(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rachel,
I also 1st time mom. Alot of things also dunno. I guess u monitor tonight and see how is he today. My boy used to wail in the middle of the night when younger. Maybe he was over stimulated in the day?

Haiz...my mom also never want to listen to me. Damn sian....gotta stay there for another 2.5 weeks before my hubby comes back from overseas. Help me!!! :p

Y
my advise to you hor is "BEAR WITH IT". hahaha
think im saying to myself oso.

my hb going for business trip AGAIN! sigh... so sian... got to stay over at my mum place again... restless nights again...

re: MIM sling
okie, here it is again. those interested, pls put your names in and preferred saturday. Limited to 10 couples and then i'll liaise with MIM on which saturday to have it. they're ok with it. it will be held at MIM warehouse at Jln Pemimpin.

MIM Sling Workshop
1) Tracy + hb+ bb - any saturdays after 1pm.

Durianlover

220ml EBM? Wow... My maid say 130ml also left about 10ml this morning leh..

BTW, ur steriliser uses how much water per round? My Avent uses only 90ml so if urs also use only 90ml, putting 100ml vinegar and 200ml water is definitely too much. U should only put up to the max amount of liquid ur steriliser can take.

rachel, Y,
hb may be going overseas for training also in Sept. dates not confirmed, but will be a 8-14days thing. altho i can drive hb's car, hb dun trust me to drive with megan alone. so most prob i'll move to my mum's place, cos over there i can bring my doggie along. ILs place cannot n i can't imagine driving from Kaki-Bukit to Sin Ming after work. super heavy traffic. From my workplace to mum's place only 15mins. so easier.

re:drowsy...
big time attack of ZZ monster here cos juz took cough mixture...woah!!! stupid lousy co. doc dun ve those 5ml spoon for med. nurse told me juz use normal tsp, and take 2.5 (or 1.5..can't remember) tsps. label says 7.5ml... i find it so silly. i took 2.5 tsp and bottle marking shows only took 5ml so i took another half tsp...hahaha..

Hi Mamachan,
am ok to try... but I just realise that my sats in Aug seems full! No 10am slot for trial class huh? Haha, nevermind, I put my name down first...

Hear Ye! Hear Ye! One and all! Info on Tumble Tots for this Fall...

Where: Specialists Centre
When: Er...when we reach a consensus, but it'll be a Saturday for sure
Time: 5.45pm
What: Gymbabes by Tumble Tots, Trial Class
Cost: $23
For 1st time attending, 2 caregivers can accompany the child, subsequent classes, preferably one parent.

There will be about 2-3 trainers in the class. They'll try to keep the class small, to about 8-10 bbs. Currently, there are existing 5 bbs attending classes so that gives us about 4-5 spaces available.

If we like the class and plan to sign up as a group, they will try to open up a new time slot for us on the Saturday, i.e. 2pm so long we have 5 and more babies. Their current promo is 3 months for $264 and the trial class would then be FOC.

Any mummies interested? Kindly let me know.

1) MamaChan + bb
2) Tracy + bb (this sat if 2pm ok. 5.45pm can't make it. other sats after 1pm ok)
3) Sleepingdeer + hb + bb

tracy
oh at least you know how to drive leh. me so handicap. even if hb give me the car key and say i can use freely, i oso dont know how to get that big piece of metal moving... sigh. so thinking of taking up driving liao. in the past i will be happily be the passagner, but given the situation now... how i wish i know how to drive...

RE : Tumble Tots
I wld like to join but gotta know the date. Need to see if hub is back.

RE : Driving
Yah...so convenient to drive. I kena force to drive cos hub away. Sayang to leave car in carpark for 5weeks. Hub very worried of his car but bo bian. (i have bad record, the scratches from old car, all from me...heehee)

I trained my boy to sit in car seat so he's okay wif me. However, only drove him short distance. Yet to try longer distance.

Tracy,
Try driving lar. Tell your hub to have more confident in u.

rachel,

you have a partner.. hee hee.. hb hope that i could learn driving so that i can ferry bb next time .. if i pass he will buy me a car but hor.. basic also cannot past hahaha

rena

hahaha yah happy to know tat have someone to 'company me' =p
try till you pass lo. actually it will be so good to self drive around rather than depand on others leh. hb keep asking me when go take basic, i know tat he hope i can pass driving then he can sit at the back and play with dyaln!! im his compass, i know the road and recoginse places better than him =p

Rena, wah, your hb so generous ah?

Tracy, try driving with your hb sitting with baby or sit in front with hb and see whether Megan is ok on her own first?

I'm ok with driving Kirsten around on my own now after installing a mirror so driver can look at her. But the problem is I'm using the 0 to 4 yrs old car seat. If she sleeps, her head will be lolling around and drop so low that she's almost kissing the lock. I normally have to hold her head up but when I drive, nobody will hold her head.

Wenyl, hope that Ethan will recover soon.

Re: SAHM Gathering
Sharing the porridge with Sumo?
1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody
4. sleepingdeer's Shannon
5. valerie's Kirsten

I can bring sweet potato and cauliflower.

rachel,
its quite true that passengers having better directions than drivers cos we take public transport more often n know the roads better. but MEN will never admit we are better map readers lah..

i hate driving with my hb in the car cos he becomes like driving instructor...

Wendy,
Yup i usually use 90mls of water for my Avent sterilizer. Figured 100mls vinegar + 200mls water was way too much, so i used 50mls vinegar + 100mls water to descale it just now. Nice and clean now

Mashy,
Can understand how you feel about ur boy's wheezing. Janelle was wheezing for almost 1 whole month! And we spent hundreds bringing her to seek 2nd & 3rd opinion. But thank God she was on Singulair which worked for her. Did ur PD prescribe singulair first? Usually they do that before moving on to nebulizer or stuff containing steriods since baby is still young. At this stage, it's too soon to say whether baby really has asthma. Many older mothers tell me that if baby asthma can be kept under wraps till they're like 6 or 7 years old, then should be safe. So don't worry. Feel free to ask me any questions if u have. I've been through 5 weeks of Janelle coughing + phlegm + wheeze. Then she was ok for 1 week. And now she's coughing again!

Re: SAHM Gathering
Sharing the porridge with Sumo?
1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody
4. sleepingdeer's Shannon
5. valerie's Kirsten

I have meat, fish and chicken stock for bb heng cai, brocoli, sweet potato ( orange type from Oz), pumkin.. the rest up to all of you..OK hee hee no need to pay me ok ..

Hear Ye! Hear Ye! One and all! Info on Tumble Tots for this Fall...

NOTE: I've RANDOMLY chosen a Saturday. Let me know if you can make it.

When: 19th August, Saturday
For 1st time attending, 2 caregivers can accompany the child, subsequent classes, preferably one parent.

There will be about 2-3 trainers in the class. They'll try to keep the class small, to about 8-10 bbs. Currently, there are existing 5 bbs attending classes so that gives us about 4-5 spaces available.

If we like the class and plan to sign up as a group, they will try to open up a new time slot for us on the Saturday, i.e. 2pm so long we have 5 and more babies. Their current promo is 3 months for $264 and the trial class would then be FOC.

1) MamaChan + bb
2) Tracy + bb (this sat if 2pm ok. 5.45pm can't make it. other sats after 1pm ok)

Y
Tumble Tots have various props used in play with baby. But that is what I see for young and older toddlers. I'm not too sure what they do. The lady over the phone shared with me that at the start of the class, they would do a baby massage to calm and settle down the bbs before starting

Driving
Yah, I agree that it is super convenient. Am so grateful that my BIL is so nice, he's also out-stationed for 2 weeks and is agreeable to lend me his car. So now I can ferry Daren around to infant care and to work and back, so much more convenient. Of course with the car seat installed which we got recently in end June as we get to use my BIL's car quite often. Daren in the mornings super good mood, so won't cry, only come evening time when I fetch him after work, he'll cry in the car seat behind. so poor thing, even my voice can't soothe him, I had to switch off mentally to his crying while driving...

flo
can u ignore 1st order form..
I need to revise the order..
Will send order form again...
my friends may wanna order also.

so many postings! I am very, very busy now cos trying to clear a lot of stuff before going on leave. Am scanning thru the posts.

denmy,
I think I will get hubby to pick up the spinach from your shop. Can provide directions? My hubby works at Ocean bldg/tower. how to go from there? btw, I will be back in Sg only on 13/8 sun.

flo,
if need to make up numbers for the mooncake, I don't mind getting one.

mamachan,

can i try out for the gymbabes also?
NOTE: I've RANDOMLY chosen a Saturday. Let me know if you can make it.

When: 19th August, Saturday

1) MamaChan + bb
4) sl + hb + bb (only if after 14/8 cos before that not in town)

rena,

I am trying out the positive babies on 20 Aug. Can let you know the feedback.

Durianlover

Nope. Not prescribed Singulair. He's on Bricanyl (which stop when started on nebulizer) + Rinathiol + Ventolin + steroid.

Hopefully the steroid will work on him.

Anyone of your bb crawl backwards? My boy crawls backwards leh. He still doesn't know how to crawl forward and will use his head to push himself forward. And he just learnt how to sit up without hands to support.
Today he's 7mths.

i would like to try out the classes as well. Seems like fun.
1) MamaChan + bb
4) sl + hb + bb (only if after 14/8 cos before that not in town)
5)sept03bride+hb+bb

hey mashy, yes Caleb is crawling backwards now. He is now able to get on his knees and try to push himself forward. But usually he does not really move forward. Occasionally, he will fly forward though. Heehee very comical

heehee, clariss also crawls backwards but she still can't support her whole body with her hands and knees, she is moving commando style.

driving BB around:
i have tried driving with Caleb sitting behind alone and without hubbie. Its abit stressful when he starts crying but i will try to sing to him to calm him down.
But when i cannot pacify him, i get pretty panicky. THink i need more practise driving Caleb all by myself.

Re:Driving BB alone
well, my virgin test drive was the day I drove Shannon to the Motherhood fair from West to East and to my hubby's office to pick him up... luckily she fell asleep, but that was like 3 months back! I am driving alone tomorrow again... cross my fingers and hope she will be well behaved.

Rena and Rachel,
have to say that learning to drive really gave me lots of freedom... would drive from east to West and to the north... really shoik... but nowadays dun dirve as much as before coz hubby is my driver, so everytime I get behind the wheel, a little apprehensive..

Valerie,
how about using a head support for Kirsten? I used it for Shannon and it works...

mongs/cookie
hehehehe, Daren also crawling commando style. he uses his arms to push himself forward, still have yet to really fully use legs. Though I help encourage him by moving his legs in alternating movements i.e. crawling motion as encouraged by a friend who used to work in tumble tots. heh heh maybe that's what we get to learn during gymbabes?? maybe can ask again when i call the lady to inform that there'll be at least 5 mummies interested in a trial class. Let's hope they would be nice enough to include and open a slot just for us.

Flo
I send you my revised order

Re: Driving alone with bb
My first trip driving bb alone is to Church which was like 8 mins drive.
Everythings seems well and bb was very quiet behide so much so that I wonder wat happen to her...
When I thought everything was well.. by the time I reached the church carpark. Finish parking the car and open the back door to retrieve her... she was actually in the mist of vomitting her morning milk, cried when she see me.
Reason:.. she was enjoying herself behind, gaging herself with the blanket I put over her until she vomit.. haizzz that was why she was sooo quiet

Lesson learnt : keep her in warm clothes and NO more blanket for her when she alone in the back seat.

mamachan
I need to check hb on the classes.. I suspect he will say it's too early to bring kaelyn to class..

My hb always say.. Kaelyn is practicing her Martial Art - Toad style.. kekeke.. cos she looks like a toad...aiyo...

cookie
Though it's not a good reason to laugh at, but the way you described your drive with Kaelyn seemed so funny. Aiyoh...let's hope Kaelyn will no lonnger have anymore vomitting of milk episodes. I think our bbs like to stuff things into their mouth, not only that, they are capable of gagging themselves even with their fingers!

Re: Grabbing of groin area
Daren has been doing that for the past 2-3 weeks. Each time I place him on the changing table, lying down, he very automatic start to grab and scratch his tummy area near his groin as well as his groin part. Aiyoh! Grab until his tummy red and I have to pin him down and with one hand, try to hold his hands and legs while changing diapers. So difficult especially when he poos. He'll just give me this matter-of-factly look while grabbing his tummy/groin...like a man on a mission or something. My aunt laughed saying he's now exploring his own body. Come to think of it, he's trying to suck on his toes!!!

Mamachan
u are right.. kaelyn is always doing that.. she will make that vomit sound when she gag by her finger.. fiant.
Yup.. really hope her vomitting of milk will not happen again.

Oh kaelyn already sucking on her toes... hahaha..
ya same here.. when I change her diaper these day.. she do leg raise and her hands will be at her bum.... faint when come to poopoo changing.. so scare her hand will in touch with the poo and striaght to her mouth...*faint*

Crawling commando style: Haha, that's a very apt way of describing it. That's exactly it!

Re: driving alone

U can buy a small mirror at Daiso (bb section) to put at the front/back so that u can see your bb at all times. I bought one and have been able to monitor him while driving.

Cookie
Wonder if it's same for all bb. My boy also same thing! He'll raise his legs and put his hands on the bum. Sometimes even tugging on the diaper! If not, he'll try to flip when I'm changing him. Hiaz...

mashy
yes.. I have been asking hb to buy 1 mirror to "monitor" bb...
Daiso in IMM is abit too far for us... :p

Exactly!.. Kaelyn will tug at the diaper too.. then if I place the clean diaper just next to her.. while I'm taking off the soil diaper form her.. she will grab the new one and pull at it or put inside her mouth..
Dunno to laugh or to be angry.
kaelyn has been good gals.. she semms to know diaper changing time.. she will lie still but her hands cannot stop grabbing.

Cookie

Well, it may be far, but it's the cheapest. Only $2. The rest I've seen are quite pricey. Anyway, free parking lah. BTW, they're opening new branches at Plaza Sing and Vivio City soon. Maybe u can wait for that.

sleepingdeer/Celine/cookie,

I talked to my mum before already. But she just cannot comprehend why she cannot pass that kind of comment. Sighz....

I don't think there's any unhappiness...it's just that I feel that in general my mum just says it for fun & she does have a tendency to have negative thoughts. But i don't want my baby to grow up like dat :-(

Y,
I couldn't get my MIL to feed at intervals slightly longer than 3 hours either. She always say bb very hungry. She will even go to the extent of waking up the bb at 3 hour sharp to feed him even though he is sleeping soundly or if he has just fallen asleep for 10min!!!...then end up he don't finish his milk. Sigh. So heart pain. Waste all the EBM. Then in the end, me & hb collaborate...every morning we bring bb there...we say his last feeding time is half an hour later (for eg we feed at 7.30am...i just tell her last feed is 8am) ;p

And no problem from bb wat....

Re: driving with baby
Actually we put our babyseat in the front seat coz i drive alone with baby almost every day, so it's easier for me since i can see her, etc. Quite okay coz that seat doesn't have airbag.

SH,
simply dun understand them. Ma chiam we starving our babies. mum will come out all kinds of effects if i were to "starve" or let him have "irregular" meals!!!

RE : Staying at mums
Sian...really hate it when the first thing i reach home is see mum's black face. First thing wake up also black face. Mum will complain that the room so messy. Aiyo, wif baby sure got more things. I already tried to minimise and keep neat. Also complain y waste electricity wif fan on yet not in room. I juz leave the room carrying boy cos he's fussing. Mum din even offer help one Sat when I was carrying boy wif one hand, and fixing bottle and making milk with another. I'm already doing everything I can. Reach home rush through dinner and shower and take care of boy. Din even dare to watch TV. No life now. Cant wait for hubby to come back.

Day 2 of being a SAHM & am enjoying every min of it...
but when i think of going back to work next Tues I feel so sad already... Sigh...

Cookie,
My porriage sounds complicated but its very simple... believe me, IF CLARE CAN COOK, SO CAN YOU!!! haha...

Basic Porriage:
Rice + Water (proportion trial & error)
Wolfberry (x10)
Red Dates (x4)
Silver Fish powder (1 tsp)

Ingredient used:
Ysterday - Spinach + Carrot
Today - Brocolli + Carrot
HB steamed Threadfin (ngoh he) for dinner so i gave some to Ashley as well.

My cooking experience:
1. Carrot & Spinach - dunno is it my carrot very tough but both days when its time for feeding the carrot still quite hard so irritating. So yesterday I blended the Spinach + Carrot... Gosh.. i didn;t know the colour would turn out to be dark green paste, pardon me but reminded me of BB's poopoo; I was thinkign "yucks!" but surprisingly she lean forward for more when i feed her so i'm very very happy
. This moring i purposely cut the carrot (the balance half from yesterday) into small pieces thinking it will cook n soften faster but still not as soft as i thought it would be. Think I would shred my carrot instead tomrrow.

2.Slow cooker - Realised my MIL's small slow cooker runs on Auto and dun have High/Med/Low setting. And as i was telling some of you... its really VERY VERY slow... i put in the ingredients at 7.30 yesterday till 11am porriage is ok but carrot still tough, today i woke up late only put in at 8.30 at 10.30 went to check water still not boiling! Thank goodness I asked Rena and she taught me to cook with Cup & Lid using double boil method & i made it in time for her feed at 12pm. AShley love her porriage & finished almost everything. She was also very curious n happy when she see me scoping from the PIGLET cup so i will use that again tomorrow. THANKS RENA!!
kiss.gif

I guess nothing beats seeing your precious one eating what you have prepared with love. Am really very happy to see Ashley eating up my porriage again n again, feel so much more confident n motivated abt cooking so i decided I will cook every weekend when i'm not working.

Re Poo Poo
One thing though Ashley has not poo poo since yesterday. Strange cos i thought she should poo better cos i gave her vege? Could it be my cooking is SOO good until every single grain/vege is abosrbed into the body hence no wasteage to be passed out?? hee hee.. Really hope she will poo tomorrow before we leave the house as otherwise very pai seh if she poo huge one at Rena's place.

Re Variety of Meals
I'm also running out of ideas for porriage... besides Spinach+Carrot & Brocolli+Carrot, what other type of ingredients can I add into my porriage...?? If i just steam & mesh Peas+Carrot+Milk instead of cooking porriage, can it be deem as 1 feed or is it more like a snack? I have been giving Ashley Steam Apple & Banana as snacks these 2 days.

Y and SH
on the contrary... my MIL doesn't like to feed milk to my bb. In fact I even suspect she lie abt feeding milk to baby today.
As I mentioend Kaelyn has problem like vomitting out the milk if feeding is not done properly.
I already felt MIL dun like to feel her milk.. keep insiting that Kaelyn cannot finish her milk at 3hrs, drag to 3.5hr and drag to 4hrs..

Today I came back late around 1030pm saw her feeding milk.. I a bit suspicious why feed at such time.. cos too late for dinner and too early for dream feed.
I ask her abt the feeding of the baby today... she reply as follow :
1st answer from MIL : I feed Kaelyn fully cereal for lunch never feed milk.
(I was surprise... so I ask how much she feed and hoe come she decide not to feed milk?)

2nd answer from MIL: Oh.. I did feed her 120ml... oh she cannot finish much milk.
( So I suggest.. maybe can feed 1hr later and see if she drink more instead of immediate..)

3rd answer from MIL: Oh.. I feed her milk 1hr later.

Sorry abt complaining... but... I seriously think my MIL lie abt feeding kaelyn milk...
I think her 1st answer is the true situation.. she come out with answer 2 and 3 only to pacify me cos I ask her why?
I told my hb abt it.. but there is nothing he can do.. cos thats his mom.. and seems like he not gng to question her.

I was not convinced with her answer.. sorry if I'm a bossy DIL..I know I have to appreicate her help but as a mother I need to know what happen..
I keep asking her the schedule... and finally I realise she only feed baby 4 times.. and the last times she drag feeding to 5HOURS...
If she really never feed Kaelyn milk at lunch.. that means Kaelyn only drink 3 times today...

I dun think I can sleep well tonight.

Clare..
U are very funny... abt the slogon.. but right now nothing can cheer...
I'm not so worry abt cooking the porridge.. I'm just worry Kaelyn hasn't taste all the item before.. afriad of allergy...

I will catch up again today.

RE: Crawling
I am hoping one of these day can see Jamie crawl forward. She has been doing backwards for quite sometime already

Cookie,
I going Seng Kang this sunday after 2pm onwards. U want to meet me for the milk powder?