(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sandra,
clariss schedule is as follows

6am Latch on both sides
9am Brown rice cereal, 1 scoop (using annum scoop), mix with 10ml EBM, 9.30am EBM (110ml)
12.30am EBM (120ml), 1pm Half apple or a small banana
3.30pm EBM (120ml)
5pm Potato and vegetable puree (2 cubes)
7pm Latch on both sides
9pm Latch on both sides
Middle of the night, wake up twice to latch on 1 side each time.

I can only express between 100-120ml from both breasts so I think she is getting bw 100-120ml when she latched on both sides but I think she just make it to 600ml per day. she don't eat a lot. she will use her hands to brush away the spoon if she has enough.
sarah seems to be eating quite a bit and she is eating 3 times a day with quite a bit of milk as well. If she don't cry, maybe can cut back a bit of the rice.

Hi Cindy,

Replied to u already. pls let me know if my orders are too many. but they are really cheap lei. thanks soooo much for helping us save money!

HI mummies..

anyone has any recommendation where to get sweater for bb? i went to FOX kids..but mostly all for girls. design too girly. even the salesgirl agrees FOX cater more for girls. sigh!

anyone has any idea if huggies or mamy poko are good for night use? I normally change my girl into her pyjamas at 9pm and don't change her diapers in the middle of the night. I realise she will cry in the middle of the night, not sure if she is hungry or her diaper is wet, sometimes I will change at 2am or 4am, sometimes until 6am coz she will fall asleep after latching on. I am using nepia. do you think other brands will be better?

hi mongs.. i use nepia though and my boy never cry lei thruout the night. nepia is cheaper as compare to MP. i use MP before too and its thicker than nepia. somehow i find their size M quite tight fitting. so u may want to buy L instead if ur bb is more "bah bah"

tabby,
thanks!!

SSF
i tried to go to stage 2 and my boy hates it. he has been giving me a difficult time at night whenever i feed stage 2. he will just sleep very badly at night. i also dunno why.

i did as Dr Sim (Elias Mall) and he say it's fine if i stick to stage 1 for a year. whether bb can take stage 2 or not is a matter of adaptability.

sl,
i m planning to go in sept. dun think it will be cold during that time.

my mum thinks babies can't travel when so young. did u check with PD? she keeps nagging but i m quite insistent to bring bb.

must share your experience iwth me when you r back. are u taking Sia?

durianlover,
u go to your IL place so often?? pei fu..i wouldn't be able to stand it. that time i wanted to bf and cannot even find a place to do it. in the end use my MIL room and my FIL just walk in without even knocking.

mongs,
i tried mamy poko before. it is quite good cos very thick but i din like the thickness. my boy use one nepia from 9pm till next morning 10am.

mongs

I use Nepia in the day and use Pampers Premium at night. With Pampers, it can last 12hrs without changing. Maybe u wanna try that?

SSF
I saw a shop at IMM selling bb jackets before. Got boys' designs. U might wanna take a look. It's opposite Kidsmall.

ok thanks mashbybrain. will pop by IMM during lunch time these days.

hi SY - hehe we have the same PD. i think cookie also same PD. that cute PD. haha...ok so now i feel more assured abt finishing my step 1. btw, you know there is a step 2 mamil night? are u planning to get that??

mongs,
i only use pampers premium. coz i like that it can absorb alot and not bulky like mamypoko. and since it can absorb very well, i basically only use around 3 diaper a day.

SSF, i totally agree that it's tough to buy bb jackets. i got edgar's from a stallcart selling those US brands clothings and another from Old Navy.

Yuki/Mamachan/Sandrachu

Yes, he did that motion thingy thrice this week. 1st time daddy saw and told me. 2nd time I saw but was a short while. 3rd time, we saw & daddy taped it down. My guess is he's learning to move on his hands & knees. Just can't coordinate properly.

This morning, he did something new too. I was bathing him in his tub. We have 2 rubber duckies in there for him to play with. Usually, he will use his hands to play with the duckies. Today, he held on both sides of the tub with his hands. Bent down and used his mouth to grab one duck. From my angle, I thot he was just licking the duck. When I bent down, I realised his face was in the water cos he was trying to drip the duck with his mouth! When he bit the duck, he came out and grinned at me with the duck in his mouth! And he didn't make noise or flinch with his face in the water!

SSF - Robinsons/Mothercare/Fox/Kiddy Palace. Cephas has a Blue Thomas the Train jacket & a beige coloured one from Carters. Both were bought at Robinsons. He has a few long sleeved sweaters from FOX & Mothercare too.

mongs,
i find nepia quite good leh. can last my baby from 10pm-8am..equivalent to MP.

krissie,
my stroller was kept in the plane and when i alight, they return to me at the plane itself, not in the luggage carousel.

re:feeding schedule
okie, i'm lazy mummy, not experimenting new food with baby so she's still taking the following:

7am-180ml FM
11am-180ml FM
3pm-2 Friso size scoops of cereal + 180ml FM
7pm-180ml FM
10pm-180 FM

mongs - my gal used huggies at nite n got to change it around 3am if not it'll leak. Now i change to MP liao. Its very good. I use it from 8.30pm to 9am. No problem for my gal. If i'm not wrong huggies size a bit small.

mongs,

i used nepia for my gal from 8pm to 8am - that's abt 12 hours or sometimes longer but she's okay. Maybe she's a dirty baby. I do notice that all 3 indicators turned very blue in the morning.

Celine77,
your boy look so grown up sitting by himself... he has lots of hair!

Shannon is still a botak... how I hope her hair will grow in time for 1st birthday!
468598.jpg

sleepingdeer,
looks like a toddler hor?? :p i think since 2 mths old, everyone has been saying he looks mature. must b his hair lah! but i don't intend to shave him. will let them grow and trim when necessary. now i juz trim his fringe.

for some reason my mil keeps wanting me to shave his hair. she has asked me if i will shave edgar like gazillion times. and i have always said NO! she said she shaved all of her children till they are pre-schoolers. thou yes, my hb and his siblings have crowning glory, but i don't believe shaving will bring about more hair. i feel like telling her, edgar is my son, not yours. i'll do watever i deem please. sometimes i really dont' understand. mil and mums alike, they had their fair chance of bringing up their own kids, y don't they juz let us bring up our kids our way??!!!

shannon looks so happy! don't worry about hair lah, will grow eventually...
how nice if we can put our babies all sitting together! :D

SY,

Sure - will share my experiences with you. Yup, me taking SIA. I find that for Oz, the diff between SIA and Quantas prices not much. Besides I have bad experiences with Qantas. Twice I have travelled with them and both times flight got delayed for 3 hours!

My parnts are fine with me bringing bb. In fact, my parents offer to come along so that they can help to take care of bb and give us some couple time alone. They are also looking forward to their first trip overseas with bb (not counting the wkend trip to Malacca). Mum just asked me to bring forward bb's jab in case she falls sick. I don't think there will be any problem since Oz is quite clean and supposedly bb-frenly.

Pls pray for us that it would be a good trip and that Charmaine would be a good gal during the trip esp. on the flights. Thks!

Hi Celine,
likewise, I dun think it's true that shaving hair off will make the regrowth nicer... in fact, we would have let Shannon keep her hair if not for the fact that her cradle cap made half her hair drop off...

Sigh, yes I agree... why can't they just let us take care of our kids the way WE want to?

SL,
dun worry, am sure that Charmaine will be a good gal on the trip... have fun and enjoy your family time!

SL,
thanks... she started a few days ago... if she doesn't suddenly reach out and grab a toy out of her reach, she can last about 1/2hour like that... I try to lie her down often coz scared she may hurt her spine if she sits for too long, but she seems to enjoy it..

You got your packing started? Dun forget your own clothes...
this silly mummy and daddy.... so obsessed with Shannon's stuff that we BOTH left our favourite tee shirts behind accidently at the cruise! The first time that ever happened to me!

Celine

Edgar looks so big boy leh!

So envious of u and sleepingdeer that your bb can sit firmly already. My boy is still not very stable...

Celine - ur boy so steady wor, can sit aldy! Celeste stil tumbling left and right

Sleepingdeer - Shannon looks so cute!actuali their hair will surely grow one, just a matter of when... but i think lesser hair helps alot now wf the kinda hot and steamy weather lately.. Celeste stil sweats buckets even wf so so so little hair..hee

babylon,
thanks. but i think it's becoz he's staring at the flast light, dat's y his eyes always look bigger in pic. in actual, he doesn't have big eyes. keke...

Durianlover,

My boy is very sticky to me at nite too. Screams when daddy carries him. Only want me....Will quiet down & smile at daddy only when he is in my arms

sl, hope u have a good trip and do share some pics with us when u come back ya!:D

mashybrainz & god's child & Y,
don't worry, ur bbies will be able to sit up very soon too. matter of time nia =D

celine,
Wow Edgar does look like a big boy now

sleepingdeer,
Shannon's got much more hair than Janelle, who's still pretty botak after i shaved her!

SY,
Yes we go to ILs place pretty often, almost every other day. Because they will call us everyday to ask us go back for dinner! Plus since we have no time to cook, we just go back to their place for dinner lor. Easier also

SSF
my bb is on similac. i tried similac step 2. he din like it. i m trying promil gold step 2. he din like it also. will have to keep trying different step 2 until i find one that he likes.

sl
your parents and my parents reaction so different. hope they can be convinced soon.

sleepingdeer,
they look very cute in the sitting position right...

Hi Celine,

Edgar looks like a big boy! If i see only his face, i would have guess he's two years old! Ha Ha. He has this very curious look
Very Cute.

Hi Sleeping deer,

Shannon is very pretty! Big eyes and bah bah also.
Also very cute.

Re :Cute Babies

long time no postings..soooo many cute babies here..hope i will have a chance to meet up with them soon.

Re : Cooking

Other than Denmy, anyone else tried cooking with butter? Coz i also made the veg soup stock with butter and also potato,leek and peas with butter.

just wondering if butter is ok with most babies.

SL,

Enjoy your holidays! have fun and take more photos

MIL
I agree that all MIL and FIL same same. I really get very irritated with the way my ILs try to get Ariene's attention too. My MIL is like a donkey, going XXX hor, XXX hor, hor, hor while my FIL is like a cockroach going tsk tsk tsk and telling her all sorts of misleading and wrong "facts" and always complaining why Ariene always sleeping, children shouldn't sleep so much??? *DOH* When I tell him not to say nonsense to her, he'll say Aiya she so young also don't understand. *DOH*DOH* The next thing I cant stand is they always calling my milk "Niu Nai" ,I gotta keep telling them I'm not a cow so my milk is not " niu nai".

Solid foods
Hmm, I wonder if Ariene is eating too little.. I only feed her once a day, and sometimes, twice. Here's her feeding schedule :

10pm - 12am : latch on (night/dream feed)

5-6am : latch on (morning feed)

9am : 130ml EBM

1pm : 3 teaspoons cereal mixed with 50ml EBM, occassionally mixed with vegetable/fruit puree, followed by 50-80ml EBM or latch on (if I'm at home)

4.30pm: (sometimes fruit/vege puree) latch on (or 130ml EBM if I'm not at home)

6.30-7pm: latch on (sleep)

Krissie
My hairdresser charges about $42 for my haircut as my hair is short. He takes about 1 and 1/2 hour? I'm not too sure, as the time can varies. Best to make appointment in advance with him.

Zhimin
No worries about mixing up Daren with babylon's Damien. Guess speed reading can result in mistakes at times. Also our sons' names starts with D-A

SY/SSF
I've started Daren on Mamil Gold Step 2 (400g sample tin), and so happens it coincides with his vomitting episode, my MIL and mum thinks could be due to the FM so I gave him Promil Gold Step 2. He takes it quite well and seems to like it much better.

Wendy Ng
Maybe you can consider increasing the amount of cereal to 2 tablespoons? see if your gal can finish or not.

Sleepingdeer
Shannon looks so different from the last time I saw her!! She's so cute.

Celine
Edgar looks so handsome and like a big boy sitting up! He sure have a beautiful crowning glory.

MOngs
I use Mamy Poko for Daren. Can last thru the night so I fine it not bad.

Just rushed Lucas to the PD this evening when my mom called to say that his balls are red, swollen and crinkled. Turned out to be rash attack that is similar to the one he had on neck last week. Told to use Zaricort. Wah lau, so scary... we were still laughing at him grabbing crotch. He must have been feeling really uncomfortable. PD says its common and besides neck and private parts, armpits are common too.

Another upsetting news is, he lost 200g in a week. Don't understand why... maybe he is feeding less than the energy burnt.

Re: Gaia
I bought any 2 pdts for $20+ at the motherhood exhibition. I've been using the Wash for his bath the last few days, can't really tell if good or bad yet.
Dunno if it's coincidence or not but his rash like of coincide with me trying the Skin Soothing Lotion on him. Dun think it causes the rash but it certainly didn't help for his case.

how to see if bb is constipation har? my gal didn't poo for 3days liao! a bit worried. 'cos already started her solid once per day liao. these 3 days she was taking green peas, about 1 tablespoon + a bit of BM mixed with it...
just now, try to let her poo in the potty, she screamed and cried.... does it mean contipation?

sunny,
You may want to try giving her some juice? I feel that my bb's poo & pee are better after introducing about 100ml of water/juice each day.
Or try massage left side of bb tummy in circular motion. Techically, I think docs classify constipation when more than 5 days I think...

cindy
thanks! i m trying my luck if any mummy is online at this hour. appreciate that.
i gave a lots of water today, about 200ml plain + diluted prune juice... i will try to give water and again and massage her tomorrow... if by tomorrow, she still doesn't poo, then got to bring her to c doc liao.

Sleeping deer,
My gal also very botak till now. Sigh..looks like we need to wait till 1yr old bah.

SSF,
My gal is drinking Friso 2 now. I was told by the consultant that we should intro step 2 of milk powder slowly.. Eg:
Day 1 to 3 - 3 scoop(Step 1), 1 scoop(Step 2)
Day 4 to 6 - 2 scoop (Step 1), 2 scoop (Step 2)

Slowly increase step 2 and decrease step 1. So that bb won't have problem pooing and learn to get used to step 2.

RE: Crawling
Just noticed that she just learn how to push up her whole body and hang on using her arms this evening. Started moving backwards. So happy and hope she will start crawling soon.

RE: Sitting
My gal still abit unstable to sit up for long. Will turn humpty dumpty..

468909.jpg

See..I can sit without support already

468910.jpg

Opps...falling down..

Saw sunny's post..

RE:Toilet Train
Any mummies started potty train baby?
I wonder how to start that next time.. put baby on potty at a fixed time?

may & SY,
u both hv very cute babies!!

Re: sleeping habits
Sigh, am so tired. Spent the last 1.5 hours trying to put janelle to sleep! Left her with my ILs while hb & i went out. By the time we picked her up at 10plus she was asleep but awoken during the transfer. When home, my hb decided to try putting her to sleep (usually i'm the one who puts her to sleep) but to no avail. She not only cried, but SCREAMED for more than half an hr! It was terrible. In the end, i gave in & took over. She calmed down immediately...can tell she really wants mummy only at nite.
But continued crying n crying..wanting to be nursed to sleep but i refused to coz her last feed was 220mls at 8:30pm. Want to break her out of that habit of being nursed to sleep. All in all, took almost 1.5hrs just to get her to sleep.

i'm wondering whether shd i persevere to be so cruel in letting her sleep w/o nursing, or to just give in and nurse her to sleep next time??

Any mummies face same problem?

Sunny,

U can try boiling barley water without sugar for ur baby. Constipation is common if baby's eating brown rice or maybe alternate brown rice with normal rice or limit to only 1-2 servings of brown rice per week? Ariene also had constipation (6days) after eating 3 days of brown rice continually. Now i only feed her brown rice once a week.

Crawling
Ariene can only crawl forward. She haven't figured how to crawl backwards yet but she's been trying to stand up on the cot using her hands. So dangerous! Lucky I already lowered her cot to step 2 else fall off cot liao.

Sysac, ur description of Cephas really sound so cute. Hehe... he's really growing fast no?

Celine/ Sleepingdeer, ur bbs r all so cute. Shannon really looks alot chubbier than the last time I saw her. Sleepingdeer, u're doing a good job. =) Edgar really looks like a little japanese doll. Always remind me of my sarah. =)

Sarah's grown quite abit too. Dunno how to shrink the pics to load it up here, but I've updated her blog. Mummies who r interested in her progress can go check it out - www.sarahmaeloke.blogspot.com

Thanks mummies for all the advise about feeding schedule. I think she's trying to tell me not to feed her so much already. Today, she practically didnt want to eat her solids at all... Had to force her to take a few spoonfuls only... =(

Mamachan, Sandra
My girl can just nice finish 3teaspoons of cereal. Until she shows me signs of wanting more, I probably won't give more cuz I don't think she can finish. Her main source of food and nutrition is still breastmilk. I'm going slow cuz she just turned 6 months this week.

Durianlover,
Seems like Janelle is very dependent on nursing to sleep. It takes alot of heart pain to see Janelle cry and scream but if u can take it, let her cry it out. She will eventually cry less and take a shorter time to sleep. Ariene used to depend on nursing to sleep too when she was 2months. What we did was to buy the angelcare, switch it to silent mode (but can see the cry meter), go downstairs and let her cry upstairs until she sleeps. Initially, she cried for about 20minutes, then 15min, then 5min, then 1-2min. I gave her my favourite care bear Grumpy to accompany her and 2 bolsters on her cot. All in all, it took about 1 week. Now, she sleeps on her own. If she needs to sleep elsewhere other than home, I would bring her favourite Grumpy and 1 bolster along and she would hug Grumpy and her bolster to sleep. However, I still give her night feeds cuz she's hungry. If she's not hungry, she'll go back to sleep even if she was awoken by us (esp when we walk into the room when she's sleeping). If u think Janelle is geniuely hungry, go ahead and feed her but don't let her fall asleep while feeding. If she falls asleep, wake her up then put her down on the cot. Hope this works out for u too. Don't give up! Its hard work but you'll enjoy the fruits of the hard labour.

Sunny

the first time I started semi solid.. my girl's poo oso firmer.. and she cried when trying to force out... i tried to feed more water.. and gave some apple juice/ puree.. recently i started on barley water (plain barley water w/o sugar). I oso alternate the brown rice with barley cereal...daily... i find the brown rice quite constipating for my girl. now my girl poos daily, firmish stools but not rock hard...

Durianlover

My girl still nurses to sleep... i don't have the heart to wean her off.. she will scream too.. somedays she will knock off quite fast, somedays a bit of a struggle..so i understand...

Sandra

Sarah is soo cute!! esp on the potty ... haha...

denmy
just your your ppost re bali. instead of bringing steraliser, can use steralising tablets too. my PD says no need to steralise after 6mths. but, I will still steralise till 1 yr old. haha...

mamachan
I think the rate at the marketplace is like that. I sold off a tin of Friso for $18 too, even though it was also ard $25 (i think). No choice loh.. think it's the market rate.

mashy
u got the exersaucer for $40? super good buy. how's the condition? me also wanna buy. maybe shld post that i wanna buy. See if anyone is keen on selling to me. haha..

Wenyl
RE : Munchkin Freshfood Feeder

Do you steam the fruits before you put inside the feeder? I steam the apple/pear but it's so juicy that it keeps dripping. My gal is more interested to squeeze the juices out rather than to suck....hiaz. end up created such a big mess.