine will be good too. Really hope that bb will be good on flight and not be a disturbance to others.

mongs,
It's blessing to be able to bf till now. Queen has given very sound advise. Uh.. can u pump like mad while in SG and store them so that you don't have to bring ice-boxes to and fro? How many days will you be away on average? Besides the bf part, think you'll miss bb like crazy. I kept looking at my bb's pics on my hp while I was away on work trip a couple of mths back. Maybe u can subscribe to 3G phone, at least can videocon and see bb.

At the same time, career opportunities dun come by so often. Your china experience will be invaluable not to mention how appreciative your company will be for the sacrifice u make.

RE: californa cream

those who ordered the creams they are being ship out today .. however there are two items that are out of stock .. 1) diaper wash 2) aloe vera cream

RE: californa cream

those who ordered the creams they are being ship out today .. however there are two items that are out of stock .. 1) diaper wash 2) aloe vera cream

Rena
Ok thanks.. noted. (2) is mine I think.

Mong
Alternative is.. to maintain the supply, u will pump regularly during your trip (if possible) but use it to wash face or something or throw away(what a waste). SO when u are back.. your supply will not drop and still can continue to BF bb.

Mongs,

How long will you be away for each trip and will you be travelling all over the place or just based in one place? Am on biz trip in Hong Kong/Taipei this week and after much consideratoin decided just to pump and throw the milk away instead of freezing and bringing back. Find that is just too much trouble, cos apart from pumping still need to sterilise pump. My gal will prob take my old stock of frozen EBM from tom/wed onwards until I'm back on Thur midnite. Me also contemplating whether to stop breastfeeding soon. Initially wanted to stop after 6 months but like you, feel guilty to stop since still have supply. My gal is turning 8 mths next week, so am now telling myself maybe I'll totally wean her off by the time she turns 9 months or when my supply dry up (supply has dropped quite a bit lately, not sure if it's natural cos bb on solid now or bcos pumping schedule got upset due to meeting overruns). Luckily my hb is quite supportive, he said perhaps I should take a break oredi cos is not easy to be FTBFWM. But I guess at the end of the day it depends on how badly you want the opportunity. But apart from breastfeeding issue, I guess the other consideration is you'll not get to see bb. Me missing bb oredi, is the first time since birth that she'll not sleeping with me tonite

Hi Wenyl,
Was very tempted to buy this when I went to collect the leappad previously. Now that you are organising maybe should give myself an excuse to buy

2. SSF?
7. Flo x 1 set (woodlands)

Actually the other toy I am eyeing is this. Mel saw this at the PD clinic and likes it very much

http://www.leapfrog.com/do/findproduct?ageGroupKey=infant&key=alphapal

I think Carol is selling @ $38

Sleepingdeer
Shannon looks so sweet and happy. Well I suppose that's why they always say is daddy's girl

Wenyl,
Me tooooo.....

Leappad Magnetic Phonics
$28. Anyone else interested? She only has 10 sets left.
2. SSF?
7. Denmy x 1 set (Hougang/Pasir Ris)

Oooops, sorry Flo.

Leappad Magnetic Phonics
$28. Anyone else interested? She only has 10 sets left.
2. SSF?
8. Denmy x 1 set (Hougang/Pasir Ris)

Leappad Magnetic Phonics
2 more to go & I will close this order. Thanks!

$28. Anyone else interested? She only has 10 sets left. View the product here: http://www.leapfrog.com/do/findproduct?ageGroupKey=preschool&key=fridgephonics

2. SSF?

Leappad Sets..... Bad news!

So sorry to those mummies.....very paiseh for the long wait! Its been a very draggy BP. Sigh!
Now, I have no choice but to cancel & close the BP
cos the supplier has just sms me that there will be no more stock for the little leappad sets. She has also closed her yahoo auction for this 6-36mths Little leappad till further notice. But I tink she still have stock for the 4-8 yr old one. http://auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:LEAP%20FROG%20LEAPPAD%28Age4-8%29:96625449

Those who did not manage to get the set here, u may wish to buy it outside & get the books from her. She is selling us at $15 per book, whereas the retail price is $29.90. Please kindly let me know soon cos I tink I will close this together with the Magnetic phonics order. Thanks ya!

I am on leave today. Going to the hairdresser to highlight my hair. I have either been cutting my hair short or highliting it since I returned to work.

Anyone attending the Bobbi Brown Chocoholics Makeup Workshop? Am attending that with a friend too
My gfs & I decided that we shd be going thru Fabulous 30s now & so signed up for the workshop

Leappad Magnetic Phonics
2 more to go & I will close this order. Thanks!

$28. Anyone else interested? She only has 10 sets left. View the product here: http://www.leapfrog.com/do/findproduct?ageGroupKey=preschool&key=fridgephonics

2. SSF?
9. babylon x 1 set (west)

Hi Wenyl,

Can I place an order for 1 more set? Thanks.

2. SSF?
10. Cindy x 1 set (2nd set - Hougang)

------ closed? --------

sysac,
wow, tot u jus cut n colored your hair?

enjoy ur make-up workshop! me dunno how to make-up.

babylon,
how's damien's milk intake since yesterday afternoon?

mongs,
guess the best is wat Flo suggested, ie express n throw away. if your ebm stocks run out when u r not around, supplement with FM first then when u come back, start bm again.

think u need to wean Clariss off ur breast soon if u gotta travel often. yes, it will be very troublesome bringing ebm out. if u dun mind, when go out give FM instead.

morning mummies..
would like to check, when bb are teething do they lose sleep as well? My ds is waking up like 3 times or more for the past few days. Cannot take it.. so tiring

So many posts to catch up on.

Have a complaint to make, need to find someplace to air my frustrations. My hb came back yesterday finally, from Croatia, flight got delayed for an hour and I was early at the airport somemore! THere and then, can suddenly feel the tiredness just taking over me. Was happy to see my hb.

Just in the weee hours of this morning, Daren woke up crying for milk, but his appetite has been poor lately, think maybe he's recovering from his flu/cough and still on medication, but didn't drink much. From a full 180ml feed, now he only takes in 100ml. Daren wants to get back to sleep and I carried him and pat him, his eyes were closed, and when I placed him back down in his cot, he made noise and toss and turned. I went back to my room and tried to go back to sleep, but still hearing Daren making noise via the baby monitor, thinking his diaper needs changing as his groin area was red, I woke my hb up to change him and help settle him to sleep. ALL these took place at around 4 plus am.

6.30am, Daren suddenly woke up howling/crying, I quickly got up and went to get some water for him, my hb got up and carried him up, and when I came back to the room and just say, "ok, drink water", my hb just (to me), kind of burst out saying," Can you take over him? I barely slept!" I heard that, I was so furious there and then.

I just took over from my hb and tried to soothe and settle Daren as much as possible, seemed like Daren wanted to sleep somemore but was uncomfortable, end up placed him in the sarong.

I'm not sure if I'm being unreasonable here, not having taken into consideration that hb is going through jet-lag, but he was promising me that now he's back home, it'll be much easier for me...seems like this week I can forget bout it. Moreover, I'm having a field trip starting at 5.30am this Thursday and Friday, how to entrust Daren into his care?

Looks like I got to stay at my mum's on Wednesday and Thursday....

Leapfrog Magnetic Phonics - ORDER CLOSED

2. SSF?
10. Cindy x 1 set (2nd set - Hougang)

------ closed -------

Thanks everyone for the fast response! Will update u on payment & collection later.

SSF - where do u want to collect from? Woodlands or Hougang / pasir ris?

Babylon - Sorry no collection in west leh. It is either Woodlands (at the supplier plc) or Hougang (my plc). U wanna check around see anyone can help pass to u?

mamachan,
Cool down! Cool down! Maybe ur hb jet lag lor. Give him some time to settle down & adjust back to life of a father again. Cheer up gal!

tracy, normally i will give him around 125ml of milk before his sleep..but last nite he rejected it again. so no choice, i use spoonfeed him.

Around, 130am, he started making some noise, so i try to give him 90ml...and around 3.30am he start making noise..thanks god, he finished all the milk.

Just call back and check on him whether did he drink or not, mum complaint that he took around 70ml and heard my hubby come back and get distracted. I feel more relieve now at least he taking some milk better than yesterday.

Teething,

I could feel something sharp on his upper gum. should be his his teeth.

mamachan,
oh dear..cool down, cool down. its PH tomor so got time to take a break. jetlag can be quite bad for some people. i had a fren whenever got jetlag, super bad mood one..

hope u felt better after letting off some steam here

babylon,
so maybe mystery solved. maybe its due to his teething thats why milk feed went haywire :p

Re:Taka Baby Fair
decided to go tomor at 10am to avoid the crowd. any other mummies going too?

Tracy
I'm going on Friday afternoon. Meeting my friend and her 1yr old ++boy there.
Thurs and Friday not working...yippie!

mamachan
ya .. cool down.. and yes... PH coming, forgive your HB. I used to and now still get frustrated or angry with HB sometime by her way of speech or attitude or just plain laziness.. but I must control myself or will end up weekend bot if us unhappy. So I ren la.. and of course later "lecture" and nag at him why he make me upset. and always end up happy ending.
Now with bb weekend is too precious to be angry and not able to enjoy the company with hb and bb.

Tabbie,
The similac offer you mentioned abt. Wat med staff rate is this abt? Is it a benefit given to hospital staff? If yes, maybe i can check if my bro has that benefit too then may not need to trouble you to help order.

wenyl - sorry was sooo busy yesterday. yes i want the magnetic phonics. thanks sooo much for organising. 28 bucks is cheap! can i collect from pasir ris? let me know how to make payment to ya

Hi SSF and Tracy,
thanks, I really can't decide.... SIA is actually only about $100 extra, but the flight timings are not as good as qantas.... but it is true that I have heard that SIA is very sensitive to the needs of parents with kids...

Tracy,
haha, you like grumpy and gouchy babies har... coz everytime we bring Shannon out, the first thing people say is ' oh, must be just woke up right? Still so grouchy....' hee hee... Meagan is so smiley and attentive compared to my gal!

CIndy,
I have heard not bad feedback about China airline... think should be ok...

Flo,
yeah, my gal lights up everytime she sees her daddy, coz her daddy will never scold her for being naughty!

Mongs,
think it's a waste to wean her off your breast if you still haev adequate MS... if you're worried about her falling asleep without your breast, maybe wean her off that first... time your feeds so that after feeding, she should play awhile or stay awake then try to get her to sleep without latching her on.. then you won't have to wean her off your breast totally and pump still? You can latch her on when you are around, and when you are away, she will be able to fall asleep without you around?

SOphia,
understand your frustration... coz you had a hard time taking care of Daren on your own too...probably your hubby doesn't understand and think that it was easier for you... dun get too mad, k?

sleepingdeer,
haha, i still find it very amusing how Shannon can look so different on photo and when outside. very cute mah, when u talk to them n they jus look at u blankly. was checking n found that we'll be in the same tumble-tots trial class so yippee...get to see Shannon again.

wenyl

so sad! no little leappad for dylan liao. sorry for the trouble to help us update on the stock too. btw, think i will not buy from outside. so if your supplier get her hands on new stock do keep me posted can??

btw, can check with you whether we can just walk in to her place to buy toys? she must be carrying quite a wide range of toys bah?

Mongs

my girl is quite similar to your girl.. will fall asleep at breast.. but I oso noticed that babies r really smart.. like my girl.. if I'm not around.. will still be able to fall asleep without me, like when I am on call and not around... my mom and hubby can put baby to sleep no problem...

RE: pumping and bringing back milk..
when i flew to hk i will bring my ebm... with frozen ice packs and dry ice then once on the plane (for the big airlines like cathay and SIA) i will get the stewardess to put in the fridge. They will do that no problem... dunno if they get a lot of such requests but I tell them its EBM and they will not even bat an eyelash.. so transporting back shouldn't be a problem... personally i feel that if u r going to bother to pump u might as well bring back the frozen milk and use as standby.. if u worry that it spoilt then test first before giving to baby.. right? not too much effort to freeze and bring back if u can bother to pump.... right? I still can't bear to throw away my EBM... cos my MS not that great in the beginning so i am fixated with my frozen store.. hahaha..

But anyways... i'm also wondering if I should stop BF soon cos :
1. i'm hoping that i can try for another bb by early next yr so hope that I start ovulating soon (still no menses so far)
2. more convenient (selfish reason..
) cos now its difficult to go out for long stretches and latch baby/ pump esp. when at work and time doesn't allow for pumping/ latching
3. worried abt the amt of nutrients in BM now.. esp when I got no time to eat properly at work...
4. worried that she will never wean off my breast!!

I think u should do whatever u can, whenever u can.. at least u have managed 6 months.. now its time to think a little further into the future and weigh the pros and cons abt continuing BF.. although its easier said then done.. i find it very hard to stop, everyday i tell my hubby i'm going to stop, but then when i finish pumping.. i seem to get a high and tell him.. i'm going to continue.. hehe..

sleepingdeer
haha agree with tracy that shannon can look different on photo and when outside...

can remember twice uring our gathering she was grouchy most of the time =p seldom smile.

mamachan
hope you feel better now. your hb must be tired from the trip and need time to adjust. think man just cant 'perform' as well when compare to woman when it comes to dealing with little ones, not to mention especially when their sleep is being distrubed. know its tough on you for the past 19 days, rest well tomo and highlight to your hb you need a break so he is incharge on daren tomo! =p

mongs
like what most mummies mentioned, in the end you have to weight and get a balance between your little darling and career.i understand how you feel as im oso being tear between whether to continue in keeping up my ms or just let go. yes it tough to be FTTBFWM.

of coz, our baby is our everything and wants to give the best we can ever have to them. chances are hard to come by in career, so you might want to take up this offer yet try your best to maintain your MS.

anyway i think you so how have made up your mind, but just worry things might not be as smooth as what you plan it to be. good that your hb is very supportive.

at this moment think you have to get your girl to wean off your breast for her night feed. if not in time to get when she is older,she really cant do without you in order to fall asleep.

SH
I pm u re: FM

RE: flying
SIA and Cathay are quite good with babies.. SIA got diapers, bib, baby wipes n toy in their goody bag, cathay got 1 small pack of pureen diapers n baby food.. both services are very attentive to babies...

My holiday in HK is ending..
its been so wonderful.. brought tabby to the park and put her on the swing... and she could swing by herself.. so cute..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAIiE8KS4XE